Januarie quits Boks, WP

Ricky Januarie has announced his immediate retirement from international rugby on Friday.

The 29-year-old scrumhalf, who played in 47 Tests for the Springboks and 93 Super Rugby games for the Lions (43) and Stormers (50), has withdrawn himself from South Africa’s provisional World Cup squad.

He was also released from his contract with Western Province, which will allow him to join French club Lyon once the Stormers’ Super Rugby campaign concludes.

‘I’ve had a great run in South African rugby and have some fantastic memories but the time has come to move on,’ said Januarie. ‘Lyon have offered me a new beginning and I want to concentrate all my efforts on helping them in their first season in the French Top 14.’

‘Ricky and I chatted and he knew where he stood in our Rugby World Cup plans,’ added Bok head coach Peter de Villiers. ‘He has reached the stage in his career where he wants to move on and there was no reason to stand in his way.

‘He has produced some memorable moments over the years and his match-winning try against New Zealand in Dunedin will be remembered as long as the Springboks play.’

230 Comments

• 1.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

You guys should know I suck at making jokes…

Anycase, go well Ricky, you were a great servant to Bok and WP rugby.

• 2.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

Lyon Dragon

• 3.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

He is the newest entrant in the Biggest Loser weight loss contest. He is roomies with Ollie

• 4.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Cheers Rickster the Lionheart. Thanks for the memories boy.

• 5.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Smart move, RIcky. All the best in France.

• 6.renoog: Reply to this comment

He never did pick himself. Respect for quitting.

• 7.yank: Reply to this comment

Never my favourite…or too many others either but he has been a loyal servant and I’m sure the “retirement annuity” he’ll earn in France will make it all worthwhile.
    Let’s hope that this opens up a place for Sarel Pretorius…..

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

now if smit would do the same :D

• 9.grant10: Reply to this comment

that try in2008 was awesome.

and in 2005 I saw him terrorise Dan Carter at Newlands when boks beat All Blacks….

And it is time to go Ricky.

Well done mate….you always gave it your all…

• 10.pompies2: Reply to this comment

So this kinda proved PDV was never really going to consider him fort the RWC. At best he would have been on standby.

• 11.Sloth_111: Reply to this comment

Didn’t see that coming! Mature decision. There are better scrumhalves in this country. And he would’ve been picked ahead of them and he knows it.

• 12.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-10:

I told you… ;)

• 13.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

A real love/hate relationship we had with Ricky… He would dish up the biggest load of cr@p on one Saturday for WP and then win a game for Boks the next. Who could forget that try in Hamilton…his stomach going one way, him the other way. Chip kick, gather, punte!!

• 14.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Sloth_111(Sloth_111)-11: That’s just it. Alothough he was in the reckoning, he, in all lieklyhood, would’ve been on standby. I doubt you’d want an inexperienced player on standby (e.g Sarel) So there are still 3 scrummies better than Sarel in the bok squad at the moment.

• 15.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

FYI,

Latest info I received on the bus crash involving Griquas U/18 boys:

Coach and principle were killed, manager broke his leg. No players injured but all going for counseling and withdrawing.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Boks should grow moustaches for RWC(Kid_Senekal)-13: i thought they were playing @ Carisbrook in Dunedin, you know the HOUSE OF PAIN?

• 17.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-12: LOL! All of us on the forum should feel a bit stupid for player bashing without understanding what really happens inside of the team structures.

• 18.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Bye Ricky thanks for the memories. Good luck in France.

• 19.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-17:

It is the nature of things (and fans) :)

• 20.pompies2: Reply to this comment

WE KNOW BEST, EVEN IF WE DON”T KNOW. A kind of compound ignorance or stupidity. Very considered decision from RJ.

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-17: Ja makes sense to have had on stand by as the experienced scrummie. 43 caps is quite alot.

• 22.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-20: So wait would he have made the team as the third scrummie? Or would he have to wait until someone got injured?

• 23.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Well done, Ricky, in a very good career in which you gave your all in service to the Springboks.

I will never forget THAT try at the House of Pain.

Thank you for your service.

Now go pad your retirement nest in France.

• 24.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-14:

As Hougaard proved against the ABs at Soccer City, inexperience is irrelevant if you play like a seasoned pro.

Lambie and Sarel, if given their chance on the highest level, have my vote of confidence.

• 25.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: O ja it was Dunedin hey? my bad. Should’ve known nothing exciting ever happens in Hamilton, lol.

• 26.liefling: Reply to this comment

Good luck to Ricky. Besides the 2008 try against NZ, will also remember being at Twickenham in November ’08 and seeing Ricky terrorise the English in helping us thrash them and deservedly be MOM.

• 27.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Boks should grow moustaches for RWC(Kid_Senekal)-25: :lol:

• 28.LightZone: Reply to this comment

I was never a Ricky fan because I thought he was not the fastest but he brought other qualities to the game that my favourite/s never had. He always acquitted himself well as a Bok, though. He never chose himself and never seemed entitled to the job. He always looked as if he would try his best irrespective of criticism. For that I salute a wonderful Bok career. Go well in your future career Ricky.

• 29.LightZone: Reply to this comment

So what happened about the deal to take Ricky to the RWC?

• 30.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Don’t let the door hit you on your large arse on the way out.

• 31.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

No 50 caps for Ricky… victory.

• 32.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-30:

Show some respect.

• 33.HulkSmash: Reply to this comment

Ricky Januarie had amazing heart and tenacity. He had some magnificent games for the boks.

I wish more of our players had that kind of mongrel and fighting spirit in them. If Spies had half the guts that Ricky had he would be the best player in the world.

• 34.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-31: I hope you are the best in your job. Just be careful nobody applauds you leaving whatever you do for a living.

• 35.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@HulkSmash(HulkSmash)-33:

If Spies had a third the guts that Aplon has he would be the best player in the world.

• 36.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-32:

Make me. Januarie has been a disease and cost one too many games.

• 37.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe it. Good on you Ricky, stay off the foie gras!

• 38.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Go Well Ricky ! all the best !

• 39.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-8: Will never happen. John is going to ride this one to the bitter end.

• 40.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Are we all talking about the same Ricky Januarie that was spotted stuffing his face with McDonalds the night before a Tri-Nations test?

Absolutely disgusting.

