Stormers aim to smother Steyn

JON CARDINELLI chats to Robbie Fleck about the Stormers’ plans to neutralise Morne Steyn.

The Bulls have racked up some monumental victories over the past few seasons, and Steyn has so often been the difference in the matches that matter. He kicked a difficult penalty to win the 2009 Currie Cup semi-final at Newlands. When the Bulls hosted the Stormers in the 2010 Super 14 final in Soweto, Steyn and Fourie du Preez produced a tactical kicking masterclass to compromise the Cape side’s defence.

But Steyn was well contained when the Stomers visited Loftus Versfeld earlier this season. The home pack was bullied, and so the Bulls’ halfbacks struggled to impose themselves without front-foot possession.

It’s for this reason that Fleck isn’t too worried about the Steyn factor ahead of Saturday’s game. It’s a massive fixture in terms of what’s at stake for the Bulls and Stormers, but the formula for success will be much the same.

‘The Bulls tend to be more adventurous in the early stages, they like to try a few different things at the start of a game. But it shouldn’t take them too long to revert to what they do best. They have a game plan that has won trophies, and when they execute it, like they did in that game against the Sharks, they are hard to stop,’ Fleck told keo.co.za.

‘Their forwards really come at you and they try to put even more pressure on you with their fantastic kicking game. But we have to back ourselves to stand up to that challenge. We have managed to nullify the effect of their kicking game in the past, so it’s by no means a daunting prospect. It all starts with fronting up physically, that will go a long way to negating the impact of their kickers.’

The Stormers have opted to bench their best tactical kicker in Dewaldt Duvenage, and not much is known of Kurt Coleman’s ability with the boot. The 21-year-old flyhalf did well in front of goal last week, kicking five from six, but wasn’t asked to kick much out of hand.

Fleck believes Coleman has the full range of skills to be a success, and added that he should receive the necessary platform from his forwards.

‘He was nervous in that Brumbies game, you could see it in the way he played. On occasion, he sat too deep in the pocket instead of taking the ball flat and getting involved.

‘We told him that we wanted him to take more control in the next match against the Rebels, and his response was incredible. He bought into the change of mindset and really exceeded everybody’s expectations.

‘Obviously a Stormers vs Bulls game is a very different prospect, but he’s made an improvement in all departments, so there’s good reason to feel encouraged.’

On Wednesday, Schalk Burger highlighted the Bulls’ experience and ability to win tight matches as a real threat to the Stormers’ chances. Fleck agreed that the Bulls shouldn’t be taken lightly, but pointed to the growth of this Stormers team over the course of their 2011 campaign. If they fall short this weekend, it won’t be for a lack of unity.

‘We matured as a group on that tour to Australasia. It goes to show how a tour can bring people closer together.

‘By the end, we were in a really good head space and were playing some decent rugga too. There were some difficult times and we were honest with ourselves after the match against the Chiefs, but that only made us tighter as group.’

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

349 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

• 201.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-200: come now dawny you , know ur a closet sharkie :wink:

• 202.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-201: yeah she’s a “tiger” shark :wink:

• 203.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

a megamouth shark :lol:

• 204.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-202: :lol: hiyas piesangs

• 205.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-182:

I gave my ‘real name’ as Holden McGroin. ;-)

My nic was the same as here.

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Basking shark, people, basking shark.

I like to bask.

• 207.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-204: Hiyas Sharks Lover. What are we gonna do this weekend?

• 208.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-206: in whose glory Dawn.

• 209.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-208:

My own, mostly.

• 210.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-205: should have been “Two Hands Holden Mcgroin” that would have set the cat among the pigeons.

• 211.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-209: good on ya, certainly not the Stormers glory :wink:

• 212.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-205:

I’m surprised they didn’t like you

I was sure they would welcome you with open arms.

• 213.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-210:

I did last a few weeks until I pointed out the Joost vd Westhuisen howler about not giving up the fight even if it’s the last thing he does…come on it was funny…

• 214.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-213: not being native English speakers by and large they would have not understood your twist/take on what Joost said :lol:

• 215.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-211: should win mate but again wont be easy , chattered with bashy this morning , spoke of a faster tempo match but playing in the right area’s

• 216.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

If you don’t have a sense of humour you ain’t got much else in this life ;-)

• 217.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-183:

You got mail Bud… Apologies for the late reply.

