Belligerent bolter will lend Boks bite

JON CARDINELLI expects Duane Vermeulen to be named in the World Cup planning group on Wednesday and believes it could be a telling selection in a World Cup year.

The official World Cup group of 50 will only be named in June, but don’t expect it to differ from the ‘planning squad’ named this Wednesday. Coach Peter de Villiers has made it clear that he wants to get the right group of players together as early as possible, and has even scheduled meetings and planning camps for the select few while Super Rugby is still on the go.

This Wednesday’s announcement is thus significant. We already know of 23 players who have made the cut, as De Villiers announced his contracted group of Springboks in late March.

Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield, JP Pietersen, John Smit, Juan Smith and Pierre Spies were in the original group, while Andries Bekker, Heinrich Brüssow, Bismarck du Plessis, Adrian Jacobs, Tendai Mtawarira, Wynand Olivier, Danie Rossouw, Morné Steyn, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Jannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde and Gurthrö Steenkamp were only recently handed one-year contracts.

The Bok coach will name between 45 and 50 players on Wednesday, and what this means is that as many as 27 places are up for grabs. De Villiers will make a statement with the players he includes, but he will also make a statement with the players he leaves out.

The contracted group itself deserves closer scrutiny. One can only believe that De Villiers made a promise to Adi Jacobs when they were at the Valke all those years ago, because his apparent guaranteed selection has very little to do with recent rugby exploits. At least Wynand Olivier has played for the Boks in the last year, but his performances have been so poor, you would have expected him to drop out of the World Cup reckoning. Unbelievably, he’s been awarded a Bok contract in a defining year. Go figure.

De Villiers is likely to call on many players that have been in the Bok mix over the past three years. Locks like Alistair Hargreaves and Flip van der Merwe will make the cut, and loose forwards like Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts and Keegan Daniel surely deserve to be part of the larger squad. What’s less clear is whether the Bulls’ loosies deserve spots ahead of their Stormers counterparts.

It’s not a provincial argument but a national one. Dewald Potgieter and Deon Stegmann featured for the Boks in 2010 without making any great impact. Francois Louw was a key figure in the Boks’ Tests against Wales, Italy and France, and then was unceremoniously dumped after one sub-standard showing in the Tri-Nations. Louw has shown good form in the 2011 Super Rugby competition, and is certainly among the elite players in the country.

One man has been among the elite for the past three seasons, although the absence of a national call-up would suggest otherwise. Picking Duane Vermeulen for the World Cup planning group is a no-brainer, and he could play a big role at the World Cup. He provides the abrasive alternative to Spies the Boks have been searching for, that is a No 8 that drives opposition players back on defence and makes good ground with ball in hand. If the Boks include men like Vermeulen and Alberts in their final World Cup squad, they will improve their chances of winning the tournament.

Some will suggest that Ashley Johnson deserves a place, but this season has shown him to be a liability. He contributes with some powerful runs and gets through a lot of work, but his high error rate has cost the Cheetahs matches. There is no reason why he should be included ahead of the Bulls’ loose forwards, let alone the form men at the Sharks and Stormers.

I fear that politicians will demand that Ricky Januarie get a look-in, even though he’s unlikely to travel to New Zealand in September. The overweight scrumhalf hasn’t been contracted to the Boks, a sure sign he is not in the World Cup plans. He’s not the first-choice No 9 at the Stormers, and to pick him for the Boks would smack of window dressing.

Sarel Pretorius is a player who’s impressed in a struggling Cheetahs side, and Charl McLeod was a late call-up for the Springboks’ 2010 end-of-year tour. If it’s a toss up between the two, De Villiers needs to show some consistency in picking the latter, who has to date enjoyed a solid Super Rugby competition.

McLeod’s halfback partner Pat Lambie will also make the squad, but there is another player who comes into the flyhalf equation. Butch James has confirmed his move back to South Africa in May, a fact that confirms he is in the World Cup mix. James is the Boks’ best bet at flyhalf, as he not only has the experience but the ability to switch between a conservative and attacking game plan.

De Villiers has a fourth flyhalf option in Ruan Pienaar, who excelled at No 10 for the Boks in late 2008 and in the 2009 British & Irish Lions series. Pienaar has been alternating between 9 and 10 at Irish club Ulster, and has to date produced some match-winning performances with the boot.

Frans Steyn is the other overseas-based player guaranteed of selection, and his return could solve the Boks’ problems at fullback. Zane Kirchner will be picked for the planning group, but doesn’t deserve to go to the World Cup.

