Matfield the Master

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day newspaper rugby column, lauds Victor Matfield’s mastery of Andries Bekker and the Stormers.

The occasion demanded Andries Bekker to peel away just a bit of the Victor Matfield aura, but as with the Super Rugby final of 2010 it was the veteran Matfield who simply added to his aura. He remains the best lineout specialist and strategist South Africa has produced and his performance in the 19-16 win against the Stormers at Newlands provides the comfort that Matfield still has the strength of mind and physical capacity to be influential and dominant at this year’s Rugby World Cup.

There were whispers on the eve of the match that Bekker was injured and would not play. The Stormers management denied this but if there was no injury to Bekker before the game then there definitely was to him afterwards – and I am talking about those psychological scars that are a lot more lasting than any physical beating.

Bekker’s performance was always going to be critical to a Stormers victory, but the player who has stood tallest all season had to be content with an evening in the shadow of the master Matfield. It was another reminder that Bekker, for all the potential to be better than Matfield, has not yet delivered in those big moments. Until he does he hasn’t earned the right to be spoken of internationally in the same breath.

The wind conditions at Newlands were testing but the reason the Stormers lost three of their first six lineout balls had more to do with the presence of Matfield than the weather.

The Bulls deserved the win because they played the better finals type rugby and made fewer mistakes. The Stormers fumbled their way through the first 70 minutes and some of the basic handling errors were embarrassing for players at this level.

The defence on both sides was effective and the Stormers were marginally more creative in attack, but the Stormers could not replicate the aggression they showed against the Sharks a month ago.

The match had the traditional South African-derby brutality but as a spectacle it failed to deliver to a capacity Newlands crowd, whose doubts about the Stormers this morning will be justified.

There will be similar questions around the Bulls ability to win away from home in a one-off situation should they be required to travel to Australia or New Zealand for a match against the Reds or Crusaders.

The attacking efficiency from both sides at Newlands was substandard. The Bulls scored from a Stormers lineout mistake and the Stormers scored with two minutes to go and could have had a match-winner with the last movement of the game had Bryan Habana shown the express pace of four years ago to beat the cover defence.

Creatively this match offered nothing for the first 75 minutes as South Africa’s two best teams hammered away at each other. It was all too predictable and from a Cape perspective so too was the result because once again the Stormers lost a match they were favourites to win and once again every doubt resurfaced about the championship capabilities of the Cape-based side, who have lost to the Reds, Crusaders and Bulls at Newlands this season.

Those excusing the Stormers defeat will seek comfort in the Stormers going so close despite having to select their fourth-choice flyhalf because of injuries.

But this was a Bulls team missing Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez. Come on, there can be no excuse for the Capetonians.

The Stormers, in securing the bonus point, claimed the South African Conference but they can’t claim the bragging rights of being a cut above the rest of the South African teams and the visit to Bloemfontein has the potential for more questions than answers.

The Sharks and Bulls will determine their own play-off destiny when they front each other in this Saturday’s final league match and everything now favours a home team win and Sharks play-off elimination.

The Sharks decline over the last six weeks has been gradual and a more composed opponent would have humiliated them in Johannesburg. The Lions led 30-9 after 55 minutes, lost Butch James to the sin-bin in the last quarter and were defending their line at 30-all.

I don’t know which would have been worse for Lions coach John Mitchell … to get stuffed or to stuff it up like this?

James, up until his yellow card, had played splendidly at flyhalf and like with Matfield at Newlands the Bok veteran definitely can make a contribution to South Africa’s World Cup success.

398 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@funkyzoo(funkyzoo)-286: Another great post and I did wonder that to myself too – where were all the other speedsters?

Schalk was brilliant.

• 302.g8 white: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie(Valkyrie)-259: I SEE A WOOD CHIPPERS BEEN A CHIPPING!

• 303.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

how come Butch got two more days for his defense, it’s not like that kind of thuggery isn’t his trademark, and he was lucky not to get a red for his shoulder earlier

• 304.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-297: please, point out where i got “personal with you”, you quote a cliched refrain and yet can’t back it up and you think “things are going your way”? hehehe :D

• 305.g8 white: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-287: But he still can’t pass a ball to save his life!

• 306.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@funkyzoo(funkyzoo)-286: Why didn’t that little ref play more advantage? Shocking

• 307.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-291: ag, your pious act is lost on me, i have no inclination to be rude to you. what you thought was and is not is irrelevant… :D

• 308.francois93: Reply to this comment

wow harsh on Butch, still was always going to be the case but its okay still think he had a really good game, one tackle got away, margins are small at this level.

