Blacks cut senior boys

The All Blacks have named a Tri-Nations squad featuring some notable absentees.

The inclusion of Highlanders lock Jarrad Hoeata is dominating the back pages in New Zealand, but the players not in the mix are more interesting. Among those are men previously favoured by Henry – Joe Rokocoko, Neemia Tialata and Luke McAlister.

Furthermore, the duo of Cory Jane and Sitiveni Sivivatu only make the squad as cover for Isaia Toeava (hip), Hosea Gear (hamstring) and Israel Dagg (thigh muscle). The five have, however, done little to aid their cause this season.

With Tony Woodcock still injured, the Crusaders’ impressive prop Wyatt Crockett is included in the group. Corey Flynn, Richard Kahui and Piri Weepu also return after injury ruled them out of contention for last year’s Grand Slam tour to the northern hemisphere. Crusaders wing Zac Guildford receives a recall on the back of a good Super Rugby campaign.

Henry has backed Colin Slade as his deputy to flyhalf Dan Carter, despite two broken jaws forcing him to miss the bulk of the season. This is the most worrying position for the All Blacks, with a massive gulf in quality between the incumbent and his replacements.

Henry said he placed a high premium on winning the Tri-Nations, even though the World Cup is a primary focus.

‘The Tri Nations also remains an important competition for the team this year. We are proud of the record we have achieved over the years and the fact that we have held the Bledisloe Cup since 2003 and it is crucial as we look to build towards the Rugby World Cup,’ he said.

All Black Tri-Nations squad -

Backs: Mils Muliaina, Israel Dagg, Isaia Toeava, Hosea Gear, Zac Guildford, Richard Kahui, Conrad Smith, Sonny Bill Williams, Ma’a Nonu, Dan Carter, Colin Slade, Jimmy Cowan, Andy Ellis, Piri Weepu

Forwards: Kieran Read, Richie McCaw (c), Jerome Kaino, Adam Thomson, Liam Messam, Brad Thorn, Ali Williams, Sam Whitelock, Jarrad Hoeata, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, John Afoa, Tony Woodcock, Keven Mealamu, Corey Flynn, Andrew Hore

Injury replacements: Wyatt Crockett, Cory Jane, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Ben Smith.

243 Comments

• 1.Siyavuna: Reply to this comment

If DC gets injured or his indifferent form continues the AB’s are goin to have a scary WC…..

• 2.Siyavuna: Reply to this comment

AB Dragons, BTW!!!!

• 3.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Siyavuna(Siyavuna)-1: If DC gets injured, kiwis won’t win, simple

• 4.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Fark, the ABs select Piri piri Bushpig?

Its all over rover.

• 5.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Piri’s as good as any and he’s a very good goalkicker too. Robbie Freuan is unlucky not to make the list. Slade’s good #10 backup.

• 6.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Piri’s as good as any… 30kgs lighter.

ABs quota player?

• 7.gretep: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-6:

keo’s quota blogger…..

• 8.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gretep(gretep)-7: Your Mum?

• 9.ricane: Reply to this comment

I’d like to see Cruden on with Piri; thay have as good a combination going as Genia/Cooper. Cruden was given a list of ‘work ons’ which he did very well and deserves to be rewarded IMO.

Ben Smith deserves to be there more than Jane on form but I guess they’re hoping Jane will pull himself together in a black jersey.

They should have another specialist openside flanker, but I assume they are intent on working Richie hard to get him back into matchfitness and his usual top class form.

Apart from that the squad is acceptable to me and as expected.

• 10.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

Pretty impressive, but not unbeatable. Reds beat the bulk of this team. The addition of Ali, and Kaino will add value. Despite the big hu ha about the Boks C team could blow up big time in the kissing cousins faces. If the Boks win or even lose marginaly, the worry will be excaberated knowing the Boks best await at home and on the way to defend their title! Go Bokke!

• 11.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

robbie freuen very unlucky.

he’s playing fantastic rugby, he’d be my preferred 13 if i was henry….particularly if henry goes the dan carter-sonny bill route at 10/12.

combinations/combinations

• 12.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

1. Tony Woodcock…………………. Dean Greyling
    2. Keven Mealamu………………… John Smit (c)
    3. Owen Franks…………………….. Werner Kruger
    4. Brad Thorn………………………… Flip vd Merwe
    5. Ali Williams……………………….. Johann Muller
    6. Jerome Kaino……………………. Deon Stegmann
    7. Richie McCaw (c)………………. Jean Deysel
    8. Keiran Reid……………………….. Danie Rossouw

9. Jimmy Cowan……………………. Ruan Pienaar
    10. Dan Carter……………………….. Lwazi Mvovu
    12. SB Williams……………………… Wynand Olivier
    13. Conrad Smith…………………… Juan de Jongh
    14. Hosea Gear……………………… Bjorn Basson
    15. Mils Muliaina…………………….. Patrick Lambie

16. Andrew Hore…………………….. Adriaan Strauss
    17. John Afoa………………………….. CJ vd Linde
    18. Sam Whitelock…………………. Al Hargreaves
    19. Adam Thomson……………….. Heinrich Brussow
    20. Andy Ellis………………………….. Charl McLeod
    21. Colin Slade………………………. Adi Jacobs
    22. Isaia Toeava…………………….. Ryan Kankowski

Challenge accepted.

But we have some strange problems in the backline. Unless PdV is planning on using Aplon as a fullback and Elton makes his test debut. Neither of which sounds great.
    Rossouw is supposed to be at 4, this will put Flip as good backup for 4 and remove Hargreaves, but then you have Kanko or Johnson at 8, or and 8 and 7. Oh well. And I’m sure Chiliboy will be on the bench, eventhough Strauss is better.
    I don’t know if CJ can recover in time, but he can backup tighthead. Otherwise we have only 1 damn tighthead and then we have to use Coenie on the bench.
    Difficulties everywhere. The AB are much more specialized and settled.

• 13.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

Hmmm… Not sure about Slade ahead of Cruden. Cruden’s really impressed me this year. Good decision-making. Pace to burn and a decent boot as well. Tough one. And the All Blacks just don’t have a quality scrumhalf IMO. Interesting TriNations ahead.

• 14.Transformation: Reply to this comment

mentioned it yesterday during the final that fruean is not ab material yet, he is wa too raw & his error rate is too high, plus his defence is weak, the reds 12 was beating him with ease the whole day yesterday. He’s still young and can still improve for now Snakey is the incumbent.

Piri is a GH favourite, when fit he can be a tricky customer like we saw last year when he came on the tri-nations and controlled games with ease eg soccer city.

Not a bad team, rokocoko didn’t appl himself or play brilliantly. Jarrad Hoeata deserves his spot there as he is a future all black @ 4 when thorn calls it quits.

• 15.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-12:

I would have sent
    Juandre Kruger in Hargreaves’ place,
    Stephan Terblanche in Adi’s place,
    GvdHeever in Odwa Ndunganes place,
    Ebersohn in Jantjies’ place,
    and maybe consider Gerhard Mostert too.

That would have seemed more solid.

Anyway, we will have to see what positives we can take from this adventure. If the boys lose heavily, what will it mean for the reputations of the fringe players?
    There are 8 A-team players in that squad.

• 16.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-14:

Can’t see Hoeata in ahead of Whitelock. But Williams is still recovering so……

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

agile t*t: lwazi’s surname is mvovo & not mvovu #jusayin

• 18.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-17:

#and?

• 19.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-17:

Oops.

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

agile t*t: i agree to an extent, sam play in the loose is fantastic but GH might look @ the fact that jarrad covers both lock & blindside with equal proficiency.

• 21.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-20:

I wouldn’t worry about that.

• 22.Michael: Reply to this comment

Bloody Olivier is going to lose us the tests. He is the ultimate backline quota of note.

