Stormers aim to smother Steyn

JON CARDINELLI chats to Robbie Fleck about the Stormers’ plans to neutralise Morne Steyn.

The Bulls have racked up some monumental victories over the past few seasons, and Steyn has so often been the difference in the matches that matter. He kicked a difficult penalty to win the 2009 Currie Cup semi-final at Newlands. When the Bulls hosted the Stormers in the 2010 Super 14 final in Soweto, Steyn and Fourie du Preez produced a tactical kicking masterclass to compromise the Cape side’s defence.

But Steyn was well contained when the Stomers visited Loftus Versfeld earlier this season. The home pack was bullied, and so the Bulls’ halfbacks struggled to impose themselves without front-foot possession.

It’s for this reason that Fleck isn’t too worried about the Steyn factor ahead of Saturday’s game. It’s a massive fixture in terms of what’s at stake for the Bulls and Stormers, but the formula for success will be much the same.

‘The Bulls tend to be more adventurous in the early stages, they like to try a few different things at the start of a game. But it shouldn’t take them too long to revert to what they do best. They have a game plan that has won trophies, and when they execute it, like they did in that game against the Sharks, they are hard to stop,’ Fleck told keo.co.za.

‘Their forwards really come at you and they try to put even more pressure on you with their fantastic kicking game. But we have to back ourselves to stand up to that challenge. We have managed to nullify the effect of their kicking game in the past, so it’s by no means a daunting prospect. It all starts with fronting up physically, that will go a long way to negating the impact of their kickers.’

The Stormers have opted to bench their best tactical kicker in Dewaldt Duvenage, and not much is known of Kurt Coleman’s ability with the boot. The 21-year-old flyhalf did well in front of goal last week, kicking five from six, but wasn’t asked to kick much out of hand.

Fleck believes Coleman has the full range of skills to be a success, and added that he should receive the necessary platform from his forwards.

‘He was nervous in that Brumbies game, you could see it in the way he played. On occasion, he sat too deep in the pocket instead of taking the ball flat and getting involved.

‘We told him that we wanted him to take more control in the next match against the Rebels, and his response was incredible. He bought into the change of mindset and really exceeded everybody’s expectations.

‘Obviously a Stormers vs Bulls game is a very different prospect, but he’s made an improvement in all departments, so there’s good reason to feel encouraged.’

On Wednesday, Schalk Burger highlighted the Bulls’ experience and ability to win tight matches as a real threat to the Stormers’ chances. Fleck agreed that the Bulls shouldn’t be taken lightly, but pointed to the growth of this Stormers team over the course of their 2011 campaign. If they fall short this weekend, it won’t be for a lack of unity.

‘We matured as a group on that tour to Australasia. It goes to show how a tour can bring people closer together.

‘By the end, we were in a really good head space and were playing some decent rugga too. There were some difficult times and we were honest with ourselves after the match against the Chiefs, but that only made us tighter as group.’

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

349 Comments

• 1.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

drag
    ons

• 2.Earl is a Royal Genius...bow to him minions!: Reply to this comment

i think you meant to say:
    d
    r
    a
    g
    o
    n
    s

• 3.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Now there you go Flekkie. Easy isn’t it. You watch out for the Bulls early on, then you bully them, and wallaaaa. Steyn can do nothing, game, set, and match Stormers.

Now why didn’t the Sharks or Waratahs think of that. Or rather, why didn’t you think of that in the final last year?

• 4.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

TURNS IMMEDIATELY!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhmjwLMvLB0

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

they won’t smother MSteyn, the dude stands so far deep to execute his kicks it’s not funny. The look on MSteyn’s face after launching a kick is one of pure satisfaction!

I’ve heard the story so many times, you know it too, the one about MSteyn once being a ‘running flyhalf’ when he was @ sand du plessis. Unless someone actually shows me footage of him in high school i will never believe that Morne ‘kick anthing that moves’ Steyn could take the ball flat, bust tackles and make high school defences look like meyer bosman..

Not a chance :D

• 6.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-5: Players have differnt strenghts and weakenesses. In the end it is how these strengths and weakenesses balance each other out, and what the final package look like.

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@theagent: agreed, the problem comes when the opposition has a back of israel dagg, sean maitland & zac guilford who revel in being peppered with ball all game long because it allows them to pull off all their counter-attacking trickery.

Time travel to november/december 2009 – springboks vs ireland, and msteyn was kicking the leather off the ball, problem is rob kearney was gobling all of them up and attacking us and we ended up making a mountain of tackles and LOST from 5 penalties kicked by newby jonathan sexton!

A flyhalf who only has ONE dimension to his game is a risk.

• 8.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

I would bet my house on a bulls win. Stormers are WAY overrated. Especially guys like JDV and Jantjes (JDJ is better and Sadie should at least be on the field at wing).

Expect Steyn to be the match winner again. People like to discredit Olivier but he is the form center in SA at the moment, expect him to have a great game.

• 9.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-7: If the Boks win, the credit goes to the team, but if they lose, it is always the same players that gets the blame. Steyn plays according to a plan as decided by the coaching staff, or changed by the captain.

Was his kicking the problem, or was it because the follow-up was lacking, or simply because it was the wrong tactic?

• 10.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-9: FdP and M. Steyn lost that game… them and them alone the solo pair of dubious twats with John Smit calling the game plan… both Ireland and France a diabolical example of Boks stuffed without a plan bar kick chase garbage.

fast forward one year with Pienaar and Matfield running the show and Ireland, Wales and England get done a right royal flush by Boks sans FdP and Smit with only Scotland being the sour note because Pienaar was replaced by kick and chase Hougaard.

• 11.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Pirlet BEL(Pirlet BEL)-8:

Hope your house comprises a two bit shanty shack in Fitas Town because if its a well heeled mansion I’d hate to lose such a life’s investment on the whim and fortune of a fickle rugby game that can easily go either way. Especially if the ref has anything to say in the matter which they usually do far too much.

• 12.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-10: Disagree. The chasing up by the Boks was poor. When a team loses, supporters look for scapegoats. More often than not, it is the captain and halfbacks.

No flyhalf in SA is the same class as Steyn. Period. A few can be, even be better, but that is for after 2011.

• 13.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@theagent: 9 i can see you’re fixing to argue hypothetically when i’m telling you that the rubbish skop ‘n jag tactic – between morne & fdp – was chiefly the reason we ended up seeing our arses!

When the same players get PICKED despite their f*ckups, who are we supposed to ascribe blame to, the guys who didn’t get to play?

I’ve observed that you’re uber sensitive when it comes to criticism of your beloved bulletjies, and already have ready-made defence mechanism, but you’d do well to know that when those okes don the green & gold they’re no longer just bulle brekers, they’re MY countrymen too and i’m hawkishly scrutinising them sans bias of what union the come from

• 14.shooter: Reply to this comment

This is rather funny. Smothering the one-dimensional Steyn????
    Why would you want to smother such a non-entity. if you listen to some rugby fundaai out here – he should not be a factor. in factor, you should set up your game plan so that Morne gets all the ball he wants. because apparently he will not pass it to his number 12. he will kick it away aimlessly or what else I dont know.

one interesting note. Naas de Baas basically, was also a kicking flyhalve.
    happiness used to be a pass from Naas. he wasn’t really renowned for his defensive capabilities. yet today he is regarded as one of the best of all time.

i figure some would say he was brilliant behind a pack going backwards too. well, the springbok (the few times naas played for boks), or bulls pack for that matter, wasn’t going back that many times either. so it is easy to generalise to say that.

it is a big myth that Steyn is one dimensional. for all the convenient stats there are, he has a balanced game, in all departments.

in my opinion, the two – naas and morne – are similar in the fact that they bring confidence to the team. the 10 is, when all is said and done, 99% of the time, the main man in the team. and if his players rate him, the forwards have confidence in what will happen at the back. as long as a forward is going forward, he is a happy forward. [un-que grant.]

So i guess i’ll get the usual ‘don’t mention naas and morne in one sentence’ stuff, but anyhoo.

the bulls are coming with a plan. wonderful how the stormers, usually and especially assumes historically and forthwith ad infinitum that the bulls game is based on one strength. o yes, subtle strategies and cunning game plans are just not in their make-up.

and then forget that the legend that is The Tjip, is silently plotting their drop from table mountain.

• 15.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-12:

You living in delusional day dreams. We lost against Ireland and France by playing a pathetic archaic game style which Boks still believe is their traditional strength because it won them a one sided WC where nobody participated and where the archaic style which old laws pre 2008 suited that prehistoric style game.

Now you want to blame the chasers when its the game plan that is pathetically wrong from inception.

Morne Steyn and FdP fckd up the Boks chances in 2009 on Eoyt and a year later we abandoned that game and won, except against Scotland where we played kick chase in the rain and lost. Wales, Ireland and England we played ball in hand game under Matfield and Pienaar in 2010 and NOT kick chase as promoted by FdP and Steyn and run by Smit which cost us a tri nations 5 from 6 losses and an Eoyt in 2009 zero wins except against Italy.

You want to make stupid excuses for your dreamy eyed lover boys take off your blindfold and see exactly who lost those games.. was FdP and M. Steyn and promoted by play to our traditional strengths Smit, nobody else.

• 16.Hondo: Reply to this comment

It’s likely the other way around,
    Against the Reds and the Chiefs, the Stormers allocated 2 loose forward to cover their back three from up and under, add that their back three are perennial interception prowlers and always out of position, the Stormers will be too thin up front
    Styen can turn them around with his boot, but will he do it?

• 17.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

ratahs nearly ate Steyn and Olivier and Spies and Bakkies and Danie and Steggies last week but for Pro the Blue Bulls mascot Legoete, Bulls were going DOWN… no two questions about it.

And Morne Steyn could do sweet fanny fokol about the marauding light blues from Sydney on their home turf, same as the could do sweet fanny fokol about Highlanders, Crusaders, Stormers and couple others this year as well.

Morne Steyn is one dimensional… those are the facts.. when front foot ball is not available Morne Steyn goes awol same as Spies, WO, Matfield, Danie and most the rest of the Bully Brekers do… they HAVE to have a dominant front 5 or else entire Bully Brekers game plan goes straight out the window at a rate of knots.

