Cape heavies to stop Bulls at source
8 Jun 2011
JON CARDINELLI speaks to Stormers forwards coach Matt Proudfoot about the crucial set-phase battle and why Victor Matfield will prove difficult to contain.
The Stormers have established themselves as the new bullies of the Super Rugby playground. Only three teams have stood up to them at the collisions in 2011, and in many ways the Reds, Crusaders and Chiefs have provided the blueprint on how to beat the Cape-based side.
While it should be another bloody affair at the tackle point this Saturday, Proudfoot is expecting the Bulls to target the Stormers' set-piece before striving for gain-line dominance. If the visitors succeed in compromising the Stormers at source, they will build momentum and eventually fracture that famed defence.
'There's no doubt in my mind that the set-phase battle will determine the outcome,' Proudfoot told keo.co.za. 'There's no getting around the fact that we have to confront them at the set-piece. We can't allow them to dominate these facets of play because once they build up a head of steam, they're extremely difficult to stop.
'The Bulls have a strong pack and kicking game, and we aren't expecting them to stray from their traditional strengths. What they do, they do well, and with their formidable lineout, they may attempt to maul us in an attempt to get on the front foot.'
The battle within a battle between Victor Matfield and Andries Bekker should be worth the price of admission. Both men are celebrated for their individual abilities as well as their impeccable lineout leadership.
Proudfoot admitted that only so much analysis could be done in preparation for a side containing Matfield, the Springboks most capped and decorated player. If Bekker and company don't anticipate Matfield's movements this Saturday and the Bulls manage to dominate this set-piece, the visitors will make inroads into the Stormers' defence.
'It's going to be very hard to put pressure on Victor at the lineout. He's just so good at absorbing pressure and I'm sure he'll have a few tricks up his sleeve,' Proudfoot said. 'When the Bulls establish set-piece dominance and start to maul successfully, then they usually build on that dominance by carrying the ball a lot more and challenging at the collisions.
'At the breakdown, the defending side will try to slow down opposition ball in order to give their team more opportunity to realign for the next phase. But whether we're on attack or defence, we have to put the Bulls under pressure at the set-piece to give ourselves the best chance of winning the collisions.'

142 Comments
8 Jun 2011, 09:33 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-50:
Nell is an idiot.
You really don’t want to compare yopurself to him.
8 Jun 2011, 09:33 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-10: Stegman may have been involved in 200 more rucks the Flow, but I put this down to Spies being a member of his back row. Spies has been a passenger all S15, the extra work load he’s created on his fellow flankers must be immense. Being involved in a ruck is one thing, but actually doing something at ruck time is something else. I don’t think Stegman’s reading of the play, knowing when to compete and when not to is as good as a guy like Brussow’s just yet.
8 Jun 2011, 09:41 am
the bulls backrowers all being written off again as kak.
well, I would love to know how the bulls pack actually ever get any ball.
g.botha and kruger are no match for Blaauw and Fourie apparently.
b.botha and matfield have met their match.
the backrow is not a contest at all.
everyone knows the wp backs are just so far superior.
should be a walk over for the stormers.
8 Jun 2011, 09:43 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-51: Indeed he is, but stats are stats. And he makes a good point about Habana still pipping Basson as a valuable team player.
“In the 12 games that he has played, he has handled the ball 153 times (73 carries) against the 109 (53 carries) of Basson in 14 games. Habana has also gained 909 metres in territory against the 647m of Basson.”
Everyone just likes a new flavour ice cream from time to time. Habana is vanilla while Basson is Toffee-Oreo-Buttercup-Blueberry-Peanutbutter-Deluxe with boerewors sprinkles and a spicy flake. Might not still be around come summer time.
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-51:
I’m not really. I’m simply pointing out the inconsistency around here. It’s just ironic too that Nellie is a Capie.
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-52:
Incorrect. *sigh*
Firstly, Spies has impressive work rate stats. That was mentioned in a few articles 2 weeks ago.