• 23.JL1: Reply to this comment

I reckon that these players are going to experience burn out

The S15 is just too long and the NZ and SA derby’s too taxing on the players

Watch this space

• 24.JL1: Reply to this comment

Also watch the replay of yesterday, Crockett drops his bind and binds illegal.When he shoves he does not even bind at all.

Keep an eye out for his binding

• 25.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-15:

I agree on all accounts but Kruger… he’s another Ross Skeate… but yes it is ‘Party-boy’ Hargreaves… he ain’t a lock in any sense of the game of union!

• 26.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-22:

Don’t worry, he is the best defending centre in South Africa.

• 27.puff: Reply to this comment

Donnelly, Todd, Mathewson, Ranger, Fruean, Maitland
    Unlucky!

• 28.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-22: Snor has already lost the Boks these tests by sending a 2nd/3rd team, and he is going to lose the Boks the Tri-Nations and World Cup by being unprofessional and clueless.

Lying about the injuries is diabolical, unless all those players are really injured, in which case, South African players are soft.

Deans and Henry seem to have their squads and game plans under control. De Villiers is all over the place, contracting in any-one who has ever coached anything. What does he actual do these days, other than press conferences? The scrums? He has someone else for every other role.

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the crusaders players will be ‘rested’ as gh said last week. Other dudes like Adam Thomson are well rested – injuries & not participating in the playoffs.

• 30.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-25:

I know Hargreaves must a be a favourite of someone’s, so I don’t want to be too insensitive, but I think Hargreaves is really an average lock. Average for SA.

We had a good look at the two last CC.
    But Hargreaves was U/21 Captain, so, I don’t know if they think that should count for something……

• 31.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-15: Now why would you wanna take Zimmerframe Terblanche with, team photographer?

• 32.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-22:

Really?

In a country lacking quality 12′s WO yet again had all the best stats of ANY RSA centre in this years S15… most metres run, most line-breaks, most line-break assists, most tackles…

So just who the fark would you select smarty-pants?

• 33.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-28:

What really makes me smile, is that they sent Spies on holiday right after the S15.

Then they give him his “medical” and conclude that “whoopsie daisey” we have another injured here. :lol: But he pitched up on the final day of training.

• 34.JL1: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-28: So has Henry and Deans

Go and look at their coaching staff and then blag off against PDV

Even Braam is coaching the Aussie kickers, what is Deans doing seeing that he us an ex fullback

You just anti PDV and that is blurring your judgment

• 35.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

*daisy

• 36.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-26: He is a turnstile at international level and a 12 needs to be more than pretend to wave the opposition through his channel.

• 37.puff: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-28:

What does he do?
    Why, he travels to Palestine when he should be preparing for the Tri-Nations, not to mention the most important tournament of his tenure which directly follows the 3nat.
    But then he has Rassie doing the real coaching with the first-choice Bok team and Smit marshalling the 2nd-stringers so why not head to the middle east for some diplomatic hand-shaking?

• 38.Michael: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-32: Look at his international record, period.

• 39.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-31:

Well, in place of Adi Jacobs. Who else? Robert Ebersohn? Jaco Pretorius? JL Potgieter? Stephan Dippenaar? Deon v Rensburg?

• 40.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-30:

RSA might be a flanker manufacturer… but they are severely lacking at lock… the U20 RWC is a case in point… only two were selected in a 30 plus squad and that Etsebeth was the pick of the bunch and he was OWNED!

NZ on the other hand had 3 players over 204cms and this at 19 yrs old…

Hargreaves is AVERAGE in every sense of the word on the paddock… he’s like a Ralepelle!

• 41.Michael: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-32: Are you telling me that you would select Olivier as the no 1 inside centre if all the other candidates were available? Really? If so, don’t be so stupid as to call others names.

• 42.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-39: Anyone, pick my aunt, she is faster over 100m

• 43.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-36:

He defended well in the Tri Nations last year. How many tackles did he miss?

• 44.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-38:

Yes pal… answer the question… just who would you choose that is in better form at 12 that will fit into that backline?

• 45.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-42:

Over Stephan, or Adi, or both?

Terblache didn’t look too shabby when he scored that try against the Bulls recently…….
    And we know he is preferred above Adi, that is why I said that I would rather have taken him. And I’m serious.

• 46.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-43: And how many tries did we score again.

• 47.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-43: Who is the defensive leader in the backline, Mossie
    Now who will fill that role

• 48.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-41:

See above dilettante!

• 49.Michael: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-44: Seriously? You’d seriously chose Olivier as the first choice inside centre every time? Enough said.

• 50.Michael: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-48: Actually, Aussie-wannabe, I am lamenting that SA doesn’t have enough quality inside centres for international level outside of JDJ (when Mossie is fit for outside centre) and JDV.

• 51.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-40:

Ogh weeeell.

We seem to manage at test level. At the Bulls we have/had Matfield, Bakkies, Danie, Flip, Kruger, Berend, and some good youngsters coming though. So I think we can say that South Africa is a flank- and lock “manufacturer”

• 52.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-45: Adi does break the line, but why not pick Sadie or Ebersohn and see how good they are

• 53.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-49: He is talking about the 2nd/3rd choice Springbok team that is being sent over the NZ and Aus. Who would you select ahead of Olivier? Considering all the knee, groin and hamstring “injuries”.

• 54.JL1: Reply to this comment

Even try Lambie at 12

• 55.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-51: Who is Berend?

Never heard of him.

• 56.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-46:

“WE”?

Oh, I only realized now that you are a South African.

@JL1(JL1)-47:
    Olivier of course.

• 57.Michael: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-53: And I am talking about Olivier being a liability at international level regardless. Try out a youngster. You know what you’re getting in Olivier – a 1 try wonder in almost 50 tests who is shut down more easily than Ford Estate in a drag race.

• 58.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-55:

Berend Botha.

Ferreira coming though perhaps. Saddled with Fudge Mabeta for a while. Cornell Hess also seems to not be going places.

• 59.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-56: Speed up man. I know some northerners are slow but that takes the cake :-)

• 60.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-57: Give a name.

• 61.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i don’t care what the stats say, wynand is useless @ TEST level, period!

Geez, the guy was sooo scared of sbw he was literally chucking the ball @ the sight of sonny. +/- 36 Tests and zilch to show for it but a solitary try, nobody in the world rates this guy.

• 62.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-59:

Just being sarcastic-pointing out that you seem kinda hostile toward our boys.
    Honestly, there is nobody else available right now. No better player.
    You don’t have to worry, WO will hardly miss a tackle.

• 63.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-58:

The seniors are gone… Juandre was average in the NH… have not heard of Botha… hopefully he’s great…

Sharks have zero locks, Cheetahs have zero locks, WP have Bekker (and Eldstadt is more a 7 than a test lock), Lions have fokal… so who else is there?

Aussies have several already as do the Kiwi’s…

• 64.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-61:

So big cheese WHO WOULD YOU CHOOSE?

• 65.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-61: Yes, his stats at S15 may be good but his test stats do not stack up

He is my least favourite player because of that

He is only a super rugby player, nothing more and nothing less

• 66.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-63: Juandre was voted as the top lock when he played in the Premiership in England. Voted in the team of the year.

• 67.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-61:

Have to remember that most of his tests were from the bench.

Also please bare in mind that in the PdV era Habana hasn’t scored a whole lot either, our back line is not doing so well.

….Isn’t the backline **** Muir’s job………Hmmmmmmmm

• 68.JL1: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-63: Who are they in Oz

• 69.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Seriously this filter needs a tweak.

• 70.JL1: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-66: That is hardly the bench to measure top rugby players by

• 71.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-70: He said Kruger was average in Europe, I was merely indicating that that was not the case.