Great news on your son!!! Must be great relief all round…

• 218.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-215:

Fortunately the Lions can’t keep a lead and The Sharks know how to play catch up rugby….it all balances out perfectly.

• 219.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-218: lol true

• 220.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-215: Would luv to see them play a faster tempo game however our defensive structures need to be well structured as well. Whenever we’ve tried the faster tempo game this year we’ve given the ball away with handling errors and then lost metres of ground or even tries as a result. I think we must have one of the highest handling error rates amongst the top 8 sides.

• 221.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Het lank gewag vir hierdie een , Stormers wen die bulle twee keer in een jaar. Laat my dink aan die goeie jare toe die stormers die bulls oorheers het. Well my money on the Stormers to take this game aswell. Our forwards will stand up to this bulls team. Our backs will win this game behind a good pack of forwards. Just have a good feeling about this one. Stormers all the way tomorrow.

• 222.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-220: prolly do

been really poor this year

• 223.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Andre_WP(Andre_WP)-221: Moenie daai hoendertjies so vroeg tel nie. Hierdie laat my dink aan die final laas jaar toe die Bulle die Stormers oorheers he soos die afgelope klomp jare. Man, dis lekker.

But, having said that, I agree that Stormers should win. I will however not put money on that.

• 224.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-223: Yip , ek kan onthou laas jaar , dis hoekom ek hoop dit gebeur nie weer hierdie jaar nie. Die bulls is sonder FDP wat daai bulls span gevaarlik maak. Daai man het ‘n kop op sy skouers om te game te lees. So dis waar ons voordeel het. Dink ook ons voorspelers is nou meer opgewasse vir die Bulls. Kom ons hoop die Ref blaas ‘n goeie game. Wonder wie hy is.

• 225.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-223: Difference between the 2 sides at the moment is that I believe that the Stormers are capable of changing their game plan and the confidence in each other amongst the players is high. The Bulls on the other hand, if they do not get the upper hand in the tight will struggle to adapt their game plan to suit. Also Stormers defence is better that the Bulls.

• 226.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Andre_WP(Andre_WP)-224: Hougaard gee die Bulls ander opsies, maar hulle gaan vir Fourie mis. Mens kan nie daai tipe ervaring, en sy vermoee om die spel te lees, net so vervang nie.

Weet nie wie die ref is nie. Hoop net hy is konsekwent. Dis maar altyd moeilik, want die skare het tog ‘n invloed op hoe hy blaas. Dis maar deel van tuisveld voordeel.

My kop se Stormers 27 – 9
    My hart se Bulls 24 – 22

• 227.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-225: Agree. Looking at the season as a whole, the Stormers offer more in terms of how they can change the game if things don’t work the way they planned. Defensively they’ve been brilliant, although the Bulls defence improved in their last few games.

Huge game.

• 228.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

the site is pretty quiet for a day before the big game

• 229.grant10: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie(MacToogie)-228: nerves

• 230.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

So if you were a Blue Bulls coach where would you target the Stormers? If you look at the Stormers backlnie outside of flyhalf they are a pretty accomplished defensive unit, quite capable of ripping into opposing backlines if the ball is turned over or kicked onto them. A solid back 3 with a very good defensive general in JF so the Bulls are not likely to target them.

I can only see the Bulls winning this by outmuscling the Stormers and they are missing Bakkies and Gurthro so what are the chances of that happening. Stormers by 7 is my call for this one.

• 231.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Do or die tommorow.

Gotta pitch up and dish it out to the Bully boys.

• 232.Puma: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie(MacToogie)-228: Which big game Mac?

Blues/Saders will be a massive game in the NZ conference.

Stormers/Bulls a huge game in the SA conference. So the Sharks/Lions game. That is a MUST win for Sharks. So plenty big games on tomorrow.

Tonight we have the Baby Boks on at 8pm.

