Johnson’s rebound adds to Bok options
6 Jun 2011
RYAN VREDE writes that Ashley Johnson is starting to come into his own 18 months after his premature elevation to the Springboks squad stunted his development.
When Springbok coach Peter de Villiers included Johnson in his squad for the 2009 year-end tour, he told the media that he had earned his place off the back of impressive Currie Cup performances. Johnson had certainly been impressive and looked an international prospect, but he was undoubtedly still raw, and a tour carrying tackle bags did nothing for his confidence or development.
But the political agenda had been set and nothing would derail the transformation train. Johnson would consequently be judged by an unrealistic standard thereafter, and it was no surprise that his form waned in 2010.
Now, having had time to refine his skills, deepen his understanding of his position and role (be that as a blindside flank or number eight) and mature emotionally, Johnson is staking a strong claim for a place in the Springboks’ World Cup squad. He has been central to the Cheetahs’ improvement, and, notably, has shone in matches against the tournament’s elite teams – his most recent eye-catcher coming at the weekend against the Sharks.
However, Johnson is yet another example of a gifted black player done a disservice by premature selection. His team-mate and fellow tourist in 2009, Davon Raubenheimer – who has been consistently impressive – in a group for whom Bulls hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle is the poster boy. All have emerged as standout performers for their respective franchises in 2011. That they’ve recovered after being shackled with a weight of expectation thrust on them by the national selectors says as much about their talent as it does about their character.
Heyneke Meyer, Ralepelle’s coach in 2006 (the year he would debut for the Springboks), was dismayed when the then 19-year-old was drafted into the squad. In discussions with me at the time he detailed an elaborate plan for Ralepelle. He never doubted his talent – indeed he spoke very highly of him – it was the timing that was in question.
He stressed he needed time to nurture Ralepelle – mentally, physically and technically. For this reason he was deeply frustrated to hear of his Springbok selection, but feared being branded a racist if he expressed that frustration. He felt the environment at the time didn’t allow him, a white Afrikaaner, to do so.
My understanding is that Drotske had similar reservations about Johnson’s readiness in 2009. He felt he would be better served focusing on his conditioning and improving his technical skills. He also feared that Johnson lacked the emotional maturity to deal with the disappointment of not playing a Test (as would be the case). It would adversely affect his form, he predicted, and reflecting on Johnson’s ordinary offerings in 2010, he was probably right.
At their franchises, Meyer and Drotske have applied the same approach to promising white players who are in need of further development before being elevated. When they’ve done this they have been applauded as fine man managers. It is a travesty that they feared doing so when it involved two fine but still flawed black players. It is even more tragic that their views on those players were disregarded by the men that mattered because it hindered the creation of what amounted to no more than a transformation illusion.
I have no doubt that there are coaches whose vile racial prejudice has seen them stunt the advancement of black players. Meyer and Drotske are not such men. Both are fine coaches who, in my experience, have always been honest and transparent in their dealings with players.
We must not replicate these errors in future. That would require a willingness from the selectors to be guided by the franchise coach, and for the coach to make an appraisal on a player devoid of any bias. Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana and Juan de Jongh are just three examples of black players who have thrived having been allowed to develop at their own pace. There are none who have been fast-tracked that can boast being instant or consistent success. Hilton Lobberts is a prime example of just how damaging it can be.
What then to make of Johnson’s bid for a ticket to New Zealand? I believe his form warrants selection for the Tri-Nations squad, and it is there that his aptitude must be tested in an extended run. If he exhibits the ability to play at that level, then he could add great value in the loose forward department at the World Cup.
I have concerns about his conditioning, and believe this to be the reason for his inconsistency. However, I would envisage deploying him off the bench in the final quarter against Fiji and Samoa – matches in which those opponents are likely to employ an expansive approach and become increasingly looser as the match wears on – and conditioning would therefore be a non-factor. He would be a potential starter against Namibia. Used in this way, he would offer the selectors and opportunity to keep their first-choice blindside flanks or No 8s fresh without losing a significant amount of quality.
Beyond those matches, I could not accommodate him in my 22. He has limitations when the game is not open, as does Pierre Spies – the man he’d compete for a spot on my bench with – but Spies would edge selection for his superior experience.

