Sanzar to probe Bok selections
8 Jul 2011
The ARU has called on Sanzar to seek assurances from the Springboks that they will field their best available team during the Tri-Nations.
The ARU has questioned the veracity of a Bok injury list that includes 21 of South Africa’s best players. It would appear that coach Peter de Villiers is resting these players for the away leg of the Tri-Nations so that they will be fresh and ready for the World Cup later in the year.
The Sanzar countries have an agreement which ensures they do not damage any of its competitions through fielding weakened teams, and ARU chief executive John O’Neill said on Wednesday that Sanzar’s chief executive officer, Greg Peters, must investigate and determine whether the Boks are reneging on that agreement.
‘The difference between 2007 and now is that we now have a permanent Sanzar office with a CEO, who has the job of monitoring and policing such matters. He [Peters] will be following up on this announcement,’ O’Neill said.
‘A couple of weeks ago we had rumours coming out of the Republic that they may be sending an understrength team. We received assurances at the time that the only players not included would be genuinely injured. We have a joint venture agreement and a broadcasting agreement, and it is important that the three countries don’t just comply with the black letter of the law, but also the spirit of the contract. Joint ventures rely on people acting honourably and consistently.
‘We’re not in a position to second-guess the Springboks, and we also have our share of injured players. But it is nowhere near 21. The sheer size of the number of players who are injured is unusual,’ O’Neill said. ‘That’s why we have asked for assurances.’

349 Comments
7 Jul 2011, 20:26 pm
Probing dragons!
7 Jul 2011, 20:49 pm
Aussies not playing in SA or NZ conference might account for their low body count.
7 Jul 2011, 20:53 pm
Will they now PROBE every time a player gets injured and their absence might damage the quality of the tournament?
The way I see it this Tri-Nations bore will be a lot more exciting without the slow moving dinosaurs such as Burger, Matfield, Botha, etc. If the ARU is so worried about the Boks resting their players then why don’t they just fake a few injuries themselves?
7 Jul 2011, 21:02 pm
Did not take long for O Neil to start his whining !!
7 Jul 2011, 21:37 pm
cmon now Devils Spawn
DONT waste your energy here
move on, John.
You can scold em all you like
as many times as you like
and as loudly as you like.
But its always the same result.
hear no evil, see no evil, speak…..
move on, John. This ones a closed case.
7 Jul 2011, 22:17 pm
Man I hate that Pr*ck O Neil.
If I was him I’d hide my head in shame after selling us the expanded S15 tournament. He is like a used car salesman who managed to swindle his client into a rotten deal. A deal which benefits Australia but basically destroyed our Currie Cup.
But shameless Aussie that he is, he doesn’t have the sense to reap his rewards in some dirty hideaway. No, he wants to have his cake and eat it.
I reckon if he pushes just a little bit harder, we will pull out of this stupid SANZAR deal and join the Northern Hemisphere – which is an option that we alone of the Southern Hemisphere nations have, given our geographic location.
In short: The Pr*ck should keep his mouth shut or he will soon end up playing endless round robin matches against the Kiwis and Fijians, while the South Africans and their big piggybank move on to bigger and better audiences up North.
7 Jul 2011, 22:21 pm
Fact is if we still had Louis Luyt instead of spineless SARU leadership of today, then O Neil would be shivering with his tail between his legs like a whipped dog somewhere in the outback.
Alas, we are stuck with the SARU nincompoops currently at the helm, and are thus forced to listen to his endless blabbering and grandiose posturing.
7 Jul 2011, 22:23 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-6: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-7: Hear farken hear!
7 Jul 2011, 23:17 pm
Freaken douchebag O’ Neill, let me explain:
You guys wanted a Super15 where the conference’s teams are pitched against eachother.
Well?
South African teams are the most physical. And the Aussies had a tea party.
So guess what, we have injuries stupid wop.
Deal with it.
7 Jul 2011, 23:19 pm
When Ozzie gets their own first class internal league together they can complain. Until then shut the f up and stop demanding we sacrifice our players health and careers.
7 Jul 2011, 23:23 pm
@Frik(frikodel)-10:
It’s a RWC year. They introduce a SR tournament that will become a year-long thing. They plot to have us donner eachother up, playing SA teams twice so that we can remove ourselves from the competition.
Nothing will come of this, but it’s bloody irritating.
8 Jul 2011, 00:02 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-6:
so, despite everyone here openly accepting that all 21 x Bok-players are not rrrrrreally injured
Hell, some of them are even living la dolce vita in Tuscany
but when a non-Safa also points out the same point, his contractual partner in fact
then its suddenly “bullsh*t” ?!
should you really wish to move oop north, like we hear in every season that draws defeats, then please dont forget to
turn out the lights on the way out
because that is what will happen to your rugby.
8 Jul 2011, 00:36 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-12:
They never said Spies was injured.
8 Jul 2011, 01:04 am
just got to love the arrogance of some SA posters..
who says the SA derbies are the most physical? what proof of this do you have rather than a one eyed opinion?
The Stormers, the best SA team got handed a rugby lesson in controlled aggression, and for all their supposed superior physicality, were made to look like schoolboys…
what a laugh…
Good on you O’Neil, about time light was shed on the fact that you cant take a SA on his word…. why agree to playing the best team possible then REMOVING 21 players who are the mainstays of your national squad?
those Saffas defending the decision have no concept of honour at all, yet I would imagine will be the very first to complain if the shoe was on the other foot…
is it any wonder people want to “get the yarpies” when they continually backstab their partners…
Please please please take your ball and go run away up north… we’ll see how long that love affair lasts, the irish already have problems with you lot, so its not just an australasian thing.. and watch your rugby retrograde something chronic…
perhaps one day SARU and co will actually develop the intricate business skills called LEADERSHIP..
but hey, I enjoy being entertained by the circus that is SA rugby…
8 Jul 2011, 01:13 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-14:
“who says the SA derbies are the most physical? what proof of this do you have …”
PROOF??
21 injured first-string SPRINGBOKS.
LMAO
8 Jul 2011, 02:05 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-15:
8 Jul 2011, 02:07 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-15: but hang on, all those Stormers players that are on the injured list, didnt they play in the game against the Saders last week?
so they managed to come through the physically superior SA derbies without a scratch, then 5 of them got injured against the physically inferior NZ side?
oh my, Im confused…. please help
8 Jul 2011, 02:14 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-17:
There are 2 reasons for that:
1) The Stormers are an unusually frail variety of South African, but tough nonetheless.
2) The Stormers had a rest week during the qualifiers, and injured themselves during with their “extramural” activities.
Only South Africans are hard enough to injure South Africans. You can’t scratch corumdum with calcite.
8 Jul 2011, 02:19 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-17:
Goodnight Poppa.
Gonna go crawl into the chest freezer in the pantry now so that I can keep warm.
Try not to worry your little head about the policing of SANZAR agreements. We all want a good spectacle at the RWC in NZ.
8 Jul 2011, 03:56 am
The problem is with the fact that SARU lied – twice.
I would also ask someone to look into it.
8 Jul 2011, 05:42 am
SANZAR greed has come back to bite it in the arhse. SA and NZ have the most demanding rugby calenders – super rugby, inbound tours, trinations, domestic comps and EOYT on an annual basis. IN 2007 NZ and SA rested top players for part of the season to ensure the RWC squads were not running on empty. This year we have an extended super rugby comp. There is so much rugby there is not even any space to fit in inbound tours if they tried.
This years Trinations will be devalued due to weakened teams but not as much as it has been devalued by each side playing each other three times. I don’t expect any of the teams to take any chances whatsoever with RWC players.
8 Jul 2011, 05:55 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-21: spot on!
John o **** says http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/aru-wants-answers-as-boks-claim-21-unavailable-20110707-1h4tc.html
Duane Vermeulen injured,
Fourie du Preez needs game time,
Schalk Burger injured , Victor Matfield old needs resting,
Frans Steyn injured,
Jaque Fourie,
Jean de Villiers needs more game time this oke is a perrenial bludger,
BJ Botha,
Juan Smith injured,
Bismarck du Plessis,
Willem Alberts injured, Andries Bekker, Jannie du Plessis,
Francois Louw injured, Gurthro Steenkamp, JP Pietersen, Butch James, Bryan Habana, Tendai Mtawarira and Bakkies Botha.
I though Habadonna needs more game time. He is out of form and needs toi find it on the field.
8 Jul 2011, 06:24 am
SANZAR can maybe then probe why the New Zealand stands are always so empty.
8 Jul 2011, 06:34 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-23: because opposition keep sending second rate teams… simple really, would you continue to fork out your hard earned only to be disappointed in not seeing the guys you expect to and want to see play?
so, if NZ turn up in SA without Carter, SBW, Dagg, nonu, Mils, Mealamu etc, would you too not be somewhat peeved at buying a ticket in full confidence expecting to see the two BEST teams going at it? or would you RIGHTLY feel ripped off?
all this talk of empty stands, do you remember the empty stands during the midweek games of the 09 B&I lions series? or the empty stands at Loftus this year? or the perennial empty stands at Jo’burg?
its not only a NZ problem, but hey, you probably think the stands will be empty during the WC, even though 1 Mill tickets have already been sold… eish..
8 Jul 2011, 06:37 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-21: @KevinRack(KevinRack)-22: SANZAR greed or PDivvy cashing cheques he had NO INTENTION of honouring? 4 or 5 players out due to injury, sure no probs, but 21 front line players?
and Saffas wonder why so many people think you guys are arrogant and self serving, this is just another in a fine litany of examples..
Justice 4 reneging on a contractual arrangement… what a joke, glad its not my union..
my name may be gat on here, but it is miniscule compared to SARU’s name internationally now…
8 Jul 2011, 06:51 am
When it comes to the next TV deal, I imagine O’Neill will be demanding more money than the South Africans based on this type of behavior, and he would be justified.
Rugby is a professional sport, and all the stakeholders need to be considered – including fans in other countries, and TV companies.
Despite what a number of people claim, South Africa needs Australia and New Zealand just as much as they need South Africa. No-one in the Northern Hemisphere wants us, and we don’t want to play rugby during December and January like we would have to if we played in the North. Withdrawing from SANZAR would result in South Africa playing rugby in South Africa against South Africans, maybe with some international games. Doesn’t that sound familiar?
Withdrawing the top players also further devalues the Springboks – more than any of de Villiers selections ever has done. That win/loss ratio between the All Blacks and Boks is never going to change.
The reality is the Aussies play as much rugby as the South Africans, minus a couple of Currie Cup games, which the Boks should play in any-way. The Currie Cup is already undermined – it was the Super 15 that did that. I much prefer a Currie Cup where the returning Boks don’t influence the semi-finals and finals like they have done the last couple of years.
8 Jul 2011, 06:54 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-25:
hahahahaahhahah, they are even emptier when two keeeweeee sides play knobend……..
8 Jul 2011, 06:55 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-26:
Dont think the ANZACs are too worried about what ever South Africa does, nothing surprizes. Here is a comment I read on theroar dot com dot au
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels said | Today | Report comment
JON is going through the motions, he has to appear to be raising concern. Gives him more ammo when they either renew the next TV deal or punt the carnts. Argentina would be a nice fit – ANZARG has a nice ring to it. At least we won’t have to worry about teams having their gear knocked off when abroad.
I don’t care if SA send a b,c,etc side, let us repay them in kind and send them the Rebels. Saffas refer to us as the Wobblies. so give them what they deserve. We can replace the (Rebels) imports with fringe S15 (club players)… the guys that SA sites refer to as bubbling up. Perfect example could be Perett starting for Gareth Delve.
I am liking this very much.
8 Jul 2011, 06:56 am
@whatever(whatever)-27: Loftus and Kings Park empty up pretty quickly as soon as the Bulls and Sharks start losing, so I wouldn’t be too arrogant about South African attendances. Thats need even mentioning the Lions (biggest attendance of 27 this year, including the ball boys) and the Cheetahs. Those Harley’s must scare the fans away.
8 Jul 2011, 06:56 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-25:
Yeah, ya duschbag, your name was gat long time ago…………time to faaaak of and go do the security rounds. Make sure you check all the monitors and check all doors………
8 Jul 2011, 06:57 am
How funny is that? Looks like they expect sideshow bob and his traveling band to be a Jake White clone show.
8 Jul 2011, 06:59 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-29:
Not arrogant, check out the attendance numbers. Trust me a 16k capasity stadium that looks empty does not beat a 40-50k stadium that may look half empty
Jeez, there are more people watching netball on a Thursday night in North Harbour than some of these rugger games in NZ
8 Jul 2011, 07:24 am
What rubbish, SA has by far the biggest crowd attendance! Aus and NZ 2gether doesn’t even come close to the amount of tickets we sell!!!
8 Jul 2011, 07:27 am
All this talk about ARG being part of tri nations and they can replace boks blah blah blah ! The Bok team touring AUS and NZ will beat ARG on any given saturday! Some of the bloggers here has got there head up their @sses!
8 Jul 2011, 07:31 am
John o’Neil and is sheep shagging countrymen wishes and envy Bok rugby, the amount of depth we have and the physicality of our forwards. Am I the only1 who noticed more pacific islanders playing for Aus teams? Even AUS junior team had polonesian boys in it, obviously John o’Neil and his clowns went shopping at the isalnds
8 Jul 2011, 07:40 am
Allow me Sanzar…
Yes ARU I can promise you from the bottom of my heart that every player on that list is injured.
8 Jul 2011, 07:41 am
The bottom line is that SARU as agreed to select their best available players. By sending a B team on tour they are effectively guaranteeing fewer ticket sales and advertising revenues thus selling the Aus and NZ unions short. The contempt for said agreement is made worse by selecting their best players for the home leg ensuring maximum ticket sales.