• 41.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-35: If Pierre had some guts he would quit bok rugby mate. He’s just not good enough.

• 42.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

No doubt Rassie is having a massive influence on the Bok squad. Garbage like Januarie are being thrown out.

• 43.Frik: Reply to this comment

Back in 2004/5/6 he was absolutely FdP’s peer and I remember there was big debate about who to pick. Fourie was a proponent of “The General” style of play and Ricky was “The Terrier” counterpart and they were both great and both needed.

I hope he earns a few Euro’s in France and put it towards a decent retirement fund.

• 44.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-42:
    Hey b i t c h. The guy is not garbage. ******* off with you kak comments.

• 45.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-42: Ricky was playing for WP and Stormers while Rassie was there. Ricky helped the Stormers cause tremendously this year especially in NZ (even though he was not first choice)

• 46.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-8:

SA is the only team that has players that have both the WC and u21 WC….

Ricky Januarie (2002)
    Fourie Du Preez (2002)
    Jean De Villiers (2002)
    Juan Smith (2002)
    Ashwin Willemse (2002)
    Schalk Burger (2002)
    Gary Botha (2002)
    Gurthro Steenkamp (2002)
    Bismarck Du Plessis (2005)
    Ruan Pienaar (2005)

• 47.HulkSmash: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-42:

You are a sad joke on this site. Nobody takes anything you say seriously, stop embarrassing yourself.

• 48.whatever: Reply to this comment

All the best Ricky. Some good memories in the Bok jersey, ….the House of Gain springs to mind. You have probably done the noble thing boet…..

• 49.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Who will now replace Januarie and Vermeulen in the 49-man perlim squad?

Or is there no need to fill those?

May I suggest Sarel Pretorius and Dewald Potgieter?

• 50.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

When is the next Springbok training camp? Does anyone know? Apparently the squad for the Tri nations will be announced at the latest 9 July.

• 51.whatever: Reply to this comment

Sarel yup, Dewald is average……………..

• 52.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Well done Ricky.. but you were used by the Nazi’s to unseat Bolla to make way for FDP who will never show the grit that you or Bolla displayed in reaching the top. The usual c unts will gloat at your departure but they are non-achievers who will never reach the heights that you so grandly scaled.

@LightZone(LightZone)-34: I bet he is a big P ussy at work too.. the clue is in the name (Kitty)
    @Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-36: At least Ricky can tell his kids and grandkids about his great achievements.. What are you gonna do.. whistle De le Rey to yours and their’s

• 53.Frik: Reply to this comment

Vermeulen isn’t out yet. I think the docs said he’d be match fit in 6 – 8 weeks, so he could still make the WC..

• 54.gretep: Reply to this comment

Give Kobus Kitty a break guys. The only self-gratification he gets is being a troll…..

• 55.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-49:

I agree, but chances are good they will not get replaced at all.

• 56.whatever: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-52:

Grow up f uk pig!

• 57.Caper: Reply to this comment

Well done, Ricky. This has really elevated my opinion on him. For a long while I rated Ricky very highly. For me, when he was at his best, he was the best number 9 in SA. He got under the opposition’s skin, exposed space around the rucks, supplied quick ball and made good decisions as a scrummie.

At least he, unlike so many other elderly players who, despite being too old and out of form, has the decency to admit it and retire. If all the players were like Ricky considering this the Boks would be in a great position.

Well done, Ricky. A career that anyone would be proud of.

• 58.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-44:

You will watch your tongue when you speak to me. You want to have Januarie babies.
    @HulkSmash(HulkSmash)-47:

B grader speaks up. Shut your mouth.

Everyone mentioning Januarie’s fluke try in 2008. Why? Because that’s the only worthwhile thing he has done in his entire career. Who remembers the 1st test against the BIL? He came on in the last 5 minutes and knocked on everything he touched. One example.

For years I have been sick of watching the Boks break the line only for big arse Januarie to then sit at the next ruck for 30 seconds before passing.

Just 2 weeks ago, he was one of the main reasons the Stormers lost to the Bulls. He knocked on 8 times at the ruck. Eight.

• 59.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-52: How’s Malema doing? Are you still stroking his…uhm…..ego?

• 60.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-55:

I see…I just thought that there was some kind of requirement to submit a 49-man list of names to the IRB before some deadline.

Was this not so?

• 61.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-56: ;-) .. I caught a live one.. should I toss you back or have you for dinner :lol:

• 62.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Frik(frikodel)-53:

I think there is a difference between recovery and match fitness. He had to have his patellar tendon surgically re-attatched. I don’t he will be ready to rock on the internaional stage on debut in 6 weeks. Sorry.

• 63.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-61: :-) :-)

• 64.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Is this Shaun Swindon?

• 65.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

I’m incredibly wealthy. Trust me, if I wanted to be a bok scrumhalf, I would have. I have a gift to succeed.

• 66.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

I was a big fan of Ricky’s a few years ago. Offered something different to Fourie when in the squad. Was at that Newlands game against the All blacks and his mongrel defence was a huge factor in the win.

I wonder who the Stormers will replace him with? Duvenage is very average.

• 67.whatever: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-61:

You caught nothing gamonhead, your Nazi comments are just a wee bit boring. If you only come here to fish, rather go find a canal in the dreary isles…………doos!

• 68.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-59: Is Malema getting under your skin too.. very irritating :lol: He was sent by god to p iss in your porridge to make you reconsider your ways.. THere has to be a religious reason for his popularity :lol:

• 69.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-65:

Ag demmit man, opportunity missed!!

If you are so wealthy you should have put in a bid when they were buying Kaplan’s loyalty the week prior to the Bulls-Sharks game. Ai nee man.

• 70.whatever: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-68:

Malema is just a Nazi with a different skin colour………..

• 71.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-52: I always thought Bolla should have been a Bok for longer. He was much faster than Ricky and had a torpedo pass.

• 72.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-65:

For a WEALTHY man of your calibre that has ” a room in (his) house dedicated to the Bulls, wherein even (his) lovers cannot go, and cries each time the Bulls lose…”, I’m very disappointed in your lack of initiative.

Very. You could have kept the Bulls in the game.

• 73.whatever: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-71:

:lol: yeah!

• 74.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-60:

I know as much as you do

• 75.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-72:

Ja, Kaplan requires more than just money though….

