‘I am not done yet’

In an exclusive interview with MARK KEOHANE for Business Day Sport Monthly,  John Smit insists he is the right man to lead the World Cup defence and that he has plenty still left in the tank.

‘It would be the act of a coward,’ insists John Smit. ‘Only a coward would be that selfish to bail out in the belief it will preserve a legacy.

‘In fact,’ he says, ‘to shy away from the challenge of defending the World Cup because the Boks may lose and I may be remembered as a captain who lost a World Cup and not one who won it … no … no … that’s not why we play the game. It has to be about the challenge; about doing something incredible; about creating history … this team is good enough to defend the 2007 title and I believe I have a contribution to make. If we lose I want to be at the heart of the battle and not all suited up sitting in a corporate suite listening to people say that if I had been there it would have been different, and me reflecting on how we won the 2007 World Cup.

‘The motivation, though, is to be there if we win … and I believe we can win. I believe we are a better squad now than in 2007 and we were a very good squad at that tournament.’

Smit is South Africa’s most celebrated and experienced Springbok captain. Outside a home unions Grand Slam tour victory he has led the Boks to every success. In the past seven years the Boks have won the World Cup, won the Tri-Nations, beaten the British & Irish Lions, never lost a home series, won at Twickenham, beaten France, beaten every team, won in Australia and (the apex for any Bok player) won against the All Blacks in New Zealand.

Many expected Smit to call time on his international career after the Boks beat the All Blacks in Hamilton, New Zealand, in 2009 to win the Tri-Nations. It would have been the fairytale ending.

A World Cup in 2007, a British & Irish Lions series win in 2009 and the Tri-Nations a few months later, with the All Blacks having been beaten (by the Boks) in three successive Tests, including Smit’s first-ever international success against the All Blacks in New Zealand.

‘Go now,’ screamed 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White. ‘You have nothing left to achieve. Which guy climbs Everest to plant a flag only to climb it again to take out the flag?’
White’s constant public condemnation of Smit refusing to quit international rugby was more than an irritation admits Smit, but he doesn’t believe it was the only reason the media started hammering him and elements within the public started calling for his axing.

‘Playing for the Springboks means there is no easy ride, no escape and never a place to hide. Captaining them means the scrutiny is even more intense. The rewards when things are going well are immense; the flip side is the vitriol is as hectic when you don’t play well and the team doesn’t win. I have no problem with that,’ says Smit. ‘I have always felt the media has been fair to me in their praise and criticism. It certainly didn’t help having Jake telling the media every week how out of shape I was and that my time as a Bok was over and that he wouldn’t pick me as a hooker. But I had to look at my own performances; what the team was doing and my influence in the team and on us potentially winning the 2011 World Cup.

‘Decisions about 2011 could never have been made in 2011, from senior players and from the coaching staff. Some people may not get that. A lot of planning has gone into this World Cup defence, and I think we all learnt lessons from the 1999 campaign when Gary Teichmann was dropped three months before the tournament, having led the team since 1996. His experience and his value as a player were definitely missed and [Bok coach in 1999] Nick Mallett has conceded he would have done things differently in hindsight.

‘None of us who were there in Paris in 2007 wanted to have to rely on hindsight post-2011, be it because we weren’t there or because we weren’t in the condition to be there.

‘If I or some of the senior players were doubting whether we could go the distance to 2011 then we had to make that call in 2009. It would have been improper and damn insulting to what we have tried to build as a squad since 2004 to play a waiting game.

‘We all had to commit to defending the title in New Zealand in 2011 after we won the British & Irish Lions series or we had to get out and give Peter [de Villiers] and his coaches two years to introduce new players and mould a team for the World Cup.

‘I made the decision in 2009 to stay and it was based on my belief that no World Cup winning squad has ever had as good a chance of defending the title. It has never been done and I want to be a part of something that hasn’t been done. As I already said, I owe it to myself to be on the field and not in the stands. If I gave it up in 2009 and the squad defended the title I’d have to live with a lot of regret and regret is not something I ever want to carry with me post-rugby. I’d rather take the risk of losing and being there, being true to myself and what I believe I can contribute.’

Those who refuse to acknowledge Smit’s value to a winning 2011 Bok campaign will argue Smit being at the World Cup weakens the team and will single out the 2010 season and Smit’s form as an international prop. It is not something he hasn’t heard before.

‘I started playing for the Boks in 2000. Then I couldn’t scrum, I didn’t have enough mongrel to be a Test hooker, I wasn’t strong enough, big enough, crazy enough and … and … and … pick whichever one you want. I have heard them all, at least one of them every time before every one of my 102 Tests. I am my biggest critic. I don’t kid myself and I have a support base of family and close friends who wouldn’t allow me that illusion or luxury.

