Belligerent bolter will lend Boks bite

JON CARDINELLI expects Duane Vermeulen to be named in the World Cup planning group on Wednesday and believes it could be a telling selection in a World Cup year.

The official World Cup group of 50 will only be named in June, but don’t expect it to differ from the ‘planning squad’ named this Wednesday. Coach Peter de Villiers has made it clear that he wants to get the right group of players together as early as possible, and has even scheduled meetings and planning camps for the select few while Super Rugby is still on the go.

This Wednesday’s announcement is thus significant. We already know of 23 players who have made the cut, as De Villiers announced his contracted group of Springboks in late March.

Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield, JP Pietersen, John Smit, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies were in the original group, while Andries Bekker, Heinrich Brüssow, Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Jacobs, Tendai Mtawarira, Wynand Olivier, Danie Rossouw, Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde and Gurthrö Steenkamp were only recently handed one-year contracts.

The Bok coach will name between 45 and 50 players on Wednesday, and what this means is that as many as 27 places are up for grabs. De Villiers will make a statement with the players he includes, but he will also make a statement with the players he leaves out.

The contracted group itself deserves closer scrutiny. One can only believe that De Villiers made a promise to Adi Jacobs when they were at the Valke all those years ago, because his apparent guaranteed selection has very little to do with recent rugby exploits. At least Wynand Olivier has played for the Boks in the last year, but his performances have been so poor, you would have expected him to drop out of the World Cup reckoning. Unbelievably, he’s been awarded a Bok contract in a defining year. Go figure.

De Villiers is likely to call on many players that have been in the Bok mix over the past three years. Locks like Alistair Hargreaves and Flip van der Merwe will make the cut, and loose forwards like Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts and Keegan Daniel surely deserve to be part of the larger squad. What’s less clear is whether the Bulls’ loosies deserve spots ahead of their Stormers counterparts.

It’s not a provincial argument but a national one. Dewald Potgieter and Deon Stegmann featured for the Boks in 2010 without making any great impact. Francois Louw was a key figure in the Boks’ Tests against Wales, Italy and France, and then was unceremoniously dumped after one sub-standard showing in the Tri-Nations. Louw has shown good form in the 2011 Super Rugby competition, and is certainly among the elite players in the country.

One man has been among the elite for the past three seasons, although the absence of a national call-up would suggest otherwise. Picking Duane Vermeulen for the World Cup planning group is a no-brainer, and he could play a big role at the World Cup. He provides the abrasive alternative to Spies the Boks have been searching for, that is a No 8 that drives opposition players back on defence and makes good ground with ball in hand. If the Boks include men like Vermeulen and Alberts in their final World Cup squad, they will improve their chances of winning the tournament.

Some will suggest that Ashley Johnson deserves a place, but this season has shown him to be a liability. He contributes with some powerful runs and gets through a lot of work, but his high error rate has cost the Cheetahs matches. There is no reason why he should be included ahead of the Bulls’ loose forwards, let alone the form men at the Sharks and Stormers.

I fear that politicians will demand that Ricky Januarie get a look-in, even though he’s unlikely to travel to New Zealand in September. The overweight scrumhalf hasn’t been contracted to the Boks, a sure sign he is not in the World Cup plans. He’s not the first-choice No 9 at the Stormers, and to pick him for the Boks would smack of window dressing.

Sarel Pretorius is a player who’s impressed in a struggling Cheetahs side, and Charl McLeod was a late call-up for the Springboks’ 2010 end-of-year tour. If it’s a toss up between the two, De Villiers needs to show some consistency in picking the latter, who has to date enjoyed a solid Super Rugby competition.

McLeod’s halfback partner Pat Lambie will also make the squad, but there is another player who comes into the flyhalf equation. Butch James has confirmed his move back to South Africa in May, a fact that confirms he is in the World Cup mix. James is the Boks’ best bet at flyhalf, as he not only has the experience but the ability to switch between a conservative and attacking game plan.

