Return of the King
17 May 2011
SA Rugby magazine reveals how Luke Watson’s move to the EP Kings transpired and his reasons behind it.
Watson returning was not a predetermined Kings plan. Luke’s decision to go to the Kings was self-made and self-motivated and it had nothing to do with his father, Cheeky, being the president of the EPRFU. The drive to get Luke to Port Elizabeth came from Kings director of rugby and head coach Alan Solomons.
‘He is a brilliant player and those who have played with him speak about his exceptional and inspirational leadership and about his ability to make things happen,’ said Solomons before approaching Luke.
‘I had heard so many good things about Solly’s passion and love for the game that it only made the decision [to join EP] easier,’ says Watson in the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, which goes on sale this week. ‘Once I met him I felt even more comforted that we shared an idealism for what the Kings should represent and a practicality about what they have to achieve as a team and a region.
‘I am not back in South Africa to prove anything to anyone or to myself. I am in Port Elizabeth to make a contribution, to a team, to a region and ultimately to
a country.’
– Keo on why Rassie Erasmus will benefit from being with the Boks
– Why Francois Hougaard should replace Bryan Habana in the Springbok side
– Jaque Fourie’s communication skills and size set him apart from the rest
– Duane Vermeulen puts fear into opponents’ hearts
– Kieran Read capped off an outstanding 2010 season by being named New Zealand’s Player of the Year, But his sights are set even higher in 2011
– In a year and a half, Reds coach Ewen McKenzie has transformed the Reds from also-rans to Super Rugby title contenders
– Quade Cooper on the Reds’ revival, his attacking innovations, and the battle for the Wallabies No 10 jersey
– The Mobile Eye device has given goal-kickers like James O’Connor a new perspective
– How the University of Cape Town broke their Varsity Cup curse
– Rudi Coetzee has justified Perpignan’s decision to sign him from bankrupt Bourgoin
– Ruan Pienaar’s stint with Ulster has given him a harder edge
Click here to subscribe to print edition
Click here to subscribe to digital edition
Follow us on Twitter:
@SARugbymag
@mark_keohane
@SimonBorchardt
@jon_cardinelli
@Ryan_Vrede
@Gareth_Duncan

259 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
17 May 2011, 12:09 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-148: *sigh* If you don’t get it I will try once more…
Substitute Luke for Barrit in this statement:
“If you’re going to praise the likes of Luke etc then do the same for the others as they play in same league/same teams/get same plaudits…”
Now do you get it…
Anyway, outtahere…
17 May 2011, 12:11 pm
pity Jantjies droppend….that was one of the best 10 performances I have seen by a Saffa in many a year
17 May 2011, 12:13 pm
mshiniwami debating with Heavens Game.
It’s like Bobby Kennedy argueing Richard Nixon.
No clear-cut winner!
But we all know who the Good Guy is/was.
17 May 2011, 12:18 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-144: bwahahaha what a self-aggrandising k_nobhead
“challenging mindsets”?
you’re a caricature at first/best mate but now you’re just plain b_anal.
17 May 2011, 12:19 pm
@cane(cane)-153: Speaking of which, did you ever see a movie called Frost/Nixon?
17 May 2011, 12:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-154: Thank you for making my point to Cane…
Especially this:
“bwahahaha what a self-aggrandising k_nobhead “challenging mindsets”?”
Cane, regarding Puke, take the comment above as the explicit version of my seemingly obscure explanation to you (thought you were better than that though)…
Like putty, Megatron…
17 May 2011, 12:25 pm
@cane(cane)-153:
you remind me of Ethel.
Same sunglasses.
17 May 2011, 12:28 pm
@>^..^< katman(katmandu)-155:
No Katman,
it sounded a little boring.
(unlike a Luke Watson Thread on Keo).
However, I’ve got a feeling I am wrong.
17 May 2011, 12:29 pm
HG
Delusional and a loutish bore.
new day, same delusions.
Ho Hum
17 May 2011, 12:31 pm
@cane(cane)-158: Indeed you are wrong. It was pretty good. Michael Sheen as David Frost and Frank Langella as Richard Nixon in that epic TV interview that finally exposed Nixon, three years after he left office. Directed by Ron Howard. Well worth a trip to the video store.
@gunther(gunther)-157:
Djou Ma se M o e r!
@Transformation(Transformation)-131:
Round of applause. I hadn’t seen that article before. Says all I need to know about Luke.
Isn’t it strange that the only players (at least as far as I’ve seen) who abhor Luke are the Springboks, particularly Jake White’s sons – Smit, Matfield et al. I have never heard of a single one of his provincial and age-group teammates bad mouthing him. I remember Robbie Diack winning man of the match during a Currie Cup game and all he could talk about in the post match interview was Luke and his inspirational leadership. I have also spoken to quite a few guys (6 guys to be exact) who played with him either at Grey or at SA under 19 and 21, though they did agree that he could be quite intense at times, everyone of them waxed lyrical about him as a man, a teammate and a leader.
It’s a pity that there will always be those who will never move past his mistakes as a youngster but I for one am part of the army of supporters behind Luke.