8 Jul 2011, 07:42 am
@littlejewhats(littlejewhats)-1:
more like probing dragons…
8 Jul 2011, 07:46 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-23:
Because they play their games in the middle of the night to give Saffas the opportunity to view quality rugby players at reasonable times on TV
8 Jul 2011, 07:48 am
What is most annoying about O’Neil, is that he’s killing South African domestic rugby whilst fighting a losing battle for Australian rugby anyway. I’m in Australia and I can tell you 2 things:
A) The vast majority of people in Oz simply don’t care about Union. It’s not even a case of League fans may watch a little Union as well. It’s a “them and us” scenario and they refuse to watch it on principle. Between Rugby League and Aussie rules which entertain the vast majority of Aussie sports fans there just aren’t enough spectators to make up the numbers for Union too.
B) Rugby Union is a dying sport here – fact. After everything O’Neil has done to pillage South African rugby to build it up in Oz, it’s all amounted to a gaint failure anyway.
8 Jul 2011, 07:50 am
@corms(corms)-37: Tough! Build a bridge and get over it. They don’t have a World Cup title to defend and they were the ones pushing to extend the S15 and include more taxing home derbies anyway.
8 Jul 2011, 07:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-12:
like oz playing nz eeeveeery year and loooooossing is gonna be sooooooo much fun for the kissing cousins?
8 Jul 2011, 07:53 am
@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-38:
i mean, a-n-a-l probing dragons
8 Jul 2011, 07:59 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-41: It’s not a matter of getting over anything. At issue is the honoring of a contractual obligation. If SARU can’t honor a contract they shouldn’t sign it in the first place. It’s fairly simple.
8 Jul 2011, 08:02 am
Stupid Australians. What should be probed is the utter lack of intensity in the Australian game. None of their derbies came even close to the level of a typical Inter-Res game at a SA University. They should all be well rested going into the 3Nations.
8 Jul 2011, 08:05 am
Of course there is the (admittedly faint) possibility that our so-called 2nd team actually wins in Oz……… who will look like a right plonker then, eh?
8 Jul 2011, 08:06 am
@corms(corms)-44: Consider it a loophole, learn from your/their mistakes, and move on.
8 Jul 2011, 08:09 am
Let’s face it, 21 injured players is just a smokescreen to rest players. If the AB, or Wallabies wanted to, they could also come up with a list of 21 injured players. Most players will tell you they play with niggling injuries. The reality is SARU do not have the guts or integrity to admit they are resting players. It’s pathetic. At least when Henry did it, he didn’t pull any punches. Neither did Jake White when he did it. If anyone really believes this drivel is the truth, then they are either naive, or missing some brain cells.
Let them rest their players, I say. Stocomplainingng John. It will come back to bite them in the WC. Let them cry wolf for the only people beinfooleded are their own supporters. Everyone else knows the truth. Who cares anyway, the full-strength Bok team has only won twice in Australia in the last 10 years.
8 Jul 2011, 08:13 am
If the cheetahs can kill the Saders 6 – love like they did, there is no reason why the Bok B team can’t beat the all blacks…..
8 Jul 2011, 08:25 am
Bottom line is we as Saffas all know the truth, as do the Aussies and Kiwis….we are resting the A team.
Anyone remotely believing otherwise is simply being silly.
Their is so little honesty and integrity left . Should of just said we are simply not prepared to wreck our slim WC chances by sending our tired A Team back overseas and accepted the consequences, if any. The bad vibes is because we are essentially lying through out teeth by claiming, miraculously, that the 21 A team players are injured and the other 28 are, miraculously, available for selection for the away trip.
It is just very see through.
8 Jul 2011, 08:34 am
@Blokkies(Blokkies)-46: yeah, and imagine that B team lose both their games on tour, then the A team lose both their games at home in SA…
thats really going to go down well with the SA supporters, and will seriously undermine your WC challenge…
lets remember, these “A” team players lost 5 from 6 last year in the 3Ns, including a couple at home… but I really dont mind you guys resting so many players, a person like Matfield has already had two weeks off, by the time he gets to play a home 3Ns game it will be something like 4 to 6 weeks break, with only two games warm up before the tourny begins… I can see a lot of rested and undercooked Saffas being injured by the polynesian briothers because they arent match fit anymore…
8 Jul 2011, 08:36 am
@grant10(grant10)-50: I agree with you.
We are justified in resting our players but not at the cost of our integrity.
8 Jul 2011, 08:46 am
“… comply with the black letter of the law, but also the spirit of the contract.”
(1) what about the “spirit of the world cup”? rather be cautious and have the players fresh for that showpiece.
(2) “… spirit of the contract” – what’s this guy smoking; there’s no such thing as loyalty and “in good faith” any more. get with the times.
8 Jul 2011, 08:47 am
Really, who cares about the ARU?
We need to do what’s best for the Boks and the RWC and that means resting players who have played too much in the past months. Don’t be surprised if the All Blacks do the same on their away leg.
Hopefully the Saders will burst their bubble this weekend.
8 Jul 2011, 08:51 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-52: that integrity boat sailed the moment Luyt gave away a gold watch… and the subsequent walkout only confirmed as such…
add in justice 4, travel disadvantage (thanks Reds and Saders for proving this furphy) and now an unbeliavable amount of injured players (did all the stormers hurt themselves by slipping on their tears in the change rooms after the semi?) AFTER agreeing to play the best side..
did you guys have any in the first place?
8 Jul 2011, 08:52 am
O Neill can moan all he likes, and I’m not condoning the behaviour if SARU here, just pointing out that withour Multi-Choice’s African viewing revenue the competition will basically cease to exist. African based revenue accounts for more than the Autralasians combined.
But good luck getting those rugby playing mad Argentinians to cough up the missing revenue. It is their national sport after all
8 Jul 2011, 08:53 am
Hey Transformation. I told you John O’Neil won’t let this rest!
8 Jul 2011, 09:01 am
O Neils a total twat, they should never have expanded the format of the S15 to inclue so many matches and have played a 3N in a RWC year, in the first place. The reason the aussies are sitting best of the lot, is cos they dont have a local competition. Moreover, the RWC is just over the pond for the,, whereas oyur team is going to have to travel to australasia for the away leg, then return home and then travel back for the RWC.
Its total bs and they must they actually tell him to stfu or pull right out of this farce, who the fk does he think he is.
8 Jul 2011, 09:08 am
no wonder he wants to gold us to the ‘spirit; of the contract, the Boks will nbe absolutely buggered by the time they arrive at the RWC.
this oke is a huge ****-stirrer. what does he think ppl wont watch the 3N because its a new selection of bok players? utter ****, if anything there might be more interest because ppl want to see a new Bok team. Ask any Bok fan on here if they wont watch an AB v SA game or an Oz v SA game because oz or nz are fieling a weakened side, rubbush. Especially in a RWC year – he is just causing nionense – would he actually prefer that all the players are injured or are buggered for the showpiece downunder?
Wheh Nz pulled their 20 odd players from nthe S15 in 2007, why were there no arguments then?.
8 Jul 2011, 09:12 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-40: It does seem to be a losing battle and maintaining interest appears to be a constant struggle just to stay out of the red. That’s the real reason behind O’Neill’s complaint, he’s worried about financial losses. How long can pro rugby really remain viable in Oz and NZ?
8 Jul 2011, 09:21 am
@cab(cab)-59:
“Wheh(sic) Nz pulled their 20 odd players from nthe S15 in 2007, why were there no arguments then?.”
because they didnt have an agreement in place with their “partners” to play the best players, that agreement came about because of the 2007 S15 fiasco… an agreement YOUR union said they would honour this year…
though its got to be a Saffa persecution thing the Australasians have initiated, isnt it?
8 Jul 2011, 09:25 am
oh bollocks poppa, your lot pulled players and there was not a peep.
it cuts both ways, open your eyes.
8 Jul 2011, 09:29 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-55: Well, lets break it down, shall we?
that integrity boat sailed the moment Luyt gave away a gold watch… and the subsequent walkout only confirmed as such…
I fail to see how Luyt adjudicating Bevan as the best referee in 1995 compromises our integrity. Does McCaw’s most recent IRB player of the year compromise the integrity of that body? Or Paddy O Brien having a pizza with the All Black front row after them complaining about scrum decisions compromise the integrity of NZ as a whole?
Subsequent walkout? Sooooooo. Coz the Kiwis walked out OUR integrity is questioned? Well then.
add in justice 4
Totally justified. Bakkies was hard done by.
travel disadvantage
So SA teams are the only ones who’ve ever complained of travel fatigue? If I can do a Transie, provide evidence of a NZ team/s having said something similar would you consider NZ to not have integrity? Doubt it…
8 Jul 2011, 09:32 am
@poppa 51
As you clearly state : our so-called A team lost 5 out of 6 last year, including ALL AWAY games. Therefore our so-called b team cannot do any worse then, can they? nAnd who knows, maybe their hunger to prove themselves might end with the result that they actually play better than the A team might have anyway……
I for one do not believe that many of the ‘A team’ are the best in their posittions anyway, so IMHO the team we are sending over might just give a better account of themselves than the ‘A team’.
8 Jul 2011, 09:33 am
@cab(cab)-62: thats because GH hadnt AGREED with his SANZAR partners that he would ensure the BEST players were played..
something PDV has OPENLY gone back on does this not compute… why AGREE to something then turn around and not do it? thats the problem Cab..
4 or 5 players, no worries… but TWENTY ONE ????????? what a circus..
8 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-63:
the Bevan debate… the fact that
a) the field had to be squeegeed so a game could even begin, knowing full well that France would have gone through if the game had been abandoned… who had to make that call?…
b) the doubt over the French try, who also had to make that call?
Subsequent walkout? it wasnt only NZ who walked out of the function, or has that slipped your memory too?
but hey, yeah its a wonderful look… be proud…
8 Jul 2011, 09:42 am
You SAFFA supporters are a sorry bunch.
Your hate is misdirected. Rather direct your attention to your spineless SARU who entered into the agreement. O’Neil/Australia doesn’t own you or force you to do anything, how could they?
The remark by that hypocrite, justrugby at 4 has to be seen to be believed. Does he only read his own posts?
Keo is living proof that there is no nation on earth that comes close to the level of whining and moaning that is self evident on this site.
That the poms come a poor second is a revelation, and a sorry one at that.
8 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
@grant10(grant10)-50: before this season began, pdv told these okes this comp will be too much on the players and the same john o’neill, drunk from his shafting of andy marinos said “nonsense”, well f*ck him too, he must just take the money from the expanded super rugby format and shut up!
SARU concerns ‘nonsense’
2011-02-09 07:46Email | Print
Super 15 concerns SARU boss
Sydney – South African concerns that the expanded Super Rugby tournament will lead to players suffering from exhaustion at this year’s World Cup have been laughed off by their Australian counterparts.
Instead Australian officials and coaches argue that player fatigue can be avoided through mature management.
With just over a week before the start of the Super Rugby competition, which involves a 33 percent increase in the number of games, a new conference structure, more local derbies and a fifth Australian team, Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has warned that players could find the new structure too demanding.
Mindful that South African provincial sides that make the finals could be involved in 19 matches between February and July in three different time zones, De Villiers said: ”There is a concern that the players could physically be totally exhausted after the Super Rugby competition. The competition is going to be more intense and therefore more exhausting.”
But when the Australian Super Rugby launch was held at the Sydney Observatory on Tuesday, there was not an oxygen bottle in sight. Instead the Australian contingent argued they wouldn’t mind more top-class games.
When told of De Villiers’s comments, Australian Rugby Union chief executive John O’Neill said: ”We don’t share that concern, and at five minutes to midnight it is a bit late to be raising it. In planning and formating this competition, everyone had an opportunity to voice any concerns. The pros and cons were workshopped pretty thoroughly.”
O’Neill said the increase of matches from 94 to 125 and 20 local derbies compared to six last year would work in Australian Rugby’s favour, as their key players needed more high level competition.
”In Australia, you see that the NRL continues on having players playing State of Origin midweek, and backing up for the clubs the next weekend. And [Wallabies coach] Robbie Deans’s feeling has been that we haven’t been playing enough rugby,” O’Neill said.
”Robbie is remarkably relaxed about the season schedule. He is more excited about the amount of rugby they will be playing, in preparation for when he gets them [before the World Cup.]”
O’Neill said it should be remembered that after the Super Rugby final on July 9, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa will be involved in an abbreviated Tri Nations series, involving just home and away Tests.
”If fatigue does arise, the size of the provincial squads allow you to rotate players, and that’s not a new phenomenon,” O’Neill said. The ARU will keep an eye on how the provinces use their key players, but ”our approach won’t be interventionist”, he said.
Reds coach Ewen McKenzie said he was not concerned about the fatigue factor, because systems were in place to ensure it can be overcome.
”If you play high-quality rugby week in, week out, there is the potential for that to occur. The management of players is critical. You look at the European teams, and they play 10 months of the year. And they manage their players through that,” McKenzie said.
The Super Rugby starts on February 18 when the Waratahs play the Rebels at Melbourne’s AAMI Park, with O’Neill confident of a healthy Australian representation in the six-team finals series.
8 Jul 2011, 09:46 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-66: (a) The call he had to make was whether the surface was safe. His called proved to be the correct one, any injuries? Did anyone drown?
(b) Again, he made the correct call as Abdulatif Benazzi (cant bother to look up the correct spelling) afterwards confirmed himself that the ball wasnt grounded.
Subsequent walkout: It has, who else walked out?
8 Jul 2011, 09:49 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-14:
Hahaha.. the arrogance is mind boggling!
The Boks deserve a better calibre of supporter than these twankers.
8 Jul 2011, 09:50 am
All this moaning about us fielding a 2nd string ´team i8s classic mountain out of a mole hill b#llocks anyway.
