KeoTV: Backing Smitty

MARK KEOHANE says John Smit will start against Wales at the RWC. Accept it and move on.

457 Comments

• 1.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

The intro and heading sounds very sensible, but I am not seeing any ‘TV’

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

Non merit quota.

• 3.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Okay finally got the TV bit.

Grant, Keo is referring to you in there! :)

• 4.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2: Grantie, can we make a deal, now that it’s been confirmed, that you no longer broach the topic?

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

forget it, everyone celebrates when january is dropped but we must support “smitty” f*ck that!

• 6.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-3:

• 7.HHS: Reply to this comment

Smit was huffing and puffing after the Bulls and Sharks game this weekend.
    The guy’s biggest problem is he is unfit…. in a pro sport it’s a big NO!
    Hit the spinning bike boetie.

• 8.willievz: Reply to this comment

Like I said earlier – Smit is not the second best hooker in the country, not by a long shot.

But he is the best bench option for the Boks as he covers loosehead as well.

• 9.grant10: Reply to this comment

i will never support Smit…ever.

Forget it….

He knows he is a passenger….and doesent care….the fact that much better players like Guthro,Beast ,Bissy may be sacrificed for Smit is just plain unfair ….stuff that and stuff smit if he allows this to continue.

Tears come quarter finals ….and then we talk again

• 10.grant10: Reply to this comment

and Keo says dont call him fararse or lard….

I dont…

I call him plod.

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-7: the guy would’ve played more last saturday but he had diarrhea and his hammy was twitching, what else do you want from him?

• 12.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-8: This is a John Smit thread, don’t try and talk sense … you are just wasting your time. It’s a lunatic thread where all you should do is rant and rave with very little to back yourself up other than dislike for a man that has brought more success to the Bok jersey than any other before him.

• 13.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-10: nice to see you obey keo!

• 14.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-11: When I have the shinz I don’t go to work. We cannot question his commitment…
    Well done Smit….. back to the bike you go.

• 15.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-12: so you saying he is there on merit?

If not debate is over.

• 16.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-11:

When you’re sliding into first
    And your pants begin to burst
    That’s diarrhea, diarrhea

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-12: smit “brought” success but is not bringing zilch at the moment! the world cup is in september and the big question is, is smit the best or 2nd best at hooker in the country on CURRENT form?!

• 18.Caper: Reply to this comment

John Smit is the greatest Springbok captain of all time, no doubt, but he was never the best hooker in the country (or at his province) during his captaincy. He should have stepped down after the 2007 RWC or after the 2009 Lions Tour. At the moment he reminds me of an African/Middle Eastern dictator. He refuses to step down or admit that he lacks in form and ability.

If he had stepped down in 2009 there would have been enough time to select, groom and prepare a new Springbok captain to lead us to out third William Webb Ellis trophy. Victor Matfield was his vice captain for years and he had more than enough experience to successfully take over the captaincy and provide Smitty a dignified and proud end to his unbelievable career.

No it is too late to select a new captain less than three months before the tournament starts. We are stuck with him. He is the white elephant of SA rugby. The Sharks have learned to not play him the hard way. When Smit is selected over Bismarck or at prop the Sharks struggle during scrum time and lack a strong front row ball carrier. The Sharks would not have won against the Bulls if John Smit had played. Bismarck’s lineout throws, defense, ball carrying and scrumming was a huge part of there massive victory at the Bull ring.

But Smitty has to play at the World Cup. He has to be the captain. There is not enough time to replace him. It is too crucial a role. Let’s hope PdV will employ a smart and rational solution to the dilemma. Bismarck du Plessis can add a lot to the Boks’ World Cup defense. And Smit cannot be played at prop. He is not a prop. If I were the coach, I would use Smit as official captain of the team, but play him from the bench. Between Beast, Mujati, Jannie duP and Guthro we have more than enough quality props. Bismarck should start and Chilliboy should play against the minnows and be the third choice hooker.

The fact has been proven by the Sharks’ Super Rugby campaign: John Smit, as a player, is a liability. He is, however, the only person in this country who can captain the Boks to a World Cup victory.

• 19.charo: Reply to this comment

hahahaha…………….

seems like keo is in a good mood today….

and decided to have some with a group of the bloggers.

and now he is sitting back chuckling at the indignation.

• 20.charo: Reply to this comment

some “fun” with……

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: :mrgreen:

• 22.Caper: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-17: Smit is not in the top 2 hookers in SA.

1. Bismarck du Plessis
    2. Chilliboy
    3. Adriaan Strauss
    4. Tiaan Liebenberg (still settling in after an injury, but he has done much more than Smit)
    5. Gary Botha
    6. John Smit

It is the sad truth. Although your opinion could differ slightly, John Smit is not, on current form, one of SA’s best hookers. I consider Smit lucky to be number 6. Deon Fourie, Bandise Maku – both guys who have done a lot more for their teams this year than Smit.

• 23.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-15: @Transformation(Transformation)-17: Yes he is there on merit … as a leader. He won’t be the first captain in any sport across the friggin globe not to be the absolute best in his position. Was Francois Pienaar the best loosie at the time? No, not by a long shot. Towards the end of his career was Dallaglio the best England had.

So Strauss and Chilliboy may be better on form right now … but would I want Strauss calling the shots and throwing to locks he has never played more than a handful of games with against the AB’s with a lineout on our 5 m line with 5 mins to go and a 3 point lead. NO i wouldn’t it.

If Smit doesn’t retire from test rugby after the WC, you have all the right to continue your rants, until then I reserve the right to have him there as one of the most respected leaders currently in the game. And you go to war with a leader, not a hotshot sniper.

• 24.cab: Reply to this comment

It is not correct that he is picked over Bismarck, Beast or Gurthro. He’s lead the Boks well and won an RWC, and will be a valuable addition to the squad, but now its time to operate from the bench.

The balance in the pack has now shifted slightly past its sell by date. Bakkies knees are problematic, tho he’s still key for half a game. Smit, Matfield and Spies dont bring the intensity required and all three together in the same pack are a resep for failure against the top teams – schalk and juan are also ageing. All of the top 10 teams has a better TH than the Boks.

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

bull s hit that he has to captain bioks….

a slap in the face of Matfield, JDV, Schalk and J Smith….

Absolute drivel, rubbish, gross stupidity to think we need plod there….he is absolutely a non entity.

I simply will not be able to bring myself to support such a player that clearly values himself more than his teammates…

• 26.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Caper(Caper)-18: Exactly why must he step down? He does not pick himself. Do you think this is some Hollywood romance where the right thing is done and old yeller is put to sleep and the Titans win it in the end for a paralysed teammate?

The selectors choose him – they give him the job – and neither you nor I know what they tell the man. He is doing is job.

• 27.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

this RWC campaign has disaster written all over it… at this point i’d settle for a semi-final exit against NZ

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-23: mate….you can come with all your clever sniper chirps…..fact is plod is simply farken klaar, kaput …….

and sharks know it…..

But Boks gotta make room for him?

Fark that….

bench him .

• 29.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Caper(Caper)-22: Schalk Brits better too…

• 30.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-25: Yeah Matfield, the guy that did so well captaining against Scotland last year. Aren’t you always criticising Schalk as captain of the Stormers? J Smith – we don’t even know if he will make the WC. De Villiers – walking friggin WC injury.

• 31.puff: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-23:

Well, Strauss spent a good few years at the Bulls throwing to the likes of Bakkies, Big Vic and Pakslae.
    But I don’t dispute anything else you wrote.

• 32.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-29:

Never quite rated him, he is great in space, but he has no power in contact.

• 33.puff: Reply to this comment

Some clarity please – my memory’s a little fuzzy.
    Just out of interest…
    In the 2007 RWC, was Vickery captain of England?
    And did he play off the bench in quite a few games?

• 34.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Caper(Caper)-18:

Players play. That is their job.

Most of them will not willingly retire when the gravy train still steams away. Smit is still in his early 30s and most people retire in their early 60s. So of course he will still stick around.

It is up to the selectors to drop players when they feel it is time to do so.

• 35.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-30: And on current form (Grant’s only criteria) JdJ is a better 12 than De Villiers anyway.

• 36.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-27: so losing against the no 1 team in the world at home in the 2nd last match of the tournament is a disaster?

• 37.cab: Reply to this comment

if they actually just combined a bit of brains and balance, rather than simply keeping the status quo or completely throwing out the baby with the bathwater or, if they just tweaked it a bit, rather than the all or nothing approach, SA could have a very good chance of defending their title but the noises are not good.

• 38.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-36: losing 5….1 after winning tri nations in 2009 is you stupid plonker

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-35: at least JDJ and JDV are actively playing you silly tool….

Plod cant play….and when he does the sharks get turbo reversed and lose [ when he plays prop ] and Bissy too damn good to drop….

wake up and stop trying to be a smart alec!

• 40.HHS: Reply to this comment

Look I made peace with the fact that Smit will play. What he must do now is to put Mortal Kombat away… dust of the Kinect and start jumping. Or he should be in his Adidas track suit next to the field shouting instructions to the players…. or do a Rassie sign thingie from the roof.

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-23: here we go, with the tried and trusted francois pienaar chestnut…pienaar might not have been the best BUT he was FIT, he could compete on the same level as his opposition.

Smit was blowing HARD last year already! this year Plum has played mind games with south africans for the duration of super rugby! even ardent sharks fans will tell you the guy is NOT the best 2 and not even the best hooker and some are silently praying that Burden actually takes the field in Nelson.

the sharks can win currie cups and beat the bulls in crunch games without john but the boks are useless without him? yeah right :roll:

• 42.ali: Reply to this comment

in 1999 Teichmann was also considered over-the-hill, slow and jaded. He was replaced with a younger model, and captaincy given to one of his deputies. End result: Joost failed in captaincy, and the team failed in World Cup.

Similarities?

• 43.puff: Reply to this comment

I cannot believe the man knows he is a passenger, like some people on this site claim.
    He would be insane to do this if he didn’t believe in himself and have the conviction.
    And he is not insane.
    I back John Smit.
    Who’s making the bumper stickers?
    I’ll buy one.

• 44.grant10: Reply to this comment

@ali(ali)-42: no similarities at all…..

Plod cant play at this level anymore…..Teichmann at the time could, even though most of you foolds forget Teich [ who i respect big time ] had loads of injuries as well…

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-38: no namecalling please…

• 46.cab: Reply to this comment

I am a smit supporter, but i wont support his selection over bismarck or beast or gurhtro – these are massivelty important and energetic weapons in an ageing pack. Smit has done very well for SA, but like Watson and Brits and White, as Bok supporters our allegiance is to the team, not the individual, best they realise that. i also wont be happy if smit is mal-using his position to keep other players out when it is their time and he has had his. im also slightly troubled at where the hell johan muller came from.

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-43: just keep them stickers off my car mate!

• 48.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-32:

He is very good at dominating the space in front of him and trying to avoid collusion, adding to his meters gained in this fashion.

This contrasts to the method of someone like say Alberts who dominates the defender in front of him and looks to collide rather than avoid it.

Two different styles of ball carrying, and I think the Brits method is a skill well worth admiring.

Support play also enters the equation here…

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-41: not the best 1…

• 50.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-39: Dude, back off on the personal remarks as you are the one who threw a ****** fit when your family was dragged into arguments.

My point being: If merit is the only criteria (as per you), how is JdV a captaincy option if, on merit (at present), he’s not the best 12 in SA?
    You are all over the place, contradicting yourself multiple times, making it difficult to see your attacks on Smit as to be rugby related only.

• 51.grant10: Reply to this comment

enough from me…

farken blood pressure through the roof

will hit the tub with the ducky..

• 52.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

If Smit starts,which he will-fair enough.But the following stipulations must be put in place if Boks are to be successful in RWC 2011

-Smit doesnt play longer than 45-50 min MAX
    -with Smit in starting lineup Boks cant start Spies.physicality in tight phases as well as loose rucks etc is compromised with both in lineup.
    -Smit must start with Botha,Matfield,Smith-lineout fulcrum and launch of SA attacking platform.

• 53.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-48:

It works for him as he has the pace no doubt.

But remember in test rugby, and I would even venture Super Rugby (over the leagues he plays in now) space is perhaps more limited so avoiding contact especially as a tight forward and your general field positions becomes that much harder.

• 54.charo: Reply to this comment

whether they are correct or not……………

every single ex bok questioned has said that it is imperative that smit leads the boks at the world cup.

and these include blokes like robbie fleck (which surprised me)

• 55.puff: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-47:

Your choice ;-)

• 56.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-41: Test rugby and Super rugby are 2 very different games. We all so us crush England in the rounds but have to grind it out in the finals in 2007 against the same team. And the Sharks have another very EXPERIENCED leader in Terblanche. Also Plum has been rotating his entire pack, not just Smit and Bismarck and maybe it has worked, other than the Lions being the stumble a couple of weeks ago.

The All Blacks and the Aussies had better teams and players but failed in 2007 becuse they lacked leadership – couldn’t change their gameplan when it mattered. Same happened with Big Vic against Scotland.

We were in the same position against Fiji in the quarters – on comes smitty and the old heads to turn that around.

If he was going to be dropped, it should have happened already. Now its too late and would be a bad move in my opinion. Even if he is only on the bench the whole tournament, he adds more than a better player than can only bring hooking.

• 57.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-51:
    yip, hop skip and a jump, oink oink. surfs up.

• 58.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I can confirm that Earl Rose will not feature in the semi’s and possible final for the Stormers.

• 59.HHS: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-58: RugbyGenius is going to be pi$$ed.

• 60.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-52:

Agreed.
    Smit starts at 2 with Brussow at openside and Burger at 8.
    Aplon at left wing or fullback.

• 61.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-53:

Give me the Bismarck-model any day!

• 62.charo: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-50:

mate, we all know it started around the time of the launch of smit’s book.

us long suffering bloggers have had to put up with it 24/7 for years now.

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-50: mate…..

smit is not even playing anymore….that is a reality….plum is hiding him, he is tweaking hammies, kakk ing his undies, etc, etc…..he simply does not warrant a place on merit.

If he keeps Bissy ….beast….guthro out a starting team we will be weaker….those are the farken facts!

Now I am saying if this great oke knows this, which he farken must do as he is not thick , then he should walk away , or at least tell PDV he is happy to sit on bench.

But here we have keo saying smit will start ……!

It freaks me out, because I watch that oke closely, and I swear he is a has been of note…..Spies is also a non performer favorite of pdvs….that is two farken passengers…..now do some maths my man….6 forwards agaonst 8 is a farken tough call….,.and as Cab says…some other aging legs there too !

So i get the moer in upset, because i know the kak is coming mate….and then its farken tears and teeth gnashing….

and the most frustrating thing is i believe we are good enough, but have to be ruthless in our selections….

and we wont be….and it freaks me out…big time…

okay

• 64.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-52: I posted on another thread that I simply cannot see a spot for Bakkies anymore.

