Butch still Boks’ best bet
15 Jun 2011
JON CARDINELLI says Butch James has made a statement since returning to South Africa and one bad tackle hasn’t changed the fact that he remains the Springboks’ strongest flyhalf option.
James has featured in just five games for the Lions since leaving English club Bath, and his impact as a leader and innovator has been profound. He did well in tandem with Elton Jantjies at the crucial 10-12 axis, and when asked to assume the pivot responsibilities, he so nearly orchestrated a great upset over his former Sharks team-mates.
The Lions led the Sharks 30-9 after 60 minutes, but a late rally by the visitors saw the game ending in a dramatic draw. The Sharks scored a converted try through Pat Lambie before James was sin-binned for a dangerous tackle, and seven more points while they enjoyed a numerical advantage.
Another converted try levelled the scores, and so the Lions’ dream of ending a poor season on a winning note was crushed.
Much has been said in the aftermath about James costing the Lions the game. Some have even gone as far to say it’s a mark of things to come if the aggressive No 10 goes to the World Cup.
Those who are quick to judge James’s yellow card as the turning point conveniently forget that the Lions conceded tries either side of his sanction. They also choose to ignore James’s late drop-goal attempt that was charged down by Bismarck du Plessis.
Would James have been so harshly criticised had Du Plessis been a yard slower, and that kick had bisected the posts? Would there be such ridiculous statements about his tackling style costing the Boks’ in big games, or would those self-same pundits be praising him and touting him to win the World Cup in a similar fashion?
Kicking has long been perceived as James’s weakness, even though he’s averaged 83% as a goal-kicker for South Africa. On Saturday, he challenged that perception again by slotting six from six, some from extremely difficult field positions.
James’s attacking skills and bruising defence have been evident during his five-match stint with the Lions, but his kicking and overall game management have been equally impressive. He will be afforded starting opportunities in the coming Tri-Nations, and if he can build on his performances in the Super Rugby tournament, he will force Peter de Villiers to reconsider the decision to stick with Morne Steyn.
Both Steyn and James will go to the World Cup, with utility players like Ruan Pienaar and young Lambie providing further flyhalf options. The Boks will need a flyhalf who can play according to the situation, in other words, somebody who is equally capable of kicking for territory or bringing the backline into the game.
Steyn’s limitations were laid to bare in the Boks’ 2010 Tri-Nations campaign, and the Bulls have struggled on attack in 2011. Steyn kicked the cover off the ball in the Bulls’ most recent game against the Stormers as part of a specific game plan. These tactics won’t work against an All Blacks or Wallabies back three who have the tactical kicking ability as well as the counter-attacking means to hurt the Boks.
Selecting a first-choice flyhalf comes down to who offers the team more options in the big matches. The Boks will have a relatively easy ride through to the World Cup quarter-finals, and you’d back them to overcome Ireland in that fixture. Who then is the best No 10 to lead the charge when the Boks take on the All Blacks in the semis?
The argument that James was a poor kicker was flawed to begin with, and his recent performances for the Lions have put that myth to rest. Outside of his kicking, he will offer a sound defensive option and unleash a Bok backline that has been shackled for too long.
And for those who are worried about his tackling, just remember what an important role he played as a defender at the 2007 World Cup. James will be one of the Boks’ greatest assets at the tournament in New Zealand rather a perceived liability.

352 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
15 Jun 2011, 13:00 pm
@Number15(Number15)-99:
Charity!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…………………………………………….We sent you lot ………….John Mitchel, Carlos, Plum and Kevin Putt.
What more can we give.
15 Jun 2011, 13:01 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-96: hiyas HG bro
15 Jun 2011, 13:02 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-100:
And good for you Popps.
I desperately need money for Alcohol Research.
Can you help?
15 Jun 2011, 13:04 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-64:
Yes, and you can have this years Tri-Nations too. Means very little when compared to the holy grail. Seems like GH hasn’t learnt at all from 2007, promising to put in his strongest side again. Tsk, tsk.