Lets compare our backline from last year and the possible one for this year for example:
9. Pienaar – he is better than both Hougaard and Januarie who each started several games last year.
10. Steyn – same as last year
11. Mvovu – played on EOYT last year and acquitted himself well – is in better form than the 1st choice (Habana) anyway.
12. Olivier – fair enough not a favorite but apart from JdV he is the most experienced and best option we have at 12
13. JdJ – he is the future at 13 for the Boks anyway and has played there for the Boks before – brings x factor in a different way that Jacque does
14. Basson – one of the most in form wings in the S15 – there should be no complaints here as he played better and more consistently than JPP
15. Aplon who is much better option than Kirchner who we used last year.
So all in all poppa I think our backline this time round is better than last year and one could probably do the same comparisons with the forwards but I dont have time – gotta run.
Later gents.
8 Jul 2011, 09:53 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-66:
Howzit. Just wanted to rectify some of your statements.
Firstly, let me unequivocally state that Louis Luyt was a prize pr*ck.
The walkout did not take place after Louis Luyt handed over the gold watch. The walkout actually happened earlier. You see, what really happened was the following:
Louis Luyt, then SARU president, was getting all arrogant and asserted that in 1987 and 1991 there were no true champions because SA wasn’t there, and that in 1995 SA had proven their point.
It was this statement by Luyt that prompted the All Blacks to walk out, to be followed the French and English players.
Only once the walkout had taken place, did Luyt hand over the gold watch to Bevan for being the “best referee in the World Cup”.
To his eternal credit, Bevan refused to accept the watch and left the room.
8 Jul 2011, 09:54 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-51: “and will seriously undermine your WC challenge” hehehe what are you smoking Popps?
if we don’t win this tri-nations in your mind it will undermine our challenge of the RWC? nice one
8 Jul 2011, 09:56 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-72: Thanx, did not know that myself.
8 Jul 2011, 09:58 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-67: no they don’t own us of force us to do anything, they have their bloody lackeys – steve tew – to out vote us! john o’neill is the same guy that f*cked over new zealand over the world cup in aus, yet the likes of steve tew STILL lick his arse and pander to each one of his whims, spineless punks.
8 Jul 2011, 09:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-65: I look at the team posted yeasterday and see 5 WC winners. SARU should demand NZ and OZ turn up with at least the same amount.
Oh wait, they can’t.
8 Jul 2011, 10:00 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-69: this answers it best..
“Mr Luyt, who is to diplomacy what Jonah Lomu is to English wingers, compounded his country’s embarrassment by inexplicably singling out the Welsh referee Derek Bevan – who officiated at the Springboks’ crucial semi-final against France – for special praise. The match, which South Africa won 19-15, was marked by controversy after Mr Bevan denied the French a last-minute try because of an infringement.
To the astonishment of the 1,000 diners – and to the Welshman’s obvious embarrassment – Mr Luyt presented him with a £1,000 gold watch, calling him ‘the most wonderful referee in the world’.
‘If everyone does not think that, I certainly do. I would ask him to step up and receive this gift as the outstanding referee in the World Cup,’ the Sarfu president said.
In the spirit of a rapidly disintegrating social event, the mortified Welshman joined his fellow officials as they staged their own walkout in protest at Mr Luyt’s behaviour. “
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-74:
Yes – I forgot to mention that when Luyt attempted to present the watch to Bevan, almost all the tournament officials at the banquet left with him.
@poppa69(poppa69)-77: sorry, this was for Taahirah but on a different thread…
8 Jul 2011, 10:03 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-79: trying to blog and work at the same time
@poppa69(poppa69)-77: See 72 above.
I dunno who the writer is who claims that the French were ‘denied a last minute try”. Was he on the field of play? Id venture a guess that Benazzi was closer to the action than the writer and thus in a better position to make the call.
LOL…SANZAR can probe whichever dark a-hole they prefer. The contract CLEARLY states we have to send our BEST AVAILABLE PLAYERS….clearly those who are not in the squad for the overseas leg are not available since they are NOT IN THE SQUAD…therefore we will select our BEST AVAILABLE PLAYERS from within our selected squad.
I don’t see any problem there. They will have to redraft the contract if they want us to send our BEST players in the future. And even that is open for debate. In essence, its all BS but we are playing within the rules as drawn up by SANZAR and its TV partners.
8 Jul 2011, 10:04 am
Firstly it is not the south Africans who are whining, it’s this jumped up tool from arsetralia who has yet again decided to create.
Secondlly a persecution complex is when someone is deluded about being attacked, there is nothing imagined about it, oneil has attacked and provoked once again.
Thirdly, most of those players are injured, we know this cos they did not take part in the business end of the S15.
But worst of the lot is this peckerhead dictating how foreign coaches should go about their preparation to win the biggest event in rugby, as compared to these profit-driven administrator technocrats who cause more trouble than anything else.
@poppa69(poppa69)-80: I gave up on the work. Priorities and all that…
@poppa69(poppa69)-14: did you in anyway object to 22 all blacks being pulled out of super rugby by graham henry at the advice of the best sports scientists in new zealand? did you care that it devalued the Super14? did new zealand seek the APPROVAL of south africa and australia before they made that decision or it was entirely self-serving and ONLY the approval of the new zealand rugby public was important to them?
hardenthefuckup!
8 Jul 2011, 10:05 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-40:
What stay in a country you don’t like?
More credit to the Aussies for being No 2 in the world despite the “death” of rugby union here. Amazing, isn’t it?
8 Jul 2011, 10:09 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-84:
@Transformation(Transformation)-73: so Trans, if whatever SA team doesnt win a SINGLE game during the shortened 3Ns, you dont think that will have any adverse affects on your WC challenge?
it wont plant seeds of doubt in their minds? or are you hoping fopr Fiji, Arg and Eng again
8 Jul 2011, 10:13 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-85: did they have an agreement in place to play their best players at that stage?
did GH therefore backstab his “partners” by doing this, or did they in fact know that the ABs were going to rest players during a provincial tourny?
did JW also seek approval not to play his A team in 07? come now Trans, the point is not who did what first, but the fact AN AGREEMENT was made… as said earlier, 4 or 5 players, no rpobs whatsoever..
but 21? twenty farking one of your top line players have injuries? when did all these stormers players get them, during the semi final or after? how could they play a semi final if they were INJURED?
has it dawned on you yet?
8 Jul 2011, 10:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-75:
Don’t make excuses for your spineless administrators -do something about it!
How about some meaningful suggestions for your brethren.
8 Jul 2011, 10:17 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-88:
The Stormers players were injured in the semi-final.
Remember, we got fucked up by the Crusaders…
8 Jul 2011, 10:23 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-60: To be fair to him, he’s only doing his job. But that doesn’t change the fact that he’s a wan%*& and he’s shafting South Africa.
8 Jul 2011, 10:24 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-40:
so when did you move to Aus ?
8 Jul 2011, 10:26 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-86: Firstly, I never said anything about not liking Oz. I said O’Neil is wan*%$ and Union is dead here. Secondly, who said anything about staying?
8 Jul 2011, 10:27 am
Tell u what there should be is a probe inserted up the rectums of the Ozzie frontrow to explain why they keep crying off with uncontested powder-puff scrums. Why is it always the ozzies?
@grant10(grant10)-50:
well spoken that man
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-92: April this year, it’s why I couldn’t resist a trip to your homeland for the RWC – would be criminal to miss it being so close.
8 Jul 2011, 10:36 am
Didn’t Steve Hansen say something to the effect that the Blues and Crusaders players will be rested?
8 Jul 2011, 10:39 am
There is nothing wrong with sending a 2nd or 3rd team to contest the Tri Nations as long as all contestants agree to it. SA should rather have approached the other two and tried to get an agreement.
Unfortunately this unilateral transparent circumvention of a commercial agreement will result in negative repercussions for SA down the line.
SA is desperate to win the WC and are prepared to gamble and like all gamblers, they are not to concerned with the consequences.
8 Jul 2011, 10:40 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-60:
3 Northern English clubs are on the verge of collapse – Sale/Leeds/Newcastle all play in front of 1 man and his dog. And this despite all the quality foreign players they bring in (and re-Nationalise).
Outside of the few Big Clubs in Engl (Leicester/Northampton/Bath/Gloucester) the English clubs are struggling. I was even given freebies to take the kids to see Wasps – multiple Engl and Heineken Champs – and was shocked to see such a small crowd, presumably also all there on freebies.
Should you also look at attendance no’s across the board in Engl – carving out the 1-off double-header Twickenham matches at Christmas – then you’ll also see that crowd no’s are suffering, as has been written about in the local press.
England Rugby will survive simply because it is a rich nation. Whilst other nations may not be so wealthy in the pocket, they are far richer in their natural resources.
You worry about your (adopted) Nation, Lord Bigglesbottom, and we’ll worry about ours.
8 Jul 2011, 10:41 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-96:
werent you living in NZ ?
8 Jul 2011, 10:42 am
By saying “……Joint ventures rely on people acting honourably..” is he suggesting that we are acting dishonourably?
8 Jul 2011, 10:43 am
F#ck O’Neill
F#ck ARU
F#ck SANZAR
This so-called “understrength ” Bok side is an awesome side, and how can it be understrength, when the so-called “best players” who played in 2010 got smashed?
Watch the new boys teach the ARU some lessons
8 Jul 2011, 10:44 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-89:
Fall out the wrong side of the bed again this morning?
8 Jul 2011, 10:44 am
@cab(cab)-62:
No players were pulled from the AB Test team.
The Boks pulled their players 5mins AFTER the full-strength touring teams left SA.
Nice for SA fans and sponsors then. Lucky for them, huh ?
8 Jul 2011, 10:46 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-93:
I hope you enjoyed your holiday in OZ.
How do think the Aussies are able to consistently maintain a top 3 ranking in world rugby.
Cryptonite?
8 Jul 2011, 10:47 am
Every side and coach is desperate to win the world cup – SA is probably least so as the current holders and that lack of pressure might serve them exceptionally well.
In fact I would not be surprised if neither the ABs or SA win and come into the tournament looking decisevly over-cooked, and guess what heads should roll, notably the SANzAR administrators who are placing totally unrealistic demands on the players.
Do you actually blame PdV or Henry or White for resting their players to give them the best chance of winning the thing? Bladdy hypocrites / if u were the coach you’d show 2 fingers to oneil and rightfully so.
8 Jul 2011, 10:48 am
“unilateral transparent circumvention ”
Had one of those last week.
Painful it was.
8 Jul 2011, 10:49 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-63:
the local lines went a bit quiet when BaXXies nearly killed a Safa (Aplon) with the same flying-headbutt technique that he was punished for.
There was also some notable disturbance on the line when Dear BaXXies then decided to reduce the Boks to 14 men – again – in Auckland after his reverse-headbutt on Jimmy the Bogan.
Justice4 the Apologists
8 Jul 2011, 10:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-100: No England for 5 years. Just doing a quick year in Oz before returning to the fairest Cape.
8 Jul 2011, 10:53 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-103:
I better change my nic to Grumpy!
8 Jul 2011, 10:55 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-105: Enjoy(ing) my holiday thank you.
I’m not sure what your argument is? They have no first class domestic Rugby Union competition here? I think that pretty much sums it up don’t you think? How do I think they field such a good side? Simple, they’re just bloody good sportsman in Australia.
8 Jul 2011, 11:00 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-72:
that speech also included the infamous line “and we would beat 1 team in the morning and the other in the afternoon”
Remember this was the HOST Nation, and as Old School as rugby still was in 1995, 3 major teams, their players and administrators ALL chose to vacate the room.
What noone even knew at that stage was that Louis still had 1 last rabbit to pull out of his self-serving hat, a Fatal Attraction with a local bunny-boiler named
Suzi
8 Jul 2011, 11:01 am
Those clubs are not on the verge of collapse. Why? because millionaire Dave Thompson finances the Falcons and millionaire Brian Kennedy finances the Sharks. Leeds do not have such a millionaire backer and have been relegated, however Worcester do (Cecil Duckworth) and have been promoted. In fact all the clubs have a money man behind them, Saints have Barwell, Wasps have Hayes, Gloucester have Walkinshaw…etc etc. They’re not reliant upon crowds for survival and the same is true for the Top 14 clubs in France. Wasps have never had big crowds, their devotion to Adams Park has limited their growth.
Even if they did all struggle financially, the RFU has enough in reserve to bail them all out – which is essentially what the NZRU are doing for their provinces. NZ rugby is reliant upon the revenue created by the ABs which has to cover everything and it doesn’t always manage to, they’re even forecasted to make a loss from the WC. Being so close to the red, crowd attendance is crucial, as is on-field success (as they’re interlinked) and that’s why we hear this from O’Neill. How long is this situation sustainable? one has to wonder.
8 Jul 2011, 11:02 am
@Yetirat – in your earlier post you summed up well the issues facing Rugby Union in Australia. And it’s only going to get tougher because from what I understand the NRL television rights are up for renegotiation soon and the NRL teams are going to raise the salary caps considerably. This might mean the NRL have much more money to spend on players at all levels which might translate into yet more of the best Australian talent moving to league, never mind more marketing, etc.
I do think that this might be at the heart of O’Neil’s issues…he’s desperate and looking for a scapegoat for the declining fortunes of Australian rugby.
8 Jul 2011, 11:03 am
Sigh
Too nice weather to be at wurk today
8 Jul 2011, 11:04 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-111: Australia has never had a first class domestic competition. It has always been sustained by club rugby in Sydney and Brisbane, and then by country clubs. Before Super rugby, players would step up form club rugby to international rugby.
If any-thing, rugby in Australia is growing. This can be seen from the relative success of the Force (crowds wise) and the introduction of the Rebels. Those were both States where no professional rugby team existed, and where the club competitions were weak.
The club competitions are improving, gradually, and the base of professional Australia players has also grown from three teams – probably about 90 players in total – to 5 teams and 150 players in total. This also means that there are more proffesional spots available, and that upcoming Australian rugby players aren’t forced to sign for a League team if they want to play proffesional sport.