• 72.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-63:

Well, Flip came from the Cheetahs bench to the Bulsl and was a Springbok a year later. So let’s see what we can do for Juandre Kruger, hey?

And also you menton the Wallabies. They are playing with a SA lock- Vickerman.

And Van der Walt is coming through for the Cheetahs. Uys is a good lock too. the Sharks (had) Mostert. The WP (had) Van Zyl.

These are good locks.

SA IS a lock factory. Even you Aussies are using our locks.

• 73.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Transy doesn’t care what the stats say… ROTFLMAO… he doesn’t care who the best defender out of the S15 RSA centres was, he doesn’t care who made the most line-breaks as a centre, he doesn’t care who made the most run metres, he doesn’t care who made the most line-break assists, he doesn’t care who was the most solid defender… he doesn’t even care who even scored the most tries as a centre…

I have to ask… WTF criteria are you using for selection… Xhosa moo-tee and Sangoma nouse?

• 74.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-62: I don’t hear you saying similar when someone criticises Smittie.
    Why, am I not permitted by you to have an opinion on the applicability of a player for international level.

• 75.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-73:

That’s rhetorical of course!

• 76.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-63:

Anyway, we will have to wait and see next year how it goes. Nobody at this point doubts that SA has the best locks in the world. So I’m just disagreeing that we are not a lock factory.

• 77.JL1: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-71: Agreed very hard for a SH player to be average I’m the NH premiership

• 78.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-62: Sorry. Ignore my previous post. I shouldn’t have got wound-up.
    I don’t rate Olivier and think it is a poor reflection on us that he is rated as the third/fourth best inside centre behind JDV, JDJ and Steyn (if PDV rates Steyn as an inside centre).

We are the country who has produced the likes of Michael du Plessis etc at inside centre. We need to develop someone else.

• 79.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-74:

I’m not some mod, go ahead and lambast our boys.

• 80.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-72:

I like Uys… but he’s a blind-sider or 8 IMO… the Tahs with Brussouw, Smith and him were MASSIVE…

• 81.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Nothing to see here. Think I’ll pop in again tomorrow.

• 82.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-78:

Well, I have high hopes for Francois Venter. Unfortunately he is at the Bulls, so I don’t know what that will do for his reputation around here…….

• 83.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-80:

Smith was injured already by that game…..

• 84.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-81:

disappointed.

• 85.Michael: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-60: No. I am not falling for that guessing game. It is the job of the provincial coaches to develop quality 12s.

• 86.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-82: I think the Bulls should play someone like him and Sadie as their centres next year. Start afresh.

• 87.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-12:

Holy crudd, I left out 11 Sivivatu and 10 M Steyn on my teams.

How’d that happen?

• 88.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-86:

Start without experience? No guidance? Olivier is signed till 2013. Aint gonna happen.

• 89.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

agile is nothing but an afrikaner p ussy who believes that the sun shines out of his arse when it comes rugby,the nazi-loving p ussy probably still believes that god gave this country to him and his swine race.

• 90.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-89:

You forgot to add “…and to his children….”

• 91.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Well, I do love to listen to Karajan, if that qualifies me as a “nazi-lover”

Calm down….take it easy mate. Why so serious? What did I do now?

• 92.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Well his rugby acumen certainly makes you look like a Cape Crusader!

• 93.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-72:

Vickerman is as much a Wallabie as Beast Mtawarira is a Japie…

• 94.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-93:

I’m just sayin’: he is South African…. ;) A son of the soil, an African brother, right Val?

• 95.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-94:

Stoked to see he is back playing rugby after his ‘enlightening’ period at Cambridge… no other lock has won as many accolades in Super Rugby… he’s a Bakkies and Matfield rolled into one… no other great since John Eales has come close…

• 96.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-95:

Anton van Zyl is an Oxford alumni too. We don’t only breed em locks tough here in SA, but smart too.

Have you ever heard Bakkies conduct himself in English? Voice and eloquence of an angel.
    Can’t wait to see Vickerman in action myself, I thought he was done a fews years back. IMO, I can see Juandre Kruger become such a player.

• 97.poppa69: Reply to this comment

good to see the ABs and Wallabies have the honour to name their best sides…

as for the exclusions, finally Tialata is no longer wanted, never thought he added value to the side… McAllister is another whose form doesnt warrant selection, has proven this super season that hes not the answer at 1st 5/8. and Rokocoko is not the player he once was…

knew Henry would stay loyal to the majority from last year…

• 98.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-97:

That All Black squad is a nice tall order.

Do you think maybe Div has planned on sending our dirt trackers to maliciously brutalize the ABs and incur injuries with the hostile intent to cause bodily harm adversely in a negative manner of unsportsmanlike behaviour?

Don’t even need a drawing board. By the time the RWC Showpiece rolls around, it will be South Africa’s A-team vs New Zealands B-team. :lol:

• 99.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-96:

Same as Spies… even Adriaan Strauss the form hooker of the season products himself in perfect Engels… not that it matters all the same…

Kruger just does not come close to Vickers in the physical stakes being 6 cm shorter and almost 10kgs lighter… not too mention the mental stakes… not that any rugby player needs to be as smart as Schalk ( with straight A’s on higher grade and a Viticulture degree) as the Nonu’s of the world prove every year…

The new breed of locks are the James Horwill’s… and Aus has shed-loads of them… RSA… not so much.

• 100.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-99:

Was being facetious .
    And we certainly will see about the lock situation soon. South Africa has been dominating lineouts for over a decade in the pro age. I don’t expect that influence to be reduced to nought so soon.

Dewald Potgiet is another takhaar flank with straight A’s. 8 Distinctions in Matric I think it was.

Ja, we’ll see. I would love to see what happens next. Importantly, I wonder whether Div’s contract will be renewed.

• 101.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Olivier is one-dimensional and gets completely shut-down at test level. An 18 year old Manu Tuilagi ate him alive in 2009 for Leicester and he hadn’t even played club rugby before. Wynand looks good at S15 level because the defences are nowhere near as tight, but has always struggled when making the step up.

• 102.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-11:
    my feeling is sbw is gonna let him down in the end, but then again wynand olivier, oh i’m sorry, i meant to say ma’a nonu’s not exactly gonna lift him up either.
    so ja, combinations, combinations, combinations…

• 103.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-100:

Yeah, Bekker will probably make sure SA dominate the lineouts for a bit longer . Not 100% convinced though.

IMO:
    best all rounder lock in pro era: John Eales (no-one comes even close)
    best line out lock- Victor M
    best “enforcer” lock : Martin johnson.

• 104.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-24:
    i’ve said the same thing to friends when watching their games a number of times. and theyr’e doing it on the lh and th side often. you can shove forward so much better when you dont have one of your arms raised for the bind. perhaps we should watch some of their games again to see if theyr’e doing it with their other arm also and not binding to the hooker either.
    three guys pushing forward with their arms by their sides? maybe thats ‘pushing’ it but maybe not.

• 105.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

SA coaches have sh’t for brains much like these dubious expatriated Aussie wannabe money grubbers do. The twat Olivier was JW’s stand in back up to JdV at 12. Had it not been for EJ’s influence White would have played him at 12 in 2007 and not Steyn and we would have lost the WC. Olivier is the most uselessly overrated non happened excuse of an international center we ever produced, much like Pretorius and Jorrie or Helgaard Muller. Never produced fckall in any test he’s ever played and there been plenty enough to count. Olivier and Johann Muller through first two non international palookas I drop and next is Kankowski. Jacobs, DeJongh, Jantjies, Ebersohn, Sadie, Taute, Hollenbach, Le Grange, Mapoe, Uys, Venter,, in fact almost anybody ahead of that dismal dysfunctional doos of a non effect center Olivier any day of any week.