• 76.AlphaTango: Reply to this comment

@Polar Lion(Polar Lion)-3:

Ollie couldn’t make it due to personal reasons. Luckily Piri Weepu was there to replace him.

Jokes aside – that try in 2008 will never be forgotten. Thank you Ricky!

• 77.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-75:

I know, I can think of several things, starting with a royal PK massage.

• 78.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-65: No you would not have been a bok scrumhalf… Hindsight makes it all very clear :lol: WRT to your wealth.. Is the presumption that money and influence can buy you a Bok place?? I have been accusing SARU of this for a while now but thanks for supporting my point of view.. I think FDP is also very wealthy… Makes sense:lol:

• 79.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-77:

mmmhm ;)

• 80.Frik: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-62:

Reattached? Yeah then he’s probably out.

• 81.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-68: you’re a sad sack. can you please try and at least sound interesting or educated. check your spelling next time…..agent. ;-)

• 82.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-74:

Wow, you should join Mensa then.

…OK lame joke. :lol:

• 83.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-42: Then why’s Spies still there?

• 84.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Weepu is now the undisputed fattest scrumhalf in Super rugby :)

On a serious note, at his best, Ricky was a very good player – i have huge respect for his never say die attitude and now also for him having the good sense to retire from local and international rugby as he realises that he cannot longer keep up with the younger emerging scrumhalves.

Good luck Ricky.

• 85.ufo: Reply to this comment

All the best Ricky… and thanks for your service to SA Rugby!!

• 86.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-78:

Well, you see, money can buy me surgery similar to what Michael Jackson had except in reverse.

• 87.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-79:

I have dreams at night where the entire crowd of 50 000 people at Loftus line up in one long line to give Kaplan a good old-fashioned “Bakoond”.

• 88.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Frik(frikodel)-80:

Apparently so. Poor guy. Should be there ahead of Kankowski IMO.

• 89.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-70: He keeps on saying he wants to be like white people… makes sense:lol: but if he is p issing in your porridge then I believe that he has valuable purpose in live :lol:

• 90.whatever: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-89:

He p isses in his own porridge …………. and makes girls like you look meek!

• 91.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-89:

Yeah, Malema’s highest aspiration and skill ceiling in life is to piss in people’s porridge.

• 92.Hendrik Pienaar: Reply to this comment

Well done Ricky on leaving at the right time! Form is not good and it wouldn’t have been fair for him to go to the World Cup.

Januarie probably gave me the best night of my life. Watching the Boks at Carisbrook, thinking we’re going to lose and 3 minutes from time he scores a great try right in front of me! Made the rest of the night all the better.

• 93.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-81: Fatal error young man.. never mention spelling on Keo.. We push the P ussy alert button when that happens :lol:

P USSY ALERT EVERYONE!!! .. LOGIE PUT HIS HAND UP :lol:

• 94.bunce: Reply to this comment

The only scrummie who could cover hooker aswell

• 95.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-89: hey, spelling bud! live and life have two different meanings! come on now, don’t give away your own stupidity that easily, especially after I warned you not to.

• 96.whatever: Reply to this comment

@bunce(bunce)-94:

and prop?

• 97.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-91: He seems to make a lot of money too ;-)

@whatever(whatever)-90: I believe that you you offered to wash his car for some of his spare change… very low young man :lol:

• 98.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Hendrik Pienaar(hendrikp)-92:

“Januarie probably gave me the best night of my life”

8O

Please, next time mention that after Ricky’s exploits on the RUGBY FIELD in your post. Almost had me worried there. Sounds like something you’ll read on the front page of “Die Son”.

• 99.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-95: No need to put the other hand up… you have been recognised :lol:

• 100.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@AlphaTango(AlphaTango)-76:

…What try is that again?

• 101.HHS: Reply to this comment

Played his best rugby in the Lions jersey. Good luck Ricky.

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-42: I heard your mother circumcised you by kicking your dad on the jaw….. idiot.

• 102.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-86: You want to be like Michael Jackson… you like to kiddy fiddle??? Next thing you gonna tell us is that you want to be the Pope too :lol:

• 103.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Thanks for the good times Ricky! True warrior. And at times a world class scrumhalf. Other times not, but its also not his fault the what the selectors get up to. And this year he improved again, not up to his old best, but improving, all the best for France!

Kobus Kitty, you are a jerk. And if you can’t remember anything good besides the famous try you must be a teenager. Read all the comments on this blog, you are the only one sprouting sh_it like that. Grow up and get some manners.

• 104.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-71: I am not sure why Bolla is out of contention with the stormers.. he did start the season with them.. any news??

• 105.whatever: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-97:

Has he got a car? Who did he steal it from?

• 106.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-103:

“….Grow up and get some manners.”

Okay……

• 107.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

People let’s rather talk about the composition of the Tri Nations squad and who will probably be rested etc.

• 108.cane: Reply to this comment

Go well Enrico,

Enjoy France,
    Enjoy your Rugby there.

Thanks for the entertainment,

cane.

• 109.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-105: I got no idea.. but your GF/wife probably fancies a drive in it.. You better start making some real wonga before the GF/wife starts looking for black dudes with fancy cars :lol:

• 110.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-109:

Aaaaag, ok.

I’m outta here.

• 111.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

BTW, good job on the moderating KEO en kie. As always…. :roll:

• 112.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-104: No idea. Maybe not suited in that team? Maybe G10, JR or PA can tell you. I’m just a supporter standing way on the fringes of the outside circle. I do try and deduce things though.

• 113.DieBarry: Reply to this comment

Ricky (together with Ashwin Willemse) is one of the few real players to really fight their way up the ladder from a disadvantage. He’s a real transformation success story. Have a look at where he comes from, and think about how many people can reach what he reached given that much of a disadvantage. Like many have said, he didn’t pick himself, and he definitely was one of the top 2 or 3 scrumhalves in SA for a time. Sure, not any more, and due to the lack of other quality black players coming through his past reputation counted too much for too long, but a few years back he deserved his reputation and place in the side.

• 114.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-24: What happens in the case of a slugfest? I’m sure you appreciate the differences between superrugby and test rugby. Has Sarel displayed an aptitude for test rugby? Does the strong aspects of his game compensate enough to cover the weaker points of his game? Is he able to galvanise the forwards by directing the attack? Is he able to impose a gameplan using his kicking skills? For me, his strongest skill is his running, which makes his primary function, 2nd or third best. As we’ve seen from the Bok hooker, you need to be the best at delivering your skillset.