But let’s say you play him.

What would you do with Bekker and Rossouw? Bench them both?

@puff(puff)-60: Agree with Brussow / Burger.

• 65.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-63: kakk ing his undies

Lol.

I shouldnt, but that was funny.

I could rage on about this but from experience I know you will just rage back.
    No point.
    Enjoy the waves.
    (Isnt it raining in CT btw?)

• 66.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-60:

Would like to see this team in 3N away LEG

1.Guthro
    2.Rallapelle
    3.Kruger
    4.Rossouw
    5.Matfield(c)
    6.Brussow
    7.Burger
    8.Johnson

9.Du Preez
    10.Butch
    11.Mvovo
    12.de Jongh
    13.Fourie
    14.JP
    15.Aplon

• 67.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-63: Weird how people use different criteria for different players. Smit is “not even playing”, and therefore should not be there. Yet, players like Guthro (out for 3 months now), Smith, Brussouw, F. Steyn (hasn’t been in SA) are all automatic inclusions.

Fact is the WC is different from Tri-Nations, not even talking about Superugby. A guy like Smit is needed. Remember 1999? Teichman dropped? It would be bye-bye Boks if Smit gets dropped now. A VERY BIG BYE-BYE.

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-52: what is the point of the guy playing only 45-50 minutes?

what was the score going into the 60th minute of the Test at soccer city? how about the last all black test at newlands? the score was 5-0 going into the last 15 min, of what value will a tired smit sitting on the bench be when the abs are launching a full-on attack like they did in hamilton in 2009 where the boks were saved by an over-cooked carter cross-kick?

just asking.

• 69.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Keo?? You sitting back mate and have a good laugh???? :lol:

• 70.Hipponinja: Reply to this comment

Haha pathetic. They probaly gona play matfield,bakies botha and juan de villiers aswell. We wont even qualify

• 71.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Hipponinja(Hipponinja)-70: You mean Bakkies and Jean?

• 72.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-66:

Good team.
    Not sold on Kruger though.
    Tighthead is a real issue.
    Other than that happy with Bok depth in every other position.
    Not happy Vermeulen is crocked!

• 73.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Hipponinja(Hipponinja)-70: Juan de Villiers?
    They tied the knot?
    Only in Cape Town…

• 74.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-64:

If Bakkies starts a 4 which is most likely.Rossouw will always trump Bekker in the squad dynamic/22.That allows you to select a full front row on bench if you are anticipating a forward onslaught,or a wider backline group on bench 4-3 split etc

Bench IMO:

16.Bismark
    17.Guthro
    18.Rossouw
    19.Alberts
    20.Pienaar
    21.M.Steyn
    22.F.Steyn

• 75.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-67: eish boet , the smit haters here try convince us they dont, there hate for him has nothing and i mean NOTHING TO DO WITH RUGBY

it has everything to do with Smits Book, where he said, and i quote , the team is referring to luke watson as the cancer in the team

and 90% of those in here hate him for that reason as they still on an apartheid crusade , they our local freedom fighters lol

fact is smitty didnt say watson is the cancer , but is referred to as such by the team

Of course they read it as they want and thus for 4 years we have had this stupid **** day in and day out

they didnt cry when chili was playing rubbish and stayed in the bok team , I’ll be the first to admit that chilli is really playing great rugga now and deserves his call up

but as much as they will try deny it?????

THE HATING OF JOHN SMIT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH RUGBY

• 76.Divz: Reply to this comment

If Smit is such an important leader take him with as a non playing captain not even on the bench. Juan Smith (if fit) to lead the boks on the field with tricky vic as VC i dont think Rassie going to play Smit if he is not up to it …. so lets just relax. Sad really Smit was huge SA hero afetr 2007 which will quickly turn to most hated by 2011 if the right things not done.

• 77.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-68:

Transie, I agree, but remember – his value is not only determined by him coming on as a replacement / impact player, but in terms of covering an injury.

And he covers both 2 and 1. Resources are limited in a 22-man squad.

In addition, you don’t always need to use all 22 players in a match (even though I strongly recommend you do more often than not) – but how many subs did Jake White bring on in the 2007 final?

• 78.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Keo , me lad , most here still dont get the “MESSAGE” :lol: :lol:

• 79.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-66: Excellent team

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-62: you lie, grant has been against smit playing tighthead since pdv announced it in 2008, john’s book came at the end of 2009. some of us “long suffering bloggers” speak the truth.

• 81.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

I kinda also bashed Smit for a while, as well as PdV. I then bought his book to read on my flights overseas. It puts into perspective what happened regarding all those losses in 2006, as well as the ‘miraculous turnarounds’ such as whopping the Ausies by 50 points in Johannesburg. It also puts into perspective just how important the captaining role is of a national team.

What most of you seem to be forgetting, is that John Smit has somewhat of a ‘father figure’ in this Springbok team. Yes, it is true that he is not the best number 2 in the country, but what do you think will happen when players like FdP, JdV, Victor, Bakkies, Schalk and all the other starting veterans will feel like when he is suddenly not their leader anymore? The players trust him, and listen to him. They know how to turn situations around, and know what to do when he gives them their instructions.

Smit is there because the team functions like a family. He is the leader, and the father figure of the team. I know it sounds corny, but the reality is, that Smit is still the nucleus of the Springbok team, and he is the one that can ensure that our other veterans, as well as newcomers look up to him, and play like a single unit.

That’s what I think anyway.

• 82.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-75: I agree. It has nothing to do with how he plays, it is who he is. Simple as that.

@Divz(Divz)-76: If Smit is to take the blame if we lose, he should take the credit if we win.

• 83.puff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-80:

There is a difference between not wanting Smit to play tighthead and not wanting him to be:
    Bok Captain
    In the world cup squad
    Playing at 2 for the national team
    Being an onfield starter

• 84.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-75:

The inclusion of JS in the Bok side has nothing to do with rugby, if it did he would be nowhere near that side.

All agendas and promises made and money to be earned , nothing more nothing less !!!

Greed ,ego and shady deals ruling the roost here, but if it makes you happy that Smit will start ahead of Bissy or Beast then good on you.

It makes me pis s blood though as I want the Best palying for the Boks !!!

• 85.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Hahahahaha… Keo says : “Don’t call him lard, Don’t call him fat arse….”

• 86.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-84: Go see a doctor.

• 87.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-85: I must confess, I dont bother watching these clips, I head straight to the comments.

• 88.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-81:

You obviously entitled to your opinion, my take is that the Boks are not a high school team ,they are pro athletes and many are captains of their Provinces, surely they don’t need a father figure around to ensure everyone is happy ??

coaches and support staff , kop doctors are there etc !!

I ask the question again, what happens if smit is taken out by a bus tomorrow ??

Suddenly the Boks going to fall apart ?????????? …….not on your ninny !!!!

• 89.cab: Reply to this comment

actually the boks had one of their greatest seasons ever when smit was at TH (beast and bis at 1 and 2 respectively), winning a lions series and a 3N including a cleansweep of the ABs.

We got creamed in the Lions test when rallapelle started at hooker, tho that was also with johan muller at lock and kanko at 8thman.

• 90.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-87: Usually I do too, but it was funny to hear someone actually say it. :lol:

• 91.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-68:

Transie

He is going to be in the starting lineup regardless especially looking at SA’s innate fear of the 99′ World Cup leadership fiasco in the not too distant background. Had Fitzpatrick not retired in 97′ the AB’s would have taken him to 99′ WC-he wasnt the best hooker in NZ then neither-Norm Hewitt,Anton Oliver were already better but AB’s never hinted at outing Fitzpatrick. SA seem to be in same situation except all and sundry are (many for good reason) questioning Smit’s continued selection..

Smit can hold his own for 45-50 min and has shown in some S15 performances he has at least that much left in tank especially when he plays 2.The score in Soweto after 60 mins-we were leading if Im not mistaken and us losing that game was more based when we took off Juan Smith after 60 mins-lost momentum in collision points and lost game.yeha Smit missed tackle at end but in 79 min vs a rampaging Ma’a Nonu is broken play-90% of the hookers in pro rugby would have missed that tackle.

• 92.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-88:

You would be surprised at just how much they are like a high school team. I am not for one instance saying that they would fall apart, but I do believe that the players themselves would feel better, and more confident having him lead them at the World Cup again.

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-83: the point is, grant didn’t have a problem with smit playing at the end of 2008 and in 2009, he actually picked him at hooker and for bissy to play last 30min but john played tighthead against the lions. now it is 2 years later and smit had abandoned the tighthead experiment as he was “fearing for his health” but he doesn’t have the aptitude for hooker anymore, better yet the yound bucks have surpassed him, now he is being accommodated in a position where we arguably have the best player in the world.

that is what irks grant :D

• 94.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-80:

ooooh…..

so it’s been going on for 3 years already?

no wonder i feel dizzy when i read it every day

• 95.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

Oh dear.

Christmas in June for Grantie.

JR fetch the miseltoe.

• 96.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-93:

nope….

you lie.

g10 hates the person john smit.

no other reason.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-91: you point to juan’s subbing as the turning point, what did smit as the “glue”/”nucleus” of the team do to counter-act that imbalance. this is ostensibly the reason he is there – to help the team close out tight games with his “aura” of leadership.

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-96: whatever then, keep the propaganda going :D

• 99.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-91: how many times has smit played hooker this year? about 5 matches at best and in only one – against the rubbish canes – did he have a decent performance!

• 100.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Date: Saturday, June 25
    Venue: Trafalgar Park, Nelson
    Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT)
    Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
    Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
    TMO: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)

See above. Okay. No its settled. Crusaders cannot win this game at all as Bryce hates the Saders, and esspecially Richie. Thank goodness he won’t be on the park, as Bryce really hates him. Sharks to win it purely because Bryce will ensure it.

Now to focus on the Sharks match against the Stormers at Newlands.

• 101.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-96: So what. I’m not crazy about him either. :lol:

• 102.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-96:

transie would never lie.

he is a senior blogger.

he has a reputation to protect.

• 103.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Johnson defends his foreign legion
    Tue, 21 Jun 2011 09:45

Martin Johnson: Check the worry in my eye. (c) Getty

Martin Johnson has shrugged off questions about the cosmopolitan make-up of England’s World Cup training squad after including several foreign-born players in his 45-strong preliminary group.

While New Zealanders Dylan Hartley, Riki Flutey and Shontayne Hape have long been fixtures in the England set-up, Johnson raised a few eyebrows after naming Kiwi Thomas Waldrom and South African Mouritz Botha in his squad on Monday.

Waldrom and Botha were also joined in the squad by Leicester’s Samoan-born centre Manu Tuilagi, as well as Matt Stevens, the South African-born prop who qualifies for England through his English father, while South African Hendre Fourie qualifies through residency.

Several commentators have questioned whether a union with the resources of England – which with 166,672 registered senior players far exceeds their nearest rival, France with 110,270 – really needs to cast its net so wide.

After all, New Zealand has a mere 27,374 players to choose from according to International Rugby Board figures, and the All Blacks have consistently been the benchmark for Test-playing nations for years.

Johnson however made it clear he has no qualms about selecting players who meet the eligibility regulations laid down by the IRB.

Asked if he could see why the sizeable foreign contingent within English ranks may jar with some observers, Johnson was nonplussed.

“No one has said anything to me so I’ll report back if they do,” he replied. “I’ve not had that feedback from anyone.”

Johnson – who himself once represented New Zealand’s Under-21 side before later leading England to World Cup glory in 2003 – instead encouraged English players to raise their standards.

Asked what sort of message the selection of Botha, who qualifies through residency, and Waldrom, who has an English grandparent, would send to young English players, Johnson was emphatic: “Be good.”

“Play well in the Premiership. If you want to play for England play well in the Premiership and be good enough to get in.

“Those two guys have come in for the first time and they’ve got to come in and establish themselves in the group.

“I’ve seen guys born abroad who’ve done that, and guys born in England who’ve done that. And guys who haven’t done it. You show your commitment to the cause every day. The way you train, the way you play.

“It happened through my career. Every team I played in probably had somebody who was born outside of England or the UK. It was how they played that was the important thing. They (Waldrom and Botha) are in with a shot, they deserve their chance and we’re looking forward to seeing them have a crack.”

In all probability, Botha and Waldrom remain outside bets to feature in England’s final 30-man World Cup squad, which will be named on August 22.

Tuilagi, the powerful centre whose five elder brothers have all played international rugby for Samoa, looks a likelier prospect.

The 20-year-old has risen through England’s age groups since moving to Britain as a schoolboy. He narrowly avoided deportation last year after it emerged he had first arrived in Britain on a tourist visa.

Tuilagi was recently banned for five weeks after unleashing a flurry of punches on England wing Chris Ashton in a club match. Johnson stressed that the need for discipline in New Zealand would be emphasised.

“Manu’s had a fantastic year for a guy in his first season so we thought he deserved a chance,” Johnson said.

“We can’t have guys getting suspended down there on or off the field. We’re in New Zealand, we all know what that’s like, it’s a goldfish bowl, and we’re in a World Cup which is another goldfish bowl.

“We don’t need silly bans or suspensions when we’re over there because it puts the whole group under pressure.”

• 104.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

F. Steyn
    Lambie
    Aplon
    JP
    Habana
    Mvovo
    Fourie
    de Villiers
    de Jongh
    M. Steyn
    Butch
    du Preez
    Pienaar
    Hougaard
    Spies
    Johnson
    Smith
    Burger
    Brussouw
    Rossouw
    Matfield
    Botha
    Bekker
    Jannie
    Kruger/Mujati
    Smit
    Bismark
    Chiliboy
    Beast
    Guthro

Knock-out Stage Team

Aplon
    JP
    Fourie
    de Villiers
    Habana
    Steyn
    du Preez
    Spies
    Smith
    Matfield
    Botha
    Brussouw
    Jannie
    Smit
    Beast

Bismark
    Guthro
    Rossouw
    Burger
    Pienaar
    Butch
    Lambie/Steyn

• 105.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-58: Did you write a letter of protest to WP about his inclusion in the past two games..

• 106.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-97:

Fair enough

But in my opinion Smit’s leadership being imperative for boks has less if anything to do with counter-acting any such imbalance as its not some mystical power(which I have never professed it out to be) but more to do with the age old problem in SA rugby that continues to exist: provincialism/factionalism. Within the Bok environment its been the undoing of many a Bok teams-to a certain extent the 99′ team and most notably 03′ team in RWC.

Smit is the nucleus of the team in the sense that he is the only leader in team which players across provincial,racial,souties/d*tchman etc lines who seems to be held in the highest regard and players listen to and thus limiting such detraction’s that exist in SA rugby landscape/dynamic that dont exist elsewhere. Add that the ability to influence refs much like other great captains like McCaw.

• 107.cab: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106:
    thats a great post, maybe you right, but its a huge call to not start bismarck or play him for most of the game.