• 18.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

ratahs – Waratahs

• 19.shooter: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-12: that is true. he would make any team in any country.
    he is in the top 3 flyhalves wordlwide.
    problem is. most here use every bit of footage that could be seen as a negative moment, and then blow it to humongous proportions to validate some other iffy point.
    even the great carter has crumbled under pressure, and cost the AB’s a game or too.
    so did wilkenson. gitaue. larkham (brilliant best). spencer. they all have their imperfections.
    steyn has actually been as consistent as any. and i do not buy into the same old same old same old same old sweeping statements from the anti steyners that he can not get his line away.
    like you say. gameplans are what they are. and if you are as good as morne, it comes with the territory that sometimes the coach will build the gameplan around him.

compared to van straatten, koen, montgomery, vd westhuizen, de beer – all the flyhalves of late – man, like comparing an antinov with cessna. haha, good one shooter.

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-11: ok skop. have you made up your mind yet. who you think is going to win this weekend?

• 20.cab: Reply to this comment

ah old Pro, what an eagle-eyed fellow he is.

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

it’s laughable how folks want to suddenly come out of the woodwork and be hardegat when there was only ONE blue bulls fan on this site when the crusaders were klapping their team 27 – 0, maybe TheAgent you can tell us who was k@k in that game because we, apparently, are always looking for scapegoats. :D

• 22.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Stormers should win Saturday… but should and do’s and don’ts don’t count in rugby… why all you gotta do is ask Pro or Joubert or Jonker who SHOULD have won last week and then check who actually DID.

• 23.shooter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-17: no man. 1 card. 1 x 100% Pro.
    the man was diving in with his head. pro couldn’t see him hit flip’s head. but it was pretty dangerous. the intent looked serious. on the 15th replay you could see that the guy didn’t actually hit flip, but it was not for lack of trying to be dangerous.
    the tackle on wynand was basically a strangle. why. he still had him around the strot even when on the floor.
    so that is 2 penalties. and 8 and 1/2 minutes off for one waratah guy. jeez. after they crooked their way to uncontested scrums since the, what?, 45th minute?

in the end there was only one winner. and that was the bulls. :)

• 24.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Pro got his eyes up his flou nulle backside.. that’s about how eagle eyed he is… Saru must have paid him big bucks to pull that stunt, and if they didn’t they certainly should have… was worth at least a couple gold watches and perhaps even a Rolls Royce chucked in for good measure… Pro alone brought Bully Brekers back from the dead… the big resurrection act of 2011

• 25.cab: Reply to this comment

gooi old pro a brannewyn prestasie, whatever that is, lmao.
    yip pro could make it 4 trophies from 5 outings, surely no other side like the nulle.

• 26.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-21: malema came out of the woodwork with low flying colours

• 27.shooter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-25: do you think this going to be the echo if the bulls win the 2011 S15?

drumrrrrroll ….the middle game 8)

• 28.shooter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-25: brannewyn prestasie. ha, that is! funny. lol 2

life has no meaning. only meaning has life.

nulle/ bulle. very clever.

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hi shooter ;) you’re a bulle fan too, did Tacitus send all of you a memo saying, ‘lay low’? :mrgreen:

i won’t forget the afternoon i spent with robzim, dawn etc watching the bulls get done in by the force, jeepers :shock: , who was to blame that day TheAgent?

• 30.shooter: Reply to this comment

when i start getting this type of grouping, people are all sitting and reading in awe at the sense that i talk.

• 31.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I check it took you long enough to get your kop from out that pseudo Yankee doodle dandy delinquent my God’s better than your God, or my science is more enlightened than your science, or my superstition is less superstitious than your superstition, or I know more than you know ring around the rosemary delusional mind game bullsh’t baffles brains ego straining mutual back slap arselicking site.

• 32.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-28:

who told you life has any meaning… which rugby guru told you that

• 33.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-29: jaja transie. ive been here. you are the so-called queen of koei-research, so go and have a look at the crusaders / bulls thread that night. ive been here.
    go and pull my profile for all posts for all the effort. but i’ve been here when needed.

ive even been on this site before you 8)

• 34.Transformation: Reply to this comment

time for a quantum leap:

40. skopskiet said:
    28 Nov 2009, 16:54 pm
    Fourie Du Preez and Morne Steyn f.ng up all
    the momentum again. Bring on a proper set
    of half backs these two palooka ’s got no
    idea about attacking rugby. Kick kick kick
    kick and kick again. Where ’s a proper scrum
    half and fly half like Adams and Pienaar.
    These two got no idea at all.

43. skopskiet said:
    28 Nov 2009, 16:56 pm
    Steyn is hopeless busy losing this game
    from the fly half and scrum half channel.
    Don ’t know how to get this back line going.
    Skop up in the air is about all we know.

46. Senga said:
    228 Nov 2009, 16:58 pm
    Schalk Burger you monster!

48. Lions_Soutie said:
    28 Nov 2009, 16:58 pm
    Schalk scores from the backline!

49. Senga said:
    28 Nov 2009, 16:59 pm
    SA 7 – IRE 3 after 16

52. skopskiet said:
    28 Nov 2009, 17:00 pm
    about time thats better. Now just keep
    running at them and we take this game
    easy in our stride. Kick it up in the air and
    give them the momentum back.

• 35.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-29:

That was FdP… FdP did his messiah trick he learnt from Wacko Jacko and tried walking on the poles instead of under them… JC musta let them down that day. Until Pro rocked up… Pro the Bulls messiah 2011… Pro alone did what all of Matfield, FdP, M. Steyn, Spiiiiieeees, or WO couldn’t do the entire season… he single handed brought Flou Nulle back from the sleeping , monotonous DEAD.

• 36.shooter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-32: well to put it in a way.. i’m no fatalist.
    you know. i think there are millions of phantoms standing in line for a human body.

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

a brannewyn prestasie for shooter for being on keo before me ;)

• 38.shooter: Reply to this comment

flou nulle. double whammy of cleverness never heard before. LOL

if the blou masjien klaps the dromertjies this weekend it wil probably be becasue it was overhands!

• 39.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Ja Skopskiet the siener of keo… who would ever give a prophet any recognition in his own lifetime… not this bunch of poefta’s… wonder who that skopskiet doos actually is?

• 40.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-37: hehe. that is still funny. so how is your old friend gbs?

• 41.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-36:

I really like your thinking… we actually almost exactly on the same page you and I… where the fck you been the last 5 years, why you haven’t educated these dom drolle that hang around here?

• 42.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-13: That is what I want to hear. The rest is just for the show. I will defend “my” team and players, but I pride myself on the fact that when it comes to the Boks, I only want what is best. I don’t care if the player is a Bull, Shark, Stormer. King, or Leopard. Only the best, and that may be different from how you see it. In the end, I’m sure we want the same thing: Bokke to win.

• 43.shooter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-39: get yourselve an u’9 team and take them to WC 2029 :) if you just divided your time 50/50 between Koei and coaching, it would be a breeze.

• 44.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-13: And, remember that when your beloved breezies play for the Boks, they play for the team I support. So I don’t want you to try and get passengers on board.

• 45.cab: Reply to this comment

problem is old yankie doodle enmeshed in a different way of thinking having watcha tutu tendencies, so he cant understand the principles behind science, he still banging on about faith and ****. i smaak old yankie, but unfortunately he’s a hippy at heart.

• 46.cab: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-27:
    yip, bulls still got a long way to go, including this saturday, theyve been comprehensively outplayed the last couple of times, but in their present form i wouldnt put it past them. if they win i dont even think the saders can brag that kind of dominance tho will need to check the history.

• 47.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-43: pisseasy in the breeze nothing to it… these national coaches have it easiest of the lot… they sit on their overrated fanny arses and get the best players in the world dished up to them on a plate… all the training and nurturing and rugby skills long time drummed into them through school, Craven week, junior WC”s then VC through CC through S15 and all they gotta do is pick and chose the best 30 available and put them together with some dedicated assistants and skills coaches and consultants and fitness coaches and hand eye coordinators and sports science doctors and you name it all at their beck and call,,, and the dumb schmucks can’t even get that much right…

Easiest thing in the world taking a group of best developed players and molding them together into a winning combo… and they ache and agonize over it for 4 whole years for one little Russian roulette all fall down or all stand up song and dance which they still can’t fathom out for all the tea in China how to get it straight.

• 48.shooter: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-41:@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-41: so you agree with me that morne is naas. ha, i’ll have a beer with you if i’m in cape town one day?

• 49.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

yankee doodle is a two faced coward he can’t handle critique though he likes to play god on his own little soap box site. he don’t know that perhaps his best friends are actually his worst critics, and that his worst enemies are those two faced schmucks buttering up his dumb fck ego to high f’ng heaven… stupefied ignorant idiotic imbecile over educated delusional ego rampant intellect mesmerized dunce.

• 50.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-48: you have the beer I’ll have the grapetizer, be my plesier

nag… tyd verby.. out.

• 51.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-46: Saders have won 3 titles on the trot.. so Bulls may be able to emulate them, but I still dont think they will this year… even with the “momentum” the Bulls seem to be gaining, big test for them the next two weeks…

• 52.cab: Reply to this comment

he writes pretty well – easy come easy go attitude – i quite like it.
    he takes critique better than most i reckon, just wants reasons behind it.
    but get the feeling he still hankering for the sweet dream indoctrination he received from the watchatutu tribe in his youth. u not going to get open-minded thinking there, but its an interesting exercise until ive bled it dry.

• 53.cab: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-51:
    yeah Popps but how many trophies the saders got in total? the bulls catching up. yeah not sure they got the right loosetrio, and locks ageing rapidly too, but if rossouw is played at 7 it presents a far stronger pack. they looked helluva impressive against the sharks and for 20 minutes other side halftime against tAhs shortly before uncontested scrums.

