Spies ruled out of Tests Down Under
8 Jul 2011
Injured Springboks Pierre Spies and Zane Kirchner will miss the away leg of the Tri-Nations while Peter de Villiers is hoping that CJ van der Linde recovers from an injury to take his place in the 28-man squad.
Spies and Kirchner were not among the group of 27 announced on Friday, as De Villiers confirmed that they are unfit to tour. Because the touring party is short on props and Coenie Oosthuizen is carrying an ankle injury, Van der Linde could become the 28th man if he passes a fitness test on Monday.
Spies has recently returned from a holiday in Italy, and underwent a full medical assessment upon his return. De Villiers said that the Bok medical team had found that Spies is carrying a groin injury, and so can’t be considered for the away Tests against Australia and New Zealand.
De Villiers feels that Kirchner’s shoulder injury is not serious, but that he should not be risked. He said that he would rather that Spies and Kirchner rehabilitate in South Africa than risk further injury in Australasia.
Van der Linde is also carrying a groin niggle and will undergo a full assessment on Monday. De Villiers said that if he comes through that test, he will be taken on tour. He stood by his belief that captain John Smit should not be used as a prop.
‘John is a hooker,’ he said. ‘He can cover at prop, but we only want to use him as a hooker for this tour.’
Saru CEO Jurie Roux was also present at the announcement and said that tighthead Brian Mujati, who played for the Boks in 2008, wasn’t considered because he’s not a South African citizen. Neither Roux nor De Villiers were able to say whether Mujati will have his citizenship sorted out before the World Cup.
Meanwhile, Heinrich Brussow is coming back from a serious injury and will be rushed right back into Test rugby without first obtaining match practice at a lower level. De Villiers said that he needs to phase Brussow in sooner rather than later.
‘For me, he’s a timebomb. If I had the power not to play him, I wouldn’t play him. But he is a very important player for the World Cup and I will need to phase him in on this tour.’
As reported by keo.co.za on Friday, Johann Muller picked up a hamstring injury in this week’s training. The injury is not so bad that the big Ulster lock won’t be able to tour.
Springbok touring squad - Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson, Heinrich Brussow, Juan de Jongh, Jean Deysel, Dean Greyling, Alistair Hargreaves, Adrian Jacobs, Elton Jantjies, Ashley Johnson, Ryan Kankowski, Werner Kruger, Patrick Lambie, Charl McLeod, Johann Muller, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Wynand Olivier, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Danie Rossouw, John Smit (c), Deon Stegmann, Morne Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, CJ van der Linde.

103 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
8 Jul 2011, 15:00 pm
Hier kom groot kak!!!!!
8 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
Dis nie n bokspan nie dis n blerrie grap. Sien julle wat gebeur as julle daai donnerse Protea in almal se gesigte druk……..fuksakes….
8 Jul 2011, 15:09 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-2: *Sug* Nou wat presies is verkeerd met die span? Spelers soos Adi Jacobs en Wynand Olivier is wel ‘n groot fout, maar die res is omtrent die span wat jy volgende jaar as die bok span gaan hê.
8 Jul 2011, 15:09 pm
Chaps don’t worry yourselves about Puffy’s travel team, the French change their top 15 on a weekly basis! Either way, whether Puffy brings the Bok 1st, 2nd, or 3rd teams, the ABs will hand them their a*s*ses on gold-plated dish platter.
8 Jul 2011, 15:10 pm
Greyling
Smit
Kruger
Flip
Mulller
Brussouw
Johnson
Danie
Pienaar
Steyn
Bjorn
Mysiekind
De jong
Mvovo
Aplon
Some good players but they going to hiding down under! Lol
8 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
Did Spies hurt his groin propping up the leaning tower of Pisa, or what is the low down there?
8 Jul 2011, 15:15 pm
@Ogre(Ogre)-6: He played so bad this season PDivvy forgot he was one of the first choice Boks
8 Jul 2011, 15:18 pm
Aussies have moaned about the squad…I think the Boks have to protect the senior players as they may just implode at the RWC…not much fuel left in the tank of guys like Smit, Matfield, Habana, Du Preez….
8 Jul 2011, 15:22 pm
@Ogre(Ogre)-6:
No he has fallen right out of the mix mate. Doesn’t make the grade even with the third side.
