Lambie’s fearless
12 May 2011
JON CARDINELLI, writing in SA Rugby magazine, says South Africa’s great prodigy continues to exceed expectations.
Pat Lambie can’t miss. He kicks six out of six against the Melbourne Rebels, and calls kicking consultant Braam van Straaten after the Sharks’ victory. ‘Coach, I’m hitting the ball so sweetly, it feels like I can’t miss,’ he says. That rare combination of skill and composure is once again evident as he nails three out of three the very next week.
In October 2010, SA Rugby magazine hailed the arrival of a special talent. Lambie exhibited all the attributes of a match-winning flyhalf, although at the time of writing, he was yet to substantiate the speculation; he was yet to take control. That article was written about a promising teenager, and few could have predicted the accelerated metamorphosis he would undergo in the next five months.
Lambie has ascended; he has begun to spread his wings. He led the Sharks to a Currie Cup title with a dazzling all-round display against Western Province. The sharp tactical probes, the visionary distribution and, of course, the daring dart and fend on Schalk Burger that epitomised his audacity. That moment alone will go down in domestic history, but on a longer timeline, it will serve as a precursor to greater deeds.
It’s an unshakeable confidence that’s come to mark him more than his natural feel for the game. Lambie believes he can’t miss, and through his increasingly impressive feats, more and more people are beginning to share this confidence.
Van Straaten picked up on that defining quality in the build-up to the 2010 Currie Cup final. Tasked with refining Lambie’s kicking technique, Van Straaten was surprised by the youngster’s penchant for responsibility. Van Straaten and Lambie spent a total of five hours during that final week discussing technique and practising an array of kicks, and it formed the basis for what was to become a prosperous working relationship.
They linked up again during the Sharks’ pre-season, and Lambie remained ambitious. While firmly entrenched as the first-choice flyhalf, there was still much to prove. There were other factors that contributed to his erratic goal-kicking on the Springbok tour of the home nations, but it was clear that his technique was holding him back.
‘There were some fundamental flaws that needed correcting,’ says Van Straaten, a former Springbok flyhalf with a reputation for goal-kicking accuracy. ‘His body position was wrong and his last step towards the ball wasn’t quite right. It took quite a while to fix, but as we saw during the early stages of Super Rugby this year, that hard work has paid off.
‘For a developing player like Pat, you want him exposed to as much ball as possible. This applies to kicking as much as it does to other areas of his game. I’d noticed that the Sharks used Stefan Terblanche as their primary kicker when they kicked for touch, and so I spoke to the Sharks’ coaches and suggested that Pat take on that responsibility. The good habits he’d picked up after working on his goal-kicking were carried across to his kicking out of hand, and because he got a feel for kicking the ball to touch early in the game, he would have some rhythm before kicking for goal.’
The Sharks won four of their first five matches and Lambie boasted a goal-kicking average of 86%. The improvement in his tactical game was also evident, and if not for a finger fracture that sidelined him for three weeks, he may have continued to top the point-scoring table.
While the Sharks toured Australasia, Lambie stayed in close contact with Van Straaten. The latter continued to analyse Lambie’s kicking performances and mail him video clips and feedback. It was after the Sharks beat the Rebels 34-32 in Melbourne and Lambie kicked six out of six that Van Straaten received a phone call from his prodigy.
‘It was a proud moment for me as a coach,’ recalls Van Straaten. ‘We had changed his kicking style and he’d put in the work, and he had progressed to the point where he felt like he just couldn’t miss. And it wasn’t a case of arrogance or over-confidence. He was kicking like an absolute king.’
Lambie’s performances with the boot and with ball in hand have not gone unnoticed. There’s a healthy appreciation for the 20-year-old in Sharks country, while members of the Springbok management are keeping a close eye on his progress.
He already has four Test caps and was on the field when South Africa completed wins against Ireland, Wales and England last year. But whether he gained anything from that northern sojourn is a point of contention.