De Villiers has a fourth flyhalf option in Ruan Pienaar, who excelled at No 10 for the Boks in late 2008 and in the 2009 British & Irish Lions series. Pienaar has been alternating between 9 and 10 at Irish club Ulster, and has to date produced some match-winning performances with the boot.

Frans Steyn is the other overseas-based player guaranteed of selection, and his return could solve the Boks’ problems at fullback. Zane Kirchner will be picked for the planning group, but doesn’t deserve to go to the World Cup.

As South Africa’s best attacking player, Gio Aplon should travel to New Zealand. If Aplon pays more attention to his kicking game, he can provide a good alternative to Steyn. He has a big boot and it’s a shame that the development of this area of his game has been neglected in the last few seasons.

It’s great to see JP Pietersen finding some form, and right now he’d be my favourite to start at No 14 for the Boks. Bjorn Basson is prime candidate to replace Bryan Habana, although it is a foregone conclusion that the veteran will be taken to the World Cup.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

631 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1213 » Show All

• 301.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-299: Exactly why Brussouw is so good.

• 302.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-290: lol It can be done. If Brussouw start we missing a lineout option and another potent ball carrier. Both options has merit it will depend on the opposition and on the conditions. @grant10(grant10)-290: Smit is going to make the team so we need to accomodate him.

Outta here

Cheers guys

Enjoy the week of Passover.

• 303.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-300: you jakes twin?

• 304.grant10: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-302: dont be so sure about plod

• 305.justrugby: Reply to this comment

LOL…..amazing how so many can have different opinions on the same subject………….. that’s rugby for you , man there is nothing like it !!!!!!!

• 306.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-305: true.@grant10(grant10)-304: Just think about it.

• 307.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-303: Come now were on the same side.

This in from Planet Rugby team of the week then to satisfy your non White tendencies you bloody agent!

9 Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs): A hat-trick of tries for the Cheetahs, it’s no surprise that Pretorius’ skills are wanted in the northern hemisphere. If the Boks don’t pick him, someone else will.

I keep saying it – the rest keep saying it but us Saffas are lekker dom and we dont recognise talent when we see it till its too late. How many on here were going ahhh Lambie aint ready yet and he´s too young and balh blah blah and now everyone regards him as a must have in the team. Lame man lame.

• 308.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-302:

A fit Brussow IS a potent ball carrier, it’s just that the AMOUNT of carrying he gets to do in his role is less. These kids aren’t small, they’re just short, and it fits their role like a glove that they are short.

• 309.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-267:

Before that eoyt I boldly predicted(and debated with Goodie) one Sunday here in early Nov. that Matfield would do much to advance his captaincy cause for the RWC on that tour among that group of players in the absence of Smit and further said (to Cab also that day) that this would all lead to much more problems(dissension in the team) further down the road and eventually players just playing for their last big payday and without any commitment and motivation and confidence.

• 310.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-308: yes….exactly, the steggmann, brussow body type ideal for the modern day fetcher…

• 311.nama1: Reply to this comment

6. Brussouw
    7. Juan
    8. Albert or

6. Brussouw
    7. Albert
    8. Danie

if you play a fetcher.

6. Schalk
    7. Juan
    8. Alberts or

6. Schalk
    7. Alberts
    8. Danie

if you play a bruiser type combo. Guys that can turn over the ball by pushing the opponent right off/over the ball at a ruck (with the help of the other forwards of course) and drive the maul backwards to create turn over ball or ensure that the opponents get their ball on the back foot.

• 312.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-310:

Yeah tell you what, wrt to the carrying Iori mentioned, that these kids with a low centre of gravity make an impact with ball in hand is apparent, and they are difficult to remove off their feet, especially head-on, definitely not only upto weight in that department. Stegmann currently sits with a 82% gainline success over Flo’s 68% (Amount of carries is up to the team, success of carry- mostly up to you).

• 313.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

The whole discussion on Stegman and the loosies is interesting and also revives the question as to what makes a good International player.

Let me say that I would have Stegman in my team anyday as a Sharkie simply because in the modern game you need players with an engine like his and I don’t believe there is any other loose forward in SA with the same engine (Keegan included).