• 106.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-28: \
    yes, but so did clive woodward. i’m not saying he’s as good as woodward, but i’m just saying…

• 107.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-32:
    yes, but as the old saying goes – ‘stats alone don’t paint the prettiest pictures’. maybe he’s just SO 1 dimensionaly good at his game and his game alone (running his meters, breaking his line, assisting others to break the line and making the most tackles) that he loses the ‘multi-dimensionally’ complex 15 man team game plot dynamic? maybe thats him in a nutshell more often than not?
    in regards the 12 and 13 centres, should the one be a work horse and the other a show pony? or should both be a bit of work horse and a bit of show pony when and where neccesary?
    but yes, who should play his position instead then, hmmmmm?

• 108.cane: Reply to this comment

This Squad is short on specialist wing threequarters.

Looks like Nonu is destined to a 11 or 14.

• 109.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-45:
    have you been drinking a lot last night? and if not, have you been drinking today?

• 110.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-97:
    maybe this is his version of throwing a bigtime dummy to the rest of the world? maybe the players from last year is his version of an ‘injury’ free list?
    maybe he’s holding his cards real, real close and will play his killer hand when the pot is really stacked?
    maybe?
    (thoughts of kenny rodgers – ‘know when to hold em’ going thru the mind)…

• 111.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-108:
    if that because of sbw, then sbw, like jonah lomu before him, my gut says is gonna turn out to be one massive super sized piece of hype this wc. and, the people for whom it matters will, like the song says ‘not believe the hype, cos its a sequel’….because when it matters most, like jonah, my gut says he wont deliver.
    maybe they shoud have one start and the other on the bench in the semi?

• 112.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-107:

Oh I agree… I rate not one of RSA’s centre’s in that watered down list… but as I’ve stated… if you don’t rate WO (which I don’t)… THEN WHO THE FARK DO YOU THINK SHOULD BE THERE (too many cannot name them)…

The cupboard is bare in RSA at 12… La Grange probably the best of a shite bunch outside of Frans Steyn…

There’s a guy like De Jong that many are punting… the dumb Fack cannot even pass to his left…

• 113.nama1: Reply to this comment

WO still taking up space on Keo? Mind boggling, I say.

@Michael(mikeybrass)-78:
    “We are the country who has produced the likes of Michael du Plessis etc at inside centre.”

I’m sure you can name a few of the “etceteras.” Three names will be in order. :lol:

No matter who the centres are or how good they are, if you employ people like FdP and MS as your half back pair, the ball will be up in the air more often than not instead of than through the hands thus rendered the rest of the back line ineffective and living of crumbs.

• 114.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

1.Woodcock
    2.Mealamu
    3.O.Franks
    4.Whitelock
    5.Thorn
    6.Kaino
    7.McCaw
    8.Read
    9.Weepu
    10.Carter
    11.Toeava
    12.Nonu
    13.Smith
    14.Gear
    15.Muliaina
    16.Hore
    17.Afoa
    18.Williams
    19.Thomson
    20.Cowan
    21.Slade
    22.Bill-Williams

• 115.nama1: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-112:
    I agree, his passing to his left is appalling for someone who plays at this level. But he can work on that aspect of his game. Passing is a general problem amongst most, if not all, back line players in SA. No wonder the Brumbies took Clyde Rathbone aside for a whole year just to coach him some basic rugby skills, like passing. Did you see some of those passes that Cooper threw yesterday? Brilliant.

Besides his passing, de Jongh is the most explosive of all the SA centres, of that there is little doubt. That makes you the dumb FACK. Poephol.

• 116.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

They should try Lambie at inside centre. Play maker outside Steyn and takes the pressure off of Steyn, more time. Gives the backs another kicking option. He is a sound defender and snipes through gaps quite well.

• 117.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Here’s players that won’t make the cut for world cup squads but could possibly beat all but a few teams at WC:

Crocket (Nz)
    Strauss (Sa)
    Mujati (Zim Sa)
    Donelly (Nz)
    Jack (Nz)
    Flouw (Sa)
    Deysel (Sa)
    Vermeulen (Sa)
    Sarel Pretorias (Sa)
    Nick Evans (Nz)
    Sivivatu (Nz)
    Brad Barrit (Sa)
    Jauzian (Fra)
    Maitland (Nz)
    Jane (Nz)

• 118.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-113:
    maybe fdp and ms know better than to pass it to wo?
    its a lottery either way.

• 119.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-112: Bryce,

Lambie could play 12 and play damn well there as well. His defence is superb and at least our 13 will see some ball.

I also don’t rate Olivier at all. With Lambie at 12 and JdJ 12 on this tour we would do well. But unfortunately looks like Olivier will start and so will Morne. I personally would have had Morne on the bench for this tour and start Lambie at fh. If not at fh then play Morne at fh and bring in Lambie at inside centre.

• 120.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-119: Meant – JdJ at 13

• 121.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ CSI, Lambie is way over rated, people 4get how he cracked under pressure eoyt, I agree he is good but not ready for starting posistion WC

• 122.Puma: Reply to this comment

So my backs would be.

15 – Aplon
    14 – Basson
    13 – JdJ
    12 – Lambie
    11 – Mvovo
    10 – Morne

Have Morne at fh cause he will start.

• 123.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Guru, not for RWC, just for this 3Ns. Experience against Nonu and SBW and also against Giteau and co will hold him in good stead. RWC I’d have de Villiers and de Jongh.

• 124.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-121: He only messed up with kicking at goal. But his overall play was superb. Just look at his defence compared to Morne and Olivier? He covers his channel brilliant. Also finds the gaps don’t just run bash into players and most of all he passes.

Take away the goal kicks from Lambie and then rate him. He would get 9 out of 10 everytime.

• 125.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-116:
    well he’s not too much shorter or lighter than wo, given the jake white era standing policy (thats never been repealed) of ‘size and bulk trumps all else’. so maybe they should.

• 126.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-116: Jeez missed your post but I AGREE. Play Lambie at inside centre.

• 127.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ Puma, what does Lambie offer at 12? Nothing special realy, iconsidering the squad touring, u would have to go with WO and JdJ! How well did lambie play against bulls and crusaders? How well did he kick eoyt? Who threw the intercept try that cost the sharks the game in play offs?

• 128.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ CSI, I bet SBW and nonu will be licking there lips with the prospect of playing against steyn at flyhalf and lambie at inside centre, defensively its just not sollid enough.

• 129.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Lambie should be considered at 15 and 15 only if at all in WC squad behind F. Steyn and / or Aplon.

Boks brains trust is non existent.

Pienaar and James are both better running 10′s than M. Steyn
    best two 9′s in the country currently are actually Duvenhage and Pretorius, not Pienaar or FdP or Hougaard or Mcleod.

At center we should be playing new talents or at least combining the likes of De Jongh with Jacobs or bring in Taute at 13, relying on Olivier is doing the same fckup idiocy thing you been doing for 6 long years and expecting different results. Even Einstein would have told you it ain’t gonna happen ever.

Jantjies can play 10 perhaps in time to come or even slot in at 12 at a push, but not against the likes of Aussie or NZ. Neither can Lambie.

M. Steyn or F. Steyn can both cover 12 or 15 and play a play making 10 like Pienaar or James. And then play a go to scrummy like Duvenhage or Pretorius to bust open the gaps with quick efficient service, something neither Mcleod nor Hougaard can do. Hougaard better at wing or even 13 at a push partnering De Jongh, that would get the poppeies dancing. Imagine this

Pretorius / Duvenhage
    Pienaar / James
    Basson / Mvovo
    De Jongh
    Hougaard
    Aplon
    Lambie / Steyn

• 130.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-127: He messed up once with that intercept try. Every player this season in all teams had done something wrong in the 80min.

