KeoTV: Stormers were a disgrace

MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE get stuck into the Cape franchise after their shocking performance against the Crusaders.

462 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All

• 401.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-391:

hahaha baie snaakse ‘return of service’ haha

• 402.HHS: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-371: Reyneke is a fuking clown. Kevin can’t do anything about him. The main players are the stake holders and if they cannot get rid of that spietkop then you know he must be friends with them. Also Kevin said he will not go public with some of his comments because it’s the wrong media. Newsflash hotshot… you have been exposed in public and you have to hit back….If everything was false go public and make Gumede look silly, but they can’t because Robert is speaking the truth. Why are Lions players contracts also a joke….. fuking spietkop.

• 403.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-391:
    Hahahaha.

As dit nie so tragies was nie sou dit vokken snaaks gewees het.

Ondersteuning van ‘n span is ‘n wetenskap, seg jy!!!

Ai, ai, ai.

• 404.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-400:

Nuts? I find it hard to believe that the man is an adult, never mind an adult who managed to pass an interview for a job.

Of course the amount of time he spends on here when he should be working, apparently trying to fill the voids in his pointless life, proves his employers were wrong to hire him in the first place.

• 405.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@BullDog15(BullDog15)-151: Keegan Daniel

• 406.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-405:

What about him? He isn’t in the prelim squad.

• 407.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-185: very good post. !!!

• 408.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-406: Sorry That was an answer to a question from Bulldog.Keegan is a sort of a ROB LOUW player.Works bloody hard and has very good speed.devastating defender. Somehow however , NOT in the squad.

• 409.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

check this dubious piece of scum failed miserable f’ng Excruciating Twatass commie sitting up some Phillyarsed whitearsed ‘land of the free’ capitalists arse in Philly dilly land. Why the fck this piece of snot nosed colonialist coollycreeping arsecreep cn’t is not in China up Mao’s arse, why this dubious fckng scumfaced garbage is sitting pretty in philly Dilly land up his colonialist white masters arse, is puzzling disproportionate to his fuckedup commiearsed roots. the piece of garbage two faced duplicitous hypocrite phillyarsed scum.

• 410.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-287: Very good stats. What is your source?

• 411.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-409: ET lives in the USA? Yet likes China.

Ha ha ha ha I never knew that. Even more delusional

• 412.Puma: Reply to this comment

My feeling the Reds will win next week. Think the travel will catch up with Saders this time going east. Probably the reason the Saders said had the Blues won they would have held the final in CT. Sure they said they love the city and the support of the kiwi teams in CT, but think they would not wanted to travel again this week. The reason they would have wanted the final in Cape Town had the Blues won.

Reds by 3 or 5.

If Reds do win it will be remarkable for them as well. From getting a massive hiding against the Sharks in 2007 to a total and complete slaughtering against the Bulls that year 92/3. From that to finish top of the log in 2011. Is quite remarkable for sure. So if they win it will also be a huge success for Reds.

If Sader win they too have battled the travel and against all odds to get the cup once again. But feel the Reds could win this week. They a much better team than lot give them credit for here.

Anyhow good luck to both teams.

• 413.cab: Reply to this comment

NZINCHINA
    your comment of firing keo out of a cannon deserves special mention – pity you can’t read afr old cappie a bit further down also gave a cracker

• 414.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-411:

he’s a fckng failed commie, a failed pseudo doctor, a failed f’ng halfarsed halfbreed teacher / come lecturer, and a failed fckng human being, and the cn’tarsed schmuck wanna come lecture his f’ng failed credentials here to all and sundry on a rugby blog to confirm what a f’ng failed miserable piece of garbage scum colony hopping capitalst arsecreeping vermin scum he actually is.

