‘I am not done yet’

In an exclusive interview with MARK KEOHANE for Business Day Sport Monthly,  John Smit insists he is the right man to lead the World Cup defence and that he has plenty still left in the tank.

‘It would be the act of a coward,’ insists John Smit. ‘Only a coward would be that selfish to bail out in the belief it will preserve a legacy.

‘In fact,’ he says, ‘to shy away from the challenge of defending the World Cup because the Boks may lose and I may be remembered as a captain who lost a World Cup and not one who won it … no … no … that’s not why we play the game. It has to be about the challenge; about doing something incredible; about creating history … this team is good enough to defend the 2007 title and I believe I have a contribution to make. If we lose I want to be at the heart of the battle and not all suited up sitting in a corporate suite listening to people say that if I had been there it would have been different, and me reflecting on how we won the 2007 World Cup.

‘The motivation, though, is to be there if we win … and I believe we can win. I believe we are a better squad now than in 2007 and we were a very good squad at that tournament.’

Smit is South Africa’s most celebrated and experienced Springbok captain. Outside a home unions Grand Slam tour victory he has led the Boks to every success. In the past seven years the Boks have won the World Cup, won the Tri-Nations, beaten the British & Irish Lions, never lost a home series, won at Twickenham, beaten France, beaten every team, won in Australia and (the apex for any Bok player) won against the All Blacks in New Zealand.

Many expected Smit to call time on his international career after the Boks beat the All Blacks in Hamilton, New Zealand, in 2009 to win the Tri-Nations. It would have been the fairytale ending.

A World Cup in 2007, a British & Irish Lions series win in 2009 and the Tri-Nations a few months later, with the All Blacks having been beaten (by the Boks) in three successive Tests, including Smit’s first-ever international success against the All Blacks in New Zealand.

‘Go now,’ screamed 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White. ‘You have nothing left to achieve. Which guy climbs Everest to plant a flag only to climb it again to take out the flag?’
White’s constant public condemnation of Smit refusing to quit international rugby was more than an irritation admits Smit, but he doesn’t believe it was the only reason the media started hammering him and elements within the public started calling for his axing.

‘Playing for the Springboks means there is no easy ride, no escape and never a place to hide. Captaining them means the scrutiny is even more intense. The rewards when things are going well are immense; the flip side is the vitriol is as hectic when you don’t play well and the team doesn’t win. I have no problem with that,’ says Smit. ‘I have always felt the media has been fair to me in their praise and criticism. It certainly didn’t help having Jake telling the media every week how out of shape I was and that my time as a Bok was over and that he wouldn’t pick me as a hooker. But I had to look at my own performances; what the team was doing and my influence in the team and on us potentially winning the 2011 World Cup.

‘Decisions about 2011 could never have been made in 2011, from senior players and from the coaching staff. Some people may not get that. A lot of planning has gone into this World Cup defence, and I think we all learnt lessons from the 1999 campaign when Gary Teichmann was dropped three months before the tournament, having led the team since 1996. His experience and his value as a player were definitely missed and [Bok coach in 1999] Nick Mallett has conceded he would have done things differently in hindsight.

‘None of us who were there in Paris in 2007 wanted to have to rely on hindsight post-2011, be it because we weren’t there or because we weren’t in the condition to be there.

‘If I or some of the senior players were doubting whether we could go the distance to 2011 then we had to make that call in 2009. It would have been improper and damn insulting to what we have tried to build as a squad since 2004 to play a waiting game.

‘We all had to commit to defending the title in New Zealand in 2011 after we won the British & Irish Lions series or we had to get out and give Peter [de Villiers] and his coaches two years to introduce new players and mould a team for the World Cup.

‘I made the decision in 2009 to stay and it was based on my belief that no World Cup winning squad has ever had as good a chance of defending the title. It has never been done and I want to be a part of something that hasn’t been done. As I already said, I owe it to myself to be on the field and not in the stands. If I gave it up in 2009 and the squad defended the title I’d have to live with a lot of regret and regret is not something I ever want to carry with me post-rugby. I’d rather take the risk of losing and being there, being true to myself and what I believe I can contribute.’