8 Jul 2011, 15:25 pm
@Ogre(Ogre)-6: Ja, Spies is a great athlete but he just hasn’t featured hey. Must be more of a confidence thing, I think he needs to do a stint overseas and get some of his mojo back.
8 Jul 2011, 15:26 pm
Ady Jacobs, man oh man. He just walks on water. Does he even need to play any rugby to get picked anymore?
8 Jul 2011, 15:27 pm
this is the team that got handed the infamous 49 – 0 drubbing – only 2 survivors Plod & Meisiekind – can the 2011 version do better?
Springboks: 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynard Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 9 Ricky Januarie; 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Joe van Niekerk, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Os du Randt.
Replacements: 16 Danie Coetzee, 17 Eddie Andrews, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Jacques Cronje, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Breyton Paulse.
8 Jul 2011, 15:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-12: Nienaber’s been with them beforehand this time – we’ll be fine.
Pretty glad Sideshow Bob in injured. Like Johan Roets it is all catch, kick and chase.
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-11: he is the last of P Divvy’s triplets still surviving (Ricky and Earl Rose have been disowned)
8 Jul 2011, 15:32 pm
@Bouts(Bouts)-3:
i agree, but i would add jantjes and kankowski to the big mistake category.
8 Jul 2011, 15:35 pm
I would like to see Brussouw, Danie (8) and Smith as our lose trio before the World Cup with Alberts as back-up.
I have had it with Burger, Spies and Kanko
8 Jul 2011, 15:37 pm
@CW76(CW76)-8:
Not much fuel in the tank for Smit……………………………………………
Come on now, what is his average game time this year …………………………..15-20 minutes tops.
8 Jul 2011, 15:38 pm
I can see NZ/AUS targeting the lineouts…
8 Jul 2011, 15:38 pm
@CW76(CW76)-8:
They will also moan if (when) we beat them with this “weakened” team…
8 Jul 2011, 15:39 pm
how much longer must this ‘Injured facade continue ?
8 Jul 2011, 15:40 pm
@cane(cane)-18: s h i t he’s gonna be captaining us in the first game so he better have some bloody fuel left in the tank!
8 Jul 2011, 15:40 pm
@seamus(seamus)-17:
thats very reasonable.
8 Jul 2011, 15:41 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-2:
It’s for 2 tests minimum. Don’t panic.
Yes, we are not “favourites”. Who cares. We can win.
There is a decent team in this squad.
8 Jul 2011, 15:42 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-21:
long enough to win ANOTHER world cup probably.
8 Jul 2011, 15:43 pm
@willievz(willievz)-20: pdv missed a trick here, corne uys would’ve been a good addition to this team, he has a fra more calming influence that WO…
8 Jul 2011, 15:44 pm
@willievz(willievz)-20:
Willie, I’d fear your “B” team more than your A’s.
they have plenty to play for and nothing to lose.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-21: are you a doctor? spies is “injured” finish & klaar
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-21: Just until the RWC begins, and then you will witness the greatest recovery en masse since time began. It will be something to behold. We’ll be telling our kids about it.
8 Jul 2011, 15:46 pm
@cane(cane)-18: ok, let me rephrase that, Smit has fuel in the tank but is carrying a heavy load
8 Jul 2011, 15:46 pm
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-25:
@Transformation(Transformation)-28:
8 Jul 2011, 15:47 pm
@Bouts(Bouts)-3: Bouts ek raak krapperig as ek sien die rubbish wat hulle opdis en agter n krukkelys wegkruip.
Waar is Daniels? Jantjies!! In jou lewe!!
Watse tipe span gaan jy aanmekaar sit tussen daai manne wat enigsins na n eenheid gaan lyk want saamspeel het hulle verseker nie.
Sug maar verder ou maat maar die is n pot stront
8 Jul 2011, 15:50 pm
Picked this up elsewhere which may give some indication of the potential starting team:
“In terms of the probable starting line-up, former Sharks lock Johann Muller (now at Irish club Ulster) joined Flip van der Merwe in the second row, with Danie Rossouw at No 8 as Bakkies Botha is visiting new French club Toulon and Pierre Spies is on holiday in Italy.
