KeoTV: Backing Smitty

MARK KEOHANE says John Smit will start against Wales at the RWC. Accept it and move on.

457 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 51.grant10: Reply to this comment

enough from me…

farken blood pressure through the roof

will hit the tub with the ducky..

• 52.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

If Smit starts,which he will-fair enough.But the following stipulations must be put in place if Boks are to be successful in RWC 2011

-Smit doesnt play longer than 45-50 min MAX
    -with Smit in starting lineup Boks cant start Spies.physicality in tight phases as well as loose rucks etc is compromised with both in lineup.
    -Smit must start with Botha,Matfield,Smith-lineout fulcrum and launch of SA attacking platform.

• 53.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-48:

It works for him as he has the pace no doubt.

But remember in test rugby, and I would even venture Super Rugby (over the leagues he plays in now) space is perhaps more limited so avoiding contact especially as a tight forward and your general field positions becomes that much harder.

• 54.charo: Reply to this comment

whether they are correct or not……………

every single ex bok questioned has said that it is imperative that smit leads the boks at the world cup.

and these include blokes like robbie fleck (which surprised me)

• 55.puff: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-47:

Your choice ;-)

• 56.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-41: Test rugby and Super rugby are 2 very different games. We all so us crush England in the rounds but have to grind it out in the finals in 2007 against the same team. And the Sharks have another very EXPERIENCED leader in Terblanche. Also Plum has been rotating his entire pack, not just Smit and Bismarck and maybe it has worked, other than the Lions being the stumble a couple of weeks ago.

The All Blacks and the Aussies had better teams and players but failed in 2007 becuse they lacked leadership – couldn’t change their gameplan when it mattered. Same happened with Big Vic against Scotland.

We were in the same position against Fiji in the quarters – on comes smitty and the old heads to turn that around.

If he was going to be dropped, it should have happened already. Now its too late and would be a bad move in my opinion. Even if he is only on the bench the whole tournament, he adds more than a better player than can only bring hooking.

• 57.cab: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-51:
    yip, hop skip and a jump, oink oink. surfs up.

• 58.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I can confirm that Earl Rose will not feature in the semi’s and possible final for the Stormers.

• 59.HHS: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-58: RugbyGenius is going to be pi$$ed.

• 60.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-52:

Agreed.
    Smit starts at 2 with Brussow at openside and Burger at 8.
    Aplon at left wing or fullback.

• 61.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-53:

Give me the Bismarck-model any day!

• 62.charo: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-50:

mate, we all know it started around the time of the launch of smit’s book.

us long suffering bloggers have had to put up with it 24/7 for years now.

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-50: mate…..

smit is not even playing anymore….that is a reality….plum is hiding him, he is tweaking hammies, kakk ing his undies, etc, etc…..he simply does not warrant a place on merit.

If he keeps Bissy ….beast….guthro out a starting team we will be weaker….those are the farken facts!

Now I am saying if this great oke knows this, which he farken must do as he is not thick , then he should walk away , or at least tell PDV he is happy to sit on bench.

But here we have keo saying smit will start ……!

It freaks me out, because I watch that oke closely, and I swear he is a has been of note…..Spies is also a non performer favorite of pdvs….that is two farken passengers…..now do some maths my man….6 forwards agaonst 8 is a farken tough call….,.and as Cab says…some other aging legs there too !

So i get the moer in upset, because i know the kak is coming mate….and then its farken tears and teeth gnashing….

and the most frustrating thing is i believe we are good enough, but have to be ruthless in our selections….

and we wont be….and it freaks me out…big time…

okay

• 64.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-52: I posted on another thread that I simply cannot see a spot for Bakkies anymore.

But let’s say you play him.

What would you do with Bekker and Rossouw? Bench them both?

@puff(puff)-60: Agree with Brussow / Burger.

• 65.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-63: kakk ing his undies

Lol.

I shouldnt, but that was funny.

I could rage on about this but from experience I know you will just rage back.
    No point.
    Enjoy the waves.
    (Isnt it raining in CT btw?)

• 66.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-60:

Would like to see this team in 3N away LEG

1.Guthro
    2.Rallapelle
    3.Kruger
    4.Rossouw
    5.Matfield(c)
    6.Brussow
    7.Burger
    8.Johnson

9.Du Preez
    10.Butch
    11.Mvovo
    12.de Jongh
    13.Fourie
    14.JP
    15.Aplon

• 67.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-63: Weird how people use different criteria for different players. Smit is “not even playing”, and therefore should not be there. Yet, players like Guthro (out for 3 months now), Smith, Brussouw, F. Steyn (hasn’t been in SA) are all automatic inclusions.

