Butch’s Bok spot is booked
2 Jun 2011
JON CARDINELLI writes that through his performances for the Lions Butch James has shown what he will bring to the Springboks.
Most thought James was crazy for signing a two-year contract with the Lions. I was chief amongst the cynics, and when I interviewed him in February I asked him why he would leave a strong club like Bath for Super Rugby’s perennial whipping boys.
James said all the right things. He saw potential in the Lions, who had new owners and an astute coach in John Mitchell. He was impressed with the franchise’s young flyhalves, and even suggested that it may be hard for him to win a starting spot.
His statements appeared to be nothing more than lip service, and the initial cynicism seemed justified. The Lions began the season poorly, losing 10 of their first 11 games. Mitchell lost his patience and was not adverse to publicly slamming players. Elton Jantjies, so promising in the 2010 Currie Cup, looked embarrassingly out of his depth.
But then something changed when James joined the side for their Australasian tour. They beat the Brumbies in Canberra, and then the Highlanders in Dunedin. A win against the Hurricanes this weekend will take them to three wins from four, the best performance by a Lions side on tour.
Suddenly James’s words are starting to make sense. The World Cup winning flyhalf has played with confidence since pulling on a Lions jersey, and his individual contributions have certainly made a difference. The Waratahs match won’t be remembered for the result but James’s try-creating probe won’t be forgotten. His deft handling touches made the difference in Dunedin, and his variation created space for men on his outside.
That confidence has been infectious. Earlier in the season, Jantjies wasn’t so much sitting in the pocket as hiding in it, and was prone to handling and defensive mistakes. With James on his outside, he’s become less of a target for the opposition. The pressure has eased and Jantjies has been taking the ball a lot flatter recently. The Lions have benefited from the forward momentum provided by that 10-12 combination.
When I spoke to James in February he was clear about his ambitions for 2011. ‘Winning a starting place at the Lions is my goal. I want to show the Springbok selectors what I can do. Next year will be more a case of helping the next generation through,’ he said.
Credit to Mitchell for finding a way to exploit James’s particular talents and ensure that Jantjies is nurtured in the process. James has been massive for the Lions from an individual and team point of view, and it’s served to show how valuable he could be for the Springboks at the World Cup.
James wouldn’t have returned to South Africa in 2011 if he wasn’t going to play for the Boks. His place in the Tri-Nations squad is booked, and with the Boks likely to rest their first-choice players during this tournament, James will get a further opportunity to prove his value.
Bath coach Steve Meehan told me that when they first signed James in 2007, they hoped his inclusion would have a positive impact on the way Bath played. The results have been there for all to see, as Meehan himself suggests, and now we’re seeing James doing a similar job for the Lions.
A win against the Hurricanes would be monumental for the Lions from a tour and tournament perspective. Not only would it mark a historic tour, but it would see them recording back-to-back victories. It would also boost their confidence as they prepare for their season finale against the Sharks at Ellis Park.
The Lions are yet to beat one of the title contenders in this year’s competition, and there will be plenty to play for when they host John Plumtree’s men. No doubt James, together with his protege Jantjies, will be at the centre of their effort, and victory here would further fuel the belief that even at the age of 32, James still has what it takes to make a difference at the highest level.

248 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
2 Jun 2011, 18:57 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-199: JC.. ?? you should drink less
2 Jun 2011, 18:59 pm
@super_adi(super_adi)-200:
Reunion was on last night for some reason.
2 Jun 2011, 19:00 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-201:
Sorry, it was the halleluja part that brought that on.
2 Jun 2011, 19:01 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-202: I have been trying to improve race relations all day long
2 Jun 2011, 19:02 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-203: He was then… I am now
2 Jun 2011, 19:06 pm
Butch can still contribute, as long as he uses both arms in a tackle. He will definitely help these youngsters to settle in. Give it about 3 weeks then we will all read about how the youngsters have developed under him
2 Jun 2011, 19:06 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-204:
Still rattling on about nazi agenda’s mind you. But at least it’s a step in the right direction.
