Brits boosted by northern exposure

JON CARDINELLI chats to Schalk Brits about flawed perceptions of northern hemisphere playing conditions and how he’s managed to improve his scrumming without compromising his attacking flair.

Brits was named Man of the Match for his heroic contributions in last Saturday’s English Premiership final. The Saracens’ hooker was in top form at the set-piece, scrumming impressively and producing a flawless display at the lineout, while a searing linebreak culminated in what would be an important try for team-mate James Short.

It was a fitting climax after two long seasons in the northern leagues. When Brits left the Stormers for Saracens in 2009, he left with a reputation as a set-piece liability. It was also felt that the slow, weather-afflicted European pitches would prohibit him from playing to his natural attacking strengths.

Two years on, and Brits has proved the doubters wrong on both counts. For starters, working with former Springbok tighthead Cobus Visagie, the Saracens scrum doctor, has aided his transformation.

‘It’s been very necessary for me to improve my scrumming, because you won’t survive in the northern hemisphere if you can’t scrum,’ Brits told keo.co.za. ‘The referees encourage scrumming, and there are often long, drawn out battles where the dominant team is allowed to push the opposition as many as 20 metres. It’s not like Super Rugby where refs try to speed the game along, there’s a real emphasis on the scrum in the northern leagues.’

As seen in that famous final win for Saracens, Brits’s role hasn’t been limited to that of typical front-ranker. He could often be found sitting deep in anticipation of a Leicester kick, a premeditated tactic designed to exploit his speed and agility.

‘What’s great at Saracens is that every player is asked to play to their strengths,’ he says. ‘There are times when I’m out of position, but in those situations it’s for a particular reason.

‘I’m heavily involved in the forward battles at the collisions and set-piece, but I also tend to stay deep for the counter-attack, because that’s where my other strengths can come to the fore. Credit to Saracens for giving me that kind of freedom. You’re encouraged to play within the team structures, but there is still room to express yourself.’

Brits is but one example of a South African that’s benefited from a stint in Europe. Ross Skeate recently told SA Rugby magazine that his time with French club Toulon allowed him to address his physical shortcomings and turn a weakness into a strength. Joe van Niekerk continues to impress since making the move north with last Sunday’s showing for the Barbarians just one in a string of fine performances.

Ruan Pienaar says that his time with Ulster has forced him to develop a harder edge, while Marius Joubert won a title with Clermont in 2010 after taking his own game to another level. Both Pienaar and Joubert have returned to South Africa, and the benefits of their respective sojourns should be evident when they turn out for the Boks and Sharks respectively later this year.

It challenges the belief that a move to Europe is best made at the end of one’s career, and that there’s no chance of improvement once committing to a northern club. The idea that the weather represses creativity is only partially true, as Brits explains.

‘You need to employ different styles for different seasons,’ he says. ‘In winter, you have to play that slow grinding, territorial game because to play expansively would be counter-productive. When the weather is better in the period before and after winter, then you can run the ball a lot more.

‘I think I’ve developed to the point where I’m comfortable in either style. I’m happy to play it close and pick and drive in winter, but when the weather is favourable I will have a full go. It also comes down to what the team needs in terms of our game plan and approach.’

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

97 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.coherence: Reply to this comment

NH club rugby is uninspiring to watch. The support play is poor, and it’s very stop – start. It’s hard to say whether excellent performances in the NH are grounds for Springbok selection. NH based players should be used mostly for EOYTs, but hardly for important competitions.

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

geez…Brits signed to HSM…yeah you head it here first

• 3.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 2 Transformation…snap!! First thought that crossed my mind.

• 4.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Yes Transie, this follows a familiar pattern. Watch this space.

It’s a good thing that they used Ross Skeate as an example of somone who has improved since going North, as he is really tearing up the Super 14 fields at the moment. In fact, expect to see him chosen for the Tri nayions squad ;)

• 5.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

No-one has been able to answer why, if all of this is true, the Northern Hemisphere teams are often found wanting physically against South Africa and New Zealand, and the only team from up north that dominates the powder puff Wallaby pack is the English.

The South Africans bullied England at Twickenham last year, and the English hardly beat up the All Black pack. While they may have a more forward orientated game up north, that doesn’t make their forwards better than the South Africans or All Blacks.

The other problem is that Southern Hemisphere players returning from up north have often struggled to perform in southern competitions. Players such as Matfield, de Villiers and Smit were well off the pace and McAllister is half the player he was before he left. Butch isn’t looking great, in a Lions team which is surprisingly on the up, and Wikus van Heerden and Chris Jack are not the players they were before they left, although this might be age.

Its a major risk throwing players from northern competitions into international teams before they have mixed it up in the Super 15 again.

• 6.dr dre: Reply to this comment

Any second now tired old Grant will post and say that John Smit should have gone north a long time ago and how the slow pitches would have suited his game blah blah blah ….

Pathetic old T*$t.

• 7.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

Keo going after another of Jason Smith’s clients?

Shameless.

I think the fourth Brits article in two days gave it away.

