KeoTV: Calling the Big One
8 Jun 2011
Keo says the Stormers will be victorious in Saturday’s north-south derby at Newlands, but Ryan Vrede’s backing the Bully Boys.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. The Sharks looked to have conjured up a remarkable victory when Charl McLeod scored and Pat Lambie converted in the 75th minute. But within two minutes the Sharks were guilty of a lineout infringement and Steyn punished the lack of discipline. The Sharks had opportunities to sneak the victory in a frantic finish but lacked the decision-making to turn a possession and field position advantage into victory. The Bulls, thanks to Steyn's kicking, consolidated their position at the top of the ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article8 Jun 2011
Keo says the Stormers will be victorious in Saturday’s north-south derby at Newlands, but Ryan Vrede’s backing the Bully Boys.
admin has written 339 articles.
5 Dec 2011
26 Nov 2011
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

115 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
7 Jun 2011, 16:47 pm
stormers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111
7 Jun 2011, 16:52 pm
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Stormers have now been vexed…but hopefully Keo and Vrede cancel each other out?
One can only pray…
7 Jun 2011, 16:58 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-2:
Exactly what I was thinking.
Keo punting the Stormers for a win, as much as it pains him, is still the kiss of death.
But the Stormers have beaten the Sharks home and away this season.
Now it’s time for the Bulls to come and receive their second beating of the season from the Stormers.
7 Jun 2011, 17:01 pm
hahaha… C’mon Ryan! Look out for Pierre Spies? Seriously?
If anything, I expect a much stronger and tougher Bulls tight 5 but I reckon the Stormers loosies will come out on top!
Also, no beating the midfield combo of De Villiers & Fourie…. Wynand Olivier’s got nothing on them.
Stormers do have to look out for Basson, he’ll be chasing kicks all day and he’s bound to win a few in the air!
7 Jun 2011, 17:03 pm
Thanks to Keo the joke Bulls by at least 20.
7 Jun 2011, 17:04 pm
Interesting call.
7 Jun 2011, 17:05 pm
One kak opinion one semi-kak opinion, both poorly articulated (even God at flyhalf???)
Stormers should win but shoulds don’t exist in rugby, especially not in a derby like this one…
7 Jun 2011, 17:07 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-2: keo has given the stormers the KISS of DEATH
7 Jun 2011, 17:22 pm
The real debate is who would you rather didn’t back your team? Keo or Vrede……. I’d have to say Vrede backing your team trumps Keo backing your team as the ultimate kiss of death! Horaaay!!!!!
7 Jun 2011, 17:27 pm
Welcome back KEO TV.
You both have had awful records in calling games this season, so who knows. What does JC say?
I think that after a month on tour, the Stormers will be tired. Bulls by a comfortable trot.
7 Jun 2011, 17:28 pm
lol, some funny stuff.
i think bakkies going to give a few klaps.
7 Jun 2011, 17:30 pm
Haven’t looked at this thing from Keo or Vrede.
My initial feeling however, is Bulls to take it just, following an epic battle.
Will wait for teams to be released before I make a final call though.
7 Jun 2011, 17:33 pm
Tight 5 – Bulls
Scum – parity
Losies – Stormers
Lineout – Bulls just have more options
Tight-Lose – parity, or Bulls just to shave it
Halfbacks – Bulls by a mile
Centres – Stormers by a half-mile
Back 3 – Geo give Stormers the edge, just
Backline – Stormers
7 Jun 2011, 17:42 pm
@seamus(seamus)-13: Stormers definitely have more options in the line-out!!! Only problem is that neither of our hookers can throw straight… So Bulls to win the lineout but for the wrong reason.
7 Jun 2011, 17:45 pm
That was mildly entertaining, the lads trying hard to up the hype, good on them !!
All good fun and some interesting points raised (not that they have not been raised here tenfold )
7 Jun 2011, 17:48 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-15:
Where do you think they get material for their content from every day?:)
7 Jun 2011, 17:48 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-16:
7 Jun 2011, 17:49 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-16:
It’s like when a bunch of bloggers were discussing how underrated Danie Rossouw is…a day or two later we get the thread “National Treasure” in which Rossouw’s value to the Bulls and Boks is again reiterated…
7 Jun 2011, 17:51 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-16:
LOL, true !!
7 Jun 2011, 17:56 pm
Eish, sorry Stormers fans! Keo has put paid to any chances you might otherwise have had. Don’t even bother watching the game.
7 Jun 2011, 17:56 pm
Just finished watching this, would do well on the Comedy Roadshow this!
I wonder if Mark will be able to talk if you cut off his hands? Love the enthusiasm though.
Just a point here, if you are going to use a white background, do not wear a white shirt Keo, and please turn the aircon off for Vrede, he seems to be freezing his *** off.
Otherwise, the brand manager for Pinacle Studio in SA is a good mate of mine, I can hook you up to get some very decent video editing stuff which includes background green screen stuff…!!!
7 Jun 2011, 18:15 pm
Keo’s predictions are such k@k who cares what he says for saturday
7 Jun 2011, 18:23 pm
in my mind this could’ve gone either way. not anymore. Keo has now outright screwed the stormers. and I was really looking forward to this weekend. damn
7 Jun 2011, 18:31 pm
OK wait, i would just like to say, even though i think Keo screwed us stormers with this, i don’t agree with what Ryan in the beginning. Bakkies and Spies are not the ones in the bulls pack that concern me.id be more worried bout Danie on the form he’s in and Matfield trying to outshine Bekker. Steyn, Hougaard and Basson are the problem maker for the stormers backs IMO. Think Olivier will test Jean but I doubt Jean will fail that test.