As South Africa’s best attacking player, Gio Aplon should travel to New Zealand. If Aplon pays more attention to his kicking game, he can provide a good alternative to Steyn. He has a big boot and it’s a shame that the development of this area of his game has been neglected in the last few seasons.

It’s great to see JP Pietersen finding some form, and right now he’d be my favourite to start at No 14 for the Boks. Bjorn Basson is prime candidate to replace Bryan Habana, although it is a foregone conclusion that the veteran will be taken to the World Cup.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

631 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 » Show All

• 351.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-346: so tell me why did BJ leave the Sharks then? I’ am not that informed. I think you will find that most Sharks supporters are quite level headed about analyising the situation with regards to JS and will not at all equate it to the Teichman affair. If its in the best interests of the Bokke then we will agree but then it must be based on some level headed arguments and not just speculation. We have all said that his form is not the best but then we know why.

By the way what did JF say after the 2009 French test in which if i recall we los 20-13, had the anthem sung by a shithead and JS scored our only try.

• 352.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

This is a peculiar farking bad characteristic of many SA Rugger fans:
    Take down the Captain of the Boks come he.ll or high water

Francois Pienaar… Gary Teichmann… John Smit…

What is it with you farking fools.

• 353.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-351: Great Post!

• 354.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-348: Ja, but Dan knows his rugger… What he’s forgotten many a Stormer propagandist/”journo” has still got to learn :lol:

• 355.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-349: PDV is between a rock and a hard place….he was ‘ saved ‘ last year as bissy was out injured….

but then the 5 ….1 reversal in tri nations where plod was badly exposed….followed by a decent 2010 eoyt , including a damn fine win at twickers, further added fuel to the ‘ drop plod ‘ brigade.

this year has seen plod play bit roles at 1 and 3….the saders game showing plod up again as nothing more than a scam at prop…..

no HG….It does not take a brain surgeon to see where the problem lies….

i dont blame plum for 1 second ….he has to keep the sharks winning….and it wont be helpful by dropping the best 2 on the planet fopr a washed up, self absorbed, self serving Plod.

• 356.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-351: no bud….i am not interested in rehashing all this stuff.

i dont fancy being called a drama queen again

• 357.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-352: exactly the response pdv is scared of…

• 358.Sasori: Reply to this comment

“He provides the abrasive alternative to Spies the Boks have been searching for, that is a No 8 that drives opposition players back on defence…”

Every tackle that Spies made on Saturday drove the player back, his defence was good and cant be blamed for missing an on fire Soopa Coopa.

Statistically, last time I checked, he was better then either Kanko or Vermeulen. His problems are more related to the how he is used. Sure he has some defensive lapses at times – but so did Jonah, did Lomu ever kick? You could hear the truck-reverse-beeps whenever a kick was put behind and his effort to get back – yet the All Blacks knew how to use him best and he wreaked havoc.

Spies is not a crash ball player, Imean he’s a retreaded wing. He should be a decoy runner from the first few phases then utilized out wide or off the shoulder of a playmaker that can put him into space. Once he hits space he will do damage.

Personally I think people vilify him because they expect him to be super human.

Given a choice currently between Alberts and Spies, sure I’d pick Alberts- but they could both play in the same team. Alberts your 1st phase crasher when space is tight, and Spies your extra 13/wing after a few phases when the gaps are bigger and the momentum is in our favour.

• 359.grant10: Reply to this comment

• 360.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasori(Sasori)-358: you making excuses mate….spies does not do the basics….he is bloody nowhere man!

• 361.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-355: Its not about “blaming” anyone… and least of all Plum. Bissy has played himself to no 1. on the planet – a tall order for any hooker including Barney who would be in the top 5 on the planet in most fundi’s books and 2 in SA.

Saders with those Franks brothers are rolling most scrums including the Bulls. Wait till your Stormers play them, chap… Fark its going to be laugh a minute when Fatty Vermeulen has his snout stuck up the backside of your Fourie “prodigy” and CJ gets entangled as one with Bekker… Watch this space…

Plum plays Smit at prop because he has a use for him there and obviously values his leadership. What can’t be denied by anyone is that Bissy is no 1 at no 2 for the moment. Barney will get his chance (maybe against the Stormers) and I reckon he’s going to do the same thing as he did last year – leave a Stormer hooker or 2 redfaced… and a whole lotta Stormer supporters/journo’s too.