Wow this article seems balanced and reasonable, not really. Bekker was not at his best but come on he was facing one of the best there has ever been, Bekker and Vic are such similar players, lets be honest Andries and the Stormers were all over the Bulls at Loftus, and Vic and his boys returned the favour,

Why as South Africans do we always have to look for the win / lose scenario, what about win / win and be damned privelaged and blessed to have two formidaable locks going toe to toe, wont be the case forever,

Shew but we always look to rip our guys to shreds, provincialism has and will always be the Boks most undermining factor.

• 309.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-304: @Transformation(Transformation)-307:

I backed-up my “cliche”, and you did not agree. That does not mean I could not back it up. I’m always open for discussion on rugby related issues, as long as the other person is sincere and open for discussion. That is why I entered this discussion with you.

• 310.francois93: Reply to this comment

oh and Kudo’s to me for guessing that Minnie and Grobelaar would be played in tandem, proved to be an effective gambit for the Lions. wow I should be the next Lions coach, nah mm just a blog jockey leave it to the guys who actually do this for a living.

• 311.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-309: so have you found me i’m insincere & insular? :D

• 312.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-311: But rather fetching… ;)

• 313.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-282:

eish.

sorry man.

Durbanville is really nice.

• 314.Caper: Reply to this comment

If I were AC, I’d pick the following, fresher team to play the Cheetahs on Saturday:

1. Kitshoff
    2. Tiaan Liebenberg
    3. Brok Harris
    4. Elstadt
    5. Bekker
    6. Burger
    7. Flo
    8. Nick Koster (to counter Ashley Johnson, we need someone with some pace)

9. Duvenage
    10. P Grant
    11. Habana
    12. Juan de Jongh
    13. Jaque Fourie
    14. Johan Sadie
    15. Aplon

16. Deon Fourie
    17. Blaauw
    18. Anton van Zyl
    19. Duane Vermeulen
    20. Januarie
    21. Coleman
    22. Jean de Villiers

Use of reserves:
    Half time, if all goes well, I would sub Habana for JdV. Habana needs a rest.
    If there are some troubles on defense on settling with the new combonations, I’d bring JdV in on inside centre to get things stable.
    At the 60 minute mark, I’d sub Kitshoff for Blaauw and Flo for Van Zyl (moving Elstadt to blind side flank and Van Zyl to lock.)

• 315.funkyzoo: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-306:

The ref didn’t play advantage because:

1. After the Basson knock-on Basson collected the ball. As the Stormers did not have the ball it was not obviously an advantage situation.
    2. Had f the Stormers recovered the ball very quickly thereafter then again it is a potential advantage situation. But in this case there was a charge, a tackle and a ruck before the whistle went. The Stormers did not get it back immediately.
    3. The ref did not continue reffing. If he was looking for an advantage play then he should have been reffing the ruck, but he was standing back at the original knock-on location, and in consequence he could not possibly have seen the ball coming out on the Stormers side.

On balance I wanted him to play advantage, and I think it would have been defensible had he done so. But I don’t think it was outrageous for him to blow for the knock-on.

HOWEVER: It is very clear that despite doing a brilliant job of chasing, tackling and standing up to get the ball Basson played the ball while lying on top of Habana as he reached to prevent Habana laying it back. Forensically you would say it should have been a penalty to the Stormers seven yards from the line and near the posts. It would have been a gimme 3 pointer, or a great chance for a repeat of the first Stormers try.

• 316.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-309:

transie is now going to make you chew your arm off.

by the end of your discussion you will be begging somebody to put you out of your misery.

• 317.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-312: lol…on arrival @ the airport last night alighting from a flight from jo’burg i walk towards the carousel to pick up my luggage, the man next to me puts on his mobile and it makes the usual nokia sound so i look up at him and i was sooo shocked as to who it turned out to be… :D

the one & only jake white!

i greeted and he acknowledged and i picked up my bag and left…

i wonder why he is PE?

• 318.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-316: why do you like spoiling my fun?

• 319.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@funkyzoo(funkyzoo)-315:

FORENSICALLY IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A PENALTY?

Somebody call Horatio and the team.

Oh my aching sack.

• 320.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-311: Yes, I did unfortunately.

• 202.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 14:39 pm
    @cab(cab)-189: exactly a month and two days ago, keo wrtote that Vic was close to being washed out and had played his “worst game in a decade” against the crusaders, now Vic is the “master” after merely disrupting Stormers lineouts. Keo is a bullshitter! Surely this means if Habana scores a brace of intercept tries after working out for a week with Sheryl Calder then he’ll be back to “Vintage Habana”? mnxim!

