Baby Boks call up Taute
14 Jun 2011
Lions fullback Jaco Taute will replace the injured Craig Barry in the Baby Boks squad at the Junior World Championship in Italy.
Barry, a WP junior and Springbok Sevens squad member, injured his groin during training on Monday. He was an unused sub during the Baby Boks’ 33-0 victory over Scotland last Friday.
Taute was not considered for selection initially because of his Super Rugby commitments that saw him miss the Baby Boks’ preparation camps. However, head coach Dawie Theron has called up the 20-year-old fullback now that the Lions’ season is over.
‘It’s disappointing to lose a player at a tournament where there is a four-day turn-round, and our sympathy goes out to Craig who still has a bright future in rugby,’ said SA U20 coach Dawie Theron.
‘The injury to Craig affords someone else an opportunity at this level. Jaco represented the Baby Boks during last year’s Junior World Championship, and has the necessary experience.
‘Jaco did not attend any training camps due to Super Rugby commitments for the Lions. But their Super Rugby campaign has concluded and he is now available. He has been in excellent form this year at Super Rugby level, and his selection is a logical rugby choice as he still qualifies to represent the SA U20s this year.’

37 Comments
14 Jun 2011, 15:46 pm
Excellent choice, this lad has impressed me with his willingness to run, and his defense has been good too. I like his style !!
14 Jun 2011, 16:13 pm
Great player. And in spite of what Katman says, i saw him first
14 Jun 2011, 16:19 pm
Must play him at 13,he played really well there last yr for u20 Boks alongside Frans Venter who is there this yr as well.
14 Jun 2011, 16:33 pm
Watch Eben Eben Etsebeth tonight. A future Senior Bok for sure. 19 years old, 2.03m tall, and built like Pierre Spies. Great player
14 Jun 2011, 16:43 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-4: he was alright against the Scots, not outstanding hope to see more of his play tonight.
siya kolisi was MASSIVE at 7 in that match.
14 Jun 2011, 16:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-5: Yes he was. A good player for sure.
14 Jun 2011, 16:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-5:
Siya Kolisi was huge,as he was last yr….belligerent,powerful and all over the place.Will be a great blindside in the Collins mould.Has a massive ticker/engine
14 Jun 2011, 16:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-5: @mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-7: I saw him score a great try in the opening warm ups against the sharks. Looked very impressive. Met him after the game too. Nice guy. He’s going places for sure. I hope WP manage him well but he’s got the pedigree and potential to go all the way.
14 Jun 2011, 16:55 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-6: Grey PE boy currently with WP like Kurt Coleman! probably the most experienced player in that squad, seeing that he made SASchools & Baby Boks in the past couple of years
http://www.keo.co.za/2009/06/15/siyamthanda-kolisi/
14 Jun 2011, 16:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-9: Yes see my post above. He’s a big fella too I’ll tell you. No Charles Barkley or anything mind you
14 Jun 2011, 16:59 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-8:
Yeah he is,was very highly recruited out of high school.he was 17 in matric and made SA schools I think.Grey PE old boy
Very big future ahead of him
WP has some outstanding loosies coming thru-Kolisi,Hartzenberg,Carr(Bok captain material)
14 Jun 2011, 17:03 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-11: Totally. I was a bit surprised at people bemoaning the loss of Pieter Myburg to the Cheetahs. He’s a solid player for sure, but they obviously have no idea of the talent coming through the ranks. koster’s stepped up this year and then we have Pieter Louw and the youngsters you mentioned. Bodes well for us, if we can manage them well.
Eben Etsebeth’s brother Ryan is also coming through. A little shorter than his boet but more muscular. Looks like perfect 8th man material.
14 Jun 2011, 17:07 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-4:
the no 5 lock?
that oke was the man of the match for me
made some amazing breaks and was always part of the action.
played more like a loosie than a tightie but took all his line out balls
14 Jun 2011, 17:21 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-11: New Zealand Under 20 Coach Mark Anscombe has named his team to play their first match of the 2011 IRB Junior World Championship against tournament hosts Italy in Treviso.
