Sanzar to probe Bok selections
8 Jul 2011
The ARU has called on Sanzar to seek assurances from the Springboks that they will field their best available team during the Tri-Nations.
The ARU has questioned the veracity of a Bok injury list that includes 21 of South Africa’s best players. It would appear that coach Peter de Villiers is resting these players for the away leg of the Tri-Nations so that they will be fresh and ready for the World Cup later in the year.
The Sanzar countries have an agreement which ensures they do not damage any of its competitions through fielding weakened teams, and ARU chief executive John O’Neill said on Wednesday that Sanzar’s chief executive officer, Greg Peters, must investigate and determine whether the Boks are reneging on that agreement.
‘The difference between 2007 and now is that we now have a permanent Sanzar office with a CEO, who has the job of monitoring and policing such matters. He [Peters] will be following up on this announcement,’ O’Neill said.
‘A couple of weeks ago we had rumours coming out of the Republic that they may be sending an understrength team. We received assurances at the time that the only players not included would be genuinely injured. We have a joint venture agreement and a broadcasting agreement, and it is important that the three countries don’t just comply with the black letter of the law, but also the spirit of the contract. Joint ventures rely on people acting honourably and consistently.
‘We’re not in a position to second-guess the Springboks, and we also have our share of injured players. But it is nowhere near 21. The sheer size of the number of players who are injured is unusual,’ O’Neill said. ‘That’s why we have asked for assurances.’

349 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
8 Jul 2011, 14:21 pm
Mate this team looks average with the 21 so called injured players. As if TN doesnt mean anything in a world cup year. Are you happy to give up the mandella plate for the 5th time in the last 6 years?
8 Jul 2011, 14:22 pm
And now Sonny Bill has re introduced the dive must feel really proud to be a kiwi.
8 Jul 2011, 14:24 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-221: and what is your point? what was the record between NZ vs France going into that quarter-final? tell us Black Farce and then explain why the “seeds of doubt” didn’t stop france klapping your team.
8 Jul 2011, 14:26 pm
@cane(cane)-250: ag shame
8 Jul 2011, 14:27 pm
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-231: Some interesting points you’ve made. How you can say it’s been professional for 15 years and then go on to say that it’s “developed as it should” when after 15 years Australia still has no domestic competition to speak of? Surely that should be earmarked as priority no1 when striving for development?
8 Jul 2011, 14:28 pm
@cane(cane)-250: your insults are so hurtful, i am really going to battle to sleep this evening. But I understand why you supporting Big Brother Aus so strongly, just like Tasmania you would be pretty lost without them. I’ve always wondered why Australia chose to keep Tasmania over NZ.
If you believe O’Neill’s rant is based around the decision to protect the Tri-Nations which the deal was actually signed for … then you are more gullible than i expected.
8 Jul 2011, 14:31 pm
John O’Neill is not a man to fhark about.
He has a way of getting even.
He may wait a while.
But he always ballances the ledger.
@youknowwho(youknowwho)-235: Hahahahahahahahaha. LMAO
Are you saying it makes little difference whether it’s the Bok first team or second team. A 19 – 0 and 49 – 0 result could always be on the cards?
It would be quite something if this so-called “B Team” goes on to beat Australia.
Imagine this:
1. Dean Greyling
2. John Smit (c)
3. Werner Kruger
4. Flip van der Merwe
5. Johann Muller
6. Deon Stegmann
7. Ashley Johnson
8. Danie Rossouw
9. Ruan Pienaar
10. Morne Steyn
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Wynand Olivier
13. Juan de Jongh
14. Bjorn Basson
15. Gio Aplon
16. Chilliboy Ralepelle
17. Coenie Oosthuizen
18. Alistair Hargreaves
19. Jean Deysel
20. Charl McLeod
21. Pat Lambie
22. Adi Jacobs
That’s still a pretty strong team; and they will all be highly motivated to prove themselves and gain a slot on the squad going to the World Cup.
8 Jul 2011, 14:33 pm
@cane(cane)-257: I hate to say it. But I like the villan in him. He is like the “Bricktop” .. from snatch” of Sanzar. A real bad ***, but I kinda like him.
8 Jul 2011, 14:34 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-259: and it would be rather funny if the Aussies had to resort to uncontested scrums against our “B” team.
8 Jul 2011, 14:35 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-259: C’mon thats a competitive super team at best. Thats not going to get the cookies in Aus or NZ. Are you really for resting all these players just to make sure their are no injuries for the WC. Your setting youself up for a TN bamboozling. That cant be good for the confidence going into WC. You need to establish combinations.
8 Jul 2011, 14:36 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-256:
Oooooooooooooh Kevvy.
Why are you laying this heavy trip on me?
Did the ******suckers who run the SARU sign the Accord or not.