What makes a great international player for me is not so much what they do on the field as to what they enable others to do on the field which is why Schalk, Jacque Fourie,FDP, Brussouw, Lambie, Bakkies (apart from the thuggery) and Victor ( more for his attention to detail) are the guys that I reckon are International class and will always be.

Schalk is enormous in freeing up other players to play to their strengths just simply by getting around the park and putting in the tackles.

I cannot say that I see a Duanne Vermeulen in the same category but I do think that Steggies would be there for me personally.

So i guess most of you are now saying “thank goodness he is not a national selector” :lol:

• 314.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-311:

“bruiser type” you say? Matt Todd and Whitelock (George) aren’t exactly “bruisers” at the Crusaders, neither is Keiran that lumpiest 8 to roll out of that subduction-**** of an island, but they’ve been bumping everybody, why :?:

• 315.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-311: without the fetcher that team loses 6 love …6 love.

that you can take to the bank

• 316.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-313:

Yeah I agree, of course, Stegmann keeps his trio’s head above water by getting around the park like he does.

In the case of Keegan, he has been great with ball in hand (when he keeps it), but really not spectacular at the rucks , the Sharks tight five share a large amount of work there, with their main carrier (Alberts) solely focussing on attakc, only tackling what comes his way. I think this is very effective.

• 317.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-311: What, no GIJoe??? :lol:

I like your 8 Danie 7 Alberts 6 Ratel… Very reminiscent of Kitch Christie’s play of Mark Andrews at 8. If its good enough for Kitch its good enough for everyone. Hell yeah!

• 318.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-314:
    REALLY?

cant a guy say fart??

then let me mend this post:

@nama1(nama1)-311:

“bruiser type” you say? Matt Todd and Whitelock (George) aren’t exactly “bruisers” at the Crusaders, neither is Keiran that lumpiest 8 to roll out of that subduction-fart of an island, but they’ve been bumping everybody, why :?:

• 319.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-314:
    Because of their back line? :lol:

• 320.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-309: Yeah, I don’t like the overtones in that article. Possibly its another SA sports journo making a nice big fairy tale… These fools have lost credibility… Give me Dan Retief anyday.

But if it is true then it is not good. And it validates your point on PdV’s lack of authority… WTF was he when these decisions were made?

• 321.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-319:

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA

good one.

love it.

• 322.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-313: Yeah, I would have Stegmann anyday as a loosie at the Sharks over Fatty Vermeulen. :wink:

Though if Ratel was on offer at the same time then “Stegmann, who?” (Sorry Agile)

• 323.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-320: ja

when i said that Plod had ‘lost the changeroom ‘ i was also accused of being a ‘drama queen ‘.

This kak has been brewing since end of 2009 already…..another reason i believe plod simply cannot go to WC as a non starter….the rifts will be further enhanced….

Plod is the real cancer…..the rest of the players realise he is a liability as well….they are not fools….

• 324.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-321:

• 325.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

hehehehe cant stop giggling at that.

Kids pay close attention to uncle Agile, Become CEO, MD or whatever or be a pleb in the works, or better yet, become a professional rugby player. After working 30 hours straight your ears will start to have a high-pitched whine like an overloaded mobo capacitor and you will start laughing at Nama1′s jokes.

• 326.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-322:

Hey, your loss, let’s keep it like that :)
    BTW, my post 294, your services for hire?

• 327.nama1: Reply to this comment

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (capt), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.

Substitutes: 16 Gary Botha, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Danie Rossouw, 20 Derick Kuun, 21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 22 Stephan Dippenaar.

Surely ou Steggies will be MoM against the Force on Saturday, of hoe Titman?
    I mean, who is he up against?

• 328.grant10: Reply to this comment

huge game for bulls…..they lose its all over rover.

sharks should beat Canes…..but if they slip up….whew…..stormers will be quids in i tell you!