Add to this the addition of two new academies, and the effect that this will have on club rugby. The implementation of teams in Melbourne and Perth has also meant new rugby supporters in those cities, and that more rugby supporters aren’t lost to rugby league or Aussie rules.
Rugby will never be as big as league or AFL in Australia (for a number of reasons), but all in all, I would suggest rugby has grown slightly, or that the ground work is in place for it to grow slightly, rather than die, as you suggest.
8 Jul 2011, 11:05 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-81:
and yet Ruben Krugers ‘try’ was seen by all of SA ?
8 Jul 2011, 11:08 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-88:
Transie deals in smoke’n'mirrors, you know that, its his stock in trade. next thing you know, you’ll fall in to a von Trapp.
Move on.
8 Jul 2011, 11:08 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-87: “seeds of doubt?” bwahahahaha i bet you believe in fairies too
RWC is a different kettle of fish, New Zealand had umpteenth tri-nations trophies and zilch to show in terms of RECENT world cup wins, i reckon the “seeds of doubt” have looong germinated into baobabs in kiwi players’ minds
8 Jul 2011, 11:09 am
@Neil(Neil)-114: a poor WC could be very damaging for Australian rugby, Ireland looked bloody good at the end of the 6N and Italy are something of a bogey team for them. They do have a shot at winning this Tri Nations however which could be a big boost if they could pull it off. Perhaps O’Neill would be better off keeping schtum and allowing the Wallabies to benefit on the scoreboard from the rest and rotating that SA and NZ will be doing of key players.
8 Jul 2011, 11:10 am
@Neil(Neil)-114: This is also a myth. Rugby league is on the brink, or has already signed a billion dollar TV deal, and as you point out will raise the salary cap considerably.
However, Rugby League players are so far underpaid, that even a doubling of their salary may only just put them somewhere on par with rugby union players in Australia.
Lockyer, considered by some as one of the greatest ever rugby league players, has played for the same team for 15+ years, and earns a grand total of 600,000 per year. That is on par with O’Connor, and not considering O’Connor’s sponsorship and third party deals.
8 Jul 2011, 11:12 am
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-101:
The comments at post 82 are suggesting that.
Personally as an AB supporter I think the less opportunities that the Boks coaches get to see that their A team are over the hill the better. If they are lying on the beach somewhere for the next couple of months and this fact is not realised until halfway through the RWC then it’s all good with me.
8 Jul 2011, 11:13 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-108: Every issue to be dealt with on its own merits.
Personally I saw nothing wrong with the Aplon clear out, in my book a penalty for illegal entry, no worse.
The Cowan issue, Bakkies got what he deserved.
It does in no way detract from the unjust punishment he was subjected 2 re the BIL test.
8 Jul 2011, 11:13 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-88: what about RESPECT for Rugby Union? forget the little disregard the kiwis have for anyone else, how about respecting the GAME? imagine a crusaders team showing up sans carter, mccaw, mauger, williams, jack – it was a disgrace!
i’m asking you for the 2nd time, did you complain?
8 Jul 2011, 11:15 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-117: I dont understand your flow of logic.
So.
Because many SA’s believe Ruben Kruger scored, Benazzi is a liar?
8 Jul 2011, 11:16 am
@cab(cab)-106:
so
what youre saying is that youre HAPPY to take a large slice of the broadcasters wedge, from the an Agreement with the ink still drying
(and lets not forget, Cab, that SA gets a largER slice of that pie than either NZ or Aus)
the same wedge that pays enough money to keep most of your best players IN Sth Africa
but when it comes to honouring that Agreement with the same broadcaster, the Paymaster, then you consider it quite fine that 1 Partner, Sth Africa, then turns around and shouts
F.U.
youre saying thats OK ? youre saying that is a solid foundation for a working relationship going forward ?
8 Jul 2011, 11:18 am
Who cares what John O’Neill says. A big mouth of no consequence. Sanzar needs RSA more than the reverse and, given the schedule that SA teams have to endure perhaps that is something Sanzar needs to investigate as also is the quality of the refereeing fraternity.
Don’t be a soft touch for the inferior tell them to get stuffed.
8 Jul 2011, 11:20 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-119: perhaps, but we’ve won a WC at home before… and with the crowd support favouring the ABs, instead of against, it may help..
but regardless
Eng have beaten the ABs twice in NZ, in 100 years
SA have beaten the AB’s twice in NZ, in the last twelve years
Aussie too havent won that many, I think theyve lost the last 11 at Eden Park but I cant be too sure of the exact figure..
France have won 3 games against the ABs in NZ in the last 17 years..
so yeah, lots of baobabs for every team coming to NZ…
seeds of doubt… for sure, if the ABs beat SA’s best team IN SthAfrica, are they then going to be extremely confident when they land on our home soil? or are you hoping for the choke yet again? because, if you have been watching the last two years, the ABs can now play wide or in tight when the need arises, they are going to be very hard to beat at home, as the figures above suggest1
but I could be wrong….
8 Jul 2011, 11:21 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-125:
the logic says that everyone here says “Kruger scored”
but youre now saying that their opinions dont count – that noones opinion counts except the players ?
the 1995 ABs individually said they suffered food-poisoning on the eve of the RWC Final. So, by your reckoning, we should just take their word for it ?
8 Jul 2011, 11:22 am
@ricane(ricane)-122: thats right. Kiwis should be laughing…
I dont understand why some of these other tossers are bleating so much. This is playing sraight into the AB’s hands. Players who should be getting game time are not, players who should be gelling are not, players who should be dropped because they are too slow will not.
The trinations should show the Boks that so many players are overhill but they will be protected by the resting bollocks..and when RWC comes the oldies will get run off the park, collect their pay cheques and ef off to europe.
In fact what it is worse when we loose with our kak skop and chase conservative game plan it will be too late
They only ones winning here are the Old boois and the Kwis..
We are not going to fluke it like the last RWC…
8 Jul 2011, 11:25 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-124: and I’ll ask you for the second time..
In 07, did the SANZAR “partners” categorically enter into an agreement that stated they would endeavour to play their best available players? I dont recall that they did, but I see you havent mentioned JW doing the same thing in the same year, doesnt sit well with your “point”, does it?
21 of your best suddenly being injured right after 4 or 5 of them competed a semi-final, finished the game and are now injured? lol cmon Trans, this is preposterous… duplicity at its finest!!
8 Jul 2011, 11:26 am
@ricane(ricane)-122: you know your footy and keep it to the footy unlike bubble guts who just likes to dish to the yaapies without actually thinking through.
8 Jul 2011, 11:27 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-123:
the fact remains that Dear BaXXies has only ever been punished for approx 1% of the offenses he has committed.
The blogs here were outraged here when suddenly the victim was a Safa “could have killed him” and then said he should “never wear the Bok jersey again” after Jimmy the Bogan.
Justice4 his Apologists, a permanent STAIN on your rugby history.
8 Jul 2011, 11:27 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-129: No one’s opinion counts, except the referee’s.
I then looked at those closest to the action (the player carrying the ball) to affirm that the referee in fact made the correct call. Coz if anyone is in a position to dispute the ref’s call it would be him, dont you agree?
Which 1995 players? Josh Kronfeld emphatically rubbished the claims of food poisoning.
8 Jul 2011, 11:28 am
@Bludeks(Bludeks)-127:
Showing your face around here again, Bludik ? long season in Neanderworld, wasnt it.
8 Jul 2011, 11:29 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-133: If Gio wants to run with the big dogs he cant pisslikeapuppy.
What percentage of offenses Bakkies was punished for is irrelevant, it does not make him guilty in the Justice4 incident.
8 Jul 2011, 11:30 am
Saders by 6!
Some of the comments posted on this article by (I presume) Australians are just plain silly.
Firstly – kicking out South Africa and introducing Argentina.
Yeah, good luck with that. From what I recall rugby is still amateur in Argentina and all their best players go to Europe to earn a wage. All due respect to the Argies as they’ve come a long way in recent times, but I can’t see them fielding competitive teams. Let’s see how O’Neil deals with a full strength Argentinean teams that aren’t as strong as South African B teams and getting flogged week in week out.
Secondly – 21 players injured does sound like a lot but before we’re accused of faking injuries let’s be careful not to hurl false accusations. Burger went off the field against the Crusaders with a broken thumb on Saturday. Suppose that was faked? Juan Smith has been injured for what, 12 months now? It’s not as if he’s suddenly been wrapped in cotton wool. Willem Alberts went off injured in his last game against the Sharks. I could go on, but by many accounts most of the players have genuine injuries. I know a lot of Australians are cynical by nature though and even if you showed them x-rays they probably wouldn’t believe it.
Thirdly, I think it was the poster ‘Blokkies’ who earlier made a good argument for the supposed ‘B’ team players being better than the ‘A’ players. This is something the Australians can’t understand us being sincere about because they don’t have the player depth we do. For many South African’s (myself included) Bryan Habana for example is not, and has not been for the past few years, the best wing in SA. The same can be said for a number of the supposed “1st choice” players that are injured. I for one now rate Juan de Jong higher than Jacques Fourie – if anything he poses more threat to the Australian backs than does Fourie.
And lastly, it’s been said by others, but the current Super 15 and Tri-Nations competitions are arguably hurting South African rugby more than they’re benefiting Australian rugby (and I know some Kiwis who feel the same about their competition).
i,for once,support the the medical staff for pulling these severly injured players.we can’t allow injured players on a rugby field….end of story.
8 Jul 2011, 11:31 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-134:
off you wobble to YouTube – search ‘food-poisoning’
Even 1 of your most distinguished Security Officers – Madibas personal Head of Security – said the players were suffering from poisoning.
schucks, what would he know – he wasnt a Doctor, right ?!
8 Jul 2011, 11:31 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-135: so, after reading Kracks post 132, who is he calling bubble guts?
it must be one of us two, but perhaps we could get a ref to adjudicate for us?
8 Jul 2011, 11:32 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-108: Lets get it straight – Cowan decided first to pull Bakkies back by holding onto his jersey (illegal) because his kick had got charged down (and Cowan is a dirty cnut).
This was in full-view of Touch Judge and Ref both who did NOTHING (of course, it was All Black foul play!). Bakkies held his arms up in appeal while Cowa(rd)n was still hangin onto thim!
Bakkies made an admittedly stupid attempt at revenge, but it was not unprovoked like your post suggests.
His hit on Aplon was bad and he was rightly hammered by Saffas on this site. Does this not prove that the Saffas are in fact NOT blind to Bok/SA players transgression? And their are no holy cows?
We are damned if we do and damned if we dont with you!
In contrast – Mealamu dives in with spectacular flying headbutt, and Kiwis are complaining that his ban was too long! And asking to take his “character” into account?!
This – after moaning and whinging about Bakkies?!
And what about when Nonu tried to take Cowan’s head off? (I actually liked Nonu for about 5 mins then)??? Deathly silence from NZers.
Eish BP – pot, kettle, BLACK
8 Jul 2011, 11:33 am
3 Springbok players played with broken bones! but NZ players complain cause they spuitpoep a bit? panzies! grow some balls!
8 Jul 2011, 11:33 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-135: bubble guts is outraged again….
Listen here big girl stop flapping like a queen who’s wig has just blown off.
Surely there must be beter place to vent your spleen?
Surely there must be a better cause to fight than aparthied’s ghosts?
8 Jul 2011, 11:34 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-131:
youre entering that conversation on the mistaken foundation that Transie will offer a straight answer. In fact, you will probably find that he doesnt offer any answer at all – he disappears, like *MAGIC*
8 Jul 2011, 11:35 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-141: not you Pops you dont flap
8 Jul 2011, 11:35 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-130:
Anyway if the 21 sooks think they are injured now they’ve got another think coming.
By the time Samoa and Fiji have finished with them, at the beginning of the World Cup, then they will know what sore REALLY feels like!
8 Jul 2011, 11:36 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-140: That Rory guy?
Memory is vague but I dont recall those to be his exact words.
8 Jul 2011, 11:38 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-145 : I know, he did it last night too… but hey, lets be nice to Trans, it appears his forensic business is starting to crumble around his ears…
8 Jul 2011, 11:38 am
if the aussie conference did not resembled a netball league they also might have had 21 players injured.the kiwis have perfected the art of cheating to such a fine point that most of their top players already had their rquired break this year.
8 Jul 2011, 11:39 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-136:
~guffaw~
Justice4
an indelible STAIN
no previous action in the history of rugby union even comes close to reaching the height of arrogance that this did, altho the dogmatic resistance of the SARU in refusing to pay the IRB fine does come quite close. Louis Luyt could dangle gold watches on the doors of the IRB like candysticks on a Christmas tree, and it wouldnt even come close.
8 Jul 2011, 11:39 am
@ricane(ricane)-147: ahh yes like 95 Samoa attempt decapitation of many Bok stalwarts. One of the dirtiest game ever in a RWC.
Whats was Samoa’s 15? The dirty high tackling pig? Lima?
8 Jul 2011, 11:40 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-142:
Cowan deserves everything he gets…he’s a halfback, say no more.
8 Jul 2011, 11:41 am
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-150: true dat… wait until we have Walsh reffing the AB/SA semi (if both teams make it), he is a neutral after all representing the ARU..
8 Jul 2011, 11:41 am
@ricane(ricane)-153: hehehehe
8 Jul 2011, 11:42 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-141:
I suppose we could call in a referee, that should do it.
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-146:
whos the referee, Kevin ?
……….~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
8 Jul 2011, 11:42 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-151: “indelible STAIN” for you, one of the proudest moments in the history of Bok rugby, when we straightened our collective spine and fronted up to an injustice for me.
8 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-142:
was it BaXXies 1st offense ?
8 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-152: Brian Lima – wasnt he 12? Called The Chiropractor.
