Sanzar to probe Bok selections

The ARU has called on Sanzar to seek assurances from the Springboks that they will field their best available team during the Tri-Nations.

The ARU has questioned the veracity of a Bok injury list that includes 21 of South Africa’s best players. It would appear that coach Peter de Villiers is resting these players for the away leg of the Tri-Nations so that they will be fresh and ready for the World Cup later in the year.

The Sanzar countries have an agreement which ensures they do not damage any of its competitions through fielding weakened teams, and ARU chief executive John O’Neill said on Wednesday that Sanzar’s chief executive officer, Greg Peters, must investigate and determine whether the Boks are reneging on that agreement.

‘The difference between 2007 and now is that we now have a permanent Sanzar office with a CEO, who has the job of monitoring and policing such matters. He [Peters] will be following up on this announcement,’ O’Neill said.

‘A couple of weeks ago we had rumours coming out of the Republic that they may be sending an understrength team. We received assurances at the time that the only players not included would be genuinely injured. We have a joint venture agreement and a broadcasting agreement, and it is important that the three countries don’t just comply with the black letter of the law, but also the spirit of the contract. Joint ventures rely on people acting honourably and consistently.

‘We’re not in a position to second-guess the Springboks, and we also have our share of injured players. But it is nowhere near 21. The sheer size of the number of players who are injured is unusual,’ O’Neill said. ‘That’s why we have asked for assurances.’

349 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

By saying “……Joint ventures rely on people acting honourably..” is he suggesting that we are acting dishonourably?

• 102.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

F#ck O’Neill
    F#ck ARU
    F#ck SANZAR

This so-called “understrength ” Bok side is an awesome side, and how can it be understrength, when the so-called “best players” who played in 2010 got smashed?

Watch the new boys teach the ARU some lessons

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Inevitable(Inevitable)-89:

Fall out the wrong side of the bed again this morning?

• 104.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-62:

No players were pulled from the AB Test team.

The Boks pulled their players 5mins AFTER the full-strength touring teams left SA.

Nice for SA fans and sponsors then. Lucky for them, huh ?

• 105.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-93:

I hope you enjoyed your holiday in OZ.

How do think the Aussies are able to consistently maintain a top 3 ranking in world rugby.

Cryptonite?

• 106.cab: Reply to this comment

Every side and coach is desperate to win the world cup – SA is probably least so as the current holders and that lack of pressure might serve them exceptionally well.

In fact I would not be surprised if neither the ABs or SA win and come into the tournament looking decisevly over-cooked, and guess what heads should roll, notably the SANzAR administrators who are placing totally unrealistic demands on the players.

Do you actually blame PdV or Henry or White for resting their players to give them the best chance of winning the thing? Bladdy hypocrites / if u were the coach you’d show 2 fingers to oneil and rightfully so.

• 107.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“unilateral transparent circumvention ”

Had one of those last week.

Painful it was.

• 108.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-63:

the local lines went a bit quiet when BaXXies nearly killed a Safa (Aplon) with the same flying-headbutt technique that he was punished for.

There was also some notable disturbance on the line when Dear BaXXies then decided to reduce the Boks to 14 men – again – in Auckland after his reverse-headbutt on Jimmy the Bogan.

Justice4 the Apologists

• 109.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-100: No England for 5 years. Just doing a quick year in Oz before returning to the fairest Cape.

• 110.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-103:

I better change my nic to Grumpy!

• 111.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Inevitable(Inevitable)-105: Enjoy(ing) my holiday thank you.

I’m not sure what your argument is? They have no first class domestic Rugby Union competition here? I think that pretty much sums it up don’t you think? How do I think they field such a good side? Simple, they’re just bloody good sportsman in Australia.

• 112.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-72:

that speech also included the infamous line “and we would beat 1 team in the morning and the other in the afternoon”

Remember this was the HOST Nation, and as Old School as rugby still was in 1995, 3 major teams, their players and administrators ALL chose to vacate the room.

What noone even knew at that stage was that Louis still had 1 last rabbit to pull out of his self-serving hat, a Fatal Attraction with a local bunny-boiler named

Suzi

• 113.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Those clubs are not on the verge of collapse. Why? because millionaire Dave Thompson finances the Falcons and millionaire Brian Kennedy finances the Sharks. Leeds do not have such a millionaire backer and have been relegated, however Worcester do (Cecil Duckworth) and have been promoted. In fact all the clubs have a money man behind them, Saints have Barwell, Wasps have Hayes, Gloucester have Walkinshaw…etc etc. They’re not reliant upon crowds for survival and the same is true for the Top 14 clubs in France. Wasps have never had big crowds, their devotion to Adams Park has limited their growth.

