Officials slammed for red-card call

Pro Legoete faces suspension from the Sanzar officials panel while referee Craig Joubert has been cautioned for his part in the Pat O’Connor red card incident.

In last week’s match between the Bulls and Waratahs, Legoete advised Joubert that O’Connor had headbutted a Bulls player, and Joubert responded by sending O’Connor off. It was a massive call to make in the context of the match, and it’s a call that could cost the Waratahs a place in the play-offs.

O’Connor has since been exonerated of wrong-doing and Sanzar referees boss Lyndon Bray has admitted Legoete and Joubert got it wrong.

‘We reviewed the game on Monday night and clearly the decision was wrong,’ Bray told The Australian. ‘There are two aspects which are frustrating. The description of the event was not very accurate. The process between the referee and the assistant referee was not good. It never fleshed out the details of the incident.

‘I’ve spoken to Craig Joubert about how he could have handled it better, to get better information on which to base his decision. Craig was very disappointed he ended up with that decision.

‘An experienced referee’s job is to pick up on messages he is getting. When Pro said no to a red card, clearly there was a message in that. It’s difficult in the heat of the moment. Craig believed he was dealing with a headbutt. If they had talked through what happened, maybe they would have come up with a different outcome.’

While Legoete has not been officially dropped, he hasn’t been assigned any matches this weekend or next.

107 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

a few refs deserve red cards

• 2.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Rightly so !!!

Now what about that oke who missed all the forward passes in the Lions game ??, it basically cost the Lions the game !!

No rap over the knuckles ??

• 3.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Ok gloves off.
    Surely Stu Dicksuck should get fired for his blantant biase against the Saders??? Did he get sacked???

We even had a kiwi ref while drunk. Did he get sacked???

Mr Brownass did not get sacked???

S14 final with the Shoiks and Bulls, the ref really messed that one up. Did he get the sack??

But Pro makes one mistake and Craig get naaied but these other tools dont????
    Haibo

So Saffa refs get sacked but refs reffing drunk dont. WTF!!!

This really smells of FIFA.

• 4.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

They can sack Jonker, I wont ***** on that one for sure.

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

Craig Joubert should be booted as well….and Jonker….

I tell you something, this whole tournament is being farked up 6 love by this poor reffing, seriously I have huge reservations about the honesty here……I would certainly not be shocked to find some refs on the take….

And this has been going on for bloody years…..

something needs to be done….

• 6.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

How Chris Pollock forgetting to call engage for a scrum and then blowing them ip for eventually engaging before they put their backs out. Rugby is a very difficult game to referee correctly at the best of times. It is time we looked at how other sports with similar difficulties handle this at elite levels.

• 7.poppa69: Reply to this comment

about time something was done in regards to the SA reffing conspiracy.

is it any wonder the Bulls won the comp last year with all their “in the pocket refs” they had? eish…

• 8.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Pro Legoete
    Chris Pollock
    Keith Brown
    Stu Dickinson

Red cards for the lot of them.

Amazing how Lyndon Bray has a voice all of a sudden but wont reprimand his own countrymen, Pollock and Brown, who are the worst of the bunch above.

• 9.ufo: Reply to this comment

What’s that I hear…??

Fluttering, cluttering, muttering…??

Ah… chickens flocking home to roost…!! LOL

Gotta love it.. When Stormers fans complained about Joubert and Jonker last year… supporters of every other team told us we were suckingon sour grapes…

but now that a few of those teams have felt the frustration of these buffoons amateurish reffing… They are all up in arms…!!

Oh the irony…!!

• 10.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

WTF!!! how can Lyndon Bray state that Joubert got it wrong. Joubert asked the linesman for direction and was told that it was a head butt now how the fk did JOUBERT get it wrong????!!! He implemneted the appropriate sanction i.e. red card. Secondly how is it that all the pi$$ poor reffing from Aussie and NZ refs never gets any attention. How many fkn forward passes has been missed by those refs. fk this where is SARU in this fiasco? Trying to grow a set?

• 11.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-5: ag ffs grant don’t be a po es man. Look at all the forward passes the Aus and NZ refs have missed and Joubert was directed by the linesman and implemented the appropriate sanction.

• 12.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-3: ja I smell FIFA s%hite here.