Those who refuse to acknowledge Smit’s value to a winning 2011 Bok campaign will argue Smit being at the World Cup weakens the team and will single out the 2010 season and Smit’s form as an international prop. It is not something he hasn’t heard before.

‘I started playing for the Boks in 2000. Then I couldn’t scrum, I didn’t have enough mongrel to be a Test hooker, I wasn’t strong enough, big enough, crazy enough and … and … and … pick whichever one you want. I have heard them all, at least one of them every time before every one of my 102 Tests. I am my biggest critic. I don’t kid myself and I have a support base of family and close friends who wouldn’t allow me that illusion or luxury.

‘When my form has not been up to standard I have taken it on the chin, put in more work and tried to fix it. I have never doubted my ability,’ he says. ‘I believe I do add value to the Boks’ World Cup campaign and that my overall contribution as a captain and player with 102 Tests makes the squad stronger, but I also believe I am owed no favours and expect none. If Peter said to me that for the Boks to win the World Cup it would mean me not starting a game at the World Cup I’d sign on the dotted line. It has to be team first and individual aspirations second. It has always been what has made this core of players so successful. I’d know if being there was a negative because there are too many of us who have been together since 2004 and those strong personalities wouldn’t tolerate a passenger. They’d have wished me well, thanked me, suited me up and sent me on my way to that corporate suite.’

In a 2009 interview with SA Rugby magazine Smit said: ‘I don’t want to be the guy who keeps going long after he should have called it a day. I’ve felt sorry for players who have tried to keep going when all the signs were pointing at the door. I hope it will never be me.’

I recall the interview and his quote and suggest there are people feeling sorry for him. And the sympathetic ones are some of his biggest supporters. Smit concedes 2010 was not a good year, but says 2006 was equally horrible.

‘We were a minute away from a sixth successive Bok defeat in Rustenburg against the All Blacks. They were 20-18 ahead and they gave away the silliest of penalties. If it wasn’t for Andre Pretorius’ winning kick we would have all been gone by the end-of-year tour. Jake wouldn’t have survived, I would have been gone with him and a new coach would probably have done an overall on the squad.

‘A year later we were world champions with the same players. You need good fortune in sport and you also need to never give up on yourself if you truly believe you have it. I believe this squad does still have it. In fact, they had it more than four years ago because we as individuals and a unit have matured and grown enormously in four years. I believe I still have it. Last year wasn’t good. I was alternating between prop and hooker, my weight was up because of the positional switch and I was struggling with injury.

‘To miss the end-of-year tour in 2010 to undergo a neck operation was a blessing. I got on the scale after the operation and I weighed 127kg. I told myself: “Come on Barney. This is bullshit. This isn’t what you committed to in 2009. Prop or hooker … it doesn’t matter … get your neck and your conditioning sorted and go out there and help the Boks make history.” Physically, six months later, I am in as good a shape as I was in 2007.’

Smit weighs 115kg and is injury-free. The ongoing struggles playing prop haven’t gone away in Super Rugby, but it is when he has played hooker that he’s looked as good as at any stage of his career.

‘It is quite clear that hooker is my position, but I will play where needed and I will do whatever is needed to help this squad create history.

‘I am not done yet. I also know the value of experience. I went to the 2003 World Cup with youngsters hoping for a miracle. In 2007 we had more experience and it was defining to how we managed the pressure and played.

‘In 2011 we will take the most experienced Bok team to a World Cup. It will take a very good side to beat us and if one does there will be no regret from me that I didn’t walk away in 2009. But as I keep on saying, the reason to stay on was to win and not lose. And this generation of Bok player knows how to win.’

– This article first appeared in the July issue of Business Day Sport Monthly, which is distributed FREE with the newspaper on the second last Friday of the month.

590 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 351.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-345:

‘show down between Super Rugby champs and European champs’

That would awesome, top 2 teams in each

• 352.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-347: I guess your right. But the point being, Teichman was still good enough a player and captain to go to the WC unlike Smittie!

