KeoTV: Where’s the real Habana?
16 Jun 2011
MARK KEOHANE bemoans Bryan Habana’s lack of pace but says it will be a triumphant Stormers that return from Bloemfontein.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article25 May 2013
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. The Sharks looked to have conjured up a remarkable victory when Charl McLeod scored and Pat Lambie converted in the 75th minute. But within two minutes the Sharks were guilty of a lineout infringement and Steyn punished the lack of discipline. The Sharks had opportunities to sneak the victory in a frantic finish but lacked the decision-making to turn a possession and field position advantage into victory. The Bulls, thanks to Steyn's kicking, consolidated their position at the top of the ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article16 Jun 2011
MARK KEOHANE bemoans Bryan Habana’s lack of pace but says it will be a triumphant Stormers that return from Bloemfontein.
admin has written 339 articles.
5 Dec 2011
26 Nov 2011
Morne Steyn kicked 18 points to beat the Sharks and end the hosts Super Rugby play-off aspirations. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

259 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
16 Jun 2011, 06:26 am
Oh hey! Found him!
http://www4.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Francois+Hougaard+Super+Rugby+Rd+17+Stormers+dxx7g-jORaGl.jpg
Where’s Wally?
16 Jun 2011, 06:31 am
When you get old you lose speed. Easy, really?
16 Jun 2011, 06:46 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2:
You forgot to add…
…and if that is all you have as a rugby player you have nothing left! Easy, really?
16 Jun 2011, 06:49 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-2:
Ja no, I have a similar problem to Habana: in my old age I too am slowing down. I can’t get my food to my mouth before it closes, and then I end up with egg on my face.
Similar processes are at work when Habana turns down a R6 million deal for a contract 3.5 times that amount, and then ends up with nothing.
16 Jun 2011, 07:00 am
Where is the ‘real’ Habana… I ask where are the objective, alert fans during the game…
The ‘real’ Habana made 60% of his team’s ‘turnovers’ against the Bulls, had the most ball-carries out of the backs, was second only to JFourie in line-breaks, made the most distance in metres with a very healthy 78% ball carries over the gain-line…
And all this with two off-loads with by far the best play-maker passes/pass % in the entire team!
His handling/forced errors have let himself down this year… but one only has to look at the errors-per-times-handled stats to see many of his fellow backs are not that flash either… and Brian rarely gets clean ball…
So open your ‘eyes’ ‘real’ fans… Habana’s contribution in the last 3 games has been immense!
16 Jun 2011, 07:10 am
What a laugh – http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Super15/Toulon-Habana-too-expensive-20110615
Me and Gunther were commenting on his worth and the depth of the French club’s pockets. Guess they’ve been watching s15 this year.
16 Jun 2011, 07:12 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-5: Hahahaha! WTF are you talking about. The guy is walking dynamite. Everytime he touches the ball he stuffs up, often giving away tries. Goodbye Habana!
16 Jun 2011, 07:12 am
Poor Bryan.
Bernie made his name gat in France after the last Workd Cup.
And now he thinks he can represent himself?
Japan?
16 Jun 2011, 07:19 am
@onerb(onerb)-6: It just proves he has an over inflated opinion of his own ability. Brian you are ****… retire.
16 Jun 2011, 07:29 am
What a slap in the face. What arrogance from Habs actually – wanting the same as bakkies. Not even Sonny bill was offered that much.
16 Jun 2011, 07:31 am
Franky Steyn is earning more than Bakkies.
Quite a lot more
16 Jun 2011, 07:33 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-5:
Hehehe Bryce, lets have a closer look shall we…
The 60% turnover comes from 2 turnovers with the whole team making a staggering 3 in total. Well done Habana.
But there is more…
Tackles made – 1, yes that is 1 all game long! Oh and 0 assists…
So he made 14 runs but only had 2 line breaks.
But the best is in the last few columns, 3 unforced/forced errors and 7 handling errors. Only player with more was RJ with 8 but keep in mind RJ handled the ball 89 times and Habana 28 times.
Compare that with Schalk who handled the ball 37 times with only 2 handling errors.
16 Jun 2011, 07:33 am
Yeah mate, good luck with that!
16 Jun 2011, 07:49 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-12:
7 handling errors, mate? I watched the game twice; and only remember two – the dropped high ball and the pass that went to Spies’s hands…
16 Jun 2011, 07:57 am
Besides, he got caught by arguably the best SA winger over the past two years – hardly a disgrace – and he’d hardly gotten away. I wonder which other winger the anti-Habana brigade think would have gotten away from Basson in that instance.