• 205.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 14:45 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-202: Form is temporary, class is permanent. Great players will lose form, but they will regain it. I believe both Victor and Habana falls in that category

• 224.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:01 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-205: how long does it usually take for someone to “regain” their form?
    Habana has been rubbish for the better part of 4 YEARS without EVER being dropped!

• 242.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:10 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-224: I don’t know, you tell me.
    As for Habana, his “rubbish” form was still good enough to score 2 tries against the Chiefs in the 09 final, still good enough to win the Tri-Nations and Lions series in 09, still good enough to score the only Stormers try in the S14 final in 2010, and still good enough to help the Stormers move from nowhere in 09, to a hot favourite in the past 2 years.
    So yes, he has been “rubbish”, but even that is still better than most international wings. Easy to remember the “bad” since 2007 (that is 4 years), isn’t it?
    As for Matfield. I see no comment, so I assume you agree on him?

• 260.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:24 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-242: so even when the Stormers complete two barren season as far as tries are concerned you attribute that to habana? hahaha
    yes from 2007 up to the present habana has been a SHADOW of the player that he was at the world cup, this is objective criticism and has nothing to do with none sentimental rubbish you seem to revel in. habana scored against the Bulls at Loftus this year, was that his “class” back, in your assessment has habana’s season been fantastic?

• 264.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:27 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-242: I” don’t know, you tell me.”
    that’s a useless copout. u can’t not know, you’re spouting about “class being permanent” so clearly you should be able to ascertain the length of either a dip or spike in form of all the “class” players you’re referring to!

• 267.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:32 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-260:
    “so even when the Stormers complete two barren season as far as tries are concerned you attribute that to habana? hahaha”
    HAHAHA. So you think the fact that the Stormers don’t score enough tries, it is his fault, but if the reach the final, it is not because of him? Or if the Stormers defence is the best in the comp, Habana is not to be credited at all?
    You know better, just admit it. I’m sure if he scores the winning try for the Sormers in a semi-final or final you will look for a knock-on earlier in the game to knock him with. Or if he scores a winning try for the Boks at the WC you’ll say it was just luck.
    I respect Habana for giving it his all. He is working through things, he knows where is is and where he should be. He will get there and the fans will once again praise him, with the exception of a few “I-dont-like-him-but-I-cant-remember-why-but-I-still-dont-like-him” supporters

• 271.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:36 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-264:
    205.TheAgent said:
    13 Jun 2011, 14:45 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-202: Form is temporary, class is permanent. Great players will lose form, but they will regain it. I believe both Victor and Habana falls in that category.
    224.Transformation said:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:01 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-205: how long does it usually take for someone to “regain” their form?
    Now what? Am I supposed to answer that question? Can you answer it? Go ahead.

• 274.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:39 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-267: ho hum…

• 277.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:42 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-274: ho hum to you too bro. To make a statement about how I see things is not “spouting about “class being permanent”. It is an opinion. No need to get all worked-up.

• 283.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:49 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-267: no, HE has NOT scored enough tries hence my conclusion that he is off form!
    in the 2007 season JP Pietersen was the top try-scorer in the S14, the next year he couldn’t buy tries and summarily got DROPPED and sent for “conditioning”, yet when bryan is sh*t he gets chance after chance with the assumption that he might “turn the corner” – to use a phrase that is always used in his defence. when is he going for “conditioning”?

• 285.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:50 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-277: what would be the use of getting worked up with you?

• 289.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:53 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-283: Well, then we agree he is “off form”. That is what I said. Do you think he was just “on form” from 2004 till 2007 (I think after 2007, but we’ll go with your view)? Or is that “class”. Does good form without class last for 4 years?

• 291.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:54 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-285: What is that supposed to mean, “with you”? That is rude, but go ahead. I thought you were someone I could talk to.

• 297.TheAgent:
    13 Jun 2011, 15:58 pm
    @Transformation(Transformation)-285: It is a pity that you have to get personal when things don’t go your way, if someone disagrees with your view

• 304.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 16:16 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-297: please, point out where i got “personal with you”, you quote a cliched refrain and yet can’t back it up and you think “things are going your way”? hehehe

• 307.Transformation:
    13 Jun 2011, 16:21 pm
    @TheAgent(TheAgent)-291: ag, your pious act is lost on me, i have no inclination to be rude to you. what you thought was and is not is irrelevant…

I’m sure if you read through all the posts, you’ll notice #264 and #285.

