Sanzar to probe Bok selections
8 Jul 2011
The ARU has called on Sanzar to seek assurances from the Springboks that they will field their best available team during the Tri-Nations.
The ARU has questioned the veracity of a Bok injury list that includes 21 of South Africa’s best players. It would appear that coach Peter de Villiers is resting these players for the away leg of the Tri-Nations so that they will be fresh and ready for the World Cup later in the year.
The Sanzar countries have an agreement which ensures they do not damage any of its competitions through fielding weakened teams, and ARU chief executive John O’Neill said on Wednesday that Sanzar’s chief executive officer, Greg Peters, must investigate and determine whether the Boks are reneging on that agreement.
‘The difference between 2007 and now is that we now have a permanent Sanzar office with a CEO, who has the job of monitoring and policing such matters. He [Peters] will be following up on this announcement,’ O’Neill said.
‘A couple of weeks ago we had rumours coming out of the Republic that they may be sending an understrength team. We received assurances at the time that the only players not included would be genuinely injured. We have a joint venture agreement and a broadcasting agreement, and it is important that the three countries don’t just comply with the black letter of the law, but also the spirit of the contract. Joint ventures rely on people acting honourably and consistently.
‘We’re not in a position to second-guess the Springboks, and we also have our share of injured players. But it is nowhere near 21. The sheer size of the number of players who are injured is unusual,’ O’Neill said. ‘That’s why we have asked for assurances.’

349 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All
8 Jul 2011, 11:39 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-136:
~guffaw~
Justice4
an indelible STAIN
no previous action in the history of rugby union even comes close to reaching the height of arrogance that this did, altho the dogmatic resistance of the SARU in refusing to pay the IRB fine does come quite close. Louis Luyt could dangle gold watches on the doors of the IRB like candysticks on a Christmas tree, and it wouldnt even come close.
8 Jul 2011, 11:39 am
@ricane(ricane)-147: ahh yes like 95 Samoa attempt decapitation of many Bok stalwarts. One of the dirtiest game ever in a RWC.
Whats was Samoa’s 15? The dirty high tackling pig? Lima?
8 Jul 2011, 11:40 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-142:
Cowan deserves everything he gets…he’s a halfback, say no more.
8 Jul 2011, 11:41 am
@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-150: true dat… wait until we have Walsh reffing the AB/SA semi (if both teams make it), he is a neutral after all representing the ARU..
8 Jul 2011, 11:41 am
@ricane(ricane)-153: hehehehe
8 Jul 2011, 11:42 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-141:
I suppose we could call in a referee, that should do it.
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-146:
whos the referee, Kevin ?
……….~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
8 Jul 2011, 11:42 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-151: “indelible STAIN” for you, one of the proudest moments in the history of Bok rugby, when we straightened our collective spine and fronted up to an injustice for me.
8 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-142:
was it BaXXies 1st offense ?
8 Jul 2011, 11:43 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-152: Brian Lima – wasnt he 12? Called The Chiropractor.
Only player to play in all World Cups (up to 2007) played in ’87 as a 17 year old, and 2007 as a 40-ish yr old. If I am not mistaken?
He smashed Liefling in 2003. But ja – very dirty in 95. Didnt Jouba break his hand in that game?
8 Jul 2011, 11:44 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-157:
Youre one of the best, most openminded SA bloggers here, Taahirah, and I always read your posts.
Id reconsider that one if I was you. Just in private tho.
8 Jul 2011, 11:45 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-159: Yep. Joost also had bones in his throat broken courtesy of a very high tackle.