16 Jun 2011, 08:06 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-5: It is important to remain objective, but sometimes the stats don’t tell the fully story. I love looking at the player stats but I’m not one to hide behind them like Jakey used to do when he would defend his losses. No one questions Habana’s work rate, it’s his execution that is causing so much concern.
16 Jun 2011, 08:25 am
@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-14:
Watch it again and then take your fight up with the staticians who publish the numbers.
16 Jun 2011, 08:56 am
Damn, every second article is about Habana.
He had a good game on the weekend, ran good angles. Basson was a meter away when he got the ball. Morne managed to tap his ankle as well. Basson is about 15 kg lighter than Habana and very fast.
The fact is though, he will never be as good a player as he used to. Stop expecting so much from him. His career with SA rugby is coming to an end after this year anyway.
16 Jun 2011, 08:59 am
have you seen old Andries with a typical Stormer limp wristed pose on dieburgerdotcom. Hell and he is supposed to be one of their hard men
16 Jun 2011, 09:04 am
As with all players, it gets to the stage where age counts against them (loss of speed, adventure and the fact that the opposition knows all about them) and that’s when your experience really has to come to the fore. Sadly, Habana has failed in that sense and for a winger, they can’t rely on experience for too long (unlike a tight forward) unless they’re shifted to fullback. Well, in Habana’s case, that isn’t realistic so there are two options: the player must drop himself, or his coach must.
In this instance, both parties have failed to make the right – albeit difficult – decision. It’s not just about the player or the team as it is now: it’s about getting succession right and blooding new players without dropping them straight into a WC situation.
16 Jun 2011, 09:05 am
The truth is: Habs never really settled at the Stormers. From day one. Lets be real: the investment failed and one needs to move on. Habs is entitled to ask for what he wants. What he gets is his concern, not ours. He gave SA rugby great service and we should be respectful of that. The business that is the Stormers needs to invest in someone different, like Sadie perhaps, if he is under threat of moving. Denigrating Habs at this stage of his career is disrespectful of his talent and what he’s given to world rugby in terms of pleasure.
16 Jun 2011, 09:06 am
@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-19: never judge a wrist by its limp.
16 Jun 2011, 09:14 am
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-21: 100% correct
16 Jun 2011, 09:15 am
I find it interesting that a lot of bloggers are merciless in there persecution of habana.
But Plod is exemt from any of there acid tongues as he plods along at 1 and occassionally at 2…..really underperforming or sitting on the bench.
All the while habana fronts up week in and week out working his butt off , making tackles and trying maybe too hard to get into form!
At least Habana fronts up and gives it his all….yet we will drop him, but allow the great Bissy and or Beast to be sacrificed at the Altar of the Aura…
Confounds me!
16 Jun 2011, 09:16 am
i never get the trashing of players on a blog, we all cheered this young for so long
yes he is going through some bad form, but one must also he honest he has starting getting better again
16 Jun 2011, 09:19 am
@grant10(grant10)-24: although i agree re habana , thats true BS ur saying that Smit isnt being trashed
come now he takes a bigger trashing then any other player , neither player should be trashed like this, but i dont expect you to agree as i know ur agenda , so be it ,
as for habana soon he will prove most wrong again
16 Jun 2011, 09:25 am
This guy was everyone’s hero 4 years ago, can’t quite understand how people can sommer turn as if they have contracted rabies. Remain decent.
“Merciless persecution” of Smit and Habana, it’s the same thing… and despicably immature.
16 Jun 2011, 09:26 am
What confounds me is how everyone gets worked up over Barney and Habs, and how little gets said about Spies, who’s been nothing but a footnote in this series. In Newlands, he had a gainline success of 33%, 3 handling errors, cost a penalty and made 60m – compared to Habana’s 225. Pathetic!
16 Jun 2011, 09:29 am
@wooden spoon: Plumtree must go(wooden spoon)-27: amen woody
16 Jun 2011, 09:30 am
@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-28: actually if you reaad my posts you will see i dont like the trashing of any players
16 Jun 2011, 09:32 am
@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-28: spies is as bad as plod in my book…..dont deserve the bok spots…passengers of the highest order.
16 Jun 2011, 09:44 am
Spies put in a bigger performance than Vermullet on Saturday.
Expect this trend to continue
16 Jun 2011, 09:53 am
@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-28: I fail to see why everyone only picks on Spies and Habana and Plod, when Morne plays one k@k rugby. Hahahaha!
16 Jun 2011, 09:56 am
Habana needs his general. Fourie Dupreez was wonderful and used to play ball with Brian, now habana needs somebody to pass the ball. he is not like gio, who is industrious and dynamic, habana is a straight running agressive tackling winger. he needs overlaps and opportunities made for him, so I say use him..
