Luke still has Bok ambition

Luke Watson says he would be open to representing the Springboks again and believes they are in a stronger position than any other team to win the World Cup.

Watson was speaking in Cape Town en route to Port Elizabeth where he will commence duty with the EP Kings after two years at Bath in the Premiership.

He left South Africa in late 2009 having established a reputation for being outspoken on a range of issues, most notably representing the Springboks. At a dinner at University of Cape Town Rugby Club, he was alleged to have said, among other things, that he felt like vomiting on the Bok jersey when he debut in 2007 because of what it represented.

Although it was never confirmed that he said this, many of the senior Springboks, who had been vehemently opposed to his late inclusion in the 2007 World Cup training squad, used the claims to further justify their dislike and disregard for him.

Watson, whose father Cheeky was a prominent activist during the struggle years, intimated that his thinking and attitude at the time had been influenced by others. He, however, suggested that he returns a different person.

‘I grew up in a fundamentally different environment to most – every word was watched, every decision I made monitored,’ Watson told keo.co.za. ‘I remember being interviewed by CNN at the age of 10 and asked whether I support the Springboks. I said “yes”, but was quickly rapped over the knuckles by the powers that be because it wasn’t the correct thing to do politically.

‘I never really had an opportunity to establish my own identity and make my own decisions. These 18 months in Bath have been incredibly beneficial in that regard. It’s given me the opportunity to assess the things that I value.

‘It’s easy for me to sit here and tell you how mature I have become. But I can only hope that over the next few years you will notice that there are certain values and principles have have been altered. I’m still going to be the Luke Watson that speaks from my heart, not too worried about the consequences that come with the truth. I’m not going to shy away from any issues because of opposition I’ve received in the past.

‘Yes there are things that I still don’t agree with at a national and regional level. But if I do get the opportunity to represent my country again I will do so very proudly.’

Watson is unlikely to force his way into the Springbok World Cup squad, and never gave the impression that he expected to. But that didn’t stop him from sharing his views on where they stand at present.

‘As far as talent squad and depth goes, I don’t think any team can match the Springboks,’ he said. ‘If the All Blacks lose Dan Carter or Richie McCaw there are big, big holes to fill. We’re not in the same situation. Most of our players are very easily replaceable. We’re in a very strong position if the right team is selected and managed correctly.’

Watson added: ‘I’d like to see a couple of the youngsters who haven’t got an opportunity to play Test rugby get that chance before the World Cup. For example, for me it’s ridiculous that Duane Vermeulen hasn’t played any Tests. He has been the most consistent loose forward in the last two or three seasons of Super Rugby. Yes we have great loose forwards, but surely you have to find an opportunity somewhere for him.

‘Also, I’d like to see Pat Lambie play two or three Tests at 10. Peter Grant deserves an opportunity as well. We’ve seen what Morné Steyn can do, but we should go to the World Cup knowing that we have options in terms of playing different styles against different teams.’

The 27-year-old, who will compete with Eastern Province in the Currie Cup First Division and Vodacom Cup (in 2012) until the Kings’ entry into Super Rugby in 2013, said he wasn’t available to any other franchise in 2012.

Watson acknowledged the prevailing perception that he was taking a massive step backwards in his career, but explained the decision, saying: ‘I was in heaven in Bath, earning pounds and captaining the side. Life was easy. I could have stayed in Bath and taken comfortable, easy route. But I knew there was something greater that I could achieve.

‘I understand that people would look at the move from one of the top sides in Europe to playing Currie Cup First Division as a step down and a risk. But I look at the long-term potential of this decision, especially its ability to uplift a community and region. Sure there are a lot of things that are not ideal. But there are a lot more that are.

‘I really believe that the players and the resources are there for the Kings to be successful. It’s incredibly difficult to keep the talented players in the Eastern Cape without a Super Rugby franchise. The Kings solve that problem, although I appreciate that it will take time [to hold on to the region's best players].’

Follow Ryan on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

360 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

• 201.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

The dickheads regarding one Luke Watson are basically all either JW disciples or Sharkievarkie arselickers

Most stupid bunch of imbeciles ever to have proclaimed themselves rugby supporters full stop… Idiocy in mammoth abundances.. such are these fucked up deluded disciples of supreme idiocy

Entire Watson saga was a setup between White and Smit and nothing much else… politics got dragged into it as a side issue… and all these fuckups bought it.

• 202.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Over and out…

Agile, good to see you back… Twat!

Jock, taste those vapour trails…

• 203.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-192: ok…thanks

• 204.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-200:

Cheers.

• 205.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-201:

“The dickheads regarding one Luke Watson…”

OH SHI…..! are you saying there’s more than one!?!

Please try to make sense.

• 206.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

any other country Watson would have been open side flank at first opportunity during his years of mastery … here it was protectionism of the rabid status quo till death do them part.