• 108.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106:

Best post I have read on here in a very long time. Well said. I share the same view.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106: I couldn’t agree more.

• 110.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-102: bullshit, i’m no senior blogger, i base my comments on evidence, you might want charo to prove his theory :D

• 111.grant10: Reply to this comment

what a load of sentimental old codswallop.

Plod plays in quarters we come home.

mark the post transie.

• 112.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-111: I don’t think they’ll start with him.

bench for him for the big games.

Or so I’ve been told.

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

lets see what happens if plum plays smit at 1 this weekend. A precursor of things to come….

or will the auras hammie be a bit sore?

• 114.grant10: Reply to this comment

plum nobodies fool…

he knows what he has in bissy and beast….

when push comes to shove plum says up yours pdv, they are pdvs promises, not Plums….

good for you plum….

Smit has 45 minutes against L

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

wtf?! u out the tub already?
    damn that was a quick dip.
    splish splash, parp parp and out again.

• 116.grant10: Reply to this comment

against lions and it is 30….9….to bloody lions!

Come on you sentimental old f arts….

its over man

• 117.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-115: lost my damn duck

• 118.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106: AHA!!!!!!! surely if it provincialism and all that age old saffa rubbish, he can do it OFF the field, i don’t think habana will start minding that bakkies is a d*tchman or mvovo is xhosa in the middle of a game. if he is the glue outside the confines of the field, let him be the team manager then!

• 119.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-117:
    thats what happens when you taking a running goof and bomb into the tub, ducky might be lodged between your speedo cheeks…but i wont be checking that.

• 120.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-98:

what propaganda?

have i been sprouting the benefits of smit?

no…..

you have been the goebels here – pointing out all the misconceptions of the value of smit.

• 121.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-111:

Hehehe

Yeah bud,you’re continued whaling about Smit every second post is bordering on infantile.

If we go out in quarter finals it will be sad but be sure it will be way more than about Smit being in starting lineup. Because that will be like attributing entire AB loss in 07′ to Luke McCallister at 12 instead of Mauger even though Barnes missed a blatant forward pass, dropping Jack for Robinson, Carter missing points and drop goals, Evans & Carter injured within minutes of each other etc etc

• 122.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-120: read & weep 8)

342. grant10 :
    July 5th, 2009 at 5:07 pm

1st thing i would do is get on the line to CJ VD LINDE….

if he says no….call bj….

If he says no…blood werner Kruger

Move J smit back to 2….

Brussow must start

Steggmann into squad of 30…..

Serious chats to Matfield, bakkies ,J Smith and J Smit…..they either commit to 2011 or start the search for successors now….

DONT play j smith at 4 or 5….never ever play okes out of position at the highest level…it is a disease in our rugby and a cheap way of avoiding the tough calls!

Bissy off the bench last 30….J Smit can move to loosehead but never play him at 3 again….he doesent deserve to be treated in this way….even Os said he would never contemplate trying to play 3 !!!

Dewalt Potgieter, Steggmann must be knocking at the door….and i am getting to the conclusion that a Duanne Vermeulen at 8 may be the answer with the speed of Spies used of the bench in last 30 min.

Our huge pressing issue is to 100% back a 10….3….6…and 15….

I am sure Pdv learnt a lot from yesterdays fiasco…never again should we have to see a bok front row so humiliated and our pack bullied like a girlie team….

• 123.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-120: you know what you have been talking about, why act dumb now? hehehe :)

• 124.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-118:

fair enough but what about his ability to liase with refs and influence decisions/momentum which is an important part of today’s international game? And that can only be done on the pitch.How many times have we seen McCaw be able to worm himself out of repeated infringements?? When teams are evenly matched and in crucial games that sometimes is difference to winning or losings games.

Im not one who wants to see Matfield frowning and shouting at ref while he moves us metres back for dissent & decisions after that are jaundiced in one direction.

• 125.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-122:

Call to CJ……How did that work out?

BJ whathas he done in Europe?? nothing,even Mujati has surpass him there yet all we were told by Grant is how much of a juggernaut bj was.

• 126.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-123:

ok, what have i been talking about?

i’ll tell you…..

the constant ranting about smit and whether he should retire or not.

in my view, the coach and the selectors are a lot closer to the action than us mere bloggers…

and if pdv wants smit, who am i to argue the merits or not thereof?

• 127.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-125: mate…

CJ

BJ

Mujati

Brock

Werner

R Geldenhuys

K Buys

F Malherbe

WP Nel

all better 3 s than the hooker that feared for his safety….

And dont get me started on looseheads….

as for hooker, well Plod is just soo past it he cannot keep up.

So we rather accomodate this plod because we scared victor may pi ss a ref off?

You sounding more stupid and sentimental by the minute

• 128.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Well said Keo, let’s hope a few on here will take it to heart. Not holding my breath mind…

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-103: it’s a training squad, I expect about 3 or 4 to make the plane, 1 or 2 to make the 22.

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-124: that ability seemed to escape him last year when we were getting yellow-carded willy nilly in the tri-nations and mcCaw was STILL getting away with “last official warnings”.

bakkies got yellowed for the team’s first or second infringement in the red zone…what did danie get ejected for, brushing mcCaw’s back?

we lost the tri-nations 5-1 with smit leading the charge, ok i understand some say he was overweight but none of what you have said requires him to be FULLY FIT for him to do, if alain rolland is going to give a yellow it’s coming boy regardless of how fit our cappie is

• 130.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106: Good post.

John Smit is so useless – yet he is influential enough to be responsible for a team to be 21 points down all by himself against the Lions????? Seems contradictory to the max.

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-126: no, you’ve been speculating and making false statements about why grant10 hates jonh smit and doesn’t want him in the team.

• 132.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-126: that’s never stopped you or many here questioning why he has been picking an overweight januarie, has it?

• 133.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-126: exactly

• 134.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-132:

show me one post of mine questioning ricky januarie’s selection or the size of his buttocks……..

talk about generalising?

• 135.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-131:

g10 admitted that he hated smit over the luke issue.

no speculation at all.

• 136.charo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-134:

actually if i had the time i could pull out a few of my posts praising ricky.

• 137.charo: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-103:

love it.

gives me more ammo next time my pommie mates are disparaging towards saffas.

have then on the back foot with the cricket already.

• 138.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-81: I think you’re spot on. Whether he starts or not, it’s crucial for the Boks that Smit is there in the squad. He is the leader, but not only that, he is a unifying force between players of various backgrounds, a diplomat. He is the bridge between the players and the coaches, the coaches and the media. Drop him at your peril (and they won’t because they know better, it’s a shame some bloggers don’t!).

• 139.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-138: bull s hit 008

he is a non merit fravy training quota.

• 140.grant10: Reply to this comment

gravy

• 141.grant10: Reply to this comment

if big hit had his way we would be playing his poms with no opensider….the 1 dimensional M Steyn…..Smit at tighthead and bissy on the bench…[ he will sommer try and bull s hit a reason for that ].

Loathe to take the advice of a pom….sorry

• 142.grant10: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-135: charo…..Plod has a long time revealed his lack of character….the Luke rant was a blot on his scorecard…..hanging in at the expense of far better players because of stupid promises made by pdv just reflects so badly on him…..

Dont hate anyone……

but I certainly dont like him.

• 143.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-138: 100% BH

i just watched a program on telly re the “road to New Zealand” , and Jake White spoke of problems they had and how many times it was JOhn SMit that even had to calm him (JW ) down

decision making etc , JS played a major role in winning that WC

I for one would not start with JS , but with BIssy and bring on Smitty at 1 or 2 depending on the match situation, and have him there to close off the game

• 144.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106: Why do people keep believing that the “Teichmann/Skinstad” issue was the reason we didnt win the WC in ’99??, we lost in the Semi’s, in extra time to Larkham’s one and only drop goal, taken almost 50meters out, playing against a very talented, well coached Aussie team.

We lost against Burke, Tune, Herbert, Horan, Roff, Larkham and Gregan, we had, Montgomery, Slapchips, Muller, Fleck, Deon Kayser , De Beer and Joost.

How does Teichmann’s absence/presence come into it??????

• 145.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-105:

No, I don’t waste my time writing to unions about players, this is a SANZAR ruling.

• 146.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

In fact, I don’t waste my time writing to unions in general.

• 147.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-108: I don’t, I think its a classic case of b ulls hit baffling brains…

• 148.kevin w: Reply to this comment

10 minutes to go, 3 points up against the AB’s in the semis, Bismarck goes down with an injury … who you gonna call … Strauss, Chilliboy? Or an experienced old head like Smit.

You know what they say about common sense … it’s not that common!

• 149.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-144: Did neither side have forwards, because you failed to mention them – Teichman played in the forwards.

• 150.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-149: ag you an old sentimental chop mate…

ps

please play smit sat so he can once again be shown up as the has been he actually is…

• 151.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-150: yeah and you are a young punk who should learn to respect people instead of insulting them because they differ on opinion. Grow up.

• 152.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

You just have to listen to a show called SuperRugby on Kyknet to know people’s preconceived ideas on players will never change, come hell or high water.

After the Boks won the RWC in 2007 silencing a lot of critics at the time, it did not take them long to sing the same old hymns again.

Like they say, the more things change…

Keo is right though, whichever view you have on the matter or player(s), Smit is going, he is going to be captain, and he will start in the big games. And nothing you write about on a blog the coach does not even read will change that.

In fact, the more people harp on the subject (which has been discussed for well over a year now with the same people holding the same views) the more silly it becomes.

• 153.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-143: the self-same jake white is on record saying smit should’ve RETIRED!!! what do you say to that?

• 154.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-153:

Come now Trans, you know as well as I do within the same interview he said if he was still coach, he would have picked him…

• 155.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-149: My memory is not that great chief, but I know for a fact that we took a very good Aussie team to extra time. Who knows maybe a weary Teichmann would have missed an important tackle like Smit did at Soccer City last year, when such tackles are missed its tickets, JP made his against Fiji, Rossouw made his against England, Japie Mulder made his in 1995.

Its a game of inches….

• 156.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-154: :wink: thats why i didnt bother answering him, transie like some others hates Smitty , so there will never be recognition for Smitty

thus some things just best left unsaid…..

• 157.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-156: you have no basis to say i hate smit, none!

• 158.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-67: Well said mate.

• 159.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-157: you always dis the people you like??

and touched a nerve did i?? :wink:

• 160.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-158: hiyas brudda, i see the sharks team is delayed at the airport in JHB, re that cloud story

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-75: Spot on. Agree 100% there.

• 162.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-160: Damn, hope nothing comes of it. Cause is we delayed and can’t get to Nelson to play Saders. They will go through cause of ending higher than us on the log.

They had a similar problem in Scotland when I was there with the Ash. All planes were grounded. But they sorted it out pronto. Hope we can.

• 163.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-162: meant = Cause if

• 164.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-162: yeah hope so to

• 165.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-154: Very true that. Some forget.

• 166.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-164: We left it late as it is to travel as it is. Hope we leave tonight.

• 167.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-166: Daft English up there…….hahaha.

We left it late as it is to travel. Ingore the other part…hehe.

• 168.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-165:

Well its quite simple, a captain is an extension of the coach to his players, if that link is lost, all is lost.

Hence I always maintained, I pick my captain first, always.

• 169.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-165: it’s that selective memories and selective reading some have :lol:

• 170.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

absolutely ridiculous that an entire rugby community gotta feel obliged and sentimentally brainwashed into compromising and carrying this absolute quota passenger on account of a stupid fluke WC win against 7th rank England and 6th rank Argentine 4 years ago they still gotta feel beholden and awe inspired by this over the hill useless out of condition 5th or 6th best hooker in the country outright self seeking schmuck.

Go ahead play him vs Wales, and play Jannie Dup, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Injury ridden Juan Smith and poefta Spies too with FdP and Morne Steyn running the kick chase game plan from behind the stuck in the mud scrum, and don’t come crying when Wales wacks us first game up.

That’s your gamble and that’s your call, play Smit, Du Plessis, Botha, Matfield, Burger, Smith, Spies, FdP and Steyn and watch it all fall down first game against decent opposition in the WC. That’s gonna be a mighty fine wake up call but its gonna come a little too late.

• 171.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-160: Brudda just got a call from my sister that landed in Joburg from Cape Town right now.

So if there is a problem it could be coming from Sydney. Probably could be. We will only leave once they give us the clear we can land there.

Keep fingers crossed bro.

• 172.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-168: 100%, and like i said earlier i was sitting here watching “The Road To New Zealand” and just hearing Jake as well as other players the way they speak of what Smitty meant in that cup was massive

• 173.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-168: I agree with you totally mate. I feel exactly the same.

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-169: I know…hahaha. Just have to have a laugh at some.

• 174.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-171: yeah

i had a drink with a stormer player ealier lol , says he is giving me 2 tickets for the stormers match , lol

i said to him wait my sharks only meet the stormers if possible in the final, he reckons no cant wait for sharks results lol he will organise 2 tickets whether they play the saders or the blues or tahs

he said he is hoping they meet the tahs

• 175.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-172: Do you still get the Mercury? A great read on the back page. ‘We are battle-hardened and know we can win big games’ By Stefan. He says we have been playing ‘finals’ the last month to stay alive. They have taken a lot of confidence out of that.

• 176.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-175: sounds great , but no i get the daily news

• 177.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-175:

I am not making the same mistake, this week I am trusting my instincts, Crusaders will make the trip to Newlands next week I’m afraid.

• 178.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-175: i’ll check if its on IOL.co.za

• 179.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-174: Go to the game bro. Should be a cracker at Newlands. Whether they face Saders or Blues.

Make sure though if we get to the finals he gets you those tickets……hahaha. They will be very hard to come by.

• 180.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-177: come next week you could be saying . i shoulda listened to Puma and Sharky :lol:

• 181.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-179: well could be a problem if stormers l;ose and sharks win?? lol

• 182.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-180:

Haha, fair enough, given what it will mean for the Stormers and who they will face, I hope you are right!

• 183.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-177: They could mate. I went with my instincts last week. Spot on the money. I had Sharks by 3.

I am the most negative person when it comes to Sharks playing. Cause I am nervous mostly…hahaha. So always worry about our games. For the very first time I had a really good feeling and said also here and on other blogs I thought Sharks would win.

For this game I am nervous. We have to travel. Played a really hard game against Bulls. So yeah, once again worried.

If we lose really not gonna feel disappointed. At least we made the play offs. Also Sharks will soften those Saders for your boys if we don’t make it…….hehe.

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-180: :lol: I think I climbed huge on bru with me going with Sharks this past week. Most went with Bulls…hehehe.

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-178: Try and get it bro. Good read.

• 185.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-183:

I said that there was one upset left for last weekends games, I had to choose between the Reds/Chiefs, Sharks/Bulls – I made the wrong choice…

• 186.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

The upset was most likely to be in Hamilton, but my instincts told me PTA – I went the logical route = dumbass decision!