Good for you Shaun. I’m proud of you for trying.
2 Jun 2011, 19:07 pm
@JL1(JL1)-206: Butch still the man!
2 Jun 2011, 19:08 pm
Oh shut up shaun ain’t a cullart white thing it’s elton butch COMBO for crying in a bucket jeez
2 Jun 2011, 19:08 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-209: LOL
Its a saffa thing lady……
2 Jun 2011, 19:10 pm
@grant10(grant10)-208: Many other back line players fear him, and you will notice how they actually look up and make handling errors when he is defending
2 Jun 2011, 19:11 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-202: thanks, damn, missed it
2 Jun 2011, 19:13 pm
@JL1(JL1)-211: yes…
Personally I would love to see him running out at 10 tomorrow morning for Stormers!
2 Jun 2011, 19:13 pm
After x years running away with tails between legs certain people forfeit the right to be called saffa
2 Jun 2011, 19:14 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-207: We must be vigilant young man.. Them Nazi sleepers are all around us.. BTW what is the password… something that starts with an N and in a R … that you are are not allowed to call a black man??
@Dawn(Dawn)-209: Luister jy in.. very bis
2 Jun 2011, 19:16 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-209: @JockBok(JockBok)-207:
Shaun?
Ah okay, that explains it, got it now.
2 Jun 2011, 19:17 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-209:
It’s not even an Elton/Butch thing. It’s a Lions thing, and who can honestly say they would not have Butch in their provincial set up?
A nice side effect, is of course a guiding hand from a man who has been there and done it. To support and help young Elt out of his 3 steps forward, 2 steps back career that he’s had so far.
It’s a win/win situation if you ask me.
2 Jun 2011, 19:17 pm
Got to pop off to the shops.. later and love to all… including you Dawn
2 Jun 2011, 19:19 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-215:
NonachieveR???
2 Jun 2011, 19:21 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-218: cheers boet
2 Jun 2011, 19:23 pm
willie wepener signs for bulls as well from clermont…..
Chaps…if skop pops in will someone please beso kind as to ask him to contact me on my cell…..i urgently need to chat with him…
Thanks
2 Jun 2011, 19:59 pm
butch brings experience,good defence,cover 10 and 12 and positive attitude. amust for world cup
2 Jun 2011, 20:12 pm
well Weppener a damn sight far better prospect at hooker for Bulls than that no show overrated nowhere man Gary Botha
@grant10(grant10)-221:
I’ll get hold of you later or tomorrow Grant
Left you an email, the one phone with your number on I have left on site at a client.
2 Jun 2011, 20:16 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-223: What are you blogging on, or do you use all phones anywhere anytime
What you say now about these so called over the hill Boks?
Suddenly Bakkies, Matfield and Danie are getting the hard yards in. Now we need Habs and Spies to stay on the bench or get some form. We saw 2 years ago that we will struggle to replace Bakkies an Matfield
Bekker and Van Der merwe are the only ones as Elstad is a 7 through and through
2 Jun 2011, 20:46 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-184:
When you argue your point it would be better to not lie, because you’ll be caught out. Sky Sports, a number of times, had nothing but praise for Butch James’ play. They spent a fair bit of some of his better games highlighting it. Granted he was petulant in some games and they criticised that, but overall James’ left a positive impression in the NH.
2 Jun 2011, 20:56 pm
Hi JL1 am on my PC at home now, the old phone with Grant’s number on is at a client on site.
Matfield and Bakkies still good for 40 min though Matfield doesn’t do any hard yard grafting, he’s a line out man and a little of a loose carrier in an open game.
I actually prefer Danie and Bekker at second row, and they both got ample pace in the loose with enough grunt in the tight.
I agree Elstadt is a 7 and should only be used as a 7, should never confuse him as a 2nd rower, he would be great as a blind side enforcer in the Juan Smith role.
Front row is our biggest concern for all the hullabaloo that Bismark is best hooker in the world I simply don’t see it. Smit is too slow, Bismark a bit too loose and not a great scrummager, and CJ no great shakes at TH, Beast not a world class LH, and Jannie just too pap in die broek up against top LH’s like Crockett etc.
Prefer Greyling / Coenie at LH
Strauss, Bismark, Chili, Fourie at 2
Kruger / Mujati at TH
2 Jun 2011, 21:06 pm
You could comfortably play Bulls tight 5 + Bekker
Greyling, Chili, Kruger
Botha , Matfield
Bench
Beast, Bismark, Bekker / Danie
with mix of Cheetahs and Stormers / Sharks loosies
Brussow / Burger
Smith / Elstadt
Vermeulen / Alberts
Half backs
Hougaard / Pienaar
Pienaar / Steyn / Butch
Wings
Habana / Basson / Aplon / JPP
Centers
JdV / JdJ / Fourie / Olivier
FB
F. Steyn / Kirchner / Viljoen
2 Jun 2011, 21:09 pm
@Number15(Number15)-225: I live in the Northern Hemisphere and he did not make an impression on me..I take it that you are going to say that my opinion does not count. Those that he may have impressed are probably that part of Britain that I call dumb.. While they only respresent 35% of the population they do run the country and control the media.. I confront them daily about their stupidity.. They never have answers.. These are the same c unts that work in the city and who brought the country to its knees.. but fair play, they were clever enough to to make a stupid government let them get away from it… You assume to much young man
2 Jun 2011, 22:27 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-228:
I don’t assume anything, and I never said anything about your opinion, merely pointed out your lies about Sky Sports.
2 Jun 2011, 22:57 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-228: they are “dumb” but “clever enough to to make a stupid government let them get away from it…”??
and they make up 35% of the population?
are they indigenous or colonialists like you shaun?
because you may think you are cute or clever but you will always be a minority outsider twat.
in england or in south africa (notice i didnt use the word “home” because you dont belong here any more lmao!)
2 Jun 2011, 23:03 pm
hehe, I suppose you want things run more along the lines of a good 3rd world Africa or Pakistan? You would probably fit in better, or would you?
Self opinionated doos!
2 Jun 2011, 23:41 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-223: Ag nee amn, you just bringing Gary up now to stick one at me. Gary will show you something tomorrow. Watch for that nr. 2 jersey.
Be fair to the guy. If the Bulls rate him and select him, I can guarantee you he is good enough. The players around him will not allow a passenger in the team.
2 Jun 2011, 23:44 pm
“I confront them daily about their stupidity.. They never have answers.. These are the same c unts that work in the city and who brought the country to its knees.. but fair play, they were clever enough to to make a stupid government let them get away from it… You assume to much young man”
You are either too full of yourself, or plain stupid. Not even Zuma can “confront” them. It’s like a mouse telling a cat to take a hike.
3 Jun 2011, 00:02 am
If they were to select the Bok team to play in a final today, they will have about 800 caps between them (starting 15). Come WC Final, it will be close to a 1000. What is the record for the most experienced International team ever?
3 Jun 2011, 00:15 am
@Number15(Number15)-229: I watch Skysports and its me who made an assessment of his performance… If you havn’t noticed, I have quite a huge ego but never short of substance. Nobody on this site including its owners who consider themselves to be knowledgeable, have managed to shut me up… Based purely on my conquest on this site, you should consider my opinion to be supreme.. Mark Keohane will never ever enter into a debate with me… and so will no other Rugby journalist in SA.. Now learn to say halleluja when you hear my name.
3 Jun 2011, 00:25 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-230: Ahhh, you choose to confront me.. very brave young man
.. you assume that I am a minority outsider because of your deluded sense of race.. Are you still onto this genetic stuff. Do you not learn?? Its about values twat.. that is how you should categorise yourself.. and based on our conversations over time I can confidently say that you are less than me.. Now if you believe that your gang of twats are bigger than my group of lefty intellectuals.. think again, Hitler lost that bet and so did the Apartheid government that you and your parents supported
3 Jun 2011, 00:26 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-235:
Idiot…………..!
