Os eyeing Irish post

Os du Randt has been offered a year-long deal to become Ireland’s new scrum coach.

Du Randt signed a six-month deal with Saru as Springbok coach in June last year, but his contract was not renewed and he was controversially axed in March, despite a notable improvement in the Bok scrum during his tenure and head coach Peter de Villiers calling him the ‘X-factor’.

Ireland then immediately swooped in to negotiate a short-term deal with the 1995 and 2007 World Cup-winning loosehead prop.

‘Ireland contacted my agent soon after I left the Boks a few months ago. We are still negotiating the deal and hopefully things will be sorted out soon,’ Du Randt told keo.co.za.

‘Whether it works out depends on all the little things, like where and when I will be needed. I have a family here in South Africa to consider. I don’t think I’ll be based over there, it’ll just be a short -term deal until after the World Cup.’

Du Randt added that the stint will benefit both parties.

‘Ireland aren’t happy with their scrumming standards and that’s an area they want to improve. Hopefully, my techniques and philosophies will help the team. I won’t go there and force the players to do what I want. I have to try and make them believe and trust in my coaching methods. I’ll need to connect with senior players, like [centre] Brian O’Driscoll and [lock] Paul O’Connell – if I win them over, they’ll help me connect with the team.

‘In turn, I’ll also learn new innovations as a coach. European teams are the best scrumming units, so I’ll learn new scrumming ideas and philosophies. [Ireland forwards coach] Gert Smal will also help me settle in and introduce me to the personnel. I’ve worked a lot with him as a player and it will be great to talk Afrikaans to someone over there.’

If Ireland finish second in Pool C and the Boks top Pool D at the World Cup, the two teams will face off in the quarter-finals. Du Randt said it would be a good challenge as a coach, but added that it’d be tough to face some of his former team-mates and players.

‘I’d never thought I’d ever be against the Boks in my lifetime,’ said Du Randt. ‘I’m looking forward to getting one over the top guys in the Bok coaching team considering what happened, but it’s going to be tough being up against the players. But I’ll have to back the scrum of the team that pays my bills.

‘However, my focus won’t be solely on the Boks. If I get the job, my main aim will be helping Ireland.’

Follow Gareth on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

45 Comments

• 1.cane: Reply to this comment

Os da Green Dragon.

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

mercenary Os ;)

• 3.Shark attack: Reply to this comment

When the Irish demolish our scrums SARU will have to please explain why they specifically picked Os to be fired when Muir was the obvious choice.

• 4.gunther: Reply to this comment

Hahahahaha

you go xfactor.

are we due to meet Ireland at the WC?

• 5.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

alles van die beste Pieter. Jy het nie verdien om sommer so in die pad gesteek te word nie, al het jy dalk n bietjie te diep in die bottel gekyk op die november toer.

Sien jou in die kwarteintrondte…..

• 6.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Eish they already have Gert Smal and have read on posts in the past he is very good at what he does, so to lose Os to Ireland as well is not good for us.

• 7.Stormers still top of the SA Conference: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-4: ahem,

Yes,

In the Quarters,

Big “oops”

• 8.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

SARU circus continues…..round and round we go.

• 9.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

‘I’d never thought I’d ever be against the Boks in my lifetime,’ said Du Randt. ‘I’m looking forward to getting one over the top guys in the Bok coaching team considering what happened,’

looks like there might be a grudge there…….

• 10.gunther is pretending not to be married to Sheryl Cwele but is enjoying the free drugs: Reply to this comment

@Stormers still top of the SA Conference(stormersboy)-7:

hahahahah.

opfok.

gert smal AND the x tractor.

thats lineouts and scrums buggered.

• 11.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

Os, daar geen brandewyn in Ierland nie ou maat, net Guinness en Jamesons! Moenie gaan nie!
    Seriously though, this is not good. Although Os should not say “guys in the Bok coaching team considering what happened” – it was his own fault to mnisbehave. Maybe “top guys in SARU” but not the Bok team.