Before that touring squad was announced, Sharks coach John Plumtree said that it wasn’t ‘necessary’ for Lambie to be involved. Having watched the four Tests and the questionable manner in which Lambie was managed, you’d have to agree that the youngster would have been better served continuing his development in a Sharks jumper. The Bok management introduced Lambie from the bench at odd times, and even the softest of critics would have viewed it as an example of a player being set up to fail. Morné Steyn was in great goal-kicking form, and yet coach Peter de Villiers decided to trade Steyn for Lambie at times when the game was still in the balance.
Lambie admitted that he would have liked a start, but tempered the talk of frustration by adding that the tour provided him with good exposure to the Bok systems. Sharks assistant coach Grant Bashford has been impressed with Lambie’s progress in Super Rugby, and suggests that the flyhalf took the whole Bok experience in his stride.
‘I’m not sure that he added anything to his game after touring with the Boks, but he certainly didn’t do himself a discredit,’ says Bashford. ‘A great deal of work has been done since his return, and he continues to impress everybody, not only with his skill, but also with his attitude.
‘We always felt he would end up at flyhalf, but fate certainly had a hand in his move to the position as early as last year. He came into the Super 14 side as a fullback because Adi Jacobs was out injured and we had to move Stefan Terblanche to outside centre. Then we moved Pat to No 12 in the Currie Cup and eventually to flyhalf when Steve Meyer suffered that big knee injury. Sometimes these things happen for the best.’
Butch James must start at No 10 for the Boks at this year’s World Cup, as he has the all-round game as well as the experience of having won the tournament in 2007. Lambie is the future of South African rugby, but history will show that experienced teams win World Cups.
There is still value in taking the 20-year-old to New Zealand and exposing him to a tournament of this magnitude. He’s handled everything the rugby world has thrown at him, and while it’s a travesty of justice that a starting opportunity didn’t come his way last November, Lambie’s shown a temperament that, like the rest of his skills set, is in another class.
‘Pat has so much time on the ball, he never gets rattled,’ says Bashford. ‘Sure, he’s got a great forward platform to play off, but he’s made the most of that possession.
‘He’s responded fantastically to the responsibility that’s been offered to him. He’s an old head on young shoulders, he makes the big calls and he’s asked for the responsibility to kick. He also has the respect of the younger and senior players. Everybody backs him to make the big decisions.’
And despite his perceived lack of size, he’s stood up to the physical intensity of top-flight rugby. Even in the matches where his forwards have been under pressure, as was the case in that loss to the Chiefs, he doesn’t shirk his defensive duties.
‘Pat’s not exactly small at 92kg,’ says Bashford. ‘His tackle efficiency [before he was sidelined for three weeks] is 93%, so he looks after that all-important flyhalf channel. It’s a channel every team targets nowadays, and Pat’s proved he can handle that pressure.’
The cynics have drawn parallels between Lambie and Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and Brent Russell, but the fact that Lambie played fullback before flyhalf doesn’t mean that he’s doomed to a career as a utility. There was much debate about his best position in 2010, but the argument is now settled. Lambie is a flyhalf. End of story.
At a tender age, Lambie already offers more than Frans Steyn and Russell. Steyn never had the sharp decision-making skills required of a top-class 10, while Russell’s kicking game was a perpetual shortcoming. Pienaar had all the attributes but was never backed in the position, and at times struggled for confidence. It’s clear that Lambie has no such problem. Ask Van Straaten. Ask Bashford. Ask the kid himself. He can’t miss.
‘Pat’s already light years ahead of other players his age,’ says Van Straaten. ‘That kind of calmness under pressure usually comes with experience, but he’s already
there. He’s got all the time in the world, whether he’s running with the ball or kicking it. It’s a mark of the really good players.
‘He has time on his side, and I’d like to see him used in the Tri-Nations before the World Cup. Test rugby has more pressure and variables than Super Rugby. I’d like to see him entrusted with that responsibility, and I’d be surprised if he didn’t pass that test.’
