KeoTV: Stormers were a disgrace
3 Jul 2011
MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE get stuck into the Cape franchise after their shocking performance against the Crusaders.
18 Jun 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Rather a scrap than a sensational effort against a courageous but limited Scotland. The Springbok coaching staff gained more because of the struggle against Scotland and there certainly won’t be complacency against Samoa. South African rugby supporters tend to be reactionary and very different in their reactions every weekend. When New Zealand struggled to beat France in the first Test in Auckland and South Africa were brilliant in patches against Italy many on social networks expressed confidence ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article8 Jun 2013
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand's 23-13 win against France in Auckland. The All Blacks led 17-10 at half time but France dominated field position for most of the match and enjoyed the greater quality in possession. However they couldn't translate the advantage in the set phase and at the breakdown into points. New Zealand defended well in a match of poor quality. France lead early through Wesley Fofana's try and it took Ben Smith's break to start up New Zealand's international season. Smith has been the form New Zealand back in Super Rugby and he looked a class ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article3 Jul 2011
MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE get stuck into the Cape franchise after their shocking performance against the Crusaders.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
Heyneke Meyer's decision to back a host of youngsters in this quadrangular Test series will have long-term benefits for the...Read More
Francois Louw, the man who changed Heyneke Meyer’s mind, has undergone a life-changing experience of his own. Louw admits he's...Read More
John Smit begins his new job as CEO of the Sharks on 1 July. In the June issue of SA...Read More
Israel Folau is set to wear the Wallabies No 14 jersey against the British & Irish Lions in Brisbane on...Read More
The IRB has decided not to scrap the Sevens World Cup and to instead integrate it into the Olympic Games...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand’s 23-13 win against France in Auckland. Read More

462 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
3 Jul 2011, 09:00 am
Crusaders were champions. Man for man a far better team.
3 Jul 2011, 09:05 am
Missing some Stormer fans today. Where is the crowing or have they all choked on their cornflakes.
To actually lose to a team that traveled… no bmt at all.
3 Jul 2011, 09:11 am
FFS you two are carnts. If you two are supporters I’d be happy to take the Capesaders as my fans.
3 Jul 2011, 09:16 am
@oodles(oodles)-3: No not a supporter. Go touch yourself, or I can give you a link to a photo of Bryce Lawrence or SBW if that will help relieve your tension.
3 Jul 2011, 09:17 am
tacticus summed it up best a couple of days ago when blackadder was questioned on the (somewhat) almost over confidence of the crusaders approach.
It’s not the Bulls at loftus, it’s mearly the Stormers at Newlands.
Hardly a daunting task.
3 Jul 2011, 09:18 am
jees you okes can talk alot of k@k?
we lost to a side that was far better on the day.
Pure and simples. It happens.
The Stormers didn’t pitch and the Crusaders applied all the right pressure in all the right places. Still proud of the boys for getting as far as they did though. There’s good things happening in WP and it’s only a matter of time before it translates into trophies. The future mix of youth and experience is going to mean a strong franchise for the next decade at least.
Hard luck Stormers. Everyone apart from these Keo “journo’s” knows you went out their to win. Congrats Saders. YOu guys looked every bit the class outfit you are and I’ll bet my house on you guys taking the trophy this year. Deservedly so.
3 Jul 2011, 09:18 am
hats off to the crusaders, a champion team. stormers were woeful and rassie is probably the one that got too clever with selection & tactics. the simple things were not done well, now rassie teams up with clueless coaches to heap more misery on us Bok fans. it’s very hard to find positives at this point. also very worried about the Kiwi juggernaught, sevens, baby blacks, crusaders..if the kiwis pick up the tri-nations or beat us at home I think that’s the writing on the wall.
3 Jul 2011, 09:19 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-4:
Comment was directed at the Keo and Vrede :blush
Those two need a reality check.
3 Jul 2011, 09:21 am
Ag – all these grootbek Bulls supporters conveniently overlook the fact that their team was watching the play-offs from their couches.
You can talk it up all you like kids. The Stormers were way better than the Bulls this year.
3 Jul 2011, 09:21 am
@oodles(oodles)-9: No worries. They were a little offside, perhaps they took some tik before doing the link.
Anyways, a bit quiet in here after all the crowing this week. 3 attempts at cups 3 chokes. Ouch
3 Jul 2011, 09:22 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-10: I’m not a Bulls supporter, I just think it’s farkin funny.
3 Jul 2011, 09:24 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-12:
Which part? The fact that the Stormers are the best side in SA currently?
