KeoTV: PdV banks on Butch

RYAN VREDE praises Peter de Villiers for making Butch James his first-choice flyhalf.

249 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

• 201.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Butch ( experienced, good all round 10, good ball distribution, plays flat on the advantage line, creates space, kicks well out of hand and a more than capable goal kicker, defensively sound, must be first choice.)

Steyn ( Extremely accurate goal kicker, plays from too deep, and kills the space with his one dimensional style, Kicking out of hand, not the greatest, defense is a concern, must be on the bench, as he can a close game with his kicking).

Lambie ( Inexperienced, most talented and promising, great attacking ability, good tactical kicking game, solid in defense, goal kicking needs work. Definitely not world cup ready in the big games. Give him experience in the Tri-Nations. Definitely the future of the No. 10 jumper) All in all we need Butch at 10! IMO

• 202.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-197:
    fair enough, i will concede the point. ruan did have a lot of baggage going into the position. just hope its not a case of ‘love meets reality and it ain’t pretty’ when he does get his opportunity.

• 203.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-202:
    by that i mean little lambie

• 204.willievz: Reply to this comment

I can sense the Boks playing Morne Steyn at 15 come the semi finals.

You heard it here first.

• 205.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-199: yip….got massive stage fright….

but bottom line is he was always , at best, a reluctant 10…..

• 206.grant10: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-204: Hi Willie

Heaven forbid!

I am still trying to get to grips with the Schalk at 8 move….

!!!!!!!!

• 207.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Got to say this 2nd string team for the Tri nations is actually looking like a sharper bet than the 1st team bar a few players.

1 Dean Greyling – damn excellent choice – that boy has got grunt deluxe and with Coenie on the bench thats a pretty dynamite loosehead combo.
    2 Ok Smit isnt the best bet but at least he is playing in his best position Chilliboy – time to haal uit en wys bud. I want to see why youre preffered above Adriaan Strauss.
    3 Werner Kruger – is Jannie dup relaly better than Werner? Good choice and maybe just shows up Jannie dup a bit.
    4 Flip – no problems there
    5 Now why you would pick Johann Muller above an excellent lock with major drive like Anton van Zyl the f knows but there you have it – dont think Johann will let us down but dont expect any jaw dropping play from him either. Hargreaves on the bench agg ja – not much to say about him either
    6 Brussouw – dang – i´m hoping this guy doesnt get injured again and start hitting some nice form – with Burger out at present its time for him to stake his claim to that 6 jersey again
    7 Danie – no problems here as long as he gets game time I´m happy – I´m keen for Danie to get the 4 spot ahead of Bakkies. he´s a more dynamic player and strong as f.
    8 Spies – well we know the score here – lets hope he gets some much needed form.
    9 Ruaan Pienaar – I would still have preferred to see Sarel in the squad and having Charl on the bench ahead of him irks me even more – but doubt wether Ruaan will let the team down. Not my favourite at 9, but he has x factor at times.
    10 M Steyn – I think Morne has improved a lot in the last weeks of the Super tournament and am eager to see how he goes going into the WC.
    11 Basson – hell yeah – this guy is dangerous on high balls and finishing – lets see if he can keep Habs on the bench . Very dynamic
    12 Wynand – again what can you say? Would farrrrrrrr prefer Lambie at 12 and Wynand on the bench
    13 Juan de Jongh – another dynamic player and looking forward to his involvement – I think jacques Fourie and Jean need a frikkin wake up call and hopefully Juan gives them one
    14 Lwazi – Jp Pietersen would have been nice but good for Lwazi to get some more game time in the Bok squad ahead of the WC – Lwazi is nice and strong and also a great finisher so I like the look of him in the backline
    15 Aplon – Aplon can seriously punish you on the counter attack – i´m not sure of his ability on the cross kicks and high balls but he is dynamic and makes it even more dangerous for the opposition to kick back at us. With Aplon, Basson, M Steyn and Juan de Jongh back there it would be a dangerous tactic so hopefully we get to play more in the oppositions territory.

On the bench we have Ashley Johnson – who could well make a telling impact as a late sub and hopefully he can show why he should get a chance at the Cup. Odwa – agg ja – why he´s even there apart from the”experience” I dont know. He is too slow and a bit over it. Nothing wrong with him – he´s a solid player – just doesnt pose much threat. Lambie as I say gives us great cover at 10, 12 and 15 and hopefully he can be brought on to replace either Lwazi (Aplon to wing), Wynand at 12 or M Steyn at 10 with Steyn moving back to fullback and Aplon to wing in place of Lwazi. Nice combos. Also remember Ruaan can move back to 15 or slot in at 10 if needs be.

Nice squad more or less. If Spies doesnt cut it I wouldnt mind seeing 6 Brussouw, 7 Johnson, 8 Danie – that could be quite a good combo.

• 208.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

South Africa has always produced some of the worlds best #10s, Naas Botha and the like, game breakers who oozed talent and could kick a goal from anywhere on the park, but Butch James?????!!!!!!……………………. He is not worthy.

• 209.willievz: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-206: Hi Grant,

I would not prefer Morne at 15, but we need a reliable kicker if Butch plays 10. JDVs collisions with defense will also be more effective with Butch on his inside.

Alternatively, I am fine with Morne at 10 but then we need De Jongh at 12 to make up for Morne’s lack of pace and deeper positioning on attack – otherwise we will just get caught behind the advantage line on first phase like we did in 2010.

I also sense that PDV might actually go with Danie at 8 – the big, physical nr8. And I don’t have a problem with that, even though I prefer Schalk there for tactical reasons (particularly cover defense).

I don’t want a repeat of the Boys vs Men scenario we saw in the semi-final at Newlands, and for that we need to bulk up in key areas.

• 210.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207: Nice post Slummies!

Agree with you about props – this could be a great combo

Chiliboy played aswesome rugby this season, and finally had a good run without injury! He was playing as well, if not better, than Bissie in some games.

How ANOTHER game for Spies will help him regain “form” (after 2 kak seasons surely “form” cant be used anymore?), I dont know

Basson is awesome on high ball, but a bit worried about 1 on 1 defence. I could be wrong, and hope I am. Habana does not deserve to start on current form – as much as I love the guy and his games improved through the season. He was 1 of only 2/3 Stormers to show some guts and determination in that semi.

Im OVERJOYED to see De Jongh starting, but am VERY worried that outside of WO he will never see the ball. Eveen more so with Morne at 10. But lets see…

Loving Mvovo and Aplon at FB is his best possie.

Go Bokke!

• 211.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-204:
    now that really is leftfield.

• 212.willievz: Reply to this comment

I am very keen to see a Morne / JDJ combination on tour.

Please no Wynand at 12. Rather play him 13.

• 213.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

Eish Ryan – I wonder why the Boks wont grant you interviews anymore…?

Pray you are never Bok coach who must deal with longer seasons, more games, more injuries, defend a World Cup with your OWN country’s media on your back, critisizing your every move AND a Tri Nations.

You have no idea of the pressure Young One. To call things a “sham” and “a transparent one” (I think you meant “blatant” or “obvious” or “poorly disguised” but not “transparent”) is harsh

• 214.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-212: Ek stem – het presies daai amper geskryf in BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-210

But lets see – if WO draws the defence in (which he can do) and manages to pass De Jongh could have some space to work with…

WO is also a try-scoring threat in his own right….

• 215.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-214:

WO is also a try-scoring threat in his own right….

Yeah farking right…

• 216.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207:
    your kung fu’s good, guy…

• 217.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-214: @trupisero(trupisero)-215:
    ag meisiekind (sigh) you just really know how to divide other peoples opinions, don’t you…

• 218.grant10: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-209: i can certainly live with Danie Rossow at 8 given the conditions….would prefer Vermeulen but with that injury Danie or Alberts are the best options imo.

I think the schalk at 8 move may be still born now as it is obvious schalk will not get a run there in tri nations and i am not sure he will be put there in wc games without the trial runs…

• 219.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-215: Hahaha, Im trying to be objective and positive. I am personally not a fan of WO, but he did score a few tries in S15 this year… altho he seems to go in ‘n dwaal when he puts the BOk jersey on…

• 220.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-218: I suppose you guys are talking about the best team – I couldn’t read the rest of the thread. Johnson was packing down at 8 this morning with Danie at flank

• 221.trupisero: Reply to this comment

WO’s stats in tests make for shocking reading. Don’t know if any other centre in world rugby has a worse strike rate.

• 222.grant10: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-220: Hi Charles….

Yes…talking about the ‘ main team’…

I hear Muller could not train?

How did the boys look?

• 223.stew: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-221: He is **** – no discussion

• 224.stew: Reply to this comment

cr@p

• 225.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-222: Not too bad. Muller told me that his leg was a bit stiff. They did a long defensive session with the “A” team doing the attacking, while the other 10 available guys + Nienaber did the defence. Nienaber talked a lot but it seems that his system is starting to work. Afterwards the backs and forwards split with the forwards doing scrums for close to an hour. They rotated quite a bit and with only 2 props available, JS was given opportunities at 1 and 3 with Chilliboy and Strauss rotating at 2.

• 226.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-219:
    wynand olivier and ma’a nonu could be brothers from different mothers…

• 227.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-223:
    yeah, that’s an animated discussion about ‘nothing at all’, could be a monty python skit.

• 228.grant10: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-225: cool…thanks Charles…

• 229.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-225: dont mention smitty at 1 or 3?? Grant will spit his tea :lol:

• 230.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-225: On a point of correction re yesterday’s posts, Harry is Eben’s dad. correct. It gets confusing with those brothers. i used to avoid them when i could ;)

• 231.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-229: Read that. I think I can hear the “noooooooooooo!…….” from here…..

• 232.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Lets solve this 10 matter, most of us have different opinions on who should be in the starting line up.

9. Pienaar( can also play 10)
    10. Steyn( is 10)
    11. E. Janjies ( not really a good wing but can also play 10)
    12. Butch ( can also play 10)
    13. Grant ( can also play 10)
    14. F. Steyn( can also play 10)
    15. Lambie( can also play 10)

There we have a whole back line made up of potential pivots. Problem sorted. All can kick at goal, and all posses skills to be a good 10. Great balance of youth and experience! Hehe

• 233.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Butch is an absolute necessity to fill the Quota of c unts in the team.. WO is overkill but I understand that with a drop in the number of blondes in the team he comes in to complete that quota but then there is also overall quota of Nazi’s and the Ruperts power card which is generall reserved for Schalk, JDV or Schalk Brits. FDP and Spies generally fall withing the Nazi quota but JR can pull his card for them too

It is only after these selections are made can PDV concentrate on picking the best which could leave the team with a critical lack of real talent. He can however work within these parameters to get to the Semi’s with a bit of luck (Avoiding AB’s and Aussies en-route)

• 234.grant10: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-229: I farken did !

• 235.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-103: Frans NEVER passes the ball. Ever.

• 236.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-233: “Butch is an absolute necessity to fill the Quota of c unts in the team..” ;D

• 237.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-234: get behind and support your national rugby captain you halfwit of a former nazi-loving sadf opressor now masquerading as a dp english-speaking liberal p ussy.

• 238.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-230: Confront them at your own peril ! A classic about them: when you could still stand at Newlands in front of the Grand Stand, the Etzebeth brothers and “friends” were usually there as well. “Skattie” Etzebeth ( he was stabbed to death a long time ago while doing debt collection ) was trying to pick a fight: He looked at a guy and said: “Why are you looking at me like that ? ” The guy replied – “I’m not looking at you”; Skattie said: “Oh, so you are ignoring me” !! … You just could not win against them !

• 239.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-232:
    hehehe they could take the kicking in turns.

• 240.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-237: LOL

Jou moer man!

• 241.grant10: Reply to this comment

work to do

outtta here

• 242.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-238: Yeah I grew up i the northern suburbs and they were a few years older than me but we stayed well out of their way.

I knew many of the old goodwood families, so I was ok, but you had to be careful as you say…..

• 243.We are red: Reply to this comment

Mate this team looks average with the 21 so called injured players. As if TN doesnt mean anything in a world cup year. Are you happy to give up the mandella plate for the 5th time in the last 6 years?

• 244.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-207:
    ” it even more dangerous for the opposition to kick back at us. With Aplon,”
    A brotherly support? ;)
    Carter was kicking at Aplon and Habana all day long, it was a sorry farce to watch, even for the non Stormers’ supporters ;)

• 245.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-244: well Aplon has shown himself to be a good counterattacking fullback so who knows. i wouldnt base my assumptions on one game. He does seem to have lost a bit of form of late though. Hopefully being at the Boks will sort him out. I dont think the Stormers as a union do much for players confidence.

• 246.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-235: I’ve watched him play for Racing a number of times during the season, his distribution and willingness to distribute has improved.

• 247.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Bok backline to win

9 FdP
    10 James
    11 Aplon
    12 F Steyn
    13 Mossie
    14 JPP
    15 M Steyn

• 248.R.Etz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-230 : Were do u get your information from? Skattie was never stabbed to death, he was shot. Don’t spread stories if u don’t know what happened man! (I’m a family memeber)

• 249.R.Etz: Reply to this comment

The message above is ment for @CharlesM(CharlesM)-238

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.