He’s not even here in this country where it counts calling the shots, nor is he up Mao’s arse sucking commie arse for breakfast, he’s sucking the ultimate ‘land of the free’ capitalists arses in Philly Dilly land, same way as he sucks HG’s failed Rhodesian colonialists arse here on cyberspace, thats the kind of two faced commie arsecreeping little coolycreep runt cn’t the Excruciating Twatass actually is.

• 415.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-414: You have a way with words skop, you really do.

• 416.Puma: Reply to this comment

Next year this tourney will be tougher. Really don’t agree with this new format at all.

We stop the S15 for the winter tests from in coming NH teams and the Tri-Nations. So teams that could be on top before the disruption of the tests could find themselves with injuries to players after, or loss of their rhythm after getting back after the tests.

Supporters are gonna start to lose interest in this new format. Should bring back the old format that worked well.

Play every team once and don’t stop the tourney half way through for tests. Just daft. Don’t care what they do in their comp up in the nh. Here in the sh I prefer to see the S15 completed before we start playing tests.

• 417.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-416: I do agree with you. It’s a weird competition now and will be even weirder.

CCup has been fascinating these past couple of years and I don’t want to lose that.

• 418.Puma: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-417: I love the currie cup. But feel we will never see it with our top players again. The S15 is just far to long.

What a pity we sold our great domestic tourney down the drain to accommodate Oz cause they never had one. Huge pity.

• 419.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Morning Skoppie and Puma
    Skoppie you very disappointed like me?

• 420.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-412:
    So Puma, if….a big IF…. the ‘Sader win the competition on Saturday despite the amount of travelling they did, can we put the travel excuse to pasture in the future when our teams lose over there? :smile:

• 421.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-419: Howzit Coach.

Sorry about your Stormers. Was hoping they would win but not to be.

• 422.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-420:
    I think travel factor is a factor for normal teams
    Saders are just dam good and have a huge motivational factor thats seems to offset the jet lag problem

• 423.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-420: Yes will do :wink:

So only Cheetahs beat the Saders from our conference. Though think Carter and SBW was out for that game.

• 424.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-421:
    Hey there yes totally outplayed, did not really show up
    I kept say all week remember the DC factor
    Seems to get his haul of points in all big games
    Also this is maybe most of ABs and our pack has maybe one or 2 boks

• 425.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-338:
    (braai is over)
    You missed the plot Nama
    Bekker, Burger, Koster and Elstrad were scattered all over each time Carter got the ball, there was a need to cover the back three at all cost, that’s why the lighter weight Saders did maul them up front at the rucks
    In the 4th quarter Brits was the only Stormer to make any meaningful breaks, one nearly succeeded, he broke the line 3 times but with no support behind
    Why wasn’t Sadie brought on?
    Must be that Tito @ Avril were monitoring their stop watches?

• 426.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@optiplay(optiplay)-410:

ruggastats.co.za

The Keo writers like to use them.

• 427.crowbar: Reply to this comment

So the Stormers choked big time, kind of traditional hoes and poep, that does not really come as a shock, what must be more worrying is the R factor, as long as Rassie is there, they will not win…..

• 428.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Extraball gone?

Good

• 429.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-425:
    So what went wrong in the scrums?

I suppose they were not scattered around then to protect the back three. :wink:

• 430.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-424: Unfortunately a full strength Sader side out played all our big 3 sides. Bulls got zip against them. Sharks first game against them had we got all our kicks and the ref saw two forward passes, who knows we may had a draw there or a win. But last week we were also totally outplayed by Saders.

Talking of the travel factor. Sharks were crazy to leave late. Also with all the delays with the ash cloud we only arrived there I think last Friday. That is just way to late to be ready. Anyhow we were outplayed too.

Next week if Bryce can ref a decent game think Reds have a good chance of winning. If Saders win then I feel this win will have been their greatest ever.

• 431.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers all out of here now.

Catch up tomorrow.