• 115.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-104:

Bolla Conradie is focusing on his role as captain of the Boland Cavaliers.

By the way, Regent Insurance yesterday announced a new 2-year sponsorship of Boland Rugby.

• 116.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-115: Thanks WPTID. I still rate him as a good scrummie. Lost a bit of speed but that torpedo is ridiculously long.

• 117.whatever: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-109:

nice try doos, I don’t have a wife………….maybe thats why u a racist wa nker, cause your wife likes the wit ou’s ………… do you know wet pantie? Biscuits anyone?

• 118.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Thanks for playing Ricky. As many said, at your best you were fantastic, other times not so, but a good servant to the game!

And on a lighter note, thanks for all your work educating young people about the fact that anerexia can, in fact, be beaten!

• 119.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-118: THAT is funny. HAHAHA

• 120.Mutant: Reply to this comment

Still think Ricky had something to offer at the WC, but he’s made a big decision and is sticking by it. Good luck gangsta

• 121.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-119: Thank you. I’m here all week. Which basically means the next 2 hours…. :)

• 122.OhYeah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-8:

Why not have a little respect for RJ, and wish well before taking out your tired old boring malice.

Lose leerer Raum in deine Kopf

• 123.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-117: No GF either??? and you call me a w anker?? :lol: .. My missus is blond with green eyes. I suppose you would call her white. She had plenty of opportunity to choose a white ou.. but I have my doubts if she will ever. Just one of those things and I dont think that she is a racist :lol:

• 124.willievz: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-114:

Well all test players need to start somewhere, don’t they?

I have always thought Sarel is a special player with, as you call it, a skillset to succeed at the highest level. His primary function, distribution, is top-class.

Apart from that:

He is a threat around the fringes with quick feet
    He has great vision and anticipation which allows him to be quicker to the ruck
    He is dynamic and energizes the receivers next to him
    He has vision on attack
    His support play ranks among the best I’ve seen

Sounds like the ideal impact player to me in the last 20 minutes of a test.

And yes, you probably don’t back his kicking game, but I have never been a fan of a kicking 9 unless you get it spot-on most of the time like FDP does.

His one-on-one defense is often criticised, and I think often unfairly so, but one can work with him on this. However, his cover defense is outstanding – have you noticed how many ball carriers he tackles out of touch by drifting behind the backline on mature phases?

It is all about accommodating a specific player in a specific gameplan, and Sarel offers us that extra flexibility in approach.

We missed a trick in not selecting this guy for the 3N, he has world-class written all over him and would have been the starting AB 9 if he had a NZ passport.

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@OhYeah(OhYeah)-122: umsunu wakho

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@OhYeah(OhYeah)-122: as if you have any respect for ricky either than shielding plod :D

• 127.willievz: Reply to this comment

We know what Ricky, Pienaar and Hougaard offers us as backup 9s.

And to be quite frank, it is nothing spectacular.

Why not give Sarel a chance and in turn, make the battle for the backup 9 jersey a bit more interesting?

• 128.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-127: give Sarel a run in the tri-nations, make or break Test rugby ain’t for sissies :D

• 129.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@OhYeah(OhYeah)-122: don’t waste your energy with transie.he hates zulu and coloured men but absolutely loves banging coloured chicks.

• 130.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Why did this guy even want to play for his country, he received so much racist abuse it was sickening, the Klan finally got their wish and ran him out of town.

• 131.grant10: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-112: on bench for Boland….Bolla…they beat a wp team on Thursday !

• 132.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-128:

We will need some serious defense against the ABs.

Someone like Barry Geel. Tackles made 17, Tackles missed 0

• 133.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

go well ricky j.

• 134.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-130: kkk?

• 135.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-124: 3N never even started yet. Maybe (very big outside chance maybe) he does get picked?

• 136.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

the nazi-loving afrikaner scum will now just intensify their attacks on bryan habana.

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-127: that gets my vote.

• 138.willievz: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-135:

I hope so, but don’t think PDV will pick players outside of this preliminary WC squad for the 3N.

• 139.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-131: Thanks Grant. He won’t ever play in the top tier again but I think still has some to offer where he is now.

• 140.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Why did he quit, worried about not getting test game time or offered an incentive by Lyon? seems an odd decision.

Terrific player at his best, unfortunately like Frans Steyn he’s carried too much weight in the past couple of years.

• 141.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-129: hayi bo!!!! :shock:

• 142.willievz: Reply to this comment

Pompies,

In addition – Harry Viljoen picked an u-21 rookie and a Boland CC player for a test against NZ in 2001.

Did they show any of the qualities for test rugby to merit their selection against the best team in the world?

I was furious too.

Yet Joe van Niekerk and Marius Joubert became two of our best players in the early 2000s.

Sometimes coaches just know if someone is the real deal, and everyone needs to start somewhere.

• 143.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-138: I doubt he’ll pick a scrummie other than the ones he does have BUT Snor does learn from his mistakes. He might try Ruan at SH in 3N, as he does show consistency in selection.

• 144.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-132: you know barry “sbw killer” geel is the man for the job, nobody, even HG can call barry a donkey :D

• 145.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-142: I’m with you on this. How will we ever know if we’re only ever going to pick from the established places. We need to do things differently and show that we can reward from outside the traditional schools/sides/areas/regions.

• 146.grant10: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-139: may be a year or 2 past his prime….awesome at his best

• 147.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-106: What’s your problem? Grammar police? Ok, “learn some manners”, there you go. Everyone has a brain **** now and then.
    Or is it that you don’t agree with the general sentiment? Did you read his comments?

• 148.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-146: Pity for him he played before the French league really came to the fore with getting players at all costs. If Ricky could fit in there imagine how well Bolla would’ve suited their game.

• 149.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

I’m sensing a lot of negativity.

I hate two faced fans. When Januarie was ruining the Boks, a lot of you were all in agreement with me. Now that he’s gone all of you seem to be trying to take this noble approach to the situation.

I feel sorry for Lyon. Silly frenchmen have more money than sense.

• 150.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is the kind of base attitude from KKK that drove poppa from an amiable blogger into a raving lunatic that uses aids and baby deaths to “return serve”.