• 54.shooter: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-46: i think, unlike the too much rugby idea, that 3 teams in play-offs could actually be beneficial. the WC squad gets named early, but even then alot can happen. the Tri Nations is long and by then players would’ve gotten rest somehow or another.

the more we stay in the games, the better.

this weekend is actually the mother of all games for this year’s S15. so anything can happen. the bull’s forwards was surprised/ not ready for stromers + they were not at level yet and the stormers’ real campaign started for them at that that game , and because the of result, of that game.

until then, they were rather un-impressive although they scragged the victories for the points, until then.
    after that, their game and form shaped mostly all the way.

the bulls found it in them to get up at 8 count. and a hurt bull is a dangerous thing.

we saw what the cheetahs did to the crusaders. old story on paper and on the field.. the bulls may have the mental and phhysical edge more consistently this weekend. well, that’s what we’re hoping.
    who knows. even spies might wake up. now that heinecke and Pdiv is backing him. confidence is good. if he only contribute 40minutes of commitment, you guys are in trouble.

come to think of it. why does ludeke never sub him.

• 55.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

The self ingrained halfwit intellectual is more closed minded than the most fundamental religionists and you scientists are actually the worst closed minded dead end schmucks of all, one day long into the future you will realize what nature is and who’s who in the zoo. You can only hope you realize it before you dead. But it ain’t in your hand and you got not even the slightest inkling about how anything or how any of it works. Do you – Mr. Jones?

• 56.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

an easy come easy go attitude that sanctions and bans and censors opinion to suit his own agenda… you as blind as they come, you and the entire little consortium of that closed minded closed rank happy clappy back slap club.

night night … time to hit the sack.

• 57.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-53: Saders have 7 titles, they won 4 in 5 years then another 3 in 4 years… The Bulls have only equalled the total the second best kiwi team (in terms of Super rugby) has accomplished… :wink:

Danie does add grunt to their forward pack, and anything can happen in finals football, so not writing their chances off at all, just dont think they have been good enough to claim the title this year… nothings ever certain though… I think they really miss the work Gurthro does for them..

• 58.shooter: Reply to this comment

ja, good point about the coaches skop. guess that’s why many name managers instead of coaches in the football leagues.

alraaitie. beware of the agapantus. press submit comment at own risk.

nite >

• 59.cab: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-54:
    yeah your take on the number of games they get seems similar to heyneke meyers, maybe but im not convinced, noakes perhaps overdoes it but i think there is def something to be said for resting players who seem to come back alot better, especially the older guys of whom there alot in the squad.

u right this week is a mutha of a game, apparently sold-out, should be like a test match atmosophere, the age-old rivalry has resumed despite wp looking deader than the dodo the last decade or so.

@poppa69(poppa69)-57:
    yes you def right on gurthro, huge player for them, but this young guy greyling looks very pomosing too. Someone’s gotta to try play TH, also for the boks where we struggle to compete with your lot in this posi.

better be off.

• 60.cab: Reply to this comment

i’ve got alot more time for the mr jones’ of this world then these so-called shooting stars that have no real substance other than talking a good game and leave a trail of misery in their wake. takes all sorts.

• 61.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you never met a shooting star that’s why you a pseudo scientist.. you a f’ng fraud who stands outside of the laboratory proclaiming you know wtf goes on inside it… you never met a true scientist in your life… Einstein is a total figment of your imagination alien to you, you haven’t even begun combining oxygen with hydrogen yet you proclaim to know how water is formed.

Stop deluding yourself you dumb fck ignorant idiot… your highfalutin hypothesis carries f’all water its an empty shell of self mesmerized delusional arrogant ignorance. You are worse than an outright fundamentalist religionist because of your absolute arrogant stupidity. You don’t know sweet fanny fckall about who or what governs creation same as you know bugger all about how your blood stream functions or how the molecules go round your brain to produce the thoughts you think… stupefied ignoramus dumb fck dunce thinking they know so much when back the ranch these highfalutin arrogant fuckwits know absolutely zero fckall, about anything actually worth knowing.

• 62.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Imbecile fool… takes a fool to think they know it all… when these stupid intellectualized deluded arrogant fckng idiots know absolutely zero nothing whatsoever bugger all. Stupefied imbecile idiot self proclaimed knower of fckall schmuck.

• 63.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-62:

Looking in the mirror again doos?

• 64.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-21: or ask him, what was his nic before the reincarnation as TheAgent.

• 65.ufo: Reply to this comment

“We only have one goal and it’s to win this one. This one is easy to predict.” ~ Victor Matfield

Gonna be a helluva game…

Good luck Stormers!!

Good luck Western Force!!!

James O’Connor… best all-round rugby player on the planet…
    #justsaying

• 66.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

Judging by the behavior of the ferrets, the bulls have no chance.

If they do manage to fluke a win it will be the refs fault, according to Joel the assshampooist.

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

and the fake pom poodles surfaces fron his hideout.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-64:

Who is it?

• 69.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I REALLY hope we see the Bulls in rampage mode this weekend. If that team rocks up, nothing the Stormers do will make a difference.

Problem is, we haven’t seen that team once this year. The closest they came to that was for about 50 minutes against the Sharks in Durban.

• 70.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

Brok Harris the best ball player on the planet.

#just saying.

• 71.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

Transie

Make up your own funnies if you can.

Nevermind I see your big boetie is here.

• 72.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-66:

Forget the ferrets…According to Victor… the Stormers have no chance. “This one is easy to predict!!!”

• 73.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-70:

Gotta give you credit where it’s due…

You’re a slow learner…

But at least you learn!!

Eventually!!

• 74.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

UFO

Big Vic should speak to some of the stormers fans here then.

They’ll set him right :lol:

• 75.ufo: Reply to this comment

Gotta go and work…

Good luck to all the teams.. play well… play hard…

Let’s just hope the refs don’t fark it up for anyone… And the teams that win, win because they played the better game!!

Cheers all

#justsaying…

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-71: why bother? i’m not trying to out do you here :D

• 77.cab: Reply to this comment

the problem is you dont actually understand what criticquing is, you think its insult, no wonder cos you have no substance, just bullshit, like the shooting stars, you dont understand the concept of crticuing ideas and concepts, its too much for your noodle. yet have absolutely nothing to teach. go on then tell us about molecules and such, you dm fk. you dont even know wtf you are talking about, everything you know has been spoonfed to you from some numskull whose sat in his own little comfy cave for the last 40 years contemplating his navel refusing to challenge his own ideas and believing he has the answers. not quite sure why u raising einstein, cos you dont have the foggiest clue about his theories, nor do you actually comprehend he was a theoretical physicist, who do not work in labs u daft twat.

• 78.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-69: Tac , concern is how much of the Bulls dominance was down to them playing back at their level and how much was down to the Sharks not fronting up and making a load of handling errors. What is a big concern for the Bulls is not having Gurthro available. I think that the front row is young in super15 terms (without Botha and Gurthro) and if they get bullied back they step down. This Stormers side will be a different proposition to the Sharks and Danie/Flip vs Elstadt will be a key momentum swinger for me.

• 79.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-78:

Interesting is how many of the experts like Naas have either Werner Kruger or Dean Greyling in their preferred Bok front rows.

I reckon the Bulls front row is stronger now thatn it was with Gurthro.

• 80.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-79:

I agree that it is stonger scrummaging wise. No prop(o.k maybe beast) is better in cover defence than gurthro. He makes an immense amount of tackles in the centre of the field of 2nd phase defence.

• 81.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Matfield has sure had a lot to say about this one?

Not sure it’s going to be quite as black and white as he sees it though. He’s a little over-arrogant in my opinion. Almost suggesting that all the bulls need to do is pitch up and play.

Worked well for you guys at Loftus hey Oom Vic?

• 82.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

Hey guys, and some ladies as well. I’ve been a Keo reader for some time now, and decided that the time has come to register to have my 5c worth thrown in.

This weekend’s games (C’mon, there’s really just 2) is damn near impossible to predict.

In the big NORTH-vs SOUTH derby, it will be the Stormers’ X-factor players (such as Aplon, Habana, JdV and Jacque Fourie) up against the Bulls hardmen (Danie, Stegman and to a lesser degee Potties). I honestly believe that the week’s preparation and gameplan will determine the outcome of this one, as these team are currently very evenly matched. With the homeground advantage, I’d give it to the Stormers with 2.

The Lions-vs-Sharks game might seem like a done deal, but I’m not convinced. The Lions outfit is starting to play some very good footy, and if the Sharks think they’re just gonna be gifted a win, they will lick their wounds all they way back to rainy Durbs. I am particularly interresting in seeing the matchup between Butch and Freddie, but I think the Lions will be in it for 70 minutes, before the Sharks take it away, and win by 8.

• 83.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-82:

As a Stormers supporter, I hope to hell it’s by more than 2, if only because I don’t think my heart could hang on in the final minutes of a game where we have only a 2 point lead and Morne Steyn is still on the field.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-82: hi blue label…

• 85.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-77:

Whoyoutalkingto

• 86.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-83: talking of morne still being on the field, has it happened to a saffa team this season that the lose almost all their backline players in the same game like it happened with the saders in cpt?

imagine the bulls losing hougaard, kirchner & basson just in the first half? would you tip them to still win

• 87.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-83: Yeah, its gonna be nervewrecking, but thats why we love this game innit?

@Transformation(Transformation)-84: Hiya.

Cant wait for tomorrow. If there were any tickets available, I’d be on the next flight to Cape Town.

• 88.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-85: hes talking to Skoppie Dawn…

• 89.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-85: skop…

anytime cab is talking over your head about space theories, know he is having a pseudo-intellectual duel with skop

• 90.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-81:

Matfield said less this week than Burger and Coetzee. Hell even less than Fleck.

If you are referring to this “We only have one goal and it’s to win this one. Even 3-0 will do the trick. This one has to be won. You only really see in the dressing room whether the guys are switched on, but this one is easy to predict” about being arrogant you are wrong. He means it is easy to predict if the guys will be switched on, not to predict the winner.

• 91.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Pirlet BEL(Pirlet BEL)-8:

Olivier is the form centre in SA at the moment?

hahahhhhahahahhaahhahahahahahaahahahahahahaahhahaahahaaahhhhhhhhaaaaaa.

hahhahahahahahahahhhhhhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahha.

hahahahaahaha.

(pause for breath and to wipe tears away from eyes).

hnahahahaahhahahahhaahhaha

• 92.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-91:

bwaahahahahhhhahahahahhahahahah.

hunh.

hunhhhn.

snigger.

Nothing like starting your friday with a good laugh. Thanks my man.

• 93.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-92:

I’ve never seen the stormers supporters this confident. The last time someone was this sure of victory was last year when Tac predicted the bulls to beat the sharks in the cc semi. We all know how that ended.

