KeoTV: PdV banks on Butch

RYAN VREDE praises Peter de Villiers for making Butch James his first-choice flyhalf.

249 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-142:
    So, an accurate goal kicker for the close ones and F Steyn for the hail Mary’s?

I think you’ll find this is exactly what happened in the WC 2007. I think you’ll also find that Butchs range is a lot longer than Percy’s was.

• 152.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-128: hear hear Mr Galt.

We finally agree on something.

• 153.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-110: Good backline that. Though have to see how Ruan is playing. Have heard but not seen him play in the nh. Also we JUST may need a kicking game at some stage cause of the wet conditions in nz. Then start with FdP but only then. Cause he never really got back to where he was last year after the long lay off.

• 154.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-151: bloody hell…

I am starting to like you.

• 155.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-150: Thanks :) . Sorry about the spelling. Good thing I’m not a journalist.

• 156.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Eish(Eish)-139: best all round 10 in SA ?? BwAHHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA :lol: yeah right , the man can kicker further then my 4 year old grandson

• 157.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-141: well said Puma….you also now in my ‘ I like ‘ box.

• 158.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-153: puma hiyas Brudda

Kicking game of Ruans is as good as F Dups mate, and he been playing all year in wet conditions , Fdup has not

Also Ruan is in better form, and has had a great year kicking at poles in wet conditions

• 159.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Back line id go for:

15. F.Steyn
    14. Jpp
    13. Fourie
    12.. De Villiers
    11. Aplon
    10. James
    9. Du Preez

• 160.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-151: Yes. What about the In-between ones, i.e. as you said, the ones that aren’t “easy” or Hail Mary’s?

It may sound like to you that I’m being overly argumentative here, but many test level panalties are taken between the half and 10 meter lines. For a kicker like Lambie, Steyn, Monty, most test level kickers this distance is not even a consideration. In Butch’s case I think you may find that Frans Steyn might be given that length of kick, and there’s the rub: His accuracy is much more inconsistant than say, Morne Steyn.

Now I’m not saying that you base your flyhalf choice around this particular area of play, BUT I’m saying that if you pick Butch you have to think about these scenarios more than if you picked Morne.

And yes, Butch is better than Morne in other areas, please don’t misunderstand me, this is not a punt for Morne or Butch per se, but merely abour their relative kicking prowess, and I don’t think that many would pick Butch over Morne in that dept.

• 161.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-157: :lol:

• 162.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-157: :lol:

• 163.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-160: good morning old bean ^5 lol

• 164.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-151: BTW I disagree that Butch’s range is longer than Monty’s.

You can;t back that up. All we can say is that Monty was preferred to Butch as a kicker and that Frans took some “Hail Mary” penalty ettempts.

I’d be surprised if Steyn took a penalty attempt in his opponant’s half in WC 2007.

• 165.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-163: Hey T, howzit this morning? High 5 indeed.

• 166.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-151:
    thats a load of ****, guy. i’m pretty sure percy did all the kicking – 22 conversions and 17 penalties. and for those of us who don’t remember percy kicked 4 penalties in the final.

• 167.Finfan: Reply to this comment

Tacitus’ team: 15:
    Z Kirchner (Not the greatest, but knows and understands the kick and chase approach. In fact, it is all he knows.);
    14: B Basson (He chases Zane and Morne’s kicks quite well and sometimes even catches the ball.); 13: J Fourie (He used to live in Jo’burg which is not too far from snor city.);
    12: W Olivier (Well, a Bull is a Bull.)
    11: B Habana (He used to wear a light blue jersey and made the Bulls very proud a few times.)
    10: M Steyn (He personifies the Bok style of play: kick, kick, kick…ooops, defend, defend!)
    9: F du Preez (The best Bull forever.)
    8: P Spies (The poster on the wall is not enough, he has to see hom on TV every Saturday, poor form or not.)
    7: D Rossouw (A flexible Bull, if ever there was one: He can also play lock and even 8, but Spies is 8, so…)
    6: D Stegmann (Forget all the penalties, he is a Bull grafter of note. Thys Lourens reincarnated.)
    5 and 4: Bakkies and Vic (No arguments ever – the best lock combination in the world, especially when they are both on the field and the tough one is not asked to take a 10 minute break.)
    3: W Kruger (The only worthy 3 at the moment. And he plays for the right team.)
    2: B du Plessis (OK, Ralepelle should’ve been considered but he doesn’t speak Afrikaans and therefore gets the lineout calls mixed up.)
    1. G Steenkamp (He is a Bull and one has to play the right combinations in Tests.)

The bench might include players outside Pretoria, as long as they are not from the Stormers, Sharks, Lions or Cheetahs.

• 168.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-158: Then we should start with Ruan. He and Butch know each others games well. Well saying that FdP played with Butch in the last wc but FdP just don’t seem the same player as he was last year or the year before. Has lost something for sure after that long lay off.

What you think of them gonna leave Lambie on the bench in the away leg? Daft if you ask me. I would give him a start before Morne. We know well what we have in Morne. They should be looking to see what we have in Lambie.

• 169.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-137: BH BAsson’s defence is weak , that worries me ,

If not Habs i would start Aplon or Mvovo at 11 then , and either of the 2 on the bench

• 170.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-168: I agree bro , although i understand why they play Steyn , they know exactly what they have in him , it might not be the best , but it satisfies their needs

• 171.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-167: Great team! Would replace Habana with Basson though…

• 172.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-145:

i’m still waiting…ryan…

• 173.grant10: Reply to this comment

my main worry is JDV at 12….seriously needs to step up imo….

a bok back line of

15 aplon / lambie
    11 habana
    12 F Steyn
    13 JF
    14 jpp
    10 butch
    9 fdp/ ruan

Is a very decent one.