– This article first appeared in the May issue of SA Rugby magazine. The June issue will be on sale from Wednesday, 18 May.
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition

471 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
12 May 2011, 06:07 am
fearless huh? i’m it was fear i saw in his face when cj dragon “ruffed” him up..
12 May 2011, 06:36 am
right this will sound really far fetched and im prob opening a can of worms, sorry this is not about lambie thought,
i just find it quiet weird as to how many first and 2nd choice all blacks are continuously injuired through the S15??
my personal opinion is that they are planning rest periods for each player they intend on taking to the world cup to ensure they aint burnt out, if you look each week there is a all black or 2 from each team out injuired for only 2-3 weeks per time, carter and richie are always being wrapped in cotton wool as well as players like mcalister, nonu, smith ( ALTHOUGH HE IS USELESS)
you might argue as to why they havnt done the same with SBW if my opinion is correct but my opinion is they will purely keep playing him to ensure he is what they want by the time the WC arrives and they have then decided as to who they will play outside him, anyways its a shot in the dark,
P.S. Lambie is a Legend
12 May 2011, 06:38 am
I see the Keo writers have been told to write about some of the other franchises. So they cut and paste their sa rugby articles where they’re given the team to write about?
Must be tough this week chaps, looking at a keo thread with so little stormers thread musty be hurting you.
12 May 2011, 06:42 am
Taking that high up and under right in front of his own tryline in the pouring rain during the Currie Cup semifinal is testament to his courage.
Terblanche and Montgomery would have fumbled it.
12 May 2011, 06:44 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-2:
I totally agree with your theory. It has been my suspicion for months now.
McCaw and Carter suddenly have injuries this close to a RWC…absolute balls!
12 May 2011, 06:59 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-2:
Paranoia is a dangerous condition SB – it will spoil you life.
Your argument is undone by this picture of Conrad Smith’s broken nose:
http://w w w .stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/opinion/4969060/All-Blacks-hopefuls-deep-into-injury-time
But with your paranoia, I’m sure that you’ll claim its the Props Dept at Weta Studios in Wellington that is responsible for this picture.
Ma’a Nonu also cracked the bone in his eye socket…
But – what ever rocks your boat I guess…
12 May 2011, 07:00 am
it has been fantastic to see the young 10 s coming through the ranks and making there marks this season.
Lambie, Gary Van Aswegen,Sias Eberhsohn, Lionel Cronje.
Post 2011 WC will be most exciting.
12 May 2011, 07:03 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-2: well graham henry had it worked into the agreement with the kiwi franchises that every all black will get 2 weeks min rest in this year’s super rugby season & that is excluding the byes!
12 May 2011, 07:05 am
@BillTong(BillTong)-6:
That’s one player…
12 May 2011, 07:10 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-9:
What do you want – x-rays and doctors’ reports posted?
So – Richie McCaw will walk around for 3 months in a moon boot just to sustain a ruse (and try and confuse other rugby teams)???
Ag man, get real…(and get on with life).
12 May 2011, 07:14 am
@BillTong(BillTong)-10:
I shall consider myself well and truly put in my place. Your opinion is sacred sir.
12 May 2011, 07:23 am
Come on! Lambie was totally underwhelming on the unsuccessful EOYT in which he made his Bok debut and so far in the S15 he’s not ever been a game-breaker or even a danger-man. So far he’s just a very average journeyman at higher-level rugby. Prodigy? You’re kidding!
12 May 2011, 07:30 am
I like Lambie. I still think Eberson (Sias) will make a bigger impact this year. Let’s see how they he go against the best team in this comp. We have some great young talent coming through, exciting times.
12 May 2011, 07:38 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-2: even if that is the case, what is the problem with that, many teams have a rotation policy and periods where they will rest their players, in an extended S15 it is a necessity. i see your observation i just dont get why you see it as wrong?