• 94.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@onerb(onerb)-90:

ah- in that case I submit my apology in humble postration.

I misunderstood the context.

However, I have moved on from Meneer Matfield and am now amusing myself with D.H Potgieters poetic and rather moving “If there are sparks in the eyes of the guys when we assemble on Mondays during any other week, then I suppose there will be shooting stars this time around”.

Shooting stars? Come now. And the folk up north like to call our players fairies?

• 95.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-87: Welcome to the dark side fella.

• 96.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-91: i think between WO and “turnstile” Bosman they’ve raked up highest minutes count of all SA centres.

• 97.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@onerb(onerb)-93:

The stormers supporters (like the Bulls supporters) are made up as follows in my opinion:

1) Those who know what they are talking about.
    2) Those who THINK they know what they are talking about
    3) Those who try to SOUND like they know what they are talking about; and finally
    4) Those who are on a cocktail of Tik, Coke, Heroin, LSD and their imaginations.

And the only thing they ALL have in common is that none of them can predict the future.

So we guess. And my guess – as a Stormers supporter – is that the Bulls may squeak this one. I hope I’m wrong.

• 98.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-95: hiyas M ,

hows the lighty doing bro??

• 99.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-96:

minutes looking behind them as their opposite number hares away, ball in hand you mean?

• 100.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Dragon centurion

• 101.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

HAHAHAHAHAA – I did it.

The dragon thing is mine. It belongs to me now.

FOREVER

• 102.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@onerb(onerb)-93: I think it’s just elation at the recent run of good form, a good tour etc.

I do’;t think for a second any reasonable Province supporter thinks it’s going to be easy. On the contrary…

• 103.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-94:

I have to agree, that’s a bit on the pink drink side.

• 104.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-98: Hi T thanks for asking.

Still monitoring, hopefully the bloodwork will have improved, if it looks good they won’t operate, hopefully be home soon.

Just got in from the hospital now, holding thumbs. He’s in reasonably good spirits, exept when they draw blood of course. ;)

• 105.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-104: good stuff bro , praying for the lil one , and hope he gets home fast to cause some havock lol

in a good way that is

• 106.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-95: LOL @ Dark Side. Some interresting caracters on here. I think if Keo ever arrange a get-together for all the bloggers in here, there would be one helluva party! I think after all the banter, the guys get along quite nicely. Apart for the two racist bloggers. Skop-something, and there was another guy… Jorrie Muller-something.

The guys’ posts I enjoyed alot are:
    Gunther
    Stormersboy
    Heavens Game (met ‘n knippie sout)
    Grant10
    Katman
    Transformation

Some other bloggers made for a good laugh as well!

• 107.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-97:

only
    the stormers
    have no 4
    no other
    team
    has
    skop

• 108.onerb: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-102:

Yes I know, nerves does that sometimes :)

I think it should be a cracker and maybe the stormers on form will edge it. But the unanimous conviction in which all the punters(Rugbyheaven etc) are just writing off the bulls chances will only prove to motivate them.

I’m sure a couple of posts would have been up in the dresser at loftus for the extra motivation.

• 109.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-106:

I am deeply offended that I have not made that list.

I shall begin with immediate effect to rectify this heinous injustice.

Now I know how Basson must have felt when he got left out.

• 110.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-106: hell one can tell you aint been here long :lol:

• 111.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

“..Fourie du Preez produced a tactical kicking masterclass to compromise the Cape side’s defence.”

Anyone notice how the self proclaimed rugby experts (all quite coincidentally from the Cape) criticise and vilify Steyn and du Preez (who are both coincidentally from Pretoria) as being useless…hmmmm…

• 112.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-109: LOL..

• 113.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@onerb(onerb)-108:

The Stormers supporters have motivation of their own this weekend.

40 thousand odd fans will be wearing pink tutus and sipping bacardi breezers in the stands.

The plan is to cause the Bulls players to suffer complete mental breakdowns as a result of the perception that many of their Keo supporters were right and that Cape Town really is that (happy/elated/ecstatic/g.a.y.)

• 114.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-106: Yes, I think that you need to take a lot on here with a pinch. HG can start a fight in a monastary, by his own admission. He’s here mostly to wind people up.

But I’ve learned a lot over the years from discussions with many of the bloggers on here. Each has his own perspective to bring, but it does improve my knowledge.

I’ve met some of them in “real life” and correspond with some on private email, and they are great blokes.

• 115.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-105: Thanks very much T, we’re not home and dry yet, but it looks promising.

• 116.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-107:

I
    would
    agree but
    for
    your unusual
    writing
    style.

• 117.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-106:

I had a dream last night that I met skopskyt in a pub and threatened to faark him up….he kept very very quiet ;-)

I have a feeling it would be the same result in real life…

• 118.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-114: Even though each guy might have his/her own opinion, you do improve your rugby knowledge in here. Sometimes you get more info from the bloggers in here, than from articles posted on various websites/newspapers.

• 119.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-117:

sheesh – what sort of pubs do you frequent?

Even in your dreams I wouldn’t go there.

• 120.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

I have said this in here on many occasions already , but let me start off by saying i would rather the stormers win tomorrow as it would suit the Sharks more, but the people writing off the bulls as easy beats are in for a very rude awakening 2morrow

• 121.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

assshampoo is keo’s rockhead balboa.

you are nobody on the interweb if you haven’t been threatened by one of his poesklaps.

apparently there is a space on the forecourt of the fishoek shell garage that is known as fuckadilly corner.

that’s were the bmx gang fights are settled.

happily its right next door to the ER.

where skoppy has a bed reserved just for him.

• 122.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-120: I think everyone with a little bit of rugby acumen, will agree that deep inside they know that the Stormers-Bulls clash will not be easy. Its one thing to be confident, but another to be honest. What you say is true. If the Bulls loose, then it gives the Sharks a bit of freedom, in that they can loose one of their remaining games (which they can in any case). However, if you look at it from a South African perspective, a Bulls victory would mean the possibility of three teams in the top6. Thats a guarenteed spot in the final (if the Stormers finish 2nd)

Either way, we are in for one helluva good weekend’s ruggas!

• 123.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-117: aahhh the KEO blog John Rambo :D

• 124.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

good to see fans form both sides are extremely confident ahead of this game. personally i think a bit too much is being made of it, but thats a reflection of the great rivalry. i guess the bulls are in do or die mode so maybe that explains all the hype.

hope its a good game, both teams play attractive rugby and no one gets injured.

• 125.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

uhm like i said before you must be new here :lol:

trust me there are some stormers supporters in here that have written off the Bulls all season , and to them the BUlls should not even rock up tomorrow , they got no chance,now remember i am a sharks supporter ,,but i know when that bulls team gets the bit between the teeth they will take some stopping

trust me if the stormers win tomorrow i will be the happier for it

• 126.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-122: What do you think is the best for SA – three teams in the top 6 or a team in the no1 spot?

• 127.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Looks like Schalk is getting ready to roll over.. The stormers should sell JDV and Schalk to the Bulls or exchange them for Gurthro. Brian can also go back in exchange for Basson. Problem solved.. all the Nazi’s and their token in one place.

• 128.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

stormers!

• 129.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-125: Fair comment.

• 130.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Beertjie(Beertjie)-126: a sharks team whipping the odds and taking the titel :lol:

• 131.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-127:

shut up skinhead :lol:

• 132.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@Beertjie(Beertjie)-126: Thats a difficult one. Does the Stormers have what it takes to beat the likes of the Reds or the Crusaders in a final? I dont know. They have a much better chance against the Sharks or Bulls in my opinion.

• 133.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-125:

and plenty of sharks fans that like to predict stormers losses before each game saying that sooner or later their luck will run out.

for some strange reason our provincial rivalry in SA is so strong many fans would rather see another SA team lose to a NZ/OZ team, just to see that team lose. unless its the lions or cheetas of course.

• 134.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

not sure you’d actually want to hit him. **** spl@tters after all.

• 135.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

it’s imperative for the good of south african rugby that the stormers defeats the afrkaner nazi-loving racist north tomorrow.

• 136.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Beertjie(Beertjie)-126:

1 team in no 1 spot would be way more prefereable in my mind. a while back kiwi’s were speculating they’d have 3 in top 6. and i thought how great, they can all smash each other up in the playoff and semi’s while SA players rest ahead of tri nations. now its looking possible SA will have 3 in the top 6, with 2 of them possibly having to fly overseas to win their qualifier.

• 137.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-134:

It was odd to dream about some arb ou I’ve never met before. Clearly his winning personality has had quite an impact on my subconscious ;-)

• 138.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-137:

yes i think we all love to hate him. it bothers me we support the same team! i’d feel much better if he was a bulls fan.

• 139.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-137: ja that winning personality…bwaahaa

• 140.Blue Label: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie(Valkyrie)-135: Thats a bit of a generalization(spelling?), dont you think?

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-136: You have to ask yourself: “Which franchise has the best chance of winning the title” This year, just like last year, I think that the Stormers can do it? Hopefully this year they have more belief. It sure as hell looks like it, by the way they’re playing at the moment

• 141.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@onerb(onerb)-93: Who are these over confident Stormers fans?

• 142.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-138: but there’re worse characters, just look at the drivel spewed out from, youknowwho or valkyrie at 135.

• 143.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-131: You dont get the concept.. Skinheads go red in the sun.. Moi? I generally burn down to a sexy midnight blue.. big difference :lol:

• 144.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-140: a “bit” of a generalization?? ha ha…

• 145.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Jeez if he was a Bulls fan the dweebs on RuggaWorld would have made him an honorary senior member of their blog by now.

• 146.BuckT: Reply to this comment

lets forget about who the refs are going to be at the world cup…have they decided who the commentators are going to be yet?

• 147.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie(Valkyrie)-135: Problem is that their are a couple of Nazi sleepers/trojans at the stormers… but we know who they are :lol: .. but lets keep the Nazi thing rolling.. the label will stick soon. Pity the Stormers based their name on the Nazi SS even though they tried to sell it off as the Cape of Storms Stormers.. THey had black uniforms and all

• 148.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-145: dweebs? :D

• 149.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Just read Ricky Januarie moving to Lyon :) and Riaan Swanepoel moving to Clermont

• 150.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Stormers will do well to focus on all aspects of their own game, instead of targeting one aspect of the Bulls. The Sharks have learned their lesson in this regard with the Bulls through the years. You concentrate on one element of their game, and they nail you somewhere else.