8 Jul 2011, 11:45 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-116: You could well be right. But in my opinion throwing money at the creation of a new team, buying players from other parts of the country to make up the numbers and filling a stadium to a fraction of it’s capacity still smacks of desperation. If it drives growth then fair enough but you just get the impression that it could come crumbling down at any moment because the money has to stop somewhere and the support certainly isn’t there to fund it. I was under the impression League players earnt more than Union players in Oz? I also heard that Cooper is hot in demand on the League scene that he may move over in the not too distant future. I assumed that was because of the additional money? How can it be that State of Origin, with all the support and viewership it pulls in, is made up of players paid significantly less than Union players? Personally I think it’ll be a tough nut to crack. As I said earlier it just seems they have too many competiting sports here for Union, which sits right at the bottom, to even stand a chance.
8 Jul 2011, 11:46 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-160: Im being obtuse ofcourse.
Its not our proudest moment. But then I firmly dont believe it to be the crime against humanity you make it out to be either.
8 Jul 2011, 11:46 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-148:
Rory Steyn
Yes. And he’s a decorated Sth African.
Your memory seems very precise on certain points but, strangely, vague on others.
how odd.
8 Jul 2011, 11:47 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-164: Old age. I hit 30 recently.
8 Jul 2011, 11:48 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-158: Most probably not mate, but thats again a technicality that you are trying to focus on, instead of the WHOLE incident and lead up to his transgression, which is my point.
The Justice4 campaign had a valid point too – dont just look at that it involved Bakkies. It was about the IRB ruling that threatened the spirit and nature of rugby. Even the injured player (Jenkins) said Bakkies shouldnt have been punished!
When ABS complain you have the Head of Refs flying around the world to apologise to Henry! Kiwis have no idea of the special treatment the IRB gives to ABs. The rest of us have to scrap and protest and inch our valid points forward
8 Jul 2011, 11:49 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-152:
You’ll be pleased to know he has retired now –
I think i played against him a few weeks ago and he twinkle toed past me (I play flanker and was the first there after the kickoff), embarassing, until he did the same through our entire team and scored between the sticks!
I think Apoua Stewart will be the Samoan fullback this year – their team reads like a kiwi S15 team list (minus any ABS)
8 Jul 2011, 11:50 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-157: Hoorah Taahirah! (see what I did there?
) Good post.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-161: Ah yes I remember now – didnt stop Joost from tackling Lomu around the legs in the turning point of the final! Magic.
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-165: 30 is a kak one, its the beginning of the downhill. In about 20 years time you will be old and bitter like BP and Grant10
8 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@Neil(Neil)-114: One thing’s for sure, O’Neil certainly has his work cut out for him.
I should add though, that I do hope that it does grow in Oz and that I turn out to be wrong. It’s good for the sport. I’ve just struggled as a South African, where rugby is everything, to get used to seeing it treated as such a lowly and minority pastime in Oz.
8 Jul 2011, 11:51 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-160: just a shame the same cannot be said of you.your hatred of everything south african sometimes defy logic why you are still blogging here.
8 Jul 2011, 11:52 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-163:
Nowhere did I say it was a ‘crime against humanity’. I specifically kept it within the realms of the ‘history of rugby union’ which, of course, it is.
a permanent STAIN. Bundled up with the reaction by Krusty, the indignant stance by SARU and the whole Burger-gouging fallout (selecting him at the 1st possible opportunity), that despite 2009 being a great year on the scoreboard for SA Rugby, there was immeasurable harm for it off it. The stance now taken with 21 ‘injured’ players just proves that SA is happy to reap the benefits of large Broadcaster contracts, they just dont have any intention, whatsoever, of honouring their side of the bargain. They regard themselves above the Law – whether that be the Governing Body – IRB – or their Contractual Partners (Aus & NZ).
8 Jul 2011, 11:54 am
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-159:
I wouldnt call the Chiropractor a ‘dirty’ player. He had phenomenal timing in the tackle, thats what. He was never guilty of ‘dirty’ crimes like eye-gouging, or kicking to the head or spear tackles.
8 Jul 2011, 11:55 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-165:
thats like being a teenager around here, respect your Elders !
8 Jul 2011, 11:58 am
Lima is no De Wet Barry!