Plus Os – laas game het die Bokke die Iersie voorspelers n pak gegee, so of jy moet hard werk of daai bedreig terugneem :-)

Alles van die beste vir Os, SA sal hom mis

• 12.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Great player,a legend.

Was never the best scrummager though even later in his career.

Was known for his unmatched athleticism as a tight fwd and ball carrying.Hug engine as well.

Our scrumming improved due to Smit not being at 3 last yr. Introduction and better play of Jannie du plessis from S14 last yr helped Bok cause.

SA havent had a destructive scrum since early 200′s where Cobus Visagie and Willie Meyer were at tighthead.We always have good looseheads not tightheads.

• 13.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

SARU is fn pathetic to get rid of such a legend, one just has to look to the Cheetahs pack to see what Os can do. Good luck Os!!

• 14.stew: Reply to this comment

Good luck Os – just shows what shambles Bok rugby is in …… i would be worried if i was a Saffa – not good signs

• 15.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

um wasn’t Os sacked cause he was getting drunk and just generally being an idiot?

• 16.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Os and Gert for the Irish, Nick for the Azzuri, Heyneke almost to Leicester, Alan Solomons for Northhampton, Brendan Venter for Saracens, Gary Kirsten and Eric Simons for the Indians, Jake for the Brumbies…

Sounds like typical South African sport administration and politics to me.

• 17.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-15:

Careful, that’s close to sacrilege in South Africa.

Kinda like me saying Reechee McCaw hits old woman.

• 18.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-15:

And? Wasn’t Walsh an out and out drunk? He’s still reffing the last time I looked.

• 19.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-18: Walsh was punished as a NZ’er, came back a reformed man via Aus.
    Os was punished, hopefully coming back a reformed man via Ireland.
    Doesnt quite uphold your argument, does it?

• 20.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-18: so, Os should not be fired because someone, somewhere else in the world, is a recovering alcoholic and still has a job?

• 21.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-19:

Well actually that depends on how much you want to be right.

There are thieves and drunks in some of the Aussie and Kiwi teams and they were caught and punished but still play rugby.

If you read the article there were several culprits that were in the South African team that were seen drunk and disorderly.but the big man was the only one punished.

I suspect Muir and co sent Os down the river to save their careers.

Pal get off your high horse.

• 22.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@Stormers still top of the SA Conference(stormersboy)-7:

That’s very negative of you… I think SA have every chance of topping their group.
    Wales, Fiji and Samoa?… get behind your team bru

:-D

• 23.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-20:

Seems you also want to be right no matter how silly you sound. Read my previous and get off your high horse too.

• 24.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-18:

Has anybody asked the question of whether Walsh will be allowed to ref a Kiwi game in the RWC yet? Might be the way to finally get them over the line.

Could POB really have the bottle to try and pass him off as “neutral”?

• 25.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-21: From my understanding Os was the only one who misbehaved. Furthermore it was mentioned in some of the articles that it was somewhat of a regular occurrence with Os, that this particular incident was the proverbial straw.
    No high horse and I dont have a burning desire to be right.

• 26.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-14: I would be even more worried if you were a Safa

• 27.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-23: people are playing Os up to be the victim here, when he clearly did something wrong and faced the consequences. whether he wasn’t the only one, or whether someone else still has a job is irrelevant, everyone is taking his side because A) everyone hates Bok management B) he’s a Springbok legend. the facts are being conveniently ignored. if being objective constitutes being on a “high horse” then so be it.

• 28.gunther is pretending not to be married to Sheryl Cwele but is enjoying the free drugs: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-19:

I didn’t realise they were still punishing miscreants by sending them to Australia.

Oh well, the more things change….

• 29.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Flametop(Flametop)-24: There’s an idea!
    Maybe he’s been planted there all along???
    Conspiracy theory of note…

• 30.At least Os will still wear green : Reply to this comment

@Flametop(Flametop)-22: Ja. favourites to win it as well.