From what I have heard, the Bulls are quite calm and collected prior to this game. With their experience over the last couple of years, they have gotten used to these big occasions in Super rugby. And its not the first time they are playing to secure their position in the tournament.

Just based on the experience factor, and their success rate in these scenarios – I think the Bulls are going to be a tough nut for the Stormers to crack. Forget all the match-ups, pre-match talk and hype, who’s going to better who, which players or combinations should be targeted etc. It will all be determined on the field at Newlands tomorrow and I just know that’s how the Bulls are approaching it.

• 151.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Blue Label(Blue Label)-140:

You have a lot to learn

Who let you in the door!

You will learn to include my name on all lists compiled.

• 152.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-149: Yep – Riaan Swanepoel is moving to Clermont. Seems it’s almost a ‘swap’ scenario with Marius Joubert. It seems this has been on the cards for a while.

• 153.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Having just watched the chiefs/canes match, the one thing that was evident and it irritates me no end, is the amount coaching the ref does !!

One has to question how fair that is ?? often you hear “no NO1 , get back” or No No9 stay on your side etc etc !!

Surely you should just blow if the offence takes place, because he might warn one side but penalise the other for the same offence, I believe no coaching from the ref should be allowed, merely blow it as he sees it !!! he can really be selective with this coaching approach, IRB should ban refs coaching imho !!

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-147:

Yassus you can talk kuk

• 155.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-151:

he hasn’t finished his babelist yet.

• 156.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-133: I will never ever support a antipodean team against a South African team, even if that South African team is the Stormers and even if a Stormers loss in that scenario would benefit the Sharks.

That said though, I will also support any South African team playing against the Stormers. Even the Cheetahs or Lions :-) I don’t feel bad, since I know that favor is happily returned by most Stormers fans when it comes to the Sharks.

And yes, provincial rivalry is hectic in South Africa. And it kind of adds a flavor to our rugby that you wont see anywhere else, so I don’t tend to complain too much about it. As long as that rivalry is healthy, and doesn’t descend into sepsis. Referees assisting certain teams to win against others is one example of septic rivalry, and I don’t enjoy that. And yes, if Jonker did purposely help the Sharks to win – I don’t condone that either. Even as a Sharks fan.

• 157.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-148:

Muthafarkers banned me twice….do not DARE have any obtuse comments directed at the Blue Machine ekse ;-)

• 158.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-150: 100% correct Dusky, it’ll be a mental game.

Hoping the Stormers are up for it.

Looking forward to it!!

• 159.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-153: This is a good point dude and I completely agree with you. You also wont be the first person to raise this. I have heard it being discussed on Superrugby and Boots n All etc. before. Referees though are also mandated to keep rugby entertaining – so, they are trying not to blow their whistle every 5 seconds.

So, one has to ask, how much coaching should be allowed by referees ? And how would the game change if they did not coach on the field ? I suppose eventually teams will learn their lesson, but to begin with it would be a whistle festival.

• 160.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-149: Rian is on a very short term contract and is believed to be returning to dbn thereafter

its because the clairmont centers are both in the french setup for the WC

• 161.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

interesting results of poll. bulls either clear favorites or have more fans. maybe both.

• 162.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-158: It’s a huge game. I am also looking forward to it.

Sorry to hear you have a sick kid. If you dont feel comfortable divulging info here that’s fine, but in a word or two, what is the problem ? Liver ? I just ask, because recently we had a case of an extremely rare metabolic disease resulting in rapid liver degradation which was caught just in time (almost by chance) in a young girl. I just thought when I read your post that things works in mysterious ways sometimes and perhaps I was supposed to read your post.

• 163.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-160: I wish him well. I think he is way underrated, but Rian will never get the recognition here that he deserves, simply because of the quality of his peers.

He should stay in France, perhaps he can end up getting into the French team.

• 164.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-159:

True, even with the coaching some refs are whistle happy !!

I do think though that ref coaching is overdone, surely the only game in the world where the ref coaches, not sure what the answer is !! :)

• 165.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-161: More fans dude :-) Dont worry about a poll. I think 80% of people voted WP would win the 2010 Currie Cup :-)

• 166.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Something that has been intruiging me for a while and for which I dont have the answer is the question of which style of flyhalf play has best suited us against our various traditional opponents i.e. who has been more succesful against the Ozzies, Kiwis, Frenchies and Poms. Has it being a MS style flyhalf who hangs deep in the pocket or a flyhalf like Butch who takes the ball closer to the gain line? I would be keen to know what the stats are because I believe that we do need different approaches for different opponents.

• 167.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-156:

ha ha, fair enough. stormers my first team coz i grew up there, but sharks a close second as i was born there and all my family support them. I am same as you. love to watch the SA teams win and even became proud of the mortal blue enemy when they were in their dominant phase. even if their fans were a bit tedious at times…

• 168.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-164: For sure, the heaviest referee coaching is in rugby union. Perhaps because the laws have gotten so complicated to try and protect player safety and also improve the excitement factor of the game.

Even rugby league, the referees hardly coach but then in certain scenarios like off-side, the off-side player must have an influence on the game to get a penalty against them. This is not so in rugby union.

• 169.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-167: Forget about a teams fans dude. All teams have tedious fans. Heck – I know I have made my fair share of guys hate the Sharks in my time :-)

• 170.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-157:

Banned from ruggaworld? That seems impossible. you not referring to RT?

• 171.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-163:

or england, they’re always keen on capping foreigners coz they cant produce their own decent backs.

• 172.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-162: Thanks, no it’s septic arthritis in the hip, but it seems to be responding to treatment.

Doesn’t look like they’ll need to operate, which is great news. Hopefully.

• 173.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-172: Ok, in my thoughts and prayers.

• 174.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

I’m hearing all this “do or die” **** as being the reason the Bulls will win. So what happened against the Tah’s or was that not important to their play-off chances because the Bulls were poor on the day and got out of Jail.

• 175.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@onerb(onerb)-170:

Ja that one with Groot Blou something and all those other Broederbond okes on.

If you so much as say ‘Jou ma se..’…banned ;-)

• 176.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-172:

Hope your kid responds and recovers 100% Stormersboy, nothing worse than kids being sick or in pain !!!

• 177.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-172:

All the very best for your little one boet.

• 178.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-175:

Ja just thought to correct you as Ruggaworld is pretty placid and chilled so best it not get branded unnecessarily.

• 179.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-172: Hey, much strength to your little one, bud. Hope all goes well.

• 180.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-153: well, it’s that what schalk was complaining about last year after the final at Orlando where Craig Joubert was on the whole game “no 6 get your hands off the ball” while steggies was crawling and fiddling? :D

• 181.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-157: Ruggaworld is Bryce_in_Oz’s version of a rugby blog nirvana, how do you MANAGE to get yourself banned THERE??? bwahahahaha :D

• 182.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-175: bwahahahahahahahahaha that’s RT man, Heavens Game calls the The Mormons as they will inevitably want bone your wife :mrgreen:

did you give GBS your real name & ID number, cos i heard that is one of the requirements to blof there?

• 183.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-173: @justrugby(justrugby)-176: @Great White Shark(Predawn)-177: @>^..^< katman(katman)-179: Actually just got off the line with the hospital, looks like the blood tests have come back with a problem. Seems they’ll probably have to go in and operate. I’ll head out there now to go and relieve mom,

On the positive side, he’s in his own room and they have DSTV. So I’ll catch the game one way or another.

Have a good weekend all, catch you on the flip side.

• 184.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183: Go well dude. All the best for your boykie.

• 185.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183:

Sh it man !!!!!! holding thumbs it all goes well boet !!!!

Strength to you and family !!!

• 186.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183: We’ll be thinking of him. If his doctors are anything like the folk down at Red Cross, he’s in good hands. I’m sure things will be okay.

• 187.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183: sorry to read that stormersboy, all the best to your little one…

• 188.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Keep the faith boet. All thinking of your family.

• 189.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183: All the best M.

• 190.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Alles van die beste!

• 191.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe that chidren also get arthritis!

Seer!!!!

• 192.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183: Yeah all the best to the little one Stormersboy.

• 193.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-191: Oh well, I am not that old, and I did a lot of sport when I was younger – recently decided to try my hand at doing a bit of jogging again. I ended up with infectious arthritis in both knees, and it was extremely painful so I feel for this kid. Luckily mine cleared up quite easily, but it took me 5 minutes to get up one flight of stairs here at home for almost 3 weeks.

If I needed something upstairs, my wife had to be the courier :-) At one stage, we considered moving a bed downstairs into the lounge !

This thing seems to just come out of the blue. I never had it before, and it doesn’t look like I can run again now. It’s actually left some permanent damage it seems.

• 194.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-191: Its probably payback for meddling with all those guys girlfriends at varsity :-)

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-193:

Sounds horrible and the scary thing is it happens out of the blue, seems to know no age.

I mean it’s just a baby!

• 196.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-194:

it’s all the fighting in car parks.

• 197.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-193:

Exercise is the curse of the couching classes.

• 198.Dawn: Reply to this comment

(I am having a convo with a Shark).

(Will play it cool. So far so good).

sshhhh

• 199.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-194:

If I were a shark, I think I would be a basking shark.

Good name, not too energetic.

• 200.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-196: Probably :-)

@Dawn(Dawn)-199: Sounds good to me too. Anything to avoid that pain from happening again :-)

• 201.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-200: come now dawny you , know ur a closet sharkie :wink:

• 202.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-201: yeah she’s a “tiger” shark :wink:

• 203.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

a megamouth shark :lol:

• 204.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-202: :lol: hiyas piesangs

• 205.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-182:

I gave my ‘real name’ as Holden McGroin. ;-)

My nic was the same as here.

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Basking shark, people, basking shark.

I like to bask.

• 207.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-204: Hiyas Sharks Lover. What are we gonna do this weekend?

• 208.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-206: in whose glory Dawn.

• 209.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-208:

My own, mostly.

• 210.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-205: should have been “Two Hands Holden Mcgroin” that would have set the cat among the pigeons.

