Spies ruled out of Tests Down Under

Injured Springboks Pierre Spies and Zane Kirchner will miss the away leg of the Tri-Nations while Peter de Villiers is hoping that CJ van der Linde recovers from an injury to take his place in the 28-man squad.

Spies and Kirchner were not among the group of 27 announced on Friday, as De Villiers confirmed that they are unfit to tour. Because the touring party is short on props and Coenie Oosthuizen is carrying an ankle injury, Van der Linde could become the 28th man if he passes a fitness test on Monday.

Spies has recently returned from a holiday in Italy, and underwent a full medical assessment upon his return. De Villiers said that the Bok medical team had found that Spies is carrying a groin injury, and so can’t be considered for the away Tests against Australia and New Zealand.

De Villiers feels that Kirchner’s shoulder injury is not serious, but that he should not be risked. He said that he would rather that Spies and Kirchner rehabilitate in South Africa than risk further injury in Australasia.

Van der Linde is also carrying a groin niggle and will undergo a full assessment on Monday. De Villiers said that if he comes through that test, he will be taken on tour. He stood by his belief that captain John Smit should not be used as a prop.

‘John is a hooker,’ he said. ‘He can cover at prop, but we only want to use him as a hooker for this tour.’

Saru CEO Jurie Roux was also present at the announcement and said that tighthead Brian Mujati, who played for the Boks in 2008, wasn’t considered because he’s not a South African citizen. Neither Roux nor De Villiers were able to say whether Mujati will have his citizenship sorted out before the World Cup.

Meanwhile, Heinrich Brussow is coming back from a serious injury and will be rushed right back into Test rugby without first obtaining match practice at a lower level. De Villiers said that he needs to phase Brussow in sooner rather than later.

‘For me, he’s a timebomb. If I had the power not to play him, I wouldn’t play him. But he is a very important player for the World Cup and I will need to phase him in on this tour.’

As reported by keo.co.za on Friday, Johann Muller picked up a hamstring injury in this week’s training. The injury is not so bad that the big Ulster lock won’t be able to tour.

Springbok touring squad - Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson, Heinrich Brussow, Juan de Jongh, Jean Deysel, Dean Greyling, Alistair Hargreaves, Adrian Jacobs, Elton Jantjies, Ashley Johnson, Ryan Kankowski, Werner Kruger, Patrick Lambie, Charl McLeod, Johann Muller, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Wynand Olivier, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Danie Rossouw, John Smit (c), Deon Stegmann, Morne Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, CJ van der Linde.

103 Comments

• 1.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Hier kom groot kak!!!!!

• 2.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Dis nie n bokspan nie dis n blerrie grap. Sien julle wat gebeur as julle daai donnerse Protea in almal se gesigte druk……..fuksakes….

• 3.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-2: *Sug* Nou wat presies is verkeerd met die span? Spelers soos Adi Jacobs en Wynand Olivier is wel ‘n groot fout, maar die res is omtrent die span wat jy volgende jaar as die bok span gaan hê.

• 4.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Chaps don’t worry yourselves about Puffy’s travel team, the French change their top 15 on a weekly basis! Either way, whether Puffy brings the Bok 1st, 2nd, or 3rd teams, the ABs will hand them their a*s*ses on gold-plated dish platter.

• 5.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Greyling
    Smit
    Kruger
    Flip
    Mulller
    Brussouw
    Johnson
    Danie
    Pienaar
    Steyn
    Bjorn
    Mysiekind
    De jong
    Mvovo
    Aplon

Some good players but they going to hiding down under! Lol

• 6.Ogre: Reply to this comment

Did Spies hurt his groin propping up the leaning tower of Pisa, or what is the low down there?

• 7.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@Ogre(Ogre)-6: He played so bad this season PDivvy forgot he was one of the first choice Boks

• 8.CW76: Reply to this comment

Aussies have moaned about the squad…I think the Boks have to protect the senior players as they may just implode at the RWC…not much fuel left in the tank of guys like Smit, Matfield, Habana, Du Preez….

• 9.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Ogre(Ogre)-6:

No he has fallen right out of the mix mate. Doesn’t make the grade even with the third side.

• 10.CW76: Reply to this comment

@Ogre(Ogre)-6: Ja, Spies is a great athlete but he just hasn’t featured hey. Must be more of a confidence thing, I think he needs to do a stint overseas and get some of his mojo back.