17 May 2011, 12:36 pm
Luke Watson might only be 28 but he is washed up, Finished . I don’t think there is any truth that Bath wanted to extended him… Why did they just sign F.Louw? Big Fish in a Small EP Pond will allow him to keep his big ego.
17 May 2011, 12:36 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-161:
var val djy uit?
17 May 2011, 12:38 pm
@gunther(gunther)-164:
Naai die vis is koud en die see by Kalk Baai droog my bra.
17 May 2011, 12:38 pm
Ek en Harry is nou geskei, so ek is nou nie meer die ‘beachwalker’ nie.
17 May 2011, 12:40 pm
@gunther(cunther)-157:
Ethel and I both enjoy a drink .
Is Ethel still with us?
17 May 2011, 12:42 pm
@gunther(gunther)-164:
Ek sien donners baie MCP’s hier op Keo deesdae. Oh ek verlang so na daai lekka ou dae, toe snoek nog iets wat geeet worre en nie ‘n rugby span van Natal issie.
17 May 2011, 12:43 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-160:
http://youtu.be/-8CbRyNyqrY
try this.
Glad I’m not a Kennedy.
17 May 2011, 12:43 pm
@cane(cane)-167:
How is you Canebolletjie. Long time my Allblacked out maaitjie.
17 May 2011, 12:45 pm
@cane(cane)-167:
I lurk in the shadows Canebollethjie. When my name is called I cometh.
17 May 2011, 12:47 pm
@Train(Train)-150: That’s ****. Vic is no great capatin’s arse. And Smit would not make it into the Stormers starting lineup on merit, so would drop the standard of the pack to accommodate.
17 May 2011, 12:49 pm
return of the king???????????? WTF! is KEO or SA Rugby trying to antagonise people? Is a title like this on the front cover of their mag going to sell copies?
17 May 2011, 12:51 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-171:
Sorry Ethanol,
i was referring to the Alcoholic member of the Kennedy Clan. Not your good self.
Any similarity was/is purely accidental.
Humbly yours,
cane.
17 May 2011, 12:51 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-171:
like a giant steenbras.
17 May 2011, 12:52 pm
shouldn’t this read “return of puke king”
sharks team announced.
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-173:
you bet.
Luke sells.
@cane(cane)-174:
17 May 2011, 12:53 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-176: give it a rest…
Read this article to see how his English team mates view him as a person… It was written by David Flatman, a veteran of the English game who has seen it all.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/rugby/rugby-union/news-comment/david-flatman-gospel-truth-luke-watsons-a-godlike-genius-2158024.html
Self Proclaimed king, thats about it
17 May 2011, 12:54 pm
@gunther(gunther)-175:
Ne!
@Sghibha(Sghibha)-162: army of supporters wtf are you on about?
Luke is the saviour of SA rugby!
17 May 2011, 12:55 pm
@cane(cane)-169: That was interesting. But not terribly good.
Wearing the fame like a loaded gun…gun…gun…
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-184:
Te vroeg vir Tassie bro. Gedra djou
@grant10(grant10)-180: ag grant you’ve got a crush on puketwatson, why should I give it a rest fk that man.
17 May 2011, 12:56 pm
@garth(garth)-172: matter of opinion – but Stormers looked pretty rudderless 2nd half on saturday.
@Ethel(Ethel)-185: bwaaahahahaha…eish but you are fuuunny ne
@>^..^< katman(katman)-186:
Kaatermann hoes dit bro.
17 May 2011, 12:57 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-190:
No I’m Ethel! Bwahaaaahaaaa
17 May 2011, 12:58 pm
@cane(cane)-178: ja he sells the Bok reputation and emblem down the drain.
17 May 2011, 12:59 pm
@Ethel(Ethel)-191: Ethanol, nee hier gaan dit maar aan. Ons teel en ons vote en so doen ons ons ding vir SA.
17 May 2011, 12:59 pm
I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Luke, and he is honestly one of the most genuine guys i’ve ever met. He cares about other people, deeply, and often goes out of his way to help them. Without seeking acclaim for it.
He cancelled a holiday in Maldives and donated the money he would’ve spent to the Haiti earthquake victims a couple of years ago, thats just one example, how many of us would do that?
17 May 2011, 13:01 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-176:
Easy rugger, easy . pour yourself a drink.
How many of US, could stand up to microscopic analysis of our every word ?
Luke’s every sentence is dissected, debated and judged.
Those without fault cast the first stone.
17 May 2011, 13:02 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-194:
Ek **** djy is soos ‘n hasie. Twee kleinin haasies nou by die Katerman. Ja ek wou vir staan in die Kalk Baai distrik maar toe sit ek maar.
17 May 2011, 13:03 pm
@cane(cane)-196:
Exactly, how many of these guys berrating Luke have not said far worse things around the braai with their mates? Very few, if not none, I imagine
17 May 2011, 13:04 pm
@grant10(grant10)-180: he will as soon as you give JS bashing a rest
17 May 2011, 13:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-186:
it was a little dated katman.
But so am I.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All