16 Jun 2011, 09:57 am
Morne Steyn plays within his limitations. He is no genious or creative attacking player. however his boot is the most accurate in world rugby.
16 Jun 2011, 10:17 am
Habadonna’s form is an issue with many sportsman. The truelly brilliant ones pick themselves off the canvas, re-invent themselves and come back stronger abd better. Time will judge Brian if he is truelly brilliant. I hope so but I think those close to him, his agent, are not giving him the right feedback.
IMHO he has failed, like so many Saffa players, to develop his game. Sure he has increased his work rate recently and he has stopped diving but what is required is new skill sets.
Some gooseteps, jinking or sidesteps like Mbovane or Hougie…
Today the players are over analysed and any defeciency is picked up. In fact Im surprised it took so long to work out he jumps out of the defensive line. If this was cricket he would have been out!!!
For the Boks sake I hope to SHOUT BRIAN IS BACK!!!! Give him the ******* ball.
16 Jun 2011, 10:18 am
The Cheetahs wont consider this game a loss as they are going to give the game away. Cheetahs and Hansie are synominous!
16 Jun 2011, 10:21 am
Please stop this KeoTV thing….its terrible. Stick to writing or lay off the marshmallows….
16 Jun 2011, 10:23 am
these schmucks with their idiotic statistics must rather apply such horsesh’t on their stocks and shares trading. rugby is hardly about statistics unless you trying to prove to yourself or to somebody you know wtf you comparing with when clearly you don’t. Nobody needs to consult statistics to check a good rugby player from a kak one. Your eyes can tell you that at first glance. Habana got a major problem with his attitude and his overrated ego. He ain’t such a bad guy but his poor over inflated head is stuffing him and his game around. That’s what happens when ego gets in the way of reality, a hard look re assessment has to take place. Funny how everyone still back all these under performing Jakey Fakey stars just because their aura and reputations suggest they must. In my book the 4 most overrated players that should not get considered for WC 2011 are the 4 pillars of Fakey’s success. Smit, FdP, Habana and Burger should all give way to better more qualified players if Boks want any chance at this years WC success.
16 Jun 2011, 10:28 am
why not an article on john smit,the biggest and fattest arse currently in real life and on national or satellite tv?stats at least show that habana is the most industrious winger around.first get rid of TYRONE’S useless fatboy,john smit,before directing your keo knives at habana.
16 Jun 2011, 10:30 am
I actually enjoy Keo TV guys, keep it up.
Something to look forward to in the evenings after work!
16 Jun 2011, 10:32 am
Made the most distance in meters…
You would expect that from a winger who just fielded a kick and running at pace back at the opposition!
16 Jun 2011, 10:32 am
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-40: Yes why not an article about Smit… or Spies for that matter.
16 Jun 2011, 10:36 am
just popped in before setting off for a youth day engagement to honour the fallen heroes so brutally oppressed by these so-called cape liberals aspoeslappie and his fellow nazi-loving sadf mates,who on this day went through the townships like a hurricane and destroyed everything in their path.
16 Jun 2011, 10:37 am
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-44:
Dooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooos!
16 Jun 2011, 10:38 am
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-44: see you later aspoeslappie.
16 Jun 2011, 10:39 am
Talking about speed – and I agree that a winger without the minimum requirement as to take-off, dash and all-out speed and I mean all of them, should not even be considered – why cannot we have a comparative between the top wingers? Surely it must be available somewhere…
Methinks it could relieve some pressure on some players, and add motivation/pressure where it is needed – and then we shall all know a bit more about the topic that we are going off about at the time.
And how about comparing the same players’ stats year-on-year too?
16 Jun 2011, 10:42 am
@grant10(grant10)-24:
Jeez give it a break dude, you harp on ad nauseam about Smit. Everyone knows your opinion, the more you say it will not change anything ……….FFS
16 Jun 2011, 10:50 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-39:
The last sentence. That is what has now made your opinion worthless. @Tbozknows(Tbozknows)-34:
Agree with him missing du Preez. Think back to how many tries du Preez set up for him. Habana hasn’t played with du Preez since 2009. Habana has been poor since then.
16 Jun 2011, 10:51 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-39:
Hahaha! True mate: Stats don’t tell the whole picture. They won’t tell you how much off-the-ball work a player does, how vital a tackle, or steal was; or how hard a hit was.
But they do illuminate. If you needed proof of how bad a player Habana has been in the past year, the game against the Bulls was not it.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All