• 11.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Ady Jacobs, man oh man. He just walks on water. Does he even need to play any rugby to get picked anymore?

• 12.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is the team that got handed the infamous 49 – 0 drubbing – only 2 survivors Plod & Meisiekind – can the 2011 version do better? :D

Springboks: 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynard Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 9 Ricky Januarie; 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Joe van Niekerk, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Os du Randt.
    Replacements: 16 Danie Coetzee, 17 Eddie Andrews, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Jacques Cronje, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Breyton Paulse.

• 13.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-12: Nienaber’s been with them beforehand this time – we’ll be fine.

• 14.gecko: Reply to this comment

Pretty glad Sideshow Bob in injured. Like Johan Roets it is all catch, kick and chase.

• 15.CW76: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-11: he is the last of P Divvy’s triplets still surviving (Ricky and Earl Rose have been disowned)

• 16.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-3:
    i agree, but i would add jantjes and kankowski to the big mistake category.

• 17.seamus: Reply to this comment

I would like to see Brussouw, Danie (8) and Smith as our lose trio before the World Cup with Alberts as back-up.

I have had it with Burger, Spies and Kanko

• 18.cane: Reply to this comment

@CW76(CW76)-8:

Not much fuel in the tank for Smit……………………………………………

Come on now, what is his average game time this year …………………………..15-20 minutes tops.

• 19.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

I can see NZ/AUS targeting the lineouts…

• 20.willievz: Reply to this comment

@CW76(CW76)-8:

They will also moan if (when) we beat them with this “weakened” team…

• 21.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

how much longer must this ‘Injured facade continue ?

• 22.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-18: s h i t he’s gonna be captaining us in the first game so he better have some bloody fuel left in the tank!

• 23.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@seamus(seamus)-17:
    thats very reasonable.

• 24.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-2:

It’s for 2 tests minimum. Don’t panic.

Yes, we are not “favourites”. Who cares. We can win.

There is a decent team in this squad.

• 25.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-21:
    long enough to win ANOTHER world cup probably.

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-20: pdv missed a trick here, corne uys would’ve been a good addition to this team, he has a fra more calming influence that WO… :D

• 27.cane: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-20:

Willie, I’d fear your “B” team more than your A’s.

they have plenty to play for and nothing to lose.

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-21: are you a doctor? spies is “injured” finish & klaar :D

• 29.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-21: Just until the RWC begins, and then you will witness the greatest recovery en masse since time began. It will be something to behold. We’ll be telling our kids about it.

• 30.CW76: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-18: ok, let me rephrase that, Smit has fuel in the tank but is carrying a heavy load :-)

• 31.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-25:

@Transformation(Transformation)-28:

• 32.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-3: Bouts ek raak krapperig as ek sien die rubbish wat hulle opdis en agter n krukkelys wegkruip.

Waar is Daniels? Jantjies!! In jou lewe!!

Watse tipe span gaan jy aanmekaar sit tussen daai manne wat enigsins na n eenheid gaan lyk want saamspeel het hulle verseker nie.

Sug maar verder ou maat maar die is n pot stront

• 33.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Picked this up elsewhere which may give some indication of the potential starting team:

“In terms of the probable starting line-up, former Sharks lock Johann Muller (now at Irish club Ulster) joined Flip van der Merwe in the second row, with Danie Rossouw at No 8 as Bakkies Botha is visiting new French club Toulon and Pierre Spies is on holiday in Italy.

Rossouw had Ashley Johnson and Deon Stegmann as flank partners, as Heinrich Brüssow was in the opposing team, with Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively. Bulls inside centre Wynand Olivier ran with Stormers star Juan de Jongh in the midfield, with Gio Aplon at fullback joined by Lwazi Mvovo (left wing) and Bjorn Basson (right wing) in the back-three combination.

Sharks utility back Patrick Lambie was part of the “opposition” team, which was filled up by a few players from the local Tygerberg club, among them former schoolboy star wing Frank Wagenstroom.”

• 34.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

What are you guys worried about?
    This is our B-team, with some A-team players here and there.
    We knew from the start this would happen.
    It is a shortened Tri Nations and we can win these two tests.