• 329.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Jono Jenkins I believe, firstly,
    and secondly, Stegmann will be MotM not because he is or isn’t up against Pocock (inujury) or whomever he may be up against….he will be MotM simply because he is Stegmann. ;)

• 330.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-320:

Grant Ball was a ‘writer’ of articles here ’til late sometime last year thus he is a Keo ‘okey’.

As for P.DeV. he has effectively, but deliberately, been sidelined since the appearance of the mysterious tape/s and has been handled merely as a figure – head and that has been my reason for not supporting him for so long now because cowards do not hold any sway by me(but he is not the only one as there are many even here in rugby).
    They are all too close to the emotional problems of S.A. and cannot read the writings on the WALLS clearly for that very reason and hate it when we, with distance, can read it better and to their dismay say it boldly(no emotions clouding the issues for us).

• 331.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What’s that smell?

• 332.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-331:

Your toast burns when your elevator doesn’t reach the top and your cheese done fell out of your sandwich.

• 333.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

an aussie viewpoint
    South Africa

Hooker or bust . . Springboks skipper John Smit has been told he will not be travelling to New Zealand as a prop. Photo: Getty Images

“We all know the saying form is temporary and class is permanent. But the core of the Bok team has always been from the Bulls team. If there are two players in the Bulls side that are not pulling their weight, the whole team suffers as a consequence and the ship sinks. But I will have to reach a stage where I will have to be honest with the players. My biggest challenge is to know when a guy has had enough, when he is past his best and is simply not good enough anymore.” – Peter de Villiers

With those words, in an interview with South African website Sport24 this week, the Springboks coach has given notice to the underperformers at the Bulls and elsewhere – and credence to the theory that 2011 is a year too far for a great South African team.

Importantly, it is also the first sign that he is prepared to make the hard decisions that are clearly needed to rejuvenate the national side. He also told John Smit that he had no interest in taking him to the World Cup as a prop.

De Villiers will also be nervously surveying the latest medical reports on injured scavenger Heinrich Brussow, whose return is scheduled in the next few weeks.

The Bulls’ inability – or unwillingness – to attack the breakdown against the Reds was a major reason for their demise.

Although the Bulls’ tactic of not committing numbers was praised by the Queenslanders on the Fox Sports commentary team – who were no doubt relishing Will Genia’s quick, unfettered access to the ball – it was akin to writing your own death sentence. If you are not at least slowing down the ball in the modern game, a la Brussow against the Waratahs

last month, you are asking for trouble, especially if halves like Genia are allowed to hit big runners with as many forward passes as he did on Saturday

The injuries: Wounded pride reported throughout the entire Bulls squad and a few pricked egos elsewhere.

The wildcard: Workaholic Cheetahs loose forward Ashley Johnson is asking questions every time he carries the ball.

• 334.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-323: G10 how can John losing the change room lead you to conclude that he is the “real cancer” in the team. You know what speculation gets you don’t you – the answer you desire, but it doesn’t meant its true.

Lets wait and see what pans out but let me tell you that as much as the Brumbies failure has to do with their attitude the same will happen to the Boks if what you suggest is going on behind the scenes and whether or not JS goes to the WC will make not one iota of a difference.

• 335.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-327:

5/2 bench split, that’s a hell of a good bunch of forwards to bring on later in the game, think the Bulls will win this one !!

• 336.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-326: lol. Gooners are softies really…

• 337.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

brussouw is the only fetcher that should go to the wc as the others are nothing but a waste of space.without brussouw we might as well take our chances with the big men.

• 338.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-334: it has been brewing for 2 years since the eoyt 2009….and smit is flat bang in the middle of it and must know deep down he is no longer even close to making a bok team on merit, hence my often calling him a quota.

I always said Matfield was the key support for smit….that has slowly but surely waned and now smit needs to do the honorable thing and retire….

pdv has made it clear he wont take smit as a prop….
    and no way Jose is Smit going to unseat a Bismarck , arguably the greatest 2 of all time!

Smit must stop this nonsense….be a true leader and walk …then apologise to Watson ….and maybe I will respect him again.