Lambie is a great talent. He is equally good at 10/12 and 15.

WO?? JdJ would never see any ball nor would our wings. Have never rated WO sorry. He is okay playing Bulls style rugby. Bash it up and go to ground. Just never passes. No we can’t have him at inside centre. BUT we will for the away leg of 3Nations and that is a pity.

Lambie at 12 and JdJ at 13 would be perfect for this tour. I would prefer to see Lambie given a chance at fh. Give the kicks to Ruan. But that won’t happen either cause Morne who can kick well but that is it will be playing fh. So with Morne at fh and WO at inside centre JdJ and our wings will see no ball.

• 131.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

JdV and JF has 2b the 1st centres at WC with JdJ and Fransie covering if need be. These people that want to start youngsters in WC showpiece against the elite players of the world is out of there mind, there’s only a few youngsters that can step ala frans steyn and jpp

• 132.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-127: Lambie played well against the Bulls. Remember our last game at Loftus?

Btw a small tip. Just look to your very far right of the box to the post you are answering back, there is a arrow there, just click on that and it goes straight to the box below where you type back your comment. The posters number and name you answer back to will come up in your post.

• 133.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Guru, I’m sure they will, but as mentioned above, it’s purely on experience alone, this squad selected does not offer much in the way of back line defense. Remember how Mauger took the pressure off of Spencer and Carter when playing at 12? Lambie is a good player with the potential to be great. Nothing to lose playing him at 12. More experience the better.

• 134.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-115:

Olivier?

OK, look, I’ve read on this thread that WO is a turnstile and a few other things.
    It’s ok, I suppose. He isn’t popular around here.
    But that post is so untrue.

Wynand Olivier’s passing is just flawless. Seen many tries for the Bulls come in off a perfect long pass without him breaking much speed, and judging the distance leading the outside backs with 100% precision and stable spin and flat-enough trajectory. Both left and right. What the heck is wrong with his left pass? He’s right handed. Where did you get this from?

You can hate WO for whatever reason, his hairstyle, his looks, his home union, his predictable inside break attempts..whatever. One thing one cannot accuse him of is a poor pass. Watch video highlights of him putting the outside backs away for the past couple of years. It’s flawless.

• 135.nama1: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-118:
    Hahaha.

You may just have a point. :lol:

@Puma(Puma)-119:
    We’ll have to settle for Hougaard, MS and WO as our inside backs and Hondo can then come on here and tell everybody how useless JdJ, Aplon, Mvovo and Adi (as a replacement) were in the match. :lol:

• 136.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ Puma, we touring with our 3rd team, the best would be to keep it close and play kicking game. We not going to run Aussies and all blacks off their feet with our team. Our back three will see ball because Aus and Nz will not kick the ball into touch then they can counter from the back. Aplon, bjorn and mvovo are dangerous from counter attack

• 137.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-109:

Not at all. I’m always sober. I mentioned that in regards to Adi’s selection. Not ideal, I agree, he’s retiring. But look at the situation you’re dealing with at the Sharks. Seriously, there are 5 outside centres I would rather take on tour.

• 138.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

well ******* me sweetly sideways…it looks like tacitus’s ‘cyclical peak theory’ of teams peaking in cycles of about five or seven years may be right after all. their best chance to win a title is supposed to be somewhere close to the peak point of their cycle or they dont win at all, according to him. anything outside of that is just exceptions that prove the general rule (again, according to him).
    this from the new zealand herald:

Rugby: Crusaders may be rocked by post-final shake-up
    By Gregor Paul
    5:30 AM Sunday Jul 10, 2011

One of the great sporting stories of the age may have a sad epilogue with the Crusaders likely to lose some players no longer willing to live in Christchurch.

Sonny Bill Williams is seriously considering both the Blues and Chiefs. The world’s best off-loader saw his inner city apartment damaged by the February 22 quake and, with his mum in Auckland, the city where he grew up, the prospect of returning ‘home’ is appealing.
    Robbie Fruean has also been affected by the quake and the Hurricanes are desperate to take him back. He left in 2010 ranked behind Conrad Smith at the Hurricanes. But, with Ma’a Nonu having moved on and depth clearly important, his former franchise are hopeful he’ll return.

Zac Guildford and Sean Maitland both ran into town in their bare feet on the day of the second shake as their respective partners were in the CBD. The former, despite being troubled by the volatility of the city, says he wants to stay. Maitland is a Waikato boy and the arrival of Dave Rennie at the Chiefs could have a bearing on where the flying wing ends up.
    Kieran Read has had a hard job persuading his wife to stay in Christchurch – she and their young daughter spent time in Pukekohe during the campaign.
    But, despite the fact the Blues would love to sign him, he’s another who says he wants to guts it out.
    “I definitely want to be here,” says Read. “You never know what Mother Nature is going to throw at you but I’m sure, when the city can rebuild, it’s going to be pretty cool. It’s still a great place to live.
    “It’s hard when you are away because you leave behind family and you know what they’re going through. We had got used to it and it was sweet but then last week [major after] shocks knocks you back down to earth.”
    Tom Marshall, the Tasman and Crusaders fullback, is being targeted by the Blues and is thought likely to go.
    When Israel Dagg is fit, he will take back the No15 jersey whereas the versatility within the Blues means Marshall could see more game time at fullback than he will at the Crusaders.

The worry for the Crusaders is that now that the campaign has ended, many of their players may collapse emotionally. They have been amazingly resolute and focused for the last five months and their mental strength remarkable.
    They haven’t moaned nor found excuses and it has been inspirational to see a group galvanise themselves so effectively and powerfully. But the reality is there will be a comedown.
    The toll will tell on some who have been living in houses in disrepair or spending large periods of time with their families in other places. They have done it hard and even the most committed among them will not relish having to repeat their schedule next season. That’s the key problem. Having certainty around the future of AMI Stadium would be helpful. Knowing they have a permanent home again would remove much of the stress – as the prospect of shifting around the country again to play home games is hard to relish.
    Even knowing they have a permanent ‘temporary’ home in the region would probably be enough for most players so they can see they won’t be packing up and heading off somewhere every week of the season.
    But even then, some players and their families simply don’t want to be in Christchurch. Rugby-wise they desperately want to be with the Crusaders but some are going to have to balance that against that the desires of partners and children.
    end.

if most of this happens will the crusaders still be the crusaders next season? it’ll be blackie’s 4 year in charge proper, and no titles to show for it.

• 139.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ Puma, thanks for tip buddy but I don’t see any arrows or anything. I’m posting from my blackberry so maybe that the reason?

• 140.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-135: Probably….hehehe.

Jeez would like to see Lambie and JdJ play together in this away leg of the 3Nations.

We won’t though bud. It will be never pass Olivier at inside centre and kick it up the whole time Morne at fh.

Look Morne kicking at posts is great but that is about it.

• 141.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-139: No problems. Thought you were working from a laptop.

• 142.nama1: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-127:
    “…what does Lambie offer at 12?>

- good eye for a gap.
    - good defence.
    - good kicking boot out of hand.
    - good distribution skills.
    - good reading of play.
    - good acceleration from a standing start.
    - 1st choice or back up kicker to the poles.

Apart from defence, you can’t accuse WO of any of the above.

• 143.Puma: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-138: Plum spoke to the wrong player then…hehehe. Nonu has signed with the Blues, he should have spoken to Robbie…hehe.

Only joking. Really pleased Nonu is not coming to Sharks. We have to play our youngsters. That way we go forward.

• 144.RugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Look I do think lambie is good and after this WC, he will be my 1st choice but for now, he must soak up the atmosphere and learn as much as possible from the senior players. Guru over and out

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-142: Yip spot on. Now with another player like JdJ with a good eye for the gap he and Lambie would play well together.