12 May 2011, 07:40 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-2: You might be on to something. I think when Richie was injured Schalk was also held back imo. The Bulls shouldnt be playing Matfield this week, he should rest completely.
12 May 2011, 07:43 am
I said that Lambie should never have gone on the EOYT. The kid is a work in progress. He should not be the ‘miracle’ that ignites The Sharks backline but an essential cog in the backline.
He still has to prove himself. He does have talent though and at this rate should be close to the finished product by the middle of next season.
12 May 2011, 07:44 am
lambie will have a real opportunity to stake a WC claim against the Bulls at Loftus in a weeks time.
Lambie has gone into a bit of a shell the last 2 games, not sure the hand is 100% …
Class act though, very relaxed on the ball and makes sound tackles, fearless tackler….tougher than he looks…
still believe WC flyhalves should be Butch and Grant though.
12 May 2011, 07:45 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-16: agree
12 May 2011, 07:48 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-16: its amazing how SA does things with their talent huh, we build em up so quickly and then toss em aside just as quickly, by middle of next year i reckon Lambie will be about on his way to NH for a fresh start
12 May 2011, 07:49 am
Very good player , can only get better !!
12 May 2011, 07:58 am
@MacToogie(MacToogie)-19:
I hope not boet. Lambie is a fearless player and with the right mentoring and intelligent coaching he should excel.
Where South African players fail is in their mental preparation. This is where we get ribbed by the Aussies and Kiwis. Our players need to be decision makers mentally and physically. I suspect Ruan Pienaar was a victim of this failing by Plumtree.
12 May 2011, 08:03 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-21: at his age he plays with the calmness of Staphan, a very good sign indeed, all we can do is hope he isnt messed around like Frans and Ruan, when they switched him from FB, to FH then to center i said to myself here we go again
12 May 2011, 08:06 am
ja….important not to shift the oke from pillar to post.
12 May 2011, 08:16 am
@BillTong(BillTong)-10: welcome to the wonderful keo world of conspiracy…
NZ players “faking” injury, when you so rightly point out ONE example, it still didnt alleviate the natural mindset found on this very site by the majority of SA bloggers…
ANZAC reffing alliance, Paddy Obrien as head of refs etc etc…
now NZ players “faking” injuries…. bwahahaa its amazing how one little “get the yarpies” email has entrenched itself in the psyche of sooooo many SA’s…
12 May 2011, 08:21 am
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-2: Smith useless? go back to roundball chump…
hes been the best 13 in the world, runs amazing lines and has been the reason Nonu has looked so good… not a one trick pony like Fourie (does this man EVER pass the ball?)…
as for your injury theory, is it the same way SA have been resting Brussouw and FDP for the last year or so… bwahahahahahaha
12 May 2011, 08:32 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-25:
The Dr Evil laugh needs a revamp. Try something else.
12 May 2011, 08:38 am
This from News 24. One of the first times a ref has come out saying something like this:
“Stephen Nell
Cape Town – Dewaldt Duvenage’s “try” that was not awarded early on in Saturday’s Super Rugby match between the Stormers and Crusaders should have been awarded.
That was the word on Wednesday from SANZAR referees selector Tappe Henning when he was asked about the incident in the match at Newlands.
Henning has subsequently discussed the incident with referee Chris Pollock and the error has been pointed out to him.
“It was a try. The referee made the wrong call and was supposed to play advantage. The assistant referee told him that he could play advantage and he incorrectly awarded a lineout to the Crusaders,” said Henning.
Duvenage intercepted the ball after a quick throw-in by Crusaders captain Kieran Read. Read had one foot in play when he took the throw-in, but the fact that the illegal throw-in had been intercepted should have brought the advantage law into play….”
Yes I know we still lost. I’m over it.
12 May 2011, 08:39 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-26: you think so?
I think it sits perfectly with how stupid the whole “faking injury” conspiracy is? dont you?