Poppa, do me a favour. When the Abs get eliminated again, take it easy on your tongan boyfriend. If you must strike him, use an open hand.
15 Jun 2011, 13:07 pm
@cane(cane)-101: We don’t want your women anyway…
15 Jun 2011, 13:10 pm
@The_Don(The_Don)-105:
Ooooooh, Donny.
You are a nasty piece of work.
Never mind we got thousands upon thousands of yours over here. It’s a wonder you Okes got any left.
15 Jun 2011, 13:12 pm
@cane(cane)-103:
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-104: ahhh KKK, cant hide your inherent racism can you? just cant help yourself…
did you use an open palm on all those you oppress, which Im certain you still do today in the form of poor wages for your farmboys…
or are they the afrikaans type of farmboys that seem to have pillow creases in their foreheads..
much like your forehead?
15 Jun 2011, 13:14 pm
@cane(cane)-101:
Ha, and in return you only got Mehrtens, I see the problem.
15 Jun 2011, 13:15 pm
@cane(cane)-106:
New Zealand for New Zealanders.
15 Jun 2011, 13:16 pm
@The_Don(The_Don)-105:
That’s not terribly fair, I was in NZ earlier this year and I did see at least 3 good looking girls. Ok, one was my girlfriend travelling with me, but still.
15 Jun 2011, 13:20 pm
@Number15(Number15)-108:
No……………………………………………….. we also got Irene.
NZ Sportsperson of The Year in 2008.
And a total babe, ………..(on the mature side).
15 Jun 2011, 13:20 pm
@Number15(Number15)-110: …the other 2 must have been Ozzies who were lost…
15 Jun 2011, 13:21 pm
@cane(cane)-106:
Good comeback!
15 Jun 2011, 13:23 pm
@Number15(Number15)-108: We also gave them Greg Rowlison (spelling), and loaned them the likes of Joggie Viljoen, Balie Swart.
15 Jun 2011, 13:23 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-51: won’t get past the 1/4′s, then we can say the team who wins the WC only won because they didn’t play against SA, something thats very common on this site.
15 Jun 2011, 13:25 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-115: you guys say that about 87 nowadays, when we had no control over your absence (you guys did though, do you remember why?), so it will be no different aye?
15 Jun 2011, 13:26 pm
@gunther is feeling bullish(gunther)-109: lol.
I doubt he’ll get it.
15 Jun 2011, 13:29 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-115:
Very observant of you Kea.
Getting your excuses worked out ahead of time.
Very wise.
15 Jun 2011, 13:31 pm
settle down boys…something interesting to read.
DHL WP (Vodacom Cup) 2011- greater training squad
Marcel Brache
Lionel Cronje
JJ Engelbrecht
Danie Poolman
Tythan Adams
Clearance Kumalo
Sizwe Maseko
Bom Samaai
Berton Klaassens
Michael van der Spuy
Johan Sadie
Paul Bosch
Kurt Coleman
Sam Lane
Louis Schreuder
Ricky Schroder
Freddie Muller
Nick Groom
Siya Kolisi
Yaya Hartzenberg
Ruben Johannes
Helmut Lehman
Rohan Kitshoff
Wimpie van der Walt
Hilton Lobberts
Quin Roux
Reniel Hugo
Eben Etsebeth
Stefan Greeff
Tom Botha
Frans Malherbe
Stephen Kitshoof
JD Moller
Ally Vermaak
Scarra Ntubeni
Sydney Tobias
Albie de Swardt
15 Jun 2011, 13:32 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-116: As I said it’ is very common on this site, or do you think I was refering to a different WC perhaps?
15 Jun 2011, 13:36 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-120: nope, I knew you were talking about 87…
07 the main story is you guys played no one ranked higher than fith in the world, I do so hope that happens for the ABs this time, I know how hard it can be to overcome those odds..
I mean, facing only one team the entire tournament that has ever beaten you before does give a true indication for the next 4 years that your team was simply the best huh?