Only player to play in all World Cups (up to 2007) played in ’87 as a 17 year old, and 2007 as a 40-ish yr old. If I am not mistaken?
He smashed Liefling in 2003. But ja – very dirty in 95. Didnt Jouba break his hand in that game?
8 Jul 2011, 11:44 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-157:
Youre one of the best, most openminded SA bloggers here, Taahirah, and I always read your posts.
Id reconsider that one if I was you. Just in private tho.
8 Jul 2011, 11:45 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-159: Yep. Joost also had bones in his throat broken courtesy of a very high tackle.
8 Jul 2011, 11:45 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-116: You could well be right. But in my opinion throwing money at the creation of a new team, buying players from other parts of the country to make up the numbers and filling a stadium to a fraction of it’s capacity still smacks of desperation. If it drives growth then fair enough but you just get the impression that it could come crumbling down at any moment because the money has to stop somewhere and the support certainly isn’t there to fund it. I was under the impression League players earnt more than Union players in Oz? I also heard that Cooper is hot in demand on the League scene that he may move over in the not too distant future. I assumed that was because of the additional money? How can it be that State of Origin, with all the support and viewership it pulls in, is made up of players paid significantly less than Union players? Personally I think it’ll be a tough nut to crack. As I said earlier it just seems they have too many competiting sports here for Union, which sits right at the bottom, to even stand a chance.
8 Jul 2011, 11:46 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-160: Im being obtuse ofcourse.
Its not our proudest moment. But then I firmly dont believe it to be the crime against humanity you make it out to be either.
8 Jul 2011, 11:46 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-148:
Rory Steyn
Yes. And he’s a decorated Sth African.
Your memory seems very precise on certain points but, strangely, vague on others.
how odd.
8 Jul 2011, 11:47 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-164: Old age. I hit 30 recently.
8 Jul 2011, 11:48 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-158: Most probably not mate, but thats again a technicality that you are trying to focus on, instead of the WHOLE incident and lead up to his transgression, which is my point.
The Justice4 campaign had a valid point too – dont just look at that it involved Bakkies. It was about the IRB ruling that threatened the spirit and nature of rugby. Even the injured player (Jenkins) said Bakkies shouldnt have been punished!
When ABS complain you have the Head of Refs flying around the world to apologise to Henry! Kiwis have no idea of the special treatment the IRB gives to ABs. The rest of us have to scrap and protest and inch our valid points forward
8 Jul 2011, 11:49 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-152:
You’ll be pleased to know he has retired now –
I think i played against him a few weeks ago and he twinkle toed past me (I play flanker and was the first there after the kickoff), embarassing, until he did the same through our entire team and scored between the sticks!
I think Apoua Stewart will be the Samoan fullback this year – their team reads like a kiwi S15 team list (minus any ABS)
8 Jul 2011, 11:50 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-157: Hoorah Taahirah! (see what I did there?
) Good post.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-161: Ah yes I remember now – didnt stop Joost from tackling Lomu around the legs in the turning point of the final! Magic.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-165: 30 is a kak one, its the beginning of the downhill. In about 20 years time you will be old and bitter like BP and Grant10
8 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@Neil(Neil)-114: One thing’s for sure, O’Neil certainly has his work cut out for him.
I should add though, that I do hope that it does grow in Oz and that I turn out to be wrong. It’s good for the sport. I’ve just struggled as a South African, where rugby is everything, to get used to seeing it treated as such a lowly and minority pastime in Oz.
8 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-160: just a shame the same cannot be said of you.your hatred of everything south african sometimes defy logic why you are still blogging here.
8 Jul 2011, 11:52 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-163:
Nowhere did I say it was a ‘crime against humanity’. I specifically kept it within the realms of the ‘history of rugby union’ which, of course, it is.
a permanent STAIN. Bundled up with the reaction by Krusty, the indignant stance by SARU and the whole Burger-gouging fallout (selecting him at the 1st possible opportunity), that despite 2009 being a great year on the scoreboard for SA Rugby, there was immeasurable harm for it off it. The stance now taken with 21 ‘injured’ players just proves that SA is happy to reap the benefits of large Broadcaster contracts, they just dont have any intention, whatsoever, of honouring their side of the bargain. They regard themselves above the Law – whether that be the Governing Body – IRB – or their Contractual Partners (Aus & NZ).
8 Jul 2011, 11:54 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-159:
I wouldnt call the Chiropractor a ‘dirty’ player. He had phenomenal timing in the tackle, thats what. He was never guilty of ‘dirty’ crimes like eye-gouging, or kicking to the head or spear tackles.
8 Jul 2011, 11:55 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-165:
thats like being a teenager around here, respect your Elders !
8 Jul 2011, 11:58 am
Lima is no De Wet Barry!
8 Jul 2011, 11:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-128: please discuss the head-to-head records and how you think it will all unravel but don’t give me tosh about “seeds of doubt” as if that is an exact science…we beat you in 2009 and many saffas including keo were going on about a “psychological hold” the boks now had on the all blacks, last year we got walloped – what now of the “psychological hold”?
it’s all rubbish, so don’t follow them
8 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-166:
the Bogan committed an offense, no doubt there.
But BaXXies got away with his flying-headbutts for YEEEEEEEEARS without being pulled up, no arms, horizontal leverage, shoulders and head making impact and taking players OUT
So he finally breaks a players ribs with the very same technique – NO ARMS !!!!! – and youre/SARU saying he was vicitimised ?!
and dont bore me with “A.Jones said it was OK” because A.Jones does not make the laws of Rugby Union. The IRB issued a YouTube clip 6mths BEFORE the Lions tour’09 entitled ‘Dangerous Play’ and guess who featured prominently with his flying-headbutts ??!!! 6mths BEFORE
Justice4farksake
go check BaXXies hit on S.Mortlock. Its horrific.
8 Jul 2011, 12:04 pm
How would O’Neill know our best team from our second best team?
The tour party might actually be the first choice to many bloggers here.
8 Jul 2011, 12:05 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-161:
and lets not forget the song’n'dance when Burger was banned for an elbow in the throat.
8 Jul 2011, 12:06 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-168:
and less prone to being fooled by BS
BaXXies !
8 Jul 2011, 12:08 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-168:
hope you enjoyed his reply at 163 then
BaXXXXXies !
8 Jul 2011, 12:09 pm
Anyone got some spare Kleenex tissues for these Aussie and Kiwi boys, never heard so much crying before! Oh and Inevitible, for all your Aussie rugby cheerleading please remind me what you guys have won in the last 10 years? Let me help you…… Nothing
8 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-175:
please, dont highlight the arrogance of coaching that if by a more astute person, they could have had that hold for a few seasons, but he rested on his laurels… or is FDP that important that you guys cant win without him?
as for proof of seeds of doubt, well everyone calls the choke as a seed of doubt, the fact it took the boks 10 years to win in NZ, and 70 odd years to win in Dunedin would give my “psychological hold” theory some credence… one could same the same of Ellis park for the ABs..
hope this answers it for you,
plus, with the anzac reffing conspiracy, we have enough of a “psychological hold” on you guys already
8 Jul 2011, 12:19 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-172: Sorry – bad typing mate. I also wouldnt call Lima dirty (or anymore dirty than any other centre). I meant that game in 95 was very dirty.
8 Jul 2011, 12:20 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-157: be careful you will be taken from pillar to post on the arm band issue, on bakkies, on tutus & the bushveld but nothing on the topic you were actually discussing, according to black panty everything thing everyone else does pales in comparison to anything SA has done before…kevvy head butts and what you’re hear is schalk is a gouger
@eye_gouger_kieran_read(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-174: Hahahaha – or Andre Snyman
or Robbie Fleck!
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-178: Do you mean Smit being banned for elbow in French throat?
8 Jul 2011, 12:22 pm
@willievz(willievz)-177: Presies! Paar van daai spelers is defnitief my eerste keuse!
8 Jul 2011, 12:24 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-183:
You Safas are priceless – celebrate foul play (Justice4) and the toughness of the average Sth African on 1 hand and then when the opposition give you some back (usually legitimate tackles like Lima), then very quick to judge that they were “dirty”.
8 Jul 2011, 12:25 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-182: fine, if you really are desperate to clutch in to this “if the saffas are beaten home & away in this years tri-nations it might sow seeds of doubt re RWC” rubbish theory
8 Jul 2011, 12:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-184:
Capt von Trapp
you will also recall that I was outspoken that Mealamu deserved a LONG BAN for his spear tackle on BOD. I also said, at the time, that Mealamus headbutt “deserved 1-2 weeks’, given it was a 1st-Offense – which is what he subsequently got.
Or does Transformation Forensic Services only work for the highest bidder ?
8 Jul 2011, 12:28 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-182: at least we can still count on the european reffing conspiracy to make sure you bomb out of another wc…..or is that the french now?
8 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-186:
Burger copped a ban at RWC’07. memory says it was against Tonga (?)
8 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
Can’t blame the kiwi public from not wanting to watch the super 15, having to put up with years of bias referee’s. They have players cheating and they get called hero’s. Got Prima dona’s worse than soccer players diving, holding shirt’s it’s a disgrace.
8 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-186:
altho you might be confusing the Smit-elbow-to-throat with the Brad Thorn incident.
8 Jul 2011, 12:32 pm
@Johnnyblue(johnnyblue)-193:
so is eye-gouging and then making a tutu-joke out of it and selecting the player again asap like it never happened.
(that ones for you, von Trapp)
8 Jul 2011, 12:33 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-181:
Who crying?
I’m glad the clown is breaking contract with his pack of lies – it will backfire badly on the team.
And the Boks trophy cupboard isn’t eactly overflowing at present – just one lonely wee bill in the corner, which you will need to dust off and give away in a few weeks!
8 Jul 2011, 12:34 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-189: youre the one whose clutching Trans…
so you think the bokke losing both home and away in the 3Ns will have ABSOLUTELY no effect on the team come WC semi and they happen to face the ABs or Aussies?
so youre saying there is no psychological impact in 4 consecutive losses? really?
fair enough, I expect we wont ever hear about choking or anything because apparently theres no psychological impact in sport
8 Jul 2011, 12:37 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-192: Oooh yes, I remember now.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-194: Dont think so – Thorne picked Smit up after the whistle and dumped him into the ground in front of the Ref, with Smit appealing even before he was slammed into the ground. There were no elbows involved as I remember?
(and to show that I wont pick out isolated events as per the Bakkies headbutt conversation, Smit DID push Thorne’s pock-marked face into the ground in the ruck before. Definitely a rational reaction from Thorne. Not like Bakkies’ attempted headbutt which was SOOOO evil)
8 Jul 2011, 12:45 pm
2 acts were criticised by the broadcasters in ’07 and they are listed below, none was deemed worse or less than the other as some kiwis here would like us to believe.
Broadcasters slam Sanzar
13 Jul 2007
TV broadcasters have criticised Sanzar for allowing understrength teams to play in the Super 14 and Tri-Nations this year.
All Blacks coach Graham Henry rested his top players during the first half of the Super 14, while Jake White left his best 20 Boks at home for the away leg of the Tri-Nations. This has predictably not gone down with the broadcasters “ Sky Sports (New Zealand), Fox Sports (Australia) and SuperSport (South Africa) “ or News Corp itself, which paid $350 million for the TV rights from 2006 to 2010.
According to the Sydney Morning Herald, Sanzar officials were told that they will have to convince the broadcasters that the best possible provincial and national teams will play in the Super 14 and Tri Nations in the next World Cup year, 2011′“ if the deal is renewed
Meanwhile, the ARU is expected on Friday to ask Sanzar to support the introduction of the new experimental rules “the Stellenbosch Laws“ in all Super 14, domestic Tests and Tri-Nations fixtures from next year.
All eight of these laws, which are aimed at simplifying the game and encouraging more attacking play, will be used in the inaugural Australian Rugby Championship that starts next month.
8 Jul 2011, 12:47 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-197: nope, pdv knows exactly what he is doing
the boks lost the tri-nations in ’07 and bang we won the trophy “psychological scars and all”
8 Jul 2011, 12:48 pm
2 acts were criticised by the broadcasters in ’07 and they are listed below, none was deemed worse or less than the other as some kiwis here would like us to believe.
Broadcasters slam Sanzar
13 Jul 2007
TV broadcasters have criticised Sanzar for allowing understrength teams to play in the Super 14 and Tri-Nations this year.
All Blacks coach Graham Henry rested his top players during the first half of the Super 14, while Jake White left his best 20 Boks at home for the away leg of the Tri-Nations. This has predictably not gone down with the broadcasters “ Sky Sports (New Zealand), Fox Sports (Australia) and SuperSport (South Africa) “ or News Corp itself, which paid $350 million for the TV rights from 2006 to 2010.
According to the Sydney Morning Herald, Sanzar officials were told that they will have to convince the broadcasters that the best possible provincial and national teams will play in the Super 14 and Tri Nations in the next World Cup year, 2011?“ if the deal is renewed
Meanwhile, the ARU is expected on Friday to ask Sanzar to support the introduction of the new experimental rules “the Stellenbosch Laws“ in all Super 14, domestic Tests and Tri-Nations fixtures from next year.
All eight of these laws, which are aimed at simplifying the game and encouraging more attacking play, will be used in the inaugural Australian Rugby Championship that starts next month.
8 Jul 2011, 12:50 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-166: don’t bother bokfan1, Justice4 is one of his favourite hobbyhorses, you won’t get him off it
8 Jul 2011, 12:50 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-188: Hey man! I just said I didnt ever mean Lima was dirty! Jeez!
He smashed Derik Hougaard fair and square! No worries there.
The GAME between SA and Samoa in 95 was a dirty GAME
8 Jul 2011, 12:52 pm
justice for the maori!justice for the maori!
Disgruntled Maori have warned that Rugby World Cup celebrations could be disrupted if their grievances – including those over the foreshore and seabed – aren’t addressed.