• 8.grant10: Reply to this comment

John smit should go nowhere except the Supersport commentary box!

• 9.flanka: Reply to this comment

So sharks try solve their midfield problem with bringing yet another retiree….terblanche and joubert, now that would be a pension midfield

• 10.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@dr dre(dr dre)-6: :lol:

• 11.HHS: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-5: Percy came back a improved player.

i think it takes time to adjust but give these players a few months here and they will perform here as well. What i found interesting is that player coming back looking in better shape than they were playing in SA.

• 12.flanka: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-11: We hear a lot about how percy “came back a better player” but to be honest he only came back a better kicker, and that would in large part have to do with the increased kicking game up north and reliance on penalties. He was never the same in terms of his athleticism. Better examples are the matfields, smits etc who all came back quite out of shape and out of puff

• 13.flanka: Reply to this comment

the setpiece play might be at a better standard but the conditioning certainly isn’t due to the slow pace of their game compared to the SH

• 14.grant10: Reply to this comment

I do agree that these NH Saffa stars should have to play some competetive rugby here in SA to prove themselves….

Schalk has been incredible…..what a player to have coming off the bench with 25 minutes to go after Bissy has softened up the opposition.

But Plod is the cancer in the works…..

fact

• 15.HHS: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-12: Nah… Percy was better. He was more solid defender (not that he was great but was better). He’s decision making was better etc.

Also bare in mind you must look at reasons why people go overseas. Those that go entirely for the money will come back sluggish. Those trying something new and maybe want to improved their skill set come back better. Percy has done that, Brits too and I think Barrit as well. Ruan Pienaar is also better just because he is not being forced to play in a possie he doesn’t want to.

• 16.stew: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-5: The level and speed of Southern hemisphere is far higher than the Northern hemisphere game – imo – when i went after school to play in the english club division , i found the pace of the game very slow , and i think that is why it does take players coming out of these divisions time to re adjust to the tempo of the southern hemisphere game.

• 17.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s all this Brits stuff?

Flavour of the month??????

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m beginning to have deja vu

Wasn’t this the same yesterday

Did I lose 24 hours somewhere along the way

• 19.flanka: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-15: we can agree to disagree with regards to the extent of percys improvement bar his kicking game and the usual level headedness that comes naturally with age…but the fact that he’s the only example ever used as a player who came back ‘better’ says a lot. counter that with the multitudes of our stars who go there for the experience etc and come back not up to speed and needing a service

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’m gonna jack this thread

Just gimme a minute …

• 21.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

King John Smit for President!

• 22.flanka: Reply to this comment

even during the crusaders-sharks game the brit commentators were in complete shock at the pace of the game…it was mindblowing to then and they kept going on about it, but it was just another super 14 game. so i think its fair to say the NH improves our forwards in the setpiece in terms of their technical skills, but not much else

• 23.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This is farking absurd

Everything that had to be said about Brits was said yesterday

Jeez they can’t even come up with another toothless drunken Crusader supporting anti cullart tirade

• 24.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-9:

Terblanche being the same retiree that lifted the Currie Cup trophy not more than a few short months ago…aiaiai…

You bleating Stormers.

• 25.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-23: agree with you dawn

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Just get rid of whole front rows and play Deon Greyling single-handedly.

End of.

• 27.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Anybody heard Bismarck’s interview on Jacaranda? Funny stuff!

• 28.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-24: lol

• 29.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-26: Yes! And if he’s not availablem play Dean Greyling. Heard he’s just as good. ;)

• 30.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Sonny Brits Williams

• 31.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-27: nope lol what he have to say??

• 32.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-29: :lol:

• 33.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Really guys? Another one?

Sign him and get it over with please.

In fact, why not arrange a chat with the Sarries lock (Saffa) who was called up to the England Saxons team?

• 34.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-33: lol morne gm bro

yeah in here its same ole same ole

• 35.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-31: It was on Darren Scott’s breakfast show.Jacaranda is a Pretoria station so one of the dj’s asked Bissie whether he fears Bakkies. Bissie responded: “Bakkies wie???”. They then told Bissie to hold the line and gave Bakkies a call, asking him whether he was listening. Bakkies said yes. Bissie then protested that he thought it would be safe to say that as the Bulls are practicing and that he didnt really mean it. Bakkies replied that they were all listening to Jacaranda next to the training field.
    Bissie: “Jis, dis ‘n goeie idee. Miskien moet ons dit ook doen sodat ons ook sulke goeie rugby kan speel”.

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

ok let’s leave john out of the equation for a minute.

Who would be your 3 WC hookers then?

For me Bismark, Chilli, and Adriaan.

After him either Gary or Tiaan.

After them Deon or Schalk,

That’s how it is for me.

• 37.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-35: lol , and i know jakaranda mate , good station

• 38.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-37: Morning T howzit?

• 39.LITELOCK: Reply to this comment

Sorry to get off topic guys,but following a disagreement at work today Re:World cup.I want to see how you all feel about the way i see the Boks chances”If they can decide which game to play ie-kick and chase or running or just a straight defensive game AND get all the players on the same page they have every chance of retaining the title.”The counter to this was they didnt think PDV was the coach to do this. Do you agree or did i just make a complete tosser of my self? Man,sticking up for Bok rugby in NZ is hard work!