8 Jul 2011, 11:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-128: please discuss the head-to-head records and how you think it will all unravel but don’t give me tosh about “seeds of doubt” as if that is an exact science…we beat you in 2009 and many saffas including keo were going on about a “psychological hold” the boks now had on the all blacks, last year we got walloped – what now of the “psychological hold”?
it’s all rubbish, so don’t follow them
8 Jul 2011, 12:01 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-166:
the Bogan committed an offense, no doubt there.
But BaXXies got away with his flying-headbutts for YEEEEEEEEARS without being pulled up, no arms, horizontal leverage, shoulders and head making impact and taking players OUT
So he finally breaks a players ribs with the very same technique – NO ARMS !!!!! – and youre/SARU saying he was vicitimised ?!
and dont bore me with “A.Jones said it was OK” because A.Jones does not make the laws of Rugby Union. The IRB issued a YouTube clip 6mths BEFORE the Lions tour’09 entitled ‘Dangerous Play’ and guess who featured prominently with his flying-headbutts ??!!! 6mths BEFORE
Justice4farksake
go check BaXXies hit on S.Mortlock. Its horrific.
8 Jul 2011, 12:04 pm
How would O’Neill know our best team from our second best team?
The tour party might actually be the first choice to many bloggers here.
8 Jul 2011, 12:05 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-161:
and lets not forget the song’n'dance when Burger was banned for an elbow in the throat.
8 Jul 2011, 12:06 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-168:
and less prone to being fooled by BS
BaXXies !
8 Jul 2011, 12:08 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-168:
hope you enjoyed his reply at 163 then
BaXXXXXies !
8 Jul 2011, 12:09 pm
Anyone got some spare Kleenex tissues for these Aussie and Kiwi boys, never heard so much crying before! Oh and Inevitible, for all your Aussie rugby cheerleading please remind me what you guys have won in the last 10 years? Let me help you…… Nothing
8 Jul 2011, 12:10 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-175:
please, dont highlight the arrogance of coaching that if by a more astute person, they could have had that hold for a few seasons, but he rested on his laurels… or is FDP that important that you guys cant win without him?
as for proof of seeds of doubt, well everyone calls the choke as a seed of doubt, the fact it took the boks 10 years to win in NZ, and 70 odd years to win in Dunedin would give my “psychological hold” theory some credence… one could same the same of Ellis park for the ABs..
hope this answers it for you,
plus, with the anzac reffing conspiracy, we have enough of a “psychological hold” on you guys already
8 Jul 2011, 12:19 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-172: Sorry – bad typing mate. I also wouldnt call Lima dirty (or anymore dirty than any other centre). I meant that game in 95 was very dirty.
8 Jul 2011, 12:20 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-157: be careful you will be taken from pillar to post on the arm band issue, on bakkies, on tutus & the bushveld but nothing on the topic you were actually discussing, according to black panty everything thing everyone else does pales in comparison to anything SA has done before…kevvy head butts and what you’re hear is schalk is a gouger
@eye_gouger_kieran_read(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-174: Hahahaha – or Andre Snyman
or Robbie Fleck!
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-178: Do you mean Smit being banned for elbow in French throat?
8 Jul 2011, 12:22 pm
@willievz(willievz)-177: Presies! Paar van daai spelers is defnitief my eerste keuse!
8 Jul 2011, 12:24 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-183:
You Safas are priceless – celebrate foul play (Justice4) and the toughness of the average Sth African on 1 hand and then when the opposition give you some back (usually legitimate tackles like Lima), then very quick to judge that they were “dirty”.
8 Jul 2011, 12:25 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-182: fine, if you really are desperate to clutch in to this “if the saffas are beaten home & away in this years tri-nations it might sow seeds of doubt re RWC” rubbish theory
8 Jul 2011, 12:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-184:
Capt von Trapp
you will also recall that I was outspoken that Mealamu deserved a LONG BAN for his spear tackle on BOD. I also said, at the time, that Mealamus headbutt “deserved 1-2 weeks’, given it was a 1st-Offense – which is what he subsequently got.
