Baby Boks call up Taute

Lions fullback Jaco Taute will replace the injured Craig Barry in the Baby Boks squad at the Junior World Championship in Italy.

Barry, a WP junior and Springbok Sevens squad member, injured his groin during training on Monday. He was an unused sub during the Baby Boks’ 33-0 victory over Scotland last Friday.

Taute was not considered for selection initially because of his Super Rugby commitments that saw him miss the Baby Boks’ preparation camps. However, head coach Dawie Theron has called up the 20-year-old fullback now that the Lions’ season is over.

‘It’s disappointing to lose a player at a tournament where there is a four-day turn-round, and our sympathy goes out to Craig who still has a bright future in rugby,’ said SA U20 coach Dawie Theron.

‘The injury to Craig affords someone else an opportunity at this level. Jaco represented the Baby Boks during last year’s Junior World Championship, and has the necessary experience.

‘Jaco did not attend any training camps due to Super Rugby commitments for the Lions. But their Super Rugby campaign has concluded and he is now available. He has been in excellent form this year at Super Rugby level, and his selection is a logical rugby choice as he still qualifies to represent the SA U20s this year.’

37 Comments

• 1.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

Excellent choice, this lad has impressed me with his willingness to run, and his defense has been good too. I like his style !!

• 2.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Great player. And in spite of what Katman says, i saw him first :)

• 3.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Must play him at 13,he played really well there last yr for u20 Boks alongside Frans Venter who is there this yr as well.

• 4.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Watch Eben Eben Etsebeth tonight. A future Senior Bok for sure. 19 years old, 2.03m tall, and built like Pierre Spies. Great player

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-4: he was alright against the Scots, not outstanding hope to see more of his play tonight.

siya kolisi was MASSIVE at 7 in that match.

• 6.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-5: Yes he was. A good player for sure.

• 7.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-5:

Siya Kolisi was huge,as he was last yr….belligerent,powerful and all over the place.Will be a great blindside in the Collins mould.Has a massive ticker/engine

• 8.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-5: @mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-7: I saw him score a great try in the opening warm ups against the sharks. Looked very impressive. Met him after the game too. Nice guy. He’s going places for sure. I hope WP manage him well but he’s got the pedigree and potential to go all the way.

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-6: Grey PE boy currently with WP like Kurt Coleman! probably the most experienced player in that squad, seeing that he made SASchools & Baby Boks in the past couple of years

http://www.keo.co.za/2009/06/15/siyamthanda-kolisi/

• 10.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-9: Yes see my post above. He’s a big fella too I’ll tell you. No Charles Barkley or anything mind you ;)

• 11.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-8:

Yeah he is,was very highly recruited out of high school.he was 17 in matric and made SA schools I think.Grey PE old boy

Very big future ahead of him

WP has some outstanding loosies coming thru-Kolisi,Hartzenberg,Carr(Bok captain material)

• 12.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-11: Totally. I was a bit surprised at people bemoaning the loss of Pieter Myburg to the Cheetahs. He’s a solid player for sure, but they obviously have no idea of the talent coming through the ranks. koster’s stepped up this year and then we have Pieter Louw and the youngsters you mentioned. Bodes well for us, if we can manage them well.

Eben Etsebeth’s brother Ryan is also coming through. A little shorter than his boet but more muscular. Looks like perfect 8th man material.

• 13.charo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-4:

the no 5 lock?

that oke was the man of the match for me

made some amazing breaks and was always part of the action.

played more like a loosie than a tightie but took all his line out balls

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-11: New Zealand Under 20 Coach Mark Anscombe has named his team to play their first match of the 2011 IRB Junior World Championship against tournament hosts Italy in Treviso.