• 432.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

stormlers
    forwards
    with bekker
    most frightened
    of them
    all
    is shiut scared
    of rucking
    brok
    is a
    broke back
    softy special
    bekker
    can’t fill
    matfield’s
    old boots
    come
    line out
    time

• 433.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-429:
    We all saw it yesterday, but it was the first time this season to happened!
    Tiaan Strauss provided a part explanantion in advance: Vermulen!
    Also, the need to cover for aplon, Jantjese and Habana ran them ragged, lost their legs which was part of the Crusaders’ game plan
    Same as in the 2010 TriNations: The all Blacks analysts found the key to unlock the Boks forwards
    The Stormers though had possession advantage overall, something like 55%-45% so they were not short of opportunities.
    Just wait for the TriNations unless they use Pienaar at 9 who is not in a hurry to kick away possesion but rather controls it behind the big Boks forwards

• 434.ET.: Reply to this comment

Did the Brig’s expression of a salutation of his mornung glory by the crack of dawn end in disappointment hence this need for cheap attention earkier.?

• 435.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-434:

should read “earlier”

• 436.ET.: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-393:

How many years did you live in China, note not all the chinatown’s all over the world, to be so disappointed and one-sided?

Which country does not kill its own citizens? S.A., Britain, U.S.A.?

• 437.whatever: Reply to this comment

The Stormers were hondkuk! If they had a scrum, they may have had a chance.

Jeez, thats the worse turbo reverse I have seen in a long while, JS would have been proud :)

Conrad – predictable…..run 5 metres and pop up a kick. He knows nothing else and everyone knows he will do it, eish

Habbs – tried hard all day, I would still play him in the Boks

Bekker – Boet, and you reckon you better than Matfield? I think not, you need to win your lineouts. The money ball? yeah right

Also, you sulk toooo much, grow up

Koster the real deal? Not. Missed Vermuelen big time

And the new so-called hard man at no 4 needs to learn that you can bash it up all day long but if you can’t hold onto the pill you look like a baby

Nuf said……………… well done Saders!!

• 438.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Fern(Fern)-180:

……………………~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

(a tsunami of my tears of laughter)

• 439.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-226:

…still….

sssssssssssmoked

both of them

like suckling porkers

• 440.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-248:

you woz on fire, bruv.

• 441.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-302:

Haskell is a lightweight compared to a Jamie Knee’slip, who would thrive in a S15 competition. This Courtney Lawes is some player for the future, could have a great RWC, but certainly a player to base a pack around at the next one.

I think we could find a spot for Knee’slip at the Mighty Highlanders tho, he’d be welcomed by the scarfies.

• 442.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

The Stormers were scared of losing, they did not play an attacking game and simply gave possesion away. What good is a kick and chase without the chase???

The Saders were light years ahead and made of the biggest rugby playing provinces in the world look stoopid. If the Stormers want to win this they need new coaches or a plan B would be a good idea.

Honestly if JDV and JF and Habadonna are the best in their positions, i think not, then we have serious problems in Bok rugby. They were hond kak.

THE TRAVEL ARGUEMENT IS DEAD!!!!! NO MORE EXCUSES…

• 443.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-361:

he is a true Legend, a worth Sporting ‘role model’. Always has been humble and genuine praise of his rivals.

Good for tennis that it now has the Djoker joining the Elite Top Table.

• 444.Tjokker: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Crusaders and the Reds. At the end the two best teams are in the final. Who will win it? Don’t really care. The Crusaders know how to win, but the travel can be too much.

For a senior player like Jean de Villiers to say “we did not pitch today” – in a semi-final game? That is a huge load of bullshit. I prefer Juan de Jongh because he actually does something on the field and does not play on his reputation.

• 445.eddie: Reply to this comment

Stormers’ humiliation at home bodes ill for Springboks
    By Peter Bills
    5:30 AM Monday Jul 4, 2011

A rugby lesson was conducted in Cape Town yesterday.

Just weeks before the World Cup begins, South Africa’s last participants in the Super rugby season were not so much beaten as humiliated.