New Zealand plays Italy on day one of the Championship on Friday 10 June. The team named for that match is:
1 Greg Pleasants-Tate North Harbour
2 Sefo Setefano Waikato
3 Michael Kainga Wellington
4 Steven Luatua Auckland
5 Dominic Bird Canterbury
6 Luke Whitelock, captain Canterbury
7 Sam Cane Bay of Plenty
8 Carl Axtens Bay of Plenty
9 Brad Weber Otago
10 Gareth Anscombe Auckland
11 Francis Saili Auckland
12 Lima Sopoaga Wellington
13 Glen Robertson Waikato
14 Mitchell Scott Tasman
15 Charles Piutau Auckland
16 Codie Taylor Canterbury
17 Solomona Sakalia Wellington
18 Brad Shields Wellington
19 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis Taranaki
20 TJ Perenara Wellington
21 Nathan George Waikato
22 Beauden Barrett Taranaki
New Zealand heads into the tournament having won the three previous IRB Junior World Championship titles. Coach Mark Anscombe said the team was eager to get their campaign for a fourth title under way.
“We are excited about our first game against the host country. We can’t take anything for granted and we’re looking forward to kicking off our campaign with a solid performance,” he said.
New Zealand’s three pool matches are as follows: (all times NZT)
11 June v Italy, Treviso; 6.10am
15 June v Wales, Rovigo; 4.10am
19 June v Argentina, Padova; 4.10am
The semifinals will be played on 22 June at Padova, and the Final will be played on 26 June, at Padova.
14 Jun 2011, 17:34 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-11:
Siya Kolisi is not that big really…6.2 and 99kg’s. I’m sure he can bulk up though.
What are is his line-out abilities like? Man I want to watch this game but have to work D:
14 Jun 2011, 17:54 pm
@charo(charo)-13: That’s the one. He’s a giant in real life.
14 Jun 2011, 20:16 pm
yoh uqalile lo Eben Etsebeth!!!!
14 Jun 2011, 20:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-17: You watching the game Transie?
14 Jun 2011, 20:42 pm
yes i am M…are you?
We giving away cheap penalties in our 22! There’s no reason goosen didn’t roll away there…
14 Jun 2011, 20:44 pm
this Francois Venter looks like a fine player. Nice angles
14 Jun 2011, 20:49 pm
Etsebeth scores, damn this cat is a SUPER talent!!!!
14 Jun 2011, 20:50 pm
etsebeth doing the habana celebration!learned from the master
14 Jun 2011, 20:51 pm
what poor defence!!!!!! Let this conway oke dance all the way to the try line!
14 Jun 2011, 21:06 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-21: Yes he is. It’s a name we’ll be hearing a lot more of in future that’s for sure!
14 Jun 2011, 21:19 pm
this irish side are quite tenacious, this conway character is their gamebreaker & he is dangerous!
The baby boks need to score now and put some distance between themselves & these paddys, they might be troublesome towards the end!
14 Jun 2011, 21:24 pm
johan goosen drop goal…this boy will give lambie, jantjies & sias a run for their money i tell you!
14 Jun 2011, 21:28 pm
goosen, roll away after a tackle! Yesses!!
14 Jun 2011, 21:48 pm
damn, i called it. Good thing the scored that fourth try as these paddys are still trying their best for to cause an upset…
There you GO boys! Put some distance in there!!
what a fanstastic game!
14 Jun 2011, 21:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-28: Excellent rugby! Some real stars of the future there.
Enjoyed that immensely
14 Jun 2011, 22:00 pm
good win for the baby boks.nizaam carr had a sormer of a game.
14 Jun 2011, 22:02 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-30: should read stormer.
14 Jun 2011, 22:06 pm
yeah nizaam’s workrate was outstanding, talented lad.
15 Jun 2011, 13:34 pm
Beyers has been poor. I know Taute will shake things up. He is a fantastic addition. He has been playing well this season. He is easily one of the best attacking players in SA right now. Of course he is not Gio Aplon, JP or Jaque fourie, but he will be there in time. he is great. I think that last U20 was a specail outfit in the backline, they attacked so well.
15 Jun 2011, 13:35 pm
carr was amazing, as was Kholisi against the Scotts. SA are spoilt for choice.
15 Jun 2011, 13:37 pm
Venter is living up to his reputation as a class center. It amazes me he has not got open game time. He runs good lines and has a good pass. We have not seen ite tournament so far. Taking nothing away from his try scoring. He has been good.
15 Jun 2011, 13:39 pm
if Eben Etzebeth does not become a Bok then there is something wrong. The kid is so aggressive on attack as a lock forward. They can’t contain him in this competition.
15 Jun 2011, 13:42 pm
Goosen was good, but I dont think he brings as much to the table as Janjties, Lambie and Sias. Lets wait and see what happens as he gets older. He is talented. His boot is serious. However can he run a line like Janjties?? Or even control the play like Lambie??