• 362.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-347: lets see in a 2 weeks time when the sharks are near full strength and had not just come off a bruising tour

lambie and deysel will be back , deysel prolly off the bench

oh believe me when i say there will be war at newlands , that much has been said to me

• 363.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-361: i reckon smit will start 2 this weekend as its a match the sharks can afford to make a change or 2

against the stormers deysel and hargreaves will be back

• 364.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-340:

What you say pre-supposes that he knows and understands exactly what is swirling around him for 3 plus years now and you can take it from me that he CLEARLY does not.

I have repeatedly described him as a weakling and an unsophisticate and as a marginal person and that is why he and Hoskens have been appointed by SARU because they are pieces of clay in the hands of the real SARU heavy weights.

The money and the status could not be withstood by the likes of these two fools but now when real leadership is requiredin their arenas of employ they are found wanting(I truly know the background) and look like deer in the headlights with potential controversy lurking..

The potential glory of winning competitions and eventually the 2011 RWC was far too much to turn down even when he threatened to ” give rugby back to the whites ” when the mystery tape/s appeared. And then what happened?
    He lacked the courage to walk away from something that disgusted him, the simple man, and entered into some sort of deal whatever format it is and abdicated the responsibility entrusted in him.

If, as he has threatened this week, he does ridiculous things with his expected squad then we may well see him be kicked out but that will lead to a political stink and that is the only deterrent.

This three-way seemingly soft squabble around the captaincy question, between him and Smit and Matfield could still get very ugly if one or the other takes umbrage at an unacceptable outcome.

• 365.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well when it comes to stegmann i wont have him near the sharks team or the bok team

every weekend he gives away a lot of penalties , and its always he was blown unfairly , so all refs are against him??

there is only 1 brussow

• 366.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-363: I tell you what, that will be interesting! Bissy gets a well earned break and Barney gets an opportunity to play out of his skin.

Glad that Hargreaves will be back to show this Bekker a few things.

Deysel… I can’t farking wait! Fatty Vermeulen on his poeppol! :lol:

• 367.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-366: lol HG

i cant wait either , like i said , there is a lot of anger about the loss in durbs to the stormers

theres gonna be war in the cape mext weekend , and imma be there to witness it , , only thing is there might be C.O.W

• 368.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-362: ja

i am sure you sharks will give us a helleva game.

• 369.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-368: only thing is grant how many end up injured in the game?? thats the worrying aspect

• 370.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems all this war talk and smacking of stormers all over the park is a rehash of a few weeks ago?

Just glad the sharks team will be at full strength and well rested.

And dont forget the Canes please…..1 step at a time now .

• 371.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-369: ja….boks dont need any more’ write offs ‘

• 372.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-370: never said we would smack you , said its war , so no doubt sharks way beyond serious about the game

you guys still favourites by far , remember only 1 loss for the season is no mean feat , and you still head the saffa conference

• 373.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-364: Big food for thought! One things for sure – SARU is doing a great job in being a model for shooting itself in the foot…again. A shining example of absolute waBenzi corruption… (and that reference has nothing to do with tenderpreneurship) From the John O Neill-inspiredshagging over S15 to lack of leadership and support by Hoskens for PdV, to the drugtaking embarrassment on EOYT, to PdV himself (now trying to involve himself with Plum at the Sharks)… ad infinitum – its a sorry organisation.

• 374.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-367: Thats the way we like it… Spirit of the 90′s… as underdogs too… I can only imagine the glee from Sharkies like yourself in Newlands stadium if Barney scores the winning try under the posts :lol:

…or Bosman runs through Donkey De Villiers and sets up Odwa! :lol:

…or Lambie ploughs Grant over on the way to the tryline :lol:

Man, that will be satisfaction! Wave the flag, mate and shout it out after the final whistle – SHARKS FOREVER! :wink:

• 375.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-374: PS. DIY guide in how to make friends in Newlands Stadium :lol:

• 376.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-374:

Just make sure it is not a white flag you wave , remember you have to travel, and if its not business class and socks for circulation you might have a problem !! :)

• 377.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-376: Fark you, Twat! :lol:

• 378.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-374: :lol:

• 379.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-377:

LOL, you farkers are going to be unplayable next week, sad thing is I am on my yearly golf tour and won’t be at the game or here to “give it” to you okes !!!

• 380.justrugby: Reply to this comment

till later !!

• 381.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-379: Aren’t you lucky not to be here… More than luck and a little too convenient…? Hehehehe, au contraire, a white flag?

How to incriminate yourself in just one post…. :lol:

Gotcha prat!

• 382.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I’m a goner too

• 383.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-373:

The new compromised Saru will always oblige.

