Meyer optimistic about Bok RWC hopes

Heyneke Meyer tells RYAN VREDE a trend that has seen the breakdown become more of a contest again significantly improves the Springboks’ chances of defending their World Cup title.

The Springboks’ poor 2010 Test season saw them struggle to consistently exploit the breakdown law interpretations – which encouraged teams to play through phases and facilitated them being able to do so at high tempo – to their advantage in the manner the All Blacks and, to a lesser extent, the Wallabies did.

However, Meyer, currently director of rugby at the Bulls, said he has noticed a softening of what had become pedantic management of the breakdown, and explained that this would be significant for the Springboks’ bid to retain the World Cup.

‘Last year because the law interpretations at the breakdown were new, referees were policing that area far more vigilantly. The attacking team was heavily favoured and [Test] teams that could keep the ball through multiple phases thrived. Teams struggled to turn over possession, and only the smartest openside flankers were a factor as a result,’ Meyer told keo.co.za in an exclusive interview.

‘There was so much quick ball, but that isn’t the case any longer, it’s a contest again. It’s also a key reason the Stormers are doing as well as they are. They compete brilliantly at the breakdown and are able to set their defensive line, making it very, very difficult to breach them.

‘This has placed an added importance on tactical kicking once more, and when you look at the ingredients that will improve a team’s chances of being successful at the World Cup – tactical kicking, solid defence and a strong ruck contest – the Springboks tick all the boxes.

‘I had reservations about our ability to play the multi-phase, high-tempo game that the rules encouraged. But now I’m more optimistic.’

Meyer added that, while it had been a disadvantage for the Bulls in Super Rugby, the likelihood that Bakkies Botha, Fourie du Preez and Pierre Spies (all starters in New Zealand) would peak at the tournament would be beneficial to the Springboks.

‘The three of them started slowly because they all had operations in the off-season and were recovering,’ he said. ‘This limited their pre-season preparation and the consequences of that were seen in the early rounds of the competition. But they’ve all improved gradually and the Boks will get the best of them at the World Cup.’

The role of the Tri-Nations in a World Cup year has polarised opinion in the South African rugby fraternity. Reports suggest that the Springbok selectors are contemplating resting a number of their key players for Tests in the tournament, an approach that former Springbok coach Jake White followed and said contributed massively to their conditioning in France in 2007.

Meyer holds the view that there is value to be gained through an alternative route.

‘Resting the players in the 2007 Tri-Nations was hailed as a success, but I don’t think we should limit our thinking in this way. I’m sure there’s more than one route to success, although I fully understand the rationale behind wanting to rest players,’ he said.

‘I just see massive value in the group playing together, given how soon the pool matches start after that (22 days). I would place a huge premium on beating New Zealand in New Zealand just a couple of weeks before the tournament will be held there. The psychological lift that would give the players would be invaluable, particularly if they face the All Blacks in the play-off stages. Defeat wouldn’t be a tragedy because all the pressure will be on them in a play-off situation.

‘But it’s important for us to back whatever strategy the Springboks adopt in this regard. Peter and the team deserve all our support.’

The bulk of the 30-man squad is predictable, but there is room for a couple of bolters. Asked who, outside of the established group had impressed him, Meyer said: ‘I rate Johann Sadie (Stormers) unbelievably highly. He is a brilliant, brilliant young player. He is quick, strong relative to his size, runs beautiful lines and plays without any apparent fear of failure. He, for me, would add value to the World Cup squad. He could play centre or wing, and with a safety net in a squad of experienced guys, playing him isn’t a gamble. Frans Steyn thrived in that environment in 2007. Johann could do the same.

He continued: ‘I’d also find a place for Adriaan Strauss (whom he coached at the Bulls). He is playing the best rugby of his career. Every week I watch him I’m always impressed with his technical ability and work rate, which is second to none in the group of South African hookers.’

