Dream killers
29 Jun 2011
RYAN VREDE writes the Stormers’ selection of Schalk Brits is ethically deplorable.
I’ve lost count of how many times Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has celebrated the depth of talent in the Western Cape. Yet, when injuries, most recently to loose forwards Duane Vermeulen and Siya Kolisi, offered him and other key decision makers an opportunity to invest in that talent, those offerings were exposed as no more than lip service.
That a hooker contracted to a Watford-based club will be selected ahead a local specialist is appalling. What message does this send to young loose forwards in the region? What does it say about the Stormers’ commitment to their mantra – building from within?
I feel especially sorry for gifted SA U20 flanker Nizaam Carr, who was prominent throughout the Baby Boks’ Junior World Championship campaign. Stormers forwards coach Matthew Proudfoot was coy when probed on him not being elevated, offering no conclusive reason therefore. With Vodacom Cup loose forward Wimpie van der Walt (shin splints) and Hilton Lobberts (knee) injured, and talented WP and Stellenbosch flank Yaya Hartzenburg’s form concerning to the coaching staff, Carr was an obvious and, on the evidence of his showings at junior international level, competent option.
The desperation to improve the chances of victory, manifest in Brits’s selection, doesn’t and should never excuse such blatant disregard for the efforts of those who have toiled in pursuit of an opportunity in Super Rugby.
This is not an indictment of Brits’s talent. He is a wonderful player that will add value to the squad, and could well be a match winner. His experience is another boon. I rate him highly, even in the role that he will be deployed – as a back row impact player. But his talent and potential overall contribution is not in question. What is in question is the ethics of the decision makers at the Stormers.
The Sanzar ruling that allows drafts of this ilk must not be spared the criticism it deserves either. It is open to manipulation and directly undermines the promotion and development of young talent at the franchises.
There have been injury-ravaged teams, most notably Australian, that haven’t sought the comfort of a world-class Europe-based recruit (once the European season had ended), instead turning to youngsters and club players to fill voids. In a region vastly superior to most of those in Super Rugby in terms of its playing resources, Brits’s selection is a poor one.
Furthermore, I’d suggest there would be an outcry from those aligned to the Stormers, as well as from the Cape media, had the Crusaders brought in a player of Brits’s calibre – Carl Hayman or Nick Evans by way of example. Vitriol would be spat at the New Zealanders and Sanzar, the latter undoubtedly fielding familiar claims of an anti-South African agenda. Yet the announcement that Brits would be part of the Stormers’ squad has been met with widespread praise. It is a vile double standard.
The Stormers will have only themselves to blame if they lose a clutch of their most promising young players in the coming months. Through Brits’s recruitment they’ve sent a two fingered salute to those who are lower down the pecking order. It is an idiotic course of action for a union who has ambitions of becoming the dominant force in the southern hemisphere.

494 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All
29 Jun 2011, 19:58 pm
@blueboy(blueboy)-429: go piss-off back to danville.
29 Jun 2011, 19:59 pm
FARCE
29 Jun 2011, 20:00 pm
i truly believe some of the expats are far behind in what this country is becoming…..man I tell you they are missing out big time…..i reckon they been gone for a while so dont actually know the country that much anymore…..it does seem the most negative and bitter okes…..and here I not only refer to ET….are the uitlanders….its as if theyy actually hope the racism is still alive and well…..when we as locals are all getting on and truly dont even see race anymore….its just not a factor for most of us locals….
29 Jun 2011, 20:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-450: drinking papsak through a passion gap doesn’t help also.
29 Jun 2011, 20:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-450: windhoek the answer young lady….
just had an awesome fat glass of red….yummy
29 Jun 2011, 20:03 pm
nerves are starting to mount…..
big time.
29 Jun 2011, 20:06 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-454:
Shut up
You another one who needs to feck off to philly.
All you do is talk bile.
29 Jun 2011, 20:08 pm
@grant10(grant10)-453: if you say that enough times you might start believing that tripe you are talking.south africa and especially cape town will always be defined by race.white so-called liberals like you make me sick man!go ahead and enjoy your cosy little white-enclave under the protection of madame zille.
29 Jun 2011, 20:09 pm
You so-called men need to learn some respect for women.
You think nothing of abusing and insulting women at every turn.
You think it’s quite cool huh
29 Jun 2011, 20:11 pm
oh dear.
poor poodlefucker
29 Jun 2011, 20:14 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-457: you need to seriously expand your intellectual horizons or is it impossible due to your d@tch masters ‘dopstelsel’?
