Stormers need to smash Sonny Bill
4 May 2011
JON CARDINELLI says the Stormers must turn defence into attack when it comes to marking the all-but-irrepressible Sonny Bill Williams.
There’s a name that encapsulates a strategy and attitude that is absolutely non-negotiable when playing the Crusaders. That name is Shaun Treeby.
Treeby’s been a consistent performer for the resurgent Highlanders, but there is one performance that stands out above the rest. He was a key man in the Highlanders’ recent win over the Crusaders, and will be remembered as the man who made the seemingly invulnerable Sonny Bill Williams look decidedly ordinary.
It was a team effort that led to that upset, and the Highlanders’ forwards should be commended for their telling part in a combative scrap. What was most impressive about the Highlanders’ performance was that the physical fight wasn’t limited to the rucks and set-pieces, but extended to the midfield as well.
The Stormers need to embrace a similar mentality this weekend. They’ve managed some big wins already this season, with their hard-nosed forwards inflicting a physical beating on the Bulls and Sharks, the latter on two separate occasions.
What was notable about the second win against the Sharks was the imposing showing by the Stormers’ centres. Jean de Villiers and Jaque Fourie were under pressure to produce, and De Villiers especially didn’t disappoint. The Stormers No 12 took the fight to the Sharks, cutting down their space and getting in their faces.
Coach Allister Coetzee has spoken already about stopping the Crusaders at source this Saturday, as limiting the Cantabrians at the set-piece and collisions will go a long way to stifling their dangerous back division. But this can only be seen as phase one of the masterplan, as that back division does have the ability to conjure something out of nothing if they are afforded any sort of space.
The Crusaders will miss Dan Carter. As the statistics will show, Williams and centre-partner Robbie Fruean are more devastating when Carter starts at 10, making the initial breaks or defence-cracking offloads that create further opportunities for the Crusaders’ lethal back three. Having said that, Williams and Fruean are still more dangerous than most when Mat Berquist plays flyhalf.
If the Stormers manage to outmuscle the Crusaders’ forwards, they need to go a step further in cutting down the backline’s space. De Villiers’s personal battle with Williams will be the most influential in this respect, as getting up quickly will prevent the All Black centre from picking up momentum. This will limit his impact on the gain line, and ensure that trademark offload becomes a liability rather than a game-breaking touch. As seen in the Crusaders’ loss to the Highlanders, a spilled offload can create opportunities for the defence.
The Bulls were ignorant in their approach to the Crusaders, claiming Sonny Bill Williams was just another name in a list of 22 that they would have to tackle. The Stormers can’t make the same mistake. They need to win the battle up front, but they also need to pay special attention to nullifying Williams.
He’s scored four tries already this season, but it’s the tries he’s created with his 36 offloads and 10 linebreaks that will attract the most interest. His partnership with Fruean has been particular potent if you consider that the Crusaders’ No 13 has benefited to make 15 linebreaks and score four tries of his own.
The Stormers’ defence will have to look after Williams’s channel and be simultaneously aware of the switch back inside. Lionel Cronje passed a test on defence last week, and given Peter Grant’s ongoing battle with a knee injury, he may have to pass another against the Crusaders.
But as far as the backline defensive blitz goes, it is De Villiers and Fourie that can inflict the most damage. The two Bok centres showed their quality against the Sharks, and while there is ongoing criticism of the Stormers’ attack, they must realise that the team that wins the collisions and contest for territory will win this particular match.

759 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 16 » Show All
4 May 2011, 15:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-446:
nobody is safe.
they are probably reading this as we speak.
somebody bring my mshiniwami.
4 May 2011, 15:07 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-449:
Support is about association.
How and why you associate with a sports team. It has very little to do with logistics in the end.
4 May 2011, 15:09 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-446: Shutup…
hiyas HG
@gunther spear of the nation on the run from the keo special branch(gunther)-438: @rangerman(rangerman)-441: Classic
4 May 2011, 15:10 pm
@gunther spear of the nation on the run from the keo special branch(gunther)-444:
Does that make ET an Ecumentalist? “The Sermonator”?
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-422: ar*sehole, thanks spoony G
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-452:hiyas morne
congrats on the win mate, you did call it
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-453:
Was I speaking to you?
@Dawn(Dawn)-446:
Ive heard about your ‘crack’ team. Dawn Patrol team 7.
Skoppie and Gwant and a coupla stragglers here and there. Very intimidating.
4 May 2011, 15:11 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-454: Howzit SL.
4 May 2011, 15:11 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-456: Thats not funny.
4 May 2011, 15:12 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-458:
Hi, and my superbru looks all the better because of it!
@John Galt(John Galt)-460:
Naaaa.
My crack team drives stealth stolen black BMWs and wear sunglasses in the dark.
They carry knives and stolen guns.
@JockBok(JockBok)-449: ag, it is more a social statement than a heartfelt conviction.
thus the extreme anger and hatered displayed by that bunch at the george sevens.
i find them all highly amusing.