Secondly, The Bulls rely on their openside flank in much the same way as the NZders do.
And lastly, Stegmann is the leading player in the Super15 in ruck clean-outs. The first player to 300 on attack, the first to 100 on defense and most likely will be the first to 500 overall this coming weekend….AND YOU PUT IT DOWN TO THE FAILINGS OF HIS TEAM MATE?!?!
Wow.
“Stegmann, Spies is lazy, please go and deliver the S15′s highest work rate……OK thank you. You aren’t as good as Brussow though, because your anticipation isn’t as good as his because you get involved in too many rucks and don’t pick the right ones…“
You’ve gotta be kidding me.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-48: Yawn, move on. You bore me.
Your arguement was well structured in the beginning, but although you say you’re only concerned with the penalty count, you seem to have some other agenda against flo. ”You doth protest too much”.
Whatever the stormers have been doing, they’ve been doing it better the Bulls up till now.
Stormers will probably win, although I would love to see Morne Steyn have a ripper, we need him back for the boks.
8 Jun 2011, 09:46 am
weather kak in cape town.
enjoy training stormers
8 Jun 2011, 09:47 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-54:
but all those stats prove is that habana has received the ball more than Basson.
(which we all know is the result of a racist plot by the bulls players and management)
who has scored more tries?
anyway, I’m not suggesting habana is past it.
8 Jun 2011, 09:48 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-54:
the Bulls dont spread the ball to the wings as much as the Stormers do. The Bulls actually have faith in their set pieces and are scoring more tries.
Habana: 909 metres/ 73 carries: 12 metres per carry
Basson: 647 metres/ 53 carries: 12 metres per carry
whoopdidoo.
8 Jun 2011, 09:49 am
Lies, damn lies, and statistics.
8 Jun 2011, 09:51 am
@last movement(GrubdogSA)-56:
Ok. Sorry for boring you, I guess…
8 Jun 2011, 09:56 am
as for my take….
big game
coleman could get into trouble, particularly if he doesn’t nail his first few kicks.
pressure.
correct about the set piece though. The team that does their basics the best and messes up the oppositions basics…will probably win it.
8 Jun 2011, 09:58 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-28: Ag Mrs Stegman give it a break please , you worse than Tacitus when Spies was on fire.
We all agree , Stegman has strengths but also weaknesses just like FLO , they play in very different teams with different styles , Stormers dont commit much to rucks , Bulls do etc etc.
Besides stats means nothing , on current form Kade Poki is the best NZ wing according to stats if one goes by fantasy rugby , I don’t think he is in the top 6 wingers for NZ.
Just saying , stats can be misleading , how many effective rucks did Stegman hit ? Its impossible to say really
8 Jun 2011, 09:58 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-55: Who is Stegman’s competition to get to the other rucks? Spies can’t be botherd and Potgeiter maybe, Matfield no thanks I just jump in the lineout, Bakkies slow, front row slow. So its a lot easier for him to get to the rucks before the majority of his team. Compare that with Flow, he has to get there before Schalk burger, Duane Vermulen, Andries Bekker or Deon Fourie, all of whom are very fast, fit and committed. Its a far tougher job then Stegman’s. So to a statistician, Stegman looks fantastic, to a person who’s capable of understanding what goes on, on a rugby pitch, he aint all that.
8 Jun 2011, 10:05 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-63:
Sorry Agadore, I keep on having to make these posts, because I keep on having to correct you. Flo and Stegmann are vying for one spot in the same position in one team. Capiche?
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-64:
Matfield had the 3rd highest number of cleanouts last weekendand it has been consistently high for most of the S15 for a loosehead lock. try not to embarrass yourself. Just another example. Just saying.
8 Jun 2011, 10:05 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-59:
Stats stats stats , the one stat you need to worry about is
Stormers played 14 , won 11 current position 1 – 57 points
Bulls Played 14 , won 9 , current position 3 – 49 Points
With 2 games to go ! Gonna be a great game at Newlands , Bulls out for revenge but depleted a bit , Stormers looking to cement their position on top but also depleted a bit. On current form and taking into factors like travelling and home ground I would Bulls favorites by 55-45. However this is not the same Stormers team of previous years and showed plenty fighting spirit so we will see !!