• 211.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-209: good on ya, certainly not the Stormers glory :wink:

• 212.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-205:

I’m surprised they didn’t like you

I was sure they would welcome you with open arms.

• 213.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-210:

I did last a few weeks until I pointed out the Joost vd Westhuisen howler about not giving up the fight even if it’s the last thing he does…come on it was funny…

• 214.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-213: not being native English speakers by and large they would have not understood your twist/take on what Joost said :lol:

• 215.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-211: should win mate but again wont be easy , chattered with bashy this morning , spoke of a faster tempo match but playing in the right area’s

• 216.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

If you don’t have a sense of humour you ain’t got much else in this life ;-)

• 217.ufo: Reply to this comment

You got mail Bud… Apologies for the late reply.

Great news on your son!!! Must be great relief all round…

• 218.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-215:

Fortunately the Lions can’t keep a lead and The Sharks know how to play catch up rugby….it all balances out perfectly.

• 219.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-218: lol true

• 220.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-215: Would luv to see them play a faster tempo game however our defensive structures need to be well structured as well. Whenever we’ve tried the faster tempo game this year we’ve given the ball away with handling errors and then lost metres of ground or even tries as a result. I think we must have one of the highest handling error rates amongst the top 8 sides.

• 221.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Het lank gewag vir hierdie een , Stormers wen die bulle twee keer in een jaar. Laat my dink aan die goeie jare toe die stormers die bulls oorheers het. Well my money on the Stormers to take this game aswell. Our forwards will stand up to this bulls team. Our backs will win this game behind a good pack of forwards. Just have a good feeling about this one. Stormers all the way tomorrow.

• 222.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-220: prolly do

been really poor this year

• 223.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Andre_WP(Andre_WP)-221: Moenie daai hoendertjies so vroeg tel nie. Hierdie laat my dink aan die final laas jaar toe die Bulle die Stormers oorheers he soos die afgelope klomp jare. Man, dis lekker.

But, having said that, I agree that Stormers should win. I will however not put money on that.

• 224.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-223: Yip , ek kan onthou laas jaar , dis hoekom ek hoop dit gebeur nie weer hierdie jaar nie. Die bulls is sonder FDP wat daai bulls span gevaarlik maak. Daai man het ‘n kop op sy skouers om te game te lees. So dis waar ons voordeel het. Dink ook ons voorspelers is nou meer opgewasse vir die Bulls. Kom ons hoop die Ref blaas ‘n goeie game. Wonder wie hy is.

• 225.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-223: Difference between the 2 sides at the moment is that I believe that the Stormers are capable of changing their game plan and the confidence in each other amongst the players is high. The Bulls on the other hand, if they do not get the upper hand in the tight will struggle to adapt their game plan to suit. Also Stormers defence is better that the Bulls.

• 226.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Andre_WP(Andre_WP)-224: Hougaard gee die Bulls ander opsies, maar hulle gaan vir Fourie mis. Mens kan nie daai tipe ervaring, en sy vermoee om die spel te lees, net so vervang nie.

Weet nie wie die ref is nie. Hoop net hy is konsekwent. Dis maar altyd moeilik, want die skare het tog ‘n invloed op hoe hy blaas. Dis maar deel van tuisveld voordeel.

My kop se Stormers 27 – 9
    My hart se Bulls 24 – 22

• 227.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-225: Agree. Looking at the season as a whole, the Stormers offer more in terms of how they can change the game if things don’t work the way they planned. Defensively they’ve been brilliant, although the Bulls defence improved in their last few games.

Huge game.

• 228.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

the site is pretty quiet for a day before the big game

• 229.grant10: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie(MacToogie)-228: nerves

• 230.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

So if you were a Blue Bulls coach where would you target the Stormers? If you look at the Stormers backlnie outside of flyhalf they are a pretty accomplished defensive unit, quite capable of ripping into opposing backlines if the ball is turned over or kicked onto them. A solid back 3 with a very good defensive general in JF so the Bulls are not likely to target them.

I can only see the Bulls winning this by outmuscling the Stormers and they are missing Bakkies and Gurthro so what are the chances of that happening. Stormers by 7 is my call for this one.

• 231.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Do or die tommorow.

Gotta pitch up and dish it out to the Bully boys.

• 232.Puma: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie(MacToogie)-228: Which big game Mac?

Blues/Saders will be a massive game in the NZ conference.

Stormers/Bulls a huge game in the SA conference. So the Sharks/Lions game. That is a MUST win for Sharks. So plenty big games on tomorrow.

Tonight we have the Baby Boks on at 8pm.

• 233.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-232: welcome back puma

• 234.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-230: they might choose to focus on the inside channel i.e Coleman when attacking the backline as well as chip kicks over the top to avoid the defensive wall. Danie is just as capable of muscling up as Bakkies and Dean has been doing an excellent job upfront so the Bulls pack shouldn’t really suffer too much from the loss of Bakkies and Gurthro (who’s has been out for ages now). They should focus there attack through the forwards.

• 235.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-233: Thanks Grant.

Had a brilliant holiday, but it is really awesome to be back home.

Missed all the past 5 weeks rugby. So have no clue how any team is playing. Just been catching up with scores here on the blog.

Good luck to your Stormers tomorrow. I have Bulls by 3 on bru. Not sure why, just had a wild guess. For Sharks it would be far better for Stormers to win. Will take the pressure off our team. Think Lions will be tough to beat after their tales are up after winning a few away on tour.

• 236.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: Meant – If Stormers win it will take the pressure off of Sharks to make the play offs.

• 237.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-232: You’re right 3 huge games tomorrow and a nice bonus game tonight. Also F1 on Sunday. Its going to be a good week-end for sports.

• 238.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

a stormers and lions victory would make it a very sweet weekend.

• 239.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-237: I am really looking forward to the rugby. Have not seen one game since I left for holiday 5 weeks back.

All those 3 games are huge. Really looking forward to seeing all of them. Also our Baby Boks tonight. Had no idea they were playing until Sharks_Lover told me. So looking forward to seeing how Jordaan plays tonight.

• 240.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: glad you back …and well rested…!

The nerves are jangling this side, got great grandstand seats and the all sold out signs are up……clear weather today and a perfect day expected tomorrow….so cant wait…a huge day with all the games , including force vs reds, being crucial.

for me a stormers top spot is the goal….if we can get a home semi and final then we got a better than even chance.

Sharks will be too desperate to lose tomorrow imo…

• 241.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: tales = tails. Been away too long…..hehe

• 242.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-234: Thats how I see it but if it doesn’t work, where do they go from there with no FDP. I would use Spies in the IC channel running at the space between Coleman and JDV with WO off his shoulder linking up with Steggies and Hougaard beyond the defensive line. The reason for this is that it will force Flouw and/or Schalk away from the breakdown and open up opportunities for Danie close in. This would mean that Victor has to play a lot tighter than he normally does though. YOu have to get their best tacklers away from the fringes of the ruck.

• 243.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-239: so as soon as you go away we start playing like ****. Welcome back then Puma. :lol:

• 244.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-239: welcome back bro. Should be a good one tonight and a massive game tomorrow for the Sharks we need this one big time. Hope your PVR was in working order.

• 245.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-243: Thanks buddy.

Hope to see a good game from Sharks tomorrow. :)

• 246.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-244: Thanks bud. My PVR was in working order, but just never recorded any of the games. Thought I would see some of while in Scotland. They had NOTHING on. Only one morning I caught 10min of the Lions playing the Canes. That was it. So really looking forward to seeing some rugby tomorrow.

• 247.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-246: Meant – Some of it.

• 248.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-242: Ja Spies could be used quite effectively to hammer the inside channel, maybe chip and chase also? Stormers defence is huge so Bulls are gonna have to man up and be a bit innovative on attack. If Bulls can come onto the park and dominate upfront from the start they’ll stand a chance if not it’ll be a tough one.

Sharks are also going to have to up the ante , the Lions won’t go down without a fight, in fact a Kobus has pointed out they lost their last game to 2 forward pass tries so they could have won 3 out of their 4 away games.

• 249.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-247: how did you enjoy the long summer evenings? We’ve had some great weather in the Netherlands this Spring/Summer so far.

• 250.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-240: Good seats you have Grant. Enjoy it. I hope Stormers get a home semi too. Really want a saffa side to keep that S15 cup here in SA. Stormers have the best chance out of any of the sa teams.

Reds should beat the Force, then I thought they would beat the Brumbies, just to see here they lost to Brumbies. So one never knows. Would be great if Stormers topped the log. If they do, just can’t see any team beat them at Newlands. So good luck to your team.

• 251.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-246: shite bru that’s a tough one, you missed some excellent games but just back in time for the business end of things, still some huge games to go. I’ve got a few connections up in Nairn and they confirm SA Rugga is hard to come by in that part of the world, shame for them.

• 252.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-249: Absolutely LOVED the long summer evenings. One forgets how awesome they are. Up in Scotland it stays light for a bit longer than Holland. Then only a wee longer.

Really enjoyed my time in Scotland. Weather was not always great, but then the weather never is a bother to me much there on holiday. We did have some brilliant days with full sun.

• 253.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-248: I agree about the Lions but I think that the travel and coming back to play at altitude might work in our favour. That said the Lions are playing well.

I cannot understand refs not blowing forward passes etc. It may benefit teams (assuming there is bias) in the short term but when it comes to the business end of competitions those things get picked up and its to the detriment of the team eventually.

• 254.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-251: Its hard to come by here as well which is why the internet is a godsend. I watch all the games on vipstand , only problem being that there is no way of recording them if you are going to miss it live.

• 255.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-251: Yip, sounds like I missed some great games. Only two weeks left then the play offs. So gonna watch all the games from here on.

Nairn so far up doubt they would have any rugby there. But thought they would have had some Super rugby on the tv there. Saw nothing, until one morning they had the Lions/Canes game on. Then even missed that. Only saw the last 10min.

Time to catch up….hehehe. Still plenty rugga left. Then the Tri-Nations and the WC.

Really looking forward to watchint the Baby Boks tonight. Especially to see how Jordaan plays.

• 256.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

well im outtahere guys, good luck to all tomorrow, may the best team (Sharks) win.