Best team I can see from this squad (though it won’t happen), is:

1. Greyling
    2. Strauss (C)
    3. Kruger
    4. Rossouw
    5. Muller
    6. Stegmann
    7. Deysel
    8. Kankowski

9. Pienaar
    10. Steyn
    11. Mvovu
    12. Olivier
    13. De Jongh
    14. Basson
    15 Lambie

16. Smit
    17. CJ vd Linde
    18. Flip vd Merwe
    19. Brussow
    20 McLeod
    21. Aplon
    22. Johnson

That’s a quite a strong team.

• 35.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-26:

Transie I was going to suggest that to solve our midfield problems, the selectors give greater consideration to two types of players:

(i) a steady influence like Corne “Steadiness” Uys, he would have guided a young 10 like Elton…
    (ii) a tackling machine such as Barry “SBW” Geel to tackle the kuk out of of the first-choice ABs and Wallabies… 17 & 0

• 36.cane: Reply to this comment

@CW76(CW76)-30:

Thank goodness Smitty is Capt.

Last time you Okes pulled this stunt (4 years ago) you made Johann Muller Cappy.
    And what an ungracious piece of craapp he was.

• 37.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-33:
    thanks for that. brussow in the opposing team is interesting (?), but wo in midfield is just kooky.

• 38.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-12:
    Horrible 8, 9, 10, 12 combo there.
    Actually a fking great tight 5 that at the time.

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-35: :D post of the week!!!!!!!!

• 40.willievz: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-38:

That’s what I was thinking.

The Antipodeans know how to de-energize the heavies.

• 41.gecko: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-36: Skinstadt was tour captain. Muller only captained the second test match when Skinstad hurt his hairdo.

• 42.gecko: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-41: Skinstadt hurt himself in the Oz game, thus out oaf action for the NZ one.

• 43.John Galt: Reply to this comment

At the end of the day who givestwoshits who is really ‘injured’ or not. This is a World Cup year.

Without googling it, I honestly cant remember who won the Tri Nations in 2007. I have a feeling SA came last though.
    Let the ‘injured’ players get over their niggles(certain ABs having been doing this all season during this years S15) and lets get ready for the WC goshdammit!

• 44.CW76: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-36: It will definitely be a test of Smitty’s captaincy and the depth of Bok rugby! He has the chance to prove his worth to all ahead of hte RWC and the “fringe” players have an opportunity to impress.

• 45.gecko: Reply to this comment

Said this yesterday: I remember when Ore picked a second/third string squad in 2002, and before the tour I though they’ll do OK, so much so I went to Marseilles for the first test for the tour vs France. And we got pumped all tour. And Snor’s midweek squad in 2009 – look OKish before they left, then got pumped. I look at this squad and déjà-vu all over.

• 46.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-43:
    yes, 1 out 4 wooden spooners.

• 47.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-36: ungracious because he said mccaw is a cheat? :D tl tl tl

• 48.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Spies injured hahaha this is becoming ridiculous, I never knew these bulls players are so fragile!

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-43: you’re the one who started the whole theory about the all blacks “faking” injuries that got all the kiwis in a huff :D

• 50.willievz: Reply to this comment

This is not a bad Bok team at all…

We can pick a decent tight 5, a top-quality fetcher, an abrasive nr7 and 8, a solid 9/10 combo and an exiting back 3.

We just need to pick the most appropriate midfield.

• 51.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-36: Ja, Muller Light. WTF was that all about? That’s like making that ginger ex-Canes lock (Titio?) the AB captain.

• 52.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

How **** is john smit feeling? Half the springboks of the decade is being rested, conditioned and being tought by rassie how to win and he is off to tour with the c-team to get hammered in Aus and Nz. This whole story is so funny, sum1 pinch me because I must be dreaming…

• 53.gecko: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-51: Tito, who now playes for Cardiff Blues, is muted in Welsh press as a potential WC player. Aparrently Gatland is still trying to get him to play for Wales as he qualifies on residency.

• 54.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-50:

Well there you go!
    Quite right.

A bit thin in the midfield to begin with. I don’t think that there is any doubt that WO will be 12.

This team can win.

• 55.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ willie, get off the bottle mate, bit to early to get stuck into KWV

• 56.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@gecko(gecko)-53: I think he qualifies on his gingerdom more than anything else.

Gatland is scraping a very deep barrel here.

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Hehe. Glad to see Spies making the “injured” list as well. Hardly stepped off the plane.