Prominent Maori say the tournament, just 200 days away, would be a “grand opportunity” to make a political statement.
Long-time Ngapuhi activist and Maori Council executive member Titewhai Harawira said she was determined to “expose” New Zealand’s treatment of Maori to the large foreign media contingent covering the event.
“We are going to use the international media to expose what is going on in this country,” she told the Sunday Star-Times.
“I want to be telling international media that all those reports they get that say we are well looked after and our land is intact are rubbish. We are going to be talking to the international media, absolutely.”
Harawira said she hoped to provide visitors with a “whole chronology of what has happened in this country”.
“I will talk about how legislation has taken away and denied us,” she said. “We have time to put it all together, hand it out and talk about it.”
8 Jul 2011, 12:54 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-197: to be fair there have been prime examples in the past where this was exactly the case, notably in 2003 where NZ smashed Aus 50 – 21, and then later in the RWC (on the exact same ground) lost 22-10 in the semi… So transformation might have a point.
8 Jul 2011, 12:55 pm
the Sharks medical staff are to test their “injured” springboks regardsless of what the SARU doctors are saying. if the player are deemed fit, the union might demand to play them in theri currie cup game against the bulls. this will put saru on a collision course with the already whingeing aussies who have demanded a probe of the 21 bok “injuries”
8 Jul 2011, 12:57 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-204: is this guy’s name tendai mtawarira?
8 Jul 2011, 12:58 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-197:
actually, Pops, no I dont think it will.
Weasel White pulled his players in 2007 not because of fitness issues, but because he didnt want his players subjected to a raft of humiliating away-defeats…..again !
They’ll all magically reappear fit and healthy again in SA and Krusty will hope that he can pull off a victory when all the dice are loaded his way. Funny how it can work out tho – you’ll remember Krusty and his opportunism after stormers won at Eden park and how that was “something for the Kiwis to think about”. Well I, for one, cherished the look on his face as he made his way from his seat at Newlands last week…..
8 Jul 2011, 13:00 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-202:
says Capt von Trapp and he clings, in vain, to his GH-Super-pullout-2007 theories.
classic smoke’n'mirrors – again – from von Trapp.
8 Jul 2011, 13:01 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-203:
gotcha
8 Jul 2011, 13:04 pm
i support the struggle of all hardworking and honest kiwis except bp,poppa and cane who live of the fat of the land.
New Zealand police have questioned known political activists about their protest plans for this year’s rugby World Cup, asking some whether they would alert authorities if contacted by terrorists, local media reported.
Joe Carolan, an organiser for the Unite union which represents low-paid workers, told the New Zealand Herald “three massive lads” in uniform had visited union offices and asked about planned World Cup protests.
Carolan said the policemen had asked “‘If any terrorists got in touch with you, would you contact us?’ And we just looked at each other. Of course we’re opposed to terrorism.”
The Unite union is one of a number of groups planning protests during the World Cup in September and October. Carolan said the union’s protests would highlight the low wages of hotel staff and security guards.
Meredydd Barrar, a spokesman for the Coalition for Social Justice, said it and other protest groups were planning acts of “civil disobedience” to disrupt the tournament.
“(We) intend to take action during the RWC to alert the world that New Zealand is not as squeaky clean as people might perceive,” Barrar told the New Zealand Herald.
The protests would highlight recent moves by New Zealand’s right-of-centre government which, Barrar said, would adversely affect poor New Zealanders.
justice for all honest and low-paid kiwi workers!justice now!it fills my heart with pride to know that there is still honest kiwis around.
8 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-205: I agree… but then I could find some examples to support my side too… I just think to say that there would be no impact if the scenario did play out holds no water..
what sort of team morale do you have if you lose every warm up game before the “biggest” thing in rugby?
8 Jul 2011, 13:08 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-205: look, going into RWC 2007, new zealand had the wood – seeds of doubt – on ALL the countries in the competition, yet @ the event were bundled out in the quarters.
8 Jul 2011, 13:10 pm
Ricane – who’s crying lol? You kidding me? Just go back and read all the wailing and bleating. As for the boks trophy cabinet at least we have managed to win a couple of tri- nations and a WC over the last few years plus beat NZ a couple times in their own back yard. For all their crowing the Aussies have done F all
And that WC is still something to tO be proud of, resting where it belongs. You boys haven’t won it yet but at least you’ll get to see it now we are bringing it over , something your precious team haven’t been able to do for almost a quarter of a century. Now yes go grab some tissues…
8 Jul 2011, 13:15 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-199: Seems like a case of selective memory on the part of certain of us
8 Jul 2011, 13:15 pm
where the FARK is Gunther ?!
Im tired of dealing with the court jesters
take me to your Leader.
8 Jul 2011, 13:16 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-209: READ AND WEEP
“TV broadcasters have criticised Sanzar for allowing understrength teams to play in the Super 14 and Tri-Nations this year.”
“All Blacks coach Graham Henry rested his top players during the first half of the Super 14, while Jake White left his best 20 Boks at home for the away leg of the Tri-Nations. This has predictably not gone down with the broadcasters “ Sky Sports (New Zealand), Fox Sports (Australia) and SuperSport (South Africa) “ or News Corp itself, which paid $350 million for the TV rights from 2006 to 2010.”
8 Jul 2011, 13:17 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-214: bwahahaha someones gone fishing and their bait is stale..
2 wins in 12 years in NZ, keep reminding us how great that is…
8 Jul 2011, 13:18 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-203: If I can recall, and I was actually at that game, Lima played wing then.
The biggest dirty hit was by Mike Umaga (Tana’s Bro) on Andre Joubert, breaking his hand. remember that whole saga? Hyperbaric chambers and all that.
Like you said, that was a filthy game no doubt.
8 Jul 2011, 13:18 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-217: still missing the point Trans, there was no universal agreement in 2007, and both sides were guilty..
this year, there was a universal agreement, and it appears one team has reneged…
can it be any more simple, really?
8 Jul 2011, 13:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-213:
by France
JWs record vs France ?
Played 4
Won 1 – at home in SA.
France won home AND away.
~~~~PHEW~~~~
8 Jul 2011, 13:20 pm
Come on Transie stop upsetting the little kiwi boys with these facts it’s just not fair when your whole world is based on conspiracy theories! Suzi, nasty horrible refs who don’t blow everything their way, and today’s best the French try that wasn’t given in 95 (even though the player himself said he come up short of the try line)
Let them have their fun it’s great entertainment
8 Jul 2011, 13:22 pm
Hey poopy drawers – 2 wins is mire than the Aussies managed which was the point of that particular argument do try keep ip some I know it’s hard to read through those tears
8 Jul 2011, 13:25 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-222: face it, you guys went back on your word, thats how professional your union is..
no wonder O’Neil was able to pillage… too easy..
8 Jul 2011, 13:31 pm
There’s actually less crying about this on the Silverfern kiwi blog – are you boys just the soft outcasts who get their panties in a knot over small things. Relax boys
And let’s wait to see what Henry and co do – or are they now allowed to follow suit and still claim the moral high ground? We ate travelling first so had to make the call first, I am pretty sure you boys would have done the same and now you can excuse yourselves when you do do you can stay on that very high horse of yours. If it upsets you so much run back to the kiwi blogs, believe it or not you certainly won’t be missed here…
8 Jul 2011, 13:32 pm
black panther,poppa and cane will never silence the voices of nz’s first people! these bloggers present all that is bad in nz society.they are the voices and faces of their government.keep up the fight for true liberation my maori brothers and sisters.
Maori Council executive member Ngaire Te Hira said Maori had a lot to be frustrated about in world cup year, including anger over historical mining on ancestral Tainui burial grounds, proposed mining in Northland, and the foreshore and seabed bill.
The world cup will also be held during the trial of those charged after the so-called “Tuhoe terror raids” in 2007.
Te Hira – who is backing a proposed hikoi to protest at the Maori Party’s stand on the foreshore and seabed legislation – said the event was an ideal forum for Maori to make a stand.
“I think it is a grand opportunity for us to expose things. I am worried about my status as a Maori mother and grandmother, and about the future for my grandchildren and the children coming after them.
“I am worried about the nation New Zealand should be proud of too, and that we are a first-nation people who have been willing to share and be patient, but I’m afraid some of us are running out of patience.”
Te Whanau-a-Apanui kuia Lillian Howe said she would support peaceful protest action during the cup, and said it was inevitable.
“Where else can they make a stand? There is no other way, is there? I guess those who want to make a stand, that is the only place to do it, because the government is just not listening.”
8 Jul 2011, 13:32 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-223: really? youre sure on that stat, that aussie havent won more than twice in NZ in the last 12 years?
positively sure?
Id suggest they won in Wellington in 2000 and 2001..
do you need some tissues to wipe your eyes?
hope youre keeping up…
8 Jul 2011, 13:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-217:
the problem you have here, von Trapp, and have had all along
and I am already on record as such
is that I completely agree with you.
GH/NZRU were completely wrong pulling players out of the Super’07 Comp. NZers said so at the time. Fitzy, Loey….schucks even the Tickler. Proffa Noakes even made a career out of it. They all scoffed at the ‘Cottonwool Club’ and the sponsors werent happy either, fair enough.
GH did, however, advise everyone well in advance – in 2006 for the following season. Furthermore, fans of the different CLUB teams knew what they were buying with their ticket prices the following season.
No underhandedness, no deceit.
JW was full of underhandedness and deceit in 2007 when he pulled the squad TWO weeks before they toured and WHAT DO YOU KNOW, Krusty has pulled his
*GOSH*
2 weeks before the start of the TriNations !
Give the SANZAR boys their dues tho, they had already factored IN the SARU deception so they made them tour 1st this time. Clever.
What IS noticeable here, however, is that the G10s of this blog are few and far between. No one else with cajones to actually say “theyre NOT injured – its WRONG – they dont GIVE A SH*T”
And definitely not you, Captain von Trapp, because every topic is a battlefield for you. Never acknowledge your team/player/administration may be in the wrong – in fact, when faced with the facts simply *POOF* – disappear !
8 Jul 2011, 13:42 pm
Crikey pops you just can’t help yourself you keep opening that mouth of yours and embarrassing yourself – I said the last few years who said anything about 12? 12 years is a lifetime but then
I suppose that doesn’t seem that long to you boys when you haven’t won a WC for 24
Anyway thanks for backing up my argument keep up the good work and dry your eyes
8 Jul 2011, 13:47 pm
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-226:
Wiremu Poppavich (Poppa to you) is a Maori (nz’s 1st people).
So to is Hurricane.
8 Jul 2011, 13:47 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-162: Union isn’t a new sport in Australia, which is trying to get a footing. It has a long tradition, and a strong grassroots supporter base, something which is strengthened by migrants from New Zealand, South Africa and the Pacific Islands.
It is very aware of its relative size – 5 professional teams versus 16 in League (with an extra two on the cards) and 17 in AFL (with another one starting next year). It is considered a toff’s sport in Australia, one for the educated and the snobs, in comparison to League which has working class roots.
The reason Union players are paid more is due to the salary cap in League and a lack of international competition. Australian Super 15 teams have a sporting agreement to not pay players more than 110,000 per year, with the rest coming from the ARU. League needs a cap in order to ensure that the NRL doesn’t become a competition between the richest 5 or so clubs. Not all the clubs are sustainable business entities, and without a salary cap, a number would likely go under.
The reality is that rugby union has been professional for 15 years, and still has developed as it should. All major countries have problems with their system, and these need to be addressed. A salary cap in South Africa, for example, would ensure that the Stormers don’t sit with 3 Springbok centres or the Bulls with 4 Springbok locks. It would also ensure that the Cheetahs don’t lose all their good payers to bigger unions.
8 Jul 2011, 13:50 pm
Nice points Wolfman the only flaw in your post is that a salary cap in SA rugby would result in our best players heading to Europe in their droves for more £££’s – no thanks!
8 Jul 2011, 13:53 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-228:
NZ should front up with the Wairarapa-Bush ITM Cup Team for the Wellington Test.
The Captain could hand the Ref a note from GH saying sorry, but this was best we could muster.
8 Jul 2011, 13:54 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-229: really? hehehe
post 218
then
post 223
and then
227…
game, set and match…
your eyes are bloodshot, must be all those tears..
thanks for coming…
8 Jul 2011, 13:57 pm
These c unts at Sanzar are looking to scale to new levels of absurdity. Did they not see who was in team when the Bokke lost 19-0 and 49-0.. did they actually believe that this was the best team SA could assemble.. Are they hell bent on ensuring that the Bokke reflect their Nazi roots.
Time for Bok management to tell these twats that the world has moved on and that that great win in 2005 should not be forgotten.
8 Jul 2011, 13:59 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-203:
Most games involving the Boks are dirty.
Like Canada Vs Boks in 95 for example.
8 Jul 2011, 14:02 pm
How old ate you pops? It’s Luke talking to a 6 year old – show me 1 post where I said 12 years. Just one post Pops point it out because I can’t see it. Maybe the tears are blinding you
My point was the Boks have done all that in the last few years – repeat few years. Do you know what few means? It means the last 3,4,5 years – the same number as your IQ – not 12 moron! And we have won in NZ twice in the last few years which they haven’t. There now I have spoon fed you again try keep up if you want to talk with the adults
8 Jul 2011, 14:05 pm
@cane(cane)-236: PUH-lease Cane! I know you are trying to wind me up, it aint working. You know that is bullsh1t and the Canada example is a perfect one of teams trying to antagonise the Boks and resorting to dirty tactics to do so.
There is easily as much dirt in every NZ game and A LOT more deliberate cheating (blocking, diving over rucks, offside play, hands in rucks – and thats just Richie!)
8 Jul 2011, 14:10 pm
@cane(cane)-236: We may be dirty but we not cheats.
8 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-238:
How many other International Teams regularly field 3 convicted Eye-Gougers in their pack.(those charged with and convicted of attacks in and around the eyes)
None!