• 353.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Very good article. Not so happy with Barney telling Bok supporters ‘he is willing to take that risk’ if there is more at stake than his willingness.

Go play the machines at Grand West if you’re willing to take risks, don’t take them in a bok jersey mate.

• 354.grant10: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-353: my sentiments exactly!

• 355.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

John Smit used to be the CHAMP

Now he has become the CHUMP

• 356.madvillain: Reply to this comment

@Xhosakid

it is true, Rod Mac led a talented group of Aussie footballers but the form the boks were in could have and should have carried them through.

There were too many mistakes Mallet made in 99. Dave John Brook and Gaffie first, Gary Teichman second and his persistence with Rob who was crocked in that automobile accident, we all know he was never the same after that.

All these meant that the boks never really recovered from losing their momentum at Twickers the year before.

• 357.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber4(Boksarenumber1)-351: The IRB should organize something like that every two years or so. Will be fantastic to see, and then the world will know for sure who is the best domestic side in the world.

• 358.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-318:

Now that is the honourable thing to do! Are you reading this John Smit. You would gain much more respect…

Well Done Ricky.

• 359.Paws: Reply to this comment

Wide load smit is playing the odds, because he knows that even with him there where the other players have to carry / cover his many shortcomings, the Boks still stand a 1 in 5 chance of winning the WC.

Can you imagine the marketing and PR coup for him and all the money and prestige for his future if he is the ‘captain’ that retains the WC … never mind that he may only play about 10-20 meaningless minutes in any of the big games.

Despite what he says, he is being selfish and greedy.

• 360.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-349: Dude, I shop at Markhams/Truworths Men. I wouldnt know what swanky London shops stock.

• 361.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

John Smit, have you no shame?!!

• 362.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

“Smit dilemma getting worse

J.J. HARMSE

The Springbok captain, John Smit, has this year played only 198 minutes at hooker and run out in that position for the Sharks in only four of his 13 matches.

In contrast, Bismarck du Plessis has played there for a total of 1 088 minutes in 15 matches for the Sharks.

Smit will sit on the Sharks bench again in tomorrow’s Super Rugby quarter-final after he was on the field for only one minute as replacement prop in past Saturday’s match against the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld.

John Plumtree, Sharks coach, has sent out a clear signal with his persistence with Du Plessis at hooker for two key matches as to who he considers the best No. 2.

In contrast to this Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers, maintains that Smit should play hooker.

The statistics are probably going to force De Villiers to go into this year’s Tri Nations Series with Smit in the No. 2 jersey.

De Villiers indicated during a question-and-answer session on SA Rugby’s website that he could do nothing about Smit not being chosen at hooker for the Sharks, but that he does have control over where the veteran will play for the Springboks.

Smit ran out for the Sharks at loosehead prop seven times this year and played in that position for 380 minutes, as well as two occasions at tighthead, where he played 61 minutes, but it is the lack of gametime at hooker that the Bok coach can rectify when the Tri Nations Series kicks off in a month’s time.

“I can only choose John at hooker in Tests. We have four of them in the Tri Nations, so there is clearly an opportunity for me to do this,” De Villiers answered a question about the lack of gametime for Smit in his favoured position.

De Villiers indicated earlier in the season that he would look at the gametime of his senior Boks in the Super 15 before he would decide on a Tri Nations squad.

Du Plessis, who has already played in 15 of the Sharks’ 16 matches and is still involved in the playoff phase of the competition, has played an average of 72 minutes per match.

Smit, who missed three matches due to a calf injury, has played an average of 49 minutes per match – and only four matches at hooker. Du Plessis will need to be given urgent rest, but Smit definitely needs gametime and therefore the Tri Nations series can come to his and De Villiers’ rescue. Given these statistics and De Villiers’ comments, Smit will probably captain the team that will take on Australia (on 23 July) and New Zealand (30 July).

De Villiers will likely leave Du Plessis in South Africa during that time, with Chilliboy Ralepelle or Adriaan Strauss touring as replacement hooker.

