World Cup latest – Donald’s dreams dashed
22 Jun 2011
Keo.co.za brings you the news related to the World Cup.
Donald’s dreams dashed – Stephen Donald hasn’t been invited to the All Blacks’ 25-man training camp and will be only be called upon if there are injuries to players within the World Cup group.
Coach Graham Henry has selected 25 players that won’t be involved for the Crusaders and Blues for the Super Rugby playoffs. This group will take part in two training camps in Wellington over the next two weeks.
Donald was long considered the alternative to flyhalf Dan Carter, but Henry confirmed that the Chiefs pivot is simply not good enough to represent the All Blacks in a World Cup year.
‘We just think other people are playing better right now,’ Henry told rugbyheaven.co.nz. ‘I talked to him about that yesterday and unless we have injuries, he’s not likely to be involved.’
The All Blacks’ Tri-Nations squad will be named on 10 July.
Players invited to the first camp –
Chiefs: Ben Afeaki, Hikawera Elliot, Richard Kahui, Brendon Leonard, Liam Messam, Mils Muliaina and Sitiveni Sivivatu.
Hurricanes: Aaron Cruden, Hosea Gear, Andrew Hore, Cory Jane, Ma’a Nonu, Conrad Smith, Neemia Tialata, Victor Vito and Piri Weepu.
Highlanders: Jimmy Cowan, Tom Donnelly, Jarrad Hoeata, Colin Slade, Ben Smith and Adam Thomson.
Injured players: Israel Dagg, Isaia Toeava and Tony Woodcock.

47 Comments
22 Jun 2011, 07:51 am
war footing
22 Jun 2011, 08:28 am
beaver can’t even trump dikgat piri weepu?
22 Jun 2011, 08:52 am
What’s more eye opening is that Rene Ranger’s name isn’t on the injured players list invited to this training group.
Awesome player. Is he not in Henry’s plans – even in a wider training group?
Possible NZ 49-man training group:
1. Woodcock, Crockett, Robinson
2. Mealamu, Hore, Flynn, Elliot
3. Franks, Afoa, Franks, Tialata
4. Thorn, Donnelly, Boric
5. Whitelock, Williams, Jack
6. McCaw, Todd, Braid
7. Kaino, Thomson, Vito
8. Read, Messam
9. Cowan, Weepu, Leonard, Mathewson
10. Carter, Cruden, Slade
11. Sivivatu, Gear, Guilford, Ranger
12. Williams, Nonu, McAllister
13. Smith, Kahui, Fruean
14. Jane, Rococoko, Maitland
15. Muliaina, Smith, Toeava, Dagg
22 Jun 2011, 08:53 am
Add Jared Payne’s name to make it 50 players.
22 Jun 2011, 08:56 am
Still not sold on their back ups for Carter, especially when it comes to experience.
And, again, Cowan is industrious and Weepu can be effective, but no real world class scrumhalf in their ranks.
Also, their frontline loosies are formidable but they don’t boast a hell of a lot of real depth in that department, compared to SA.
As for their centres and three-quarters though – who do you leave out?
22 Jun 2011, 09:05 am
Wow, a coach that selects some youngsters as reward for playing well. Awesome to see.
22 Jun 2011, 09:20 am
@garth(garth)-6:
did the same last time around with mccallister over mauger and some other oke over jack.
big mistake last time.
history repeating itself?
22 Jun 2011, 09:21 am
SA definately have the pack and backs to match that.
22 Jun 2011, 09:45 am
@puff(puff)-5:
Ever since Justin Marshall retired, the ABs have had a weakness there.
And I don’t know why opposition teams don’t consistently target their 9s in battle.
Forget SBW, forget Nonu, forget Carter – set your sights primarily on the 9.
22 Jun 2011, 09:46 am
@puff(puff)-4:
unlikely
GH recently referred to a ‘young player heading off overseas’ that, in a close selection with similarly skilled players with NZ-reisding player, would miss out. It was assumed he meant Payne, who has already signed for a UK club.
22 Jun 2011, 09:47 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-8:
thats what they said last year too
22 Jun 2011, 09:59 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-11:
Lol, indeed!
And there are several reasons why the black guys dominated the green guys.
One important reason which I think remains underplayed was the fact that the green guys had to run a lot of meters on defense, from one side of the park to another.
Big guys get tired when they run. And even more tired when they have to tackle continuously.
They were always physically up for it in the first 20, but not much long after that.
But…and a very important but…the green guys also played with 14 players for 10 minutes in both tests against the black guys. So beware this year
22 Jun 2011, 10:03 am
Since when has Donald even been in contention this year? Plonker.