Some will see the 29-10 Crusaders victory as just another triumph for the homeless Canterbury side. They may even regard it as evidence the New Zealand side will seal the deal against the Reds in Brisbane this Saturday and lift the Super 15 trophy without having played a single game at home this season.

But if you study the wider picture, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Dan Carter and their pals could not have achieved a higher prize than utterly humiliating South Africa’s last representatives in the competition in their own back yard.

With the World Cup in mind, this was a performance and a result of seismic proportions.

The Stormers have looked the part for much of the season. But at the ultimate barrier, they fell in a heap. It was no wonder that the watching Springboks coach Peter de Villiers seemed unable to look any more at one stage.

This match and its outcome could have horrible portents for the South African national squad as they seek to defend their Webb Ellis trophy in New Zealand.

To reach the last four of the Super 15, you would expect that all sides would be able to attain a high level of competence in the basics of the game. Not so, it seems.

The Stormers slunk into the last four with deficiencies in their game that were frankly alarming, indeed cataclysmic.

The Stormers had no scrum, they were inferior at the breakdown and their line-out was an issue chiefly of throw and hope. But it was a whole lot worse than that. They could not even do the basics properly. They threw passes into touch, missed penalty kicks into touch, played 20m behind the gain line, ran sideways and re-cycled with the speed of snails.

You might think, what has all this got to do with the Springboks and the World Cup? The answer is, too many Springbok players throughout this season have looked heavy legged, slow and too often ponderous in their play. Some have managed to raise their game at times. But as someone once memorably said, you might fool some of the people some of the time but you will never fool all of the people all of the time.

What the Crusaders did, by dint of their technical accuracy, their highly robust play, their streetwise cunning and their radical penetration and sheer enthusiasm for the task, was reveal the soft underbelly of South African rugby.

Players lined up to play key roles in Peter de Villiers’ South African World Cup squad – the likes of Bakkies Botha, John Smit, Butch James, Bryan Habana, Jean de Villiers and plenty of others – have started to look beyond their sell-by dates this season. Sunday Yesterday at Newlands, in the wet Cape, reminded us cruelly of this fact.

Jaque Fourie was released for the line but couldn’t get there, cut down by Zac Guildford’s speed in the covering tackle.

Jean de Villiers made no impact whatever in midfield before being shunted on to the anonymity of the wing. The lamp-post that is Andries Bekker struggled to assert his authority over honest, industrious performers such as Sam Whitelock. And Schalk Burger looked no more than a destructive element offering little creativity or guile before a broken thumb ended his game at halftime.

Yet these were, and are said to be, key men for the South Africans. But the chasm between these sides ought to frighten Springbok supporters ahead of the Cup.

The Crusaders were in a league of their own. The fact that they had travelled halfway across the world to play, was exposed as a myth.

Underpinning their complete control and supremacy was a clever cunning that was far too much, both for their opponents and the referee. At times, South African official Craig Joubert looked like a boy in a man’s world, totally out of his depth, as the Crusaders got men in front of the kicker at the restart, bodies over the top at the breakdown to slow down the Stormers ball, and blockers to prevent the Stormers’ chasers reaching kick-aheads.

The Stormers were shown to be naive, gullible, under strength and woefully short of even half the quality demonstrated by their opponents. When Jean de Villiers lamely knocked-on a supposedly quick tap penalty with five minutes left and the match long since decided, it was the perfect comment on the home team’s dire display.

Whether the Crusaders can go on to lift the trophy in Brisbane this Saturday remains to be seen. I believe they will.

But whatever the outcome of that match, the damage has already been done to South Africa’s bid to retain their Rugby World Cup crown. For, come semifinal day if South Africa confronts New Zealand, which of the Springbok players will not have in the back of their minds the utter humiliation inflicted this weekend on their supposedly best Super 15 team?

