SA latest – Rose’s Stormers move confirmed

Keo.co.za brings you news from South Africa’s Super Rugby franchises.

Rose’s Stormers move confirmed – Peter Grant has failed a fitness test and will be replaced by Kurt Coleman for Saturday’s game, while Griquas flyhalf Earl Rose will join the team ahead of their match against the Rebels.

There’s been a lot of speculation this week about possible replacements. The Stormers have lost Gary van Aswegen and Lionel Cronje for lengthy spells and now Grant’s ankle injury will see him return to South Africa. The injury will require at least three weeks to heal and he will not be able to train during this period.

It was confirmed by the Stormers’ management on Friday that Rose will join the team as cover for Coleman. Dewaldt Duvenage will be the back up pivot this weekend, while Rose will assume these duties when he arrives in Australia on Monday.

Rose will be with the Stormers’ squad until Grant recovers.

‘Earl has the experience required to provide specialised cover for Kurt,’ said coach Allister Coetzee. ‘He has a valid visa and thus was immediately available for travel after having being released by Griquas. He will slot into the Stormers’ structures and be carefully managed.’

Coetzee added that Cronje’s knee injury has responded to treatment and he could feature again this season should the Stormers qualify for the semi-finals.

Toulon sign Pretorius – Former Springbok flyhalf Andre Pretorius will join French club Toulon later this year.

Reports from France indicate the Lions pivot, who has struggled with injuries this season, will provide cover for England flyhalf Jonny Wilkinson. He is currently sidelined with a groin injury, and with the Lions switching between Elton Jantjies and Butch James at No 10, Pretorius is unlikely to feature again for the Johannesburg franchise this season.

Toulon have also recently signed league convert Willie Mason, Wallabies playmaker Matt Giteau and Springbok enforcer Bakkies Botha. They failed to reach the Top 14 play-offs this season and are hoping the influx of talent will aid their title ambitions.

237 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

• 201.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Why didnt the Stormers just get Pretorius? Or Elgar Watts? These are much better options than Earl Rose! Here we go again

Watchout Earl Rose will be in the Springbok world cup squad.

• 202.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-201: Rose had a valid visa. Less money, lesshassle, immediate availability.

• 203.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-201: Yes . His name is written on the paper. My sources tell me . He just needs to have a few good games and he he is going.

The only Lambie I know is in the pasture.
    The only Grant I know is the blessings granted to me.
    Earl for WC. Follow the dream.

• 204.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Well, I happen to rate Earl Rose, especially when everyone is on his case, he has a neck for shutting people up.

• 205.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-204: You are a good man meneer. Keep believeing . The Earl WC dream is now a reality.
    The people want him. The sun shines on him.

• 206.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-205: WC is another story, it would take more than a miracle for Earl’s arse to be on the plan to NZ

• 207.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I love to see Rose in the Stormers’ mix, and why not?
    You can’t say he doesn’t belonged there, or does he ? ;)

• 208.kyer: Reply to this comment

Does anyone know how to make WTF in 30 font??????

• 209.Sasori: Reply to this comment

Search for “Earl Rose” on youtube…

The top 2 rugby results show him getting smashed :P

He has skill, but he was a lightweight, and a bit of a dunce. I still recall Adam Thompson ripping the ball from him and trotting over to score a try!

• 210.passdidonnerseding: Reply to this comment

Not being nasty now but Earl is the most annoying player ever. All that gear he puts on, headgear, shoulder pads, gumguard, gloves, tights and those vests that keep you warm or cool or inbetween. HAaaah!! Jeez I always almost **** in my pants when I see him play. Poepeol

• 211.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Rose is a very talented player. Now he must find the sport that matches his talents.

• 212.cab: Reply to this comment

holy **** toulon are going for it, willy mason, the leaguie?
    where the ***** he going to play, too slow for the centers, big bugger tho, saw him in a london nightclub misbehaving.
    some aged okes tho, not sure bakkies legs still got it for another season.

• 213.cab: Reply to this comment

Bakkies, Willie Mason, Giteau, Jonny Wilkinson, Joe van Niekerk, Carl Hayman, Gavin Henson.

plenty of has-beens, but spending alot to try buy the title.