Even if they did all struggle financially, the RFU has enough in reserve to bail them all out – which is essentially what the NZRU are doing for their provinces. NZ rugby is reliant upon the revenue created by the ABs which has to cover everything and it doesn’t always manage to, they’re even forecasted to make a loss from the WC. Being so close to the red, crowd attendance is crucial, as is on-field success (as they’re interlinked) and that’s why we hear this from O’Neill. How long is this situation sustainable? one has to wonder.

• 114.Neil: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat – in your earlier post you summed up well the issues facing Rugby Union in Australia. And it’s only going to get tougher because from what I understand the NRL television rights are up for renegotiation soon and the NRL teams are going to raise the salary caps considerably. This might mean the NRL have much more money to spend on players at all levels which might translate into yet more of the best Australian talent moving to league, never mind more marketing, etc.

I do think that this might be at the heart of O’Neil’s issues…he’s desperate and looking for a scapegoat for the declining fortunes of Australian rugby.

• 115.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sigh

Too nice weather to be at wurk today

• 116.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-111: Australia has never had a first class domestic competition. It has always been sustained by club rugby in Sydney and Brisbane, and then by country clubs. Before Super rugby, players would step up form club rugby to international rugby.

If any-thing, rugby in Australia is growing. This can be seen from the relative success of the Force (crowds wise) and the introduction of the Rebels. Those were both States where no professional rugby team existed, and where the club competitions were weak.

The club competitions are improving, gradually, and the base of professional Australia players has also grown from three teams – probably about 90 players in total – to 5 teams and 150 players in total. This also means that there are more proffesional spots available, and that upcoming Australian rugby players aren’t forced to sign for a League team if they want to play proffesional sport.

Add to this the addition of two new academies, and the effect that this will have on club rugby. The implementation of teams in Melbourne and Perth has also meant new rugby supporters in those cities, and that more rugby supporters aren’t lost to rugby league or Aussie rules.

Rugby will never be as big as league or AFL in Australia (for a number of reasons), but all in all, I would suggest rugby has grown slightly, or that the ground work is in place for it to grow slightly, rather than die, as you suggest.

• 117.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-81:

and yet Ruben Krugers ‘try’ was seen by all of SA ?

• 118.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-88:

Transie deals in smoke’n'mirrors, you know that, its his stock in trade. next thing you know, you’ll fall in to a von Trapp.

Move on.

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-87: “seeds of doubt?” bwahahahaha i bet you believe in fairies too :D RWC is a different kettle of fish, New Zealand had umpteenth tri-nations trophies and zilch to show in terms of RECENT world cup wins, i reckon the “seeds of doubt” have looong germinated into baobabs in kiwi players’ minds ;)

• 120.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Neil(Neil)-114: a poor WC could be very damaging for Australian rugby, Ireland looked bloody good at the end of the 6N and Italy are something of a bogey team for them. They do have a shot at winning this Tri Nations however which could be a big boost if they could pull it off. Perhaps O’Neill would be better off keeping schtum and allowing the Wallabies to benefit on the scoreboard from the rest and rotating that SA and NZ will be doing of key players.

• 121.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Neil(Neil)-114: This is also a myth. Rugby league is on the brink, or has already signed a billion dollar TV deal, and as you point out will raise the salary cap considerably.

However, Rugby League players are so far underpaid, that even a doubling of their salary may only just put them somewhere on par with rugby union players in Australia.

Lockyer, considered by some as one of the greatest ever rugby league players, has played for the same team for 15+ years, and earns a grand total of 600,000 per year. That is on par with O’Connor, and not considering O’Connor’s sponsorship and third party deals.

• 122.ricane: Reply to this comment

@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-101:

The comments at post 82 are suggesting that.

Personally as an AB supporter I think the less opportunities that the Boks coaches get to see that their A team are over the hill the better. If they are lying on the beach somewhere for the next couple of months and this fact is not realised until halfway through the RWC then it’s all good with me.

• 123.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-108: Every issue to be dealt with on its own merits.

Personally I saw nothing wrong with the Aplon clear out, in my book a penalty for illegal entry, no worse.
    The Cowan issue, Bakkies got what he deserved.

It does in no way detract from the unjust punishment he was subjected 2 re the BIL test.

• 124.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-88: what about RESPECT for Rugby Union? forget the little disregard the kiwis have for anyone else, how about respecting the GAME? imagine a crusaders team showing up sans carter, mccaw, mauger, williams, jack – it was a disgrace!

i’m asking you for the 2nd time, did you complain?