Jake the snake spoke at length in a column in glowing reference to Aplon, raving about his left boot and the versatality and options it brings to the party.

Now me and the snake dont always sit around the same campfire so lekker, but it is cool to have an educated left foot as well as the big ridht foot in the same backline.

Now you start with FDP [ effective boot ] at 9

butch at 10 [ underrated tactical right foot ]

Frans Steyn at 12 [ booming right foot ]

and aplon at 15 [ left foot ] and all os a sudden you have a team that will not easily be beaten when it comes to the kicking duels

• 174.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-170: I know, but we need to use these tests to see other players. Morne could be on the bench for this tour as back up. Just cause we know how he plays.

Damn would have loved to see Lambie play with that backline. The only exception is Olivier at inside center. He hardly passes.

Looking at the players to tour am quite excited to see how this young team goes. They could surprise many.

• 175.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-166: ja

and Frans steyn kicked a hail mary to make it safe

• 176.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-167: farkit

I laughed so much I spilled my tea!

Brilliant

• 177.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-171: LOL

Classic

There goes my farken tea again!

• 178.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-151:
    oh i remember, frans steyn kicked one penalty in the final. so i offer 1/2 an apology for post #166.

• 179.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-174: , can agree with that bro

would be nice to see new players making things happen, it is true , they already know what they have in Morne

• 180.President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-176: @grant10(grant10)-177: are you sure its tea?? :lol:

• 181.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Again most predictable side from PdV…99.9% chance!

15. F. Steyn
    14. JP. Petersen
    13. J. Fourie
    12. J. De Villiers
    11. B. Habana
    10. M. Steyn
    9. F. du Preez
    8. P. Spies
    7. J. Smith
    6. S. Burger
    5. V. Matfield
    4. B. Botha
    3. CJ van de Linde
    2. John Smit
    1. Beast.

16. B. Du Plessis
    17. G. Steenkamp
    18. A. Bekker
    19. D. Russow
    20. Ruan Pienaar
    21. Butch James
    22. W. Olivier/ Adi/ De Jongh

• 182.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-167:
    hahahaha very funny…even though the bulls have 3 out of the last 4 super trophies, still funny.

• 183.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Ag nee kak Ryan.

Butch brings f-all to the table given his current form. Kicking at 83% sure but would it be possible to give us the stats of how many kicks were taken by MS an BJ?

• 184.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-173: I really rate Aplon Grant. Probably my favourite Stormer player. He is fast and gets through the gaps many times not afraid to tackle any player much the same with Lambie he not afraid to tackle a player no matter what size and almost always gets first time tackles. I think with Lambie he has such safe hands under the high ball. Lambie and Basson one of the best I have seen under the high ball in years. Anyhow they both great players. Just have to weigh it up.

My feeling Lambie is going as a utility player. Pity but then we do need players like that on the bench. Lambie can cover 10/12 and 15 equally good.

• 185.Papoose: Reply to this comment

testing

• 186.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

a team with no real boks experience!

15. Ludik
    14. Van den Heever
    13. Ebersohn
    12. Doppies
    11. Mvovo
    10. Ebersohn
    9. Mcleod
    8. Vermeulen
    7. Alberts
    6. Daniels
    5. Sykes
    4. Flip
    3. Kruger
    2. Burden
    1. Oosthuizen

• 187.grant10: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-180: with milk and 2 sugars!

• 188.Puma: Reply to this comment

@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-179: Anyhow Lambie is young and no doubt if he stays injury free could be around for the next world cup.

He is just to damn fine a player to leave on the bench. But his time will come.

• 189.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-184: Lambie should be at 10 on this away leg.

Bench the skop en jag M Steyn…..give the youngsters a full go….

• 190.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-183:

you are hitting your head against a dead horse there man…
    but just for the fun ask him to bring up ms, bj and percy’s stats totals while your at it.

• 191.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-185: test passed

• 192.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-189: Agree. That is exactly what I have been saying here today and yesterday. This is a great opportunity to give him a start at this level.

• 193.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-189:
    like we gave ruan a ‘full go’, kind of ‘full go’?..

• 194.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-193: Not to mention Gaffie…

• 195.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-193:
    good move, ruin another little sharks life…(that’s a lot of funny with a bit of sarcasm)

• 196.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-194:
    oh god! dont go there, some of the guys on this site are in the prime candidate for a heart attack age group.
    people could die…

• 197.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-193: Ruan never wanted that 10 jersey….

I bet Lambie would love the opportunity to show his value.

• 198.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Butch James, a good choice??!!!
    Are you serious, he is a penalty giving hot head, waaaay over rated and miles out of his depth at nternational rugby. He is not half the player that Dan Carter or Quade Cooper are, and at best a fair super rugby player.
    The guy has never been, and never will be world class and if he is your number 1 choice, you are stuffed.

• 199.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-197: I don’t think he had a poor game at 10 for SA, he played well, just didn’t kick at goal well.

• 200.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Butch ( experienced, good all round 10, good ball distribution, plays flat on the advantage line, creates space, kicks well out of hand and a more than capable goal kicker, defensively sound, must be first choice.)

Steyn ( Extremely accurate goal kicker, plays from too deep, and kills the space with his one dimensional style, Kicking out of hand, not the greatest, defense is a concern, must be on the bench, as he can a close game with his kicking).

Lambie ( Inexperienced, most talented and promising, great attacking ability, good tactical kicking game, solid in defense, goal kicking needs work. Definitely not world cup ready in the big games. Give him experience in the Tri-Nations. Definitely the future of the No. 10 jumper)

All in all we need Butch at 10! IMO

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.