New Zealand plays Italy on day one of the Championship on Friday 10 June. The team named for that match is:

1 Greg Pleasants-Tate North Harbour

2 Sefo Setefano Waikato

3 Michael Kainga Wellington

4 Steven Luatua Auckland

5 Dominic Bird Canterbury

6 Luke Whitelock, captain Canterbury

7 Sam Cane Bay of Plenty

8 Carl Axtens Bay of Plenty

9 Brad Weber Otago

10 Gareth Anscombe Auckland

11 Francis Saili Auckland

12 Lima Sopoaga Wellington

13 Glen Robertson Waikato

14 Mitchell Scott Tasman

15 Charles Piutau Auckland

16 Codie Taylor Canterbury

17 Solomona Sakalia Wellington

18 Brad Shields Wellington

19 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis Taranaki

20 TJ Perenara Wellington

21 Nathan George Waikato

22 Beauden Barrett Taranaki

New Zealand heads into the tournament having won the three previous IRB Junior World Championship titles. Coach Mark Anscombe said the team was eager to get their campaign for a fourth title under way.

“We are excited about our first game against the host country. We can’t take anything for granted and we’re looking forward to kicking off our campaign with a solid performance,” he said.

New Zealand’s three pool matches are as follows: (all times NZT)

11 June v Italy, Treviso; 6.10am

15 June v Wales, Rovigo; 4.10am

19 June v Argentina, Padova; 4.10am

The semifinals will be played on 22 June at Padova, and the Final will be played on 26 June, at Padova.

• 15.Is not on the Sadie bandwagon: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-11:

Siya Kolisi is not that big really…6.2 and 99kg’s. I’m sure he can bulk up though.

What are is his line-out abilities like? Man I want to watch this game but have to work D:

• 16.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-13: That’s the one. He’s a giant in real life.

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

yoh uqalile lo Eben Etsebeth!!!!

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-17: You watching the game Transie?

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

yes i am M…are you?

We giving away cheap penalties in our 22! There’s no reason goosen didn’t roll away there…

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this Francois Venter looks like a fine player. Nice angles

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth scores, damn this cat is a SUPER talent!!!!

• 22.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

etsebeth doing the habana celebration!learned from the master

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what poor defence!!!!!! Let this conway oke dance all the way to the try line!

• 24.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-21: Yes he is. It’s a name we’ll be hearing a lot more of in future that’s for sure!

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this irish side are quite tenacious, this conway character is their gamebreaker & he is dangerous!

The baby boks need to score now and put some distance between themselves & these paddys, they might be troublesome towards the end!

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

johan goosen drop goal…this boy will give lambie, jantjies & sias a run for their money i tell you!

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

goosen, roll away after a tackle! Yesses!!

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

damn, i called it. Good thing the scored that fourth try as these paddys are still trying their best for to cause an upset…

There you GO boys! Put some distance in there!!

what a fanstastic game!

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-28: Excellent rugby! Some real stars of the future there.

Enjoyed that immensely

• 30.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

good win for the baby boks.nizaam carr had a sormer of a game.

• 31.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-30: should read stormer.

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

yeah nizaam’s workrate was outstanding, talented lad.

• 33.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Beyers has been poor. I know Taute will shake things up. He is a fantastic addition. He has been playing well this season. He is easily one of the best attacking players in SA right now. Of course he is not Gio Aplon, JP or Jaque fourie, but he will be there in time. he is great. I think that last U20 was a specail outfit in the backline, they attacked so well.

• 34.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

carr was amazing, as was Kholisi against the Scotts. SA are spoilt for choice.

• 35.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Venter is living up to his reputation as a class center. It amazes me he has not got open game time. He runs good lines and has a good pass. We have not seen ite tournament so far. Taking nothing away from his try scoring. He has been good.

• 36.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

if Eben Etzebeth does not become a Bok then there is something wrong. The kid is so aggressive on attack as a lock forward. They can’t contain him in this competition.

• 37.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Goosen was good, but I dont think he brings as much to the table as Janjties, Lambie and Sias. Lets wait and see what happens as he gets older. He is talented. His boot is serious. However can he run a line like Janjties?? Or even control the play like Lambie??

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.