Stormers aim to smother Steyn

JON CARDINELLI chats to Robbie Fleck about the Stormers’ plans to neutralise Morne Steyn.

The Bulls have racked up some monumental victories over the past few seasons, and Steyn has so often been the difference in the matches that matter. He kicked a difficult penalty to win the 2009 Currie Cup semi-final at Newlands. When the Bulls hosted the Stormers in the 2010 Super 14 final in Soweto, Steyn and Fourie du Preez produced a tactical kicking masterclass to compromise the Cape side’s defence.

But Steyn was well contained when the Stomers visited Loftus Versfeld earlier this season. The home pack was bullied, and so the Bulls’ halfbacks struggled to impose themselves without front-foot possession.

It’s for this reason that Fleck isn’t too worried about the Steyn factor ahead of Saturday’s game. It’s a massive fixture in terms of what’s at stake for the Bulls and Stormers, but the formula for success will be much the same.

‘The Bulls tend to be more adventurous in the early stages, they like to try a few different things at the start of a game. But it shouldn’t take them too long to revert to what they do best. They have a game plan that has won trophies, and when they execute it, like they did in that game against the Sharks, they are hard to stop,’ Fleck told keo.co.za.

‘Their forwards really come at you and they try to put even more pressure on you with their fantastic kicking game. But we have to back ourselves to stand up to that challenge. We have managed to nullify the effect of their kicking game in the past, so it’s by no means a daunting prospect. It all starts with fronting up physically, that will go a long way to negating the impact of their kickers.’

The Stormers have opted to bench their best tactical kicker in Dewaldt Duvenage, and not much is known of Kurt Coleman’s ability with the boot. The 21-year-old flyhalf did well in front of goal last week, kicking five from six, but wasn’t asked to kick much out of hand.

Fleck believes Coleman has the full range of skills to be a success, and added that he should receive the necessary platform from his forwards.

‘He was nervous in that Brumbies game, you could see it in the way he played. On occasion, he sat too deep in the pocket instead of taking the ball flat and getting involved.

‘We told him that we wanted him to take more control in the next match against the Rebels, and his response was incredible. He bought into the change of mindset and really exceeded everybody’s expectations.

‘Obviously a Stormers vs Bulls game is a very different prospect, but he’s made an improvement in all departments, so there’s good reason to feel encouraged.’

On Wednesday, Schalk Burger highlighted the Bulls’ experience and ability to win tight matches as a real threat to the Stormers’ chances. Fleck agreed that the Bulls shouldn’t be taken lightly, but pointed to the growth of this Stormers team over the course of their 2011 campaign. If they fall short this weekend, it won’t be for a lack of unity.

‘We matured as a group on that tour to Australasia. It goes to show how a tour can bring people closer together.

‘By the end, we were in a really good head space and were playing some decent rugga too. There were some difficult times and we were honest with ourselves after the match against the Chiefs, but that only made us tighter as group.’

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby on Twitter

349 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-246: shite bru that’s a tough one, you missed some excellent games but just back in time for the business end of things, still some huge games to go. I’ve got a few connections up in Nairn and they confirm SA Rugga is hard to come by in that part of the world, shame for them.

• 252.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-249: Absolutely LOVED the long summer evenings. One forgets how awesome they are. Up in Scotland it stays light for a bit longer than Holland. Then only a wee longer.

Really enjoyed my time in Scotland. Weather was not always great, but then the weather never is a bother to me much there on holiday. We did have some brilliant days with full sun.

• 253.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-248: I agree about the Lions but I think that the travel and coming back to play at altitude might work in our favour. That said the Lions are playing well.

I cannot understand refs not blowing forward passes etc. It may benefit teams (assuming there is bias) in the short term but when it comes to the business end of competitions those things get picked up and its to the detriment of the team eventually.

• 254.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-251: Its hard to come by here as well which is why the internet is a godsend. I watch all the games on vipstand , only problem being that there is no way of recording them if you are going to miss it live.

• 255.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-251: Yip, sounds like I missed some great games. Only two weeks left then the play offs. So gonna watch all the games from here on.

Nairn so far up doubt they would have any rugby there. But thought they would have had some Super rugby on the tv there. Saw nothing, until one morning they had the Lions/Canes game on. Then even missed that. Only saw the last 10min.

Time to catch up….hehehe. Still plenty rugga left. Then the Tri-Nations and the WC.

Really looking forward to watchint the Baby Boks tonight. Especially to see how Jordaan plays.

• 256.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

well im outtahere guys, good luck to all tomorrow, may the best team (Sharks) win.