• 13.HHS: Reply to this comment

So the ref against the Lions and Highlanders had a front row seat with the head throw and 3 punches. No action was taken on the field by him which is wrong, and he gets off? Job well done?
    What about that the ref in charge of that Grid iron game between the Lions and the Canes?
    Also no mention of that prick Marius Jonker????
    SANZAR is a joke….

• 14.ufo: Reply to this comment

BTW…

I think Pro Legoete is being hung out to dry here… And also think he’s a pretty good and honest ref…

Problem is he only had one split-second look at the incident in real life and had benefit of hind-sight or instant replays… I think he called it as he honestly saw it.

Tough on the player for sure but he has been exonerated… Would be extremely tough to fire Pro for an honest (if incorrect) assessment.

• 15.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pro looked a bit intimidated by Craig in the heat of the moment, though.

• 16.ufo: Reply to this comment

and had NO benefit on hind-sight or instant replays…

• 17.ufo: Reply to this comment

Yeah Dawn.. I agree with you

• 18.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-7: Hi Pops man you boois whinged for weeks after getting done in by the Reds masjien. The bleating still echos in my ears with countless wails of the French, Saffa RWC and the Reds….but funnily enough i did not see a reprimand from you the ever saffa correcting troll. :) biase maybe???

@ufo(ufo)-9: irony that now some kiwis and aussies kop a few biased calls and we see refs getting carded but a kiw ref can ref drunk and nada.

Smells like fiefa to me.

@John Galt(John Galt)-8: yes

Come on tinpot panties….where art thou??

• 19.Make_Naka_Stormers_Coach: Reply to this comment

another affirmative selection gone horribly wrong. that is what happens if you push a guy 2 early! pro should’ve ref’ed a few more Currie Cup matches – 2 or 3 more years! now he’ll probably never ref a Super Rugby game again.

He’ll ref games like Angola vs Swaziland!

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

amateur hour with these refs….

Across the board, not just saffa refs…..

although Jonker and Joubert are really bloody poor!

• 21.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-15: & @ufo(ufo)-17: Ag k@k man. When Pro mentioned the head butt. Joubert told him that is a red card offence. Then he asked Pro if he agreed with that. How’s that intimidating?

• 22.ufo: Reply to this comment

got nothing to do with affirmative action…. he’s plenty good enough for SuperRugby…

• 23.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is where the TMO needs to come in.

BTW I still think Pro should change his name to Amature.

He wears the name better.

• 24.ufo: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-21:

LISTEN to the exchange again…

• 25.ufo: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-20:
    @stormersboy(stormersboy)-23:

hey guys… how you doing? got tickets for saturday…?

mine sorted with some business colleagues… so will be there bells-n-whistles…

• 26.Make_Naka_Stormers_Coach: Reply to this comment

Ma se hare! i remember Lyndon Bray !!! that d00s was a cheat!!! He mos had this bold head with a patch of hair on the front like Tin TIn! how can this oke judge refs?

• 27.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-18: youre the one who consistently whinges about refs every freakin day Kevin…

its your mantra mate…

lets see how vocal you are once SA cop a loss in the WC through forward passes and the opposition being penalised twice in a game..

it is going to happen, mark my words..

• 28.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Make_Naka_Stormers_Coach(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-26: that’s SANZAR for you.

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-25: hey Boet, howzit? I’m not going, have a big braai organised with a bunch of mates to watch the game and throw stuff at the TV.

It’s going to be a big one. Would love to be there, but i haven;t been to Newlands as often as I would like this season, the kids have needed a bit more attention.

The sacrifices we make…..

• 30.charo: Reply to this comment

fire lyndon bray !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

appoint paul honiss…………

now there’s an honest ref !!

• 31.charo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-27:

we have teeny weeny little whinges about refs.

last about 3 or 4 days.

unlike the kiwi 4 year whine that still hasn’t abated?

• 32.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-31: gee, I wonder why that is Charo?

like I said, when ireland beat you at the WC with a kiwi ref in charge, its going to be fun watching…

look back over the thread, people still going on about Lyndon Bray as a ref, about Walsh being drunk… now, those werent 3 or 4 days ago were they?

do try thinking, it is soooo important..

• 33.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-29:

Cool Bud… Pity… Always good to be at Newlands… but enjoying the rugga with buds at home is also an excellent time to have…!!

Gonna be big… Season defining game for sure… Not just for the Stormers and Bulls but for all teams bunched at the top…

Gotta run… hectic… but will be in touch soon…

• 34.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-27: everyday hahaha bs mate but that is rich coming from you poeps whinging about saffas everyday on a saffa blog thats a Bwahahahaha

….but funnily enough I did not see a reprimand your country men from you over the exact same comments the ever saffa correcting troll. :) biase maybe???