• 207.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Ooooooooooooohhhhhhhhh…wait. Skoppie! It’s you! Ok that explains everything.
    (have to contact the janeGoodall institute to make sure I know the right “oops” and “eeps” to greet you properly.)

• 208.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-205: an entire nation full of them and 80% – 90% of bloggers here

• 209.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-202:

cheers mate

• 210.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-208:

I’m just pulling your leg. They call me the Lord of Misunderstanding. And a couple of other things.
    How’s it going champ?

• 211.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

not much more than can be said in this context.

Keohane has done his 180 degree turnaround wrt first being up JW’s arse now he’s up Luke’s

Next you’ll have Luke and John being long lost rekindled apostles at the alter of His Holiness King of the Hill Church and kissing and turning cheeks much better

Else its another spate of cancerous books already hot on the press waiting to hit the sellout counter at Exclusive Books come November.. just in time for the last gasp Xmas festivities before all Hades breaks loose in 2012

• 212.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-210:
    doing fine, thanks.. hows you?

where that piffle little idiot Herr Gwat disappear to with his dangling string of gephoephel hanging half way out his gat as he waffles out the door?

• 213.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Careful, you fckfaced little vegan imp… HG is watching you…

Will pounce sooner rather than later…

• 214.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-212:

Ja ag, I’m alright, doing my best to ensure Rand Water is out of business by 2016.
    So you are Skoppie, then Yliad and now a “Shambolic, Poopy Aloo gobie dish”?
    How many times have they klapped you with the ban hammer my friend?

• 215.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

eish these are the keo days of our lives :lol:

• 216.Brendope: Reply to this comment

From News24.

Luke Watson signs with Keo

Luke Watson arrived back in South Africa last week after a successful playing stint in Bath, and after a quiet few days spent catching up with family, friends and former players, he was presented to the media in Cape Town by Highbury Safika Media (HSM – publishers of SA Rugby magazine and http://www.keo.co.za amongst others).

HSM, at the same function, confirmed their entry into the sports management market with their signing of the fiery Springbok, Bath and EP Kings loose forward.

Questioned on any potential conflict of interest given that Watson just happens to be the poster and cover model for this month’s issue of SA Rugby magazine, HSM CEO Kevin Ferguson was confident in the belief that his editorial teams would pick covers and features based on servicing readers rather than any other potentially nefarious reasons.

Backing up their CEO were Commercial Director, and the man who will run the player management side of the business, Shane Keohane, brother to HSM Chief Operating Officer, Mark Keohane, who were both at pains to stress that the two sides of the business would be kept very separate.

“As a player I wanted to be aligned with a vibrant company who share my enthusiasm for Eastern Province and South African rugby, and who also believe there is a different way to manage the careers of players,” said Watson.

Watson arrives in Port Elizabeth at the weekend and will represent the Kings in the guise of the South African Kings in June’s IRB sanctioned Emerging Nations tournament to be hosted by Romania. The Kings replace the Emerging Springboks as South Africa’s tournament representative.

Conflict of Interest Mark? lol.

• 217.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

there the fanny little fckup sharkievarkie narcissistic Nazi is just in time for his evening medicine

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-214: its one name per week or less for me now already I think I got about 12 – 15 gmail or yahoo accounts all piled up already

they still cannot make up their minds round here whether they love me or hate me… like most messianic prophets before their time they crucify them first then howl like chest beating sack cloth and ashes holy moly’s once their beloved has duly parted.

• 218.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-217: @President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-215:

BTW sharkie_president… just in case you get it wrong again that post weren’t meant for you… I guess you should know that already

• 219.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-217:

That’s only because every good story needs a villain Skop. But I like you. I look to you for inspiration sometimes.

• 220.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-214:

You the chief executer in ensuring RW goes into liquidation or what is your professional designation?

• 221.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-220:

Not quite, I’m just a very….”effluent” supplier.

• 222.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-219:
    Thanks agile … you are a good sort… and there quite a good few around here too… though you got to sift and search a little for them amongst the rabble

then there are the loud mouths the ones patting themselves on their vociferous backs day in and out 24/7… they the type that need to get smacked from here to the hereafter.

Its like a vicious turnstile of a snake infested pit sometimes but such is society and so it manifests in little sample pockets like this one.

• 223.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-218: did not take it to be so so no biggy thanks

• 224.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good grief there’s a chef roasting a grouse on tv.

Ag shame man.

• 225.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-224:

You should consider getting a new TV if your set gets THAT hot lady…..

• 226.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-221:

oookay… trying to get a handle round that one

so you say Bullies will take Sharkies this weekend

Its a strange psychology ain’t it… almost every other week I’m sticking up for any team that take on Bulls…. whether its Lions or Cheetahs or even Highlanders or Saders I get behind them if they playing Bulls and especially at Loftus..