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

131 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

National Planning Camp Group

John Smit (captain)
    The Sharks
    Victor Matfield (vice-captain)
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Willem Alberts
    The Sharks
    Gio Aplon
    DHL Western Province
    Andries Bekker
    DHL Western Province
    Bakkies Botha
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Heinrich Brüssow
    Toyota Free State Cheetahs
    Schalk Burger
    DHL Western Province
    Juan de Jongh
    DHL Western Province
    Jean de Villiers
    DHL Western Province
    Bismarck du Plessis
    The Sharks
    Jannie du Plessis
    The Sharks
    Fourie du Preez
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Jaque Fourie
    DHL Western Province
    Bryan Habana
    DHL Western Province
    Francois Hougaard
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Butch James
    MTN Golden Lions
    Ashley Johnson
    -
    Werner Kruger
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    -
    Pat Lambie
    The Sharks
    Tendai Mtawarira
    The Sharks
    Lwazi Mvovo
    The Sharks
    Odwa Ndungane
    The Sharks
    Wynand Olivier
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Coenie Oosthuizen
    -
    Ruan Pienaar
    Ulster
    JP Pietersen
    The Sharks
    Chiliboy Ralepelle
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Danie Rossouw
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Juan Smith
    Pierre Spies
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Gurthrö Steenkamp
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Francois Steyn
    Racing Metro
    Morné Steyn
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Adriaan Strauss
    Flip van der Merwe
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Duane Vermeulen
    DHL Western Province

• 102.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-92:

Not quite

Most of his recipients don’t deserve it

• 103.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-102: well like i say, with an 18 mnth old little lady, i have no time to blog most days.

so it looks like kanko has to make way for vermeulen whilst spies stays in the squad?????

what a load of cod.

• 104.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-92:

No that’s where you are wrong , he is not capable of it !!!

The way he attacks the Stormers match day thread is a freekin disgrace !!!

What he says and gets away with cannot been seen as tongue in cheek.

It is personal and vindictive and disruptive to proper rugby talk.

But I know you will defend him , somehow his allegiance to the Sharks makes his actions ok with you !!!

And I expect the usual Skop retort, but Skop will talk rugby all night , unless he is attacked and HG attacks him all the time !!

• 105.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ok so Earl doesn’t make the bench? Dewald in at flyhalf cover?

Speaks volumes for the coach’s confidence in Earl, and in Dewald I guess….

• 106.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Also not so sure about Flip, flip he hardly ever play s!!!!

• 107.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Ashley Johnson
    -
    Werner Kruger
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    -
    Pat Lambie
    The Sharks

Lwazi Mvovo
    The Sharks
    Odwa Ndungane
    The Sharks
    Wynand Olivier
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Coenie Oosthuizen
    -
    Adriaan Strauss
    Flip van der Merwe
    Vodacom Blue Bulls
    Duane Vermeulen
    DHL Western Province

THE ABOVE ARE THE PICKS MOST LIKELY TO BE LEAST FAVOURABLE

PS- NO BJORN BASSON

• 108.ET.: Reply to this comment

The pillow fights are in full swing, but they are senseless, meaningless ones nonetheless and they mess up medical science (chromosomes ) in the process.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-103: wait till your young lass gets to about 2 & 1/2, where my son is now.

He has this thing where he wants the toy, he can’t have it so instead of letting someone else play with it he throws it against the wall and breaks it. We all know that it’s a bad way to deal with the situation but it;s part of him asserting his independance, so we sort him out and move on. If you don;t deal with those sorts of situations, then it can create a problem later on.

Now fast forward 30 odd years or so to a certain Rugby blog.

The Sharks have missed their opportunity to beat the Stormers this year, in the league phase anyway, so now a certain blogger will scream for anyone else playing against the Stormers in the hope that they will end the Stormers fun, and in some way make him feel better about himself. It has nothing to do with his support for the other team, it’s more a case of “well if i can;t beat them, someone else must”

See where I’m going here?

Remind you of anyone?

• 110.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-103:

Bulldust?