596 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All
6 Jun 2011, 22:32 pm
@cab(cab)-546:
It’s looking likely that will be the kind of team that will be sent down under. Young and hungry with it all to prove to the established, entrenched ‘big names’ that PdV WILL take to the WC.
I’d love to see that side take on PdVs ‘first’ picks.
6 Jun 2011, 22:32 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-548: I’m surprised you rate him… with your hate of all things “coolly creeper” and all…. despite all your progressive protestations otherwise its always about pigmentation with you aint it…
Skopskiet bushpigmentation…
6 Jun 2011, 22:35 pm
Spies does sometimes put his body on the line and play hard, but i think he’s always played back at school, and therefore doesnt really have the right mindset for forward, tho Sa have also had their fare share of show-pony forwards, skinstad was one, tho probably the most talented player to ever play forward.
6 Jun 2011, 22:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-549:
Aha so I represent the big threat to all your alpha male type pseudo bravado aggro… when you gonna come get your medicine straight up carrion scoffing piece of heinous garbage trashass punk?
Little pathetic punks like you think you so f’ng clever.. lemme fill you in sonny boy… you a nobody, a nothing, a piece of infinitesimal low life clanging clashing vessel that needs his over aggrandized little head smacked about the ears so hard he wakes up to realize who he is rather than he always imagined he was.
6 Jun 2011, 22:38 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-550:
I can’t wait matey. Not so sure about the result obviously as it’s always tough to call a game against the Bulls. You just can’t write those fekkers off no matter how they are playing. They’re not the rebels or the brumbies. This is going to be tough.
Saturday is also my birthday and a braai has been planned starting at 6pm. I felt a bit sheepish telling my buds from Finland to start the fire after the rugby finished. Luckily they know Saturday is rugby day for me and they understood. Shiit, one of them that I’ve worked with for 2 years is even a Stormers fan now and wears the WP jersey I gave him on Saturday afternoons
6 Jun 2011, 22:39 pm
I love your team Cab. I only would change Taute instead Aplon. Of course i like Gio but we need him rested for the world cup. And i rate him at wing
6 Jun 2011, 22:40 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-551:
I think the youngsters should go for a number of reasons, not least of which is to rest the old boys and it aint going to be doing any of the Boks any good to lose a test match to the teams they going to play in the same venue 2 months later. They’ll also be tentative to avoid injury and will be injured. Give the youngster as shot, they will go hell for leather to try force their way into RWC squad and in so doing could inflict a win and reek massive psycholigical damage on the Kiwis.
It would be an interesting match-up, but i think you going to see this wend why Bakkies is the main no 4 – pity his knees are fkd tho, he’s only good for half a game at the moment.
6 Jun 2011, 22:43 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-556:
Taute is very good, but too early imo, Aplon is too small for my liking, but he’s been in scintillating form which cannot be denied and hes been consistent, he’s also probably our only real strikerunner at the moment. the backline as whole is a bit small, but bladdy hell could be the sharpest centre pairing we’ve had in a long time.
6 Jun 2011, 22:43 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-551:
I’d pay big money to be at such a match.
The thing about going to this WC is all about the hunger. For all Jake White’s failings, it was his only burning ambition. To win the World Cup.
We cannot expect the WC Boks of 2007, in their entirety, to have that same burning ambition 4 years later. There will be too many tired legs about.
And I just cannot see Pdiv making any big calls. He’s going to fall back on the 2010 Tri-nations Boks – the bulk of the 2007 WC squad. The ones that let him down.
It’s going to get messy, I fear.
6 Jun 2011, 22:46 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-552:
you know very little… rather let me rephrase that just for you dumbfuck imbecile that you are… you know absolutely sweet fanny fckall about who I rate and why and who I call a coolycreeper and the reasons behind such an apt spot on description.
You dunno fckall about me.. so happens I know a whole lot more about you than you could ever dream about me… stupefied dimwitted ignoramus dunce.
I know what a coolycreeper is from an upright sound thorough gentleman. One day perhaps you may even get a wee little inkling about what comprises real understanding from what you so feebly regard as your feeble false truth when it so clearly categorically ain’t.