My only concern is Morne Steyn’s inexplicable fitness. Really disappointing. Come on Divvy. Where’s your loyalty? This guy pulled your arse out of the fire in the British Lions series, and again in the 2009 Tri Nations series.

There’s still time for you to come to your senses and for Stey to get “injured” too.

• 58.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Aaah I hate Gatland, jis that guy is a plonker of note, he has the biggest mouth but doesn’t back it up

• 59.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

n

• 60.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ Tac, Loyalty ?!? You mean that same loyalty that Eng 2003 WC squad showed Clive in the 2007 ?

• 61.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

My Bad, not 2007 but the lions tour of course

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

at least PDV waking up and smelling the coffee that the great aura plod not a bloody prop.

If he listened to me since 2008 i would have saved a million bloody gigs of cyberspace!

• 63.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-59:

obody knows, the touble Ive been through.

• 64.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Read Marc hinton’s post on stuff.co.nz to see that the smart kiwi media are in agreement with PdV and most of us bloggers on this issue.

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

so spies did manage to hurt the hammie getting off the plane after all….

• 66.justrugby: Reply to this comment

With Spies injured our chances have just been improved !!!

• 67.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57:
    hear, hear!…
    just hope they bench him mostly and use jantjes, lambie and maybe pienaar, instead.

• 68.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-50:

Tight 5 is decent ON PAPER/individually but combo’s are largely non existent.Thats where the biggest worry is.And if Muller is selected it further dilutes tight 5 strength. Would rather play Rossouw at 5 who is plenty athletic and a good jumper at no.4 in lineout.

Worried about midfield myself…Olivier has had plenty chances but we are very short there. Its much of muchness…One of these 3 combo’s

-Olivier/De Jongh
    This option is the safest in terms of defensively and allround as well as experience wise.Olivier not the best at creating space for outside backs though thus will render de Jongh largely ineffective.

-De Jongh/Jacobs
    This option is great going forward, plenty of creativity and linebreaking ability>experience wise not bad neither.But Jacobs has had little gametime and defensively not great

-De Jongh/Ebersohn**(bolter combo)
    This is the most explosive pairing especially attack and form wise pretty solid.But gives away alot size wise and Eberson is green and defensively not sound yet.Pairing of the future maybe

• 69.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ G10, if John smit gives you his bok jersey will you keep it?

• 70.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-69:
    game, set and match guru….

• 71.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Have you guys noticed that Jon and Ryan have both predicted the super rugby games correct at just a little over 60% those two are rugby guru’s of note, almost like they have crystal ball or something or paul the octapoes reincarnated! Hahaha

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-66: LOL

Farken 100% right….

• 73.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57: wa lot of ‘ kenners ‘ hoping M Steyn pulls a hammie as well….

With Spies already confirmed injured it is just M Steyn and Plod that need to do a mischief and maybe boks in with a real shout

• 74.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-64: i like the photo with Costus da Plod looking fat in the front next to PdV :D

• 75.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-67: so do I !!

• 76.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-69: Not a fark….

I will give it to charity!

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-76: or use it as a tent

• 78.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-75:
    i’m glad we agree on this, even if for different reasons :D

• 79.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ G10, you’re one funny guy! Your hatred towards JS is not normal! Hahaha

• 80.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-78: LOL

Yeah….

but at least we can disagree and still be mates and have a laugh

• 81.puff: Reply to this comment

Spies came back from holiday in Italy with a groin injury – classic!

• 82.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-76:
    really guy, really?..
    i bet you’d get a little teary eyed and admit to him the doubts you had, but how s h i t you feel about it now and how much you respect him as a man and a player. and how you’ll ‘always be a bok’…
    does that sound about right?

• 83.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-79: dont hate him mate….

just really dont rate him as a rugby player….think he is now milking it big time….

at best he should of stopped after the 2009 season

it has been a train smash ever since and I farken knew it was gonna cost sharks and boks…and it certainly has!

• 84.grant10: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-82: you dont know me mate…..i would tell him I really believe since 2009 he was poor and that the remarks about LW was in poor taste for a bok captain….seriously…

Of course I would wear my Nikes….

no way that fatty will catch me…

• 85.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff(puff)-81: LOL

Its hilarious

• 86.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

presumably this was just a typo when Krusty first drew up his ‘Injury List for July’ back in February ?