• 151.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-149: It’s just your lack of style man. Most of the guys on here didn’t want Ricky in the team and are happy that he can’t be picked now.
    But it’s not his fault that he was picked, and he DID provide some great performances, and not just one try. So there is no need to sh-it all over they guy like you’ve been doing. Nobody deserves comments like that, nevermind their playing record.

• 152.Frik: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-149:
    When he went to Ospreys the coaching staff loved him and wanted him to stay past his loan date.

• 153.kwas: Reply to this comment

Ricky should have fcuked off overseas 2 seasons ago. His price would have been much higher after he fluked it in Dunedin. Good riddance.

• 154.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Adios Ricky.

Never been a fan, never will be but cheers anyways to Ricky. May good food follow you in France.
    Maybe this will open up a gap for some new talent, problem is Div could’nt spot talent even it sat in front of him kakking on his North Stars….

• 155.nama1: Reply to this comment

Go well, Rickster. You were very good when you were on top of your game. The fact that you did not take up that much space on Keo this year , especially while on tour, showed that you were playing well. Now, you just have to help Stormers to win the Super rugby title and you can go out on a high.

Enjoy France.

PS: It would be interesting to see who the POC in the Bok team is to be lambasted here on Keo now that Ricky is there no more.

2006: it was Habana
    2007: JPP (until his try saving tackle)
    2008: Chilliboy
    2009: Adi
    2010: Ricky
    2011: ???

Any takers? :lol:

• 156.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-154: So that means there were no new Springboks chosen since 2007? Riaan Viljoen ring a bell? Ashley Johnson? Aplon? JDJ? Beast? Ok the first two never played for the Boks yet but were chosen to EOYT 2009.

• 157.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-155:
    Sorry, JPP was also the villain in 2008. World Cup babbelas they called it back then. :lol:

• 158.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-155: Seems JDJ is starting to have a look-in to that title. Though I think it might be Elton.

• 159.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-156: We can debate the ones he did’nt choose for the rest of the afternoon as there will always be those for and against. A guy like Sarel just puts the spotlight on Div’s inabilities regarding selections among others

• 160.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-155: John for sure!!!

• 161.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-154:
    Some talent spotted by PdV in his reign as coach.

15. Aplon; Kirchner
    12. Juan de Jongh
    11. Mvovo; Bjorn Basson
    10. Morne Steyn
    9. Francois Hougaard
    7. Willem Alberts; Flo; Dewalt Potgieter
    6. Heinrich Brussow; Steggies
    5. Andries Bekker; Hargreaves
    4. Flip v/d Merwe
    2. Adrian Strauss
    1. Beast

Fill in the blanks.

Question:
    Will the next coach be accused of using “PdV’s players” if his core group consist mostly of the players mentioned above? Something that I’m sure will happen.

• 162.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-160:
    John ain’t no POC or quota, is he?

He is just a Bok player out of form. :lol:

…like Spies.

• 163.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-161: Most of those where in the making pre Div but I get what you’re saying. Unfortunately as with most things Div will be looked upon as the guy who ‘forced’ certain selections.

Now, one can argue that all coaches are guilty of that to an extent but the Ricky/Div love affair was just a joke to be honest.

• 164.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-162: Spies is another selection that I cannot understand, and I am a Bulls supporter in case you’re wondering.

• 165.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-161: These are only the ones who were capped. There are others who were not capped but did tour. That’s also spotting a talent.
    @KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-159: The non-selection of someone where there clearly is a over-supply does not show lack of talent-spotting. He did mention quite a few names of those who were unlucky not to have been chosen yet. Two words…TEAM DYNAMICS

• 166.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-165: No ways bud,thats a kak argument and you know it

• 167.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-166: HEhe don’t be silly. So when we have FDP, Ruan and Hougaard as scrumhalves currently who have all proven themselves at TEST level we have to look at ANOTHER player to fill what gap?? Don’t see any counter from your side other than saying it’s a kak argument.

• 168.willievz: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-156:

And Earl Rose :roll:

• 169.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-161: why is there no LAMBIE in your post? are you a hater? :D

• 170.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-161: My wife, who is not the greatest rugby expert, also spotted those players. But yes, the next coach will use most of those players, and some of his own. It’s called common sense.

• 171.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-168: Who, although talented, messed with his own talent thus was dropped.

• 172.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-170: typical, nobody credits straueli for “discovering” any of the players jake used, but it is “jake’s team” :D

i know markies had some thing to say about that!

Markies claims glory for Bok 2004 title
    29 Aug 2006

Andre Markgraaff has claimed to be the architect of the Springboks 2004 Vodacom Tri Nations championship-win. Not Jake White.

Despite the fact that the Boks won the tournament on bonus points, thanks mainly to Percy Montgomery’s goalkicking that earned them points for losing within seven in Australia and New Zealand, Markgraaff told the Cape Times rugby writer Stephen Nell that the tournament was not won because of White.

“I spent two, three years of my life working on structures for South African rugby. They won the Tri-Nations for South Africa (in 2004), not Jake White.”

Markgraaff, to whom SARU president Regan Hoskins has turned to assist White, said he was not sure if he wanted to meet with White. So we’re off to a fantastic start here.

“I’ll have to consider whether I can go to a forum whre he will be present. He knows what he did to me with his letter-writing and that is still fresh in my memory … He has a lot of apologies to make about what he did to me and South African rugby.”

Markgraaff claimed the technical committee, which he chaired, to be a fantastic thing. He blamed White and former president Brian van Rooyen when the committee was disbanded.

• 173.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-172: Rugby is the same as politics and business. When a new President or CEO takes over, they don’t fire everyone and start over. They use the ones they believe can do the best from what is handed over, and introduce a few they believe are better.

• 174.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Well hey maybe John Smit could swallow his pride and take a page out of Januaries book, when its time to go, its time to go.. Januarie was a great player up until the beginning of 2009, infact in 2008 he was so good for the Stormers and WP, he had a good run of games in last years currie cup play offs and a few this year. His problem post 2010 was inconsistency, but hes done well out of rugby and served the springboks well, noone can doubt that. Good luck to him in Lyon..

• 175.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-124: Good analysis. Hard for me to argue with most of what you say. I just have this nagging feeling that in a tight game, where tactics decide the outcome, he might come up short. If he gets a chance and proves me wrong, I’ll be forced to eat my words.