Until they play Sharks… then I’m behind Bulls 100%… that 2007 S14 final was the cherry on top of all mercenary slaying extravaganzas …. couldn’t have happened to a nicer bunch of two faced mercenaries anywhere.

• 227.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

how is queen Joan de Arc these days… behaving herself I kinda suppose now that SBW has headed back to his fortress?

• 228.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-226:

Some Zulu bloke from KZN stole your goose, isn’t it?

Why the animosity?

• 229.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sack cloths…ashes… howling…?

Naah, more Jim Jones… koolaid… and farking outstanding giggles of happiness….

Now go fly your heavenly gregori kite…

And watch as the Sharks mount your Stormers and overtake them for the top spot… This weekend… at your nearest vegetarian carrot smoothie vendor showing dstv…

• 230.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Correction… no DHL Stormers no more…

Bacardi farking Breezers far more brokebacking appropriate….

• 232.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-224:

Pour some soda water on it and put it out of it’s misery.

• 233.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-223:

hope business is going good for you down here… though you do know how I feel about the ingredients on the menu

its just a shame that this old world is a dog eat dog society and when its not that then its a human eats anything one.

• 234.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-229: lol hiyas HG

• 235.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-234: Howzit Sharkie… Hope you having a good week… Can’t stay too long.

Tight one this weekend… Sharks vs Bulls. The Hardest Game in Rugby

• 236.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-233:

A dog eat dog world?

Tell me you haven’t moved to North Korea to evade Keo’s cyber police?

• 237.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gotta go work on my Luke limerick

• 238.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-228:

I just have this innate aversion to fakes its kinda ingrained in my DNA.. and Sharkie varkies aren’t a genuine rugby establishment… unlike Cheetahs and Lions and even WP and Bulls to lesser extents who breed proper rugby progeny from grass roots up and then they get pilfered like cheap ornaments that get stuck up on some falsified Moghuls mantelpiece… naah Sharks are a fake franchise … a lot like many of their fake supporters … they shop around and bid and buy and steal their way to stardom… it ain’t real guts and glory more like Tinseltown type Hollywood stories

Thats why the animosity… but like many here pride themselves in so much tongue in cheek type sarcasm.. even this animosity for these half baked halfarsed sharkievarkie guppies has a little tinge of that about it too … but only a very faint little of it I hope you understand … mind you

• 239.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-235: good to hear mate and thanks

Yeah bulls never easy , but then again i been saying the whole time , dont write off these bulls , to much quality in that team for them to stay down

so nothing new , this weekend will be no different , a match of note comming up

• 240.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The moon is full. Almal is mal vanaand.

• 241.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-237:

something like:
    “Luke is back
    my personal crack
    my no. is 083 222222 add another 2
    I love you
    PS Im good in the sack.”

…just off the top of my head.

• 242.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-238:

Couldnt agree more. The Sharks should be replaced by IMPI KINGS in 2013 S15.

• 243.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Naaa. I ain’t obsessed and that’s plain sisgusting.

• 244.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-243:

Sorry Ma’am, I seem to have grossly misjudged your character. It’s just that you say so little, and I’ve had to draw conclusions from other bloggers posts.

Friends?

• 245.justrugby: Reply to this comment

The best thing HSM can do is to keep Luke out of the spotlight and let him be reintroduced to SA rugby in a “calm” manner.

Allow him to concentrate on playing and let him do his talking on the field.

Of course he will never convince some of the jokers on this blog, but then again it’s not them he has to convince.

I truly hope is “loaned” to a S15 franchise next year in order for us to judge his form against the loosies that will be vying for a Bok spot.

Luke stay away from the covers of mags, get the Kings playing good rugby, lead them with integrity (if you are made captain) and let things take care of themselves.

Welcome back and good luck !!

• 246.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

got to go out and get some electricity before the lights go out

ciao.. ciao

behave yourself some more my little queen Jeanne d’Arc … easy on the you know what … look after yourself

• 247.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-245:
    Thats right.. thats what they shoulda done from word go instead of all the saintlihood and the opposite villainhood that goes with it

Luke should have been Bok in 2005-06 , any other player with that degree of natural ability and natural leadership type attitude would have been… except here where rugby is hardly ever just about rugby .. and is so often about so much else

anyway.. night.

• 248.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-247:

Once again Skop ……………you are right on the button !!!!

• 249.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-236: Ja, him and old Gary Glitter.

• 250.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

Would you like to produce some evidence to back up your conspiracy theory? He antagonised his team mates & many, many Bok supporters.
    At the time he said what he said and he behaved the way he behaved. He was not popular post-Jake either.

Having said that since 2009 he has cleaned up his act and I for one will give him a clean slate. So welcome back Luke

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.