8 Jul 2011, 14:37 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-220: um, tell me Poppa didn’t Graham Henry instruct all the teams in New Zealand to REST his all blacks for a complusory 2 weeks of this year’s Super Rugby competition, in whose interest is that rest, the broadcaster?
where did you see PdV telling the saffa coaches who to rest and how long they should be rested?
Hahahaha yeah we are really sh*tying ourselves for o’neills and the Aussies lol – do you guys actually listen to yourselves when you speak? “he will get even” – priceless!! We will be on the lookout for that horses head in our bed JOhnny boy
He may worry you boys which is why you kiss his *** so much but mist Saffa’s don’t give a sh*t about that self serving arrogant twat. Thanks for the earning though
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-260: Yeah we got the craftiest sneaky rugby chief ever. So happy to have him back. For a fat little accountant look alike, he sure has some balls. Reminds me of Ari from enterage. Gets **** done
8 Jul 2011, 14:38 pm
@kevin w(kevin w)-261:
8 Jul 2011, 14:42 pm
@cane(cane)-263: I’m sure they did; but what makes some ballooka in a suit more credible than a medical professional.
That’s the problem with the boardroom ******* like O’Neill and your puppet masters at Sanzar; they think they know what is happening on the ground, when they clearly do not.
Div should jump at this opportunity – and get a free second opinion paid by Sanzar on all of his injuries. And then he can dispute it and even get a third free opinion for free. By then O’neill would have wasted thousands and thousands of dollars, the away leg would be over, and the Boks would have all the medical advice they could ever need leading into the world cup.
8 Jul 2011, 14:42 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-262:
As far as I’m aware, the entire Springbok management has already written off the Tri-Nations this year and cares not a hoot.
The Rugby World Cup is now the only goal.
Whether that’s right or wrong, well, that’s up to personal opinion.
But I do know there are a lot of Kiwis out there who would much rather win the World Cup this year than the Tri Nations…
I’m just saying that SANZAR is now jumping on the bandwagon and claiming this to be a sub-par B team and writing them off – and I’ve been around the block enough times to know that it’s very dangerous to write a team off.
Can you imagine the ridicule that O’Neill and Australian rugby will be subjected to if this bunch of “no-hopers” as they’ve been described does the business?
8 Jul 2011, 14:43 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-237: post 234 says it all champ keep denying it though…its fun to watch
8 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-260:
Hello Lilly.
There is not much to like about John O’Neill.
Where revenge in concerned, he never loses focus.
8 Jul 2011, 14:44 pm
quite right transie, Kevvy leads with his head into every ruck cleanout in the game. In kevvys case it’s called hard but fair, in the wee angel bakkies’ case it’s called dirt.
8 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-266: He is crafty alright. I’m gonna get a pic of him and make it my screensaver, just for inspiration.
8 Jul 2011, 14:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-264:in fact the SA coach was criticising the the Sharks coach for not playing his players in the right position!! But we are the hypocrites ha ha
8 Jul 2011, 14:47 pm
@cane(cane)-271: You gotta admit that if this was a movie, you’d be enjoying how he gets under everyone’s skin and still gets his way.
8 Jul 2011, 14:48 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-269: Yeah I guess its is up to personal opinion, but sheesh i live for TN rugby, WC or not. DOnt get me wrong that team could still do well, but why not try and build some combo’s that you will be using at the WC.
The TN is still as interesting to me weather or not SA field their best team. I may even get a little more sleep the night before if the wallabies were playing that team, and not the duplessis, JDV, matfield, FDP, fourie et al that we have come to respect and somehwat fear.
8 Jul 2011, 14:50 pm
If the south Africans had any brains whatsoever they would Have put cheeky watson in charge of dealing with oneil and all sanzar issues. This oke is sommer the self-appointed boss.
8 Jul 2011, 14:51 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-276:
And I can guarantee you that Robbie Deans and Graham Henry are both shitting themselves about tomorrow’s match in Brisbane, they both can’t wait for the game to finish and know that there are no injuries.
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-265:
hahaha hehehe…
there’s so much comedy around here, honestly.
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-273: haha. WHo else could convince SANZAR to use an extended conference system? Yer we all know the reasons too (no local competition, weaker conference etc), but good luck trying to get me to admit it in a heated argument with my fellow saffa rugby brotheren living here in brisbane.
8 Jul 2011, 14:52 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-228: blah blah blah, make up all the “facts” as you go, i’ve never disappeared on any topic. the point is you schmucks are always acting holier than thou – graham henry AT LEAST announced his plan in 2006, as if that diminishes the negative impact that HAD on the Super14 and the disrespect the NZRU and Henry showed for Rugby Union.
peter de villiers warned these Sanzar okes BEFORE the comp started “Mindful that South African provincial sides that make the finals could be involved in 19 matches between February and July in three different time zones, De Villiers said: ”There is a concern that the players could physically be totally exhausted after the Super Rugby competition. The competition is going to be more intense and therefore more exhausting.” yet the same John o’Neill laughed it off in anticipation of more money from his new scheme.
pdv with his hands tied – because he cannot INSTRUCT saffa franchise coaches to “rest” his players for 2 compulsory weeks has done the next best thing he can! we all know not all 21 players are injured but we don’t need you kiwis crowing all over the show about “disrespect for rugby union” as if you’re squeaky clean.