@Roar Loud(RL)-443: haha, so says the shape shifter who transefers his frustration with his team into hatred for the sharks
i saw a lions supporter here in durbs the other day at my local. no one laughed, in fact the whole crowd went quiet as he stumbled drunkenly past.
much like people do when a halfwit enters the room.
Who P’d off the people at Keo? filthy mouthed bunch o’ scalawags!!! lol
quick question, are the Chiefs as bad as their results may indicate and are the Landers as good as their results may indicate?
4 May 2011, 15:13 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-462:
Then don’t laugh
4 May 2011, 15:13 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-460: Not the Navy Seals… The Navy Prawns are the Keo Special Forces
4 May 2011, 15:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-457: Hey I’m just saying, Megatron is a major wank*r on Sharksworld, constantly popping up on a Sharks’ fans blog spoiling the party – deriding the team, players and results at every opportunity. I still don’t believe it is you really!
So now we know you really are a Crusaders fan
4 May 2011, 15:14 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-465: it was probably katman “razz:
4 May 2011, 15:15 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-465:
and that shape shifter takes it up the nought , 26-1
buncha losers
4 May 2011, 15:16 pm
@Roar Loud(RL)-470:
4 May 2011, 15:17 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-469: maybe transie is megatron
4 May 2011, 15:17 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-469: The Megatron on Sharksworld is a to my mind a cowardly Pondo… Transie however is a Shangaan… Naah, they not the same
4 May 2011, 15:18 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-467: I’m not.
4 May 2011, 15:19 pm
I see… it remains the same.
4 May 2011, 15:19 pm
@Roar Loud(RL)-470: katman is way too cool to be mistaken for one of you east rand inbreeders buddy.
it must be in the water from the mine dumps.
you must be one of the presidents dam knuckledraggers
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-469: it doesnt take sharksworld to tell you that transie is a saderfanboy.
the oke has no superrugby team supposedly but spends hs life talking about superrugby.
laughable.
4 May 2011, 15:21 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-422: fyi spoony, i got invited to SW
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-473: transie has admitted that he is megatron sharkie.
i dont blog there so have had no experience of him but i would guess that he is not too popular
@rangerman(rangerman)-477: I am originally a west rand Lion – same like Mossie and Taute and sir Elton – check the keo archives
4 May 2011, 15:24 pm
Habana and Grant out sucksss! Just when Habs was starting to show some form again. And we’re gonna need Grant’s goal kicking. Cronje is a great (although sometimes stupid, due to inexperience) attacking flyhalf, but he needs to get those kicks right! You can’t miss anything against the Crusaders and I fear that the stage might just be too big for him this weekend.
Gonna be a CRACKER, though. Can’t wait for the weekend.
4 May 2011, 15:25 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-471: as expected another crass outbursts from SL.
@rangerman(rangerman)-479: lol ranger , SW is a cool site, and i dont doubt transie is megatron , i told him he is the local blog troll
@Roar Loud(RL)-480: Isn’t Taute from Springs?
4 May 2011, 15:26 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-456:
The Semeneater?
4 May 2011, 15:26 pm
@Roar Loud(RL)-480: so you ended up on the east rand?
marry a cousin or what?
4 May 2011, 15:27 pm
@gunther spear of the nation on the run from the keo special branch(gunther)-485:
Yep
He eats HG’s
4 May 2011, 15:28 pm
@Roar Loud(RL)-482: oh it was crass?? little whiney tranny that you are were quick to start the taking it up the nought about the sharks earlier ,
but then again we know you start racist Sh*t and then cry about racism against other people
its the kinda things lowlifes like you do
@Transformation(Transformation)-478: Hawu! “Invited”…? Yoh!
A true VIP, ne.
A Velly Important Pondo….
@Hop Hop Spinnekop(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-484: maybe he was born there – did he not school in the WR.
@rangerman(rangerman)-486:
an east rand virgin?
a sixteen year old who can run faster than her brother.
4 May 2011, 15:29 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-488: yet another crass post from SL.
4 May 2011, 15:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-489:
Your impersonation of black people sucks
4 May 2011, 15:31 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-487: Ja, ja Prawny… Get back on your Sonny Bill sybian…
4 May 2011, 15:31 pm
@Roar Loud(RL)-490: Ja was in Hugenote Springs then Monnas pulled out the cheque book. The reason I know this is because a cousin of mine was his team mate at Hugenote.
4 May 2011, 15:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-494:
In fact, you suck.
4 May 2011, 15:33 pm
@gunther spear of the nation on the run from the keo special branch(gunther)-491:
i hear you circumcise an east rand lions supporter by kicking his sister in the jaw.
4 May 2011, 15:33 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-496: Spin the dial to full speed… Go Sonny go…
4 May 2011, 15:34 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-495: great talent that kid.
4 May 2011, 15:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-498:
Jealous?
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 … 16 » Show All