Paul Roos dominate WP Craven Week squad

Seven Paul Roos players made the WP Craven Week team that will compete in Kimberley in July.

Despite the Stellenbosch-based school experiencing an unimpressive season so far in 2011 (have only won six of their 12 games this season with four defeats), seven of their players were picked for the WP Craven Week side. This includes six initial starters and one backline reserve.

Other major contributors are top-ranked Cape school Paarl Boys’ with five. Bishops and Tygerberg have three players selected while Paarl Gym have two boys on the bench. Wynberg and Brackenfell have one representative each.

The WP team has five players who are retained from last year. Fullback Cheslin Kolbe, No 8 Andrea Dercksen, wing JP Lewis, flanker Sikhumbuzo Notshe and prop Tshepo Motale featured in the side that lost to Free State in the unofficial final in Welkom.

WP Craven Week team – 15 C Kolbe (Brackenfell), 14 D Goliath (Paul Roos), 13 J Gedult (Tygerberg), 12 K Lombard (Paul Roos), 11 JP Lewis (Paul Roos), 10 T Swiel (Bishops), 9 J Nel (Paarl Boys’), 8 A Derckson (Paul Roos), 7 S Notshe (Wynberg), 6 R Samuels (Paul Roos), 5 R van der Merwe (Paarl Boys’), 4 S Ferreira (Paarl Boys’), 3 J van der Merwe (Paarl Boys’),
2 C Solomon (Paul Roos) 1 T Motale (Bishops).
Subs: 16 C Corbett (Paarl Boys’), 17 E Swanepoel (Tygerberg), 18 C Davids (Paarl Gym), 19 T Carlson (Bishops), 20 A Warner (Tygerberg), 21 H Pollard (Paarl Gym), 22 M Hazner (Paul Roos).