6 Jun 2011, 22:47 pm
@cab(cab)-557:
Has PdV said he will take youngsters on the away leg of 3N? I’m sure he has or at least if he hasn’t, I don’t think there is any doubt they will make up the majority of the squad.
But the team you listed, although a mouthwatering prospect, is bound to have a Morne Steyn, a Victor Matfield or a John Smit in the mix somewhere. I can’t see him going all out with the youngsters, there will be some experience starting and one or two on the bench to come on if things are going titts up.
But your team is excellent, I’d love to see that 9-15 playing especially and see how they go.
6 Jun 2011, 22:48 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-555:
You’ve taught those Finns well. And don’t worry, you’ll get an unexpected birthday present on Saturday.
Courtesy of the Stormers.
Delivered by DHL.
6 Jun 2011, 22:49 pm
Spies is the most overrated rugby player. Johnson is by far a greater all round player than Spies. To even consider that Spies’s experiance can count for something is a joke. All he does is labour across the field like a show pony.
Its nice to see a coach backing ability. Johnson is a wonderful ball runner, playing at number 7 frees him up.
6 Jun 2011, 22:52 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-561:
i think they should write off the away leg, and keep every single one of teh senior players at home, barring perhaps bismark, who is young, and needed for grunt with bakkies, and perhaps brussow or juan who if back from injury might need some match-time, tho i’d say leave them all at home.
what im most worried about is that we get 3 SA teams into the playoffs and they all end up travelling – i think its going to burn them out way before the RWC – JW was very shrewd in the build-up listening to Noakes – and there is something to it – look at how different bakkies and juan were on the EOY tour last year after injury – they came back differnt players. Bakkies is poked at the moment and these fools keep playing him.
6 Jun 2011, 22:55 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-559:
I’m not so sure it’ll get ‘messy’. Sure the potential to name a young side with real hunger and guts will probably be forsaken for a team of the old faithfuls, but the old guys largely have what it takes except the obvious love children we all know about.
Here’s how he’ll go. The definite run on side
15. Steyn
14. Aplon
13. JF
12. JdV
11. Habana
10. Steyn
9. FdP
8. Spies
7. Smith/Alberts
6. Schalk
5. Vic
4. Bakkies
3. Jannie Dup
2. Bissie
1. Beast/ Gurthro
Now that only takes a bit of tweaking and you have a darn good side. As it stands though, it aint so bad.
And no, it wouldn’t be my side.
6 Jun 2011, 22:57 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-562:
And I’ll be 21….again…
6 Jun 2011, 22:58 pm
happy birthday for Saturday Jock … another Gemini in the twilight zone
Stormers better come up trumps or else.
6 Jun 2011, 23:06 pm
@cab(cab)-564:
Just so much rugby every year and it’s getting more. Would it be to much to drop the 3N in WC year? Already we have forgotten about the CC and it’s a darn shame.
But I suppose it is a great opportunity to test the youngsters, let’s see how PdV plays it. It could be an opportunity for the young guys to play into the squad, but I think the squad is already picked and anyone going down under is playing for the future. But i still wouldn’t be surprised to see half the squad made up of the old warhorses. PdV has his percentages to think of.
6 Jun 2011, 23:06 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-565:
I think he’s going to start with Smit (and grantie will kak in his speedo broek in the tub something awful), which imo should never happen with Bismarck available. Smit is a damn good player and should be in the squad, but we are weakened without key figures like Bismark or Beast/Gurthro on the pitch. I also wonder if he wont play JP at 14 and APlon at 15 over Steyn. Be interesting what they do if Brussow is available, since they all remember the role he played in the 2009 AB whitewash so maybe schalk will play at 8.
6 Jun 2011, 23:07 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-565:
That’ll make up the bulk of his strongest team. With the question marks being against:
11 Habana – could go to Bjorn Basson but he’ll go with experience.
8 Spies – anyone but him imo. Duane, Alberts, Johnson – anyone but Spies
7 Smith – Juan won’t be fit in time – so Alberts would be first choice
Otherwise he’ll go with the combo’s like you said:
JDV and Jaque
MS and Fdup
Vic and Bakkies
Beast, Bissie and Jannie.
oops
Where did John Smit disappear to?
