Grey, Boishaai clash in Bloem

Grey College and Paarl Boys’ will face off in the big schoolboy clash of the weekend in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

This match will feature the most successful team in South African school rugby and the best team from the Cape.

Grey College have only lost one match in their last 78 games. That superb 1st XV records stretch back to 1894 as they have only lost 79 in 720 matches. That’s an overall winning rate of 89%.

This year’s 1st XV wasn’t expected to do as well this season as they have lost several key senior players after 2010, but the side has impressed with an unbeaten run so far. While the results haven’t been that convincing compared to previous years, Grey have picked up 9 wins from their 10 games in 2011 which includes victories over Waterkloof (21-16), Kearsney (24-3) and Monument (18-14). Their last match saw a disappointing 16-16 away draw against the in-form Selborne College.

Paarl have done well this season, triumphing over the likes of Bishops (28-15), Outeniqua (20-7) and Wynberg (20-5). Their only defeat came against top-ranked Affies in a 25-10 loss at the Wilderklawer Super Schools tournament.

Both teams should be refreshed as they were off last weekend. Grey’s derby against Affies was called off because of water-logged fields while Paarl Boys’ enjoyed a bye.

SA Schools and U18 tighthead prop Neethling Fouché will front the scrum battle for Grey while the centre pair of Jan Serfontein and Dries Swanepoel, who were called up to the Baby Boks provisional squad earlier this year, will be a key combination.

Paarl fullback Rhyno Smith has shown good form this season while the halfback axis of Jean Nel and Andreas Nel should prove pivotal in what will be a tough match for the visitors.

Grey College – 15 Wihan Lombard, 14 François Pretorius, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Ruwellyn Isbell, 10 Jannie Strumpher, 9 Arrie Vosloo, 8 Edward Schmidt, 7 Leneve Damens, 6 Henco Greyling, 5 Gerhard Olivier, 4 Tienie Burger, 3 Neethling Fouché, 2 Jacques du Toit, 1 Rudolph Botha.

Paarl Boys’ High – 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Arthur Festus, 13 Donovan Nicol, 12 Johan Peens, 11 JP le Roux, 10 Andreas Nel, 9 Jean Nel, 8 François Basson, 7 WJ Smith, 6 Dean Hensley, 5 Ryno van der Merwe, 4 Takkies Reitz, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Ignus Nagel.