Fact is the WC is different from Tri-Nations, not even talking about Superugby. A guy like Smit is needed. Remember 1999? Teichman dropped? It would be bye-bye Boks if Smit gets dropped now. A VERY BIG BYE-BYE.

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-52: what is the point of the guy playing only 45-50 minutes?

what was the score going into the 60th minute of the Test at soccer city? how about the last all black test at newlands? the score was 5-0 going into the last 15 min, of what value will a tired smit sitting on the bench be when the abs are launching a full-on attack like they did in hamilton in 2009 where the boks were saved by an over-cooked carter cross-kick?

just asking.

• 69.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Keo?? You sitting back mate and have a good laugh???? :lol:

• 70.Hipponinja: Reply to this comment

Haha pathetic. They probaly gona play matfield,bakies botha and juan de villiers aswell. We wont even qualify

• 71.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Hipponinja(Hipponinja)-70: You mean Bakkies and Jean?

• 72.puff: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-66:

Good team.
    Not sold on Kruger though.
    Tighthead is a real issue.
    Other than that happy with Bok depth in every other position.
    Not happy Vermeulen is crocked!

• 73.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Hipponinja(Hipponinja)-70: Juan de Villiers?
    They tied the knot?
    Only in Cape Town…

• 74.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-64:

If Bakkies starts a 4 which is most likely.Rossouw will always trump Bekker in the squad dynamic/22.That allows you to select a full front row on bench if you are anticipating a forward onslaught,or a wider backline group on bench 4-3 split etc

Bench IMO:

16.Bismark
    17.Guthro
    18.Rossouw
    19.Alberts
    20.Pienaar
    21.M.Steyn
    22.F.Steyn

• 75.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-67: eish boet , the smit haters here try convince us they dont, there hate for him has nothing and i mean NOTHING TO DO WITH RUGBY

it has everything to do with Smits Book, where he said, and i quote , the team is referring to luke watson as the cancer in the team

and 90% of those in here hate him for that reason as they still on an apartheid crusade , they our local freedom fighters lol

fact is smitty didnt say watson is the cancer , but is referred to as such by the team

Of course they read it as they want and thus for 4 years we have had this stupid **** day in and day out

they didnt cry when chili was playing rubbish and stayed in the bok team , I’ll be the first to admit that chilli is really playing great rugga now and deserves his call up

but as much as they will try deny it?????

THE HATING OF JOHN SMIT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH RUGBY

• 76.Divz: Reply to this comment

If Smit is such an important leader take him with as a non playing captain not even on the bench. Juan Smith (if fit) to lead the boks on the field with tricky vic as VC i dont think Rassie going to play Smit if he is not up to it …. so lets just relax. Sad really Smit was huge SA hero afetr 2007 which will quickly turn to most hated by 2011 if the right things not done.

• 77.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-68:

Transie, I agree, but remember – his value is not only determined by him coming on as a replacement / impact player, but in terms of covering an injury.

And he covers both 2 and 1. Resources are limited in a 22-man squad.

In addition, you don’t always need to use all 22 players in a match (even though I strongly recommend you do more often than not) – but how many subs did Jake White bring on in the 2007 final?

• 78.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Keo , me lad , most here still dont get the “MESSAGE” :lol: :lol:

• 79.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-66: Excellent team

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-62: you lie, grant has been against smit playing tighthead since pdv announced it in 2008, john’s book came at the end of 2009. some of us “long suffering bloggers” speak the truth.

• 81.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

I kinda also bashed Smit for a while, as well as PdV. I then bought his book to read on my flights overseas. It puts into perspective what happened regarding all those losses in 2006, as well as the ‘miraculous turnarounds’ such as whopping the Ausies by 50 points in Johannesburg. It also puts into perspective just how important the captaining role is of a national team.

What most of you seem to be forgetting, is that John Smit has somewhat of a ‘father figure’ in this Springbok team. Yes, it is true that he is not the best number 2 in the country, but what do you think will happen when players like FdP, JdV, Victor, Bakkies, Schalk and all the other starting veterans will feel like when he is suddenly not their leader anymore? The players trust him, and listen to him. They know how to turn situations around, and know what to do when he gives them their instructions.

Smit is there because the team functions like a family. He is the leader, and the father figure of the team. I know it sounds corny, but the reality is, that Smit is still the nucleus of the Springbok team, and he is the one that can ensure that our other veterans, as well as newcomers look up to him, and play like a single unit.

That’s what I think anyway.

• 82.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-75: I agree. It has nothing to do with how he plays, it is who he is. Simple as that.