Or does Transformation Forensic Services only work for the highest bidder ?
8 Jul 2011, 12:28 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-182: at least we can still count on the european reffing conspiracy to make sure you bomb out of another wc…..or is that the french now?
8 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-186:
Burger copped a ban at RWC’07. memory says it was against Tonga (?)
8 Jul 2011, 12:29 pm
Can’t blame the kiwi public from not wanting to watch the super 15, having to put up with years of bias referee’s. They have players cheating and they get called hero’s. Got Prima dona’s worse than soccer players diving, holding shirt’s it’s a disgrace.
8 Jul 2011, 12:30 pm
@BringItHomeBoks(bokfan1)-186:
altho you might be confusing the Smit-elbow-to-throat with the Brad Thorn incident.
8 Jul 2011, 12:32 pm
@Johnnyblue(johnnyblue)-193:
so is eye-gouging and then making a tutu-joke out of it and selecting the player again asap like it never happened.
(that ones for you, von Trapp)
8 Jul 2011, 12:33 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-181:
Who crying?
I’m glad the clown is breaking contract with his pack of lies – it will backfire badly on the team.
And the Boks trophy cupboard isn’t eactly overflowing at present – just one lonely wee bill in the corner, which you will need to dust off and give away in a few weeks!
8 Jul 2011, 12:34 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-189: youre the one whose clutching Trans…
so you think the bokke losing both home and away in the 3Ns will have ABSOLUTELY no effect on the team come WC semi and they happen to face the ABs or Aussies?
so youre saying there is no psychological impact in 4 consecutive losses? really?
fair enough, I expect we wont ever hear about choking or anything because apparently theres no psychological impact in sport
8 Jul 2011, 12:37 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-192: Oooh yes, I remember now.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-194: Dont think so – Thorne picked Smit up after the whistle and dumped him into the ground in front of the Ref, with Smit appealing even before he was slammed into the ground. There were no elbows involved as I remember?
(and to show that I wont pick out isolated events as per the Bakkies headbutt conversation, Smit DID push Thorne’s pock-marked face into the ground in the ruck before. Definitely a rational reaction from Thorne. Not like Bakkies’ attempted headbutt which was SOOOO evil)
8 Jul 2011, 12:45 pm
2 acts were criticised by the broadcasters in ’07 and they are listed below, none was deemed worse or less than the other as some kiwis here would like us to believe.
Broadcasters slam Sanzar
13 Jul 2007
TV broadcasters have criticised Sanzar for allowing understrength teams to play in the Super 14 and Tri-Nations this year.
All Blacks coach Graham Henry rested his top players during the first half of the Super 14, while Jake White left his best 20 Boks at home for the away leg of the Tri-Nations. This has predictably not gone down with the broadcasters “ Sky Sports (New Zealand), Fox Sports (Australia) and SuperSport (South Africa) “ or News Corp itself, which paid $350 million for the TV rights from 2006 to 2010.
According to the Sydney Morning Herald, Sanzar officials were told that they will have to convince the broadcasters that the best possible provincial and national teams will play in the Super 14 and Tri Nations in the next World Cup year, 2011′“ if the deal is renewed
Meanwhile, the ARU is expected on Friday to ask Sanzar to support the introduction of the new experimental rules “the Stellenbosch Laws“ in all Super 14, domestic Tests and Tri-Nations fixtures from next year.
All eight of these laws, which are aimed at simplifying the game and encouraging more attacking play, will be used in the inaugural Australian Rugby Championship that starts next month.
8 Jul 2011, 12:47 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-197: nope, pdv knows exactly what he is doing
the boks lost the tri-nations in ’07 and bang we won the trophy “psychological scars and all”
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All