JdJ gonna be wasted with Olivier at inside centre. Olivier hardly passes.

• 146.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

We talkning tri nations here not WC

For tri nations I would have played following prospects

Viljoen, Taute, Aplon, Basson, Mvovo, R. Eberhson, De Jongh, Sadie, S. Eberhson, Pienaar, Pretorius, Duvenhage and maybe Lambie and Jantjies, though I’d play it something like this

Viljoen / Aplon
    Aplon
    Hougaard / Taute
    De Jongh
    Basson
    Pienaar
    Pretorius

Bench
    Taute / Lambie
    Ebersohn / Sadie
    Duvenhage

• 147.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-137:
    jeez, i think i would have rathered you’d told me you were drinking in that case. hehe…

• 148.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-144: Cheers buddy.

• 149.eye_gouger_kieran_read: Reply to this comment

JDJ can’t even pass grade 3! wat nog van ‘n rugby bal?? make him a winger!

• 150.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-146: They not there Skop. No use thinking about the ifs.

Who would you play from the players that are selected for the away leg?

• 151.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-88: Olivier has reached his limit. The others can go further. Olivier can sit on the bench as insurance. Sadie has done a year’s apprentice under JDV and Mossie. He can make the step up. Venter can too.

• 152.Puma: Reply to this comment

Out of here.

Cheers everyone.

• 153.Michael: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-105: Hell, I’d take a old age Helgaard over Olivier.

• 154.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-143:
    with plum being a nz’er you’d think? hehe

agreed on nonu. only one question. just how old are those youngsters “stefan, adi, meyer, michalak” that you speak of? hehe

• 155.eye_gouger_kieran_read: Reply to this comment

Ashley Johnson (spelling? who cares?), Mvovo and JDJ the only coloured players worthy of the Bok jersey! .. the rest are all quotas! John Smit & Spies are also a quotas – (a player picked based on other reasons than his playing form!)

• 156.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-134:
    We were talking about JdJ’s passing Titman, not WO’s.

Somebody asked you earlier if you drank today. I think you just answered that question. :lol:

• 157.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

MISH

Jarrad Hoeata

YOU called it FIRST

respec, bruv, huge respec’

• 158.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-3:

heh heh heh

HO HO HO

thing is

Slade, as a no10, is probably the equal, if not better, than 75% of the other flyhalfs landing at Auckland International in September. He’ll do a job – he’s certainly no worse than Toby Flood who Engl will be resting their hopes on.

you really HAVE gone to the Dark Side, havent you Padawan.

• 159.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@gretep(gretep)-7:

Priceless – contender for ‘Keo Reply of the Year’.

• 160.nama1: Reply to this comment

@eye_gouger_kieran_read(WO_to_kill_Sir_Elton)-155:
    You satisfied with the form of the following players then, I suppose:

Brussow? What form? How do you judge it if he did not play much rugby.
    Hargreaves? Yeah right!
    MCLeod? Poor the whole season imo.
    Deysel. Returned from injury just the other day.
    Johan Muller?
    Flip vd Merwe? Was much better last year.
    Kankowski? Could not even make the Sharks starting line up for the last few games.

At least we can agree on your definition for a quota, Mr Quota-Sux.

• 161.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-98:

But of course, as with all SA teams down the ages, THE key selection is the Mid-Week Thug, prepared to risk a RC for the ‘Good of the Nation’. Last Years Burger Geldenuys is This Years …….?

The ABs have selected Jarrad Hoeata as their Nail of choice, by the looks. We should set up a Pre-RWC Cage Fight between Jarrad vs Burger on the under-card of SBWs next Superbout (and ‘slip’).

• 162.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

possible AB backline (?)

9. Bogan
    10. DC
    12. SBW
    13. Conrad
    14. Hosea
    11. Ma’a
    15. Mils

*ouch*

If Lord Ted is thinking SBW at 12 and Nonu on the wing – as indications seem to suggest – then he MUST play those combinations in NOW and NOT leave it until the RWC. And 4 x TriN matches would be perfect preparation.

and NO MATTER WHAT

NO Fullbacks selected at Centre.

The Boks can afford to have an ‘Injury’ Break given that their Test combinations dont need to gel given its the same team that won when Moses was a boy.

• 163.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Venter, De Jongh, Sadie, Taute, Ebersohn those the centers I would have taken to tri nations and I betcha they would have caused a headache for Pdv as to who to select for WC because they’d produce far more than WO or Jacobs in the 3N.

Venter / Taute or De Jongh / Sadie would rip those AB and Wallaby backs with some go forward they not used to coming from saffa centers for a long long time.

And I wouldn’t be playing Lambie at 10 or 12. Only place I’d consider him is at 15. Behind Viljoen or Aplon or even M.Steyn at 15. Because M.Steyn would be more use at 15 than he is at 10.

Duvenhage/Pretorius 9, Pienaar/S. Ebersohn 10. Mvovo/Basson 11. De Jongh/Sadie, Venter/Taute/R. Ebersohn centers. Aplon/Sadie/Viljoen 14, Viljoen/Aplon 15.

• 164.he's not the messiah. he's a very naughty boy!: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-162:
    i think they should rather put sbw at 11 and ma’a at 12. sbw would be a helluva wing (like lomu) but he’d additionally have his killer offload and better link play ability cos his mind is a centres and not a wings. and ma’a's not bad at his job, its just he’s had the sbw show blow up like a suicide bomber on a 787 on him.

• 165.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-163:

I like those centres too! A lot of flair and youth. Time to start building me thinks.

• 166.eye_gouger_kieran_read: Reply to this comment

nama1 what coloured players would you like to replace :

Brussow?
    Hargreaves?
    MCLeod?
    Johan Muller?
    Flip vd Merwe?
    Kankowski?

• 167.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-156:

Whoopsie daisy. Been throwing an eye on this tab now and then between work.
    Please forgive me.

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-161:

eh?

Jarrod seems to have been one of the tournament’s top tacklers. No doubt a fit boy. I don’t think it would be an interesting fight. Who cares? Put one tight-lock against another.
    Let’s see BaXXies or Pakslae vs Hoeata :lol: I bet Jarrrrrrrrad would last 10 seconds. I’d pay tp see that.

Anyway, that’s just silly. Get on with it.

• 168.cab: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-162:
    there’s no real pace in that backline, it looks quite comforting to a Bok supporter actually.

• 169.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

wouldn’t last 15….

• 170.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-168:

:?:

This is not a sprint.

• 171.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-156:

Anyway, I first asked if it was Olivier you were talking about to make sure.

I just assumed it was WO since the mood was negative and you’d just switched over from mentioning him.

• 172.cab: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-170:
    yes, but they need some sharpness, its one thing have ageing forwards, but a very different matter not having any quick legs outside, hell our outside backs could catch them all even after missing them the first time round.

yip, we are marching to auckland, auckland, auckland.

• 173.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-172:

Hi cab,

how are u doing?

Re the world cup; i reckon the marching will be done by either NZ / Aus or as an outsider England.

As far as the Piet / John/Victor show is concerned i give them a 10% chance at the most. Same for France and Ireland.

The others have zero chance.

• 174.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

We could have had Doppies le Grange at 12 or Robert Ebersohn in at 13instead of Wynand (only good for the Bulls) Olivier and Adrian Jacobs. We could also have had Butch at 12 if he will not be the 1st choice 10 at WC or Francois Steyn, who did a great job in the last WC and plays centre for his club Racing Metro.

• 175.cab: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-173:
    lol, hi rob, that doesn’t sound like good odds.
    nah, i think we;ve got a v good chance, but they must start with bismarck and brussow, and bakkies and matfield and the other old toppies need to put in a collosal effort. we’ve already won it twice and everyone expecting the ABs to win it, i reckon its set-up very nicely, look how close england went with their defending champs and ours is an every better setup.

