World Cup latest – Poms reel in another Saffa brings you the World Cup news.

Poms reel in another Saffa -South African-born lock Mouritz Botha has been named in England’s 45-man World Cup training squad.

The Saracens second-rower is highly rated by head coach Martin Johnson and is a strong contender for the final 30-man squad to compete in New Zealand in September/October.

Botha, who played club rugby for the Bedford Blues from 2006 to 2009 before his move to Saracens, made his international debut for England Saxons at the Churchill Cup in Canada this year.

Former Cheetahs flanker Hendré Fourie is also named in the squad, as well as South African-born prop Matt Stevens, who returned from a drug ban this season, and former Crusaders No 8 Thomas Waldrom.

Former Sharks centre Brad Barritt was a surprise omission.

England’s 45-man World Cup training squad:

Forwards: Mouritz Botha (Saracens), George Chuter (Leicester Tigers), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers), Paul Doran-Jones (Northampton Saints), Nick Easter (Harlequins), Hendre Fourie (Sale Sharks), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Unattached), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Lee Mears (Bath Rugby), Lewis Moody (Bath Rugby), Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), Tim Payne (London Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Simon Shaw (London Wasps), Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks), Matt Stevens (Saracens), Steve Thompson (London Wasps), Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers), David Wilson (Bath Rugby), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), Joe Worsley (London Wasps).

Backs: Delon Armitage (London Irish), Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints), Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby), Danny Care (Harlequins), Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Riki Flutey (London Wasps), Ben Foden (Northampton Saints), Shontayne Hape (London Irish), Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby), Joe Simpson (London Wasps), James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby), David Strettle (Saracens), Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby), Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).