• 187.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-181: Yeah, you never know…lol.

Actually now that we made the play off so damned pleased we never ended 5th. Cause had we beaten the Blues we would have had to travel back to CT to play Stormers. Had we beaten them we would have headed straight back either to Brisbane or NZ. Now that kinda travel would be even worse than what we are gonna do.

If we do beat Saders we only have to fly to Brisbane. Think it is a 3 hour flight to play the semi. If we win that and Stormers win, then no worries we would have had to come home anyhow. Or if Stormers lose then only another 3 hour flight back to NZ. So getting 6th spot was better actually than getting 5th. Travel wise that is.

• 188.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-186: You know mate, I had a good feeling cause of our 2nd half against Lions. We had a mountain to climb to get back into that game. We did. I felt we got plenty confidence out of that game.

Also thought we had nothing to lose. Knew we would come out and play a high tempo game. Felt if we done that and with the confidence we had from coming from a huge deficit against the Lions to draw. We could beat Bulls playing that style of rugga. We never fell into the trap Stormers did against Bulls. Just keep possession against them and they panic. My feeling. It worked.

Also this time we had two play makers starting. Freddie and Lambie.

Anyhow normally never feel that confident. Mostly a pessimist when it comes to my Sharks playing. Always expect the worst……haha. Not sure, maybe it was that horrible 2007 game against the Bulls in the final.

For this week just hoping we can. Will be very tough. Saders are right now a better team than Bulls.

• 189.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

if I told you once I’ve told you a thousand times always go with your gut its far more accurate than your dumb schmuck head.

Smit is totally wrong for Boks like he was totally wrong for them since Eoyt 2009 he’s even worse for them now… Go into this WC with John Smit as your talisman leader you coming home early that’s a fact, don’t come crying and blame everyone else when the cookie crumble like it did at Soccer City or Bloemfontein last year or against Ireland or France year before. If Smit leads Boks in Wc 2011 we as good as toast right here right now, fete a compli klaar gelag.

Big gamble playing that quota passenger, imagine if this useless palooka had a brown or black skin what kind song and dance you be chanting right now…

• 190.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-189: who you talking to?

• 191.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-187: The winner between the Sharks and Crusaders play the Stormers, winner between Blues and Tahs play Reds.

• 192.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-190: To you, who do you think you cocky Shark supporter. :-)

• 193.passdidonnerseding: Reply to this comment

Hierdie stront het begin toe PDV, Frankryk toe gevlieg het om John te vra om sy kaptein te wees. PDV kon maklik sy eie kaptein gekies het om saam hom te werk. Maar is PDV rerig so goeie coach? Kan hy sy eie span bou met eie kaptein. Ek dink nie so nie. Semi’s by WC en nie verder nie.

• 194.grant10: Reply to this comment

plod is the biggest con job ever …..

and the poor sharkievarkie fools still cant see the facts

plod cant even make a superrugby team that came 6 th

but he must sommer jump over everyone and lead the world champs??

Farkit….blows my mind I tell you

• 195.Transformation: Reply to this comment

sharks are favourites to win in Nelson :-)

• 196.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-191: no mate

wrong

• 197.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-194: Who is Plod?

“plod cant even make a superrugby team that came 6 th”

Neither would any other hooker in the world if Bismark is the best in the world.

• 198.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-191: not so

if the sharks win they play the reds, if the sharks lose the saders will play the stormers the winner of the blues tahs match will play the stormers , if the sharks do beat the saders

• 199.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I’m talking to whoever wanna listen Smit going to bring you down like he did in 2010. Seems most you people haven’t learned your lesson yet. Last year was tri nations, this year WC. Carry Smit, FdP, Steyn, Burger, Botha, Spies, you coming home early maybe even after pools if you play Wales with Smit your great galvanizing talisman hopeless finished passed tense quota leader.

• 200.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-189:

Yeah mate, you sung the same tune with different lyrics way back in 2007. My ‘gut’ told me we got a chance in 2007, and as it turned out, we had more than that, we brought the Cup home.

My gut is telling me the same thing in 2011, hell even Fitzy agrees with me!

From where I sit, we have to give ourselves the best chance to retain this thing, having Smit there gives us that – but then we have been over this before, so no need to re-visit it.

• 201.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-195: yeah and i am shaun micheals on roids blah blah blah

• 202.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-196: Ah, yes I see.

• 203.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-198: Yes, I just saw. My wrong.

• 204.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-200: Agree.

• 205.cab: Reply to this comment

what happens if cappie smittie the turbo reverse aura plod lifts it twice?
    liewe fok – how we shall laugh.

• 206.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

Viva Plod.

Viva.

• 207.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

transie please explain in your own little glory world , how the Sharks can now suddenly become the favourites against the Saders??

everything is against the Sharks , hell even delated flights with the team sitting and waiting at JHB airport. so try explain oh smart one?? :lol:

• 208.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-205: :)

• 209.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-205: hehehehe

• 210.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-207: The Sharks must be favourites, they have John in their team. :-)

Seriously, Crusaders must obviously favourites. They are playing at home, and they are a top side that has won the title 7 times. But, the Sharks can do it. Go Sharkies.

• 211.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am out, got things to do, later gents.

• 212.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-205: Can you imagine? But can you imagine Smit and Spies each score a try in the final?

• 213.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-207: Just heard on the news. SHARKS HAVE JUST FLOWN OUT……..HEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAA. We on our way bro.

Travel safe Sharks.

GOOD LUCK SHARKS. :)

• 214.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-210: lol mate , yeah they can do it , but hell they are no doubt rank outsiders

and yes saders are a class outfit, no doubt the sharks road is a very very tough one

• 215.cab: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-212:
    listen if that happens, the psychiatric wards in both cape town and new zealand will be overflowing.

• 216.Puma: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-211: Cheers Morne.

• 217.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-215: hahahahaha. Had a good laugh Cabbie…. Good one.

• 218.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Sykes Steven © Gallo Images

Sharks fly out without Sykes

——————————————————————————–

by Gavin Rich 21 June 2011, 19:18

The challenge of beating the Crusaders in Nelson in their qualifying match for the Super Rugby Finals Series on Saturday was intensified before their departure for New Zealand by two things.

– Great prizes in our Super Rugby prediction game
    – Bok barometer
    Super Rugby video highlights
    – Dewald Potgieter on playing at Newlands…

The first was the ash cloud hanging over Australia courtesy of a volcano in distant Chile which on Tuesday forced the closure of Sydney airport, which is the route the Sharks are taking on their journey to Nelson via Wellington.
    When the Sharks flew out on Tuesday night they weren’t entirely sure where they were going to land as the airport was still closed at the time of departure and the flight was only allowed to leave because it was anticipated the cloud would have cleared by time of arrival. If it doesn’t, the flight will be diverted to Brisbane, which will present its own logistical challenge for the Sharks management as they are booked onto a connecting flight from Sydney to Wellington.

The other happening before departure that added to the challenge was lock Steve Sykes’ failure of a fitness test. The first choice front lock missed the Loftus win over the Bulls because of an ankle injury, and seeing as he is continuing his career in Ireland after the Super Rugby season ends, he may now have played his last game for the Sharks.

Sykes would probably have played off the bench in Nelson if he had been declared fit as Gerhard Mostert was excellent in the 26-23 win over the Bulls, but the stalwart is nonetheless a big loss to the Sharks in that his style of play suits the anticipated conditions.

“Steve would have been handy in New Zealand given the expected conditions, with rain and cold predicted for the game, but then Alistair Hargreaves and Gerhard Mostert had really big games against the Bulls,” said coach John Plumtree at a pre-departure press conference in Durban.

The Sharks conducted a couple of fitness test on players before departure. While Sykes is missing out on the trip, which could become a three week sojourn if they win through their various knock-out games, wing Odwa Ndungane has now recovered from the hand injury that has kept him out for the past few weeks and left with the team.

Jacques Botes is also back in place of Marcell Coetzee and is likely to play off the bench. Eugene van Staden, who missed the Loftus match, is also back in the group to swell the number of players travelling overseas to 24. It is unlikely though that Plumtree will change the winning formula from Loftus, although he says conditions should be markedly different to Pretoria.

Plumtree said that the late departure of the team – they would normally have flown out as soon as possible after their last league game – was down to them wanting to try something different based on what had worked for the Bulls and the Springboks in recent years.

“We will stay on South African time for the duration of our visit. For a farm boy like me it is a very foreign thing but maybe the players will be more used to going to bed at 2am and waking up at noon,” said Plumtree.

The problem of course is that while the leave it as late as possible policy has indeed worked in the past for the Bulls and Boks in a first tour match, it often catches up with them in the second week. However the Sharks have probably rightly reasoned that it is worth a gamble as their will be no second week or second match if they don’t beat the Crusaders.

• 219.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-213: lol yeah i posted an article re the sharks flying out as you posted lol

• 220.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-214: @cab(cab)-215: I will pay big bucks to see the expressions on some faces.

• 221.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

seems they will land at in Brisbane

• 222.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-220: :lol: tell me about it

and those faces will try tell you smitty had nothing to do with it

• 223.grant10: Reply to this comment

plod can lift the wc….i will be farken over 5he moon

as long as he is wearing a tracksuit or a suit at the time.

with a number 23 on the shirt

• 224.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-222: LOL. Smit will run 50 meters, sidestepping 2 players, chip and collect, and hand off 2 players to score and they’ll say he was just lucky to be in the right place at the right time.

• 225.grant10: Reply to this comment

whole of CT will be behind sharkievarkies Sat, as we were last Sat.

Farkit….would like to avoid those saders if possible.

• 226.cab: Reply to this comment

its a helluva conundrum the maestro tho, in effect he’s got too chose between two worldclass teams to choose from, the RWC veterans vs the hungry newcomers.

1. Guthro 2. Smit 3. Jannie 4. Bakkies 5. Bekker 6. Burger 7. Juan 8. Spies

v

1. Beast 2. Bismark 3. Mujati 4. Danie 5. Bekker 6. Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen

Not much too choose there.

• 227.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-224: farkit…plod does that he will need a ventilator

• 228.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-226: Bekker must be some hero to against himself. :-0

• 229.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-218: I read that on sw that the team were gonna go to bed at 12pm sa time and wake at 9am. Really my feeling is we should just get there and get to bed straight away. Sleep late the next day if need be. I do that going to Oz and over the jetlag in two days. My feeling they playing around by staying on sa time. We might win and need to be sharp and ready for Reds as well.

The reason it works well for Bulls is they have altitude conditioning and they carry that conditioning in the lungs and legs for almost 2 weeks. If they left early they would lose it. Leave a bit later and it stays with them longer. My feeling they always win their first game on tour these days. They have a longer stayng power than the opposition. We are a coastal team. We don’t come with altitude conditioning. Sharks should have left on Sunday night like they first wanted to do. Work on whatever in NZ and not here.

Anyhow that is all done and dusted. Hope we can land in Sydney or Brisbane. At least we are there. Well almost…hahaha.

• 230.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-226: Yes, would be interesting.

• 231.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-227: lol. He can have all the ventilators he need. But, I’m sure you will also need one. :-)

• 232.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-224: hahahaha… :)

• 233.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

if that dumb hopeless plodding lost cause aura had even set foot on that field Saturday, let alone start, not a chance in hell would Sharks have smelled a win over Bulls. Plumtree knew it, Terblanche knew it, Bismark knew it and so did Smit deep down. That’s why he rode bench all 80 min long. Even the sharks faithful supporters know it but they too cowardly dishonest to own up. If Smit had started, even if he’d have come on with 20 or 15 or even 10 to go, Sharks would have lost. But SharkieVarkie supporters wanna see him captain Boks but notafok must he captain Sharks.

Everytime Smit has captained Boks in last 18 months since Nov 2009 he has lost bar one sole close scrape home win vs Aussie. When he captains Sharks they get smashed by Bulls or by Stormers 6 love. Yet he’s this great emphatic mighty galvanizing aura that loses far more than he ever wins.

If Smit had led Sharks Saturday guaranteed Bulls would have whipped their arses. Fact that he didn’t and didn’t even venture on the field in all 80 mins is tantamount to clear clarity that he’s absolutely redundant and not needed and is far more a liability than an asset. If Smit had contributed at all Saturday Sharks would have lost and if he leads Boks in NZ I reckon we going down, believe it or don’t. But don’t come crying after the fact.

If we take the field with Smit, Jannie, Bakkies, Victor, Schalk, Juan, Spies, FdP, Morne vs Wales in the pool game I reckon we stand a strong chance of losing that pool game. Please don’t come crying and blaming whoever may or may not be responsible after that cookie crumbles.

• 234.grant10: Reply to this comment

beast……………….bissy……………….jannie/ mujati

matfield……………bekker

Brussow……………….vermeulen/ alberts…………………….juan smith

bench…..bakkies…chilli…….schalk…….guthro………jannie/ mujati

ruan Pienaar….juan de jongh

5….2 split on bench

we beat the world I tell you….

put spies and smit in the same bok pack wales and or ireland will take us.

• 235.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-231: hehehe. Damn funny mate…hahaha. Having a good laugh this side.. :)

• 236.cab: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-228:
    sorry matfield, actually it would be a great test match to see. Used to only be NZ that could really field a similar strength B side, but think Boks can do it for the first time now. Ppl always being going on about SA depth, but we’ve never really had it until last couple of years, as reflected in improved S15, hell even cheetahs and lions are no pushovers.

• 237.Puma: Reply to this comment

We play the same gameplan as last year against the ABs.

Samoa and Fiji will take us. Never mind who is playing. :roll:

• 238.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-235: Glad to help you relief some stress. :-)

• 239.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-234:
    your locks are way too light.

• 240.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-238: Well right now not feeling any stress. Come Friday it builds up huge. Then Saturday I am in stress mode until after the game…lol.

Though for this game will be relaxed. We win it or lose it. I will be okay with it. That game last week was the ultimate. Will remember it for a very long time. Great from both teams. Sharks made the play offs. The way we played getting there thought we might not. So win or lose will be happy with my team. BUT if we win I can tell you I will be in stress mode from the Monday for the Reds game. Cause we live for another battle…….hahaha.

• 241.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-240: I`m actually feeling relaxed now too that the Bulls are out. Nice to watch things without being too emotionally involved. Obviously I want the Sharks to win. But, the way I see it, guys like Victor, Spies, and Morne can rest after playing all the games for 80 minutes (except for Matfield who missed one game. Also, Fourie and Bakkies can recover 100%.

If Sharks lose, I will feel the same about JP, Smit, Bismark, etc.

• 242.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-239: its a dilemma…..A Bekker with the great work rate and probably best lock in the land….matfield the lineout king…..bakkies the maljan…..

maybe bekker as supersub

• 243.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

In 2007 the Bulls won the Super 14, and the Boks the WC. Hopefully one of our teams can do so again, and then Boks winning WC.