6 Jun 2011, 23:09 pm
@cab(cab)-557: what makes you think the kiwis won’t try their fringe players? they don’t know who is their backup to carter, d.braid toured as cover for mccaw but he’s been injured, so can matt todd make the step up? c.smith is the incumbent 13 who is his backup? kahui, fruean, toeava, ranger, payne…how up to speed is weepu?
so many questions
6 Jun 2011, 23:10 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-567:
Thanks mate. Here’s hoping, as IAAS says, DHL have got a package of Stormers whoopass signed sealed and delivered and handed to the bully boys on Saturday afternoon. Are you going to the game?
6 Jun 2011, 23:13 pm
Cheers guys. Calling it a night.
6 Jun 2011, 23:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-571:
yes i think thats exactly what they might do, esp if we send 2nd stringers out to NZ – they all bitched about what JW did, but there was alot of murmurings from their in the aftemath that it probably gave the Boks a more spritely look to them in 07 – a bit like Barnesey?
tell you what they have only got some brilliant centers, you mention there, i mean their 4th choices would probably walk into any other test team – toeva is excellent, i dunno why he hasnt come on. Kahui is mindblowing when on song, even that Payne is bladdy good. Fruen is good too. Nonu and SMith the incumebtns and SBW out of this world, tho he’s boxing technique looks utter ****, he’s got about 6 inches on all the okes he fights who look from rhino botha with balie swarts boep.
6 Jun 2011, 23:16 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-572:
hahaha.
You know how to twist words.
Is that really you,ET?
6 Jun 2011, 23:18 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-572:
I believe I am.. somebody told me there might be a ticket with my name on it
I told them I don’t like losing in the stadium… its a little easier on the TV
So Schalk and AC better catch a wake up
He should be playing Van Zyl to start with Bekker and play Elstadt off bench with Koster to cover 6, 7 and 8. Then we can take these guys but I suspect he’ll start Elstadt at 4 which to my mind is a big mistake.
6 Jun 2011, 23:18 pm
@cab(cab)-569:
It would be crazy to start with Smit, not only because Bissie is there, but because no-one, not PdV and not us, knows what he still has to offer in that position. Bismark was huge on the weekend, and although he missed his first couple of throws, his mongrel on the ground was as good a display as I’ve seen from McCaw or anyone else. He has to play.
But I’ve just got a feeling he’ll go for Steyn at FB as there seems to be some grudging and underlying determination to have him involved. For me, Aplon is definite although I personally prefer him at 15 to 14. Aplon at FB and JP at wing would be a real possibility of course, but I just think Steyn will be accommodated and preferred at FB with Gio on the wing.
6 Jun 2011, 23:22 pm
am also out
so long
6 Jun 2011, 23:24 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-577:
Yes, agree, Bismarck must start, but he and JW both appear to be of the school in picking their captains first. Pissant actually provided some very convincing examples of where that had not been done in previous world cups that didnt go too good. So its an interesting dilemna, but for me Bismarck and Beast/Gurthro are a must. You right about Bismark on the ground, play him with Coenie and you wont need a fetcher, the oke is amazing. I’ prefer Steyn over Aplon, Steyn is just such a massive weapon, but Aplon is actually quite amazing for that size and frame.
6 Jun 2011, 23:27 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-575:
Haha, night mate.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-576:
Man, you can’t beat that atmosphere and Newlands is the place to be when the Bulls come to town. I hope to accompany you some time in the future, you never know.
But I think AC will start Elstadt as well to counter the Bakkies threat. It wouldn’t be too wrong to have him standing up to Botha early doors and letting him know he won’t get it all his own bullying way. As has been said earlier, Bakkies only last just over a half so maybe a good idea to put on Elstadt from the off and give him a taste of his own medicine. toughing it out up front is what this game is about.
Hitting the sack this side too Skop, go well.