All I know is that will be on the railway stand AA 100 and something come Saturday shouting my lungs out !!
8 Jun 2011, 10:08 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-65: No they not , first choices will be Broussow and Burger and if a big if PDV decides to take a 3rd he is not known to hand out caps , did Stegman play for the boks ? If not then Flo is the man , if so then jaa I agree they playing for the same spot but there is a lot of if’s in between !
8 Jun 2011, 10:09 am
i ccan’t believe anyone in their right mind will defend habana being trumped by basson in the try-scoring stakes by mentioning that habana HANDLED the ball more and has made more metres! metres going where, to the try line?
ffs habana handles the ball, runs with it, comes across a defender, kicks it the ball out of play, he throws his hands in the air making faces like what he did wa a superb piece of ingenuity and the opposition get a lineout because he kicked the ball on the full taking stormers back metres!
who gives a f*ck about handles and metres gained by a wing? habana won IRB Player of the Year in 2007 after equalling Lomu’s RWC record of TRIES not handles & metres gained!
it is a rubbish argument and inane in the most inconcievable way!
8 Jun 2011, 10:13 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68: I don’t think Agile Tyrant actually watches the rugby matches, he just reads the stats!
8 Jun 2011, 10:13 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-66:
There you go now, you see? In the scientific community there are “Lumpers” and then there are “Splitters”. I’m a “Splitter”. And all you’ve got to say is:
“Stats stats stats , the one stat you need to worry about is
Stormers played 14 , won 11 current position 1 – 57 points
Bulls Played 14 , won 9 , current position 3 – 49 Points”
Deeply disappointed.
8 Jun 2011, 10:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68:
ahem.
Indeed, exactly what I said. Habs has always been a try scoring machine.
No longer.
I think you should know there is a VERY spicey new video of Shakira’s.
There is pole-dancing involved.
8 Jun 2011, 10:28 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-71:
Why do we need Shakira when we have Keohane and Vrede show
8 Jun 2011, 10:30 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-72:
check it out on uboob.
I nearly had a cardiac event.
I think the keo and vrede video is aimed at the stomrers market.
8 Jun 2011, 10:31 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-72: Our very own Spice Girls. Old Spice and Braai Spice.
8 Jun 2011, 10:42 am
Flo and steggies pretty evenly matched both have a very outside chance of being picked and if so at the end of the day they will pick the player that fits best with the rest of the loose trio. Schalk probly at 8 with Smith at 7 and Brussow at 6. then you have prob def picks Alberts, Kanko and Spies(unfortunately) then come the rest Vermeulen, Flo, Steggies etc. so really what are we talking about.
8 Jun 2011, 10:43 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-71: oh yes, i’m going to check it out now!
8 Jun 2011, 10:45 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-74:
who do you think you are ?
8 Jun 2011, 10:47 am
@Divz(Divz)-75:
“so really what are we talking about.”
Well we are talking about penalties. We are also saying that there is only ever one best player for a position at any given time taking the game plan and team make-up into account. And then we concluded that Stegmann trumps FLouw as a Springbok openside flank.
8 Jun 2011, 10:53 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-67: de Villiers is very well known for handing out very easy and undeserved caps! Outside of Brussow we do not have a test worthy opensider. Schalk is no opensider. Not even test worthy himself.
8 Jun 2011, 10:53 am
For the stats boffins. Anyone have a list of the top 10 turnover players in the comp? We should be able to identify at least 6 openside flanks and 1 or 2 8/6 combo’s. If not, are we placing way too much emphasis on the ‘fetcher’, role. Are we playing a fetcher to boost our defensive play? If so, perhaps the kicking game is suited to that direction of thinking. Alternatively, playing an openside flank as a attacking support play in addition to his defensive skills, you get better player, able to adapt to the team strategy on any given day.