Like Whitelock (the lock), his 6 weeks out or whatever it is, is only a ruse by the NZRFU so he will be right for the World Cup
oh no, thats another example to go with Billtongs, surely not, 2 kiwi players actually NOT faking injury…
eish..
12 May 2011, 08:49 am
Sept. 9.
——————————————————————————–
Current Font Size: Share
Photograph by: Cameron Spencer
Related Articles
Bulls won’t gamble with World Cup Boks
Tough to win Tri-Nations and World Cup: Smit
Chabal left out of World Cup squad
New RFU supremo to have no England role
Expat stars to turn out for Kings match
All Blacks to host Fiji despite sanctions
The Christchurch earthquake on Feb. 22 had forced organisers to refund about $20 million from the 130000 tickets sold for the seven matches that had been scheduled for the city.
Christchurch ticket holders have priority for the rescheduled matches and would receive notification on how they could purchase those tickets on Friday, organisers said in a statement.
Prior to the earthquake, organisers had sold a total of 919000 tickets, worth $189 million. They have budgeted for a total ticket revenue of $268 million.
“Pre-Christchurch, ticket sales were exactly where we expected them to be,” Rugby New Zealand 2011 chief executive Martin Snedden said in the statement on Thursday — the first day tickets were delivered to fans.
“The transfer of matches so close to kick-off is unprecedented for any major event and has created significant additional challenges, but we remain confident that we should be able to recoup the bulk of the refunded sales within the next two months or so.
“Overall, we still remain confident that, by tournament-end, we will achieve our sales target of $268 million and 1,35 million tickets.”
Tournament organisers are only allowed to keep revenue generated from ticket sales and must underwrite the costs of hosting the tournament and pay a licence fee to the International Rugby Board.
Organisers had budgeted for an operating loss of about $40 million, which is to be underwritten by the New Zealand government and New Zealand Rugby Union.
Snedden said the final phase of ticket sales would begin on July 4, when all remaining tickets would be made available for purchase.
“Tickets will remain on sale until they are gone and we urge fans to get in quick as this really will represent the last opportunity to secure a place ringside at rugby’s biggest tournament,” Snedden said.
“The final sales phase is traditionally a strong sales period for major events. As was the case in Australia in 2003 and France in 2007 we fully expect that to be the case in New Zealand.”
12 May 2011, 08:50 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-28:
McCaw and Carter are back. Slowly slowly to avoid fatigue.
I personally admire the intelligence of how they’re being managed.
12 May 2011, 08:56 am
@Fern(Fern)-29:
Dear Mr Sneddon,
I personally know a oke who phoned his mates when the final whistle blew after the all blacks choked against France,told his mates let’s go and watch the final.
They had no accomodation or tickets,just jumped on the first plane.
They bought tickets for the final from teary kiwis outside the stadium at face value,no mark up.
History has a way of repeating itself.
12 May 2011, 09:12 am
@Fern(Fern)-31: so you mean SA is going to repeat the mistakes of Apartheid?
eish, is there no hope?
12 May 2011, 09:13 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-24: when you say “majority of bloggers” Popps are you being facetious or you believe that a lot of saffas believe in CTs?
12 May 2011, 09:17 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-32: dude, what is with the fixation with Apartheid? are there never any incidents of racism in your country? come fresh dude.
12 May 2011, 09:17 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-33: well, originally I was being facetious, but the more I read this blog the harder it becomes to stay tongue in cheek… now I know not all are involved, but so many seem to cling to things like the ANZAC “alliance” and so forth its hard not to
12 May 2011, 09:19 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-25: I’ve told you a million times to not exaggerate!
12 May 2011, 09:19 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-34: Trans, the choking insults keep coming, which are also very very old hat, so I return fire with fire…
as long as people continue with the choking theory, I’ll conitnue with the apartheid stance… smple really… and Fern was stating history repeats itself, so I was concerned that SA may revert back to those dark days..