‘When my form has not been up to standard I have taken it on the chin, put in more work and tried to fix it. I have never doubted my ability,’ he says. ‘I believe I do add value to the Boks’ World Cup campaign and that my overall contribution as a captain and player with 102 Tests makes the squad stronger, but I also believe I am owed no favours and expect none. If Peter said to me that for the Boks to win the World Cup it would mean me not starting a game at the World Cup I’d sign on the dotted line. It has to be team first and individual aspirations second. It has always been what has made this core of players so successful. I’d know if being there was a negative because there are too many of us who have been together since 2004 and those strong personalities wouldn’t tolerate a passenger. They’d have wished me well, thanked me, suited me up and sent me on my way to that corporate suite.’

In a 2009 interview with SA Rugby magazine Smit said: ‘I don’t want to be the guy who keeps going long after he should have called it a day. I’ve felt sorry for players who have tried to keep going when all the signs were pointing at the door. I hope it will never be me.’

I recall the interview and his quote and suggest there are people feeling sorry for him. And the sympathetic ones are some of his biggest supporters. Smit concedes 2010 was not a good year, but says 2006 was equally horrible.

‘We were a minute away from a sixth successive Bok defeat in Rustenburg against the All Blacks. They were 20-18 ahead and they gave away the silliest of penalties. If it wasn’t for Andre Pretorius’ winning kick we would have all been gone by the end-of-year tour. Jake wouldn’t have survived, I would have been gone with him and a new coach would probably have done an overall on the squad.

‘A year later we were world champions with the same players. You need good fortune in sport and you also need to never give up on yourself if you truly believe you have it. I believe this squad does still have it. In fact, they had it more than four years ago because we as individuals and a unit have matured and grown enormously in four years. I believe I still have it. Last year wasn’t good. I was alternating between prop and hooker, my weight was up because of the positional switch and I was struggling with injury.

‘To miss the end-of-year tour in 2010 to undergo a neck operation was a blessing. I got on the scale after the operation and I weighed 127kg. I told myself: “Come on Barney. This is bullshit. This isn’t what you committed to in 2009. Prop or hooker … it doesn’t matter … get your neck and your conditioning sorted and go out there and help the Boks make history.” Physically, six months later, I am in as good a shape as I was in 2007.’

Smit weighs 115kg and is injury-free. The ongoing struggles playing prop haven’t gone away in Super Rugby, but it is when he has played hooker that he’s looked as good as at any stage of his career.

‘It is quite clear that hooker is my position, but I will play where needed and I will do whatever is needed to help this squad create history.

‘I am not done yet. I also know the value of experience. I went to the 2003 World Cup with youngsters hoping for a miracle. In 2007 we had more experience and it was defining to how we managed the pressure and played.

‘In 2011 we will take the most experienced Bok team to a World Cup. It will take a very good side to beat us and if one does there will be no regret from me that I didn’t walk away in 2009. But as I keep on saying, the reason to stay on was to win and not lose. And this generation of Bok player knows how to win.’

– This article first appeared in the July issue of Business Day Sport Monthly, which is distributed FREE with the newspaper on the second last Friday of the month.

590 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 101.ray-27: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-86: i agree, but you guys arent chatting, you guys are making statements that are ridiculous. Yes I believe Bismarck is a better hooker than John, but its not going to change anything.. i believe the comments about John are quite harsh. He has done so much for South African rugby, yet people act so angrily towards him because he is geting picked as captain.

• 102.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-82:

Hi UFO,

World Cups have also been lost due to the most experienced and settled sides, think back to Aus 95 and Eng 07 !!

We will agree to disagree on Smit, my Captain has to command a starting place, Smit on form does not !! :)

• 103.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-97: Thanks
    * is wide open I like Vermeulen i also like possibly Alberts there but he may be on bench
    I hear PDV likes Skalk there is Spies is injured or off form :)
    I would replace habana with Basson he just needs to work on his defense a bit but still better than habana who seems to have eye problems as well as been out of form

• 104.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-89: :)

• 105.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Smellthis(Smellthis)-98:

for SA and ABs to meet in final, either ABs lose to France in their pool game or SA loses to Wales/Samoa.

If we both top our pools, then we meet in the semi’s.

• 106.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Spies is a useless, sweaty-handed show pony.

• 107.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-104:

Hey Slappes !!!!!!!!!

This is a pleasant surprise , welcome back my man !!!!

• 108.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Captain Courageous.

• 109.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-103:

8th man for the boks?

well, we won in 95 with mark andrews playing there.
    we won in 2007 with another lock, danie rossouw playing there.

maybe we start andries bekker at 8. with big vic and bakkies in the second row.

• 110.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Smellthis(Smellthis)-98: what happened in the Tri_nations last year? Smit was throwing it was all kak…

• 111.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-106:
    Sweaty headed pony ? i thought he was a stone hands knock on or get driven back in the tackle pony :)

• 112.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Justrugby , how you doing??? Sharkievarkies or Saders?