• 257.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-250: thanks…

reds have never beaten force in perth….and reds won a close game earlier at home over force, and with reds having lots of injuries and force the opposite and at home, i reckon there is the upset game !

• 258.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-254: Must say when I lived there they showed no rugby fromt he SH at all. Now days what about the pubs there? The last time I was in Holland for a holiday, I watched some Super Rugby in a pub in Amsterdam.

• 259.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-257: Well then I hope Reds get beat.

Who is injured in the Reds team? The last I saw Force play they were not playing well. Then that was many weeks back. So many teams seemed to have upped the tempo since I was away.

• 260.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-253: hope you right about the travel factor etc to add to the event Plum vs Mitchell – classic match up haha.
    Tell you the truth man, I’m sick to death of all the forward passes not being picked up. It’s very difficult to defend against forward passes. See it nearly every week-end.

• 261.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-254: where you at? are you up north?

• 262.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-256: Cheers mate. I hope our Sharks win too.

• 263.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-258: yeah the Irish pubs do show it as well if it happens to be on Sky, however football takes precedence and watching 2 or 3 games in the Pub every weekend gets expensive and not to mention causes a problem with the wifey. :lol: The internet though works quite well.

• 264.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-261: Bananaboy lives in Holland buddy. Think you can only get the rugby in pubs there. Then only some pubs get it.

• 265.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-263: Just as well for the internet then :lol:

Heck I would miss the rugby if I never got it. Missed it this holiday, but then knew I would get it once back home.

• 266.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-259: Ioane,,,Faainga, in fact a host of there players, 4 out the backline.

force have been playing damn well….just won in Dunedin!

• 267.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-255: ja still lots of games to watch, S15, CC, 3N and RWC, awesome stuff. I’m also looking forward to baby Boks they play some enterprising rugga. Like you say, it will be interesting to see how some of them perform. Out for now buddie, Go Sharks!!

• 268.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-261: I’m in Holland, have been here since 94, not by choice. It was initially a transfer for 3 years that was extended for another 2 years and then eventually led to us staying. Never officially emigrated just kinda settled eventually.

• 269.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-266: With so many out of the Reds side, then Force have a very good chance of beating them Grant.

• 270.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-267: Cheers buddy.

Watch out for Jordaan tonight in the Baby Boks side. He is a Sharks player. Actually we have 3 Shark players in that side.

• 271.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers all. I am out of here too.

• 272.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-268: shite least you can watch the games. definitely outta here. cheers buddie. Go Sharks!!!

• 273.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Whahaaha, if Aplons condom on his head were any bigger he’d be smothered a long time ago. That is the only smothering the briesies will do.

• 274.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Some interesting stats in the paper today showing the Bulls and Stormers in comparison so far this season.

Stormers have conceded the 8th least penalties whilst the Bulls are 15th… i.e. they have conceded the most penalties.

The bulls are also 7th in the turnover at ruck stakes, whilst the Stormers are 4th.

Maybe all those guys huffing and puffing about Steggie etc being omitted from the bok squad are missing something?

• 275.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-273:

See you in another 3 months mate.

• 276.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-275:
    @Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-273:

@Xkreni-WP.

You write cheques your body can’t cash. :roll:

• 277.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-276:

Hehe, the only time I’ve cut a post and kept it for later was this one, on the eve of the Loftus game…

2. Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP) :
    19 Mar 2011, 18:06 pm I’ll say it again:
    Aaah, this weekend including the Lions game is like your first beer. It just gets your mouth jags for more.
    I have been waiting since the Bulle annihilated the Briesies in last years final for today.
    I see old FFFfffffff fikkkaakadilly dipshit has been his histerical self all week (I can image him screaming like Trifina that left her handbag on the taxi) all week. But him and the Campsbay pedophile has been nervous as hell.
    The Bulle will kill those poefters van Slaapstad tonight. 32-12.
    Methinks Mrs Balls missed a huge opportunity to sponsor the Stormpies. Dhl Stormers… pfft, Mrs Balls Stormers counds much better. Their motto can be ” In die Chutney of gladnie”
    Go Bulls.
    I will be back tomorrow to gloat.
    Paartie, paaartie paartie … hoesa Oh and JockBock you old *** guzzler. it is not full moon, it is SuperMoon….get it right boyo

6. JockBok(JockBok) :
    19 Mar 2011, 18:27 pm @Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-2: I’m of course hoping the Bulls get a right royal shafting. Not only for the obvious reasons of good over evil etc, but then we won’t see your sorry arse on here for another 6 months. We won’t see you tomorrow, you’ll be nursing a branners and coke babelas wondering where it all went wrong.

• 278.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-277:

I remember that one as if it was yesterday. This oke takes more pleasure out of the Stormers losing than the Bulls winning.

A strange little man.

A loser.

• 279.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-278:

Can’t wait till tomorrow. Just realised if we get a home semi or even final, I’ll be in CT at the time :D

Only one win from the last two games required. I’m hoping it’s tomorrow but taking nothing for granted against the Bulls of course. And if we do lose, it’s off to Bloem ffs…

Ohhh, and to start of the big weekend, the Baby Boks are getting their arsses handed to them shortly ;)

• 280.JockBok: Reply to this comment

And welcome home Puma if you see this. I’m glad you had a great time mate.

• 281.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-279:

The Stormers must do the job tomorrow and not wait till next weekend. Nervous but confident it can be done.

Aye, Baby Boks vs Baby Jocks. Gonna be gruesome. Not for the fainthearted.

• 282.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dammit to hell and back again I am catching a friggin cold!!!!

• 283.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-281:

Hmmm, Scotland haven’t had the chance to poach a few Aussies or Poms at this age level so it should be fairly comfortable for the Boks ;)

• 284.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-282:

Maybe time for a Grouse hot toddy or four.

• 285.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-284:

Dawn asked for a hot toddy at ultra liquids but they were out of stock.

• 286.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Rude!

How do you make hot toddies

• 287.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-286:

A large dollop of whisky, hot water and some lemon and/or honey. Then bed young lady.

• 288.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

If you’re not in bed by nine go home.

• 289.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yessir!

• 290.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-288:

:D Ba boom tish

@Dawn(Dawn)-289:

Of course, if you don’t have any hot water, lemon or honey available, ice is a good substitute…

• 291.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Not much of a crowd in for the Baby Boks game.

Looks a bit like Loftus recently!!!

• 292.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-291:

Pretoria is the Venice of the south.

Knobber.

• 293.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

keep an eye on Johan Goosen…… Now if the Stormers could just sign him

• 294.JockBok: Reply to this comment

What happened to the anthems? Why would they cut the sound? Very strange.

• 295.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-293:

Did he not go to Grey? He’ll go to the Sharks then ;)

• 296.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Goodness. Elderly gentlemen in kilts!

• 297.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Bokkies on the board.

• 298.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

OK so where to from here ?

One way or the other somebody or other been affected by the unknown enigma

we got pseudo idiot intelligentsia deluded false fake scientists racking their dumbfck brains trying to determine the reason for their own material or conscious existence and they reckon you need an MSc degree from Harvard University just to qualify to ponder or determine whether you actually exist or not, and if you don’t have said qualification then knowledge of God or of Mammon or Darwinian theories of dumb fck nonsensical nonsense, or the algebraic equations relevant to whether Big Bangs came or went, or matter = infinity, or gravity = existence, or life = consciousness, or death = non consciousness, or else the secret to the known or unknown Universe is outside of your dumb fck self deluded jurisdiction.

Next we got ex apartheid riot police dreaming of meeting their nemesis in a seedy bar just so they can eventually be put totally out of their self denying falsifiable misery.

Other than that we got rugby fans from around the globe of all denominations and affiliations trying as best they can to distance themselves as far as possible from somebody they never met or likely never will, they simply find it horrifying to be vaguely associated with anything resembling honesty or madness in any vague shape or form.

Sounds familiar kinda story no… its a common recurring theme among madmen and truth seekers… usually its either the gallows, the crucifix the poisoned chalice or the lunatic asylum which is the recurring designated destiny of anyone caught fraternizing or simply being drawn to any inquiry correlating to wtf their stupefied dumbfck lives are at all about.

I mean its pretty obvious since we arrived in this all enlightened 21st century of human learning that brannewyn, bier, biltong en braaivleis is the ultimate association of exemplary morality and where the zenith of human ratified achievement gets discussed in earnest around the carnivorous fireside of elevated knowledge, thinking and human extrapolated enlightenment.

Dumbfck deluded moronic mongrels of misplaced monstrous misnomers, seeking something they know not what, nor where to find it, yet they actually seek it not, they simply falsely fraternize and fiddle, and fck around like hickory dickery dock climbing up and down the clock before it strikes OUT.

• 299.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Man, the Baby Boks showing that SA rugby is very healthy. Some real talent coming through.

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-298: Nou wie de f*k het jou nou weer afgepis? Relax my man.

• 300.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Mnr Die Agent almal raai wie is jy… maar ek weet nou, sou ek die geheim uitspoel of nie?

• 301.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-300: LOL. Yeah man, go ahead.

• 302.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Only problem is the finishing of the Bokkies. They try to many things instead of doing the basics.

• 303.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Two for Botha, two for Venter.

• 304.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Where is everyone on the eve of the big clash?

• 305.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Bulls have the momentum behind them.. to all intents and purposes the forces of equilibrium should be with the Bully Brekers in the Nuweland Cauldron tomorrow.

However there remain some unnerving negating factors to their surmised superiority

It all hinges around these… can Schalk Burger get out of the shadow of his volk messiah like status and deliver for once when it truly counts? Big If.

Will Stormers be adequately covered to withstand the immeasurable force of a total Bully Breker cohesive onslaught through tight five for total duration of 80 mins? Big If.

Backs won’t come much into play unless from breakdown or broken play scenarios its gonna be a gain line and breakdown trench war of mammoth megatons of muscle and bone crunch exploitative explosiveness.

Januarie and Coleman don’t phase or worry me, but front row, full back, tight five, captaincy credibility, and particularly Schalk Burger’s aptitude for the boneshaker occasion and his mental ability to contain the momentum and meet the megalithic onslaught with quiet steady unflinching resolve and fortitude do.

• 306.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Jy’s Mnr Johan Fourie van uit die VSA … jawohl?