• 87.willievz: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-55:

Ou Guru, die papsak is al wat help vir die senuwees so na aan die WB…

• 88.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-84:
    i have to say i truly am amazed by you level of dislike for one of the greatest bok captains ever.
    i do agree on the lw remarks though, a captain should leave the past dead and buried. no need to discuss it. especially when the other guy doesn’t have an opportunity to respond.

• 89.willievz: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-68: True, combos are the crux here.

But what about the 10/12 combo rather than the 12/13 one?

We know what we have in Morne and Wynand as a test combo in this regard, and with Morne and JDV.

I would go for Morne and JDJ for reasons I have reiterated extensively on this site. The bottomline is that we need to inject pace into our phase play, and if you have a 10 that is slightly slow off the mark and standing a little bit deeper on attack, you need a 12 with speed off the mark to ensure you cross the advantage line.

And JDJ will cross the advantage line more than most 12s from a slightly deeper positioning on first phase, due to the fact that he can step off both feet, and can attack the weaker shoulder of the inside defender.

I am not saying that JDJ is a 12 rather than a 13, but if Morne acts as pivot it makes more sense to employ him at 12.

• 90.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-86:
    no, he drew up his injury ‘wish’ list.

• 91.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Breaking news! Bulls signed Johann Sadie and JJ Engelbreght from WP, huge loss for WP but massive gain for Bulls!

• 92.HHS: Reply to this comment

Did Spies do some damage while do the most muscular pose because he took minimal contact in the S15. Weird.

• 93.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-92:

He took more contact apparently than any other 8 in SA.

• 94.ET.: Reply to this comment

What item of his anatomy is supposedly ‘injured’?

Is it simply the needle pricks from Lance Armstrong’s Italian ‘doctor’ that have done poor Spies in and thus won him more time before that first international urine sample is potentially taken?

You can bet his first appearance in the home leg games takes him out of that measurement window.
    Watch for an improved physical performance when he eventually plays at home.

• 95.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-93:

You guys must be soooo happy to be signing Sadie and Engelbrcht. Man what a loss..

• 96.ET.: Reply to this comment

Since these guys have been tagged decrepits for some time now (2008) hence they break down more regularly with the increasing aging process, I truly wonder whether they will be ready for the 2011 RWC when the first ball is kicked-off?

I hope it has registered with them that the repair process (recovery) also takes a lot longer as they have aged in the last years.

There are only 60 days or so to the RWC kick-off.

Maybe you all should consider flooding them with ‘ Get Well Soon ‘ cards as that will boost their collective psychological states and this enhances their immunological systems’ functionality quite remarkably and thus expedite the repair process sufficiently without having to resort to special juices or secret vit B12 injections.

I will start the ball rolling by saying “Get Well Soon” you poor ‘injured’ okes or even possibly JOKES.

• 97.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Seriously PdV…Adrian Jacobs, CJ vd Linde, Johan Muller, Deon Stegmann. WTF are those pathetic players doing in this squad. Wynand Olivier could be added to this list for being useless when he plays for the Boks.

Pity to see Sarel Pretorius, Keegan Daniel, Riaan Viljoen ignored.

Even Wikus van Heerden would have been a better lock choice than Muller.

• 98.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Muller, Kankowski, Olivier, never were and never shall ever be anywhere near to international class rugby players.. period.

Some these coaches are are smelling epsom salts thinking its cocaine.

• 99.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-54:
    ” I don’t think that there is any doubt that WO will be 12.

This team can win.”

Now, now!!! There is a positive Bok supporter if I have ever seen one. WO will make all the difference, you guys beware.

HAHAHAHA.

You are so funny sometimes, Titman. :lol:

• 100.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-99:

Well, those are supposed to be two discrete points, but not unrelated :razz:

Don’t worry Nammies, everything is under control.

It’s the B-team, so no first step on the road to disappointment, heh?

• 101.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well after Spies had a lovely long rest in Italy no wonder he is now injured???????????

Anyhow we now have a chance to try out A. Johnson at 8. Deysel 7 and if Brussow is able to start then Brussow 6.

I would like to see D. Rossouw at 4.

• 102.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57: it’s becoming apparent that Butch James is PDV’s no.1 flyhalf, hence Morne Steyn travelling

• 103.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Maybe having Brussouw in this Boks team will bring them wins vs NZ ans Oz like when he was in the team before he got injured.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.