When I see Sarel, I see a very good player, but I just don’t see a test quality player. I’d much more invest in Schreuder, the WP lad, who has this test quality about him. He might not be ready to play test rugby just at the moment, but given a couple of seasons in super rugby, he could be the business.

• 176.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-162: **** he´s the definition of quota.

• 177.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Well done Ricky – you did the honourable thing – now why cant Habana and Smit do the same?

• 178.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Too many class scrummies standing in his way at provincial and international level.

His manager must have talked him into taking the EUROS before he gets too obese.

• 179.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-177: Actually it seems as if Habana is getting closer to his usual standard. I’m no Habana supporter either.

• 180.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

At 9 you cannot hide…you either are fit or you are not….there is no place in any team for a slow scrummie.

• 181.Hondo: Reply to this comment

PdV must be feeling now he has lost a true friend, and it’s mutually inclusived
    Ditto AC

• 182.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Januarie at his peak was the best physical/defensive scrummie the world has ever seen.No scrummie had a much impact on defensive strategies employed as he did.His ability to employ rush defense on inside channels ,d especially on pivots/halfback axis was a unique skill that hasn’t been replicated.Around the fringes and darting he was excellent as well.Never the best tactical kicker or strategist but when he was picked that wasn’t his job.He was world class at his peak.You don’t play 47 tests for the Boks if you weren’t.You look at 40 plus Boks and he belongs in a special group indeed.3rd most capped 9 in Bok colours of all time.

Last 2 yrs weren’t his best but Dunedin was bigger than RWC 07.Yeah believe that.

• 183.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Go well in Lyon,Ricki.

Just want to say that it takes guts to announce your retirement just before a WC. And you had that in spades.

• 184.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-151: I agree. i like januarie. he was a very good player back in the day. thats why i feel so bad seeing him so badly out of shape and playing so badly. i just wish someone could push him to keep his standards up. i was against him playing for south africa over the last three years or so but i was not happy to see him like this. he has so much real potential. an in form januarie would be my first choice over du preez against new zealand! but we do not have that option anymore. januarie you have yourself to blame!!! fekkin shame man.

• 185.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Good bye Ricky, I hope you have a wonderful time, and make loads of money . I enjoyed you as a player as I thought you very gutsy (and I don’t mean the telytubby part).

• 186.pierre: Reply to this comment

Keo – you are a disrespectful moron for tweeting what you did about Ricky. He came from abject poverty and achieved astonishing things in his career, including single-handedly giving the Boks their first ever win in Dunedin in a game that looked lost. You do nothing but make consistently incorrect and opinionated predictions and ludicrous recommendations (Butch James for the Bok flyhalf? WTF?), and pretend to be a guru. And what is more, you know damn well (and I say this as a DA-voting whitey) that the abuse of Ricky is racial. It stems from reflex white antipathy towards coloureds who aren’t jocular and obedient. So why would you participate in it? Moron.

• 187.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@pierre(pierre)-186: Geez that must’ve been some bad stuff he said. I don’t do twitter.

• 188.ET.: Reply to this comment

@pierre(pierre)-186:

One hundred thousand slaps on your back for being so direct, so forthright and so blatantly honest.
    Sheer arrogance and blissful selfishness gets most to act so reflexly as they are so comfortable.

These quoted sentences below are the equivalent of two powerful atom bombs shattering their myths of total diisregard for their fellow human beings.

” And what is more, you know damn well (and I say this as a DA-voting whitey) that the abuse of Ricky is racial. It stems from reflex white antipathy towards coloureds who aren’t jocular and obedient. ”

All power to you.

• 189.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@pierre(pierre)-186: stems from reflex white antipathy towards coloureds who aren’t jocular and obedient.

That is a terrible and strange thing to say and that the abuse of Ricky has been racial, I do not agree, so many try to make race issues when some times a tree is just a tree.

• 190.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-189: It’s always difficult to discern racism. One should always be on the outlook to determine whether racism (or cultural bias) is really intended. I would hate to think that a respected journalist (yeah yeah I know) like Mark Keohane would allow himself to utter racist remarks be it intentional or otherwise.

• 191.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-190: mark keohane is a low-life white piece of trash.

• 192.ET.: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-190:

Those to whom it has been directed to most of their lives have no difficulty in clearly discerning and exposing it because it has been so caustic for so long.

Consider this case where a Ph.D. from Potch. U. comes to work at UCT med.school via a university in Belgium and because he does not condone an undergraduate’s community spirit and activism one day takes the front page of the C. Times which had impoverished ‘squatters siiting close to burning shacks, and says to this student (mixed race) you are so different from those fools. Fortunately I witnessed this and sorted him out pronto and exposed him in the next Friday dept. meeting.

Understand too that it is not only the reality that has to be considered but the perception that arises in the minds of others.

• 193.LightZone: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-192: You don’t have to tell me that. You should know how back in the day when the K-word was used almost as a term of endearment and today we still have the older folk using the same term without any malice. The word in isolation might cause untold harm to that person but when intent is investigated no racism is discerned.
    Obviously a silly example to illustrate a point that sometimes context and intent is as important as what is said. It is not difficult for one who is/was exposed to this for decades to easily, even instinctively, spot a racist but one should beware of just branding anything racist.

• 194.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-193: i hardly ever seen real racists called out. vast majorirty of the time innocent people are called racists…. BY RACISTS!!! this generation is dumb to the core i tell you. i made an illustration once that was called racist because i had a blonde german fekk!!! the word racist gets thrown around so easily that nobody who uses it knows what it really is hehehe. oh well, thats life.

• 195.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-170:
    So you are saying that PdV had common sense when he used the like of JS, VM, Bakkies, Schalk, Danie, FdP, JdV, JF, Habana, JPP, etc when he started his tenure as Bok coach?

… or did he use another coaches’ (JW’s) horses to pull his carriage? :lol:

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-189:
    Now that is one of the most truest comments about Ricky that I’ve ever read.

Pity you did not put it forward when the Ricky bashing was on its highest point.

You did not ever see that kind of abuse thrown the way at Spies, WO, or even JS at their weakest in the Bok team.

At the end of the day, Ricky’s COLOUR, yes his COLOUR, was the main factor for all the abuse that he had to cop.