8 Jul 2011, 14:53 pm
@cab(cab)-272:
Kevvy ……………………………………one solitary citing, in 10 years of pro-rugby. (acquitted on appeal)
Baxxies……………………………………10 siting a year, for 10 years of pro rugby.
8 Jul 2011, 14:54 pm
Thanks poopy you just keep referring me back to your posts when I have asked you to show me where I said 12 years- but you can’t find it lol.
Youve heard the old saying “sometimes it’s better to keep your mouth shut and let people think you’re an idiot than open it and confirm it” – wise words you should really pay attention to, might stop you looking so stupid around here
Anyway I’ll give you 1 more chance poops, pint me to the post where I said 12 years. Just give me the number. I’m waiting…..
8 Jul 2011, 14:55 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-278: I have had to change my underwear three times today. If genia or ioane goes down, the wallabies go down.
Quade, meh. O’conner would be a good test fly half. More reliable and a better kicker.
Only 1 reds forward will start for the wallabies this year (horwill). Slipper and Higgers maybe bench spots. NSW runs rugby in oz, and so expect a Tah forward pack for the wallabies
8 Jul 2011, 14:58 pm
Cane
u got ni argument from me that kevvy is a brilliant player, but perception is often skewed.
8 Jul 2011, 15:01 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-280:
I know.
8 Jul 2011, 15:02 pm
@cab(cab)-277: instead they sent a pansy like andy marinos who just went to dublin to take it up the arse from o’neil without even a wimper! cheeky would sort this o’neil oke out chop chop…
8 Jul 2011, 15:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-264: Trans, too easy mate…. did GH insist on all 21 players being rested for 2 weeks at the same time? of course not, did it significantly weaken the teams when players had their two week break? I think not… but please continue..
I remember the Saffa coach talking to the shark coach, so who knows what went on there huh?
8 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-275:
Lilly if this was a Movie,
the cast would be:
PdV…………….Krusty the Clown.
John O’Neill………….James Gandolfini.
The SARU Board……………………..The Marx Brothers.
The NZRFU……………………….The Magnificent Seven.
The Boks B Team………………..the Wild Bunch.
8 Jul 2011, 15:03 pm
@cab(cab)-277: Well, when we had Andy Marinos it was a shambles. He couldn’t wait to bend over for everything that O’neil demanded. Marinos never fought for us.
8 Jul 2011, 15:04 pm
Professor Noakes…………………………….Eddie Murphy.
8 Jul 2011, 15:04 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-287: You said it.
@cane(cane)-289: James Gandolfini – hahahaha. I like it!
8 Jul 2011, 15:05 pm
@cane(cane)-291: Yessssssssssss. In Dr Doolittle!
8 Jul 2011, 15:05 pm
Springboks aren’t going to need much time to gel the majority of that team have been together for over 4 years. They need to be fully fit and rested. The 3N should never have been played this year, it finishes 2 weeks before the WC ridiculous!
Red – I agree about o’connor he is world class wish his Saffa mom had pushed him to play for us.
8 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-284: You don’t seem to like the Tah’s much. Not even Tah man!
8 Jul 2011, 15:06 pm
It’s a situation where both sides have a valid point, although the Village Clown pushed it a bit further than necessary

Only solutuion I can see is a considerable penelty handede out to the offending Test team by a realignment of its TV revenuea, if the Boks don’t send their best available team while medical experts opinion would be that the players aren’t injured, then a certain portion of their TriNation taking will go to the other test teams
See how fast all those ‘injured’ players will ‘recover’!
Faster than Ndungane from his ‘sever neck injury’
8 Jul 2011, 15:07 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-284:
And likewise, for the All Blacks, can you imagine if Richie McCaw or Dan Carter goes down?
8 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
It’s crazy how much you saffas know about rugby cheifs/directiors and what they do etc. in oz, noone knows anything about the guys behind closed doors. we almost couldnt give a fark about them. It’s like theyre as important as coaches in your country. its crazy to see the contrast.
I dont even know the SA or NZ rugby directors names. Theyre all just a bunch of donut eating desk jockies to me.
8 Jul 2011, 15:08 pm
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-283: I mentioned the 12 years in respect to SA only winning two games in NZ in that time, you professed STILL, in your very next reply, that Aussie hadnt won as many games in NZ in that time, I proved you wrong..
deal with it…
its there for all to see… backtracking now, just like PDV..
standing ovation here, just when I thought the circus couldnt get any funnier, you prove me wrong on that point…
8 Jul 2011, 15:14 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-298:
Don’t take it for granted,
it’s more a case where most made it up or supplement their tales by reading gossips in the rugby columns
No real knowledge
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All