KeoTV: Where’s the real Habana?

MARK KEOHANE bemoans Bryan Habana’s lack of pace but says it will be a triumphant Stormers that return from Bloemfontein.

259 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-148:

I also prefer the “Old Format” Puma.

But cannot deny that this format, has produced a last round of matches like no other.

Every match has a significance.

• 152.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Saturday’s final pool game of the 2011 Vodacom Super Rugby tournament for The Sharks presents a thrilling encounter between two old foes, a derby game of massive proportions and a result that is likely to knock one team out of the Final Series.
    With the seventh-placed Waratahs taking on the Brumbies, a win will see them into the top six at the expense of either The Sharks or Bulls, while a loss for the Sydney side would render The Sharks-Bulls result of no consequence aside from final log position and opponent in the Qualifiers.

The Waratahs will certainly attach the same importance to their game as The Sharks and Bulls, which presents an exciting finale to the pool stages.

In changes from last week, Eugene van Staden makes way for Jannie du Plessis and brother Bismarck starts at hooker. Alistair Hargreaves will partner Gerhard Mostert in the second row after the loss of Steven Sykes to injury, meaning Ross Skeate comes into the Matchday 22 while the loose-forward trio sees Jean Deysel back in the side after missing the last two games, pairing up with Keegan Daniel and Ryan Kankowski.

Amongst the backs, Frederic Michalak gets his first start in three years (he last wore the number 10 jersey for The Sharks in their successful 2008 Absa Currie Cup campaign) which means a shift back to fullback for Patrick Lambie in a position he started his Vodacom Super Rugby career (last year).

Coach John Plumtree has opted for a 5-2 split weighed heavily towards forwards for what is expected to be a massive physical battle upfront.

Plumtree admits that The Sharks are most likely the underdogs for this match with the Bulls chasing a seventh straight victory. “We have plenty to lose and don’t want to be knocked out of this competition. We do want to worry about the Brumbies-Waratahs score, although I guess we will keep a close eye on it. We’ll know what we need to do before the game.

“From the Bulls’ perspective, there is a lot of emotion, a few of their guys having their last game. But we’re a proud bunch of guys, we don’t want to go up there and roll over and die for the Bulls. We want to play some good rugby, that’s our aim. We need to get our strategy right and make sure that everything else in terms of attitude and commitment is there and we can give them a good go.”

He adds that there couldn’t be a bigger challenge for his team as they travel to take on the champions who have rediscovered their form after a slower start than usual. “They’re a great side with some great leaders and they’ve found some real momentum,” he says.

“Their confidence would have been boosted after beating the Stormers in Cape Town and they have got plenty to play for this week which will spur them on. And it’s the same with us.”

The Sharks

1. Tendai Mtawarira
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    4. Gerhard Mostert
    5. Alistair Hargreaves
    6. Keegan Daniel
    7. Jean Deysel
    8. Ryan Kankowski
    9. Charl McLeod
    10. Frederic Michalak
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    12. Meyer Bosman
    13. Stefan Terblanche (Captain)
    14. JP Pietersen
    15. Patrick Lambie

Replacements
    16. John Smit
    17. Wiehahn Herbst
    18. Ross Skeate
    19. Willem Alberts
    20. Marcell Coetzee
    21. Adrian Jacobs
    22. Louis Ludik

• 153.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

back again,and i see wallaby whipped heavens game’s arse 6love 6love.

• 154.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

now TYRONE is bringing his articles from the koeksister blog to keo.co.za.

• 155.cane: Reply to this comment

@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-154:

F**k Valkyrie,

That’s a bit harsh on gunther.

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-152: nice team SL….

I would have had Burden on bench and Adi at 13, but let me tell you that is a damn fine team…..sharks by 6

• 157.Ethel: Reply to this comment

Dit is belangrik dat die Bulls Saterdag wen. Ons het die twee beste spanne nodig in die uitspeelronde van die kompetisie.

• 158.cane: Reply to this comment

@Ethel(Ethanol)-157:

I love it when you talk dirty

• 159.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Ethel(Ethel)-157: Als Sharks wen het jy die twee beste dan :wink:

• 160.Ethel: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-158:

Loooonnnng time Caneballetjie. The only cane of any use at the moment is the one with coke. :lol:

• 161.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-159: i reckon sharks will take a narrow win now….nice balance to that team….the frenchman will have bulls sleeping uneasy….lambie may bring Mvovo and JPP more into the game…..not carrying plod will be a boost…i like that sharks front row.

here comes an upset !

• 162.Ethel: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-159:

Naai man! Noord en Suid is by vere die beste. Die res is net inposters.

• 163.Number15: Reply to this comment

@Mustard(Mustard)-141:

Put boys (I struggle to imagine they’re grown men) behind keyboards, they’re anonymous and suddenly their true nature comes through. If I were Keo I’d be ashamed at some of the comments that go on here. I would immediately implement a system where no personal, national, racial, religious insults are allowed and clamp down harshly. Maybe, just maybe, people will get back to discussing rugby. Though with some people openly admitting that they’re only here to insult and get a rise out of others (you know who you are), I doubt it.

• 164.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Sharks have an untested half back combination that could fail spectacularly (and at best not be much better than Lambie and Mcloed) , same sterile centre pairing, lambie at FB , has not played there in over a year, Deysel just coming back, new lock combo ??

I think the Bully boys won’t be losing too much sleep !!