Ever.
8 Jul 2011, 14:11 pm
Grand Slam hero Stu Wilson says the All Blacks openly resorted to “cheating” on their way to the historic achievement on their 1978 UK tour.
The Graham Mourie-captained team needed a controversial penalty to beat Wales 13-12 in the second test of the tour, a three-pointer Wilson says followed orders for locks Andy Haden and Frank Oliver to dive out of a line-out as if they had been pushed.
TV footage clearly shows Haden diving wildly out of the line-out in the dying moments of the clash at Cardiff Arms Park.
And while Oliver’s fall to the ground was aided by an arm from Welsh lock Geoff Wheel, Wilson said he too was under orders to dive out of the line-out as if he had been pushed.
“It (the penalty) was for Geoff Wheel climbing all over Frank Oliver,” Wilson told Yahoo!Xtra.
“Frank was just a little bit slow on the count.
“On the count of three they were both going to pretend to be pushed out.
“Andy dived out like an Olympic diver and Frank was still trying to count up to three. Frank was a bit slow.
“The thing was, we had talked about it. We all knew it was going to happen.
“So when you talk about it, things happen.
“We beat Wales 13-12. And to be honest we had to cheat with guys diving out of the line-out.
“We milked a penalty and Brian McKechnie nailed it.”
The All Blacks went on to beat England 16-6 and Scotland 18-9 in the remaining tests in the tour.
After the earlier win over Ireland, it provided the All Blacks with their first-ever successful Grand Slam campaign.
8 Jul 2011, 14:13 pm
well John O’Neill and Sanzar welcome to the professional world of sport you stupid retarded f@ckwits. Why don’t the Aussies start fielding full strength scrums in every form of the game so we don’t have to continuously have uncontested scrums when it involves one of their teams.
Seems like the excuses for the world cup are arriving early this year. “The Republic” – sounds like something out of star wars – maybe we should start refferring to them as the “colony” (that old bat in Britain is still yanking their chains isn’t she)
8 Jul 2011, 14:15 pm
@Johnnyblue(johnnyblue)-239:
Suzie.
Hansie,
Caster,
Yeah right.
8 Jul 2011, 14:15 pm
The kiwis be diving long before the Italians in soccer.
8 Jul 2011, 14:16 pm
@cane(cane)-240: need a tissue?
8 Jul 2011, 14:16 pm
Now I get the BMW sponsorship.
These Boks are not build Ford Tough.
8 Jul 2011, 14:18 pm
@cane(cane)-243: wa ha ha ha you can’t win a world cup in 2 decades and you still blaming some kitychen help for it!!!!
8 Jul 2011, 14:19 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-210:
You scared of Bakkies?
8 Jul 2011, 14:20 pm
Still hanging onto Suzi LMAO, it’s so sad but great entertainment – she’s like your security blanket, at least she helps you sleep at night
8 Jul 2011, 14:20 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-242:
Your SARU signed the friggen Accord Kevvy.
Why sign the thing when you have no intention of honouring it.
Hypocrites, Liars and Perfidious.
8 Jul 2011, 14:21 pm
Mate this team looks average with the 21 so called injured players. As if TN doesnt mean anything in a world cup year. Are you happy to give up the mandella plate for the 5th time in the last 6 years?
8 Jul 2011, 14:22 pm
And now Sonny Bill has re introduced the dive must feel really proud to be a kiwi.
8 Jul 2011, 14:24 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-221: and what is your point? what was the record between NZ vs France going into that quarter-final? tell us Black Farce and then explain why the “seeds of doubt” didn’t stop france klapping your team.
8 Jul 2011, 14:26 pm
@cane(cane)-250: ag shame
8 Jul 2011, 14:27 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-231: Some interesting points you’ve made. How you can say it’s been professional for 15 years and then go on to say that it’s “developed as it should” when after 15 years Australia still has no domestic competition to speak of? Surely that should be earmarked as priority no1 when striving for development?
8 Jul 2011, 14:28 pm
@cane(cane)-250: your insults are so hurtful, i am really going to battle to sleep this evening. But I understand why you supporting Big Brother Aus so strongly, just like Tasmania you would be pretty lost without them. I’ve always wondered why Australia chose to keep Tasmania over NZ.
If you believe O’Neill’s rant is based around the decision to protect the Tri-Nations which the deal was actually signed for … then you are more gullible than i expected.
8 Jul 2011, 14:31 pm
John O’Neill is not a man to fhark about.
He has a way of getting even.
He may wait a while.
But he always ballances the ledger.
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-235: Hahahahahahahahaha. LMAO
Are you saying it makes little difference whether it’s the Bok first team or second team. A 19 – 0 and 49 – 0 result could always be on the cards?
It would be quite something if this so-called “B Team” goes on to beat Australia.
Imagine this:
1. Dean Greyling
2. John Smit (c)
3. Werner Kruger
4. Flip van der Merwe
5. Johann Muller
6. Deon Stegmann
7. Ashley Johnson
8. Danie Rossouw
9. Ruan Pienaar
10. Morne Steyn
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Wynand Olivier
13. Juan de Jongh
14. Bjorn Basson
15. Gio Aplon
16. Chilliboy Ralepelle
17. Coenie Oosthuizen
18. Alistair Hargreaves
19. Jean Deysel
20. Charl McLeod
21. Pat Lambie
22. Adi Jacobs
That’s still a pretty strong team; and they will all be highly motivated to prove themselves and gain a slot on the squad going to the World Cup.
8 Jul 2011, 14:33 pm
@cane(cane)-257: I hate to say it. But I like the villan in him. He is like the “Bricktop” .. from snatch” of Sanzar. A real bad ***, but I kinda like him.
8 Jul 2011, 14:34 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-259: and it would be rather funny if the Aussies had to resort to uncontested scrums against our “B” team.
8 Jul 2011, 14:35 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-259: C’mon thats a competitive super team at best. Thats not going to get the cookies in Aus or NZ. Are you really for resting all these players just to make sure their are no injuries for the WC. Your setting youself up for a TN bamboozling. That cant be good for the confidence going into WC. You need to establish combinations.
8 Jul 2011, 14:36 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-256:
Oooooooooooooh Kevvy.
Why are you laying this heavy trip on me?
Did the ******suckers who run the SARU sign the Accord or not.
8 Jul 2011, 14:37 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-220: um, tell me Poppa didn’t Graham Henry instruct all the teams in New Zealand to REST his all blacks for a complusory 2 weeks of this year’s Super Rugby competition, in whose interest is that rest, the broadcaster?
where did you see PdV telling the saffa coaches who to rest and how long they should be rested?
Hahahaha yeah we are really sh*tying ourselves for o’neills and the Aussies lol – do you guys actually listen to yourselves when you speak? “he will get even” – priceless!! We will be on the lookout for that horses head in our bed JOhnny boy
He may worry you boys which is why you kiss his *** so much but mist Saffa’s don’t give a sh*t about that self serving arrogant twat. Thanks for the earning though
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-260: Yeah we got the craftiest sneaky rugby chief ever. So happy to have him back. For a fat little accountant look alike, he sure has some balls. Reminds me of Ari from enterage. Gets **** done
8 Jul 2011, 14:38 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-261:
8 Jul 2011, 14:42 pm
@cane(cane)-263: I’m sure they did; but what makes some ballooka in a suit more credible than a medical professional.
That’s the problem with the boardroom ******* like O’Neill and your puppet masters at Sanzar; they think they know what is happening on the ground, when they clearly do not.
Div should jump at this opportunity – and get a free second opinion paid by Sanzar on all of his injuries. And then he can dispute it and even get a third free opinion for free. By then O’neill would have wasted thousands and thousands of dollars, the away leg would be over, and the Boks would have all the medical advice they could ever need leading into the world cup.
8 Jul 2011, 14:42 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-262:
As far as I’m aware, the entire Springbok management has already written off the Tri-Nations this year and cares not a hoot.
The Rugby World Cup is now the only goal.
Whether that’s right or wrong, well, that’s up to personal opinion.
But I do know there are a lot of Kiwis out there who would much rather win the World Cup this year than the Tri Nations…
I’m just saying that SANZAR is now jumping on the bandwagon and claiming this to be a sub-par B team and writing them off – and I’ve been around the block enough times to know that it’s very dangerous to write a team off.
Can you imagine the ridicule that O’Neill and Australian rugby will be subjected to if this bunch of “no-hopers” as they’ve been described does the business?
8 Jul 2011, 14:43 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-237: post 234 says it all champ keep denying it though…its fun to watch
8 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-260:
Hello Lilly.
There is not much to like about John O’Neill.
Where revenge in concerned, he never loses focus.
8 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
quite right transie, Kevvy leads with his head into every ruck cleanout in the game. In kevvys case it’s called hard but fair, in the wee angel bakkies’ case it’s called dirt.
8 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-266: He is crafty alright. I’m gonna get a pic of him and make it my screensaver, just for inspiration.
8 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-264:in fact the SA coach was criticising the the Sharks coach for not playing his players in the right position!! But we are the hypocrites ha ha
8 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@cane(cane)-271: You gotta admit that if this was a movie, you’d be enjoying how he gets under everyone’s skin and still gets his way.
8 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-269: Yeah I guess its is up to personal opinion, but sheesh i live for TN rugby, WC or not. DOnt get me wrong that team could still do well, but why not try and build some combo’s that you will be using at the WC.
The TN is still as interesting to me weather or not SA field their best team. I may even get a little more sleep the night before if the wallabies were playing that team, and not the duplessis, JDV, matfield, FDP, fourie et al that we have come to respect and somehwat fear.
8 Jul 2011, 14:50 pm
If the south Africans had any brains whatsoever they would Have put cheeky watson in charge of dealing with oneil and all sanzar issues. This oke is sommer the self-appointed boss.
8 Jul 2011, 14:51 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-276:
And I can guarantee you that Robbie Deans and Graham Henry are both shitting themselves about tomorrow’s match in Brisbane, they both can’t wait for the game to finish and know that there are no injuries.
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-265:
hahaha hehehe…
there’s so much comedy around here, honestly.
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-273: haha. WHo else could convince SANZAR to use an extended conference system? Yer we all know the reasons too (no local competition, weaker conference etc), but good luck trying to get me to admit it in a heated argument with my fellow saffa rugby brotheren living here in brisbane.
8 Jul 2011, 14:52 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-228: blah blah blah, make up all the “facts” as you go, i’ve never disappeared on any topic. the point is you schmucks are always acting holier than thou – graham henry AT LEAST announced his plan in 2006, as if that diminishes the negative impact that HAD on the Super14 and the disrespect the NZRU and Henry showed for Rugby Union.
peter de villiers warned these Sanzar okes BEFORE the comp started “Mindful that South African provincial sides that make the finals could be involved in 19 matches between February and July in three different time zones, De Villiers said: ”There is a concern that the players could physically be totally exhausted after the Super Rugby competition. The competition is going to be more intense and therefore more exhausting.” yet the same John o’Neill laughed it off in anticipation of more money from his new scheme.
pdv with his hands tied – because he cannot INSTRUCT saffa franchise coaches to “rest” his players for 2 compulsory weeks has done the next best thing he can! we all know not all 21 players are injured but we don’t need you kiwis crowing all over the show about “disrespect for rugby union” as if you’re squeaky clean.
8 Jul 2011, 14:53 pm
@cab(cab)-272:
Kevvy ……………………………………one solitary citing, in 10 years of pro-rugby. (acquitted on appeal)
Baxxies……………………………………10 siting a year, for 10 years of pro rugby.
8 Jul 2011, 14:54 pm
Thanks poopy you just keep referring me back to your posts when I have asked you to show me where I said 12 years- but you can’t find it lol.
Youve heard the old saying “sometimes it’s better to keep your mouth shut and let people think you’re an idiot than open it and confirm it” – wise words you should really pay attention to, might stop you looking so stupid around here
Anyway I’ll give you 1 more chance poops, pint me to the post where I said 12 years. Just give me the number. I’m waiting…..
8 Jul 2011, 14:55 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-278: I have had to change my underwear three times today. If genia or ioane goes down, the wallabies go down.
Quade, meh. O’conner would be a good test fly half. More reliable and a better kicker.
Only 1 reds forward will start for the wallabies this year (horwill). Slipper and Higgers maybe bench spots. NSW runs rugby in oz, and so expect a Tah forward pack for the wallabies
8 Jul 2011, 14:58 pm
Cane
u got ni argument from me that kevvy is a brilliant player, but perception is often skewed.
8 Jul 2011, 15:01 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-280:
I know.
8 Jul 2011, 15:02 pm
@cab(cab)-277: instead they sent a pansy like andy marinos who just went to dublin to take it up the arse from o’neil without even a wimper! cheeky would sort this o’neil oke out chop chop…
8 Jul 2011, 15:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-264: Trans, too easy mate…. did GH insist on all 21 players being rested for 2 weeks at the same time? of course not, did it significantly weaken the teams when players had their two week break? I think not… but please continue..
I remember the Saffa coach talking to the shark coach, so who knows what went on there huh?
8 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-275:
Lilly if this was a Movie,
the cast would be:
PdV…………….Krusty the Clown.
John O’Neill………….James Gandolfini.
The SARU Board……………………..The Marx Brothers.
The NZRFU……………………….The Magnificent Seven.
The Boks B Team………………..the Wild Bunch.
8 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
@cab(cab)-277: Well, when we had Andy Marinos it was a shambles. He couldn’t wait to bend over for everything that O’neil demanded. Marinos never fought for us.
8 Jul 2011, 15:04 pm
Professor Noakes…………………………….Eddie Murphy.
8 Jul 2011, 15:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-287: You said it.
@cane(cane)-289: James Gandolfini – hahahaha. I like it!
8 Jul 2011, 15:05 pm
@cane(cane)-291: Yessssssssssss. In Dr Doolittle!