Losing to arguably the best team in the competition in a semi is hardly a disgrace.
3 Jul 2011, 09:26 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-13: All of it. Bobby strutting, the Mountain Goats crowing and yet you still have an empty cabinet. Did someone say… cccccccchoooooooookers.
Congratulations to the Crusaders… Awesome all-round rugby… Stuffed us every which way but for christmas turkey…
C’mon guys this KeoTV is great. It’s something new and some of us enjoy it, we will never agree with some of these stuff. It’s great fun….
Have you seen some of these other rugby forums….. fuking dull.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-1: You are so right!! Crusaders destroyed the Stormers in the scrums, put them under pressure in the lineouts etc., etc. Within the first 2½ minutes Stormers kicked possession away twice while on attack: surely this was not going to work against a brilliant counter-attacking team. The lineouts: Elstadt was used twice only – and in the second half for the first time ! Even when the Stormers were defending a lineout, Elstadt was supporting Bekker ! He never contested a ball in the lineout ! How can this be part of your game plan ?
You should have seen before the match during warm-up time, how shocking the lineouts were – without any opposition I might add.
Craig Joubert was poor on the day – but despite that, any good team should be able to survive. It’s not if it was a close game at all. I was and am still bitterly disappointed that a so-called professional team gave such an “amateurish” performance. I’ll keep supporting the Stormers but eish it will be hurting for a long time!
The Boks are going to struggle against NZ at scrum-time!
3 Jul 2011, 09:28 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-7:
there’s not a hell of a lot happening in the cape town at all.
the tight 5 still are not up to scratch. They are never good enough to grind out the big games. A physical backrow of skalk and vermuelen saves them most weeks. And Bekker is the most overrated player, has he ever turned in a big game…in a big game. The lineout was a laugh yesterday as well. The original rugby flat track bully.
Grant will not win the stormers a super title.Was I the only one who sees how deep he sits in the pocket….and then when you have a pop gun boot.
And then there is the mental apptitude……
there’s some good players in the cape but unless something changes, i doubt anyone will be worried about the stormers.
3 Jul 2011, 09:28 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-14:
Whatever dude. You’re entitled to be excited when your team gets to the semis.
You’re just a sad little loser when you get up the next morning to try and belittle a the guys who support a team that made it further than yours.
That’s just pathetic.
3 Jul 2011, 09:29 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-16: It seems that whichever team they write up or talk up, lose on the day!
3 Jul 2011, 09:29 am
What a couple of unrealistic, bitter idiots.
That Crusaders will likely supply 9 of the run-on 1st 15 All Black team this year.
I don’t mean in the squad, but the actual starting 15.
- O. Franks, Crockett, Thorn, S Whitelock, McCaw, Read, Carter, SBW, Guildford.
Other will be in the reserves or the wider squad: B Franks, Fruean, Ellis.
3 Jul 2011, 09:31 am
if you keep doing whay you’ve always done, you’ll keep getting the results you’ve always got…
or as einstein says… you can’t fix a problem by using the same thinking that created the problem in the first place…
i have always supported rassie and alister… however, this is our third finals game and umpteenth ‘big’ game in which we have imploded…
the lesson is not being learnt so we need to see some changes in the management and coaching at Newlands… Yes, we’ve topped the SA table… but that counts for zilch if we can’t go on and win it…
there is obviously something wrong with the setup… and even more wrong is the fact that no one in the setup can see or acknowledge what is wrong…
we need to see palpable, demonstrable changes otherwise WP/Stormers rugby is going to see another 10 years of disappointment…
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-7:
oh, and the grootbek bulls……have demolished the crusaders in 3 home semifinals.
Stormers were woeful indeed! Too much for words! Game was won in the first half and they just made maintained in the second half!
3 Jul 2011, 09:34 am
that crusaders frontrow is a worry for the boks though
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-17: Crusaders have the ability to turn opposition into amateur hour. Skilled outfit.
Crusader plan was short and sweet, kick it to the wee back two (not Habana) or over the fatties heads and rumble. Whatever the Stormers had left in the tank was then ground into the turf at scrum time. Stormers were never going to go the distance and the Crusaders had no intention of expending energy. Long flights can be tiresome, so why bugger about running with the ball.
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-18:
Agreed on the tight 5. Although they stood up more this year than previous, we are still looking for that front row grunt. On the plus side, we have youngsters like Kitshoff coming through and man does he look promising.
