KeoTV: Calling the Big One
8 Jun 2011
Keo says the Stormers will be victorious in Saturday’s north-south derby at Newlands, but Ryan Vrede’s backing the Bully Boys.
22 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article22 May 2013
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has kept the rest of his team unchanged, hoping the momentum from the Reds victory will lead them to a win against the Kings. That does mean that Burton Francis remains out of the match 22, Elgar Watts continuing ahead of Riaan Smit, who is on the bench yet again. Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne will use this match to show why they have been included in the Springbok training squad. Both will be pushing hard to be among the final names for the upcoming Incoming tours against Italy, ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article8 Jun 2011
Keo says the Stormers will be victorious in Saturday’s north-south derby at Newlands, but Ryan Vrede’s backing the Bully Boys.
admin has written 339 articles.
5 Dec 2011
26 Nov 2011
Ryno Benjamin brought in ahead of Raymond Rhule for Port Elizabeth clash. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

115 Comments
7 Jun 2011, 23:10 pm
Geo is the best back three player in this country
7 Jun 2011, 23:17 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-43: Why? Is Pierre gonna manhandle the Stormers? Bwahaha! He is a supreme specimen remember!
8 Jun 2011, 00:12 am
I’m more concerned with Bakkies out than with him in. Bulls now suddenly have an exponentially improved situation with both Bakkies and FdP out, they only carrying 2 now in Spies and Matfield. With WO just about hanging in there.
I think Bakkies heard Elstadt was starting so he made himself unavailable.
Anyway
Both Flip and Danie are better than Bakkies at 4 and that’s where our problems gonna stem from, Danie 7 and Flip 4 gonna create some trouble far worse than Bakkies starting. If I were Bully Brekers coach I’d have Juandre in at 7 and Danie or Potties 8 then Stormers would be seriously fckd.
I’m suddenly getting this heeby jeeby Burger jittery feeling down my spine again. I can see it already in his anxiety to prove what a great vokmavoort proponent of absolute nuking mayhem he is he’s gonna nuke vokmavoort Stormers chances right out the window Saturday. This one them games where Burgers distinct lack of any rugby smarts come screaming to the fore once again, it seems pretty imminent from where I’m sitting.
Nope keohane has pretty much printed our promissory note here I reckon, if Stormers get out of this omen intact its gonna be a bloody miracle.
And I gotta watch it go down live, dunno why anyone wanna put themselves through this.
8 Jun 2011, 00:21 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-53: Daai maergat? Jy kan mos nou nie vir Bakkies teen Elstadt sit nie man. Kuikenmoord.
8 Jun 2011, 00:22 am
@Wezwp(Wezwp)-51: You speak with conviction….as if it is a fact.
8 Jun 2011, 00:51 am
in die eerste game op Loftus het Bakkies vroeg geleer om ver van Elstadt se rigting weg te bly dis hoekom hy die week toegewig van die einaadige taak bedank het.
8 Jun 2011, 02:08 am
“Spies needs to lift his game”
If I would have a cent every time I hear/see/read it, I could hire Bill Gates to polish my boots.
8 Jun 2011, 02:53 am
@Nils(Nils)-57: And “Spies is useless”. Pathetic. If he’s not good enough, he won’t be selected. To make anti-Spies comments is the in thing, a phase, something that will pass…eventually. A great compliment to the man.
8 Jun 2011, 02:56 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-56: Bakkies stayed away from Elstadt for obvious reasons. Elstadt can bite his ear, punch him in the face, and wrap his totterman around his neck (Bakkies’s around his neck), and if Bakkies as much as speak in a loud voice, he’ll be suspended.
Elstadt is still a laaitjie. Oom Bakkies sal sy ore warm klap, maar hy wil weer die WC wen.
8 Jun 2011, 04:01 am
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-59:
I really laughed out loud there.
Spies-hating a phase, as you say in post 58, that will pass. A bit of “Pierre-pressure” if you will
The Stegmann penalty thing started last year in April and hasn’t quite cleared up yet. Most Stormers supporters (JC included) are so relieved that they finally managed to beat the Bulls at Loftus for the first time in years, that they have turned to bad-mouthing the Bulls’ loose trio: “they’re too small” etc.
Potgieter is too light
Spies is a show pony, “front-foot bully”
Stegmann is a penalty risk.
I just reckon that the Stormers loose trio will be as frustrated on Saturday night as they were at Orlando. Bulls by 8+ around 30.
8 Jun 2011, 04:43 am
Ryan you look spicey in this video.
8 Jun 2011, 05:07 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-61: Ryan looks like a serious victim of fashion.
8 Jun 2011, 06:47 am
Plz dnt ever let this Ryan fella appear on tv again he constantly wants to giggle like a little girl, harden the *** up mate seriously, back to rugga, stormers will win but as we all know they always perform when they gotta and the bulls will poise a major threat will have a test like atmosphere no doubt and is the game of the weekend but I say stormers by 3, ps Ryan , Olivier and spies = KAK!!!!!
8 Jun 2011, 07:32 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-62:
@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-63:
I don’t see anything wrong with the man’s choice of clothing or mood.
8 Jun 2011, 08:22 am
Ah fck. Mark has picked the Stormers. He never gets it right. Take it back Mark… please take it back!
8 Jun 2011, 08:24 am
@garth(garth)-65: If the Bulls play Spies, Stegman and Potgieter, they may as well stay on the highveld.
8 Jun 2011, 08:29 am
@garth(garth)-66:
Agreed. The only argument is whether the Bulls win with 4 log points or 5.
8 Jun 2011, 09:48 am
I have a bet on this one with my swaer from up north. I was speechless to hear that the Bulls supporters actually rate Wynand Olivier and that they are pinning their hopes on him to run the Stormers ragged on Saturday.