29 Jun 2011, 20:14 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-458: my good man….seriously just throw those shackles off….this is a great country….go for it my man….build bridges….come to the firemans next time and mingle with the keolings…..instead of giving us lip here find out a bit more about us…..
we not demons my man…..i siuspect the demons are in your head only….but only you can change….and it seems quite a few prefer to belong in the bitter past….
29 Jun 2011, 20:15 pm
anyway….another glass of red on the menu
goodnite all
29 Jun 2011, 20:18 pm
What dutch master?
What dop stelsel?
29 Jun 2011, 20:20 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-460: howzit you nazi p@ssy?glad to see that you know your place in the liberated south africa and that you looking ahead with hope in your heart.just remember that while you are looking at the future with hope in your heart that i am your superior…. and will always be.
29 Jun 2011, 20:22 pm
My intellectual horizons are fine thank you.
Why am I justifying myself anyway.
29 Jun 2011, 20:23 pm
@grant10(grant10)-462: i don’t socialise with white english speaking liberals as per norm…but thanks in any case for the invite.
29 Jun 2011, 20:30 pm
@grant10(grant10)-445 and 453
What has changed since I was there in Nov.2010 or Jan. before that and the present time? I am in contact with people across many walks of life ,mainly professionals, at least 5 days a week via Skype and/or google phone and more. So why should I be not knowing?
You are in no position to even begin to talk about defining or understanding non-racialism as you actively lived and loved the benefits of racism – Fact or fiction?
The unemployment rate is higher now than even during apartheid – Fact or fiction?
The education system and health system for the masses, meaning the have-nots, are in a more perilous state now than even during the apartheid era -fact or fiction?
Who or what is to blame for this sorry situation if not the SuperWhite economy and/or the SuperBlack politics?
Convince me and the many knowing professionals and more right there in C.T. that this is not neo-racism at function.
If you cannot then be quiet as total presence can still leave many really ignorant.
29 Jun 2011, 20:33 pm
450:
All that cheap spirits being consumed.
29 Jun 2011, 20:38 pm
459:
If they talk rubbish then they earn what they deserve.
Respect is earned and not demanded.
How many women openly flaunt they spirits’ drinking habits with such stupidity?
Silence is sometimes golden.
29 Jun 2011, 20:49 pm
Like if you wear a mini skirt you are asking to get raped.
Right.
STFU
29 Jun 2011, 20:53 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-459: behave like a decent woman and you might get the respect you so crave.you are nothing but a cheap floosy that sullies the decent and respected name of coloured women,some who have gone through hardship to educate and better themselves.have you ever wondered why white pigs don’t respect coloured women ?let me tell you…it’s because of women like you on this blog that are morally corrupt and who cheapens themselves to gain favour of their former colonial masters.
29 Jun 2011, 20:53 pm
@grant10(grant10)-462:
So this is your idea of a ” great country” and good life; neo-racist rugby and drinking at the “firearms”?
You do not counter any notion but insu him directly (demons) and then proceed to invite him for a drink.
What aspect of that attitude is not arrogant?
29 Jun 2011, 20:56 pm
471:
What an astoundingly incongruent analogy?
Wasted enough eating time so will leave the wimps to their lies.
29 Jun 2011, 21:00 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-
How do you see the Newlands game unfolding and who do you think and hope will win?
Are you going to the game?
29 Jun 2011, 21:14 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-472:
The way you speak to other people (especially a woman) indicates a severe personality problem. Either you are serious when you say these things in which case your brain is in a fog of hate. Or you are a faker trying to wind people up and if so, you still have serious personality issues.
I must say, every time I come back to read the comments on this place it seems to hit a new low. As a South African I’m very embarrassed that this site is visible to an international audience
Keo, I wonder if you are proud of the environment you are fostering here?
29 Jun 2011, 22:19 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-465:
poodlenaaier.
what would you know about decent women?
when all you crave is the fruit of the maltese?
29 Jun 2011, 22:34 pm
I see the bitter boys are at it again showing some class
@grant10(grant10)-462: He won’t… he is jealous of the nice shiny layer of enamel on your two front ones. Denture glue is expensive when you sniff it instead of using it the right way. He cannot look his best to impress you, so he will avoid you.
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-467: Who do you socialize with? Remember if they have 4 legs they don’t count.