No ****** doubt about that.

• 196.nama1: Reply to this comment

@LightZone(LightZone)-193:
    “You should know how back in the day when the K-word was used almost as a term of endearment and today we still have the older folk using the same term without any malice. ”

TOTAL AND UTTER KAK. NO DEBATE/ CONVERSATION ABOUT THIS NEEDED.

Go educate yourself about the use of the word again, please.

• 197.nama1: Reply to this comment

Calling somebody a K…. or H….. as a term of endearment?

Hoe the freakin fu.k can you still believe that s.hit?

• 198.Markel77: Reply to this comment

The first part of his career he was one of the best scrumhalfs in the world, in the second part, the second biggest quota in the springboks history (behind Ralepelle).
    Good luck in Lyon Ricky, but dont forget the french are no racists so you wont play only cause you are black

• 199.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Markel77(Markel77)-198:
    So it will also be true to say that in “the first part of their careers they were amongst the best hookers/8th men in the world, in the second part, the second biggest quota’s in the springboks history”….talking about John Smit and Spies.

….not even mentioning WO….

…..but dont forget the french are no racists so you wont play only cause you are WHITE…..if you ain’t good enough you’re not gonna play….finnish and klaar. :lol:

• 200.Markel77: Reply to this comment

Agree with you, so: Pierre John and Wynand the european coaches are no racists so you wont play in Leicester, Munster and Toulouse only cause you are white.
    Ricky, Chili and Adi the portuguese coaches arent racists so you wont play in Asociacion Lisboa do Rugby only cause you are blacks
    JAJAJAJAJA

Go Sharks vamos tiburoneeeeeeeeees

• 201.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-163:
    “Most of those where in the making pre Div…”

Name those that YOU think were in the making befor Div became coach.

Also, don’t you think that the fact that they were “in the making” means that Div spotted their talent as future Boks even BEFORE they became MADE players?

Isn’t that evidence enough that Div was able to “spot their talent.” as future Bok players? :wink:

@Hondo(Hondo)-181:
    You probably feel that you now lost a “weapon” that you can hit PdV with.

Don’t worry. There are probably another 6-8 POC that you can use as an excuse when the Boks lose a match. Everything is still in your favour even though there will be only three POC’s on the field of play at the most. (2 wings and a prop/hooker).

After more than 20 years of equal opportunities on the rugby field. :lol:

• 202.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Markel77(Markel77)-200:
    That’s why Ricky signed a contract with Lyon for two years. Because they’re not racist. JA, JA, JA?

Chilli is still a youngster and he showed this whole Super series WHY he was preferred above Bissie at age level. He outplayed him every time when they played against each other. There is no doubt about that.

Will anybody offer Spies and WO a contract to play in Europe?

Let’s wait and see. :lol:

• 203.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-201: after 20 years? why does there HAVE to be more players of colour? poc will never be better suited to rugby than the big afrikaner who descends from the tallest nation but has considerably more bulk and a highly mesamorphic body structure. the complete opposite to black/coloured south africans. if numbers are important then why are all asians inferior to afrikaners as rugby players? numbers mean nothing! time is irrelevant. the numbers game is played by racists who want to bypass merit selection. if numbers are so important then why arent there more white sprinters in usa? or white basketball/nfl players in usa? after 20 years south africa has still failed to learn that you cannot expect ethnic groups to produce more players if they do not physically produce as many players suited to the game. if poc in south africa were like the kenyans or cote d’ivoire nations then there would be far more poc in rugby because they produce much bigger muscular and athletic people than black and coloured people in south africa do. its simple fact. genetically the afrikaners charcteristics are perfecly built for rugby! that does not mean you will never get a good black player (look at JPP!!!) but there will not be as many. how many black/coloured Bakkies Bothas have you honestly seen? or os du randts (from sa)? i can not think of any! equal opportunity means equal chance to be selected on merit. it does not mean an open door for undeserving players. in fact AA has made it very easy for undeserving players to get in to the team. i could name lots of players in this kind of scenario.

• 204.Markel77: Reply to this comment

I like your JA JA JA, very spanish.
    Uahhh Lyon what a power, just promoted team.
    Chilli is playing well NOW. ¡¡But he was consistenly picked by PDV when he was the third hooker of the Bulls!!!
    ¿Chilli outplaying Bissy? when? where? why? sorry but cant agree
    The best european teams will fight for Pedro Spies and Wynand and you will see it
    go Sharks

• 205.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-201: @nama1(nama1)-202: Ai tog.

• 206.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-201:
    There is more than catch the eyes here
    If you believe that Januarie ditched a Bok contract, 3Nations pay and a sure trip to the RWC on the Quota ticket on his own accord, it’s your prerogative, I for one don’t buy it
    Januarie made a good FH into a bad one (Butch 2008) and a mediocre FH into a disaster (Morne Styen 2010), you might just heard Grant’s thigh of relief all the way from Namaqualand ;)
    Watching Niel de Kock playing against Leicester and Northhampton lately at the tender age of 33 was an exercise in reality check by revisiting of the reason behind selecting Conradie and Januarie,

• 207.Markel77: Reply to this comment

Yeah, Neil de Kock i remember him playing for the Stormers in the Super 12 of 2004.
    He wasnt the best scrumhalf ever but, well, hes doing a good job in England

• 208.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-195: Mmmm. Let me think. I don’t know, I’ll have to think about that. Think about that deeply.

• 209.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

Our team sucks. Chiliboy is way too black, and Schalk is way too white. Bekker is way too tall, and John is way too……… fris.

• 210.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Markel77(Markel77)-204:
    “Chilli is playing well NOW. ¡¡But he was consistenly picked by PDV when he was the third hooker of the Bulls!!!”

John Smit is 3rd hooker of the Sharks and still Bok captain. You obviously have no problem with that, no?
    Francois Hougaard was 3rd choice scrumhalf at the Bulls last year (playing at wing) but he was 1st choice Bok SH for the EOYT. You did not voice your complains then, did you?

Stoppit, boet. You’re embarrassing yourself with your duplicitousness!!!.

“¿Chilli outplaying Bissy? when? where? why? sorry but cant agree”

Can’t help it if you were not able to see the TWO games between the Bulls and the SHARKS this year. It was unanimous amongst all that follow rugby. Chilly outplayed Bissie on both occasions.