• 176.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-175:

if I was a betting person i would have put something on the Aussies.

As far as we are concerned;

Bismarc won’t start, Brussow probably also not (piet is a schalk disciple), The Captain is a plod, Bakkies is turning the “other cheek” (at last), victor is past his prime and a wannabe centre, jean is nearly a donkey, brian has sold out for the good life in CT, Spies has always been useless, kanko is a fairy, Deysel is a sicknote, Alberts is overweight and a slow legged one tricked poney, vermeulen is injured, Fourie du P has become a prima donna, piet is a clown – no, fark, no ways, we wont make it with this lot.

• 177.Transformation: Reply to this comment

is this venter being bandied about the baby boks centre francois venter? :roll: some of you guys are just suckers for hype!

Why is this kid now being mentioned in springbok circles? 1stly his distribution was suspect even against ireland, although he seems to run good angles his decision-making is questionable, sure he can take contact from his peers but would be found wanting punching it up with the big dogs!

Easy on the bloody hype.

• 178.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

Look stats lie and Olivier was below average this year, in my opinion the previous 2 super 14 seasons he was the best center but and each year I held my breath thinking he was gonna carry that form through to the boks season but again and again he failed, I’m convinced now that his cealing of potential is super rugby, the other center oprions ahead of Olivier for 12 should be Jdj and lambie, for 13 we should have looked too erberson now, he was outstanding this season, anyways my WC center combo is f.steyn and fourie, not impressed with de villiers, as I said stats lie, go look at his and they might paint a pretty picture but honestly we all know he is below par and his injuries have now caught up with him

• 179.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

Olivier at centre?

That’s going to upset the keo youth league.

Some industrial action is called for.

Strike whilst the madams iron is hot.

• 180.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

USA! USA! USA!
    Well done ladies in beating favs Brazil in Quarters

• 181.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

no p!ssmark? we might win this!! at least we win our lineouts! wahey :)

divvy starting to think like a champ.

• 182.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-178: olivier is like bekker a very good super rugby player but not a test players backside! thats just how it is. lambie also doesnt look like a test boejtie. basson flopped as well. better not start any of these guys or we’ll be screwed.

• 183.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-182:
    I agree about WO he has not proved to be able to step up to Test level rugby

• 184.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Suprized that Cory Jane is only a injury replacement when he has been fantastic for the all blacks since 2009 and has been injured in the 2011 super rugby tournament… right now I would prefer to have Cory Jane on the wing than Zac Guildford..

• 185.rangerman: Reply to this comment

interesting.

just read today that south africa provides 70% of the viewership for the superrugby comp.

to put it into context fully:

average sa viewership for superrugby games involving sa teams = 580 000
    average nz viewership for superrugby games involving nz teams = 78 000
    aussie viewership was not mentioned.

so i guess that settles who is paying whose way.

with these stats in mind, it would appear that all of the b itching and moaning from the kiwis and aussies about the bok “b” team being sent down under is a little like the guy who owns 1 week in a timeshare/fractional ownership scheme b itching that the big money shareholders refuse to put flat screens in every room.

oneil and his lapdog tew better wind their necks in or we will take out the aircons as well (read: stop subsidising their pillaging of the islands).

• 186.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-184:

I wouldnt read it that way – Izzy Dagg is clearly still not fit and his inclusion, now, is of nominal value. As is the utility, Toeava. Jane will undoubtedly get some gametime at some stage, esp considering he covers wing & fb and the squad only incl’ing 2 specialist wingers.

• 187.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

BP-151

Thanks mate,Hoeatta has been huge and deserves it plus what he does for the squad selection dynamic is HUGE.

Another one is Woodwock not sacrificed for Crockett who is only injury reserve..Crockett has been in great form but he slips the bind still and hipos above shoulders at times leads to collapses.his time will come but not now.

Nonu on the wing??? Eish not enough speed and has never done well there.that would be a mistake.

• 188.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Ranger

the thing were bitching about I’s you guys going back on your word

who could EVER trust a Saffa??

NZ does more for the islands economically then you guys EVER do for those who live in the squalor of the townships?

you still poaching rhino horn? smuggling people across the border? diamonds?

mamparra.

• 189.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-187:

1. NO, Nonu on the wing is not my choice either – that selection is just what looks like happening when considering balance of squad and that there are 2 wingers there. And also GH loves throwing in red-herrings on/off the bench. My wingers would be Hosea and Tarzan and Nonu would stay teamed with Conrad in centres. SBW still looks no more than an impact player to me.

Having said that, I think Nonu makes a punishing winger and furthers the ‘total football’ concept that Henry likes, allows continuity and, therefore stretches opposition at pace. Youre right about his lack of pace tho and I dont rate his D outside of the 12 channel.

2. I like Hoeata’s incl because it brings 1 fresh new face to the squad which always seems to raise energy levels and hopefully that is infectious. He may not see much/any gametime and Boric may come back in, but Im relieved GH has rewarded form here, like he shld, and that reputation was not enough for Rocko (wonderful AB servant tho !!!) and Cool Hand Luke. Im not sure why Tia’lumpa was even mentioned as an exclusion altho he WAS huge vs France last EOYT.

3. Woody has major experience SO impt in frontrow. I think Crocketts technique has already improved, it is no more than tweaking of his technique. His form this season has been fantastic and workrate is huge, ABs lucky to have lots of quality on hand here. Amazing to think the lengths they went to to get Carl Who’man back.

• 190.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@he’s not the messiah. he’s a very naughty boy!(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-164:

SBW doesnt look light enough on his feet for a winger, and his strengths as a rugby player (or, is that weakness ?) is his distribution. So that would be a mistake to put him on the wing. He could probably ‘do a job’ there, but Im guessing he could get skinned on the outside vs an astute speed merchant like Habadonna or Ashton who run excellent lines.

• 191.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-188:

F uk you are an ingnorant idiot dude…………… go spent a night with one on the resident keeewee slappers and shut up………..maybe you can tip their average over 20………….hahahahahaha…………slappers

• 192.Fern: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-188:
    Bwhahahaha!

• 193.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Check this…

Even Crusaders skipper Richie McCaw appeared shell-shocked as he attempted to explain his side’s 18-13 defeat to the Queensland Reds in last night’s Super Rugby final.

While their fans were left wondering just how the team could produce a dud performance littered with handling errors, poor passing, a struggling lineout and questionable option-taking, the Crusaders themselves also struggled to explain why they had misfired so badly.

Having entered the match as favourites to topple the minor premiers, the Crusaders inexplicably manufactured one of their worst performances of the year as they were outscored by two-tries-to-one.

Let me try and help, you were simply outplayed on the night. See, no rocket surgery in it…

24 years on and they still don’t get it that being favorite does not equate to an automatic win, you still have to go out and play better than the opposition.

Or maybe it is a case with Bwycie there they all thought it was a forgone conclusion…I can understand that!

• 194.Cannon: Reply to this comment

Wow no Robbie Fruen!!!! As a Bok supporter I say amen to that.

• 195.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-188:

you sound very african to me there…especially your use of mampara…where did you get that word?

• 196.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-185:

Foxtel just reported that 530000 people watched the Final in Australia alone…those watching in pubs are not included in this figure.

Figures from RSA were not released for the final…as most went shopping!

• 197.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-196:

My bad that was for the semi final.

• 198.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Whatever

blah blah blah. you saffas want to dish it, I’ll send it straight back WITH interest

still hiding in NZ to avoid punishment for your crimes? thought so

gutless piece of trash.

• 199.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Slarti

at least they made the final. did your team?

what happened to the “superior” Saffa sides?

were they ALL injured?

bwahahaha.