• 244.grant10: Reply to this comment

i hope plod plays this weekend….hope he starts…..sommer at 2…drop bissy….then lets see how these grootbek sharkievarkie fans feel….they happy to see plod at 2 for boks….but fark me i bet they need ventilators if plod plays at 2 for sharks this wekend with bissy the best 2 on the planet sitting on the bench

• 245.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-243: well it wont be sharks mate

• 246.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-245: Not likely, but you never know. Looks like they are peaking at the right time. A win over Crusaders, and they must be even favourites. Tough road however.

• 247.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-245: But yes, Stormers certainly our best hope with a week off, and a home semi.

• 248.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-224: :lol:

• 249.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-246: they win this tournament it will be the greatest rugby triumph of all time…

• 250.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-241: Yes there is something good that came out of the Bulls loss. The Bulls Boks can get a rest. Victor sure as heck needs a well earned rest. Think the last time he had a rest was a few weeks at Christmas. Before that he played the whole of 2010 and again this year. We need him well rested for the wc.

You right. If Sharks lose this weekend our Shark Boks will get a well earned rest too. So not all bad if we lose. Though would like us to win but won’t feel as bad now if we lose.

That game on Saturday was the game of the S15 season for me. So will have that to remember.

• 251.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-247: hoping reds blow there semi……

obviously would like to avoid reds

but see a reds Blues and stormers …saders semi in the crystal ball…

newlands been bad for us…..3 losses at home…only 1 away loss….

so scared of saders ….for sure….thank heavens they will need to travel and got the sat semi….not fri….so less recovery time as well

• 252.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-243: Can tell you something too. If Sharks lose to Saders, Saders won’t be coming to Newlands all fresh either. They will be battered and bruised after our game. Also have to travel. Stormers will beat them this time round. Think the last time they never had Carter and SBW. Or something like that.

We are facing their full strength team again like we done at Twickers. McCaw is out, but really Saders have not missed him much at all. They sure as heck miss Carter if he is out and so too Sbw. Those two together are formidable.

We had better be sharp in our scrums and lineouts. Also they won’t kick everything to us. Saders will keep possession. So if we have to tackle the whole game long we will be dead on our feet after last weeks game and the travel.

Not sure if we will see a great game like last week either. Rain forecast for that game.

• 253.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I tell you the ONLY place I see a very vague position where Smit can in any way contribute to either Sharks or to Boks cause is at reserve tight head, because between Jannie Du Plessis and John Smit I dunno who is papper. That is the ONLY place Smit could possibly have some very meager possibility of contributing, not at loose head or at hooker because either of those two positions we have at least 6 players better than him. But at tight head apart from possibly Mujati who publicly stated he don’t wanna play for Boks, we only got JDP, Brok Harris, WP Nel, or Kruger, or else Van Staden, Buys or Herbst. All those would be better than Smit at 3 as well as BJ Botha would be, but at least at 3 Smit is not totally outclassed by his competition like he is at 1 or at 2. And if they have to find place for him in the team somewhere it may as well be as reserve tight head, but not starting or reserve hooker, nor starting or reserve loose head where we got oodles of talents far better than he could ever contribute.

• 254.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-251: I agree. The 2 teams the Stormers would not want to face is Crusaders and Reds. Homeground is still a big advantage, despite then losing 3 games at home this year. Waratahs might be a surprise package.

@Puma(Puma)-252: Crusaders will be tough. Like I`ve said, they know how to play knock-out games, they`ve been there many times. If the game was in Durban, I would`ve said 50-50, but now 60-40.

• 255.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-254: Yeah, Sharks go into this game as underdogs for sure. Though we play our best with our backs to the wall. Just have to be 100% at our best against a team like Saders.

In the wet I just see many handling errors coming again. Hope the rain stays away.

Agree had it been in Durbs. Sharks slight advantage.

We lose to Saders Stormers will beat em. I am sure of it. After playing Sharks there will be really sore bodies after that game and will have to travel.

If Sharks win we still have to face the top team in the tourney. Reds. THEY won’t be easy either. We lose to them even if Stormers beat Saders they will have to travel to Brisbane to play Reds.

Like a puzzle still to be put into place…….hahaha.

Looking forward to it either way.

• 256.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Sharks are peaking and filled with optimism while Saders have come off their high and carrying some injuries. If I were a betting man I’d put money on Sharks this Saturday, long as they don’t start Smit at 2 which I doubt they will.

Sharks have a very good at least 50/50 chance of upsetting Saders this weekend and I’m at least more than half expecting them to bundle Saders out.

• 257.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-254: waratahs now lost Burgess….talope nau ….baxter and Hahlanganu…..

4 top players gone….

advantage bues….big time.

i actually see convincing home wins for blues and saders

• 258.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks to find the travel a brdge too far

waratahs wracked with huge injuries….

reckon its a saders….stormers semi at newlands

and a reds ….blues semi at brisbane.

of course will then be hoping for a stormers….blues final….at newlands

• 259.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

for my money Waratahs are the danger side this year except that their international No.9 is now out because he’s a big part of their front foot game. I reckon Waratahs take Blues and could take any of the others in a semi. They stronger than Reds through front 8 and pose a bigger threat to Saders or Sharks or Stormers or Reds than people giving them credit for. Reds are only good in a looser open game, tighten it up and you nullify Cooper and their quick backs.

Big game between Sharks and Saders because I reckon its between those two, and Stormers or Waratahs, and not Reds at play off stage.

• 260.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

if Waratahs carrying all those injuries then its a big ask but way they destroyed Brumbies last week who took Reds recently, they would handle Blues and Reds under those conditions, but if front row and scrummy and fly half all injured then maybe too big an ask.

• 261.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-258: i had a drink earlier today with lionel cronje

he reckoned they would prefer playing the tahs

• 262.cab: Reply to this comment

So if the Sharks manage to win vs the crusaders, then i take it they could play the stormers in the semis (and have to travel back for that) and if they win that, then they would have to travel back to australasia for the final?

no chance, they’ll be absolutely buggered, there were no rocket scientists involved here.

• 263.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Can anyone confirm if the Sharks have packed in their travel sokkies, this is critical to their chances !!!

• 264.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

lol his first question to me was , you gonna support us in the semi’s?? :lol: he knows im a sharkie

• 265.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-261:

Hope he had a coke !!

• 266.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-263: lol hiyas JR

• 267.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-262: hiyas cabby , no if the sharks beat the saders they stay there and play the reds in aussie

• 268.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-265: yes he did , great kid ,a and pretty GF very decent girl, liked her even more as her name is the same as my one grand daughters lol

• 269.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I reckon Sharks coming home with a win, dunno about Waratahs now with all those injuries but normally I’d back them vs Blues through forwards and phases game, they best phase building team in comp along with Reds but Tahs are stronger through front 5. Slipper also out of Reds, I reckon Sharks and maybe even Stormers stand a chance, though I shudder with Burger running at 1st center he’s the absolute stammer in the fluidity every set piece bar none.

Stormers with Vermeulen out must play Van Zyl – Bekker 2nd row and Louw-Elstadt-Burger back row with Koster off bench.

• 270.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

poor oke was hobbling around on his crutches

• 271.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-268:

LOL, good to hear !!

Good luck to your Sharkies, they can beat them Crusaders, 80 min, right attitude and they can win !! What’s your call on Bru ??

• 272.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-269: it seems all the teams have a lot of injuries right now

sharks must be lucky as they only have 2 right now that i can think of

sykes and hoffman

• 273.cab: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-267:
    hi SL, oh right. thats actually doable, its a helluva climb tho cos even if beat the reds, they either got a 3rd match away or travel back to newlands for the final.

my money would have been on the stormers, grant is back and it looks a different team against cheetahs, but vermeulen is a huge loss.

• 274.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-271: thanks mate , havent played yet , i prolly would still go with the heart as i hate betting against my team , but eish my mind tells me other stories

on SB i am gonna go with sharks by 7

i reckon puma and i will be only ones crazy enough to go with sharks on SB against the saders :lol:

• 275.Puma: Reply to this comment

Anything could happen in the play offs. None gave Sharks a chance against Bulls. We played our best game of this tourney. Fact that was the best game of the S15. At Loftus where it is one of the hardest places to win. Though against Saders it will be a lot harder.

Doubt Tahs will make it with so many out injured. Blues still a very dangerous team to face. If Sharks don’t get further than Saturday. Feel Reds will edge the Blues in Brisbane. Had it been in NZ think Blues would take it.

Looks so far like Stormers will have to travel to Brisbane to play the final if they make it that far. Unless Sharks make it we could beat Reds. We were the only saffa side last year to beat them.

• 276.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-269:

Hi Skop

That loose trio is the way to go, but don’t think they will, seems Koster will start !!

• 277.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-273: for sure cabby , stormers have it in them to win this thing, if my sharks dont make it i will support them all the way

• 278.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-274: hahahaha. Have not gone against my team yet on bru. Has cost me plenty but gained me a lot this past week.

I will go with Sharks by 3 no more. But will have Sharks for a win.

Blues to win by 7 or 10. They playing in NZ. Blues will beat the Tahs with Tahs having so many injuries. Even if Tahs never had injuries think Blues at home would beat Tahs.

• 279.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-274:

LOL !!

I’m leading in one of the pools I am playing, I am tempted to go with the Sharks but the oke in 2nd spot is on my neck , what to do, what to do ??? :)

• 280.cab: Reply to this comment

yep elstadt is exactly who should slot into the backrow with van zyl at lock, but they;ll go with the flash koster at 8, the wp way – tho maybe rassie and ac decide otherwise

• 281.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-279: :lol: boet i know if i was in your position i would bet on the saders , end of the day sharks aint ur team , thats honest opinion :lol:

• 282.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-272: With Mostert playing like he done last week. We won’t miss Sykes too much, unless Mostert picks up a injury. Think we might miss Hoffman cause if anything happened to McLeod, Freddie would have to shift there and Lambie to fh. Probably with Odwa coming in at fb. Still would be fine.

So just hoping no injuries. Even if we lose cause we need our Shark Boks for the Tri-Nations and WC coming up.

• 283.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-269: if i was coach now i would have

8 burger
    7 ehlstadt
    6 flo

• 284.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-281:

True, but I believe the Sharks can win, really do !!

This is why this is my last time playing Bru, hate this heart vs head scenarios !!!

• 285.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-282: true bro

we now know the team is fired up and well prepared , but for me it is going to be if they mentally believe they can win

• 286.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-283:

Absolutely !!

• 287.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-284: me too

LC is bringing me 2 tickets for the semi’s :lol:

• 288.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Cheers all, go Sharkies !!

• 289.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-286: LC tells me he wont beable to play before around the last couple of weeks in the CC

**** thats like another 3 months

• 290.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-287:

Wow !!

Just don’t try and sign him up !!! :)

• 291.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-288: cheers jr thanks tc mate

• 292.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-279: hahaha. Go with the gut feeling. I did and it payed off last week. Though would have had Sharks for a win anyhow. Never go against my team even if I think they could lose.

I am playing in 3 pools. Head one very small pool. But made a huge jump on rt pool this week and in sw pool. Though climbed a bit when I was away. Put 5 weeks of picks in without thinking. Just hoped for the best and it seemed to pay off.

Saders are playing at home don’t have to travel. That goes for them. Sharks have to travel had a blinder of a game against the Bulls. Bodies are sore as well. But we do play our best when we have too. Though also remember Saders will be back to full strength. All those things to think about.

Heck this bru was tough this year. Got plenty wrong and margins were way out. Had Tahs to win by 5 past weeken. They annihilated the Brumbies…lol.

• 293.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-290: lol nope wouldnt even try we have lambiegini, :lol: but he is a great kid, very humble

• 294.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-292: :lol:

• 295.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-285: Reading that article in the Mercury, Stefan reckons they believe.

Just have to wait and see.

• 296.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-295: well bro then they stand a good chance

• 297.cab: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-285:
    sharks always been most purposeful of sa sides when touring, but its a helluva mountain – saders and reds away – if they can do that they deserve it.

• 298.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-294: Will probably fall way down again this week. Then who knows. My pick for the Sharks got me way up this past week….hehehe.

• 299.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-297: if they do that , i will get dronk :lol:

thats a huge mountain to climb cabby

but again if they play like last weekend and tackle like demon’s ? hell yeah they got a chance

• 300.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-298: lol bro you doing great

must say i played poorly this year
    but i only play 1 pool, but wanna stop

i like you hate betting against my team , and that once against the saders still haunts me, rather lose the SB point

• 301.cab: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-299:
    yep should imagine so, probably fall over too. we havent heard from HG all week, i’m slightly concerned he’s just woken up on an antarctic whaling vessel with no internet.

• 302.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-296: Reading that article again. Stefan says they are mentally in a very good place. Especially cause of having to almost play a final for the past few weeks to make the play offs and making it.

Great article pity you don’t get the Mercury. Written by Mike Greenaway. Like Greenaways articles.

• 303.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-301: hahaha. He was on today but on another thread. Just one or two posts. He said he had a almighty hangover on Sunday……lol.

• 304.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-301: :lol:
    @Puma(Puma)-303: :lol: , must say i enjoy HG , he pulls the pisser outa many on here :lol:

• 305.cab: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-303:
    sounds like one moer of a party along the thames.

• 306.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-304: I do too. He is one heck of a funny oke. Great sense of humour. Some see it the other way. But I just see a great sense of humour and he does it very well. Damn funny some of the posts from HG. Same kind of sense of humour you find from the Scots. Well similar……..hahaha. I enjoy it. Have a good laugh.

• 307.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-305: hahaha. He said it only woke up around 8pm I think on Sunday with a massive babalas…hehe. Well he said that on Sunday when he came on. Only one post and gone. Must have fallen asleep again. Then just two posts today.

A really very funny oke that. Enjoy his humour. Yours too Cab. You have me laughing many times this side.

• 308.cab: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-307:
    think its katman and gunther who the funny men, kobus also has me in stitches tho i must say, tho its probably not a good thing.

better do some work, later pumes, should be a great game.

• 309.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-304: If we win this week I promise to have a almighty hangover too……hehehe. I was on the coffee last Saturday night. Just not the same…..hehehe.

We all went out on the Friday and over done it there. So only coffee for Saturday while watching the game.

This week we play early. So we win the lot of us will go to the club and celebrate later. Or braai. Great weather for braaing here in the winter.

• 310.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-306: :lol:

• 311.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-307: HG is a troll but i like him :-)

• 312.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-308: Yes I enjoy Katman plenty. He too has a brilliant sense of humour and Gunther. Have not seen Katman here for sometime now. Do miss the regulars.

Cheers Cabbie. Enjoy your evening. Those late evenings are brilliant in the summer months. One forgets how great they are. I really enjoyed it when I was over in Scotland a few weeks back.

Cheers mate.