• 35.ufo: Reply to this comment

Hey Charo… just a quick “Howzit Bud…?”

Enjoy the rugby this weekend… chat another time…

Cheers all

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-31: or the consistent whine about Paddy Obrien?

yep, 3 or 4 days bwahahaha

• 37.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-31: lol thats so funny but so true….

• 38.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

When we bleat its a conspiracy and so foolish but when ones cuntrymen or cousins bleat its ok. Hypocritter :)

• 39.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-34: nah not biased (note the spelling please, I do my best to educate you knuckle dragging neanderthals) Kevin, but I realise how hard a job the refs do have, what with the speed of the game and the complexities of the laws..

and yes, I firmly believe in the “get the yarpies” mantra, you guys deserve it !!

• 40.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-39: you are funny I do appreciate your humour!!
    I wish tinpot panties was here to take the bait, you have this fishing figured out.

Good luck for the weekends rugga you gonna need it.

• 41.charo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-35:

cheers mate – good to see you around again.

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-25: Hi Mate

Yes….arranged and sorted…..halfway line grandstand, cant wait!

Will be at Cubannas by 4 to watch the sharks…Lions game ..

• 43.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-40: been saying it all year Kevin, Blues havent convinced me they are a team capable of winning the comp, and I still stick by it….

some interesting clashes this weekend, can you do me a favour and send me the referee assignments before I tip on bru.. :D

• 44.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-43: LOL the real one or the imaginery ones

• 45.charo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-39:

this is a nothing little rugby blog.

blokes come here to express an opinion or have a whinge.

but……when the mighty macawe gets pinged and crusaders lose a game……..

it is the main topic on re-union ?

• 46.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-44: hmmmm one would think you are trying to disrupt my charge down the superbru ladder by giving me misleading information…

• 47.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-7: Pi55 off to a kiwi forum moron. Gloves off with you. Sick of you constantly playing the devils advocate here. Youre as biased as anyone on this forum. All in the kiwis favour always isnt it? Look in the mirror dork. BTW – you guys are going to lose on home soil. How friggin embarrasing. Probably to France or South Africa. I dont think youre going to choke. Youre just going to get beaten fair and square. The weakness – over confidence. The Black Dream machine that is infallible. Get ready for a 4 year hangover bud and mannnnn do I want to hear all the ref whinging that comes after that. On home soil. lol. Watch this space – its going to happen.

• 48.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-45: I dont watch re-union…not sure we even get it here in Aussie..

but is that a kiwi rugby show? :wink: funny then that that would be a topic..

like coming to a SA rugby blog and seeing articles on SA players and teams… wierd isnt it?

• 49.Dusky: Reply to this comment

I think everyone, including those apparently benefiting from these poor refereeing decisions would appreciate some real action with regards to referee performance.

I don’t think any team enjoys the prospect of a controversial win. At the end of the day, I believe all teams and supporters would prefer seeing their team win on merit, rather than due to some referee brain **** that changes the outcome of the match.

So – it cant be that difficult. Let’s stop ignoring the elephant in the room, and sort this out. Referees should receive a rating after each match, and their future fixture level should be determined by this.

I know there is apparently some kind of referee adjudication process in place, but people like Andre Watson, Tappe Henning and Lyndon Bray that are involved with this are all super defensive people, that instead of acknowledging the issue find it important to defend.

I wrote an e-mail asking about some decisions at the ruck in a Cheetahs/Sharks game some time back to SA rugby, and amazingly they responded by forwarding my mail to Andre Watson. He too responded with actually quite a long e-mail filled with defensive statements about how the public don’t know how to interpret the laws etc., and if I wanted real answers I had to provide the exact minute and second of the incidents in question. Fair enough, but strangely, in the very next match, the Cheetahs penalty rate for the issue I was raising increased by about 80%.

• 50.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-47: my, such a small fish with a scrap of bait…

think I’ll toss this one back… not even worth a feed…

we may well lose to France, but we’ve arranged it so they are in our pool this time and they wont knock us out unless its the final… as for SA, have you seen your coaching triumvirate? LMFAO you think youll win the WC with those 3 in charge? seriously?

bwahahahahahaha best you grab your seat on the bus, window-licker…

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.