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-110: plod throws in and both aussies and wales scored from overthrows

all this kak about smits throwing in is also mythical nonsense.

• 114.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ray-27(ray-bulls_fan)-101: that is par for the course, do you care if aaron mokoena is made bafana captain or should steven pienaar be the new captain?

• 115.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-109:
    Its and i dea for a more open style I dont think he has played ther emuch so its a big ask
    Danie is always going to give everything.
    Vermeulen is your classic 8 IMO

• 116.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-112: hi s;lappes…

trust you well my man!

lekker to have you back on air!

• 117.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Here is a fun exercise.

Since it seems the common consensus is the best players need to go to the world cup, who would you match day 22 be for the quarter or semi-final (no holds, you can pick anyone).

• 118.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-107: Good mate, was busy but always following the blogs. Yip I’m back.

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-111:
    He even wears those velcro gloves sometimes, and STILL farkin knocks on! Tacitus’ rentboy pin up.

• 119.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-82: I’m with you on this one.

• 120.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-112:

Gone with the head Saders by 9 !!

Hope I am wrong !! :)

• 121.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-103: I agree. Basson if he proves himself in the tri nations. I’d like to see Sadie get a run on the wing in the 3 nations too. I also think a place on the wing for Aplon needs to be made. 8th man Vermeulen 100% with Alberts and/or DR off the bench but I wouldn’t have a problem with Schalk at 8. Our biggest problem is 6 as we don’t now whether Brussow will be up for it after so many injuries and Flo- well the jury is still out on him at international level.

• 122.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-118:
    yeah and then picks up the ball at the base of the scrum and runs the wrong way into 4 defenders, get knocked back 5 meters and loses the ball in the tackle :)

• 123.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Enjoy the game gents………cheers !!!

• 124.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-116: How you doing bro? See you still having running battles with those guppy-yuppies? They’re deluded.

They’ve got a list a excuses already if the guppies get pumped tomorrow.

• 125.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-117:
    15 F steyn

11 habana

13 jf

12 jdv

11 habana

10 b james

9 fdp

8 vermeulenn / alberts [ if vermeulen not back

7 j smith

6 brussow

5 matfield

4 bekker

3 jannie dup

2 bissy

1 beast

16 guthro
    17 schalk
    18 chilli
    19 bj
    20bakkies
    21 ruan pienaar
    22 jdj

5…2…split on bench

• 126.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-122:
    :) lol!!!!!

Coach you still in the states?

• 127.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-60:

Plenty of bloggers on this site with double agendas. Anyone that DARED to criticise Puke Watson in their book was apparently also seen as a slight on some bloggers as well…..hence the drivel you see on here about Smit daily.

• 128.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-124: we must have a beer when tri nations on bud….firemans!

sharkievarkies better do the business tomorrow.

ek sal bid maar belowe vokkall

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-113: Wales 31 South Africa 34: match report

Wales and South Africa at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, on Saturday June 5 2010.

By Paul Ackford
    Published: 5:02PM BST 05 Jun 2010

The big surprise for South Africa was the attitude and execution of their captain, John Smit, which were both lousy. To me, Smit has looked neither fit nor at ease since he has bounced between hooker and prop, and he was blowing hard yesterday very early on. Yet puff was not the main issue.

Smit presented James Hook with the easiest of tries when he found himself in the middle of the Boks backline after South Africa had turned over Welsh possession.

Instead of shuffling into the nearest defender as most self-respecting tight forwards tend to do, Smit shaped to kick, stopped, thought about it, and then rifled a pass into the waiting hands of Hook, who cantered over for the try.

When Stephen Jones banged over the conversion, Wales were 16-3 ahead and cruising. For a captain to make that kind of error, and to compound it by blatant displays of petulance, questioning the decisions of officials throughout much of the first half, as Smit did, was poor.

• 130.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-121:
    Yeah I am not sure if Sadie is going to get a sniff he is still an unknown and a talent but needs maybe a currie cup season still
    Aplon geez what can you say about this guy I think he is a better 15 than 14 but huge heart . Pdv will likely have steyn at 15 even possible lambie
    I hope Juan is back but i dont think so that will solve a few issues
    Brussow should be fine
    I have always liked Daniel but may not be there at all

• 131.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-117:

15: Gio
    14. JP
    13. Fourie
    12. JdV
    11. Basson
    10. Carter ( You said anyone, no holds)
    9. du Preez
    8. Spies. Yes, I said it! Spies
    7. McCaw (see 10)
    6. Burger
    5. Vic
    4. Bakkies
    3. Jannie
    2. Smit
    1. Gurthro
    16. Bissie
    17. Kruger
    18. Beast
    19. Danie
    20. Bekker
    21. Hougaardt
    22. F. Steyn.