22 Jun 2011, 10:08 am
Black Panther: – Seems to me the Mcallister will be the backup to DC! GH has to choose as much experienced players as possible
22 Jun 2011, 10:30 am
1. Woodcock, B.Franks
2. Mealamu, Hore,Flynn
3. Franks,Afoa
4. Thorn, Donnelly
5. Whitelock, Williams
6. McCaw, Todd
7. Kaino, Messam
8. Read,
9. Cowan, Weepu, Leonard
10. Carter, Slade
11. Sivivatu, Gear
12. Williams, Nonu,
13. Smith, Kahui
14. Jane
15. Muliaina, Toeava
Biggest omission: Joe Rokocoko…
Biggest suprise inclusion: Colin Slade-lack of options
22 Jun 2011, 10:41 am
AB 22
1.Woodcock 2.Mealamu 3.O.Franks 4.Thorn 5.Whitelock 6.Kaino 7.McCaw 8.Read 9.Cowan 10.Carter 11.Sivivatu 12.Nonu 13.Smith 14.Jane(highball) 15.Mils
Bench:
16.Hore 17.B.Franks 18.Williams 19.Todd/Messam 20.Weepu 21.Slade 22.SBW/Toeava
Big call to be made on bench/centres….SBW only really covers 12…While Slade covers 10/12…unless they choose Weepu to also cover 9/10.And Toeava covers 11/12/13/14/15 so he is a must on bench.
Will they(coaches) fall to SBW hype???
22 Jun 2011, 10:46 am
@willievz(willievz)-12: the Boks were dominated at the collisions, period. i know it’s not usually said because all around the world everyone carries on about the Springboks being a physical but they were smashed!
22 Jun 2011, 10:50 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-16: dude have you seen weepu? the guy sisidudla, angimboni egijima at the world cup ngaphandle kokuthi he is gh’s favourite! ellis has been on fire, mathewson has played better than piri for 2 season.
22 Jun 2011, 11:00 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-18:
Fair enough kodwa sbali Henry does pick the squad and never has there been a time where Weepu is out of Henry’s plans barring lana exabene noHenry ethi ufuna ukubuyela kwi-League some 2 yrs back. Ellis has been on fire but has never produced in Black jersey-but he is better than both Weepu & Leornard who has never recovered from ACL in 2007.Remember Weepu also covers for 10 and is a kicking option for poles.All Blacks have no other barring Donald who is out of mix.
Singabheja manje if Weepu is fit-uzoya kwiRWC 2011.You only have to just listen to the NZ commentators and on Reunion.Weepu even when injured,his name was always bandied about.Even vs Saders where was outplayed by Ellis-he was lauded. Weepu kade ekhuluphele,akukaze kuhluphe uHenry lokho.
22 Jun 2011, 11:08 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-19: hayi ke uyayibeka sbali…uHenry kuphela okhetha iqembu, kodwa uphinde akhale me labafana behamba beyaphesheya even though bengaboni ukuthi why bengadlali.
i’m glad jarrad is in the mix, he played well this season.
22 Jun 2011, 11:11 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-18:
ndoda ngathi uyakhohlwa ukuthi oHenry yibona abakhetha iqhembu,futhi bonke abaqeqeshi banabadlali ababathandayo. in RWC 07′ uRobinson at 5 ahead of Jack is case in point. Robinson was always a Henry favourite even though Jack had the more stellar career and was in better form.Yet Jack wasnt even on bench for semi if Im not mistaken.
Its like who will be the wingers in squad.Incumbents have all been decidedly mediocre namely: Sivi,Jane,Roko,Gear.Yet Maitland,Guilford,Poki, Ranger have been excellent.But who do think will get the nod??? Favourites I think
22 Jun 2011, 11:15 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-20:
true,I like Hoeatta as well.He is their answer to the 4/5/6 utility fwd which is imperative to any squad.They havent had such an option since 06/07 when Johno Gibbes retired. I would have selected Nasi Manu as well,ahead of say Adam Thompson.Harsh I know but you know what you have with that bloke.Manu brings you a harder edge and plays well in tandem with Hoeata.
22 Jun 2011, 11:18 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-21: refer to my post #20
22 Jun 2011, 11:23 am
I guess on a more positive note for Donald he will have a nice pay cheque from Bath rugby next year..
22 Jun 2011, 11:31 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-22: but how is Manu’s error rate, i must say i haven’t paid that much attention to his overall play, i know he’s ball carries were massive and he got stuck @ ruck time and he is no slouch in terms of workrate
22 Jun 2011, 11:35 am
@willievz(willievz)-12:
they were lucky to have played with as many as 14, fingers crossed its atleast that many this year.
22 Jun 2011, 11:38 am
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-24:
seems appropriate because his game was
toilet
22 Jun 2011, 11:43 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-25:
Thats the best part of his game for one so young and his first big season in superrugby.Looks tailor made for Test footy,unlike the usual big hitting flashy Polynesian/NZ loosies that make a big splash in debut seasons then forever struggle to tweak game for Test conditions ala: Lauaki,Tuali’i,Thompson etc
But he still has time.Hoeata wont make final squad though.
22 Jun 2011, 11:51 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-28:
Tuiali’i was not given the chances he deserved, his best form for Crusaders came long after his AB jersey.
Lauaki was, simply, too lazy in the head. Within months of transferring to France he was quoted as bemoaning the drop in standards after Super-rugby and how much he missed it and NZ. Too late for that 27th last-chance then, Sione.