• 214.M@GUIRE: Reply to this comment

Check out this interview with Earl Rose on his Stormers opportunity.

http://www.ruggavibe.com/page/rvtv/597415-Exclusive-interview-with-Earl-Rose

• 215.whatever: Reply to this comment

Talk about scraping the bottom of the barrel!

• 216.bertus_baarmoeder: Reply to this comment

waneer is petoors nie beseer nie? Cursed!!!!

• 217.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

You would have thought this poor oke puked on the bok jersey the way some poeple carry on. Besides not living up to his ability what has he done to deserve this bile?
    I think this somes up some of our faults in our rugby. Talented players loosing thier way due to poor player management, players given too many oppurtunities when they did not deserve it and how searching for the next AA champoin can ruin careers. He has lost his way this kid and I hope he shows us what he is capable if when he was a laaitjie.

Go Earl give everyhting because this is going to be your last chance.
    Just copy the player with the biggest heart in Rugby, Gio Aplon. Copy his tackle technique, show some cajones.

• 218.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Sasori(Sasori)-209:
    Probably put on there by some people who don’t like him.

At least Keo’s threads will be busy for the next two weeks.

• 219.Sasori: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-218: Well there are no videos of his highlights…just the two of him getting smashed…

• 220.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

What happened to Elgar Watts??? Cant kick for **** but hits the gaps brillaintly.

• 221.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

If some people thought Watson was a cancer… Peter De Villier’s nephew Gommie Rose is terminal!

• 222.crowbar: Reply to this comment

As a Bulls fan I really wish ER all the best, and may he start playing as soon as possible.

• 223.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

rose could be a great rugby player if he had the balls to tackle.

• 224.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Rose Decent CC player No springbok Can do some brilliant things and then does some horrible things Poor decision maker

• 225.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

All ER’s kak games were played at Fullback while his record at Flyhalf is sublime.. and that is why the S15 Nazi coaches and other twats insisted on him playing at Fullback… Its an old Nazi trick that makes me want to burn a Springbok Jersy let alone puke on it. ER only needs to look to Aplon to develop a better tackling technique and he will be challenging Elton for FH honours..

• 226.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

ER is the most tenacious Muddaphukker on Earth… The media campaign against him was vicious but yet he still rises… He has defeated Goebbels and the whole fking Nazi SS division

Long live ER!!! Amandla!!!

• 227.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

This will reflect that the Power dynamics has changed at the Stormers… Rassie would never allow this to happen.. Fking Nazi

• 228.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to seeing Coleman play… Elton has set the bar high which is fantastic. Rise my sons!!!! Defeat the evil empire… they are reeling… strike cleanly and put them out of their misery

• 229.builder: Reply to this comment

I cannot believe the short sightedness of this decision. Just as things start looking up for us, the loyal supporters which this rugby union should not ignore, management decides to select Rose, a very poor rugby player. I will find it difficult to keep on supporting any Stormers or WP teams that feature him in their sides.

• 230.garth: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-225: I recall him being put at 15 so that his continual stuff ups had less impact on the game. Let’s hope he matured a little in Kimberley.

• 231.ST1: Reply to this comment

His interview on http://www.ruggavibe.com is good. I say the proof is in the pudding. Let’s see how he perform’s. And we take it from there.

• 232.Nautigal: Reply to this comment

“He will slot into the Stormers’ structures and be carefully managed.”…………….. I hope this means he never manages to get on he field.

• 233.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-230: You recall kak.. He was leading points taker in the CC for the lions and at that stage everybody was calling for him to be included in the Springbok team.. The Nazi inner circle then instructed Loffie to destabilise him and play him out of position. Loffie, with a shot at CC final, decided to switch him to FB for the CC semi.. which the Lions ended up losing after being hot favourites. Instead of moulding his game plan around his King pin of the buildup to the semi, he chose to destroy him because Loffie is a Nazi c unt…

I have a better understanding of history and much better recall than you… dont ever challenge me again

• 234.garth: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-233: You are short, aren’t you.

• 235.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-234: What kind of doos response is that … Of course I am fking short… but much bigger than you mate. Understand what counts young man… but like being short has its benefits.. easier to claim self defense ;-)

Wish I was thinner though dragging around 95kg is not good for my health.. I would like to believe its all muscle though.:lol:

• 236.garth: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-235: Hahaha!

• 237.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

This must be to please Div, no man in their right mind would sign Rose. Combine him with Ricky and you get a Corner Pie and Tik Shop

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.