KeoTV: Backing Smitty

MARK KEOHANE says John Smit will start against Wales at the RWC. Accept it and move on.

457 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All

• 401.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-387:

Poor is when you have to go and find 3 games to validate his performance, and yes in some of those games you mentioned he was pis s poor.

The oke can hardly run ffs, get your sentimental panties off, grow a pair and face up to the fact that JS is very much yesterdays hero !!!

• 402.Number15: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-380: “All Blacks have never had weak skippers mate.”

You don’t know your rugby. The NZ community was massively polarised over Reuben Thorne.

• 403.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-393: So now you taling about the world cup? Heck you are bloody stupid.

Wait let me think for a second…. Well that is all it took, ALL of them since 1987. They have won NOTHING man, are you stupid????????? McCaw as great as a player as he is LOST the world cup for them in France. He had them trying to push the French over for a bloody try for about 15min instead of calling for a drop. Do you call that clever? :shock:

• 404.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-403: taling = talking

• 405.justrugby: Reply to this comment

What truly amazes me is that some sentimental Sharks supporters are actually trying to find fault with Bissy to justify picking JS ……………..wtf !!!!

Outta here !!

• 406.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

:sleep:

• 407.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-399: smit starts its saders by a whole bunch

I am 48….no farken kid mate

been watching this game since 1976

you all old fools…wise se moer man!

• 408.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-402: Exactly.

Some think they know it all. Ignore the John bashes. Like I said above to you. Only 2 or 3 do it and it is the same ones over and over. Until it is a complete bore to read.

I normally scroll on by. Just got caught up in it again today. Won’t ever again.

Scroll on by from now on.

• 409.grant10: Reply to this comment

outta here as well

farken idiots …

• 410.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-408: idiot fool of the highest order.

• 411.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-407: You sound like 4 going on 5 the whole damn time. Try growing up sometime.

• 412.wooden spoon: Plumtree must go: Reply to this comment

…rabid dogs still chasing their tails! Been scratching their fleas too ever since John Smit mention their struggle icon in a book!

• 413.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-394: JR haev you analyzed the game time JS has had at hooker i.e. total number of minutes etc and equated that with the game time of others in that position. Have you also taken into account that balance in the side and the other combinations in the field that would affect the performance of the team. The whole performance of the Sharks team this season has been down to JS according to you guys.

How do you explain the good performance of the Sharks without Alberts on Sat in the first half. Are you going to extrapolate that and suggest on the basis of previous performances that perhaps Alberts was the reason for the poor performances when JS didn’t start.

• 414.garth: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-397: Great leaders put the greater good ahead of their own glory. Saying this, JS should withdraw from international rugby.

• 415.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

• 416.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-409: Good go take a walk on your beach………….hahahaha. Daft clifton warrior……hehehe

• 417.garth: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-403: McCaw was arrogant. You don’t need JS in charge to avoid such poor calls.

• 418.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-408: Just a question Puma, what happens if in the Semi’s or Quarters, Smit misses a a crucial tackle like he did last year at Soccer City. Remember RWC are won by tight margins, as JP Petersen did with his tackle against Fiji, Dannie Rossouw did with his tackle against England and Japie Mulder did with his in 1995.

Will you guys be men enough to come out and we we stuffed up or will you use an excuse like “it happens in rugby, you cant expect a forward to make that tackle against SBW/Nonu/O’Driscol”.

• 419.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

no garth Smit is a must for the world cup,

go watch the road to new zealand , its been on super sport quite a few times now

they spoke to many players and jw etc , and in it it becomes very clear how big a role john played in keeping the team together and even keeping JW calm

his leadership is a must, i’ll be the first to admit we must start with bissy, but last 20 min to close off a game when the going gets tough , bring on smitty , be it at 1 or 2

• 420.garth: Reply to this comment

It’s quite funny. Sky TV are advertising the you will miss PDV quotes if you don’t install Sky TV.

• 421.Puma: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-417: Yes a bit arrogant but rather foolish too. ABs were a great team in 2007. Should have been us facing them in the final. BUT he screwed up by trying for about 15min to push the french over for that try. All they needed was a drop and they would have won that game. He wasted so much time doing that until there was not even enough time for a drop goal. Pity. Would have loved a Bok/AB final.

I can tell you John would have called for a drop right there.

I think McCaw has learned plenty from that world cup though. He is a magnificent player always has been and yes a great captain now. But he cost his country in that quarter final.

• 422.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Smit along with his redundant JW entrenched kick chase game plan is the absolute fundamental reason Boks lost vs France 2009, Ireland 2009, NZ away 2010, Australia away 2010, NZ away again 2010, NZ home 2010, and Australia home 2010. 5 losses from 6 in 2010 tri nations, and 2 losses Eoyt 2009, with a win to Italy. All told Smit has not had a convincing win as Bok captain since tri nations 2009, when kick chase game worked under original Elv rules. Since then he’s lost every single test he’s captained apart from one win against Italy and one scrape at home to Australia in 09.

Now check how he performs for Sharks, he captains the team and they get walloped by 4 tries to zip vs Stormers, get smacked around the ears by Crusaders and Chiefs, get smacked at home by Bulls, losing 30-9 to Lions and gets pulled off and replaced by Bismark and suddenly Sharks pull out a 30-30 draw in last 25 min when he’s off the field. Next Sharks go to Bulls without playing him and miraculously win against all odds.

You dumb Smit apologetic imbeciles are not only stupid you are actually blind. Everything is screaming out at you that this palooka waste of a position on the field is a has been past it liability and a non contributing curse, and you dumb fools keep lapping it up and asking for more.

I would just love to see all these hypocrite apologists if this was Chili or Luke Watson or Ricky Januarie we were debating here losing game after game and going steadily into retrograde form which side of their compromise apologetics they’d be emanating out their two faced backsides.

Smit is a f’ng has been liability second to none yet you dumb Sharks apologists are willing to carry this passenger for the sake of some stupid sentimental dumbass hero worshiping past tense 2007 idiocy.

Go ahead and play him. Play him anywhere in front row this weekend, unlike the cowardly coach who wasn’t prepared to gamble playing him at all last week because he knew in his gut if he sent this passenger onto the field Bulls would have trounced Sharks, go ahead and play Smit vs Crusaders.

Play him against Crusaders and play him for Boks. I’ve seen enough for long enough to know he’s an absolute passenger liability on the field in any position. I seen enough since Eoyt 2009, to know John Smit is being selected and accommodated for sentimental prestige and hero worshiping status only and nowhere at all for any clear common sense rugby reasons whatsoever. Keep on playing this dubious chump at hooker or prop and give the opposition at least a 10% advantage.

And what is interesting to note its almost 100 % ex Sharks expatriated supporters who wanna hang onto this sinking ship for some ridiculous sentimentally dubious reason, yet they hail Caesar when he don’t play and they miraculously win, and then keep on hailing him when he does play and they lose.

Absolute idiocy that knows no clear common sense whatsoever. Let any other quota be in this dubious hypocritical position and let these expatriated Shark idiots keep supporting the player when he’s clearly an absolute liability to the cause, lets see them hail Watson or Januarie or Chiliboy or Habana when they playing even half as hopelessly out of form or consistency as John Smit is today.

• 423.Number15: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-418: “Just a question Puma, what happens if in the Semi’s or Quarters, Smit misses a a crucial tackle like he did last year at Soccer City.”

Well their are a number of problems with this view. You’re attributing the loss to a single incident. A rugby match is played over 80+ minutes, everything counts. You don’t have statistics for missed tackles, but I wouldn’t be surprised if JS makes more than average and misses less than average. That was a noticeable and unfortunate miss. JS is not a mobile hooker anymore, but what he does bring is a lot of graft in the rucks and mauls, some sly play, very very solid at scrum and lineouts. You absolutely cannot offord to be outplayed at the modern set piece or teams will milk you for penalties and field position all day, and then it’s almost game over. Ask Australia about their last RWC game against England. He also brings massive experience. He’s been in so many games, ahead and behind, with the core squad (who trust him) and that is something you can’t quantify.

There was a reason de Villiers had to fake an injury in the first BIL match to get JS back on the field when things starting going to pieces. JS was *HUGE* in that game, which basically won us the series. Yet all this is easily forgotten by you guys. I doubt you’ll find a single poster who says JS is the best hooker in SA anymore. But that’s not the point, the point is he is still damned good at what he does bring to the table. He is also the national captain, and I struggle to forgive you so called ‘fans’ who seem intent on creating division in the camp at a time (RWC) we need unity most.

• 424.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-423: fark you and your unity!

If unity means supporting a non merit gravy training quota then count me out…

If plod wants unity he should do the honorable thing and retire.

how many more losses we got to endure for this quota?

How many more times far beyyer players like beast / Bissy going to have to be sacrificed for this Aura c rap!

S crew you and your sentimental unity b sh it….

Lets see how behind the boks you would be if Januarie starts….

F ark you and your messed up sense of candy floss patriotism!

Dont want your ‘ forgiveness’….wo the F ark you think you are anyway….some sort of forgiving Deity….you deluded you idiot

• 425.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424: no cussing mate, this is a debate!

• 426.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-36: no, losing to Wales or to Ireland/whoever in the QF is a disaster, that’s why i would settle on losing to the AB’s in the Semi’s, because it would not be a disaster. it’s quite simple?

• 427.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-425: okay

cant stand the patronising attitude….who the hell is asking this numbers oke for forgiveness for having a point of view.

• 428.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-427: ag if people want to get on their high horses on this issue let them be, this is a discussion board, not a holier than thou session of who loves the boks the most.

clearly he backs smitty and you don’t…no need to take his perceived complexes into consideration :D

• 429.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

sharks landed safely in Sydney

• 430.Number15: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424:

Well I never expect you to be anything but biased, because I know your view is based on being a Luke Watson fan. You rant and rave, and not content to attack Smit’s character you then insult and use foul language at me.

I never ever attack a player for being selected. Januarie will play if selected and he will put his body on the line to tackle the biggest oke on the field. That’s bravery. The opposite of bravery is starting a campaign of personal attacks on a man’s character from behind a keyboard because you happen to disagree with his selection (or worse, his views of your hero).

• 431.ray-27: Reply to this comment

interesting reading everyones comments.. I gotta agree, John Smit has to be there, he is our Captain and the players seem lost without him. We have alot of leaders in the team as it is, but John is the man that needs to be there. Nothing wrong with putting Bissie on for the last half an hour, will still have leaders like Victor, Du Preez, DeVilliers, Schalk and hopefully Juan Smith to see the team through.. I think we are looking very strong for the world cup.

Another point is, alot of people complain about this guy and that guy not making the squad, but at the end of the day, they probably wouldnt have been in the starting team anyway, and guys like Januarie, Jacobs etc will never make the bok 22 for the big games anyway. WE can all pick a starting 15 for the boks and 90% of our teams will look the same, bearing in mind that you actually have abit of rugby knowledge.

• 432.garth: Reply to this comment

@ray-27(ray-bulls_fan)-431: Any one of those mentioned can lead the Boks as they deserve to be their. Smit has lost all form, he is lazy on the field and has to be carried by the rest of the team. He does not add any value and only serves to weaken a team.

• 433.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-430: Very good post. Agree totally. Well said.

Have not seen you here before, but welcome. This place needs more level headed bloggers like you.

• 434.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-429: Yeah just saw that. Good news and pleased they did not have to travel via Brisbane. Would have added even more hours to their travel.

• 435.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-418: What happens if that crucial tackle is missed by Juan Smit? do we then blame him? What are the odds of the one missing it versus the other?

We are so wrapped up in avoiding losing that we are forgetting about what ingredients we need to succeed and unfortunately in SA we need a strong leader. Look what happened when we left Teichman at home supposedly because we had a more talented player for the side. Guess what we lost to a drop goal in extra time. Would Teichman have made a difference, I venture to say so as would have Honiball.

• 436.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-432: And you base that on what? Stats or observation?

• 437.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424:

That post you just posted was utter garbage.Vitriol at its best.

Garbage

• 438.garth: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-436: Observation. Have you tried that?

• 439.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-437: Well said Mishini.

Now a bit on our Sharks. What you think of our chances this Saturday buddy?

• 440.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-424: I’m sure you regret typing what you just have so the only possible way out is to apologise to the writer. We (I) tolerate your incessant ramblings about the Springbok captain. You claim to support the Boks but constantly denigrate the team and by association the coach whom you also on the surface profess to support. I’ve been reading this blog for a good number of years and thought you must be in your late twenties or mid thirties. You have just revealed your age recently and this post of yours is so patronising in its extreme anger towards someone who has an opinion, it seems like my six year old boy throwing a tantrum. An opinion is not less valid because it conflicts with yours.
    I do enjoy many of your posts but this is the start of a slippery slope. Do take a moment and reflect on the good you can do writing on rugby by having a balanced view. You seem to be no better than ET, HG, Shaun and all those others you seem to despise so much now.

• 441.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-439:

Eish bud, we are up against it.Big time.

Depends alot on who is fit for the Saders.Will SBW play? How fit is Whitlock-look a yard short last week vs Canes,is Maitland going to be fit?Is McCaw going to be ready?

But much of Sharks strength lies in pack and Saders have a pack just as good if not better so no advantage there.And Saders backs are a fair distance better with fully fit team.But Sharks slightly better in back 3 in Mvovo,JP,Lambie.But inside backs is where in all matters.

Was very impressed with Mostert at 4,grunt will be needed.Sharks loosies playing better-nice to see Kanko run with ball with some space.Bot Tod has been a revelation and Read is world class while Whitelock is a grafter.

Plus the travel…..

We will put up a brave fight but ultimately Carter boot will keep us at bay and their pack will halt chances of momentum. My brain says Saders by 6-12 points. My heart say Sharks by 3 with bodies ladden all over the pitch.

• 442.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you people got absolute double standards

Have any you Smit disciple apologists actually watched any games Smit has played or captained in past 18 months? How many has he won and how many he lose? More important how much awe inspiring captaincy does it take to get smacked by France, Ireland, NZ, Australia, NZ, NZ again and Australia again within 10 months of rugby equaling 2 wins, 1 to Italy and 1 to Australia in 9 tests = win ratio of 2/9?

Is your stupefied hero worshiping sentimentality that absolutely compromisingly blind?

Wtf is it actually that reduces clear sight to absolute dumbfounded blindness when it comes to propping up a tin god hero simply for the sake of some dubious unfounded past tense hero worship sentimentality?

There is absolutely no reasonable rationalism here wrt supporting Smit from a rugby perspective. Any other player dragging the team down to the levels that he has been since 2009, Eoyt would be absolutely castigated by the same double standard sentimental fools who prop this nonentity of an argument up for the pure illogical reasoning that we won a one sided non contested gimme WC where our stiffest opposition came from nobodies Tonga and Fiji 4 whole years ago which bears absolutely zero relevance to what we about to face next.

We have LOST the last 7 from 9 tests Smit has captained and poorly so. And you want to continue doing so. Only an absolute fool continues doing the same thing and applying same principles and expects different results.

Carry Smit into tri nations and WC one more year and rest assured we gonna cop it big time. Don’t be at all surprised we start Smit vs Wales and / or Ireland, and perhaps even Samoa or Fiji and we get a massive wake up call which by then is unfortunately way too late to change your sentimentally deluded hero worshipers minds.

• 443.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-442: Apart from JS what else is similar in those 7 out of 9 losses you quote. Was the management team different, was the lock pairing different, were the loosies different, was the midfield different, because you can only attirbute the reasons for the loss to JS if you eliminate all the other that could have and would have contributed to that run , including game plan.

No-one is saying that JS i untouchable or is the best hooker on earth but here’something. When JS has been employed consistently at club and national level at hooker position prior to him being forced to change to prop he was very very instrumental in 2 of the best Tn”s we had and in winning the WC. What a lot of JS supporters are saying is that given time to develop his fitness and confidence in the position that gave us that success will give us a much better chance at retaining the Old Bill than if we discard him given the current balance of the team and the game plan.

We can argue for ages about whether or not the game plan is the right one given the skills available and you would be right to question it but given the development of the last 4 years towards this WC and the Bok team dynamics it would be unwise not to take JS as skipper to WC, in my opinion. If it fails then so be it but history has indicated it has more chance of success than failing (i.e. given that JS is afforded the opp. to get back to fitness in the hooker position). By the way I don’t mind copping it in the 3n’s if it affords us that opportunity, if our stated objective is to win the WC.

• 444.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Don’t get a lot of time on here as my connection here in the african sticks is dubious at the best of times.

The coach picked his captain – finish & klaar – and is his right hand man. Fair enough.

Kitch did the same in ’95 – Francois wasn’t the best flanker, Strauss was the best 8 and a damn fine captain too. Kitch picked “his” captain, left Strauss out the squad and the rest is history. So Div picked “his” captain, like it or not and its pointless debating the merits as its the reality. Mallet dumped his captain and the rest is sad history too.

PS: G10 – you used to be an affable bloke when you started blogging, but then you became a real cry baby and started urinating through your eyes, and these days you are defecating through your mouth with all your vitriolic bullshit. If you have nothing good to say about anyone shut the f uck up or take your maltese for a dump on the neighbours’ lawn.

• 445.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-441: Thanks Mshini always enjoy view on our Sharks. Agree with you bud,

We have a massive battle on our hands this Saturday. Not sure how much running we will see in this game. Read the weather forecast is rain for the whole game.

Tired bodies after last week and the travel don’t go well either. But think confidence wise the players are feeling good about this game. From what I read in the papers yesterday.

I feel the same. Mind says Saders but heart says Sharks.

• 446.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-445: sharks have momentum with them going into this clash, saders were lethargic and ineffective against canes to a point where blackadder expressed frustration and that his team want to unleash (read: they’re underperforming)

this is the sharks best chance to topple the saders.

• 447.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-446: I would really like to see us take them on upfront in the scrums. If we get the upper hand there its a psychological advantage against this side. They pride themselves on their scrum hits and scrummaging ability. We get them going backwards there it might just get us into their psyche and slow them up for the breakdown work. When your legs get tired your mind goes with it in rugby in my experience and you start to think twice about where you need to be next on the field.

• 448.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-446: Transie,

It this game was at Kings Park, I would have been confident Sharks could beat Saders.

After our hard game against the Bulls last week we have no to face a monster travel to NZ. I am not that confident this week. But I hope we can buddy.

Saders never had their full team against Canes though. They will be different this week. They will be back to full strength. Only McCaw out. But he has hardly played this year and don’t think they have missed him.

Catch up later bud. Getting really busy right now.

• 449.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-448: sorry for typos there. Not concentrating much.

First line It = If

2nd parargraph. no to face = now to face.

Okay catch up later Transie.

• 450.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-447:

Will have to dominate the set pieces and collisions if we want any chance. Going to be a tight affair methinks – their backline is a different animal to the Bulls’.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.