22 Jun 2011, 11:53 am
People can say what they want about Morne Steyn, but Steven Donald is a liability at 10. His country will call upon him to kick a match winning penalty and he will miss. Morne Steyn will convert all the time. That’s what world class flyhalfs do, even school boy flyhalfs. Donald cost NewZealand the Bedsloe cup in Hongkong. He made two bad decisions that cost his country. He kicked and failed to find touch in the closing minutes of the game and he missed a penalty which his team needed.
22 Jun 2011, 11:55 am
New Zealand need to call nick Evans. He is the best number 10 in the absence of Carter.
22 Jun 2011, 12:03 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-28: yoh i quite liked mose tuiali’i and i was suprised he never made it back into all blac reckoning, in 2008 he was still massive for the saders, excellent player in my mind.
22 Jun 2011, 12:19 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-29: @Transformation(Transformation)-32:
Tuiali’i was a good player but seemed to be one of those who excelled in Saders system rather than being all that outstanding.Much like George Whitelock, Sam Broomhall before him. He sometimes had a problem with errors in contact, efficiency in collision points, tackle eficiency rate and work rate at ruck.
The physicality needed by AB’s at the time as McCaw played more of the link role, it led to Rodney So’oialo to pick up on physicality which he did with consummate distinction-MR RELIABLE,MR CONSISTENCY,MR PHYSICALITY.Rodney was a warrior & Tuiali’i was never going to fulfill that role and plug up the imbalance that existed when Rodney wasnt there which Read has managed which a superior run game.
22 Jun 2011, 12:19 pm
on second thought: WHERE THE HELL IS RODNEY SO’OIALO????
22 Jun 2011, 12:22 pm
@Tbozknows(Tbozknows)-30:
The Duck certainly did NOt ‘cost the ABs the Bledisloe Cup’, the ABs had already retained it 3-0
Youre right insofar as he cost them the match tho.
I agree with your summary that Steyn is not given the credit he deserves tho – he’s absolutely tailormade for Bok tactics. He’s much better than the Duck but, then again, so is the neighbours overweight labrador.
22 Jun 2011, 12:25 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-33:
Broomhall never ‘excelled’, he just played OK in an excellent team.
I wasnt a big Soai’olo fan, altho he certainly was a warrior.
What about Ron Cribb ?! that boy had it all.
22 Jun 2011, 12:33 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-36:
I say Broomhall excelled because you can only do that if youre chosen to be an AB….but yeah he was avg,,,,much like Sam Harding-how he became an AB and Josh Blackie didnt I still wonder…..
Cribb had it all,EVERYTHING.The perfect 8,hybrid.Skills of a back and mongrel of a fwd.Athleticism and speed to boot.Much like Troy Flavell for the 6 position…Perfect athletes for the positions…
Wrong mentality from both,were teenage boys in mens bodies.All testosterone and the mentality that comes with it on and off the pitch.Mostly off it
22 Jun 2011, 12:45 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-34:
Right now he is at night class learning Japanese.
He’s just not fast or fit enough anymore; it happens to us all sooner or later!
22 Jun 2011, 13:02 pm
1. Woodcock, B.Franks
2. Mealamu, Hore
3. Franks,McIntosh
4. Boric, Thorn
5. Williams, Whitelock
6. Kaino, Messam
7. McCaw, Todd
8. Read, Vito
9. Cowan, Weepu
10. Carter, Cruden
11. Gear, Rokocoko
12. Williams, Nonu (Carter)
13. C.Smith, Fruen
14. Guildford, Jane
15. Muliaina, Toeava, B Smith
This would be my final squad, I’d bring Weepu and Cruden on together and possibly shift Carter to 2nd 5 in games where we need to have 5 forwards on the bench (against teams like Boks/Poms playing 10 man forwards focussed rugby).
Macaw could easily move to 6 when we needed extra speed by playing him and Todd together, but drop Todd if bulk is needed.
22 Jun 2011, 13:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-17: Yeah, we got it wrong on every level last year.
22 Jun 2011, 14:48 pm
Benson Stanley must be the most underrated player on the planet in my opinion. I wonder if he will make it when they include the Blues and Crusaders? The idea of SBW at 12 and Stanley at 13 is a scary prospect
22 Jun 2011, 14:50 pm
@ricane(ricane)-39: Marshall left a big gap at 9
22 Jun 2011, 15:52 pm
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-41:
Benson Stanley is very underrated indeed,he is a throwback of his predecessor Sam Tuitupou…Another underrated midfielder in NZ.Benson isnt a 13 though,more suited to 12 role looking at his skillset-great defender-run straight and hard-decent distributor-great on the ground.
22 Jun 2011, 16:08 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-27:
Hahahaha!
22 Jun 2011, 20:49 pm
Thank Ted that He finally came to His senses.
22 Jun 2011, 21:28 pm
Cribb was another of my favourites, but he didnt last too long in the no 8 jersey, dunno what happened there.
@ricane(ricane)-39:
yep, looks ok, but i think the Bokke nudge it.
22 Jun 2011, 23:18 pm
Ranger must surely be there? backline of Carter, SBW, Smith/Payne, Sivivatu, Ranger/Guilford, Dagg is close to unstoppable.