It caused me to take time off for some serious self-examination to see if I am not delusional about the prospects of my team. 24 hours later and I am still convinced that we have four centres, at least, in the Cape that are better than Olivier (Sadie being the 4th).
Stormers to take this one and Vermeulen to donner Spies up properly
8 Jun 2011, 09:52 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-21: I was under impression production guru would have green background … hence the white shirt! Won’t happen again (Lol)
8 Jun 2011, 09:54 am
@onerb(onerb)-28: your suggestion has potential (LOL)
8 Jun 2011, 09:56 am
@kwas(kwas)-29: not so fast big boy … 9/14 for Stormers this season … got the last 3 right, last 3 right for the Bulls and last 2 right for the Sharks … I’d say I am on a bit of a roll!
8 Jun 2011, 09:56 am
@keo(keo)-69:
Vok
You could do with extreme makeover
8 Jun 2011, 09:57 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-61:
Waddaya mean he look spicy
Spicy?
8 Jun 2011, 09:58 am
@sandeno(sandeno)-33: Easy with the compliments. Will work on the teeth … nothing I can do about the hair. Don’t have Wayne Rooney’s financial resource
8 Jun 2011, 09:58 am
@keo(keo)-69:
Nee man
Don’t blah to us about production gurus and green backgrounds
You did it on the cheap
8 Jun 2011, 10:02 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-75: Ah Dawn you know we never do anything on the cheap … only haircuts!
8 Jun 2011, 10:03 am
@keo(keo)-74:
talk to toks.
he will hook you up.
8 Jun 2011, 10:06 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-77:
No, “he’ll make it better”.
8 Jun 2011, 10:09 am
@keo(keo)-76:
Obviously Ryan is a cullart fashionista
White men got no style
And so I better stop before ET appears and accuses me of being a swart wasvrou
8 Jun 2011, 10:11 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-38:
“Stegmann is as important to the Bulls as Brussow is to the Cheetahs”
didn’t the cheetas start winning after brussouw got injured? they been doing their best ever without him.
so what exactly are you trying to say about steggies?
8 Jun 2011, 10:11 am
Keo/Vrede – How come neither of you mentioned Danie (he Great) Roussouw?
He could be the telling factor this Saturday. I aso have a feeling if M Steyn & Hougaard get their kicking right they could keep the dangeous Stormers backline pinned back.
I would prefer the Bulls to win just so they go through to the next round. The Stormers ideally should be resting Burger
8 Jun 2011, 10:12 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-77: That oke can sing you a Donald Trump in about 5 minutes flat.
8 Jun 2011, 10:13 am
Keo needs to hit the gym..looks like he gets bigger every month! his picks are terrible, liked the stormers till i watched this vid.. thanks keo
8 Jun 2011, 10:15 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-80:
I’m trying to say: “JUST think how much BETTER the Cheetahs would be doing with Brussow fit if that’s how they can play without him…”, Einstein.
8 Jun 2011, 10:17 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-80: \
Stop talking nonsense, I’m still waiting for your reply on the “Cape heavies” thread.
8 Jun 2011, 10:20 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-82:
toks’ singing makes my dogs cry.
@DQG 7(DQG 7)-83:
the director shot him in panorama instead of portrait
8 Jun 2011, 10:31 am
the biggest SA derby of them all. hope both teams play great rugby. hope both teams come away with no injuries. hope the best team wins, and then goes on to finish top of the log
aint it great we have 3 teams in the top 6.
8 Jun 2011, 10:31 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-86:
OK stop now insulting Keo already
Foietog man.
8 Jun 2011, 10:33 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-86: Perhaps, but have you noticed how lush and shiny their coats are?
8 Jun 2011, 10:33 am
Good day boys,
Big game on Sat…
This is how I see it:
Front Row: Bulls will have the edge with CJ not playing
Second Row: Bakkies is not playing, och. Think that gives the Stormers the edge here.
Loosies: With Danie (Pakslae) playing this best rugby of his life, Steggies doing his job well, and Spies doing what Spies does best I think I will give this one to the Bulls.
9 – 10: Bulls def…
12 – 13: Stormers Def….
11 – 14: Even
15: Even
Reserves: Even
Who will win the game? Bulls
BB
8 Jun 2011, 10:34 am
hey Keo, seen the news in NZ? Hurricanes have dumped both Andrew Hore and Nonu for next season. Discards already despite both being odds on to go to the world cup…
8 Jun 2011, 10:36 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-89:
surely your not suggesting I offer keo their hair?
these are pedigree scottish terriers.
8 Jun 2011, 10:39 am
I am calling Bulls to win. Nothing more dangerous than the Bulls when they have their backs to the wall. Match of the season though – lets hope it lives up to expectations. It could very well descend into a kicking festival.
Is Peter Grant fit to play ?
8 Jun 2011, 10:39 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-92:
8 Jun 2011, 10:40 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-92: Hmmm, that might not work. If they had been Toy Poms we would have had a match for sure.
8 Jun 2011, 10:43 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-93: For most teams a back-to the-wall Bull is dangerous. For the Stormers it’s just very frustrating.
8 Jun 2011, 10:44 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-95:
or we could just scalp a daschund.
where is capo tecumesh when you need him.
8 Jun 2011, 10:47 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-96: You going with a Stormers win ? It’s not an easy call to make.
I am just going with the Bulls, because they have this uncanny ability to come up with the goods late in the season when the chips are down. Sharks will also lose at Loftus no doubt, so this weekend is extremely important for the Sharks. They need a 5 point haul here.
8 Jun 2011, 10:48 am
@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-97: Soggy seconds with his poodle? Sies man.
8 Jun 2011, 10:48 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-96: