KeoTV: PdV banks on Butch
8 Jul 2011
RYAN VREDE praises Peter de Villiers for making Butch James his first-choice flyhalf.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article18 May 2013
The Bulls scored a late try to secure a bonus point victory over the Highlanders at Loftus. The Bulls practically had the match wrapped at half time, leading 23 - 6 at the break before winning 35 - 18. Morne Steyn kicked 15 points in a match that was dominated by the physical men from Pretoria. The Highlander were full of running but lacked the basic handling skills to do anything with their possession. The first try of the match was scored in the opening two minutes, JJ Engelbrecht rounding off a well worked move. The second try was a bit more dubious. The Bulls turned over deep in their ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article8 Jul 2011
RYAN VREDE praises Peter de Villiers for making Butch James his first-choice flyhalf.
Simon has written 2608 articles.
31 Jan 2013
29 Jan 2013
The Bulls scored a late try to secure a bonus point victory over the Highlanders at Loftus. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

249 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
8 Jul 2011, 11:56 am
Butch ( experienced, good all round 10, good ball distribution, plays flat on the advantage line, creates space, kicks well out of hand and a more than capable goal kicker, defensively sound, must be first choice.)
Steyn ( Extremely accurate goal kicker, plays from too deep, and kills the space with his one dimensional style, Kicking out of hand, not the greatest, defense is a concern, must be on the bench, as he can a close game with his kicking).
Lambie ( Inexperienced, most talented and promising, great attacking ability, good tactical kicking game, solid in defense, goal kicking needs work. Definitely not world cup ready in the big games. Give him experience in the Tri-Nations. Definitely the future of the No. 10 jumper) All in all we need Butch at 10! IMO
8 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-197:
fair enough, i will concede the point. ruan did have a lot of baggage going into the position. just hope its not a case of ‘love meets reality and it ain’t pretty’ when he does get his opportunity.
8 Jul 2011, 12:02 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-202:
by that i mean little lambie
8 Jul 2011, 12:03 pm
I can sense the Boks playing Morne Steyn at 15 come the semi finals.
You heard it here first.
8 Jul 2011, 12:06 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-199: yip….got massive stage fright….
but bottom line is he was always , at best, a reluctant 10…..
8 Jul 2011, 12:09 pm
@willievz(willievz)-204: Hi Willie
Heaven forbid!
I am still trying to get to grips with the Schalk at 8 move….
!!!!!!!!
8 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
Got to say this 2nd string team for the Tri nations is actually looking like a sharper bet than the 1st team bar a few players.
1 Dean Greyling – damn excellent choice – that boy has got grunt deluxe and with Coenie on the bench thats a pretty dynamite loosehead combo.
2 Ok Smit isnt the best bet but at least he is playing in his best position Chilliboy – time to haal uit en wys bud. I want to see why youre preffered above Adriaan Strauss.
3 Werner Kruger – is Jannie dup relaly better than Werner? Good choice and maybe just shows up Jannie dup a bit.
4 Flip – no problems there
5 Now why you would pick Johann Muller above an excellent lock with major drive like Anton van Zyl the f knows but there you have it – dont think Johann will let us down but dont expect any jaw dropping play from him either. Hargreaves on the bench agg ja – not much to say about him either
6 Brussouw – dang – i´m hoping this guy doesnt get injured again and start hitting some nice form – with Burger out at present its time for him to stake his claim to that 6 jersey again
7 Danie – no problems here as long as he gets game time I´m happy – I´m keen for Danie to get the 4 spot ahead of Bakkies. he´s a more dynamic player and strong as f.
8 Spies – well we know the score here – lets hope he gets some much needed form.
9 Ruaan Pienaar – I would still have preferred to see Sarel in the squad and having Charl on the bench ahead of him irks me even more – but doubt wether Ruaan will let the team down. Not my favourite at 9, but he has x factor at times.
10 M Steyn – I think Morne has improved a lot in the last weeks of the Super tournament and am eager to see how he goes going into the WC.
11 Basson – hell yeah – this guy is dangerous on high balls and finishing – lets see if he can keep Habs on the bench . Very dynamic
12 Wynand – again what can you say? Would farrrrrrrr prefer Lambie at 12 and Wynand on the bench
13 Juan de Jongh – another dynamic player and looking forward to his involvement – I think jacques Fourie and Jean need a frikkin wake up call and hopefully Juan gives them one
14 Lwazi – Jp Pietersen would have been nice but good for Lwazi to get some more game time in the Bok squad ahead of the WC – Lwazi is nice and strong and also a great finisher so I like the look of him in the backline
15 Aplon – Aplon can seriously punish you on the counter attack – i´m not sure of his ability on the cross kicks and high balls but he is dynamic and makes it even more dangerous for the opposition to kick back at us. With Aplon, Basson, M Steyn and Juan de Jongh back there it would be a dangerous tactic so hopefully we get to play more in the oppositions territory.
On the bench we have Ashley Johnson – who could well make a telling impact as a late sub and hopefully he can show why he should get a chance at the Cup. Odwa – agg ja – why he´s even there apart from the”experience” I dont know. He is too slow and a bit over it. Nothing wrong with him – he´s a solid player – just doesnt pose much threat. Lambie as I say gives us great cover at 10, 12 and 15 and hopefully he can be brought on to replace either Lwazi (Aplon to wing), Wynand at 12 or M Steyn at 10 with Steyn moving back to fullback and Aplon to wing in place of Lwazi. Nice combos. Also remember Ruaan can move back to 15 or slot in at 10 if needs be.
Nice squad more or less. If Spies doesnt cut it I wouldnt mind seeing 6 Brussouw, 7 Johnson, 8 Danie – that could be quite a good combo.
8 Jul 2011, 12:13 pm
South Africa has always produced some of the worlds best #10s, Naas Botha and the like, game breakers who oozed talent and could kick a goal from anywhere on the park, but Butch James?????!!!!!!……………………. He is not worthy.
8 Jul 2011, 12:22 pm
@grant10(grant10)-206: Hi Grant,
I would not prefer Morne at 15, but we need a reliable kicker if Butch plays 10. JDVs collisions with defense will also be more effective with Butch on his inside.
Alternatively, I am fine with Morne at 10 but then we need De Jongh at 12 to make up for Morne’s lack of pace and deeper positioning on attack – otherwise we will just get caught behind the advantage line on first phase like we did in 2010.
I also sense that PDV might actually go with Danie at 8 – the big, physical nr8. And I don’t have a problem with that, even though I prefer Schalk there for tactical reasons (particularly cover defense).
I don’t want a repeat of the Boys vs Men scenario we saw in the semi-final at Newlands, and for that we need to bulk up in key areas.
8 Jul 2011, 12:28 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207: Nice post Slummies!
Agree with you about props – this could be a great combo
Chiliboy played aswesome rugby this season, and finally had a good run without injury! He was playing as well, if not better, than Bissie in some games.
How ANOTHER game for Spies will help him regain “form” (after 2 kak seasons surely “form” cant be used anymore?), I dont know
Basson is awesome on high ball, but a bit worried about 1 on 1 defence. I could be wrong, and hope I am. Habana does not deserve to start on current form – as much as I love the guy and his games improved through the season. He was 1 of only 2/3 Stormers to show some guts and determination in that semi.
Im OVERJOYED to see De Jongh starting, but am VERY worried that outside of WO he will never see the ball. Eveen more so with Morne at 10. But lets see…
Loving Mvovo and Aplon at FB is his best possie.
Go Bokke!
8 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
@willievz(willievz)-204:
now that really is leftfield.
8 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
I am very keen to see a Morne / JDJ combination on tour.
Please no Wynand at 12. Rather play him 13.
8 Jul 2011, 12:31 pm
Eish Ryan – I wonder why the Boks wont grant you interviews anymore…?
Pray you are never Bok coach who must deal with longer seasons, more games, more injuries, defend a World Cup with your OWN country’s media on your back, critisizing your every move AND a Tri Nations.
You have no idea of the pressure Young One. To call things a “sham” and “a transparent one” (I think you meant “blatant” or “obvious” or “poorly disguised” but not “transparent”) is harsh
8 Jul 2011, 12:33 pm
@willievz(willievz)-212: Ek stem – het presies daai amper geskryf in BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-210
But lets see – if WO draws the defence in (which he can do) and manages to pass De Jongh could have some space to work with…
WO is also a try-scoring threat in his own right….
8 Jul 2011, 12:38 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-214:
WO is also a try-scoring threat in his own right….
Yeah farking right…
8 Jul 2011, 12:42 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207:
your kung fu’s good, guy…
8 Jul 2011, 12:47 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-214: @trupisero(trupisero)-215:
ag meisiekind (sigh) you just really know how to divide other peoples opinions, don’t you…
8 Jul 2011, 12:52 pm
@willievz(willievz)-209: i can certainly live with Danie Rossow at 8 given the conditions….would prefer Vermeulen but with that injury Danie or Alberts are the best options imo.
I think the schalk at 8 move may be still born now as it is obvious schalk will not get a run there in tri nations and i am not sure he will be put there in wc games without the trial runs…
8 Jul 2011, 12:52 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-215: Hahaha, Im trying to be objective and positive. I am personally not a fan of WO, but he did score a few tries in S15 this year… altho he seems to go in ‘n dwaal when he puts the BOk jersey on…
8 Jul 2011, 12:55 pm
@grant10(grant10)-218: I suppose you guys are talking about the best team – I couldn’t read the rest of the thread. Johnson was packing down at 8 this morning with Danie at flank
8 Jul 2011, 12:58 pm
WO’s stats in tests make for shocking reading. Don’t know if any other centre in world rugby has a worse strike rate.
8 Jul 2011, 13:00 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-220: Hi Charles….
Yes…talking about the ‘ main team’…
I hear Muller could not train?
How did the boys look?
8 Jul 2011, 13:02 pm
@trupisero(trupisero)-221: He is **** – no discussion
8 Jul 2011, 13:02 pm
cr@p
8 Jul 2011, 13:07 pm
@grant10(grant10)-222: Not too bad. Muller told me that his leg was a bit stiff. They did a long defensive session with the “A” team doing the attacking, while the other 10 available guys + Nienaber did the defence. Nienaber talked a lot but it seems that his system is starting to work. Afterwards the backs and forwards split with the forwards doing scrums for close to an hour. They rotated quite a bit and with only 2 props available, JS was given opportunities at 1 and 3 with Chilliboy and Strauss rotating at 2.
8 Jul 2011, 13:07 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-219:
wynand olivier and ma’a nonu could be brothers from different mothers…
8 Jul 2011, 13:11 pm
@stew(stew)-223:
yeah, that’s an animated discussion about ‘nothing at all’, could be a monty python skit.
8 Jul 2011, 13:13 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-225: cool…thanks Charles…
8 Jul 2011, 13:19 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-225: dont mention smitty at 1 or 3?? Grant will spit his tea
8 Jul 2011, 13:31 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-225: On a point of correction re yesterday’s posts, Harry is Eben’s dad. correct. It gets confusing with those brothers. i used to avoid them when i could
8 Jul 2011, 13:34 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-229: Read that. I think I can hear the “noooooooooooo!…….” from here…..
8 Jul 2011, 13:35 pm
Lets solve this 10 matter, most of us have different opinions on who should be in the starting line up.
9. Pienaar( can also play 10)
10. Steyn( is 10)
11. E. Janjies ( not really a good wing but can also play 10)
12. Butch ( can also play 10)
13. Grant ( can also play 10)
14. F. Steyn( can also play 10)
15. Lambie( can also play 10)
There we have a whole back line made up of potential pivots. Problem sorted. All can kick at goal, and all posses skills to be a good 10. Great balance of youth and experience! Hehe
8 Jul 2011, 13:35 pm
Butch is an absolute necessity to fill the Quota of c unts in the team.. WO is overkill but I understand that with a drop in the number of blondes in the team he comes in to complete that quota but then there is also overall quota of Nazi’s and the Ruperts power card which is generall reserved for Schalk, JDV or Schalk Brits. FDP and Spies generally fall withing the Nazi quota but JR can pull his card for them too
It is only after these selections are made can PDV concentrate on picking the best which could leave the team with a critical lack of real talent. He can however work within these parameters to get to the Semi’s with a bit of luck (Avoiding AB’s and Aussies en-route)
8 Jul 2011, 13:37 pm
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-229: I farken did !
8 Jul 2011, 13:42 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-103: Frans NEVER passes the ball. Ever.
8 Jul 2011, 13:42 pm
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-233: “Butch is an absolute necessity to fill the Quota of c unts in the team..” ;D
8 Jul 2011, 13:50 pm
@grant10(grant10)-234: get behind and support your national rugby captain you halfwit of a former nazi-loving sadf opressor now masquerading as a dp english-speaking liberal p ussy.
8 Jul 2011, 13:51 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-230: Confront them at your own peril ! A classic about them: when you could still stand at Newlands in front of the Grand Stand, the Etzebeth brothers and “friends” were usually there as well. “Skattie” Etzebeth ( he was stabbed to death a long time ago while doing debt collection ) was trying to pick a fight: He looked at a guy and said: “Why are you looking at me like that ? ” The guy replied – “I’m not looking at you”; Skattie said: “Oh, so you are ignoring me” !! … You just could not win against them !
8 Jul 2011, 13:51 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-232:
hehehe they could take the kicking in turns.
8 Jul 2011, 13:58 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-237: LOL
Jou moer man!
8 Jul 2011, 13:59 pm
work to do
outtta here
8 Jul 2011, 14:00 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-238: Yeah I grew up i the northern suburbs and they were a few years older than me but we stayed well out of their way.
I knew many of the old goodwood families, so I was ok, but you had to be careful as you say…..
8 Jul 2011, 14:21 pm
Mate this team looks average with the 21 so called injured players. As if TN doesnt mean anything in a world cup year. Are you happy to give up the mandella plate for the 5th time in the last 6 years?
8 Jul 2011, 15:24 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207:
” it even more dangerous for the opposition to kick back at us. With Aplon,”
A brotherly support?
Carter was kicking at Aplon and Habana all day long, it was a sorry farce to watch, even for the non Stormers’ supporters
8 Jul 2011, 17:12 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-244: well Aplon has shown himself to be a good counterattacking fullback so who knows. i wouldnt base my assumptions on one game. He does seem to have lost a bit of form of late though. Hopefully being at the Boks will sort him out. I dont think the Stormers as a union do much for players confidence.
8 Jul 2011, 22:08 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-235: I’ve watched him play for Racing a number of times during the season, his distribution and willingness to distribute has improved.
10 Jul 2011, 09:15 am
Bok backline to win
9 FdP
10 James
11 Aplon
12 F Steyn
13 Mossie
14 JPP
15 M Steyn
14 Feb 2012, 09:56 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-230 : Were do u get your information from? Skattie was never stabbed to death, he was shot. Don’t spread stories if u don’t know what happened man! (I’m a family memeber)
14 Feb 2012, 10:10 am
The message above is ment for @CharlesM(CharlesM)-238
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All