• 125.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-117: I dont understand your flow of logic.
    So.
    Because many SA’s believe Ruben Kruger scored, Benazzi is a liar?

• 126.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-106:

so

what youre saying is that youre HAPPY to take a large slice of the broadcasters wedge, from the an Agreement with the ink still drying

(and lets not forget, Cab, that SA gets a largER slice of that pie than either NZ or Aus)

the same wedge that pays enough money to keep most of your best players IN Sth Africa

but when it comes to honouring that Agreement with the same broadcaster, the Paymaster, then you consider it quite fine that 1 Partner, Sth Africa, then turns around and shouts

F.U.

youre saying thats OK ? youre saying that is a solid foundation for a working relationship going forward ?

• 127.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

Who cares what John O’Neill says. A big mouth of no consequence. Sanzar needs RSA more than the reverse and, given the schedule that SA teams have to endure perhaps that is something Sanzar needs to investigate as also is the quality of the refereeing fraternity.
    Don’t be a soft touch for the inferior tell them to get stuffed.

• 128.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-119: perhaps, but we’ve won a WC at home before… and with the crowd support favouring the ABs, instead of against, it may help..

but regardless

Eng have beaten the ABs twice in NZ, in 100 years
    SA have beaten the AB’s twice in NZ, in the last twelve years
    Aussie too havent won that many, I think theyve lost the last 11 at Eden Park but I cant be too sure of the exact figure..
    France have won 3 games against the ABs in NZ in the last 17 years..

so yeah, lots of baobabs for every team coming to NZ…

seeds of doubt… for sure, if the ABs beat SA’s best team IN SthAfrica, are they then going to be extremely confident when they land on our home soil? or are you hoping for the choke yet again? because, if you have been watching the last two years, the ABs can now play wide or in tight when the need arises, they are going to be very hard to beat at home, as the figures above suggest1

but I could be wrong….

• 129.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-125:

the logic says that everyone here says “Kruger scored”

but youre now saying that their opinions dont count – that noones opinion counts except the players ?

the 1995 ABs individually said they suffered food-poisoning on the eve of the RWC Final. So, by your reckoning, we should just take their word for it ?

• 130.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@ricane(ricane)-122: thats right. Kiwis should be laughing…

I dont understand why some of these other tossers are bleating so much. This is playing sraight into the AB’s hands. Players who should be getting game time are not, players who should be gelling are not, players who should be dropped because they are too slow will not.

The trinations should show the Boks that so many players are overhill but they will be protected by the resting bollocks..and when RWC comes the oldies will get run off the park, collect their pay cheques and ef off to europe.

In fact what it is worse when we loose with our kak skop and chase conservative game plan it will be too late

They only ones winning here are the Old boois and the Kwis..

We are not going to fluke it like the last RWC…

• 131.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-124: and I’ll ask you for the second time..

In 07, did the SANZAR “partners” categorically enter into an agreement that stated they would endeavour to play their best available players? I dont recall that they did, but I see you havent mentioned JW doing the same thing in the same year, doesnt sit well with your “point”, does it?

21 of your best suddenly being injured right after 4 or 5 of them competed a semi-final, finished the game and are now injured? lol cmon Trans, this is preposterous… duplicity at its finest!!

• 132.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@ricane(ricane)-122: you know your footy and keep it to the footy unlike bubble guts who just likes to dish to the yaapies without actually thinking through.

• 133.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-123:

the fact remains that Dear BaXXies has only ever been punished for approx 1% of the offenses he has committed.

The blogs here were outraged here when suddenly the victim was a Safa “could have killed him” and then said he should “never wear the Bok jersey again” after Jimmy the Bogan.

Justice4 his Apologists, a permanent STAIN on your rugby history.

• 134.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-129: No one’s opinion counts, except the referee’s.

I then looked at those closest to the action (the player carrying the ball) to affirm that the referee in fact made the correct call. Coz if anyone is in a position to dispute the ref’s call it would be him, dont you agree?

Which 1995 players? Josh Kronfeld emphatically rubbished the claims of food poisoning.

• 135.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Bludeks(Bludeks)-127:

Showing your face around here again, Bludik ? long season in Neanderworld, wasnt it.

• 136.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-133: If Gio wants to run with the big dogs he cant pisslikeapuppy.

What percentage of offenses Bakkies was punished for is irrelevant, it does not make him guilty in the Justice4 incident.

• 137.eye_gouger_kieran_read: Reply to this comment

Saders by 6!

• 138.Neil: Reply to this comment

Some of the comments posted on this article by (I presume) Australians are just plain silly.