12 May 2011, 09:20 am
@At least Os will still wear green (but no gold)(stormersboy)-36: lmao…
12 May 2011, 09:25 am
How tragic aren’t the poor sad-sacks who hope upon desperate hope that the PAST can again come to the rescue of their ailing and failing team for a tournament a few short months into the FUTURE?
Or who pin their hopes that some other country’s team will please, please pray-to-God remove the threat of the All Blacks before they get to play the Boks?
Sad, sad, sad!
12 May 2011, 09:25 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-37:
the choking has been repeating itself
23 years and counting.
how many games are you gonna watch in nz?
12 May 2011, 09:26 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-39:
That’s rich coming from a loner who still lives with his mom.
When are you gonna stop telling us about the big party that is the wellington 7′s and actually go?
12 May 2011, 09:27 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-32: yes that seems to be the case already, with minorities like Indians, whites and coloureds being oppressed by the racist BBB EE and AA policies instituted through our new apartheid laws which prevent the aforementioned minorities from securing jobs to feed their families, attending universities and even from playing in sporting teams.
12 May 2011, 09:35 am
@Fern(Fern)-40: 23 years compared to the 60 odd years of apartheid Fern? no contest I agree.. and it looks like its still all the rage there in SA mate, as highlighted by Foreverrugga.. I’ll be watching as many games as I can
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-42: sorry to hear that truly…
12 May 2011, 09:40 am
JC – i love the way you slip in that Butch MUST start at 10 … Surely if Lambie can do two S15s, one disasterous EOYT and hopefully the 3N in ’11 he has enough experience ?
I would turn it around and say IF Butch can stay injury free then he will benefit the RWC squad not Lambie…
Isnt it interesting that as Lambie has ascended Morne has gone the other way ?
It all comes back to the forwards, you could put DC behind the Bok current tight 5 and he would do f…. all. Lets rather pray that Juan Smith and Brussow are fit for RWC then worry about 10, 11, 12,15 etc..
I do rate Lambie, shame that to reach his full potential he should go to an Aus S15 team
12 May 2011, 09:40 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-43:
My first chance to vote was when democracy came to SA.I never benefitted from apartheid and neither has my parents.RSA is a great country with lots of potential.
I have got so many selfmade oppurtunities,it is scary.
Just loving it here and excited about life:-)
12 May 2011, 09:41 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-37: the choking is rugby related, not so? so why get into politics chap?
a lot of horrible things happened during that time, you reckon it’s worth trivialising on a rugby blog?.
Oops having bashed the tight 5 I mention loosies, we are basically f……d in the front row !
@poppa69(poppa69)-37: What the f**k does Apartheid have to do with choking or rugby?? God, you and your braying and your generalisations and your trawling this place looking for something to jump on are so boring….no check that, you were boring a year ago already. Now you’re just getting sad. Even sadder tha skop which I didn’t think was possible. Get a life, get some friends.
You joke about rape, apartheid , crime etc on a RUGBY blog without a care in you ignorant uninformed head, ( and justify yourself that the opinions of a few bloggers even more ignorant and uninformed than you make it OK ) but watch the reaction when someone crack a joke about an earthquake…. You jump up and down screaming and repeatedly s*****g your pants…hypocritical much?
*cue long, self righteous waffling sermon including the same old like “just returning serve”, “fight fire with fire”, “dish it out but can’t take it” and the ever-popular “bwahahahaha” ad nauseaum ad infinitum….
12 May 2011, 09:43 am
Keo. Can you take this dumbfck’s face off the Springbok banner at the top of the page? It depresses me every time I see.
12 May 2011, 09:43 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-48: nice tantrum mate… keep it up…
like I stated previously, you guys want to keep throwing choking in our faces, I’ll kepp throwing apartheid in your faces…
whats the matter, dont like it? welcvome to the club chump…
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All