29 Jun 2011, 22:35 pm
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-478:
woof.
29 Jun 2011, 22:35 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-477:
Are you really as thick as you would want us to believe you are with these persistent comments?
Valkyrie comes from at least way back in 2008 and was probably here before me.
Just look at how different the language and its use is.
29 Jun 2011, 22:38 pm
@ET.(ET.)-480:
stop monkeeying around extraball.
we all know you are far thicker than you would like us to believe.
29 Jun 2011, 22:54 pm
@ET.(ET.)-480:
Do you watch Rugby? Which team do you support? Who is your favorite player?
29 Jun 2011, 22:54 pm
@Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.(gunther)-481:
Ok so why are you not beyond where I am then in this city of such rich medical tradition and its six medical colleges(yes 1city and 6 colls.) ?
29 Jun 2011, 22:57 pm
@ET.(ET.)-483: Do you mop floors for all 6? Because that’s impressive.
29 Jun 2011, 22:59 pm
@girshin(girshin)-482:
Is that really any of your business, yes you with the girlie name?
Have you ever heard of Cliff Morgan or Jeff Butterfield or Di c kie Jeeps?
29 Jun 2011, 23:02 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-484:
Next trivia question before we get to the serious ones about your limbic system not being overridden by higher cerebral centres?
29 Jun 2011, 23:02 pm
@ET.(ET.)-485: I’m trying to make conversation…
My favorite player must be Danie Gerber – pure genius, best 13 without a doubt to play the game imho. Going by the name in your post your a bit of an old-timer, neh?
So, you like a specific team or do you just watch the games cause you appreciate the sport?
29 Jun 2011, 23:06 pm
@girshin(girshin)-487:
Well you are not doing it too successfully then as I just gave you my favourite player and 2 more just in that post.
29 Jun 2011, 23:09 pm
@ET.(ET.)-488: I see…
So your a fan of the British Lions of 1955? First BIL I ever saw were the 1997 crop lead by ol’ Martin Johnson. Been thinking how it would be to have the BIL teams play in say England with say New Zealand touring there for a change. I feel they struggle becuase they never have the home ground advantage – what you think?
Perhaps you watch a lot of Six Nations?
29 Jun 2011, 23:10 pm
@girshin(girshin)-487:
Is that so because you do not know those names ?
Can you not be younger and still know the important history of the game and be informed about it by a father who played fly-half and excelled at it?
Why do you, in fact, want to talk to me specifically when this is the very first time I witness your name?
29 Jun 2011, 23:11 pm
@girshin(girshin)-489:
Ok so you googled that now how about Barry John?
29 Jun 2011, 23:24 pm
@ET.(ET.)-490:
I’m on this blog daily, reading but never contribute much. I’d like us to talk rugby, no malice intended. It just seems that there is a lot of non-rugby talk on this blog these days….
Your dad play club rugby or higher? Mine was just as much of a nutter about the game, though he was just an ok high school player.
Amazing how the game has changed in the last 20 years. Professional sports will do that I guess. There was just so much space for backs to operate back then. Today were moving dangerously close to a league/bashing structure – defenses have just “reduced” the space on the field!
30 Jun 2011, 05:35 am
275: @Super B-Trans289:
It matters not one jot whether you fall back on the supreme excuse (of the white racists) of T in C for your Black Hole question or your vigorous argument in favour of Brits as what really matters is the deep dark hole you dug for your pro-Brits stance as you tried so stupidly to be too smartarsed with the C & P without realising the dynamite in the reading thereof.
Your black arrogance took serious trauma when you read and eventually had to come to grips with that last sentence of the Sanzar explanation and the fact that NO REQUEST was lodged for the limp, desperate Kolisi.
Then to not look too stupid you tried the smartarsed way out again with your too revealing question not realising it was a deadly poison for your credibility.
But all this despicable dishonesty and egg-dancing no longer surprises me even with all the duncehead stor..boy cheerleading you may get.
Have you even considered that Kolisi may not have been mugged. Has a police docket/file been opened on this serious crime of mugging with ‘personal injury’? Why was he mugged and where? At what police precinct is that file to be found ? Why is this whole matter so hush-hush and not open to public scrutiny?
30 Jun 2011, 09:35 am
RYAN VREDE writes the Stormers’ selection of Schalk Brits is ethically deplorable…thats what we say about your phoney cut and paste Fox News journalism.
Because he did not select your chommies??
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All