6 Jun 2011, 23:28 pm
@cab(cab)-574: hahaha why are u dissing sbw’s fighting style? i hope sbw challenges roy jones jr…
i don’t think sanzar will be happy if the CASTLE tri-nations is de-valued by selecting 2nd stringers…
6 Jun 2011, 23:30 pm
@cab(cab)-579: look @ them, they never snear at their Bledisloe Cup by fielding weak teams
6 Jun 2011, 23:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-581:
yeah u saw that, jones jnr probably a good one with low hands and all but not sure SBWs got that speed – also be interesting to see if someone actually clocks him. Should stick to rugby, could be one of the greatest, he’s not a boxer.
6 Jun 2011, 23:35 pm
@cab(cab)-579:
Aplon has had criticism because he is too small, but yet he tackles like a tiger and is rarely driven back. At FB he has that extra bit of space to break the line and create something with his pace and silky swerves.
I think PdV has actually shot himself in the foot announcing Smit as cappie early May. There was and still is a shed load of rugby to be played and it’s just crazy to now take a hooker who is being played at LH. Sure, the captaincy thing you talk about could be considered a big factor, but I believe it’s better to pick your squad first and captain second. Generally you’ll end up with 4 or 5 captains from 5 provinces in your squad anyway. Juan Smit and Victor Matfield come to mind as experienced and respected captains. would it make such a big difference to pick one of those two who are arguably the best man in their position anyway?
Anyway, am out now Cabster. Chat later bud.
6 Jun 2011, 23:39 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-584:
yes, thats true on aplon, he’s been very good. I dont think Matfield is a good test captain, rather Juan. The best captain is Smit tho, quite easily.
cheers Jocky.
6 Jun 2011, 23:50 pm
@cab(cab)-585: i’ve heard this smit is the glue yarn a LOT of times on here. are you telling me that these senior boks would start tearing each other to pieces – ‘you a soutie and u’re a dutchie’ if it wasn’t for smit?
7 Jun 2011, 00:03 am
@cab(cab)-583: or sbw must challenge a grizzled mofo like bernard hopkins if he us so keen on blikseming 40yr olds…
7 Jun 2011, 00:04 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-586:
yeah the aura and the glue – nah, i think they probably be fine without him, but he’s a good captain and player, who should be fullfilling a senior player role ala skinstand off the bench, perhaps pick matfield or juan as captain as Jocky says, but Bismarck and Beast gotta start imo.
7 Jun 2011, 00:07 am
He doesnt get flustered, thats the difference, he’s not going to set the Thames alight, he knows his limitations, but there’s a reason he’s the most capped and arguably one of the most successful Bok captains of all time, there’s a steely determination inside.
7 Jun 2011, 00:12 am
Fitzpatrick was like that too, very similar imo.
7 Jun 2011, 04:50 am
Does it get any more oxymoronic than a ‘two-bit bakkie-bouer Johnny-Clegg-without-the-talent-wannabee’ posturing in cyberspace that he is the ‘fountain-of-eternal-knowledge’… one couldn’t make this stuff up let alone believe their own ramblings… well that is not unless they were 100% certifiable!
7 Jun 2011, 05:10 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-36:
Are you trying to tell me nothing changed in that team halfway through this season? Man, some earlier games the Cheetahs were still doing that silly little pod midfield which every man and his dog knew how to stop. This was usually followed after a few failed attempts with an up and under. Nope, someone did something there that Naka could not do in a few years.
7 Jun 2011, 05:33 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-592:
They upped their defense, replace Olivier with a better play-maker at 10… and most importantly Brenden Venter started giving advice… it all changed with the Sader’s win…
7 Jun 2011, 05:34 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-593:
Oh yes… and their live-wire captain Adrian Strauss returned to lead from the front…
7 Jun 2011, 06:07 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-594:
All that is true but that still does not explain the turn around in the playing style…so maybe it is Brenden Venter?
Look C4E does have a soft spot for Naka, I don’t and to say he was responsible for the turn around is like expecting PDivvie to suddenly come up with a workable game plan after almost 4 years in charge, just not going to happen.
7 Jun 2011, 08:10 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-595:
Well it was Naka who brought in Venter… as JW did EJ and many before them have… the fact of the matter is Naka’s Cheetahs have moved up the rankings consecutively the last 3 yrs despite their injuries and poor administration… so there-in lies the credit..
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All