• 111.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-104: ag kuk man, skop is a foul mouthed tourettes sufferer.

if you want to point fingers then remember that you will be judged by the company you keep mate.

and though i have never really had a problem with you personally, i have found your support (tacit sometimes by refusing to speak out against racist rantings of certain bloggers) a little dissapointing.

then again, i am no saint so bygones, i am over it. scrolling on by is probably the best option if you dont like what a blogger posts but if you feel strongly about things and take them on then dont wail when they push back imo.

HG is cool with me as are most bloggers, even grant10 though i find him infuriating at times :lol:

please note: i am in a very chilled mood because i am off to mozam for a week tomorrow so maybe that could be lulling the savage beast that lurks within me :lol:

i will be back with a vengeance when superrugby reaches the business end.

• 112.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109:

LOL !

Hopefully your boy will grow out of it, unfortunately some never do !! :)

• 113.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-71: talking kak, the Baby Boks played against the Kings Academy players, yep you got that right Predawn, we have our own academy now :D no more poaching

• 114.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Some of these Sharks fans are a joke , we beat you home , we beat you away and still you have so much to say??

• 115.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-111:

Enjoy Mozam, you should be back just in time to watch the Stomers lift the first S15 trophy !! :)

• 116.ET.: Reply to this comment

How selective but limited the interpretations of some one-eyed pillow fighters.

Since exactly when does the name Tygerberg (a region) equate to a/the hospital. Why could it not be T. zoo or T.Valley, or T. Hills?

I looked all over for the word hospital in the original post but it is not there

If anything the ‘white’ man’s hospital has always been the Karl Bremer though for the rich and idle rugby player of today it is surely any number of private clinics/hospitals.

Do we have over eager miscreants nervously jumping the gun once more?

• 117.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-110: zactly.

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: haha, i prefer to think that in this ridiculous conference comp that the enemy of your enemy is your friend.

its all tactical and may have far reaching effects such as making the kiwis and aussies a bit more like the saffas with our out of control provincialism.

i had an awful moment with my youngster last night which turned out funny in hindsight but showed me that i have to up my game in terms of responsibility a bit.

After feeding the peanut dinner i sat her down for five minutes of “the big brown bear” dvd as my wife was leaving for action netball and i had to make a business call.
    i live in a penthouse with double sliding doors onto our outdoor area and i stepped out to make the call and have a quick smoke at the same time.

my daughter sauntered over whilst i wasnt paying full attention and managed to pull the sliding door handle down, locking me outside.

fark me i was in a state as the oven was on (open plan flat) and i coulnt get in!

so there is the ranger, on his knees tapping on the outside of the sliding door to keep the peanuts attention, begging her to open the door handle (she tried, really she did but she is too short) after making a frantic call to the missus who then executed the fastest u-turn known to man.

needless to say, the peanut thought it was all a new game and took to hiding behind the couches which NEARLY prompted a sliding door to get kicked in.

i managed to overcome the sliding door lock though (dont ask me how, i tried to repeat it later and couldnt) and get in just as the wife arrived, gave me a black look and turned back for the action netball as she was playing in a semi final (they won but when she arrived, late, her team were one player short and two points(goals?) down.

eish, talk about a wake up call.

• 118.ET.: Reply to this comment

My understanding too is that it seems to be acceptable to “panelbeat” the human, average Joe Citizen, but when it is a highly physical rygby player seeking that physical attention then he must be wrapped in cotton wool and not get the required attention he seeks?

Morality right out the window, but what can we expect of nervous limited FANatics posing as aficionados of the game of rugby?

• 119.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-117: haha welcome to the world of parenting mate!

I’ve had many of those types of incidents, usually on “dad’s watch” too. I have two very busy sons. They have gotten me into a world of kuk over the years. thankfully nothing too serious.

And I know that look well. ;)

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-117:

Teach you to smoke.

• 121.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-119: :lol:

the only thing that makes me smile about the whole thing is thinking of my daughters giggles at her dad as he pleaded with her lmao!

alls well that ends well.

anyways, i must shove off.

chat to you all in ten days or so and enjoy the rugga!

tjorts.