Rossouw had Ashley Johnson and Deon Stegmann as flank partners, as Heinrich Brüssow was in the opposing team, with Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively. Bulls inside centre Wynand Olivier ran with Stormers star Juan de Jongh in the midfield, with Gio Aplon at fullback joined by Lwazi Mvovo (left wing) and Bjorn Basson (right wing) in the back-three combination.
Sharks utility back Patrick Lambie was part of the “opposition” team, which was filled up by a few players from the local Tygerberg club, among them former schoolboy star wing Frank Wagenstroom.”
8 Jul 2011, 15:52 pm
What are you guys worried about?
This is our B-team, with some A-team players here and there.
We knew from the start this would happen.
It is a shortened Tri Nations and we can win these two tests.
Best team I can see from this squad (though it won’t happen), is:
1. Greyling
2. Strauss (C)
3. Kruger
4. Rossouw
5. Muller
6. Stegmann
7. Deysel
8. Kankowski
9. Pienaar
10. Steyn
11. Mvovu
12. Olivier
13. De Jongh
14. Basson
15 Lambie
16. Smit
17. CJ vd Linde
18. Flip vd Merwe
19. Brussow
20 McLeod
21. Aplon
22. Johnson
That’s a quite a strong team.
@Transformation(Transformation)-26:
Transie I was going to suggest that to solve our midfield problems, the selectors give greater consideration to two types of players:
(i) a steady influence like Corne “Steadiness” Uys, he would have guided a young 10 like Elton…
(ii) a tackling machine such as Barry “SBW” Geel to tackle the kuk out of of the first-choice ABs and Wallabies… 17 & 0
@CW76(CW76)-30:
Thank goodness Smitty is Capt.
Last time you Okes pulled this stunt (4 years ago) you made Johann Muller Cappy.
And what an ungracious piece of craapp he was.
8 Jul 2011, 15:54 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-33:
thanks for that. brussow in the opposing team is interesting (?), but wo in midfield is just kooky.
8 Jul 2011, 15:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-12:
Horrible 8, 9, 10, 12 combo there.
Actually a fking great tight 5 that at the time.
8 Jul 2011, 15:57 pm
@willievz(willievz)-35:
post of the week!!!!!!!!
8 Jul 2011, 15:58 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-38:
That’s what I was thinking.
The Antipodeans know how to de-energize the heavies.
8 Jul 2011, 15:58 pm
@cane(cane)-36: Skinstadt was tour captain. Muller only captained the second test match when Skinstad hurt his hairdo.
8 Jul 2011, 16:00 pm
@gecko(gecko)-41: Skinstadt hurt himself in the Oz game, thus out oaf action for the NZ one.
At the end of the day who givestwoshits who is really ‘injured’ or not. This is a World Cup year.
Without googling it, I honestly cant remember who won the Tri Nations in 2007. I have a feeling SA came last though.
Let the ‘injured’ players get over their niggles(certain ABs having been doing this all season during this years S15) and lets get ready for the WC goshdammit!
@cane(cane)-36: It will definitely be a test of Smitty’s captaincy and the depth of Bok rugby! He has the chance to prove his worth to all ahead of hte RWC and the “fringe” players have an opportunity to impress.
8 Jul 2011, 16:03 pm
Said this yesterday: I remember when Ore picked a second/third string squad in 2002, and before the tour I though they’ll do OK, so much so I went to Marseilles for the first test for the tour vs France. And we got pumped all tour. And Snor’s midweek squad in 2009 – look OKish before they left, then got pumped. I look at this squad and déjà-vu all over.
8 Jul 2011, 16:04 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-43:
yes, 1 out 4 wooden spooners.
8 Jul 2011, 16:05 pm
@cane(cane)-36: ungracious because he said mccaw is a cheat?
tl tl tl
8 Jul 2011, 16:06 pm
Spies injured hahaha this is becoming ridiculous, I never knew these bulls players are so fragile!
8 Jul 2011, 16:07 pm
@John Galt(John Galt)-43: you’re the one who started the whole theory about the all blacks “faking” injuries that got all the kiwis in a huff
8 Jul 2011, 16:08 pm
This is not a bad Bok team at all…
We can pick a decent tight 5, a top-quality fetcher, an abrasive nr7 and 8, a solid 9/10 combo and an exiting back 3.
We just need to pick the most appropriate midfield.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All