The psychological scars inflicted by the Crusaders in the Cape this weekend might just prove to be the most valuable act of all the rugby played by New Zealanders in 2011, whatever the outcome of Saturday’s final.

• 446.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

A rugby lesson was conducted in Cape Town yesterday.

Just weeks before the World Cup begins, South Africa’s last participants in the Super rugby season were not so much beaten as humiliated.

Some will see the 29-10 Crusaders victory as just another triumph for the homeless Canterbury side. They may even regard it as evidence the New Zealand side will seal the deal against the Reds in Brisbane this Saturday and lift the Super 15 trophy without having played a single game at home this season.

But if you study the wider picture, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Dan Carter and their pals could not have achieved a higher prize than utterly humiliating South Africa’s last representatives in the competition in their own back yard.

With the World Cup in mind, this was a performance and a result of seismic proportions.

The Stormers have looked the part for much of the season. But at the ultimate barrier, they fell in a heap. It was no wonder that the watching Springboks coach Peter de Villiers seemed unable to look any more at one stage.

This match and its outcome could have horrible portents for the South African national squad as they seek to defend their Webb Ellis trophy in New Zealand.

To reach the last four of the Super 15, you would expect that all sides would be able to attain a high level of competence in the basics of the game. Not so, it seems.

The Stormers slunk into the last four with deficiencies in their game that were frankly alarming, indeed cataclysmic.

The Stormers had no scrum, they were inferior at the breakdown and their line-out was an issue chiefly of throw and hope. But it was a whole lot worse than that. They could not even do the basics properly. They threw passes into touch, missed penalty kicks into touch, played 20m behind the gain line, ran sideways and re-cycled with the speed of snails.

You might think, what has all this got to do with the Springboks and the World Cup? The answer is, too many Springbok players throughout this season have looked heavy legged, slow and too often ponderous in their play. Some have managed to raise their game at times. But as someone once memorably said, you might fool some of the people some of the time but you will never fool all of the people all of the time.

What the Crusaders did, by dint of their technical accuracy, their highly robust play, their streetwise cunning and their radical penetration and sheer enthusiasm for the task, was reveal the soft underbelly of South African rugby.

(Peter Bills, rugby writer for several UK papers, as reported in NZ Herald 4.7.11)

• 447.whatever: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-446:

Yeah, and for those that don’t know, Peter Bills is in love with the AB’s, NZ et al always has been. He’s as one eyed as his mate Jones, except he closes the other eye.

Lets talk in November!

• 448.Waster: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-447: You always an angry guy? I thought north shore was a nice place

• 449.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@eddie(eddievxx)-445: And a lot of the senior players in the NZ team will have in the back of their minds that they choke. The previous three semi finals for the Crusaders proves that point. Depleted Stormers side was never going to be a contest for a full and FIT Crusader’s side.
    On the other hand:Write us off!. You did just that in 2007.Sa players far more evenly distributed amongst the provinces.
    Having said this ,I must admit it was a pleasure to watch the two winning teams yesterday. Undoubtedly the two best teams in the competition this year in the finals>(As was the case last year).

• 450.schnoggs: Reply to this comment

Alot of meaningless posts but back to the rugby. I think its dissapointing that the stormers didnt show much heart but they were never going to beat a side which is arguably stronger than the all blacks. The only All Blacks who I would take over current Crusaders players is Mils at 15, Gear instead of Maitland (although you are not losing much either way) and Kaino / Thomson at 6. The centre combination of SBW and Fruean is certainly stronger than the current AB centre pairing which is Nonu and Smith and the Crusaders front row should be the AB front row. Unreal.
    So how could you realistically expect a Stormers team who only has 4 starting Springboks (Habs, Fourie, JDV, Burger) to compete with a almost full strength international team. Coming from a realistic Stormers fan, I do feel their was alot of blind patriotic faith coming from the Keo writers misleading the public into thinking the Stormers somehow should start as favourites.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.