15 Jun 2011, 13:37 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-120: You’re choking aren’t you?
15 Jun 2011, 13:37 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-114:
Indirectly you also gave us George Grey in the 1860′s,
and Precious Mckenzie in the 1970′s.
Also this weeks special @ The Mad Butcher’s……………………Boerworst.
15 Jun 2011, 13:40 pm
@cane(cane)-123: lol @ Boerworst
Other guys were before my time.
15 Jun 2011, 13:41 pm
I am just glad the pressure is slightly less for the Bokke than it is for the All Blacks. Whether we play Butch, Steyn or Lambie, depending on the match and possible injuries that is still more reliable back up than most other teams can boast except Australia, with Cooper, Giteau, and O’Connor. The Crusaders have proven they do not need McCaw or Carter to win, but I don’t know if one can compare that to the psyche of the All Blacks who over the past few seasons have shown an over dependence on those two players. Having said that, and as a proud bok, as per usual AB’s seem the strongest. But then we also know what has happened when the pressure is on.
15 Jun 2011, 13:43 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-121: Forget about the absence of the Boks in ’87. Tell us about all the difficult opposition you had to face to win that cup. You think it was tougher than Boks ’07?
15 Jun 2011, 13:45 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-102: Howzit SL. I see these fools are now preaching from the same pulpit as you and Mshini…
Got to go.
15 Jun 2011, 13:46 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-126: yes I do… why our quarter final opponents beat the Bok on last years EOYT didnt they?
we even beat France in the final, a team that has subsequently knocked us out twice, and they should have knocked you guys out in 95, remember?
so yeah, Id say facing Scotland, Wales and France to win the WC is a lot harder than facing Fiji, Argentina and then England…
15 Jun 2011, 13:47 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-124:
I think George Grey was Governor of Cape Colony ( Or some such thing). Grey College is named after him.
He was later Governor of NZ (twice). And among the 10 most influential people in Our (NZ) history.
Also Governor of South Australia before coming to NZ.
15 Jun 2011, 13:48 pm
@cane(cane)-106:
So that is why the NZ women on TV are looking more attractive these days. Thanks, I was baffled
15 Jun 2011, 13:52 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-128: So how many teams did you face in ’87 that have beaten you before then?
15 Jun 2011, 13:53 pm
@Hospital Pass(Hospital Pass)-125: I think Pienaar could have a big role to play too(especially if Fourie’s body gives up again). Ruan played some very good games at 9 in the wet for Ulster up in Ravenhill – which has to be Europe’s coldest, wettest and windiest grounds. Celtic League and Heineken Cup isn’tSuper 15 or test regby but bad weather is a great leveller and he did well in those conditions
15 Jun 2011, 13:54 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-131: Wales and France, that makes two by my count..
and Im sure two is greater than one, though do correct me if Im wrong…
15 Jun 2011, 13:55 pm
@The_Don(The_Don)-132: I mean Fourie DuP of course
15 Jun 2011, 13:55 pm
@Hospital Pass(Hospital Pass)-125:
Hos, if you think the pressure is not going to on the Boks……………………………………you are delusional.
The Press will hang onto PdV’s every word.
Waiting like a pack of hyena’s for the right moment…………………………
And Krusty will deliver ………………………………………………….
And They know it.
15 Jun 2011, 13:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-127: huh?? lol in what way??
15 Jun 2011, 13:59 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-133: Never knew you lost to Wales. OK then: well done, you may be rightly proud of your ’87 performance.
15 Jun 2011, 14:02 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-137: oh dont worry I am….
15 Jun 2011, 14:03 pm
@Cane
I never said there would be no pressure on the Boks, and as much as I would like to deny it we have to make peace with the fact that Pdivvy might let a few quotes get out. Obviously most of the pressure will be on the AB’s, and to ignore that would be silly.
15 Jun 2011, 14:09 pm
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-137:
NZ never gained a superior Win/Loss ratio over Wales, until the 1970′s.
