KeoTV: Backing Smitty
21 Jun 2011
MARK KEOHANE says John Smit will start against Wales at the RWC. Accept it and move on.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article18 May 2013
The Bulls scored a late try to secure a bonus point victory over the Highlanders at Loftus. The Bulls practically had the match wrapped at half time, leading 23 - 6 at the break before winning 35 - 18. Morne Steyn kicked 15 points in a match that was dominated by the physical men from Pretoria. The Highlander were full of running but lacked the basic handling skills to do anything with their possession. The first try of the match was scored in the opening two minutes, JJ Engelbrecht rounding off a well worked move. The second try was a bit more dubious. The Bulls turned over deep in their ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article21 Jun 2011
MARK KEOHANE says John Smit will start against Wales at the RWC. Accept it and move on.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
The Bulls scored a late try to secure a bonus point victory over the Highlanders at Loftus. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

457 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
21 Jun 2011, 18:02 pm
@grant10(grant10)-150: yeah and you are a young punk who should learn to respect people instead of insulting them because they differ on opinion. Grow up.
21 Jun 2011, 18:02 pm
You just have to listen to a show called SuperRugby on Kyknet to know people’s preconceived ideas on players will never change, come hell or high water.
After the Boks won the RWC in 2007 silencing a lot of critics at the time, it did not take them long to sing the same old hymns again.
Like they say, the more things change…
Keo is right though, whichever view you have on the matter or player(s), Smit is going, he is going to be captain, and he will start in the big games. And nothing you write about on a blog the coach does not even read will change that.
In fact, the more people harp on the subject (which has been discussed for well over a year now with the same people holding the same views) the more silly it becomes.
21 Jun 2011, 18:04 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-143: the self-same jake white is on record saying smit should’ve RETIRED!!! what do you say to that?
21 Jun 2011, 18:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-153:
Come now Trans, you know as well as I do within the same interview he said if he was still coach, he would have picked him…
21 Jun 2011, 18:06 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-149: My memory is not that great chief, but I know for a fact that we took a very good Aussie team to extra time. Who knows maybe a weary Teichmann would have missed an important tackle like Smit did at Soccer City last year, when such tackles are missed its tickets, JP made his against Fiji, Rossouw made his against England, Japie Mulder made his in 1995.
Its a game of inches….
21 Jun 2011, 18:10 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-154:
thats why i didnt bother answering him, transie like some others hates Smitty , so there will never be recognition for Smitty
thus some things just best left unsaid…..
21 Jun 2011, 18:17 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-156: you have no basis to say i hate smit, none!
21 Jun 2011, 18:18 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-67: Well said mate.
21 Jun 2011, 18:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-157: you always dis the people you like??
and touched a nerve did i??
21 Jun 2011, 18:19 pm
@Puma(Puma)-158: hiyas brudda, i see the sharks team is delayed at the airport in JHB, re that cloud story
21 Jun 2011, 18:20 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-75: Spot on. Agree 100% there.
21 Jun 2011, 18:22 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-160: Damn, hope nothing comes of it. Cause is we delayed and can’t get to Nelson to play Saders. They will go through cause of ending higher than us on the log.
They had a similar problem in Scotland when I was there with the Ash. All planes were grounded. But they sorted it out pronto. Hope we can.
21 Jun 2011, 18:23 pm
@Puma(Puma)-162: meant = Cause if
21 Jun 2011, 18:23 pm
@Puma(Puma)-162: yeah hope so to
21 Jun 2011, 18:24 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-154: Very true that. Some forget.
21 Jun 2011, 18:26 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-164: We left it late as it is to travel as it is. Hope we leave tonight.
21 Jun 2011, 18:27 pm
@Puma(Puma)-166: Daft English up there…….hahaha.
We left it late as it is to travel. Ingore the other part…hehe.
@Puma(Puma)-165:
Well its quite simple, a captain is an extension of the coach to his players, if that link is lost, all is lost.
Hence I always maintained, I pick my captain first, always.
@Puma(Puma)-165: it’s that selective memories and selective reading some have
absolutely ridiculous that an entire rugby community gotta feel obliged and sentimentally brainwashed into compromising and carrying this absolute quota passenger on account of a stupid fluke WC win against 7th rank England and 6th rank Argentine 4 years ago they still gotta feel beholden and awe inspired by this over the hill useless out of condition 5th or 6th best hooker in the country outright self seeking schmuck.