• 307.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-305: We all know it will be a close game, but Stormers will take it. You can sleep in peace today.

Stormers have a clear advantage in the mid-field, and I think they will shade the breakdown area. Frontrows are well matched.

• 308.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-306: LOL. Nope. Why don’t you give me 10 names and I’ll break it down to 3. :-)

• 309.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-308: If I’m in that 10.

• 310.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Pedantic little French cnut

• 311.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Second half disappointing.

• 312.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Bully Brekers know just how much of a life line their mascot Pro die Lagoete gave them last week… more than just a 4 point win… he actually handed them a gilt edged plate of fortuitous favoritism by which to actually go the whole entire hog for one last ditch effort at another bid for their hallowed legacy of brekery supremacy

They know what a gift of manna from out of heaven that was, and now they wanna try capitalize on the favor, one little nonchalant excuse of a megalithic mistake by a partisan non professional official and it practically turned their fortunes from a never never land hopeless extrication from nowhere into a fully fledged opportunity to once again aim for the crown.

Stormers better stop the steam train right there in its tracks or there’s no knowing where it could end up next.

• 313.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-311:

A bit of balls from the Scots, but sooooo many handling errors.

• 314.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-312: :-) You have a way with words. What do you think of the talent in this Baby Bok side?

• 315.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-310:

I think your guys were just out muscled. You can see that some of our guys eat red meat while still in the womb.

Hard luck on this one, Jock.

But we stand side by side tomorrow.

• 316.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-313: Scots kept on trying, but clearly not up to it. Respect the way they play.

Bokkies too many handling errors as you say. They did well in the first 40, but as with all the SA teams they lose concentration when they are so far ahead.

• 317.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-313: Are you Scottish?

• 318.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Sleep well guys, if you can. Tomorrow is a massive game. May the best team win.

• 319.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-315:

How about that TH who came on second half? He’s the size of a f.cking hippo 8O

The Boks missed Goosen when he went off, second half was a bit disjointed and just far too many handling errors by the young Jockies to allow a build up of momentum.

But the second string front row steadied up the scrum a bit and stopped the Boks using it as an attacking platform. Bring on the Poms :D

• 320.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

couldn’t see the baby boks was it on S1 or where?

how did lock Etsebeth and center Jordaan do, if they played?

• 321.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-319: What was the England/Ireland score?

• 322.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-318:

Yes. I live in SA but the heart takes over when the fun starts :D

• 323.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-320:

Both had big games as did the no.8. Was on S1.

@JockBok(JockBok)-319:

Good luck to the little Jocks for the rest of the tourney.

• 324.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-320:

It was on SS1.

Boks were a class above but it turned out quite a scrappy game. Scots played with heart but that didn’t hide the lack of skill they had. Boks were far and away the better side but handling errors stopped any kind of spectacle for the Boks, and any kind of momentum from the Jocks.

• 325.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

NZ 64 – Italy 7
    Wales 34 – Arg 8
    Aus 54 – Tonga 7
    Eng 33 – Ire 25

• 326.carol: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-322:
    Jock, you missed your chance to say

“Och Aye in the Noo”…..bet a Scot has never said that on Keo!!

• 327.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-323:
    TA

OK da big bruiser up tomorrow.. its all been psyched up already, now just to watch the cookie unfold and crumble either this a way or that… its already a done deal where the cards are long dealt, now just a case of waiting for the hands to show what they got and what they been dealt. Aces high wins out at the lottery stakes.

• 328.carol: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-327:
    Hi Skop, you will have your hands full with Grant, JustRugby and Robzim…..especially if the Stormers win.

It could get very nosiy!! ;-)

• 329.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-323:

The number 8 Botha is quite a prospect. He had a great game. Is he with the Bulls?

But no denying the boy for the future and the big time is Johan Goosen. Maybe I’ve heard too much about him, but man he’s got the goods to make it huge. The whole tempo of the game changed when he went off.

• 330.carol: Reply to this comment

I am going to phone Robzim to get a bit of ‘atmosphere’ !!!

Hoping to call when Bulls pull into the lead!!

• 331.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Are at Newlands tom? If so, I want to hear you. :D

The Stormpies can do it.

• 332.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-326:

Hoots mon!!! It’s a braw bicht moonlicht nicht the nicht!!!

• 333.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-329:

He’s a good prospect. First time I’ve seen him play. He’s got a good step, quick hands, not afraid to take it up. Definitely one to watch.

• 334.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-330:

Lol. So how did you go in your bru pick? I hope you’ve picked the Bulls so i can overtake you ;)

• 335.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-330:

Expect a “missed call”.

• 336.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-330:

Maybe you know me a little already maybe you don’t… but back at the ranch in spite of all my hallelujah chorusing for Stormers to do the deed and demolish the Flou Nulle in hulle glory in, I’m actually quite a pragmatic sod, I take swings and roundabouts how they are ordained,

I know enough at my debilitated old age to realize rugby games are neither matters of life and death nor are they even matters of stringent urgency in relation to who rules what. In short if the gods so wish that Matfield or Burger come out victorious tomorrow, its already decided in the realms where such stuff transpires and all the little earthlings go wee wee whizzing around in circles of glee or else in abject misery at the inevitable outcome, which has by virtue of force of action and reaction long already been played out in the fields of where such dreams manifest and materialize from.

• 337.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-328:

yip hands full I guess it shall be.. so better it be a happy full of hands and not a miserable set.

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-331:

I reckon we gonna do it, in spite of the marauding monstrous momentum from the north.

• 338.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-336:

Whether it has been decided or not before a ball has been kicked, we mere mortals have no idea of the result and this is where the fun comes in. But for me, it’s 80 minutes of random happenings and far too many variables to calculate who the victor will be. And there lies the beauty of the spectacle that will be played out at 6pm SA time tomorrow afternoon.

Win or lose, it means nothing in the grand scale of things other than making the evening, and maybe a day or two afterwards, much more enjoyable and keo.co.za a bit more fun for a while.

• 339.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-338:

yip that about sums it up, a random cause and effect escapade of give and take exhibit of trial and effort endeavor, men pitting and flexing their muscles in attempt at showcasing their masculinity and bravery, skills and dexterity. And for this we enjoy the spectacle come either the victory or vanquish the only thing that ultimately gets bruised at end of the exercise if anything is the pitifully frail ego of falsely acclaimed identity.

But Stormers to fok these brekers op come what may, any which way the mercy killing spree goes, unless of course destiny wills it otherwise.

• 340.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

You should try ice hockey as an exercise in random ricocheting reactionary cause and effect mayhem, pinball don’t even come vaguely close.. and rugby pales into a melodramatic drone of slow ***-for-tat do unto others as ye would have done unto you sowing and reaping showboating affair in comparison. I heard ice hockey remains the mega mayhem sport of all mega mayhem sports devised by the neanderthal race called man.

• 341.garth: Reply to this comment

Steyn does not need any help to be neutralized.

• 342.Bataleur: Reply to this comment

Steyn to smother Newlands

• 343.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Skop

I’m guessing you’ve never been to an ice-hockey match then ? It’s an absolutely thrilling Luve spectator sport of incredible skill executed at high pace. Neither does it pander to the PC BS that rugby has succumbed to whereby players can sort out nonsense between themselves without spending the next few weeks on the sidelines. And it’s major sport for far more countries than rugby can even aspire to.

• 344.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

yeah that’s what I’m saying BP ice hockey remains the ultimate mega mayhem sport devised by man. less PC interest and fewer rules and less structured interference and influence by refs.

The puck can ricochet and travel any which way at lightening speed where there is absolutely no foregone conclusion as to who has the inside lane advantage. The fastest team sport on the planet and none of the preconditioned precursors to preordained supremacy.

Though I never been to an ice hockey game I believe it to be the ultimate in absolute thrill per second mayhem and my point was all this predicting bull dust becomes even less significant due to that puck almost developing a will of its own being guided and directed by the sticks of the players and traveling at speeds and trajectorys at lightening velocity which renders the notion of cause and effect in almost the ultimate reactionary condition to be the primary mover and motivation in play.

Saying sport is the vehicle where action and reaction gets played out and witnessed on a field of activity and where allegiances and boasting rights are a consequence of occurrence outside of the passionately persuasive supporters direct influence, and ice hockey shows that up at its ultimate non influenced reality.

• 345.charo: Reply to this comment

this won’t be a tight game.

stormers will take it comfortably.

not only are the stormers backs much better than the bulls……….

but the forwards are better too.

• 346.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

that’s quite a statement to make at this juncture charo boetie lets hope you spot on the money.

I lie, I have been to a live ice hockey game albeit a subdued local saffa version at far reduced skills levels and speeds to those exhibited by their north american or canadian or russian or swedish counterparts.

• 347.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-343:
    @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-346:

You missed the Finnish, who of course won the World Championship last month beating Sweden. I feel obliged to mention it as I’m working with Finns for the last couple of years :)

Last months WC was like our RWC to them obviously. Luckily it was on French satellite tv so they got to watch some of the games, but usually they get some guy in Finland to point his web cam at the tv and crowd round a skype connection when the games are on.

I used to go and watch the UK league stuff probably 20 years ago when it was full of Yanks and Canooks in their off season. It’s difficult to explain just how fast and edge of the seat stuff it really is.

• 348.charo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-346:

naaah skoppie.

bulls are still rubbish this year………….despite their recent run.

stormers by about 15

• 349.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-344:

OK then, fella, I got you wrong there. I thought you were veering towards a ‘skittle sticks’ analogy – heh heh.

Ice Hockey was the last major sport I had on my list of ‘Must See’s’. Caught a NY Rangers game at MSG a couple of years ago – AWESOME ! It was very blue-collar, truckies and mullets/’hockey-hair’ everywhere. I knew I was in the right place when the 2 x 6/7-yr old girls beside me were on their feet in the 1st 10mins shouting “fight fight fight !!!” as a couple of players laid in to each other – brilliant ! It was also noticeable how expensive all the merchandise was compared to rugby or football – team shirts were USD350+ compared to a ManU shirt (for eg) at about £45 (ie USD40) – which seemed at odds with it clearly being a working mans sport.

Absolutely brilliant game tho – Im hooked and now try and catch every game i can.

@charo(charo)-348:

spot on, again, there Charo……catch a wave, bruv !

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.