8 Jul 2011, 15:05 pm
Springboks aren’t going to need much time to gel the majority of that team have been together for over 4 years. They need to be fully fit and rested. The 3N should never have been played this year, it finishes 2 weeks before the WC ridiculous!
Red – I agree about o’connor he is world class wish his Saffa mom had pushed him to play for us.
8 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-284: You don’t seem to like the Tah’s much. Not even Tah man!
8 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
It’s a situation where both sides have a valid point, although the Village Clown pushed it a bit further than necessary

Only solutuion I can see is a considerable penelty handede out to the offending Test team by a realignment of its TV revenuea, if the Boks don’t send their best available team while medical experts opinion would be that the players aren’t injured, then a certain portion of their TriNation taking will go to the other test teams
See how fast all those ‘injured’ players will ‘recover’!
Faster than Ndungane from his ‘sever neck injury’
8 Jul 2011, 15:07 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-284:
And likewise, for the All Blacks, can you imagine if Richie McCaw or Dan Carter goes down?
8 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
It’s crazy how much you saffas know about rugby cheifs/directiors and what they do etc. in oz, noone knows anything about the guys behind closed doors. we almost couldnt give a fark about them. It’s like theyre as important as coaches in your country. its crazy to see the contrast.
I dont even know the SA or NZ rugby directors names. Theyre all just a bunch of donut eating desk jockies to me.
8 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-283: I mentioned the 12 years in respect to SA only winning two games in NZ in that time, you professed STILL, in your very next reply, that Aussie hadnt won as many games in NZ in that time, I proved you wrong..
deal with it…
its there for all to see… backtracking now, just like PDV..
standing ovation here, just when I thought the circus couldnt get any funnier, you prove me wrong on that point…
8 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-298:
Don’t take it for granted,
it’s more a case where most made it up or supplement their tales by reading gossips in the rugby columns
No real knowledge
8 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
Smitty to captain the Boks for the first game in Sydney.
8 Jul 2011, 15:15 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-298:
What can I say, we are rugby mad in SA!
8 Jul 2011, 15:15 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-288: he was talking to him to PLAY captain Costus da Plod at HOOKER, which the kiwi schmuck in charge at the Sharks still didn’t do! hehehe
8 Jul 2011, 15:16 pm
@cane(cane)-289:
The Boks B Team is more like The Wild Geese!
8 Jul 2011, 15:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-303: Hey Heaven’s Game says Plum is now an adopted Natalian.
8 Jul 2011, 15:18 pm
John Sturgeon head of NZ rugby = the invisible man
O’Neill – the Joker
8 Jul 2011, 15:20 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-296:
Very good post hondo.
Well thought out.
8 Jul 2011, 15:21 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-305: hey Plum is a kiwi man, that won’t change! he is still secretly pining for that Hurricanes job but they won’t give it to him cos he is limited.
8 Jul 2011, 15:27 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-300: LOL.. wheres the OS story or has you mum backtracked on that bit of news
8 Jul 2011, 15:27 pm
Comedy gold there poopy drawers took you ages to cone back and that’s all you’ve got lol you’d make a terrible lawyer, they don’t allow you to fabricate stories son guess youve been doing it so long with your delusions of Suzi it’s second nature now
I never said 12 thanks for confirming that again now run along little boy
Hard to debate with you boys when you can’t even be straight with yourselves it’s hilarious!
8 Jul 2011, 15:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-308:
Plum is a Kiwi sure, but he is married to a Natalian.
Even when he was back in NZ coaching Wellington, he always said “they” have two homes. One in SA the other here.
8 Jul 2011, 15:32 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-310:
“delusions of Suzi”.
yeah right.
8 Jul 2011, 15:34 pm
No surprises he married a Saffa, have you seen the girls in NZ
no wonder your female rugby team are world champs…
8 Jul 2011, 15:36 pm
Cane – so you are still naive enough to believe Suzi existed? Or the ABs were intentionally poisoned? Like insaid whatever helps you sleep at night
8 Jul 2011, 15:41 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-314:
French Coach also said Tricolors got nobbled in 95.
You Okes were leaving nothing to chance. Nothing.
8 Jul 2011, 15:50 pm
The French coach covering his arse up in the stands 50 meters away saw it grounded yet the player with ball in hand said he came up short ! The guy who was right there – okay mate whatever floats your boat
You boys have issues
8 Jul 2011, 15:51 pm
@Johnnyblue(johnnyblue)-239:
pray tell
if ‘cheating’ is defined as “breaking the Laws of Rugby Union” in the Book of Laws (start Monty Python soundtrack please), then how is ‘dirty play’ NOT “cheating” ?
if Flo and Steggers and Brussow get penalised for killing the ball (and lets face it, the 1st two are major culprits here) then does THAT mean theyre ‘cheating’ ?
and, while youre at it
if Habadonna is frequently caught (on cameras, anyway) in FRONT of the kicker, in a team based around kick’n'chase, is THAT ‘cheating’ ?
if Bizzy, bless his little Fitzy-face impersonation n’all, is repeatedly caught handling the ball in the ruck, off his feet, whilst elbowing a scrumhalf in nthe face, is THAT ‘cheating’ ?
I’ll be waiting.
8 Jul 2011, 15:51 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-310: hehehe you just keep digging, its well known on this blog that I dont prescribe to the Susie theory..
8 Jul 2011, 15:55 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-316:
French Coach said his Team was deliberatey food poisoned in 95.
8 Jul 2011, 15:58 pm
LOl show me that post poopy drawers I’m still waiting….. It’s not great when you get caught out making up stuff eh but I guess you’re used to it. Just shom me where I said 12 can’t be hard even for someone special like you …
So you’re that kiwi I heard about who hasn’t been brainwashed about our little miss Suzi – there’s hope for you yet
8 Jul 2011, 15:59 pm
It’s weekend!!!! I’m off chaps. Have a wonderful weekend and enjoy the rugby!
8 Jul 2011, 16:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-248:
Im sure he is of you tho, Peaches.
and rightly so.
BaXXies is a gonner. Since his 5th ban and upteenth *sob sob* Im-a-Christian-I-Repent PR stunts, Dear BaXXies has played like Samson with a crew cut. A Lion with his nails cut and orthodontics.
Nah, if I was Krusty, and dont whisper this toooooooooooo loudly
I would select the Tall Timber in Tandem – Matfield and Bekker – and attempt to scare the living daylights out of teams in a RWC that will, undoubtedly, feature alot of positional line-kicking.
I also think Bekker is younger, and keener, and more athletic than the Big Galoot BaXXies, and something is needed in that pack to spark it.
Use or Lose it.
8 Jul 2011, 16:11 pm
@cane(cane)-311: are you suggesting that if i marry a maori chick then i’ll be half-maori or better yet a kiwi?
the guy is a kiwi through and through, he even goes to IRANZ to suckle some juice off mexted every off-season
8 Jul 2011, 16:11 pm
I think the players are injured, just that some are more injured than others and if it was not a World Cup year those that are not to badly injured would have had to play the Tri Nations even with niggles. So maybe what the coaches are doing is taking precautionary measures so that the players are fit when the World Cup comes along.
8 Jul 2011, 16:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-219:
some player, Joubert. Had everything but a smile.
8 Jul 2011, 16:36 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-253:
I dunno, von Trapp, what was your point raising ‘the QuarterF’ ? Losing to France, as SA would know, is no disgrace no matter where and when it is. France have had success in SA and NZ, I think theyve fulfilled their credentials – dont you ?
Not every battle needs to be fought before you win the war, Captain.
8 Jul 2011, 16:43 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-260:
He is a Prime Mo Fo, and I hate him dearly
but
SANZAR are lucky to have him when the Big Boys come calling.
If Safas dont realise that, then just add it to the collection.
8 Jul 2011, 16:49 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-269:
WPUID
of course, EVERY team wants to win the RWC ‘the most’ in a RWC year – that hardly makes the Bokke special.
However, the ABs want to EVERY trophy on offer in EVERY year. They want to win EVERY Test match, EVER.
Let the Boks focus on winning the Lottery once every 4 years.
The All Blacks have a strategic business link with ManU and the NY Yankees. These are teams that always want to win EVERYTHING.
Noone links up with Newcastle.
8 Jul 2011, 16:52 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-326: so you entered the fray without even knowing what my point was dimwit… hehehe..
8 Jul 2011, 16:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-281:
either you think in irregular font and execute different formats, but your process of logic now remarkably resembles cut’n'paste more than it ever has.
Are you, like Neo, now fighting battles in the Matrix, von Trapp ?
8 Jul 2011, 16:58 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-329:
your ‘point’ as delivered via a constant stream of other peoples opinion is often so vague and without so much as a tenuous link to reality to hold on to.
frankly, noone really knows WHAT your point IS, von Trapp.
8 Jul 2011, 17:04 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-331: blah blah blah, i’m suprised you didn’t mention baxxies in two successive posts, scratched record?
8 Jul 2011, 17:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-332:
have a good w/e, von Trapp. Catch up with all the news via your cut’n'pastes on Monday huh.
8 Jul 2011, 20:34 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-214:
Go and look where SA rugby has been these last 4 years.
For someone sitting at no3 you have a lot to say.
Show some respect little pric.
8 Jul 2011, 20:43 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-119:
Your prattling is just words in the wind. No rugby playing country can do better than be number 1, year in, year out. The fact that NZ is lagging behind in the WC count rankles but it’s no big deal because as night follows day the NZ boys are going to reel you in and overtake you on that score.
You just churn out endless splab.
8 Jul 2011, 21:11 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-320:
Rugby-3, perhaps you could tell us what it’s like sucking on the hind *** of the Aussies?
Let the words flow, you’ve had plenty of practice.
8 Jul 2011, 21:12 pm
tat
8 Jul 2011, 22:25 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-269: Most Kiwis want the ABs to win EVERYTHING…ALL THE TIME………LOSING IN THE BLACK JERSEY IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!
8 Jul 2011, 22:27 pm
@LITELOCK(LITELOCK)-338: No pressure though.lol
8 Jul 2011, 22:38 pm
Sorry PB hadnt read 328 when i posted these.
9 Jul 2011, 00:43 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-334:
Wow such strong words on an Internet forum I am literally crapping myself… NOT! You;re an idiot – answer my question, what have Aus won in the last 4 years? Have you ever been no 1 in the last 4 years Let me help you, the answer to both is NO. At least the Boks have won trophies and also won in NZ – run along littel boy and stop making a fool of yourself
Hope you enjoyed the lesson you idiot!
9 Jul 2011, 00:45 am
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-337:
You;re also a big man mouting off HOURS after the argument had finished. Try man up next time you p*ssy
9 Jul 2011, 03:31 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-341:
youre a genuine
PILLOCK
9 Jul 2011, 08:07 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-341:
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-342:
Many words, many turds!
We are ranked No 2 and we are happy with this. It means we are winning more than the Boks and a lot of other teams. A No 1 ranking is a big ask for a small rugby union nation but we box way above our weight.
In fact if one compared the SA player base with that of Australia, then the Boks should, like when they play Italy, thrash them with a cricket score.
That this does not occur is not a mystery to me and other Aussies but is obviously lost on you. Perhaps you think the refs are on the side of the Wallaby’s when they play the Boks?
Judging by your reaction to my posts, I can imagine it’s not a pleasant experience latched onto the hind tat. Feel free to enlighten us though.
9 Jul 2011, 09:41 am
BP = you should know, you are the ultimate pillock!
Inev – It was a simple question and you couldn’t answer so resoted to name calling – who’s the fool? We have achieved more in the last 4 years than Aus – FACT! So you’ve been No 2 for the last year whoopee ****** doo, will anyone remember that in the future – no. Will people remember who won the 07 WC – yes. SA have also won the 3N in that time & been No 1 in the world. We have won twice in NZ while you were on the back end of a 10 in a row whipping by them! So that says they have been more successful than Aus over the last 4 years and that was my point. SDdn’t realise it would be so difficult to understand for a simple mind like yours & your ignorant friend Black Panties.
And all your excuses – you are hilarious. You just can’t grow a pair and say yes the Boks have achieved more than Aus in the last few years. Nah rather talk about how you have a smaller players base, and you have been No2 (who remembers second best) for almost a whole year, blah blah. If that’s what excited Aussies good luck, I prefer to try and win things which we have & you haven’t
Now I’ll leave you to get back to w*nking over your John o’Neill poster before he wreaks revenge on the poor Saffa’s
I am off to enjoy my weekend, why don’t you both go play in the traffic
9 Jul 2011, 09:48 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-343:
Oha and Black Panties, I have been reading this blog for a long time now and enjoyed many posters and what intelligent rugby knowledge they are able to share. Reading your posts (or should I say being subjected to your posts) confirms time & time again what a complete 100%, hypocritical, prime NZ A*rsehole you are. Keep up the good work, you’re a credit to your nation. Thank f*ck I don’t judge all kiwi’s on you lad, because most I have come across are good guys – you are a complete tosser!
Happy Saturday, justice4
9 Jul 2011, 09:56 am
Play nicely girls! There is no doubt AB’s are the best in the world, whether or not they have won the World Cup in the last decade or not. International sport is about winning and being the best whenever you pull the jersey over your head. When you devalue the jersey, you disrespect your opposition.
9 Jul 2011, 10:03 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-347:
Agreed Bill – my point had nothing to do with the AB’s, I was responding to the Aussie cheerleader telling us how wonderful & better their rugby is & slating the Boks. Couldn’t back it up with facts though, but hey when have these Antipodean boys ever worries about facts…
9 Jul 2011, 10:08 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-348:
For sure! Sport is about competing and if you want to be the best you need to measure yourself against the best. If we lose, which is more than likely, we can’t say we sent our third team as history will reflect the poor performance and reflect it forever. PdV record will reflect the loss whether he makes an excuse for it or not.