Go ahead play him vs Wales, and play Jannie Dup, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Injury ridden Juan Smith and poefta Spies too with FdP and Morne Steyn running the kick chase game plan from behind the stuck in the mud scrum, and don’t come crying when Wales wacks us first game up.
That’s your gamble and that’s your call, play Smit, Du Plessis, Botha, Matfield, Burger, Smith, Spies, FdP and Steyn and watch it all fall down first game against decent opposition in the WC. That’s gonna be a mighty fine wake up call but its gonna come a little too late.
21 Jun 2011, 18:29 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-160: Brudda just got a call from my sister that landed in Joburg from Cape Town right now.
So if there is a problem it could be coming from Sydney. Probably could be. We will only leave once they give us the clear we can land there.
Keep fingers crossed bro.
21 Jun 2011, 18:30 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-168: 100%, and like i said earlier i was sitting here watching “The Road To New Zealand” and just hearing Jake as well as other players the way they speak of what Smitty meant in that cup was massive
21 Jun 2011, 18:31 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-168: I agree with you totally mate. I feel exactly the same.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-169: I know…hahaha. Just have to have a laugh at some.
21 Jun 2011, 18:32 pm
@Puma(Puma)-171: yeah
i had a drink with a stormer player ealier lol , says he is giving me 2 tickets for the stormers match , lol
i said to him wait my sharks only meet the stormers if possible in the final, he reckons no cant wait for sharks results lol he will organise 2 tickets whether they play the saders or the blues or tahs
he said he is hoping they meet the tahs
21 Jun 2011, 18:36 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-172: Do you still get the Mercury? A great read on the back page. ‘We are battle-hardened and know we can win big games’ By Stefan. He says we have been playing ‘finals’ the last month to stay alive. They have taken a lot of confidence out of that.
21 Jun 2011, 18:37 pm
@Puma(Puma)-175: sounds great , but no i get the daily news
@Puma(Puma)-175:
I am not making the same mistake, this week I am trusting my instincts, Crusaders will make the trip to Newlands next week I’m afraid.
@Puma(Puma)-175: i’ll check if its on IOL.co.za
21 Jun 2011, 18:38 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-174: Go to the game bro. Should be a cracker at Newlands. Whether they face Saders or Blues.
Make sure though if we get to the finals he gets you those tickets……hahaha. They will be very hard to come by.
21 Jun 2011, 18:38 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-177: come next week you could be saying . i shoulda listened to Puma and Sharky
21 Jun 2011, 18:39 pm
@Puma(Puma)-179: well could be a problem if stormers l;ose and sharks win?? lol
21 Jun 2011, 18:40 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-180:
Haha, fair enough, given what it will mean for the Stormers and who they will face, I hope you are right!
21 Jun 2011, 18:42 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-177: They could mate. I went with my instincts last week. Spot on the money. I had Sharks by 3.
I am the most negative person when it comes to Sharks playing. Cause I am nervous mostly…hahaha. So always worry about our games. For the very first time I had a really good feeling and said also here and on other blogs I thought Sharks would win.
For this game I am nervous. We have to travel. Played a really hard game against Bulls. So yeah, once again worried.
If we lose really not gonna feel disappointed. At least we made the play offs. Also Sharks will soften those Saders for your boys if we don’t make it…….hehe.
21 Jun 2011, 18:44 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-180:
I think I climbed huge on bru with me going with Sharks this past week. Most went with Bulls…hehehe.
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-178: Try and get it bro. Good read.
21 Jun 2011, 18:44 pm
@Puma(Puma)-183:
I said that there was one upset left for last weekends games, I had to choose between the Reds/Chiefs, Sharks/Bulls – I made the wrong choice…
21 Jun 2011, 18:45 pm
The upset was most likely to be in Hamilton, but my instincts told me PTA – I went the logical route = dumbass decision!
21 Jun 2011, 18:48 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-181: Yeah, you never know…lol.
Actually now that we made the play off so damned pleased we never ended 5th. Cause had we beaten the Blues we would have had to travel back to CT to play Stormers. Had we beaten them we would have headed straight back either to Brisbane or NZ. Now that kinda travel would be even worse than what we are gonna do.