Actually we should meet Ireland if we top our group, which we really should do and then we’ll meet a team who we lost too last time out.

Not being negative, we should take them 7 times out of 10.

We just didn’t need it to be made any harder, which I think has just happened.

• 31.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-29:

It would be funny if it weren’t so serious!

Anyway welcome over Os…c’mon in… sorry we’re completely against alcohol over here…. you’ll have no problems

• 32.At least Os will still wear green : Reply to this comment

@gunther is pretending not to be married to Sheryl Cwele but is enjoying the free drugs(gunther)-28: :D

Classic

• 33.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@At least Os will still wear green (but no gold)(stormersboy)-30:

I meant that Ireland will top our group also….. fancy us to take Oz.
    That SA v Ire quarter is not a done deal yet (and if we do as badly as last time out..heaven forbid… we might not even get to play SA… but let’s not even go there)

• 34.At least Os will still wear green : Reply to this comment

@Flametop(Flametop)-33: I hear you.

We know not what the future holds……

• 35.stew: Reply to this comment

I personally think that the reputation of a rugby legend has been tarnished by an inadequate springbok management team

• 36.We are red: Reply to this comment

The boks will play Ireland in the quarter final of the world cup. I had the Irish down as winners for this game (they have won the last 3 or 4 matches between the two countires), but if they learn how to srum, they will smash the boks and it will be good night for the boks

• 37.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-36: ja good night for the Boks in your dreams bru

• 38.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Alistair: Pieter…ons gaan ons ma se p*** sien met hierdie Peter Grant wat beseer is….wat gaan ons maak bra ?

Pieter: Ney – moenie worrie nie ou Ali – tjy weet mos ik sal jou altyd help – Ik sal Ruan Pienaar bel. Jy sal hom mos net koop ne ?

Alistair: Dankjie my bru – ek koop sommer vir tjou & hele bottel Methylated. Daai special een wat die Midas verkoop.

• 39.We are red: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-37: I wasnt taking a cheap swipe at the boks. all the tri natiosn teams have their NH bogie team. Oz has England, NZ has france, and SA has ireland.

Ireland played amazing rugby against the english in the 6 nations. It will be a huge match. That is all I am saying, and if the Irish scrum comes up to par with the bokke scrum, it will make them even more competitive.

Thismatch up assumes Australia beats ireland in the pool stages, and SA top’s thier own pool so it might not even happen. Maybe it will be Oz vs SA in the quarters. would be a shame to have number 2 and 3 ranked team going at it in the quarters though.

• 40.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Go beg guy go make some money enjoy yourself
    F&^$%K SA rugby Like our current coach they have no clue.
    He should be boks scrum coach

• 41.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Sorry should read “big guy”

• 42.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Will be tough to see him helping another national side but at the end of the day if it took Os to get retrenched to free up the mulla to bring in Rassie and Derick Coetzee then that is a worthwhile exchange in my opinion. We’ll have all the same guys in the scrum come RWC so unless any of them suffer from short-term memory loss we should be fine.

• 43.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

If you’re a drunk, there is nothing wrong with going to work for the Irish! Birds of a feather flock together and all that… The Irish actually have had a pretty week front row for years, but now they have some real potential, with Kian Heally in particular looking like a superb prospect at loosehead prop…. What a mentor to have. Big loss for the Boks, big gain for the Paddys.

• 44.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I’ve seen PdV in enough Pre-Test Media sessions to tell being drunk is not an issue with the Boks, not for the ‘former underpriviledged’ that is ;)
    If the Boks will meet Ireland at the Qrt Finals, you may bet your house that Os and Gert Small will devise a plan to milk penalties from the Boks scrums depends on the test referee’s style.
    so much fun to watch,, ;)

• 45.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-38: that is so crass mate….its disguting….please Dusky….not on man

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.