• 313.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-311: I enjoy HG Transie. Damn funny oke. A really good laugh.

I knew you enjoyed his banter with you too……hahahaha.

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-310: Yeah, could picture him up having to type a quick post and pass out again………hahaha.

• 314.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-313: :lol: well bro im off
    will catch you 2morrow

tc transie

• 315.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

niters everone stay safe….

• 316.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-314: I am out of here too bro.

Though still have to wait for a call from Canada. Damn they better hurry or I am off to bed very soon.

Catch up tomorrow.

Cheers Transie if you still about mate.

• 317.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-313: if one doesn’t have a thick skin he’ll get under it and irritate u. :-) a thoroubred sh*t talker that HG i don’t want to know how he is like when he is buzzing off 22 pints of beer :shock: bwahahaha terrorist!

• 318.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Hehe, just got word on who Sports Illustrated nominated as the Top Bok…

It’s going to piss a whole lot of people off – get your hands on the new July issue…

• 319.Transformation: Reply to this comment

cheers ou toppies

• 320.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Stormers biggest problem is their closed minded strategical shortcomings. Elstadt been playing out of position whole tournament and they’ll continue with it even with our enforcer No.8 Vermeulen out while our galvanizing leader in the forwards Van Zyl rides bench. Koster is better 8 than Burger but Burger is the main man so Burger gonna continue out of position at 6 with Elstadt out of position at 4 and Louw on wrong side of scrum at 7.

Coetsee is a limited coach and stuck in the mind mud same as his mentor White was totally stuck in conservative thinking blindness. Eddy Jones saved White, opened his entire closed minded conservatism and gave his team a new lease of fresh breath life, without which they would have stagnated like they did through 06 and 07 tri nations before EJ came on board.

Coetsee suffers exact same closed minded conservatism blindness which is why Stormers lost to Reds Saders and Bulls at home this year none of which games with just a little open minded lateral thinking they would have. Now he gotta think out the box again with Vermeulen out and he’s gonna hit a blank and stick to his conservatism cowardice by playing Elstadt at 4, Burger 6, Louw 7 and Koster at 8, and bring Van Zyl on for Elstadt second half when Elstadt is actually his best option enforcer no.7 loose forward he’s got and should not get subbed.

Dumb, dumber and dumpster.

• 321.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Reds to take the comp

• 322.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

hello Jeanne d’arc you late, can’t flirt tonight cos I’m on the phone so I pretty much behind the times, better hope Jocky comes along.

Anyway how you been lately?
    If Reds win comp they will have deserved it most exciting team in comp beside Cheetahs except they better coached and far better structured than Cheetahs.

• 323.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Not here to flirt!

Just cutting thru the blathering and speculation

• 324.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-323: hi pocahontas :-) u scarce

• 325.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I know you not here to flirt is just me in my cheeky flirtation mode which is my natural disposition most of the time.

Reds would be worthy winners but I reckon they a little lightweight in the crunch time front 5 dept. Though they took care of Saders in NZ earlier in the comp where most others failed.

• 326.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Trans, not so scarce I read everything!

• 327.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

this mobile setup on this site is too slow and cumbersome for a proper conversation, you have to scroll the entire thread everytime to read last post before you wanna post a response then go back to comment mode, way too cumbersome on the mobile system dunno what its like on blackberry but on nokia its a right crock. They should try find a better system for mobile.

• 328.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-325: the reds won in Brisvegas against Saders with the help of blatant forward passes & knock-ons that led to a try and last minute penalty respectively!

• 329.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-327: get a touch screen skop, quick n easy

• 330.charo: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-327:

blackberry is rubbish as well.

but at least a tad faster than this useless mtn mobile dongle that i’m trying to use now.

these inefficiencies are driving me completely moggie!

• 331.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Let me guess… if the Boks lose the same old same old muppets on here will say it will be solely due to John Smit…

And when the Boks thump Wales it will be nothing to do with John Smit…

Yawn!

• 332.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

http://www.ruggaworld.com/2011/06/22/john-smit-voted-best-bok-ever/#comment-469352

• 333.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

well I’m bursting out laughing myself right now, Sports Illustrated know absolutely f’all about rugby they know a lot more about skimpy bikini models on remote island beaches than they do about rugby, what those dumbass idiot fashionista girly pimps know about rugby is f’ng dangerous, voting this useless hump of lardass above the likes of Frik, Mannetjies, Danie G, Carel Dup, Morne Dup, Divan, Naas, Joost, Lem, Slap Chips, Jouba, Rueben, Dawie S or Dawie D, Bosch, HO, Jannie, Syd, Ray, Louis, Francoise, Victor, Juan, Jean, and maybe 50 others.

Smit captained Boks to a g’dam non event WC where he had to negotiate 7th seeded England and 6th seeded Argentina en route to overrated glory, that about IT. Other than that he boasts biggest hiding to Aussie ever 49-0, and negative win / loss results vs NZ and France and Ireland on Eoyt’s. Boasts 2 of worst Bok years as captain ever in 2006 and 2010 yet this Sports Illustrated bunch of girly mag moegoes reckon he’s best bok ever.

F’ng hilarious stupefied arselick sentimentally based purely on a fluke gimme no contest WC in 2007, because if Plumtree thought this palooka was most galvanizing awe inspiring muchos grandes best bok who can do no wrong ever he would have picked him vs Bulls last weekend and lost. Like Boks lost throughout 2010 under him and lost all but one test under him since trinations 2009.

Some schmucks are blinded by bullsh’t ignorance, if Smit leads Boks through WC 2011 its a bigger risk and gamble playing him than leaving him off the field as his recent run of invincible losses have proved his non participation in Sharks rejuvinated efforts without him recently. Soon as he got subbed off vs Lions Sharks suddenly turned around a deficit of 21 points, if had he stayed on not a chance in hell. Same if he’d have even spent even 10 mins on field vs Bulls Sharks would have lost like they got thumped by Stormers under his awesome leadership by 4 tries to zero, and like Boks been getting thumped every time he’s led them since Eoyt 2009.

Bunch of ignoramus mugs who cannot see sh’t for trees, play Smit like he’s been captaining Boks through Eoyt 2009 and entire 2010, keep playing him and keep losing that’s as much sentiment these pathetic hail hero worship idiot dumb schmucks know about rugby, keep playing the cancerous liability that costs games and keep on seeing our gatte. Maybe then they wake up when we don’t even make quarters at next WC under his immaculate noose around the neck leadership.

• 334.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-12:

Indeed mate, a bunch of ungratefull whiners. As supporters they should have a team like Wales to support because they don;t deserve guys like Smit winning them world cups.

Smit doesn;t pick himself the coach does Grant!! If he didnt want him anymore he would let him go.

Fickle ^%$£heads – I’m just hoping you we don;t get 2002 SA rugby all over again and then you’ll start wishing for JW and Smit again.

• 335.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-333:

Lol those other seeds beat the top seeds dim wit.

Lol you got to be an idiot. You go win a WC non-even and lets see.

• 336.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-331:

Just read some of the posts above, Sharks are favorites to win on the weekend but if the select JS to start they will not win! Begs the question who will be blamed if he does not start and they lose…

• 337.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-336: Quotas or my favourite the ref.

The Betfair guys in Australia predicted a Crusaders/Reds final before the season kicked off, so now we can start blaming the bookies too. Reminds me of a certain RWC final.

IMHO opinion this final was decided already….

• 338.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-333: jeez bru you are skopping at 0543 in the morning…

• 339.justrugby: Reply to this comment

The question is , is JS good enough right now to play ahead of Bissy or Beast or Guthro, the answer is a definite no.

It is not about what he has achieved , what he has done for SA rugby (still not sure what this means as 22 players won the WC, but I suppose the captain rightly gets the plaudits, one would swear JS did it on his own) .

The aura regarding his captaincy is overhyped, I read Mhisiwini’s post earlier and I think his argument had merit in 2007 but imo this ability to bring everybody together from various racial/cultures is no longer as big an issue as it was in 2007.

For me it is about ensuring you have the best to take on NZ in a Semi or a final. JS cannot command a place in Sharks starting 15, he looks woefully out of shape and really struggles to keep up with play and is gasping hard after 5 mins on the field.

Why should he then start for the Boks ?? Especially when we have Bissy available, how will this impact Bissy ??

How much respect will the players give him , they know he is not there on merit, they will witness their captain not pulling his weight on the field , struggling to keep up , and if they play him at prop they will witness turbo reverse , trust me you legacy can only get you so far !!

Nobody wants to take away JS achievements, it’s in the history books ,all those great records, how much more does he actually want ??

If JS was playing half decent there could still be an argument to include him, but he is only playing half a game when he does play, which to me is just not good enough from a Bok perspective !!

As Keo says he will be going , live with it, does not mean we must be happy about it !!

• 340.grant10: Reply to this comment

Calling all sharkievarkie and Plod apologists….

Put your money where your mouths are

drop bissy

play plod at 2 , his best position , this weekend.

go for it

back your boy man!

Lets see how brave you are

since you all keen to sacrifice bissy / Beast for WC

start this Sat?

Have you got the ballas?

• 341.poethklapp7: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-333 john smit is not our best hooker, I agree. But he does not pick himself, he is there thanks to our ‘world class’ selectors..

On RWC07, dumb fark you don’t choose your opponents, you just play who ever is next, and we did the job! And all the ‘top’ ranked teams got knocked out by the guys we had to face later on. ?!

At the end of RWC11, wheather we bring the cup back or not, JS will still be a legend and you will stay a no name. Stop blogging at 5.43am and get some rest.

• 342.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Last thing at night you’re a tortured soul… first thing in the morning you’re a tortured soul… sad old cnut!

@grant10(grant10)-340:

Oi Luddite… I don’t think you’ll find many Sharks fans that would start him over our first choice hooker… so put your tampon back in mincer!

• 343.poethklapp7: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-333 john smit is not our best hooker, I agree. But he does not pick himself, he is there thanks to our ‘world class’ selectors..

On RWC07, df you don’t choose your opponents, you just play who ever is next, and we did the job! And all the ‘top’ ranked teams got knocked out by the guys we had to face later on. ?!

At the end of RWC11, wheather we bring the cup back or not, JS will still be a legend and you will stay a no name. Stop blogging at 5.43am and get some rest.

• 344.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-342: thats the point !

But some fools want him to start for boks over bissy in wc?

Insane aplogists…..weak fools of the highest order

• 345.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@poethklapp7(poethklapp7)-343: :lol:

• 346.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

like a bunch of rabid dogs… round and round they go, chasing their tails and scratching their fleas until they bleed. As KEO says, “GET OVER IT” [and save yourself the stomach ulcer]

• 347.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

When BDP and Beast needed rest/rotating Smit started when BDP was injured Smit started… what an asset…

The most capped captain ever, one world cup, two Trinations not to mention a Lions tour… no captain in the history of modern Bok rugby has achieved that nor might ever again and nothing the senile old fool can say will ever change the history books…

• 348.geeten: Reply to this comment

Exactamoondo my friend. The world cup in 07 was rigged. The Boks didn’t even have to play the best, so why did they get the trophy? It’s a farce. The ‘best’ conspired to lose against lower ranked teams, and so the Boks just had to beat those lower teams. Very very suspicious and if I was a conspiracy theorist, which I’m not, I would suspect plod had something to do with this. So called aura, auraing this, arauing that, and somehow this ‘aura’ makes the mighty ABs lose to France who lost to Argentina and go on to lose to England, who beat Australia, and then all South Africa had to do was beat these teams who had beaten the ‘best’ what a joke but I’m not surprised that plod didn’t have the grace to turn down the webb ellis trophy and winners medals did you see him plodding up the stands holding that unearned trophy while millions of South Africans were ‘jubilant’ that the Springboks won the so called greatest tournament and the nerve of the president to congratulate that team why did’t he go and congratulate the ABs who were clearly the best even though they lost or the wallabies who were also the bester and also lost, stupidity, and the public just lapped this up celebrating a world cup win.

• 349.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon: Plumtree must go(wooden spoon)-346: you right …

just hope I find the character deep down in my soull to support the team fully where so obvious a gross injustice is being committed to a far more deserving player.

• 350.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-340: don’t waste your breath, Plum said he won’t “break the momentum” of last saturday, meaning the starting team against the bulls will be retained, even sykes failing a fitness test plays into that whole team being retained. sharks without smit and saders without mccaw is even stevens but sharks have the momentum from last weekend’s win and saders played rubbish against canes. sharks are favourites to win in Nelson.

• 351.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

@geeten(geeten)-348: ridiculous post. And I suppose you believe the moon is an alien observation ship?

• 352.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-350: haha transie…you are STILL telling us all how much the Sharks are favourites! This against your own team?! Nice try but we can all see through you.

• 353.garth: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-339: The Sharks are a better team when JS is not playing. The Boks are a better team when they don’t have to carry the likes of Smit, Januarie, Spies, Kirschner, WO. JS is not in tye top 5 players in any position in SA, so how the fck can he go to the RWC?

• 354.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-350:
    Not sure sharks can replicate that effort.

Hope I am wrong. The travel is a huge issue, just cant see the fairytale continuing, no matter what team sharks put out there….

• 355.Transformation: Reply to this comment

watch Smit lift the Super Rugby trophy abnd then Bill on one year and then his critics will be silenced :D

• 356.grant10: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-353: agree

said it often….we go into a big game with plod and spies starting, we head home….

• 357.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon: Plumtree must go(wooden spoon)-352: hey douche, i support the EP Kings! :D

• 358.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-355: probably pull a hammie lifting it

kak in his onderbroek

• 359.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-353:

Exactly Garth !!

The sentimentalists will give you plenty of reasons, all pie in the sky BS though !

• 360.Number15: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-339: “It is not about what he has achieved , what he has done for SA rugby (still not sure what this means as 22 players won the WC, but I suppose the captain rightly gets the plaudits, one would swear JS did it on his own) .”

But every single week (make that day) we’re told by Grant10 and others that Smit is the single and only reason the Sharks and Boks lose games.

• 361.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-357: but the Kings aren’t in Super rugby! Not until 2013 yet! You have a Super rugby team and we all know who they are!

• 362.garth: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-359: Another observation. Do you think that the Sharks would have chosen or be able to play the gameplan against the Bulls with JS at 2?

• 363.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-360:

Well G10 has a point .in the last year and half how many games have the Boks /Sharks won with JS playing ?

He does appear to be a problem, he is simply not playing well enough, nothing more , nothing less, that is the truth !!!

• 364.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

:lol: :lol:

“[Michalak] was on the bench against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein just days after arriving in South Africa, but was not involved then. Michalak was locked in the change room that day and nowhere to be seen during the first 10 minutes of the game.

It’s only when players on the bench started to look around and wondered where their new team-mate was that they eventually realised a security guard had accidentally locked him in the dressing room. His calls and hammering against the door fell on deaf ears.”