Second row wise, we’ve got the likes of eben etsebeth on the rise and then there’s names like kolisi, carr etc coming through the ranks as well. Add the experience of Bekker, Vermeulen etc to the mix and things hardly look too bad.
Agreed that Bekker was average over the last 3 weeks. One wonders just how much that Bulls game was a blow to his confidence. But then he has started almost every game.
Out back, Schreuder looks promising, as do cronje and coleman at 10. Both young and both have tasted the big time. Then we’ve got De Jongh and Saie who are in my opinion the future bok centre partneship.
Aplon will be around a few more years. Engelbrecht and poolman are good looking wings. Hopefully we can lure someone like Joe Pietersen back to the cape as well.
So overall, it looks promising assuming we can hold onto these guys of course. We all know the Bulls and Sharks like to pull out those chequebooks
3 Jul 2011, 09:35 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-19: Go call your mother, I am sure she will agree with you. I’ll send you a picture of the Currie Cup if you want. bwah ha ha ha.
You lot, just too easy. Bobby, Mathew Pearce and co, a bunch of tossers. bwah ha ha ha ha ha ha
3 Jul 2011, 09:36 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-23:
Did they do that this year?
Or did they take a big fat 27-duck loss?
Crowing about what your team did last year is exactly the same as crowing about what they did 30 years ago.
Pointless.
3 Jul 2011, 09:37 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-25:
You are going to need a powerpusher of a lock to partner matfield, in this regard bakkies will in all likelyhood keep his spot or roussow will need to start at 4 for the boks. that all shark frontrow for the boks has me really worried now.
werner kruger anyone?
3 Jul 2011, 09:37 am
The travel fatigue excuse had his last days yesterday….. you will be missed.
3 Jul 2011, 09:38 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-28:
Ja good one.
A mother insult.
Wow, you Sharks okes are original hey? What next? A g-a-y joke? Or maybe something about the mountain?
The Stormers DESTROYED the Sharks this year
3 Jul 2011, 09:39 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-29: I thought that is what Capetonians do? I have seen many many posts on here about how you have won 30 CCs and the Sharks have only won a handful. That’s crowing about past glories. I guess it’s something to do when your cabinet is so empty the cleaners don’t even polish it any more.
Stormers supporters have only themselves to blame for this. All talk, no action.
3 Jul 2011, 09:40 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-29:
okay then…..but just 3 weeks ago we visited newlands.
I’m not sure why you are pissed at me, i was ambivilent withregards to the stormers yesterday….but am completely shocked at how poor they were in such an important game. no heart, no guts…nada. there’s no point even discussing technical deficiencies when the entire team is lazy arsed and pap.
3 Jul 2011, 09:40 am
Congrats Saders! Star qualities and that is what winning teams are made of. For my team, the least said the better…
Unfortunately, or should I say fortunately I didn’t get to watch the match as I had to attend a benefit dinner for a mate (very young) who developed cancer. At least the evening was a great success and lots of money collected to assist with his treatment. Our thought are with you buddy – you are strong and we all know you can beat it…
3 Jul 2011, 09:41 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-32: I would never insult your mother, i just suggested she would be sympathetic
Don’t be sensitive, you will win again, some day.
3 Jul 2011, 09:41 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-27: It’s a pity CJ was not available. Although his performances this year were disappointing, the scrums might have been a bit better with him there. JC Kritzinger is still injured and I am not sure when he’ll be available again. Those guys can do the job at Currie Cup level but we need some solid tight five guys. Etzebeth’s time will come but he is still 20 years old. Kitshoff as well as Frans Malherbe should be used more often during the Currie Cup. I made some comments about the lineouts above. Bekker is still Matfield’s junior and needs to have a long chat with the “Master” re tactics etc
3 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-31:
well, no, not really……the travel to brisbane is when the crusaders will feel it.
eddie jones wrote a great article last week on rugby 15 or something.
worth a read
3 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-33:
Ja, I hate those guys almost as much as I hate people who make stupid generalizations.
And then can’t wait to jump out of bed, log onto keo and start knocking the top off one as they take a dig a the supporters of a side who was superior to their own in this years comp.
What a man.
3 Jul 2011, 09:43 am
People are talking too much K@K on this blog including some bloggers, I can’t say the stormers didn’t look bad on the night but would like to see some stats of win ratio % after a bye week, but I suppose the traveling of the crusaders canceled that out. I was very broken last week when the sharks didn’t pull through and similarly last night was just as bad if not worse since the stormers were looking really looking good all season. The point I’m trying to make is that we as SA supporters lost last night and for bulls and sharks and whatever supporters to gloat in the fact that they lost is just plain disgraceful and I am not a stormer supporter myself in case you were wondering.