The coach and Smit are under pressure to justify De Villiers’ choice of the hooker as the Springbok captain in 2011. Many experts are of the opinion that Smit can no longer make the team at hooker.

By unleashing Smit during the Tri Nations, this issue might be played out of contention by Smit and therefore he could prevent a possible headache for the Bok coach ahead of the World Cup tournament.”

• 363.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Look i am all for Smit dropping out. But what if, JUST WHAT IF, he goes to NZ plays at least 60min of every game (plays well at that) and retains the World Cup. I think we all will feel a little foolish, including me! Look it is not impossible, as much as i dont think he should be there….What if he pulls it off….i know most will say never it will not happen…I’ll ask the question again…JUST WHAT IF?

• 364.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-363: we will lose if plod plays the big games

we already carrying spies

its just a no brainer

• 365.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

When was the last time Smit was the best in ANY team he’s played for? In France, after the WC, he was playing off the bench. He’ll go to Sarries and bench for Brits. When has he ever been the best? But we are stuck with the Frankenstein’s monster Jake created by selecting a captain before the squad. Every coach chooses a squad and then his captain from the squad; not the other way round.

• 366.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-363:

No not at all. We can still win with him there. It is the message being sent to better players that bothers me. He is not even able to get a place in his franchise team, let alone the Bok team.

• 367.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-363: My Applied Stats Professor, used to say, “there is always a 50/50 chance, its either going to happen or its not going to happen”.

• 368.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

eish keo and his clones know which articles to post to get the emotional criers making 1000 hits :lol:

• 369.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-363:

Well maybe one of the other teams could do us a favour again and we can land up playing the fourth or fifth best teams in the semi’s and finals. Then he could win the World Cup for us…

• 370.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Keo you need to supply a link here online for free tissues ,

http://www.freesnotentranedoekies.com

• 371.Jorrie_Habana: Reply to this comment

January is gone!!!! 1 quota less…. no please habana please join january!!!

• 372.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-368:

Howzit SL! Can’t wait for the Sharks to cause a big upset tomorrow…

Then…

Beating the Reds and playing the Stormers at Newlands in the final…

Now that would be great…

• 373.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-372: hiyas bill , yeah thanks mate , just gonna be very tough , in my mind i can see us winning , but hey we have a chance

• 374.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

Sharks have faced the Crusaders once before in a semi-final, in 1998, when Crusaders had 2 work hard 2 beat the Sharks 36-32

• 375.Jorrie_Habana: Reply to this comment

Saders by 20 + … anything less will be a moral victory for the Sharks

• 376.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I see that Superbru is giving away double points for the playoff round.

Nice.

• 377.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

hmm, can’t say i’m very comfortable reading Smit say things like “I owe it to myself to be on the field and not in the stands”… sounds like he’s thinking of himself more than the team. and pulling the Gary Teichman comparison on himself was a bit odd too i think.

• 378.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-373:

Go and win it for SA and the Stormers… ;)

• 379.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

Smit is twice the hooker p!ssmark is. P!ssmark has never pitched up in one big game for the Boks. when the pack is rolling over the opposition easily then he is hailed as the greatest ever but in big games? he is never there. never. smit always stands tall in big games. look at that home game against new zealand last year. backs to the wall and even though he was struggling with the extra bulk he was the best player on the field along with juan! nobody wants to give him credit. its fashionable to bash certain players. its always been that way. throughout jakes term percy and os were bashed. only after the wc did these ‘fans’ start seeing what the rest of the world had known all along… that they were two of our best and most important players. you lot can keep p!ssmark. he is a k@k player and even worse person. arrogant, aggressive, petulant, lacks accuracy and purpose in his game and bottles it under pressure. he is a coward and brain dead lunatic. if you think we can not win with smit then how the hell can you lot justify p!ssmark??!! when last has p!ssmark made a game changing controbution for the boks? he simply has not. but keep dreaming. when we get knocked out with p!ssmark in the bin maybe the penny will drop i wont count on it though.