• 233.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-232: welcome back puma

• 234.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-230: they might choose to focus on the inside channel i.e Coleman when attacking the backline as well as chip kicks over the top to avoid the defensive wall. Danie is just as capable of muscling up as Bakkies and Dean has been doing an excellent job upfront so the Bulls pack shouldn’t really suffer too much from the loss of Bakkies and Gurthro (who’s has been out for ages now). They should focus there attack through the forwards.

• 235.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-233: Thanks Grant.

Had a brilliant holiday, but it is really awesome to be back home.

Missed all the past 5 weeks rugby. So have no clue how any team is playing. Just been catching up with scores here on the blog.

Good luck to your Stormers tomorrow. I have Bulls by 3 on bru. Not sure why, just had a wild guess. For Sharks it would be far better for Stormers to win. Will take the pressure off our team. Think Lions will be tough to beat after their tales are up after winning a few away on tour.

• 236.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: Meant – If Stormers win it will take the pressure off of Sharks to make the play offs.

• 237.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-232: You’re right 3 huge games tomorrow and a nice bonus game tonight. Also F1 on Sunday. Its going to be a good week-end for sports.

• 238.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

a stormers and lions victory would make it a very sweet weekend.

• 239.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-237: I am really looking forward to the rugby. Have not seen one game since I left for holiday 5 weeks back.

All those 3 games are huge. Really looking forward to seeing all of them. Also our Baby Boks tonight. Had no idea they were playing until Sharks_Lover told me. So looking forward to seeing how Jordaan plays tonight.

• 240.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: glad you back …and well rested…!

The nerves are jangling this side, got great grandstand seats and the all sold out signs are up……clear weather today and a perfect day expected tomorrow….so cant wait…a huge day with all the games , including force vs reds, being crucial.

for me a stormers top spot is the goal….if we can get a home semi and final then we got a better than even chance.

Sharks will be too desperate to lose tomorrow imo…

• 241.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: tales = tails. Been away too long…..hehe

• 242.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-234: Thats how I see it but if it doesn’t work, where do they go from there with no FDP. I would use Spies in the IC channel running at the space between Coleman and JDV with WO off his shoulder linking up with Steggies and Hougaard beyond the defensive line. The reason for this is that it will force Flouw and/or Schalk away from the breakdown and open up opportunities for Danie close in. This would mean that Victor has to play a lot tighter than he normally does though. YOu have to get their best tacklers away from the fringes of the ruck.

• 243.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-239: so as soon as you go away we start playing like ****. Welcome back then Puma. :lol:

• 244.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-239: welcome back bro. Should be a good one tonight and a massive game tomorrow for the Sharks we need this one big time. Hope your PVR was in working order.

• 245.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-243: Thanks buddy.

Hope to see a good game from Sharks tomorrow. :)

• 246.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-244: Thanks bud. My PVR was in working order, but just never recorded any of the games. Thought I would see some of while in Scotland. They had NOTHING on. Only one morning I caught 10min of the Lions playing the Canes. That was it. So really looking forward to seeing some rugby tomorrow.

• 247.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-246: Meant – Some of it.

• 248.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-242: Ja Spies could be used quite effectively to hammer the inside channel, maybe chip and chase also? Stormers defence is huge so Bulls are gonna have to man up and be a bit innovative on attack. If Bulls can come onto the park and dominate upfront from the start they’ll stand a chance if not it’ll be a tough one.

Sharks are also going to have to up the ante , the Lions won’t go down without a fight, in fact a Kobus has pointed out they lost their last game to 2 forward pass tries so they could have won 3 out of their 4 away games.

• 249.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-247: how did you enjoy the long summer evenings? We’ve had some great weather in the Netherlands this Spring/Summer so far.

• 250.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-240: Good seats you have Grant. Enjoy it. I hope Stormers get a home semi too. Really want a saffa side to keep that S15 cup here in SA. Stormers have the best chance out of any of the sa teams.

Reds should beat the Force, then I thought they would beat the Brumbies, just to see here they lost to Brumbies. So one never knows. Would be great if Stormers topped the log. If they do, just can’t see any team beat them at Newlands. So good luck to your team.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.