• 365.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon: Plumtree must go(wooden spoon)-351:

He was clearly being sarcastic. I had quite a chuckle.

• 366.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

….round and round the rabid dogs go, chasing their tails!

Scratch those biting fleas, boys!

• 367.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-362:

Probably for 40 mins and certainly it would not be aseffective as having Bissy there, this has been obvious for the entire season !!

• 368.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-365: oh, I stopped reading at the “conspiracy” bit and missed the sarcasm which, having re-read the entire post, can now see… take that skopskiet!

• 369.justrugby: Reply to this comment

The sentimentalists have there boy going to the WC, nothing anybody can do to change it !!!

Does that make it right ??………………………………………….hell no !!!!

• 370.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-340: G10 I’m no expert on rugby but I would take you up on the challenge to play JS and let me tell you why.

When a team runs onto that field it is all about the balance that you have to execute the game plan. What is being suggested is that JS is so far off the pace of Bis that it impacts significantly on the performance of the team as a whole. I don’t believe that is so when he plays at hooker.

In addition JS offers something that none of the other hookers, besides Chilli, does and that is leadership on the field. You will state that the performances of the Sharks have been adversely affected when JS has been on the field and you will be right when he has been played out of position or not been played with the right combinations. In the game against the Saders in London for example there were many imbalances in that team caused by injuries to key personnel and JS was played at prop, against the Tahs it was a different story.

Is JS the best performing hooker? No
    Is JS playing to his max? No he hasn’t had the game time
    Is he the best captain for the Boks? In my opinion yes
    What follows is that you need to have your best skipper there in a WC and you need to get the balance right in the team – in order to utilise every players strengths,one of which is leadership. Talent and skills alone is not enough to win a WC otherwise the AB’s would have a shitload of Winners medals.

• 371.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-370: How on earth must this plod be avccomodated Bananaboy??

Simple …..you have to decide if he plays in place of Bissy…..hell surely not…..or we turbo reverse with him at 1 and a far better beast on the bench…..[ as we clearly saw when he played 1 vs saders ].

Against Lions he started at 2…..30 …9 to lions….he goes off…..bissy on….30 all…

No mate….its plain and simple sentimentality.

Plod is a con job.

• 372.grant10: Reply to this comment

wales and ireland the big winners here.

• 373.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-370:

Good points but I believe somewhat flawed, it is a slap in the face to the other competent leaders in the squad of which there is a host to say that JS must be there because of his leadership.

I said earlier that if he can’t be there on merit and produce on the field how long will this leadership “respect” be tolerated ??

This bizarre notion that Bok rugby is doomed without JS as a leader is crazy, all I can say is bring on 2012……………….. Bok rugby needs to move on !!!

• 374.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks are not prepared to risk plod in major games

at 1 or 2

but boks must

insanity rules

• 375.grant10: Reply to this comment

frank Brothers and crockett must be salivating at the prospect of facing plod again.

twickers was a major turbo reverse.

plum be careful my man.

• 376.Number15: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-363:

So basically JS is damned either way. It’s ok for you guys to blame all the losses on him, but he gets no credit for the wins either.

I didn’t need confirmation but it just shows how ridiculously polarised (read biased) a lot of people are on the subject.

• 377.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-370: Excellent post. Well said. Agree totally.

• 378.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-376: its simple.

some bloggers not blinded by sentimental candy floss …..

some see the useless git plodding around contributing sweet fanny adams f all!

• 379.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-377: so you happy to drop beast and or bissy this weekend and play plod then puma?

Serious question now!

or is it only the boks that have to carry plod?

• 380.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-370: All Blacks have never had weak skippers mate.

You saying Mc Caw was kak capt in 2007.

C rap man!

• 381.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-376:

Not at all, it is simply the poor level of performance he is/has been producing, it is not even at Vodacom Cup level.

As a Bok supporter I cannot be happy with his selection, irrespective of what he has achieved or who he is.

• 382.grant10: Reply to this comment

come on sharkievarkies

Lets be honest now

its crunch time

like it will be in wc for boks!

Lets see all those sharkievarkies that will pull thre trigger on Beast / Bissy to accomodate Aura?

Come now….where are you grootbeks now?

Happy to have boks weakened

but now its do or die praying that plod pulls a hammie or sits on bench?

Be honest okes!

• 383.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-376: Buddy agree, but there are only two or three bloggers here that repeat the same thing over and over about John. For more than two years they being doing it.

Ignore em. Their posts about John is mostly got nothing to do with the player, but rather the hatred they have of him cause he mentioned Luke Watson in his book.

Wait until he becomes Bok coach one day……hahahaha. Cause I think he could. Now there is something for em to think about…. :wink:

• 384.grant10: Reply to this comment

sentimental old fools.

ireland …wales laughing all the way to the bank

as will saders be if we accomodate this useless gravy training non merit quota.

• 385.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-383: answer my question Puma!

• 386.grant10: Reply to this comment

easy to be all warm and fuzzt

but when chips are down you want your best 15….or 22

then its not so nice to carry a player clearly over the hill and hurtling down the other side to oblivion.

• 387.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-381:

Poor like the first start he had at hooker all season when they smashed the Canes and he scored the first try?

Poor when he was played out of position at LH and they smashed the Waratahs pack?

Poor when he came on for BDP in the 49th min and they beat the number one Kiwi team (at the time) in the Blues?

I only ‘poor’ thing I see here is your logic!

• 388.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-380: Never? Where were you when Teich’s Boks smacked em home and away and so did the Aussies? Remember Tain Randell (spelling) Was a very poor captain of the Abs. They lost 5 in a row with him there.

• 389.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-380: Well you tell me what happened then against France. Do i think that the Richie McCaw of today is a better skipper than back then and would do things differently – absolutely and you cannot discount the impact of experience on leadership. Against France he would have managed the ref differently and changed his game plan. All he needed to do in the last 20 minutes was get to parity because that would have forced the French to try and move it up a gear and the gaps would have started to appear, instead they were going for the kill by trying to score a try. Thats the leadership which i believe Richie now has.

Let me ask you a question closer to home. In your opinion are you a better decision maker in your business now than when you were 10 years ago and are you a better manager of people?

• 390.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

The only reason Smit’s is going to the RWC is to chaperone the fickle Springbok, to make sure provincialism doesn’t raise its ugly head and derail the mission. Any other reason/justification offered is an insult to South Africans.

• 391.HHS: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-371: So that Sharks got their a$$es in gear just as JS went off? Nothing to do with the yellow card and Lions legs shot that 2nd half due to travel fatigue? BTW the Lions outplayed the entire Sharks team that 1st half and I really doubt that king Bissy would have stopped that. I’m also calling for JS head (because he is an unfit player) but referring to that comeback because JS left the field is just silly stuff…. and no the current JS will not feature in my Bok team. Give him a walkie and shouting instructions is the best I can do for him.

• 392.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-383:

Puma that is a disappointing response because all we have done is given rugby reasons as to why JS does not deserve to be there.

The responses are all warm/fuzzy pie in the sky and no obvious rugby reasons as to why he should play ahead of beast/Bissy etc !!

It makes you okes feel better by trying to say it got dt do with his book, the luke Waatson saga, that is all nonsense, it has everything to do with his poor performance !!!

• 393.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-388: name 1 weak all black wc captain?

**** man!

• 394.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-391:

it was not just that game HHS, it has been a common trend all season !!

• 395.grant10: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-391: agree with you…

But just trying to illustrate a point to the dumb here!

• 396.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon: Plumtree must go(wooden spoon)-361: i don’t have a Super Rugby team, but i see you’ve decided to choose one for me anyways :D love the enthusiasm

• 397.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-382: The balance in the 2 sides and the game plan are totally different G10 , you are being illogical now. Of course I would have JS play for the Boks ahead of Bizzie but again with the right combinations and because of the leadership he brings. But then I am a risk taker backing players strengths and what they bring to the collective. They are not just a grouping of individuals with talent and skill but rather a synergistic team – everyone of them has to contribute to the corporate whole the ingredients that are needed to succeed.

• 398.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

:yawn:

• 399.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-379: John’s scrumming is better than Bissie. So with the Frank brothers there for this game. Yeah I would start with John this game. Our scrum was not that great last weekend.

Grant we not old fools rather wise ones… :wink:

• 400.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-388: Ja Taine was kuk. Reminds me of Victor Matfield. When the chip are down he buckles. Just have a look at him in the RWC semi final where he was looking at the players and had nothing to say. Now they blame Mitchell for that loss because he did not select Cullen. Taine was to blame…

@grant10(grant10)-395: Fair enough.

• 401.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-387:

Poor is when you have to go and find 3 games to validate his performance, and yes in some of those games you mentioned he was pis s poor.

The oke can hardly run ffs, get your sentimental panties off, grow a pair and face up to the fact that JS is very much yesterdays hero !!!

• 402.Number15: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-380: “All Blacks have never had weak skippers mate.”

You don’t know your rugby. The NZ community was massively polarised over Reuben Thorne.

• 403.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-393: So now you taling about the world cup? Heck you are bloody stupid.

Wait let me think for a second…. Well that is all it took, ALL of them since 1987. They have won NOTHING man, are you stupid????????? McCaw as great as a player as he is LOST the world cup for them in France. He had them trying to push the French over for a bloody try for about 15min instead of calling for a drop. Do you call that clever? :shock:

• 404.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-403: taling = talking

• 405.justrugby: Reply to this comment

What truly amazes me is that some sentimental Sharks supporters are actually trying to find fault with Bissy to justify picking JS ……………..wtf !!!!

Outta here !!

• 406.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

:sleep:

• 407.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-399: smit starts its saders by a whole bunch

I am 48….no farken kid mate

been watching this game since 1976

you all old fools…wise se moer man!

• 408.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-402: Exactly.

Some think they know it all. Ignore the John bashes. Like I said above to you. Only 2 or 3 do it and it is the same ones over and over. Until it is a complete bore to read.

I normally scroll on by. Just got caught up in it again today. Won’t ever again.

Scroll on by from now on.

• 409.grant10: Reply to this comment

outta here as well

farken idiots …

• 410.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-408: idiot fool of the highest order.

• 411.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-407: You sound like 4 going on 5 the whole damn time. Try growing up sometime.

• 412.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

…rabid dogs still chasing their tails! Been scratching their fleas too ever since John Smit mention their struggle icon in a book!

• 413.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-394: JR haev you analyzed the game time JS has had at hooker i.e. total number of minutes etc and equated that with the game time of others in that position. Have you also taken into account that balance in the side and the other combinations in the field that would affect the performance of the team. The whole performance of the Sharks team this season has been down to JS according to you guys.

How do you explain the good performance of the Sharks without Alberts on Sat in the first half. Are you going to extrapolate that and suggest on the basis of previous performances that perhaps Alberts was the reason for the poor performances when JS didn’t start.

• 414.garth: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-397: Great leaders put the greater good ahead of their own glory. Saying this, JS should withdraw from international rugby.

• 415.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

• 416.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-409: Good go take a walk on your beach………….hahahaha. Daft clifton warrior……hehehe

• 417.garth: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-403: McCaw was arrogant. You don’t need JS in charge to avoid such poor calls.

• 418.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-408: Just a question Puma, what happens if in the Semi’s or Quarters, Smit misses a a crucial tackle like he did last year at Soccer City. Remember RWC are won by tight margins, as JP Petersen did with his tackle against Fiji, Dannie Rossouw did with his tackle against England and Japie Mulder did with his in 1995.

Will you guys be men enough to come out and we we stuffed up or will you use an excuse like “it happens in rugby, you cant expect a forward to make that tackle against SBW/Nonu/O’Driscol”.

• 419.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

no garth Smit is a must for the world cup,

go watch the road to new zealand , its been on super sport quite a few times now

they spoke to many players and jw etc , and in it it becomes very clear how big a role john played in keeping the team together and even keeping JW calm

his leadership is a must, i’ll be the first to admit we must start with bissy, but last 20 min to close off a game when the going gets tough , bring on smitty , be it at 1 or 2

• 420.garth: Reply to this comment

It’s quite funny. Sky TV are advertising the you will miss PDV quotes if you don’t install Sky TV.

• 421.Puma: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-417: Yes a bit arrogant but rather foolish too. ABs were a great team in 2007. Should have been us facing them in the final. BUT he screwed up by trying for about 15min to push the french over for that try. All they needed was a drop and they would have won that game. He wasted so much time doing that until there was not even enough time for a drop goal. Pity. Would have loved a Bok/AB final.

I can tell you John would have called for a drop right there.

I think McCaw has learned plenty from that world cup though. He is a magnificent player always has been and yes a great captain now. But he cost his country in that quarter final.

• 422.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Smit along with his redundant JW entrenched kick chase game plan is the absolute fundamental reason Boks lost vs France 2009, Ireland 2009, NZ away 2010, Australia away 2010, NZ away again 2010, NZ home 2010, and Australia home 2010. 5 losses from 6 in 2010 tri nations, and 2 losses Eoyt 2009, with a win to Italy. All told Smit has not had a convincing win as Bok captain since tri nations 2009, when kick chase game worked under original Elv rules. Since then he’s lost every single test he’s captained apart from one win against Italy and one scrape at home to Australia in 09.

Now check how he performs for Sharks, he captains the team and they get walloped by 4 tries to zip vs Stormers, get smacked around the ears by Crusaders and Chiefs, get smacked at home by Bulls, losing 30-9 to Lions and gets pulled off and replaced by Bismark and suddenly Sharks pull out a 30-30 draw in last 25 min when he’s off the field. Next Sharks go to Bulls without playing him and miraculously win against all odds.

You dumb Smit apologetic imbeciles are not only stupid you are actually blind. Everything is screaming out at you that this palooka waste of a position on the field is a has been past it liability and a non contributing curse, and you dumb fools keep lapping it up and asking for more.

I would just love to see all these hypocrite apologists if this was Chili or Luke Watson or Ricky Januarie we were debating here losing game after game and going steadily into retrograde form which side of their compromise apologetics they’d be emanating out their two faced backsides.

Smit is a f’ng has been liability second to none yet you dumb Sharks apologists are willing to carry this passenger for the sake of some stupid sentimental dumbass hero worshiping past tense 2007 idiocy.

Go ahead and play him. Play him anywhere in front row this weekend, unlike the cowardly coach who wasn’t prepared to gamble playing him at all last week because he knew in his gut if he sent this passenger onto the field Bulls would have trounced Sharks, go ahead and play Smit vs Crusaders.

Play him against Crusaders and play him for Boks. I’ve seen enough for long enough to know he’s an absolute passenger liability on the field in any position. I seen enough since Eoyt 2009, to know John Smit is being selected and accommodated for sentimental prestige and hero worshiping status only and nowhere at all for any clear common sense rugby reasons whatsoever. Keep on playing this dubious chump at hooker or prop and give the opposition at least a 10% advantage.