• 380.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-378: lol i can promise ya mate , them sharks will throw everything into this game

you guys must just make sure you win your semi. eish what a dream it would be if the sharks met you guys in the final, honestly couldnt see it happening as for various reasons, but it sure as hell would be nice

• 381.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-379:

Howzit John. Don’t be b itchy now! Have some kind of respect now. :lol:

• 382.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-380:

Well I think we may just beat the Blues, but then you guys have to beat the Reds. Lets just get rid of all these colours in the competition and concentrate on true franchise names… :lol:

• 383.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Tsjoe but all these Smit threads seem to be getting the emotional bloggers in a tizz!

• 384.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-377: no other bok has been as selfless as smit. he does everything for the team. even when that doff moffy Muller was captaining the sharks into a hole smit put himself aside for the team. he plays all across the front row doing everything every coach asks of him. bench duty when asked. but you claim he thinks of himself which is stupid. if smit was thinking of himself he would have fekked off and ditched the guppies and given the Dork the finger in 2009. i know i would have not put up with this kak and have thick ‘fans’ throw it in my face! but you all glorify p!ssmark. what kind of person can identify with p!ssmark? not a good person at all. does not reflect very well on smit’s critics.

• 385.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Lots of Stormers fans taking a final place for granted already!

Kinda like the Bulls did for a play off place!

• 386.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Both the Blues and Crusaders have won 4 times each in Cape Town. They both seem to like playing there.

In fact both teams have won their last games there too.

Remember, the Stormers have only ever played in a measly two semifinals before, both at home. They beat the waratahs in a semi last year but the only other one they played in, they were drubbed by the Highlanders in Cape Town :-)

I wouldn’t get too cushy just yet chaps!

• 387.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-385:

More like hoping mate…nothing for (grant)10(ed)…

• 388.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

*three semifinals*

the other was an away one in Chch.

• 389.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-387: we are all allowed to hope… Those Bully boys counted their chickens before they hatched though! :lol:

• 390.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-386:

Listen I’m a Stormer and I take nothing for granted until the fat lady sings.

I just hope it our year for the singing. Been disappointed so many times before… :lol:

• 391.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i see Keo doesn’t believe the Sharks will win but is putting money on them incase they cause an upset and then he’ll make dosh…

sorry Saders, Mark Keohane is the kiss of death Sharks to take this :D

• 392.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-384: easy does it, all i said is that his statement sounded a bit like he was thinking of himself there. after reading the article i get the impression that it seems like he is more motivated by proving something to himself and his critics than anything else. it’s just a perception, i’m not taking anything away from his career or talking up Bismarck…

• 393.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-379:

What big game for the Boks has Bismark ever played in? WC final where his first contribution was a dead accurate throw in his own 22? What big game is it where Smit made a telling contribution? Soccer City against the ABs?

• 394.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I see Sports Illustrated have elected John Smit the greatest Bok of all time. Not ‘this time’ or ‘that time’ but of ‘alllllllllllllllllllllll time’ :) they know what’s up.

There will be tough times in the next few months for all test nations and they’ll all need their leaders, SA will need Smit.

• 395.Number15: Reply to this comment

As usual Smit has got no chance with certain people. If SA win the RWC, it’ll be despite him. If SA lose, then it’ll all be Smit’s fault, despite no other team ever successfully defending a RWC.

• 396.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-394: pom trying to blow smoke again

008….go play in the traffic man

• 397.Number15: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-344:

So no other team has ever defended their RWC, but if we don’t it’ll be down to Smit ‘losing’ it? You’ve thought this through properly….

• 398.bangkok-bok: Reply to this comment

Truth is the Bok rugby frat boys (old boys club) want to raise plod to levels of elevation beyond human imagination. They NEED to believe in a hero after years in the desert and the abomination which was the blackout years. Puff Divvy realizes but doesn’t have the goolies to try and upset the apple cart. Truth is plod needs to be involved in the WC the same way Skinstad was- player in the mid week games and there as a motivator.

• 399.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Number15(Number15)-395: Yeah and then they’ll blame the coach for not having built an experienced team if they lose.

• 400.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-396: Sports Illustrated are the most respected sports publication in the world, they know their onions! :)

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.