• 257.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-250: thanks…

reds have never beaten force in perth….and reds won a close game earlier at home over force, and with reds having lots of injuries and force the opposite and at home, i reckon there is the upset game !

• 258.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-254: Must say when I lived there they showed no rugby fromt he SH at all. Now days what about the pubs there? The last time I was in Holland for a holiday, I watched some Super Rugby in a pub in Amsterdam.

• 259.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-257: Well then I hope Reds get beat.

Who is injured in the Reds team? The last I saw Force play they were not playing well. Then that was many weeks back. So many teams seemed to have upped the tempo since I was away.

• 260.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-253: hope you right about the travel factor etc to add to the event Plum vs Mitchell – classic match up haha.
    Tell you the truth man, I’m sick to death of all the forward passes not being picked up. It’s very difficult to defend against forward passes. See it nearly every week-end.

• 261.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-254: where you at? are you up north?

• 262.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-256: Cheers mate. I hope our Sharks win too.

• 263.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-258: yeah the Irish pubs do show it as well if it happens to be on Sky, however football takes precedence and watching 2 or 3 games in the Pub every weekend gets expensive and not to mention causes a problem with the wifey. :lol: The internet though works quite well.

• 264.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-261: Bananaboy lives in Holland buddy. Think you can only get the rugby in pubs there. Then only some pubs get it.

• 265.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-263: Just as well for the internet then :lol:

Heck I would miss the rugby if I never got it. Missed it this holiday, but then knew I would get it once back home.

• 266.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-259: Ioane,,,Faainga, in fact a host of there players, 4 out the backline.

force have been playing damn well….just won in Dunedin!

• 267.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-255: ja still lots of games to watch, S15, CC, 3N and RWC, awesome stuff. I’m also looking forward to baby Boks they play some enterprising rugga. Like you say, it will be interesting to see how some of them perform. Out for now buddie, Go Sharks!!

• 268.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-261: I’m in Holland, have been here since 94, not by choice. It was initially a transfer for 3 years that was extended for another 2 years and then eventually led to us staying. Never officially emigrated just kinda settled eventually.

• 269.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-266: With so many out of the Reds side, then Force have a very good chance of beating them Grant.

• 270.Puma: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-267: Cheers buddy.

Watch out for Jordaan tonight in the Baby Boks side. He is a Sharks player. Actually we have 3 Shark players in that side.

• 271.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers all. I am out of here too.

• 272.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-268: shite least you can watch the games. definitely outta here. cheers buddie. Go Sharks!!!

• 273.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Whahaaha, if Aplons condom on his head were any bigger he’d be smothered a long time ago. That is the only smothering the briesies will do.

• 274.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Some interesting stats in the paper today showing the Bulls and Stormers in comparison so far this season.

Stormers have conceded the 8th least penalties whilst the Bulls are 15th… i.e. they have conceded the most penalties.

The bulls are also 7th in the turnover at ruck stakes, whilst the Stormers are 4th.

Maybe all those guys huffing and puffing about Steggie etc being omitted from the bok squad are missing something?

• 275.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-273:

See you in another 3 months mate.

• 276.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-275:
    @Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-273:

@Xkreni-WP.

You write cheques your body can’t cash. :roll:

• 277.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-276:

Hehe, the only time I’ve cut a post and kept it for later was this one, on the eve of the Loftus game…

2. Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP) :
    19 Mar 2011, 18:06 pm I’ll say it again:
    Aaah, this weekend including the Lions game is like your first beer. It just gets your mouth jags for more.
    I have been waiting since the Bulle annihilated the Briesies in last years final for today.
    I see old FFFfffffff fikkkaakadilly dipshit has been his histerical self all week (I can image him screaming like Trifina that left her handbag on the taxi) all week. But him and the Campsbay pedophile has been nervous as hell.
    The Bulle will kill those poefters van Slaapstad tonight. 32-12.
    Methinks Mrs Balls missed a huge opportunity to sponsor the Stormpies. Dhl Stormers… pfft, Mrs Balls Stormers counds much better. Their motto can be ” In die Chutney of gladnie”
    Go Bulls.
    I will be back tomorrow to gloat.
    Paartie, paaartie paartie … hoesa Oh and JockBock you old *** guzzler. it is not full moon, it is SuperMoon….get it right boyo

6. JockBok(JockBok) :
    19 Mar 2011, 18:27 pm @Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-2: I’m of course hoping the Bulls get a right royal shafting. Not only for the obvious reasons of good over evil etc, but then we won’t see your sorry arse on here for another 6 months. We won’t see you tomorrow, you’ll be nursing a branners and coke babelas wondering where it all went wrong.