• 321.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-312: Lol! Brilliant!!!!

• 322.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-316: Check 320. He just out-transied Transie.
    Is that even legal????

• 323.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-316: I dont get worked up, it is just not a strategy I like. Discuss rugby, make jokes, I love it. But if someone throws little subtle comments in to distract from the conversation, I tend to not want to continue.

• 324.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-318:

I would do the same thing for anyone I saw who was about to wander into the kalahari desert with nothing more than a steri stumpi and half a packet of winegums.

I can see the vultures circling from here.

• 325.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-322: I did, didn’t I? Now Transie will come at me with all guns blazing. :-)

Transie, keep your cool mate. Dont skell me now. :-)

• 326.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-322:

its like masturbation on an aeroplane

it’s frowned upon, but not illegal as such no.

transie won’t like it tho’…

not one little bit.

I might order some popcorn.

• 327.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

The funny thing is that I’m a Bull and he is a Stormer, and here I’m coming up for Habana, and he is against him.

Look at it this way, if Habana scored that last minute try, the whole debate would never have taken place, and Keo’s article would’ve been titled “Habana stiil the best in SA”

• 328.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-319: Imagine the pensive glance at the floor before he takes off his sunglasses and looks up as he says something like

It could have been, my fellow blogger, it could have been……

Cue “The Who” Music….

And PS I wouldn’t ignore your aching sac.

Mind you, it’s probably phantom pains, as the original sac is in a glass jar in Mrs Gunther’s pantry. ;)

• 329.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-320: i apologise if i have offended your fragile sensibilities mate, i was just talking. the length of time of what constitutes a “temporary” loss of form is what we seem to have a difference in opinion. habana is a classy player, he will score the odd or couple of tries but SURELY that can’t mean that he is on FORM again!

if you read one of my initial posts to mshiniwami i actually lambasted KEO in his assessment of matfield as being washed-out in April and 2 months later he is the master. there seems not to be a CLEAR assessment of what constitutes loss and gain of “form”.

• 330.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-329: Couldn’t agree more mate. And thanks for apologising, but no need. I’m just a sensitive, fragile SA supporter.

• 331.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-327: who said i’m a Stormer? it is what you assumed the other day and i let you wander off in your delirium. :D

• 332.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-328:

Horatio always gets his man :lol:

Mrs Gunther carries my sac around in her handbag.

It’s very large you see and it makes sitting easier.

• 333.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

where is that fish hoek eco warrior *** so-called white liberal today?the poor deluded oke really believes by giving his labourers a ride in the front seat of his bakkie that equates to being a liberal conveniently forgetting that he terrorized the same okes whilst wearing his beloved nazi-loving sadf uniform back in the days.

• 334.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-331: You are a Stormer man.

• 335.gunther is feeling bullish: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-327:

transie isn’t a stormer he is a king.

of what we are not quite sure.

we have written to the department of traditional affairs.

they have written back to say that he is more than likely a minor chief.

• 336.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-334: keep believing that then :D

• 337.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-317: Did you ask him for his autograph?

• 338.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-336: You support the Stormers. I think, and I could be wrong, that you are actually an Elephant man.

• 339.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-335: lol what is mildly amusing is that this morning francois convinced another blogger that i am a “closet all black supporter” and on the same day i’m painted as a “breezer”? ;)

gotta love the assumptionsampoos :D

• 340.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-337: no, how long have you been on this blog again?

• 341.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-327: habana is finished buddy…..especially after marrying that white chick.inter-marriages have never been a good thing.superior blood mixing with inferior blood bound to be catostrophic and hence his poor form.

• 342.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-335: The Kings are not in the comp yet, so he supports the Stormers. See post #338

• 343.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-340: Not long, but I catch up quick. Why?

• 344.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-340: Why not? Would you greet anyone you see at the Airport, or just the ones you admire? :-)

• 345.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-332: touche!

• 346.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-343: cos you’d know how i feel about jake white and in actual fact about the stormers too…

• 347.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-344: this is jake, i was testing him…

• 348.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-346: Okay, fair point. Sorry if I offended your fragile sinsibilities mate. :-)

• 349.funkyzoo: Reply to this comment

@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-319:

You don’t like the word forensic? That’s cool.

The point is that what Basson did is illegal, and it would have been legitimate to hand the Stormers a penalty in front of the posts, 3 minutes after the siren, with a score differential of 3 points in the Bulls favor.

• 350.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-348: me, offended? not likely but i can see you’re eager to prove you’re worthy…i’ve noted you :D

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.