Sorry, boet.

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-205:
    Ai tog wat????

@Hondo(Hondo)-206:
    “…you might just heard Grant’s thigh of relief all the way from Namaqualand”

Don’t tell me that the reason for Grant’s injury was because Ricky was “massaging” his thigh?

Now that would be a good reason. :lol:

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-208:
    A very weak attempt at impersonating Brendan Venter, I must say.

It will work probably wonders at RT. :lol:

• 211.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-210:
    work probably – probably work

• 212.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-202: Chili outplayed Bissie? If that is Bismarck really dude that BS. Dont become like those you dispise please.

Thank-you Ricky for the great service to Bok Rubgy, might not have been the best but he gave 100% every time, which was more than some of your counterparts…now just to see WO, Smit, Spies and a few others take the honourable way out and let those youngsters in.

• 213.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Markel77(Markel77)-204:
    “The best european teams will fight for Pedro Spies and Wynand and you will see it”

Let’s wait and see then. Respect to their agents if they can get them into Europe. :lol:

@Hondo(Hondo)-206:
    Ricky will still get paid until his contract expired at the end of the year, not so?

If you think that PdV will go with FOUR SH’s to the RWC that is your prerogative.

FdP, Ruan Pienaar and Hougie will be in the RWC squad. You know that as well as I do.

Ricky was always going to be the back up.

“Januarie made a good FH into a bad one (Butch 2008) and a mediocre FH into a disaster (Morne Styen 2010),”

So, tell us about Januarie in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009? He also played for the Boks in those years, didn’t he?

• 214.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-212:
    Kevin, did you not watch the games between the Bulls and the Sharks? Chilly outplayed Bissie on that occasions, bru.

In Durban especially. Go watch the tapes if you don’t believe me.

• 215.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-212:
    In fairness, I should have said “this year”

I see your point.

• 216.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheAgent(TheAgent)-209:
    “Our team sucks. Chiliboy is way too black, and Schalk is way too white. Bekker is way too tall, and John is way too……… fris.”

……..and the supporters are:

…. way to racially orientated in their criticism.
    …. fickle.
    ….stupid.
    ….etc.

• 217.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-215: I met 3 laaitjies that played school rugby with Chili and they reckon without doubt that he would be a Bok. They spoke of his geat understanding of the game and his extra time he put in at practice.

I think Chili will be a great Bok but for me props and hookers need to be in their peak strenght range which starts from 24. Thats why I worry too about Coennie.

• 218.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-216: I am still crying over the Baby boks….#### @%***##

• 219.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Ricky Januarie has contributed more to SA rugby than those two overrated white players WO or Pierre Spies ever will.

• 220.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-217:
    Kev, when the okes on here raved about WP Nel two year ago and said that he should go on the EOYT, I said that he will be our man from 2012 and onwards. Let the boy learn his trade.

A prop mature from 25 and older. Did not Vickery reached his peak when he was in his 30′s? Os, MoM, in the WC final at the age of 33/34, was it? Jannie Dup, after 5 years of being in the Bok mix, is only starting to look like an international prop now.

…and that goes for the whole front row.

So, maybe Chilly is only now growing into his position. Now that he gets game time for his franchise. In the past he only sat on the bench for the Boks.

The dual between him and Bissy will be most interesting in the next few years to come. I just hope that the next coach won’t be forced to make him the captain and in so doing “chase” Bissy away. Let’s have two hookers who vie for the same spot on merit.

• 221.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-202:

Oh dear… another ‘poor me I’m Cullid persecution complex’… grow some pal or change your nickname to Shaun…

As for the one out-playing the other in that first Bulls game… neither even faced each other on the paddock other than in the scrums where neither team lost one on their own ball… lineouts were almost even despite three chief Bok jumpers in the Bulls… and Ralepelle had his best game ever… but was still no more than a tackling prop with the most tackles out of the forwards (albeit he still has too many assists to his name without out-right tackle-power)… his lack of speed to the break-down and impact in the tackle-zone will always hinder him from being an all-round top-class hooker… no matter how hard he tries…

Heading into 2011 Strauss is currently the form hooker in the land… and has excelled replacing Smith as Cheetahs captain… it is no coincidence the Tah’s fortunes changed when he returned from injury with immediate effect… Bismark is just behind him… and hopefully Liebenberg remains in the land and there is ample impact depth with Fourie… and then there is Ralepelle… sorted for the next 4 years…

Bulls have not had any top-class hookers this season and it shows…

• 222.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-210: You know
    @nama1(nama1)-210: Weak attempt jou gat man. :-)

• 223.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-216: Yip, I agree. You talk from experience I see. :-)

• 224.TheAgent: Reply to this comment

The oke I want to punch the most is Phil Waugh. Real moermy face, and a coward at that.

• 225.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

“John Smit is 3rd hooker of the Sharks and still Bok captain”

Ah the old ‘distortion of truth blinkered perspective’ so frequent on a site of this ‘calibre’…

Smit is the second choice hooker as well as LH all rolled into one… Burden plays VC rugby… Plum-tree has been extremely lucky in this respect… when Smit actually started in his preferred position for the first time… he scored their first try and they blitzed the Canes… they beat the might of the Tahs pack with him starting at LH and then pipped the the table-topping Blues with him off the bench in the 49th minute for an injured BDP…

So yep the old ‘distortion of truth blinkered’ perspective… ho hum… doesn’t surprise me…

• 226.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Fair play he’s been around for a LONG time now. Always gave it his all and showed plenty of heart over the years. Go well Ricky you did yourself proud!

• 227.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-213:
    “Ricky will still get paid until his contract expired at the end of the year, not so?”
    I am sure he will keep drawing wages ;)
    But the announcement said : “with an immediate effect”
    It’s academic anyway.
    Pienaar and Hougaard would be on the Allarounder category, so let me tell you: unless Januarie pulled out he would have been in the squad
    So what instigated his departure? it’s anybody’s guess but not on his own accord, rest assured
    We shall find out later

• 228.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

THANK YOU JANUARIE

… shows he has some balls after all.

HE gave his all and had some awesome moments, but TBH he also screwed up the side at times, and we can’t afford that.

• 229.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

• 230.Greenfever: Reply to this comment

:cool:

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.