• 278.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-277:

I remember that one as if it was yesterday. This oke takes more pleasure out of the Stormers losing than the Bulls winning.

A strange little man.

A loser.

• 279.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-278:

Can’t wait till tomorrow. Just realised if we get a home semi or even final, I’ll be in CT at the time :D

Only one win from the last two games required. I’m hoping it’s tomorrow but taking nothing for granted against the Bulls of course. And if we do lose, it’s off to Bloem ffs…

Ohhh, and to start of the big weekend, the Baby Boks are getting their arsses handed to them shortly ;)

• 280.JockBok: Reply to this comment

And welcome home Puma if you see this. I’m glad you had a great time mate.

• 281.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-279:

The Stormers must do the job tomorrow and not wait till next weekend. Nervous but confident it can be done.

Aye, Baby Boks vs Baby Jocks. Gonna be gruesome. Not for the fainthearted.

• 282.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dammit to hell and back again I am catching a friggin cold!!!!

• 283.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-281:

Hmmm, Scotland haven’t had the chance to poach a few Aussies or Poms at this age level so it should be fairly comfortable for the Boks ;)

• 284.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-282:

Maybe time for a Grouse hot toddy or four.

• 285.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-284:

Dawn asked for a hot toddy at ultra liquids but they were out of stock.

• 286.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Rude!

How do you make hot toddies

• 287.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-286:

A large dollop of whisky, hot water and some lemon and/or honey. Then bed young lady.

• 288.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

If you’re not in bed by nine go home.

• 289.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yessir!

• 290.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@gunther keeps the cape in shape(gunther)-288:

:D Ba boom tish

@Dawn(Dawn)-289:

Of course, if you don’t have any hot water, lemon or honey available, ice is a good substitute…

• 291.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Not much of a crowd in for the Baby Boks game.

Looks a bit like Loftus recently!!!

• 292.gunther keeps the cape in shape: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-291:

Pretoria is the Venice of the south.

Knobber.

• 293.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

keep an eye on Johan Goosen…… Now if the Stormers could just sign him

• 294.JockBok: Reply to this comment

What happened to the anthems? Why would they cut the sound? Very strange.

• 295.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-293:

Did he not go to Grey? He’ll go to the Sharks then ;)

• 296.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Goodness. Elderly gentlemen in kilts!

• 297.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Bokkies on the board.

• 298.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

OK so where to from here ?

One way or the other somebody or other been affected by the unknown enigma

we got pseudo idiot intelligentsia deluded false fake scientists racking their dumbfck brains trying to determine the reason for their own material or conscious existence and they reckon you need an MSc degree from Harvard University just to qualify to ponder or determine whether you actually exist or not, and if you don’t have said qualification then knowledge of God or of Mammon or Darwinian theories of dumb fck nonsensical nonsense, or the algebraic equations relevant to whether Big Bangs came or went, or matter = infinity, or gravity = existence, or life = consciousness, or death = non consciousness, or else the secret to the known or unknown Universe is outside of your dumb fck self deluded jurisdiction.

Next we got ex apartheid riot police dreaming of meeting their nemesis in a seedy bar just so they can eventually be put totally out of their self denying falsifiable misery.

Other than that we got rugby fans from around the globe of all denominations and affiliations trying as best they can to distance themselves as far as possible from somebody they never met or likely never will, they simply find it horrifying to be vaguely associated with anything resembling honesty or madness in any vague shape or form.

Sounds familiar kinda story no… its a common recurring theme among madmen and truth seekers… usually its either the gallows, the crucifix the poisoned chalice or the lunatic asylum which is the recurring designated destiny of anyone caught fraternizing or simply being drawn to any inquiry correlating to wtf their stupefied dumbfck lives are at all about.

I mean its pretty obvious since we arrived in this all enlightened 21st century of human learning that brannewyn, bier, biltong en braaivleis is the ultimate association of exemplary morality and where the zenith of human ratified achievement gets discussed in earnest around the carnivorous fireside of elevated knowledge, thinking and human extrapolated enlightenment.

Dumbfck deluded moronic mongrels of misplaced monstrous misnomers, seeking something they know not what, nor where to find it, yet they actually seek it not, they simply falsely fraternize and fiddle, and fck around like hickory dickery dock climbing up and down the clock before it strikes OUT.

• 299.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Man, the Baby Boks showing that SA rugby is very healthy. Some real talent coming through.

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-298: Nou wie de f*k het jou nou weer afgepis? Relax my man.

• 300.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Mnr Die Agent almal raai wie is jy… maar ek weet nou, sou ek die geheim uitspoel of nie?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.