8 Jun 2011, 10:54 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-78: Agreed, Stegmann does trump the highly overrated Louw, but neither are test quality. I backed both to produce a lot more on their tests last year, and neither was any good.
8 Jun 2011, 11:00 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-80:
You are the first to mention “fetcher”. The built-in assumption in your post is that the fetcher should be making the most pilfers and that that is his primary function. Wrong.
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-81:
Well there are plenty to disagree with you. And really, Stegmann was still recovering from an initially-misdiagnosed grade 3 hamstring tear. How many times must I say that? And also, I think Stegmann had a great debut. And not only me. Anyway you don’t “rate” him, ok fine. Brussow is your no.1 candidate based on 2009′s form under 2009 interpretations. OK good for you.
8 Jun 2011, 11:01 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-78:
you cannot conclude that steggies is the best until you have made up the rest of the team especially the loose trio. Winning is about team play not individuals otherwise watson would have played for the boks a few years back. Cannot pick a team on stats will never work.
8 Jun 2011, 11:04 am
@Divz(Divz)-83:
I don’t know if you noticed, but there are already a team full of Bok-contracts. And I’m not picking a team, and I’m not picking based on stats.
I’m picking one player above another and I’m using stats to help clarify some misconceptions.
8 Jun 2011, 11:09 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-82: My post wasn’t in direct reference to the discussion, but a general consensus that an openside flank who pilfers is a non-negotiable. Why for instance, would you choose Stegmann over Flouw? Provincial allegiances aside.
8 Jun 2011, 11:11 am
MAn i do worry about player burnout forthe likes of Burger. Burger should have been rested against the Rebels the stormers knew they were going to win
8 Jun 2011, 11:16 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-85:
I get you, don’t worry. The fetcher helps maintain possession, slow opposition ball down in a couple of ways and is a top defender. He has the largest say at the breakdown and that’s why I say Stegmann above Louw, Stegmann does so much more than Louw work in these departments.
Stegmann also has a better gainline- and tackle succes rate, and has the ideal body type for openside just like Brussow, IMO. Brussow and Stegmann are the same weight and height, and have a compact build. For all the reasons I (and most) prefer Brussow above Louw, I prefer Stegmann too.
8 Jun 2011, 11:16 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-84:
You make a good argument but many disagree with you anyway at the end of the day neither will probably get picked and i dont beleive either player will make a huge difference to the bok team – so futile banging your head against the wall.
8 Jun 2011, 11:29 am
@Divz(Divz)-88:
I blog for fun. I bugger off when I feel that all I’m doing is eroding my lumbar vertebrae.
People think Burger and Brussow should make the RWC squad, but Brussow will have to demonstrate that he can handle a huge work rate and fully recover and be better than Stegmann. Currently Stegmann is better than Brussow- it doesn’t help to judge Brussow on 2009′s form. Other players haven’t been living on a plateau, you know. And even in 2009 Stegmann was better in the Super14 than Brussow up until he missed a third of the competition.
Grant10, for example, wrote that “Brussow walked on water in Sydney” when the Cheetahs beat the Tahs for the first tiem ever, but Heinz still had a low work rate, and we have seen how that the Cheetahs mean business even without him.
The bottom line is that Stegmann is in the class of Brussow and is ahead of Brussow at the moment to go to the RWC and Brussow only has the Tri Nations left to prove that he can be better than Stegmann since returning from 2 serious injuries and also now that we are under the 2010 interps and not the lenient 2009 interps Brussow became famous under.
People seem to have blow the legend of Brussow out of proportion and now Brussow is irreplaceable in the minds of many.
Well, it should be good news to hear that we have a replacement that can be as good and even better: Stegmann. But those people love misery, and company and bliss.
8 Jun 2011, 11:34 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-87: Valid points. I’m not sure i agree with you entirely. I think Flo is a slightly better front-on defender against bigger guys because of his size, whereas stegmann might be better in open play. While stegmann has a better gain-line success rate, flo is the better link player.