• 165.Ethel: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-158:

Djou hol en ethenol. Eish

• 166.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Hate it when a future Bok FH has to make way for a French discard !!

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-164: LOL

Bulls going down in tears………52000 bully brekers crying into their beers….

• 168.Ethel: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-166:

It could be a blessing in disguise. Anything could confuse the Bulls.

• 169.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-166: sadie with stormers till 2013….

• 170.Ethel: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-167:

I doubt it.

• 171.Ethel: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-169:

What a wise boy.

• 172.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-155: cane the oke is trash man , its how he gets off everyday

as you can see he also tries to lure me into his rubbish with little snide comments
    , he is nothing other then a spineless rat

other then that how you doing mate?? :lol:

• 173.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-167:

I agree with JR.

I reckon the Bulls will win once more this season and then they will travel overseas and lose. Sharkf ans will wash cars and mow lawns next weekend as the Waratahs will surely beat the useless Brumbies.

Stormers to win by 7-10.

btw. did you see Vickerman is back and on the bench for the Tahs?

• 174.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-167:

Nah, these sharkies are basking sharks, no bite I am afraid !!!

• 175.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-169: sadie will stay a stormer and hougaard will stay a bull
    its all just press rumours

• 176.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

love the sharks team without plodman…..hopefuly he will pull a hammie sitting on the bench and thus leaving bissy on for the full 80.go sharks!!

• 177.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-173: @justrugby(justrugby)-174: LOL….Ja….well I am not so convinced those Bullys are that good, stormers were just plain kak man!

Anyway…at least if sharks lose these sharkies can go score points with there boyfriends by going to the malls and doing the shopping.

us stormers okes gonna get kak from our ladies for a while yet…

• 178.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-172: chillax TYRONE.

• 179.cane: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-166:

I agree, Freddie, Butch, etc do nothing for SA Rugby.

Why should SA Rugby do anything for them.

• 180.grant10: Reply to this comment

affies and grey like a test match

• 181.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-161: Hell I hope so G10 and agree with you re: the set up. Barney is not bringing the fire to the tight five and neither is Sykes by the way. This looks like a better balance to the loose trio as well given that Alberts is suffering with his shoulder. We have to run their forwards off their feet and then unleash Alberts and that new flanker (he looks like a great player in the making). However I do rate their loose trio (Pottie and Steggies are good at the breakdown) and if they are given room to play then we are in for some damage limitation.

• 182.Michael: Reply to this comment

Come on Chilliboy, show the Cruiser who is baas :-)
    Bulls to take this.

• 183.kwas: Reply to this comment

Hey, Keo, why not juice up this Keo TV kuk and get the likes of Keo legends like Skopskiet and Co. to strut their stuff in front of the cameras?

• 184.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-177:

LOL !!

Well them Cheetahs are going to make it difficult, we lose and have to travel I think that will be that for the Stormers !!!

• 185.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see butch got nailed with 4 weeks!

at least plum dropped that bloody useless plod.

if he started bulls would have cruised home.

• 186.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-173: I’ve got a bottle of red wine that says you are wrong. I’m coming out in July and will collect if you like :lol:

• 187.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

except for willem alberts ,the sharks bench looks very brittle.

• 188.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-184: we will beat cheetahs 6 love

farkem….we desperate

just hope chiefs do us a moerse favour!

• 189.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-181: hiyas piesangs

Atleast with deysel and bissy there you will see us hitting the rucks , well with jannie too

last week was pathetic to watch as we stood back at every ruck

• 190.grant10: Reply to this comment

morne steyn will be so bamboozled by that frenchie he will be clutching air all day.

• 191.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-188: Unlikely but hopeful too!

@grant10(grant10)-190: Steyn will leave the Frenchie gasping. The Frog doesn’t have bmt.

• 192.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-191: m steyn has the flair of plod……fokkall

• 193.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems duvenhage may miss game….ofh hell man….hope schreuder up to it

• 194.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-189: HIyas SL I didn’t see the game, was at a rugby barbecue and only saw the highlights. What I read on here though is that our tight 5 was missing in the 1st half.

• 195.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-194: plod took them all out to mcdonalds.

• 196.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-194: yes bro they were but also daniel and botes got whipped on the day, to be fair to daniel however he got injured early in the match but soldiered on

Lambie was brilliant again and mcleod was better for a change

bosman good game and strong on defence ,still lacks that attacking edge
    stefan had a poor game as did ludick

wings both good

• 197.nama1: Reply to this comment

So, Keo predicts a Stormers victory.

Vokkit Keo!!! Damn you!!!

• 198.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-197: :mrgreen: you know what this means dont you Nyama?? :lol:

• 199.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-196: What bothers me about the SA sides in general is that they are more afraid to lose than desiring to win. If you look at the Ozzies psyche they will back themselves to the hilt and are willing to try things at the risk of losing think of Kurtley Beale, O’Connor etc. These guys are creative as a result. SA sides and players are just **** scared of losing and one can understand why we when you see the comments by fans on this site.

• 200.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Must be nice being a Stormer this week , no stress when you lose to the Cheetahs cos you know you in the semis come what may :mrgreen:

Sharks/Bulls game going to be scary i think, and hope there wont be any serious injuries, the teams will not be holding back. Last 2 games on Saturday going to be brilliant, Stormers want a win after last week and Cheetahs want to win because they know they are capable and want ot prove a point.

S H A R K S S S S S S S S S

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.