And what is interesting to note its almost 100 % ex Sharks expatriated supporters who wanna hang onto this sinking ship for some ridiculous sentimentally dubious reason, yet they hail Caesar when he don’t play and they miraculously win, and then keep on hailing him when he does play and they lose.

Absolute idiocy that knows no clear common sense whatsoever. Let any other quota be in this dubious hypocritical position and let these expatriated Shark idiots keep supporting the player when he’s clearly an absolute liability to the cause, lets see them hail Watson or Januarie or Chiliboy or Habana when they playing even half as hopelessly out of form or consistency as John Smit is today.

• 423.Number15: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-418: “Just a question Puma, what happens if in the Semi’s or Quarters, Smit misses a a crucial tackle like he did last year at Soccer City.”

Well their are a number of problems with this view. You’re attributing the loss to a single incident. A rugby match is played over 80+ minutes, everything counts. You don’t have statistics for missed tackles, but I wouldn’t be surprised if JS makes more than average and misses less than average. That was a noticeable and unfortunate miss. JS is not a mobile hooker anymore, but what he does bring is a lot of graft in the rucks and mauls, some sly play, very very solid at scrum and lineouts. You absolutely cannot offord to be outplayed at the modern set piece or teams will milk you for penalties and field position all day, and then it’s almost game over. Ask Australia about their last RWC game against England. He also brings massive experience. He’s been in so many games, ahead and behind, with the core squad (who trust him) and that is something you can’t quantify.

There was a reason de Villiers had to fake an injury in the first BIL match to get JS back on the field when things starting going to pieces. JS was *HUGE* in that game, which basically won us the series. Yet all this is easily forgotten by you guys. I doubt you’ll find a single poster who says JS is the best hooker in SA anymore. But that’s not the point, the point is he is still damned good at what he does bring to the table. He is also the national captain, and I struggle to forgive you so called ‘fans’ who seem intent on creating division in the camp at a time (RWC) we need unity most.

• 424.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-423: fark you and your unity!

If unity means supporting a non merit gravy training quota then count me out…

If plod wants unity he should do the honorable thing and retire.

how many more losses we got to endure for this quota?

How many more times far beyyer players like beast / Bissy going to have to be sacrificed for this Aura c rap!

S crew you and your sentimental unity b sh it….

Lets see how behind the boks you would be if Januarie starts….

F ark you and your messed up sense of candy floss patriotism!

Dont want your ‘ forgiveness’….wo the F ark you think you are anyway….some sort of forgiving Deity….you deluded you idiot

• 425.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424: no cussing mate, this is a debate!

• 426.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-36: no, losing to Wales or to Ireland/whoever in the QF is a disaster, that’s why i would settle on losing to the AB’s in the Semi’s, because it would not be a disaster. it’s quite simple?

• 427.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-425: okay

cant stand the patronising attitude….who the hell is asking this numbers oke for forgiveness for having a point of view.

• 428.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-427: ag if people want to get on their high horses on this issue let them be, this is a discussion board, not a holier than thou session of who loves the boks the most.

clearly he backs smitty and you don’t…no need to take his perceived complexes into consideration :D

• 429.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

sharks landed safely in Sydney

• 430.Number15: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424:

Well I never expect you to be anything but biased, because I know your view is based on being a Luke Watson fan. You rant and rave, and not content to attack Smit’s character you then insult and use foul language at me.

I never ever attack a player for being selected. Januarie will play if selected and he will put his body on the line to tackle the biggest oke on the field. That’s bravery. The opposite of bravery is starting a campaign of personal attacks on a man’s character from behind a keyboard because you happen to disagree with his selection (or worse, his views of your hero).

• 431.ray-27: Reply to this comment

interesting reading everyones comments.. I gotta agree, John Smit has to be there, he is our Captain and the players seem lost without him. We have alot of leaders in the team as it is, but John is the man that needs to be there. Nothing wrong with putting Bissie on for the last half an hour, will still have leaders like Victor, Du Preez, DeVilliers, Schalk and hopefully Juan Smith to see the team through.. I think we are looking very strong for the world cup.

Another point is, alot of people complain about this guy and that guy not making the squad, but at the end of the day, they probably wouldnt have been in the starting team anyway, and guys like Januarie, Jacobs etc will never make the bok 22 for the big games anyway. WE can all pick a starting 15 for the boks and 90% of our teams will look the same, bearing in mind that you actually have abit of rugby knowledge.

• 432.garth: Reply to this comment

@ray-27(ray-bulls_fan)-431: Any one of those mentioned can lead the Boks as they deserve to be their. Smit has lost all form, he is lazy on the field and has to be carried by the rest of the team. He does not add any value and only serves to weaken a team.

• 433.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-430: Very good post. Agree totally. Well said.

Have not seen you here before, but welcome. This place needs more level headed bloggers like you.

• 434.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-429: Yeah just saw that. Good news and pleased they did not have to travel via Brisbane. Would have added even more hours to their travel.

• 435.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-418: What happens if that crucial tackle is missed by Juan Smit? do we then blame him? What are the odds of the one missing it versus the other?

We are so wrapped up in avoiding losing that we are forgetting about what ingredients we need to succeed and unfortunately in SA we need a strong leader. Look what happened when we left Teichman at home supposedly because we had a more talented player for the side. Guess what we lost to a drop goal in extra time. Would Teichman have made a difference, I venture to say so as would have Honiball.

• 436.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-432: And you base that on what? Stats or observation?

• 437.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424:

That post you just posted was utter garbage.Vitriol at its best.

Garbage

• 438.garth: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-436: Observation. Have you tried that?

• 439.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-437: Well said Mishini.

Now a bit on our Sharks. What you think of our chances this Saturday buddy?

• 440.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424: I’m sure you regret typing what you just have so the only possible way out is to apologise to the writer. We (I) tolerate your incessant ramblings about the Springbok captain. You claim to support the Boks but constantly denigrate the team and by association the coach whom you also on the surface profess to support. I’ve been reading this blog for a good number of years and thought you must be in your late twenties or mid thirties. You have just revealed your age recently and this post of yours is so patronising in its extreme anger towards someone who has an opinion, it seems like my six year old boy throwing a tantrum. An opinion is not less valid because it conflicts with yours.
    I do enjoy many of your posts but this is the start of a slippery slope. Do take a moment and reflect on the good you can do writing on rugby by having a balanced view. You seem to be no better than ET, HG, Shaun and all those others you seem to despise so much now.

• 441.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-439:

Eish bud, we are up against it.Big time.

Depends alot on who is fit for the Saders.Will SBW play? How fit is Whitlock-look a yard short last week vs Canes,is Maitland going to be fit?Is McCaw going to be ready?

But much of Sharks strength lies in pack and Saders have a pack just as good if not better so no advantage there.And Saders backs are a fair distance better with fully fit team.But Sharks slightly better in back 3 in Mvovo,JP,Lambie.But inside backs is where in all matters.

Was very impressed with Mostert at 4,grunt will be needed.Sharks loosies playing better-nice to see Kanko run with ball with some space.Bot Tod has been a revelation and Read is world class while Whitelock is a grafter.

Plus the travel…..

We will put up a brave fight but ultimately Carter boot will keep us at bay and their pack will halt chances of momentum. My brain says Saders by 6-12 points. My heart say Sharks by 3 with bodies ladden all over the pitch.

• 442.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you people got absolute double standards

Have any you Smit disciple apologists actually watched any games Smit has played or captained in past 18 months? How many has he won and how many he lose? More important how much awe inspiring captaincy does it take to get smacked by France, Ireland, NZ, Australia, NZ, NZ again and Australia again within 10 months of rugby equaling 2 wins, 1 to Italy and 1 to Australia in 9 tests = win ratio of 2/9?

Is your stupefied hero worshiping sentimentality that absolutely compromisingly blind?

Wtf is it actually that reduces clear sight to absolute dumbfounded blindness when it comes to propping up a tin god hero simply for the sake of some dubious unfounded past tense hero worship sentimentality?

There is absolutely no reasonable rationalism here wrt supporting Smit from a rugby perspective. Any other player dragging the team down to the levels that he has been since 2009, Eoyt would be absolutely castigated by the same double standard sentimental fools who prop this nonentity of an argument up for the pure illogical reasoning that we won a one sided non contested gimme WC where our stiffest opposition came from nobodies Tonga and Fiji 4 whole years ago which bears absolutely zero relevance to what we about to face next.

We have LOST the last 7 from 9 tests Smit has captained and poorly so. And you want to continue doing so. Only an absolute fool continues doing the same thing and applying same principles and expects different results.

Carry Smit into tri nations and WC one more year and rest assured we gonna cop it big time. Don’t be at all surprised we start Smit vs Wales and / or Ireland, and perhaps even Samoa or Fiji and we get a massive wake up call which by then is unfortunately way too late to change your sentimentally deluded hero worshipers minds.

• 443.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-442: Apart from JS what else is similar in those 7 out of 9 losses you quote. Was the management team different, was the lock pairing different, were the loosies different, was the midfield different, because you can only attirbute the reasons for the loss to JS if you eliminate all the other that could have and would have contributed to that run , including game plan.

No-one is saying that JS i untouchable or is the best hooker on earth but here’something. When JS has been employed consistently at club and national level at hooker position prior to him being forced to change to prop he was very very instrumental in 2 of the best Tn”s we had and in winning the WC. What a lot of JS supporters are saying is that given time to develop his fitness and confidence in the position that gave us that success will give us a much better chance at retaining the Old Bill than if we discard him given the current balance of the team and the game plan.

We can argue for ages about whether or not the game plan is the right one given the skills available and you would be right to question it but given the development of the last 4 years towards this WC and the Bok team dynamics it would be unwise not to take JS as skipper to WC, in my opinion. If it fails then so be it but history has indicated it has more chance of success than failing (i.e. given that JS is afforded the opp. to get back to fitness in the hooker position). By the way I don’t mind copping it in the 3n’s if it affords us that opportunity, if our stated objective is to win the WC.

• 444.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Don’t get a lot of time on here as my connection here in the african sticks is dubious at the best of times.

The coach picked his captain – finish & klaar – and is his right hand man. Fair enough.

Kitch did the same in ’95 – Francois wasn’t the best flanker, Strauss was the best 8 and a damn fine captain too. Kitch picked “his” captain, left Strauss out the squad and the rest is history. So Div picked “his” captain, like it or not and its pointless debating the merits as its the reality. Mallet dumped his captain and the rest is sad history too.

PS: G10 – you used to be an affable bloke when you started blogging, but then you became a real cry baby and started urinating through your eyes, and these days you are defecating through your mouth with all your vitriolic bullshit. If you have nothing good to say about anyone shut the f uck up or take your maltese for a dump on the neighbours’ lawn.

• 445.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-441: Thanks Mshini always enjoy view on our Sharks. Agree with you bud,

We have a massive battle on our hands this Saturday. Not sure how much running we will see in this game. Read the weather forecast is rain for the whole game.

Tired bodies after last week and the travel don’t go well either. But think confidence wise the players are feeling good about this game. From what I read in the papers yesterday.

I feel the same. Mind says Saders but heart says Sharks.

• 446.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-445: sharks have momentum with them going into this clash, saders were lethargic and ineffective against canes to a point where blackadder expressed frustration and that his team want to unleash (read: they’re underperforming)

this is the sharks best chance to topple the saders.

• 447.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-446: I would really like to see us take them on upfront in the scrums. If we get the upper hand there its a psychological advantage against this side. They pride themselves on their scrum hits and scrummaging ability. We get them going backwards there it might just get us into their psyche and slow them up for the breakdown work. When your legs get tired your mind goes with it in rugby in my experience and you start to think twice about where you need to be next on the field.

• 448.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-446: Transie,

It this game was at Kings Park, I would have been confident Sharks could beat Saders.

After our hard game against the Bulls last week we have no to face a monster travel to NZ. I am not that confident this week. But I hope we can buddy.

Saders never had their full team against Canes though. They will be different this week. They will be back to full strength. Only McCaw out. But he has hardly played this year and don’t think they have missed him.

Catch up later bud. Getting really busy right now.

• 449.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-448: sorry for typos there. Not concentrating much.

First line It = If

2nd parargraph. no to face = now to face.

Okay catch up later Transie.

• 450.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-447:

Will have to dominate the set pieces and collisions if we want any chance. Going to be a tight affair methinks – their backline is a different animal to the Bulls’.

• 451.charo: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-444:

which part of africa are you blogging from?

• 452.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-450: Absolutely whereas with the Bulls we wanted to keep it in play and spin it wide get their big boys moving as well making them turn every now and then against the Saders it may be best to play “stick it up your jumper” style rugby and kick for touch,put pressure on the 9/10 channel and prevent the ball going beyond that i.e. we may choose to play a lot more without the ball.

Noticed in the first game against the Saders in London that we had a fair share of the possession and they scored when we got turned over. So perhaps more players to the breakdown,win the rucks and batter their forwards into submission.

• 453.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-451: Zambia. You’re in Ghana right?
    @bananaboy(bananaboy)-452: Thats the way I see it playing out, need to keep it tight. If we give them space its good night nurse and we are on the way to getting a PK.

• 454.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

bananaboy the clear unmistakable difference is under Smit the Boks are reduced to diabolical hapless useless directionless idiot fool rabble who lose almost every test they contest as per the last 9 under his captaincy and game style, where we couldn’t buy a test win for love or money. Clear as day poor captaincy, poor captains game strategy, poor play by self same individual directly resulting in Boks capitulation in more than one occasion, whereas the self same team and players without FdP and under Matfield returned good wins vs Ireland, Wales and England in same period on Eoyt with a poorly orchestrated kick chase game vs Scotland only downside thrown in between.

Now you want to divert the attention from Smit onto some other red herring mitigating factor when it is clear as day a direct result of his poor form, his poor leadership, and his poor captains strategy on the field and lack of ability and fitness on the day that resulted in the 7 very poor losses through Eoyt 09 and Into 3N 2010 and none other.

Matfield proved it with same players under his leadership and game style where but for wrong strategy vs Scotland Boks would have returned an Eoyt slam last year, something unheard of under Smit where his record shows more losses than wins both on Eoyt and in 3N under his tenure as captain.

All I hear here is a bunch of apologetic disciples who simply don’t wanna open their hero worshiping eyes in case the pain of admitting this has been palooka is the diabolical passenger liability he is gets too uncomfortable for their own tin god like bullsh’t story folding before their unbelieving eyes. Just wait, all this hero status bull has been steadily collapsing one game after the next but soon it may just come crashing with such a stupendous thud that all the kings horses and all the blind led kings men won’t be able to put Smitty back together again.

• 455.cab: Reply to this comment

O the aura – what powers he has
    just steps foot on the field and the capetonians kak in their broek.

• 456.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

they kak so much in their broek that poor ploddy aura goes home clutching his knapsack stuffed up 4 tries to none.

• 457.XV: Reply to this comment

Classic!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.