So it’s a case of who you prefer. I guess this weekends match will provide some more answers.
8 Jun 2011, 11:41 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-68: Kwenzeke ntoni eQonce kulempelavenki idlulileyo
!!!! , uzakubakhona kule weekend?
8 Jun 2011, 11:56 am
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-91: hehe yeah ndiyeza
8 Jun 2011, 12:09 pm
@pompies2(pompies2)-90:
“front-on defender” doesn’t mean anything to me, mate.
A low centre of gravity help you wrestle an opponent. Stegmann wieghs 104 kilograms and is 1.81 metres tall. He tackles like a machine. Nodody here, no matter how much they hate Stegmann for whatever reason will tell you that Stegmann can’t tackle forwards back.
I mean look at how ferociously Brussow tackled in the BIL and 2009 Tri Nations. He’s a monster and so is Steggies.
Defending is 70% a mental thing. Look at Gio Aplon for example, and look at how poor Spies can be in the tackle. Size doesn’t enter into it when Stegmann is already 104 Kg boet. Richie McCaw is also only 104 Kgs and nobody doubts how physical the man is and that he can tackle the daylights out of any player no matter where he is encountered on the field. Sorry, but I’m not buying it. Louw bigger and better at the tackle? Nope.
8 Jun 2011, 12:16 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-93: front-on defending means an ability to limit the forward momentum of the attacking side and in an ideal scenario even causing a negative gain. I’m not disputing the fact that stegmann can defend well, it’s just that his defensive strengths really come to the fore in open play. Using Brussouw and Mccaw as yardsticks also doesn’t address the focal point of my argument. there’s not much to choose between the two. The both have strengths the other doesn’t
8 Jun 2011, 12:24 pm
@pompies2(pompies2)-94:
Well, Stegmann has been breaching the gainline with more success than Louw, he has been missing fewer tackles than Louw, he has had an impact at many more breakdowns than Louw, he is faster than Louw by quite a margin. What can Louw do that he cant?
Some guy will probably think:”lineout”. Stegmann has even been a successful lineout jumper at Test level, so no.
I have respect for Louw and I do think he is test material, I just think both Brussow and Stegmann offer more than Louw in every facet of the game, besides the fact that Louw is heavier by 8 kilograms than both. But that hasn’t helped him breach the gainline more, so you gotta wonder…he is slower after all, I subscribe to the philosophy that the opensider must be faster than the blindside because he needs to zip between breakdowns. Most NH teams have this the other way around because they prefer the ball carrying flank (primary) to be faster with ball in hand.
8 Jun 2011, 12:27 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-95:
I mean Juan Smith isn’t the fastest guy around either, even Burger is faster, and it has always been this way in SA rugby. Or just look at it since the professional era and the days of Ruben Kruger. Stegmann is the modern Ruben Kruger according to Wynand Claassen and I happen to agree.
8 Jun 2011, 12:33 pm
The team is: Zane Kirchner, Gerhard van den Heever, Jaco Pretorius, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson, Morné Steyn, Francois Hougaard, Pierre Spies, Dewald Potgieter, Deon Stegmann, Victor Matfield (c), Danie Rossouw, Werner Kruger, Gary Botha, Dean Greyling. Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Rossouw de Klerk, Flip van der Merwe, Derick Kuün, Dustin Jinka, Francois Brummer, Stephan Dippenaar
8 Jun 2011, 12:43 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-70: U read my whole post and all u see is that ? U have issues ! LOL
8 Jun 2011, 12:45 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-79: Sorry , Where has PDIV handed out cheap caps ? I cannot recall many ? Also sorry for foul language but voecheck, Schalk Burger is KONING !! which I admit is ironic coming from me str to my post a few weeks ago re last of support from stormers players and management in the CC community.
8 Jun 2011, 12:48 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-97: OMG Stegman is in the TEAM !!!!! Whoopidoo!!! LOL