@Divz(Divz)-76: If Smit is to take the blame if we lose, he should take the credit if we win.

• 83.puff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-80:

There is a difference between not wanting Smit to play tighthead and not wanting him to be:
    Bok Captain
    In the world cup squad
    Playing at 2 for the national team
    Being an onfield starter

• 84.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-75:

The inclusion of JS in the Bok side has nothing to do with rugby, if it did he would be nowhere near that side.

All agendas and promises made and money to be earned , nothing more nothing less !!!

Greed ,ego and shady deals ruling the roost here, but if it makes you happy that Smit will start ahead of Bissy or Beast then good on you.

It makes me pis s blood though as I want the Best palying for the Boks !!!

• 85.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Hahahahaha… Keo says : “Don’t call him lard, Don’t call him fat arse….”

• 86.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-84: Go see a doctor.

• 87.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-85: I must confess, I dont bother watching these clips, I head straight to the comments.

• 88.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Jer1cho(Jer1cho)-81:

You obviously entitled to your opinion, my take is that the Boks are not a high school team ,they are pro athletes and many are captains of their Provinces, surely they don’t need a father figure around to ensure everyone is happy ??

coaches and support staff , kop doctors are there etc !!

I ask the question again, what happens if smit is taken out by a bus tomorrow ??

Suddenly the Boks going to fall apart ?????????? …….not on your ninny !!!!

• 89.cab: Reply to this comment

actually the boks had one of their greatest seasons ever when smit was at TH (beast and bis at 1 and 2 respectively), winning a lions series and a 3N including a cleansweep of the ABs.

We got creamed in the Lions test when rallapelle started at hooker, tho that was also with johan muller at lock and kanko at 8thman.

• 90.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-87: Usually I do too, but it was funny to hear someone actually say it. :lol:

• 91.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-68:

Transie

He is going to be in the starting lineup regardless especially looking at SA’s innate fear of the 99′ World Cup leadership fiasco in the not too distant background. Had Fitzpatrick not retired in 97′ the AB’s would have taken him to 99′ WC-he wasnt the best hooker in NZ then neither-Norm Hewitt,Anton Oliver were already better but AB’s never hinted at outing Fitzpatrick. SA seem to be in same situation except all and sundry are (many for good reason) questioning Smit’s continued selection..

Smit can hold his own for 45-50 min and has shown in some S15 performances he has at least that much left in tank especially when he plays 2.The score in Soweto after 60 mins-we were leading if Im not mistaken and us losing that game was more based when we took off Juan Smith after 60 mins-lost momentum in collision points and lost game.yeha Smit missed tackle at end but in 79 min vs a rampaging Ma’a Nonu is broken play-90% of the hookers in pro rugby would have missed that tackle.

• 92.Jer1cho: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-88:

You would be surprised at just how much they are like a high school team. I am not for one instance saying that they would fall apart, but I do believe that the players themselves would feel better, and more confident having him lead them at the World Cup again.

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-83: the point is, grant didn’t have a problem with smit playing at the end of 2008 and in 2009, he actually picked him at hooker and for bissy to play last 30min but john played tighthead against the lions. now it is 2 years later and smit had abandoned the tighthead experiment as he was “fearing for his health” but he doesn’t have the aptitude for hooker anymore, better yet the yound bucks have surpassed him, now he is being accommodated in a position where we arguably have the best player in the world.

that is what irks grant :D

• 94.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-80:

ooooh…..

so it’s been going on for 3 years already?

no wonder i feel dizzy when i read it every day

• 95.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

Oh dear.

Christmas in June for Grantie.

JR fetch the miseltoe.

• 96.charo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-93:

nope….

you lie.

g10 hates the person john smit.

no other reason.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-91: you point to juan’s subbing as the turning point, what did smit as the “glue”/”nucleus” of the team do to counter-act that imbalance. this is ostensibly the reason he is there – to help the team close out tight games with his “aura” of leadership.

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-96: whatever then, keep the propaganda going :D

• 99.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-91: how many times has smit played hooker this year? about 5 matches at best and in only one – against the rubbish canes – did he have a decent performance!

• 100.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Date: Saturday, June 25
    Venue: Trafalgar Park, Nelson
    Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT)
    Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
    Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
    TMO: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)

See above. Okay. No its settled. Crusaders cannot win this game at all as Bryce hates the Saders, and esspecially Richie. Thank goodness he won’t be on the park, as Bryce really hates him. Sharks to win it purely because Bryce will ensure it.

Now to focus on the Sharks match against the Stormers at Newlands.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.