• 122.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-119: On a positive note at least you go outside to have a smoke. Smoking and kids is a no-no. ;)

• 123.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-120: :lol:

terrible habit, had me on my knees, must go. cheers dawnie!

• 124.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-117: Hi Ranger, have a wonderful trip to Mozam, scuba’rd their years ago was lovely, WATCH OUT FOR THE SHARKS !!!!

Lol thought you had given up on the puffing.

• 125.nama1: Reply to this comment

National Planning Camp Group;

FORWARDS
    1. Beast; Gurthro; Coenie
    2. John Smit; Bissie; Chilliboy; Adriaan Strauss
    3. Jannie Dup; Werner Kruger
    4. Bakkies; Flip;
    5; Matfield; Bekker
    6. Brussow; Schalk
    7. Alberts; Juan Smith; Johnson
    8. Spies; Vermeulen

Total: 21

Versatile player
    Danie;

BACK LINE
    9. FdP;
    10. Steyn; Butch; Lambie
    11. Habana; Mvovo
    12. JdV; JdJ
    13. J. Fourie; WO
    14. JPP; Ndungane
    15. F. Steyn

Versatile players:
    Pienaar (9, 10, 15)
    Hougaard (9, 11)
    Aplon (11, 14, 15)

Total: 16

So, 7 players need to be cut from this group.

Interesting omissions:
    Ricky
    Bjorn Basson
    Flo
    Stegman
    Kankowski

Only Basson can feel aggrieved.

• 126.DROOOL: Reply to this comment

The following is an extract from an article on Rugby Heaven AU . NZ already getting ready to lose. I would think that staging a successful World Cup and winning it are 2 separate issues. Winning at all costs is a given as well as having a well organised WC

” The architect of this year’s Rugby World Cup says he would rather see the All Blacks lose the tournament than New Zealand botch its hosting role.
    In comments likely to puzzle a small country painfully aware of its under performance in World Cups past, Martin Snedden said most of the 85,000 people expected to visit New Zealand in September and October “don’t give a toss” if the Kiwis win.
    “I talk to New Zealand audiences all the time about this and half the audience shakes their heads and think I’m an idiot,” Snedden, a former international cricketer and past New Zealand Cricket chief executive, said.
    Advertisement: Story continues below
    “But we haven’t won the thing for 24 years, we know that, we’ve got a great chance again this year, we’re in great form once again, expectations are high, [we are the] ranked number one team in the world.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/winning-is-secondary-nz-world-cup-chief-20110608-1fseo.html#ixzz1Ogvez1Jd

• 127.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Must say Bjorn should be there.

• 128.nama1: Reply to this comment

Total:21
    Danie included of course.

Interesting omissions:
    Also CJ.

Seems Werner Kruger is on his way to the RWC. Interesting.

With the amount of versatile players in the back line (add F. Steyn also), it looks as if we are going for a 18/12 split. If so, it means that another 3 forwards and 4 back line players need to be cut from the squad.

I think it will be:
    2. Strauss (only need 3 hookers)
    4. Flip (Danie can also play that role)
    7. Johnson/Juan (depending on Juan’s fitness)

10. Lambie (experience of the other two)
    11. Mvovo (Hougaard and Aplon can both play 11)
    13. WO (the others are just that much better; Butch and Frans can both play inside centre with JDJ moving to outside centre)
    14. Ndungane. (Solid player but Aplon can do a job there)

• 129.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I see this (what Meyer is saying) in Super Rugby, but not so much from European referees which makes this interesting.

• 130.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Where I agree is that it benefits the Boks, from what I noticed, European refs are taking no **** from clearing around the rucks or beyond the ball, something NZ specifically are very good at.

• 131.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

I’ve been a wp supporter all my life. Eventhough the bulls and sharks have been the better team the past 10 years I still believe the stormers are in the process of creating their own dynasty.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.