Doesn’t matter what i think though, Keo has most probably sunk the stormers.
fu(k
7 Jun 2011, 18:45 pm
Keohane hex.
7 Jun 2011, 18:57 pm
“Look out for Spies”…. I’m looking, I’m looking, maar ek sien fo**ol!
Hy is mamma se seun.
7 Jun 2011, 19:02 pm
The Bulls are going down and the only guy that could save them single-handedly is Bjorn Basson, but the Stormers are the best defensive team in the competition, so he will have a tough time getting over the line.
7 Jun 2011, 19:23 pm
Keo – How about adding a nice metallica riff in the background, something along the lines of “Am I evil”. Just rehearsed it in my head while watching and it works quite well.
7 Jun 2011, 19:25 pm
Just bet against whatever prediction Keo puts in and you are guaranteed a win. Betting against Keo is like owning a money tree.
7 Jun 2011, 19:36 pm
A face for radio.
7 Jun 2011, 20:02 pm
the only loser on saturday is s.a.rugby when 5 springboks join the injury list.
nice vidoes though.
7 Jun 2011, 20:05 pm
A vidoes?
How very apropos
7 Jun 2011, 20:21 pm
Please stop these videos. They are utterly embarrassing, much like vacuum cleaner salesmen rocking up at your door in the 80`s. Keo is a formless, balding and middle-aged with bad teeth, we do not need to see him, it`s like seeing a horrible uncle naked in the corridor by mistake. Stick to the keyboard fellas, you look needy and amateurish by doing videos.
7 Jun 2011, 20:21 pm
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-32: Im old school son, VHS and Beta was high tech for me.
I played rugby with Gerrie Germishuys, still my greatest honour.
7 Jun 2011, 20:52 pm
@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-34: My dad also played with Gerrie. Apparently Gerrie was not the bravest player around, but a brilliant finisher. In which team did you play with Gerrie?
7 Jun 2011, 20:57 pm
Formless balding middle aged with bad teeth!
7 Jun 2011, 21:18 pm
It would be funnier if the two of you sat down on, say, a couch and actually interacted with each other. This white-out studio cut-away stuff is a little boring and clinical. The purpose is to entertain (because, let’s face it, no one is becoming any wiser about the game here).
7 Jun 2011, 21:19 pm
Poor old Ryan had play devil’s advocate in this video
Well, Keo didn’t neglect to mention that Ryan works for him…he also menioned “lap-dog” in there somewhere…..
BUT it’s funny how they mention this player and that player having such and such an impact on the game etc. (without saying anything really…although how much can you say in 3 minutes?) but Stegmann is as important to the Bulls as Brussow is to the Cheetahs, and if the Springboks don’t play with either of these on the field, then someone is playing as a crowd-pleaser or on reputation.
Nice of Keo to mention “magicians” and “God” playing for the Stormers, but no magic tricks or devine intervention will save the Stormers from the Bulls. (And I too am a life-long suppporter of the Bulls, Keo.
7 Jun 2011, 21:31 pm
By all that is holy, Agile ***-Tyrant, are you suggesting that Devine Brown fronts for the Stormers at hooker on Saturday to stand a chance? I was not aware that Hugh Grant had released her…
7 Jun 2011, 21:38 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-39:
Well according to Keo it wouldn’t even matter if the Stormers played HIM at fly half.
So whether it’s fly halfs or half-a-fly-half, or hookers or hookers, who cares. It’s in the bag for WP.
7 Jun 2011, 21:45 pm
I’m sure Keo’s putting down his house on the Bulls as we speak…
7 Jun 2011, 21:46 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-40: Also, I notice that in his flyhalf pecking order it’s Coleman, Keo and then only god. Is god struggling with an injury, or has keo hit some good form?
7 Jun 2011, 21:49 pm
Just emailed Pierre. Keep those anti-Spies comments coming. Throw in a few about Bakkies, Victor, WO, Steyn… Just for good measure.
7 Jun 2011, 21:55 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-43: Please try and post in Afrikaans, especially when taking a hit at Bakkies.
7 Jun 2011, 21:57 pm
Breaking news: Allister Coetzee has just announced that veteran Jaco van der Westhuizen will start in the crucial flyhalf position in the vital home game against the Bulls this weekend. When approached for comment, Coetzee said: “Ja, well, you know we have a strategy always, and Rassie thought Jaco has a lot to offer, especially when it comes to the crossbar, and let’s face it, that’s where the match will be won.” Upon being asked if it was prudent asking a player on the verge of retirement to appear in such a crunch match, Allister was heard to mumble, “Anyone but Earl.” At printing time it was as yet unclear if he was referring to relatively unknown George Earle. SAPA.
7 Jun 2011, 21:58 pm
Just below the “Rugby writer’s got talent” TV show, that sounded like a bad rehearsed motivational speaker advertisement, I saw the ad for Hangover 2. This was the sign I was waiting for, Hallelujah! The Stormers will experience another bad hangover, same as the one in 2010.
Bulls to win by 11.
7 Jun 2011, 22:22 pm
Great video guys! Makes me miss home even more!
7 Jun 2011, 22:27 pm
So i see that Bakkies and FDP both out of the game for Saturday. Looking brighter for the Stormers now
7 Jun 2011, 22:43 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-43:
Anti spies comments?
Domt tell Wptid that.
He’ll have to lock himself in the toilets at work again.
Braces and waistcoat and all.
7 Jun 2011, 23:08 pm
Stormers will win keo is right.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All