3 Jul 2011, 09:45 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-30: Maybe Werner Kruger is the go to man – I’m very concerned about Jannie Dup”s quality or lack thereof. I can’t think of any other tighthead. Have you seen any of Mujati’s matches this year ? Was he really that great ? If so maybe PdV will have to consider him
3 Jul 2011, 09:45 am
A certain blogger here likes to refer to the national captain as Turbo Reverse… From now on I think that term should only be used for the Stormers scrum.
3 Jul 2011, 09:47 am
Firstly: Have there ever been worse sports predictors than the Keo gang? Talk about Kiss of Death. My goodness.
Secondly: Why was yesterday’s performance by the Stormers so unsurprising to the rest of us? Par for the course for these chaps, I’m afraid.
The stats show that there have almost never been away wins in Super rugby semifinal history. Two of the incredibly few times it HAS happened, however, were when the away team happened to be playing the Stormers at Newlands. Not exactly a stat to be proud of fellows.
These guys should simply never be mentioned in the same sentence as the words “Big Match Temperament”.
Thirdly, was I right or was I right when I described in advance Allistair’s predictable “Deer in Headlights” response when Plan A wasn’t working?
I mentioned that he would send on Brits, Deon Fourie etc. in the last 20 minutes, desperately looking for any Plan with an alphabetic designation next to it to replace plan A.
Well, I admit now, I got it slightly wrong. It didn’t happen after 60 minutes, it happened after about 40 minutes.
And when it did, he sent everyone including the red headed stepchild on, and by then you might as well have projected the words “Totally flustered” onto the Newlands pitch with big Neon disco lights, to describe Allistair’s state of mind. Heck, I was expecting Rassie himself to start pulling his boots on in the end.
And finally, as I said to Keo during the week, while I fully agree with the travel factor issue, it is a pity that the Stormers will call that very legitimate complaint into question when they allow the Crusaders to roll them over like kittens at Newlands. That’s exactly what happened, and it is the predictability of it that makes it so pitiful.
Now let me go and watch this Keotubby TV video clip and hear what the excuses are.
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-34:
Not pissed at you. I agree, they simply didn’t turn up. And they were MAULED in the tight phases.
But I stand by my view that the Cape is looking good for the future. It’s not all doom and gloom, although we do need to crack that first trophy. I have a feeling it could do for the Stormers what it did for the Bulls. For years, the Bulls just believed they would win in the big games. We seem to get nervy and make the most basic mistakes.
And I suppose the longer it goes on, the harder it becomes. Which is why a healthy injection of some youth may be a good thing. Our experienced players don’t actually have much experience amongst them at winning at the highest levels. Not like the Bulls of a few years ago anyway
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-39: Indeed, manly men. You get what you give sunshine, and if it doesn’t apply to you then don’t listen.
Stormers need to man up in the big games and it must hurt to lose another one, but then when the fans and the likes of Bobby strut like champions it is hard not to have a chuckle when it comes apart like a house of cards.
I don’t remember many Mountain Goats being particularly nice to the Sharks when they took them out. Karma
Guys like Bekker and Flouw are the typical SA players (from all regions), big on the front foot and pooosies when it’s against them (Sharks have their fair share of them too don’t worry).
Hard luck yesterday but I think we have a better chance of a RWC with decent referees than the Abs under all their pressure.
3 Jul 2011, 09:48 am
@Lumberpunch(Lumberpunch)-40: Thanx for that. I am a Stormers supporter and proud of it and have not dissed any SA side on this blog. Let’s try and be objective and leave the personal attacks ! I don’t think it is very mature and useful
3 Jul 2011, 09:49 am
SA rugby not looking good!!! I’m really worried for the world cup…
3 Jul 2011, 09:49 am
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-37:
The scrums were a mess as were the lineouts.
And everybody knows that there’s very little chance at winning a game when your first phase is royally f***ed
3 Jul 2011, 09:50 am
@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-44: The biggest problem you guys face is an almost bankrupt Union, top heavy with management who are strangling the Province. When your President tells your CEO to sign a cheque for Ricky Januarie without the CEO having a choice you know something is very very wrong.
Varsity looking stronger than ever though.
3 Jul 2011, 09:50 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-6: Sum up the fact that the Stormers and Sharks smashed the Bulls at fortress Loftus and there’s not lots of summing up to do!
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All