• 40.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I see Marius Joubert is quoted as saying that he will only be available for the Sharks at the end of June earliest.

News 24.com:

“My contract is from the beginning of July and at the moment I don’t know of any plans to get me to play in the last rounds of Super Rugby nor do I really intend to play any more games before July,” said Joubert.

Seems a waste, although he is coming off a hard season so may need some rest.

Sharks could use him. He isn’t a favourite of mine but they have to try something different IMO.

• 41.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-38: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-40: gm bro , yeah we need him for real

hope the sharks can convince him to start earlier

• 42.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Plumtree on the situation:

“Marius is contracted from July and he does need a break but if we find we are in a situation where we need him in an emergency then maybe we can come up with a plan whereby he plays the last games of Super Rugby and then starts the Currie Cup late,” said Plumtree.

“For instance at the moment Adi Jacobs is doubtful for the next match, so we might be in a bit of a pickle if we lose another centre. That is why we might need to talk to Marius. But at this stage nothing has decided, and I haven’t spoken to Marius. We will let him get back to South Africa first and then see where we stand and where he stands.”

Pick up the phone John.

• 43.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-36:
    Ja….strauss is playing awesome, as is Bissy and chilli.

But sometimes its about that special bit of x factor, that bit of magic that can turn the game on its head….look at that Sarries try that Brits created….no 2 in the world can do that run….no one….not Bissy, chilli, strausss, mealamu ….

no one….except Brits!

For me 1 or 2 x factor game breakers [ like F Steyn 60 m drop goal, ] can be the difference.

Now I am not saying fill team with 15 flair game breakers …at all….

But I promise you 1 thing….a firing Bissy for 55 minutes, followed by a very spec ial oke in brits for last 25 will be awesome and spread concern in oppo ranks….

For me it is about comparing other saffa hookers with brits AS AN IMPA=CT PLAYER! .

therein lies the rub….

• 44.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

ok off to work , catch up laters

• 45.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-43: fair point, but you must ask, and on form, is that not what a Deon Fourie offers?

Just sayin’

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

@LITELOCK(LITELOCK)-39: we will do what we do, skop en jag and defend and skop penalties….

No way PDV will change game plan.

When smit and matfield were chosen the dye was cast.

Matfield already saying the boks …poms game end 2010 is boks blueprint…..its already out there mate….no need to look hard..

• 47.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-45: Or a Craig Burden?

• 48.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-11:

Hardly! he only came back an improved goalkicker….

• 49.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-33:

Mouritz Botha is his name

Matt Stevens is a nice tale too.

“Prop forwards generally move in pedestrian ways, their wonders to perform, but Matt Stevens has a reputation for doing things differently. His re-emergence as an international-class tight forward – the first stage of his career ended abruptly when his “recreational” dabblings with cocaine turned into a serious habit – continued at a sprinter’s pace yesterday when he was named in the second-string England Saxons squad for the annual Churchill Cup tournament, which begins this weekend.

He must now be regarded as a live contender for World Cup selection. The South African-born scrummager is only a few weeks into his comeback with Saracens, and as recently as February, he would have been grateful for a few run-ons with the first team. As it turned out, he cemented his place in the starting line-up almost immediately and helped the club to a first English championship title at Twickenham on Saturday.

Assuming he avoids injury while showing some half-decent form against the likes of Tonga and the United States over the next fortnight or so, he will be very much in the thoughts of the England manager Martin Johnson ahead of September’s global gathering in All Black country.

Stevens joins five other props – Alex Corbisiero, Andrew Sheridan, Dan Cole, Paul Doran-Jones and David Wilson – in contesting four places in the World Cup party, and his ability to perform at a high level on both sides of the scrum gives him every chance of making the cut.

Almost two-and-a-half years after news of the drugs scandal first broke, Johnson remains reluctant to forgive and forget. All the same, the thought of leaving a fit-and-firing Stevens behind is likely to prove even less attractive.

Two of the prop’s fellow Saracens, the full-back Alex Goode and the lock Mouritz Botha – a 29-year-old late developer from Zululand who qualifies for England on residency grounds – are included in the Saxons party.

Those left out include the Bath back Nick Abendanon and the Northampton flanker Phil Dowson, who appear destined to miss out on the forthcoming World Cup training camp as well. They have been advised to rest up ahead of next season.

Brad Barritt, the Saracens centre, and Chris Robshaw, the Harlequins back-rower, are also off the Saxons’ roster, but their absences indicate that Johnson has already decided to include them in his 41-man preliminary squad, due to be named in three weeks’ time.”

• 50.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-47: Yes he does the same, but I didn’t bring him into the equation simply because he hasn’t played enough first team rugby this year.

Not his fault, but them’s the breaks.

Deon this year his shown himself to be one of the form SA hookers. Not perfect, still needs a bit of luck in his set pieces, but like Britz, his field play is fantastic.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.