• 132.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-117:

Run on:
    F. Steyn
    JPP
    Fourie
    DeVilliers
    Aplon
    M. Steyn
    Furry
    Schalk
    Juan
    Brussouw
    Matfield
    Jannie
    Smitty
    Beast

Bissie
    Gurthro
    Bekker
    Pienaar
    Lambie
    Juan De Jongh

• 133.ufo: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-102:

Hey JR.. How you doing bud? Yeah, I know we have to agree to disagree on this topic…

Main point being we can do so without insults or taking it so personally…

You’re right though about 95… that was an anomaly… bouyed by the all pervasive support the Boks had on their home turf… Even players from the Aus and AB teams have commented on how they felt seeing Madiba support the Boks was a huge bonus for us…

and that is why i feel it will be impossible for us if we don’t have our most mature leaders in NZ…

I don’t think the English side in 2007 was the most settled… It was definitely the Boks… had been virtually the same side for four years… while the poms had had several key retirements from 2003…

BTW… did you and Grant get tickets for next week..? I was too slow… so hoping for a sympathy ticket from some business colleagues. !!

• 134.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-126:
    Yes actually on holiday right now in Maui Hawaii :)
    Hope my connection here allows me to get good vipstand stream

• 135.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-125:

Yiou hacve Habs 2x !!

• 136.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-131:

Grapgat!

• 137.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-124:

I guess being called a yuppy is appropriate if you have class…..elementary my dear boy….

• 138.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-135:

Obviously he rates him highly!

• 139.Divz: Reply to this comment

@ray-27(ray-bulls_fan)-74: ya Julius Malema also not going away … so must we support him until he brings the country to its knees?

• 140.Paws: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-117:

1 Beast
    2 Bismark
    3 Jannie
    4 Vic
    5 Bakkies (Bekker 50/50 call)
    6 Schalk (Brussow ideally but injured)
    7 Danie
    8 Alberts
    9 du Press
    10 Steyn
    11 Hougaard
    12 Fourie
    13 DeV (De Jong, 50/50 call)
    14 Mvulo (Sharks wing), (Peterson good form at moment, just not a fan))
    15 Lambie

Bench must think about.

• 141.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-134:

Lucky b@stard!!!! btw What sports do Hawaiins play or compete in?

• 142.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-119:

thanks Bud… it’s going to be tough in NZ… on and off the field… we can’t have inexperienced guys getting caught deer-in-headlight-like…

@Slappes(Slappes)-124:

hey Slappes… good to ‘see’ you again also!!

• 143.grant10: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-125: would luv to have mujati in the mix…..

and aplon very close!

• 144.Paws: Reply to this comment

Sorry, swop Fourie and DeV (12 / 13)

• 145.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-142: How ya mate? Yip , I think these guppy-yarpies are in for a long day tomorrow….

• 146.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-135: sorry

jpp

• 147.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Slappes(Slappes)-141:
    Besides pig eating contests :)
    Well surfing and there are some big guys playing football and some rugby

• 148.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

1. Beast
    2. Bismarck
    3. JdP
    4. Bakkies
    5. Victor
    6. Schalk
    7. Juan
    8. Vermeleun
    9. FDP
    10. Butch James
    11. Aplon
    12. JDV
    13. JF
    14. JPP
    15. F Steyn
    Bench:
    Guthro
    Smit
    DR
    Bekker
    Pienaar
    Lambie

• 149.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-117: Team vs Ireland:

15 – F Steyn
    14 – JPP
    13 – JF
    12 – JDV
    11 – Habana
    10 – James
    9 – FDP
    8 – Burger
    7 – J Smith
    6 – Brussow
    5 – Danie
    4 – Matfield
    3 – Jannie
    2 – Bismarck
    1 – Beast

Bench:

J Smit (c), Mujati, Bekker, Alberts, Hougaard, M.Steyn, Aplon

I regret not finding a spot for Bakkies – if he started, it would have been both Bekker and Danie on the bench, with Alberts or another backline player falling out. Danie at 4 simply offers the Bok 22 more.

Against NZ I would have JDJ on the bench, and bring him on when Morne is on the field.

• 150.Mike H: Reply to this comment

@GeniusSA(Shauny)-4:

Your’re my new friend.

Smit haters don;t deserve to support the Springboks of the current era, they deserve the 2003 era. Smit, Victor, JW etc built this team from rabble to a respected world rugby power on their shoulders and still some ***** won;t even give them some respect. It’s disgracefull.

You can argue he is not as good as he has been in his carreer, but please God show some respect and don’t insult the man, degrade him.

As he said, if the others didn;t want hima round they would have shipped him out – END OF STORY!!!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.