If we do beat Saders we only have to fly to Brisbane. Think it is a 3 hour flight to play the semi. If we win that and Stormers win, then no worries we would have had to come home anyhow. Or if Stormers lose then only another 3 hour flight back to NZ. So getting 6th spot was better actually than getting 5th. Travel wise that is.
21 Jun 2011, 18:54 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-186: You know mate, I had a good feeling cause of our 2nd half against Lions. We had a mountain to climb to get back into that game. We did. I felt we got plenty confidence out of that game.
Also thought we had nothing to lose. Knew we would come out and play a high tempo game. Felt if we done that and with the confidence we had from coming from a huge deficit against the Lions to draw. We could beat Bulls playing that style of rugga. We never fell into the trap Stormers did against Bulls. Just keep possession against them and they panic. My feeling. It worked.
Also this time we had two play makers starting. Freddie and Lambie.
Anyhow normally never feel that confident. Mostly a pessimist when it comes to my Sharks playing. Always expect the worst……haha. Not sure, maybe it was that horrible 2007 game against the Bulls in the final.
For this week just hoping we can. Will be very tough. Saders are right now a better team than Bulls.
21 Jun 2011, 18:58 pm
if I told you once I’ve told you a thousand times always go with your gut its far more accurate than your dumb schmuck head.
Smit is totally wrong for Boks like he was totally wrong for them since Eoyt 2009 he’s even worse for them now… Go into this WC with John Smit as your talisman leader you coming home early that’s a fact, don’t come crying and blame everyone else when the cookie crumble like it did at Soccer City or Bloemfontein last year or against Ireland or France year before. If Smit leads Boks in Wc 2011 we as good as toast right here right now, fete a compli klaar gelag.
Big gamble playing that quota passenger, imagine if this useless palooka had a brown or black skin what kind song and dance you be chanting right now…
21 Jun 2011, 19:07 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-189: who you talking to?
21 Jun 2011, 19:09 pm
@Puma(Puma)-187: The winner between the Sharks and Crusaders play the Stormers, winner between Blues and Tahs play Reds.
21 Jun 2011, 19:09 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-190: To you, who do you think you cocky Shark supporter.
21 Jun 2011, 19:10 pm
Hierdie stront het begin toe PDV, Frankryk toe gevlieg het om John te vra om sy kaptein te wees. PDV kon maklik sy eie kaptein gekies het om saam hom te werk. Maar is PDV rerig so goeie coach? Kan hy sy eie span bou met eie kaptein. Ek dink nie so nie. Semi’s by WC en nie verder nie.
21 Jun 2011, 19:11 pm
plod is the biggest con job ever …..
and the poor sharkievarkie fools still cant see the facts
plod cant even make a superrugby team that came 6 th
but he must sommer jump over everyone and lead the world champs??
Farkit….blows my mind I tell you
21 Jun 2011, 19:11 pm
sharks are favourites to win in Nelson
21 Jun 2011, 19:12 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-191: no mate
wrong
21 Jun 2011, 19:13 pm
@grant10(grant10)-194: Who is Plod?
“plod cant even make a superrugby team that came 6 th”
Neither would any other hooker in the world if Bismark is the best in the world.
21 Jun 2011, 19:13 pm
@TheAgent(TheAgent)-191: not so
if the sharks win they play the reds, if the sharks lose the saders will play the stormers the winner of the blues tahs match will play the stormers , if the sharks do beat the saders
21 Jun 2011, 19:14 pm
I’m talking to whoever wanna listen Smit going to bring you down like he did in 2010. Seems most you people haven’t learned your lesson yet. Last year was tri nations, this year WC. Carry Smit, FdP, Steyn, Burger, Botha, Spies, you coming home early maybe even after pools if you play Wales with Smit your great galvanizing talisman hopeless finished passed tense quota leader.
21 Jun 2011, 19:14 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-189:
Yeah mate, you sung the same tune with different lyrics way back in 2007. My ‘gut’ told me we got a chance in 2007, and as it turned out, we had more than that, we brought the Cup home.
My gut is telling me the same thing in 2011, hell even Fitzy agrees with me!
From where I sit, we have to give ourselves the best chance to retain this thing, having Smit there gives us that – but then we have been over this before, so no need to re-visit it.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All