• 339.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-323: Not so much your “Plod” thing thats worrying for me, but what looks like a definite PdV abdication of all authority to Matfield on the EOYT. I said it mostly in jest after the EOYT, but it looks like Matfield may truly have being Captain as well as coach and selector! If thats the case then forget about your “Plod” issue, its in your words “Goodnite nurse”/”All over rover” already.

• 340.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-330: Yeah, but PdV either must put up or shutup… He obviously has decided on the latter.

If it is the case that he has been undermined then it does not say much for his strength of character that: 1. He does not fight his corner 2. That he stays in a job where he has been undermine without a fight. 3. The fact that he was in a position that allowed him to be undermined or compromised.

What seems to be clear is that he has no authority.

Its a mess up.

• 341.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-338: Now heres where we part ways in our viewpoints. Who is the true cancer in the side (to coin your phrase) , the captain that is not supported or those that choose to throw him to the lions. You choose to deal with the prima facie evidence of the cancer i.e. teh captains form and leave the true cancer behind if what you say is true. Its exactly what the Brumbies have done and look where it has gotten them.

• 342.Tecumseh: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-338: totally agree with you!john smit should show leadership here….and just go for the good of the country.time to hit the road john.

• 343.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-340:

Spot on !!

• 344.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-339: Plod ‘ lost the changeroom ‘ on the eoyt 2009. Check the comments by J Fourie after the French test as an eg…..

It is there for all to see…..

The 2010 sharks debacle meant not only had plod lost the matfield support, but the Du Plessis brothers as well…..

The politics are huge….and the dices not in Plods favor.

Now Plum refusing to give Plod a shake at 2 as well?

The writing has been on the wall for 2 years….

Plod cant fight back because his form is woeful, and he is not getting the chances to do so….

My frustration is plod knows his continued ‘ hanging in ‘ is bad for bok business,, and for someone that is supposed to be such a ‘team man ‘ he certainly does not walk the talk ….

• 345.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

As an aside was reading a Dan Retief article:

“Although I’m still struggling to understand how a change of law interpretation, making the ball more quickly available at the breakdown, can have such an adverse effect on a team that last year won the Super 14 playing under this adaptation of the rules there is little doubt that the Bulls have been found wanting.

And not just the Bulls. The other four teams, including the OVERRATED Stormers, might understand the science of rugby but they’re being caught woefully short when it comes to the art of the game.”

Good one Dan!!! :lol:

• 346.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-334: pdv has not got the ballas to drop smit….

the whole of sharkdom will be up in flames ….screaming another ‘Teichmann ‘ !

You think Plod dosent know this?

Plod is the real cancer….ask BJ Botha why he left the sharks…

ask L Watson…..

You see there is always 2 sides to a story…..

Saint Plod is not so saintly as you believe Mr Banana

• 347.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-345: 16……6

in durbs

3 weeks ago>??

A win at Lotus….5 weeks ago.

Ja…overrated

but damn we doing okay

• 348.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-345:

Well it is old news that “dan the man” is not a stormers fan !!

• 349.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-344: Rubbish! Its not all about “Plod”… I think you are now the one placing mythical proportions of influence on the guy. I suggest worse than that done by your so called “Plod Cheerleaders squad”…

Plum taking Bissy over Barney: I think has more to do with the excellent play of Bissy over “Plod losing the locker room”…

It happens when players are selected on their performances. Another example at the Sharks is the continual selection of Odwa who keeps playing himself into selection. He has played so well at 14 that JPP has had to move to 11 and Mvovo playing off the bench at times. Its not to say Mvovo has go any worse, its because Odwa has got so much better.

If nothing else, nobody can deny that Plum is fair with selection.

But this “Plod” thing of yours is more than a bit misguided. I reckon a big problem with the Boks, especially on the EOYT, is that PdV has no authority. I reckon if anyone may have lost the locker room it is him.

I place blamor this not just on him but also at SARU. They have set the guy up to fail – from TrickyDicky to Nienaber not turning up when requested, to the ET’s CarPark Gate skandaal…

• 350.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

blamor = blame for

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1213 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.