3 Jun 2011, 00:28 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-235: Bipolar take the lithium. Shaun there is a big difference between wisdom and intelligence. You are smart but misgiuded.
Surely their are better ways to vent your frustrations of not been a freedom fighter than here.
Trolling on a little Rugby blog as some school yard intellectual bully is as sad as some trying to fight aparthied ghosts.
Hopefully you will do as promised and ignore me please and I am frightened of what wrath you will bring upon me. Hier kom vetgat…
Backing Butch has no vested intrest on Keo??? Jeez this blog is starting to fizzle out with all the trolls and their chips. Surely their are better ways to vent your frustrations of not been a freedom fighter than here.
3 Jun 2011, 00:34 am
@whatever(whatever)-231: You give me a great sense of superiority…
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-233: I confront them mate.. when the Mouth piece for the city (London Financial District) avoids me because he finds me intimidating, it presents a good indicator of my power.. don’t underestimate yours.. one man started the Arab spring
3 Jun 2011, 00:43 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-238: Smart but misguided.. LMAO.. your opinion mate. You can sit in your corner and contemplate.. I dont. We are different people. The son of a Kenyan cook in the British army is now the President of the USA.. However the leader of a small jewish settlement confronts him and pushes him aside.. ?? strange??
3 Jun 2011, 00:51 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-227: Good group, but you left 4 of our best out, perhaps THE BEST.
John, Pierre, Fourie, Ashley? I’m sure those names ring a bell.
3 Jun 2011, 00:52 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-239: Aah, thanks man. I’ll give it a try. I should stop underestimating my own “power”
3 Jun 2011, 01:12 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-239:
hehe, the only thing you have that is great is the size of your own overinflated ego and head. And I’m talking the one on your shoulders cause my guess you can’t find the one in your pants cause it’s so small and your jocks are overflowing with all the BS………..ne?
3 Jun 2011, 01:17 am
@whatever(whatever)-231:
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-238:
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-241:
ooooh LOOK
its the Morons AGM !!!
3 Jun 2011, 01:22 am
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-239:
I don’t think he finds you intimidating, more like he avoids you because you are boring and an irritating little twat………… geez, thats pretty natural……….can’ t you take a hint………….my guess is that you battle to get an invite to your family functions?
3 Jun 2011, 01:25 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-244:
Aaah, *** pig, where you been ?……..Following biscuit crumbs?
3 Jun 2011, 09:22 am
“Mark Keohane will never ever enter into a debate with me”
He probably follows the old advice, never argue with a fool, he’ll bring you down to his level and beat you with experience. You can assume the same about the “mouth of the city” (heheh) and other “central figures” who avoid you.
But what am I doing, I just wanted to point out your lies but now I get sucked in? Shame on me.
7 Jun 2011, 20:00 pm
I was a bit sceptical about Butches return, but watched Saturdays game a couple of times….he does all the talking and Elton is going flatter, no question, the guys on the outside have more time. Opposition are actually not sure what is going on as if there is half a gap, Butch will be into it. The tackling, I’ve never doubted he would have guys opposite him worried and making mistakes. Tri Nations would be nice to see the effects of a few Butch tackles on Sonny Bill. Only thing is the man is injury prone. Kitkpatrick said on Sky tv on Saturday that he was concerned that number of Bok big names are coming into form, just as the AB’s are losing theirs. I said they peaked to soon again. McCaw is half a pace off and I think his time may have come and gone. The tv host (also a Kiwi) said to Kirk, “is this the beginning of the choke” and Kirk actually said nothing….Lynagh had a big smile on his face as he knows the Aussies are also running into form. As I said last year, the big danger is Australia for the WC….England will be ready, but I think with Tindall there Johnson has misjudged it and they will be vulnerable at centre. My prediction is the All Blacks will go out in the semi’s…..the moment is going to be too big for them….hosting the world cup and last time was 24 years ago….their phsyche can’t handle it. JMHO.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All