But do not forget there is a govt. and a party/org.(heavily one-way influenced) who also like to get in the act.

Expect some mild drama tomorrow when a squad gets named.

For now I will have to b off for a long while.

• 384.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-380: :lol: cheers jr tc

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-381: lol HG , how i wish we had the loose trion of alberts deysel and kanko for this weekend

let them get ready for the next match :wink: :lol:

• 385.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-381: i will be there!!!

And believe me there wont be a white flag in sight…..

bring it on I say….

• 386.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-382:

I see excuses being planned and laid for a game more than 11 days ahead.

How effin ridiculous.

• 387.grant10: Reply to this comment

stormers have beaten lions at home….and away

cheetajhs at home

sharks away

bulls away

but still no respect.

oh well boys….we just have to do it all over again…..

• 388.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

eish HG i am busy doing my super bru for this weekend , and i just cant bet on the game , **** they have cost me points 3 times already, eish what to do what to dooooooooooooooooooo :lol:

• 389.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

The Smit debate never fails to amuse me.

Here you have a guy that has been a captain all his life.

In 2004, Jake White picked Smit as his captain long before he even picked his first training squad – he recognised his value as a leader.

In 2008, Peter de Villiers flew to France to ask Smit to come lead the Boks again – he recognised his value.

In 2011, John Plumtree had no hesitation in naming Smit his Super Rugby captain, this after arguably, Smit’s worst season in rugby (2010) – he recognised his value.

Yet every tom, **** and harry in the media and public, cannot wait to see the back of this guy? (gross generalization I know).

Smit’s problem now apparently is PDV wanting him to play hooker, and John wanting him to fulfill other duties. Both obviously rate him, so its just a case of two grown men understanding where the other comes from and finding common grounds.

Whether Smit is past it…

Well, no person other than Smit (or his coaches) will know whether he has served his purpose…

From a coaches point of view, you don’t select a guy as captain of a major competition like the Super 15 if you believe he is past it – especially not if another captain won you the CC last year and is still in the squad!!!

From Smit’s point of view – well this guy has captained the Springboks to some of their greatest victories in history. He did this in arguably the toughest environment in professional rugby, South Africa – where rugby itself is but a side-show to the political issues that we are experiencing as a country in the last 20 years.

There is not a cup or trophy he has not won as captain in test rugby.

A man like that does not put himself ahead of the team, if he did, he would never have achieved any of this.

If Smit is past it, he will know it.

Until that day that he believes that and says it himself, I will back him 100%

• 390.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-387: who said no respect??

hello its because the stormers have gotten so much better that i said its war

that it will be a damn hard match is for sure , if i thought easy match why would it be war?? easy match is just rock and take the points , i dont see where HG or I have said that

• 391.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-389: amen morne , i just dont argue with these okes in here about it anymore

, its just a waste of bandwitch as JR put it

• 392.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-391:

Luckily I don’t pay for that!

• 393.liefling: Reply to this comment

Would really like to see Mujati in the mix. He’s been immense in Heineken cup and completely destroyed a pack an Ulster pack with BJ and Johan Muller.
    1. Beast
    2. Bismark
    3. Mujati
    4. Bakkies
    5. Vic

Dont think you can get a more powerful tight 5

• 394.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-392: lol , i pay for it , and dont mind doing so , but to try win the special olympics by arguing with stubborn people aint worth it :lol:

• 395.The X-factor is staying at home.: Reply to this comment

Why is divvy backing himself into a corner by wanting to name the WC captain half way the super 15?

Lots of water to flow under the bridge still.

And what if, perish the thought, the battleship gets injured?

Life’s about having options not giving them.

• 396.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The X-factor is staying at home.(gunther)-395: i actually agree with you , i dont see the need for this pannic right now

hell its still 4 months away

and why interfere with the sharks now?

why was this not soughted out well before the start of the super 15

• 397.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-394:

Luckily I am too busy to enter into the special olympics!

• 398.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-397: :lol:

tell ya morne i have no doubt lambie will get the sharks back on track , but i cant wait for deysel to join his twin destroyer alberts :lol: , reckon those 2 can cause some havock

• 399.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-398:

I quite like both, but I have this belief that they are not being used effectively at the Sharks.

I would love to see Daniel (or Botes depending on the opposition), with Deysel (7) and Alberts (8) against top Super 15 teams…

• 400.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-399: well that is an option , and there are so many as daniel can also play 8

fact is deysel be it at 6 or 6 with alberts on the field could be devistation and a fast daniel botes or kanko to run off them is huge

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.