In those days they were the great Enemy. By 87 however they had lost some of their awe.
15 Jun 2011, 14:15 pm
@cane(cane)-140: I thought it would have been similar to our record. We lost to Wales only once. However, I do not want to revisit that episode. That’s worth a 1000 posts on Keo.
15 Jun 2011, 14:16 pm
@Hospital Pass(Hospital Pass)-139:
I agree there will be more pressure on the AB’s.
But only marginally so.
The Rugby Public in SA also place huge expectations upon their Team. And are quite ruthless in playing the blame game.
SA Provincialism runs riot when the Bokke get the speed wobbles.
15 Jun 2011, 14:23 pm
@cane(cane)-141
Let us stick to the rugby please. The fact of the matter is that there will be pressure on both our teams, and as you also said slightly more so on the All Blacks. In your opinion what do you think the AB’s have to do differently in this RWC to deal with the pressure and expectations playing in front of their home crowds? From an SA perspective I think we are in a decent position with a few of our Super Rugby teams winning games in NZ and Aus this season, which does not happen often, especially for the Lions and the Cheetahs. And on top of that the Bokke have won a few over in NZ since the last RWC. In my humble opinion NZ dominance has left them mentally vulnerable to tight pressure situations, as the AB’s win most of their games against all opposition. Other teams on the other hand have real battles where they have to fight for victory as opposed to bulldozing the opposition. your thoughts please?
15 Jun 2011, 14:34 pm
The likely bad weather coupled with the fact that the referees are allowing players to compete more at rucks will mean that we won’t be seeing very expansive rugby or very high scoring games at the world cup. This won’t suit our antipodean cousins but could play into the Boks hands – if we play halfbacks who can manage a game well in those conditions. Unfortunately, this will give the likes of England a chance too…
15 Jun 2011, 14:57 pm
@Hospital Pass(Hospital Pass)-143: I have read a whole book on the pressure the ABs are under but at the end of the day we can psyco analyize both teams – it comes down to 30 men on the field and their decision making .
15 Jun 2011, 15:04 pm
@stew(stew)-145: 31 men and their decision making…
15 Jun 2011, 15:27 pm
@The_Don(The_Don)-105: New Zealand women are the most promiscuous on the planet. Cheap good for nothing *****! http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2007/10/13/1191696214489.html
So keep your disease ridden whores in Mudd Island.
15 Jun 2011, 15:32 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-128: Not so, who were the form teams on 07 WC? Not France you ignorant twat. Fiji played far fAR better than France, as did Tonga and england and argentina. Nz and Australia boasted big things and where HUMILIATED in their qf. Australia dishing up the worst qf I have ever seen. Closest they got to a try was a pennalty on halfway. did they actually get to the England 22? I cant recall them doing so. then there was nz mauling aimlessly for 20 minutes not having the slightest clue what was going on. thinking they would stroll to victory, bwahahahahahahahaha. go home you worthless racist. you hate saffers so much you hate south africa so much then p!ss off to NZ herald or whatever rat infested hole they dwell in bleating about how they are the best thing in existance. we dont want or need your kind here.
15 Jun 2011, 15:32 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-147: ooohhh angry man trying to prove a point..
here you go idiot..
A baby was bitten to death by rats at Orlando East in Soweto while her mother was out partying at the weekend, The New Age newspaper reported on Thursday. Neighbours said they heard the baby cry in pain in the middle of the night. By morning the baby was found dead, covered in bloody rat bites.
The teenage mother apparently spent the whole night partying while her child was left unattended.
Warrant Officer Bongani Mhlongo said the girl was arrested on Monday, appeared at the Orlando Magistrate’s court and was released on bail.
“We were called to the scene of the death of the infant due to a rat attack on Monday morning around 9am. The mother of the child was arrested and charged with culpable homicide and negligence,” Mhlongo said.
just for you… be proud that this happens in your country, be oh so proud…
15 Jun 2011, 15:33 pm
@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-148: no, you have enough hate there for the entire world, dont you dutchie?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All