Firstly – kicking out South Africa and introducing Argentina.

Yeah, good luck with that. From what I recall rugby is still amateur in Argentina and all their best players go to Europe to earn a wage. All due respect to the Argies as they’ve come a long way in recent times, but I can’t see them fielding competitive teams. Let’s see how O’Neil deals with a full strength Argentinean teams that aren’t as strong as South African B teams and getting flogged week in week out.

Secondly – 21 players injured does sound like a lot but before we’re accused of faking injuries let’s be careful not to hurl false accusations. Burger went off the field against the Crusaders with a broken thumb on Saturday. Suppose that was faked? Juan Smith has been injured for what, 12 months now? It’s not as if he’s suddenly been wrapped in cotton wool. Willem Alberts went off injured in his last game against the Sharks. I could go on, but by many accounts most of the players have genuine injuries. I know a lot of Australians are cynical by nature though and even if you showed them x-rays they probably wouldn’t believe it.

Thirdly, I think it was the poster ‘Blokkies’ who earlier made a good argument for the supposed ‘B’ team players being better than the ‘A’ players. This is something the Australians can’t understand us being sincere about because they don’t have the player depth we do. For many South African’s (myself included) Bryan Habana for example is not, and has not been for the past few years, the best wing in SA. The same can be said for a number of the supposed “1st choice” players that are injured. I for one now rate Juan de Jong higher than Jacques Fourie – if anything he poses more threat to the Australian backs than does Fourie.

And lastly, it’s been said by others, but the current Super 15 and Tri-Nations competitions are arguably hurting South African rugby more than they’re benefiting Australian rugby (and I know some Kiwis who feel the same about their competition).

• 139.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

i,for once,support the the medical staff for pulling these severly injured players.we can’t allow injured players on a rugby field….end of story.

• 140.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-134:

off you wobble to YouTube – search ‘food-poisoning’

Even 1 of your most distinguished Security Officers – Madibas personal Head of Security – said the players were suffering from poisoning.

schucks, what would he know – he wasnt a Doctor, right ?!

• 141.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-135: so, after reading Kracks post 132, who is he calling bubble guts?

it must be one of us two, but perhaps we could get a ref to adjudicate for us?

• 142.BringItHomeBoks: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-108: Lets get it straight – Cowan decided first to pull Bakkies back by holding onto his jersey (illegal) because his kick had got charged down (and Cowan is a dirty cnut).
    This was in full-view of Touch Judge and Ref both who did NOTHING (of course, it was All Black foul play!). Bakkies held his arms up in appeal while Cowa(rd)n was still hangin onto thim!
    Bakkies made an admittedly stupid attempt at revenge, but it was not unprovoked like your post suggests.

His hit on Aplon was bad and he was rightly hammered by Saffas on this site. Does this not prove that the Saffas are in fact NOT blind to Bok/SA players transgression? And their are no holy cows?

We are damned if we do and damned if we dont with you!

In contrast – Mealamu dives in with spectacular flying headbutt, and Kiwis are complaining that his ban was too long! And asking to take his “character” into account?!
    This – after moaning and whinging about Bakkies?!

And what about when Nonu tried to take Cowan’s head off? (I actually liked Nonu for about 5 mins then)??? Deathly silence from NZers.

Eish BP – pot, kettle, BLACK

• 143.eye_gouger_kieran_read: Reply to this comment

3 Springbok players played with broken bones! but NZ players complain cause they spuitpoep a bit? panzies! grow some balls!

• 144.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-135: bubble guts is outraged again….
    Listen here big girl stop flapping like a queen who’s wig has just blown off.

Surely there must be beter place to vent your spleen?

Surely there must be a better cause to fight than aparthied’s ghosts?

• 145.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-131:

youre entering that conversation on the mistaken foundation that Transie will offer a straight answer. In fact, you will probably find that he doesnt offer any answer at all – he disappears, like *MAGIC*

• 146.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-141: not you Pops you dont flap

• 147.ricane: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-130:
    Anyway if the 21 sooks think they are injured now they’ve got another think coming.
    By the time Samoa and Fiji have finished with them, at the beginning of the World Cup, then they will know what sore REALLY feels like!

• 148.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-140: That Rory guy?
    Memory is vague but I dont recall those to be his exact words.

• 149.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-145 : I know, he did it last night too… but hey, lets be nice to Trans, it appears his forensic business is starting to crumble around his ears… :lol:

• 150.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

if the aussie conference did not resembled a netball league they also might have had 21 players injured.the kiwis have perfected the art of cheating to such a fine point that most of their top players already had their rquired break this year.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.