• 200.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-199:

No but they did beat the Crusaders when they met them…

But don’t feel to bad, they also lost against the Reds!

• 201.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-198:

Yawn, same old same………come up with a new insult doos for brains

• 202.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-200:

mmmm, also at least the Stormers beat the bleating Blues…………

• 203.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-201:

Fresh out of I think, when he resorts to 1970′s retoric he read in books about you know he is at a loss!

• 204.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-202: @Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-203: ahhh look at the two pillow biters enjoying each others company..

so tell me whatever, how often do NZ send the ships over to “rape the islands” as Rangerman attests? and Im ignorant, what a laugh…

Rangers comment is just as ignorant, but of course you remain silent dont you pondlife?

as for insults, have you found a new word besides Doos,….its been four years and you still havent expanded your vocabulary, surely NZs dole office will give you a little extra to advance your education..

lord nows you need it…

• 205.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-204:

Ja Pops, if those insults make you feel any better keep it up.

• 206.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Whatever

so the stormers beat the blues, who cares. neither team made the final

good comeback though, one of your very best.

• 207.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Ranger, is this how NZ “rapes the islands”?

New Zealand aid funds in the Pacific are being stretched thin and need to have increased focus, according to a Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee report.

The Pacific Inquiry into New Zealand’s Relationships with South Pacific Countries, which has been tabled in Parliament, contained more than 40 recommendations for the Government to consider.

Among the recommendations, the committee called for an increased focus for the $600 million of aid given to the region, saying that efforts were being spread to widely.

It suggested that $100 million of aid funds be channelled through existing trading banks on normal commercial terms to Pacific Islanders with “sound business plans”.

http://www.pina.com.fj/index.php?p=pacnews&m=read&o=15857383514d06c842bf8f30ee0b34&PHPSESSID=

• 208.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-204:

Jeez, mate have a hernia or what?

Firstly if you want to talk about sticking together, lets talk about wet pantie and you …..you are stuck so far up his ar se it’s not even funny. You can see his tonsils…

You even use his “pondlife” retort…… very original

Also, ranger is ranger, and I don’t take his comments as mine, so reply to him

And yes, I use doos , cause it’s a great description of you

Dooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooos

Said with meaning , now gaan k uk anderkant dude.

• 209.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-206:

Stormers my team, Blues yours………..just reminding you!

• 210.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-208: hey, youre the one who poked his nose in to my reply to ranger, so how about you stay out of what doesnt concern you..

as for the pondlife remark, I couldnt think of a better term for for such a lowlife one eyed ignoramus… so, no comment on the “how many ships” question I asked you? thought so, avoid the issue yet again… guess thats what you get when you poke your nose in huh? look carefully, you’ll see my comment was directed at Ranger, not you… so, suck on them lemons you sourgat…

as for the Stormers, who cares, they looked real good in their semi final just like my team, but at least my team has 3 Super titles, remind me again how many your team has?

what was that? none you say? bwahahahahahahahaha

• 211.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-210:

Make up your mind Pops, should we chip in or stay out? Can’t have it both way…

PS I will give you a hint, if you talk kuk about SA on a SA blog expect people to comment on it.

• 212.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-211: two way street Slarti, or do you disagree?

I only ever respond to rubbish said about NZ… cant remember which thread, but one Saffa was happy Chch got hit by the earthquake? WTF?

would you react to that? would you not get your back up when you see comments like that?

• 213.Fern: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-212:
    1 saffa now it is all of us.
    if you ever come to South Africa I can organise you lots of accom in townships.

• 214.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-212:

The thing is Pops, this is a SA blog with +90% of posts coming from Saffas. You can’t expect me to even get close to pull every single SA poster up when they say something off. There are a number of posters I ignore and not bother to even read because of lame and over the top stupid comments. don’t ever expect me to pull them up, it is a fulltime job which I did not sign up for. Best is to ignore them and if enough people do it they will go away.

Having said that if you post your over the top rubbish about a country you have never visited and I come across it you can expect me to comment on it. read that however you want but it does mean that I do read your stuff.

For the record, you go back and see if you can find where I insulted you today before you jumped in with some name calling. Don’t go around kicking my dog just because someone else I have never met kicked your dog. It is childish and reflex poorly…

• 215.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Fern(Fern)-213:

Poops won’t go near the townships.

In case he drops the k bomb again.

He will be avoiding the dutchies as well.

Oh well, I guess capo the poodlefucker will have to babysit him.

They can compare notes.

• 216.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Fern

says the bloke who generalizes about kiwi woman as dishgustingly as you do

our mothers, sisters etc.

so it’s not just one saffa huh?

• 217.ricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-193:
    “rocket surgery”

• 218.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@ricane(ricane)-217:

Still one of my favorites but the muppits were so eager to fight nobody even picked it up…

• 219.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

Seeig as the general consensus is that defence wins WC’s how about the following squad of 40 for the WC?

LH: Gurthro/Beast/Coenie or Dean Greyling
    HKR: Strauss/Smit/Bismarck
    TH: Jannie/Werner/CJ
    Locks: Bakkies/Flip/Rossouw/Matfield/Bekker
    Loosies: Brussow/Juan Smith/Alberts/Louw/Burger/Johnson/Strauss/Spies/Kankowski/Vermeulen
    SH: Fourie du P/Ruan Pienaar/Hougaard
    FH: Lambie/Butch/Steyn
    Centre: Strauss/Jean/De Jongh/Fourie/Steyn
    Wings: Mvovo/JPP/Habana/Basson
    FB: Steyn/Daniller/ Viljoen

A team like this might not be a popular choice with most, but they can defend and win the WC

Guthro, Strauss, Jannie, Bakkies, Matfield, Brussow, Juan, Alberts, F du P, Butch, Basson, Strauss, Fourie, JPP, Frans Steyn

Subs: Smit, Bissy, Bekker, Rossouw, Hougaard, Lambie, De Villiers

• 220.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-210:

Poppa

now why are you wasting your time on this racist, sexist, bottom-feeding pondlife SCUM ?!

What sort of ‘person’ turns up on a blog and feels the need to expand on his lovelife with his “kiwi girlfriend” – to an audience of anon rugby bloggers – only to then turn around and eloquently now call them all “slappers” ? This whilst living in a country that has offered him an opportunity to better himself, as if the scope for that isnt unlimited.

Do you ever read JockBok – an emigrant – slander his adopted nation ?

or SAussie ?

or SodaJoe ?

you wont even find the Master Baiter, Boy George, dissing his gentrified English surrounds.

or countless others in similar positions ?!

Nope, this bottom-feeding teenage pondlife scum has yet to expand his vocabulary beyond the gutter. Because thats where he should have stayed.

• 221.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-219:

Andries Strauss at 12???? Hahahahahahaha Him in a Bok jumper was painful to watch vs Barbarians in 2010.He had a good CC 2010, but no way is he Bok material.De Jongh/F.Steyn/De Villiers even Doppies are better players.

• 222.gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-220: chill boys.gunther and his mates do not represent the voice of 50 million south africans.i guess that you have your fair share of kiwi idiots as well.

• 223.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-221: That maybe, but he can tackle the **** out of anybody in his channel. Remeber I said based on defence!!

• 224.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva(Cheetah 4 Eva)-223:

Fair enough but i think your using hyperbole’s to describe Strauss-even his defense.He is solid,very efficient but not a monster tackler like say a Sam Tuitupou or something.Not Bok material period.Dries Scholts and Tiaan Joubert were great defenders but you wouldnt see them anywhere a Bok XV or jumper.Too limited and once you spread the field,his speed is abysmal.Any centre with acceleration can beat him due to that cumbersomeness.He is a solid professional, he did an outstanding job for my Sharks last year for sure.But one CC campaign isnt tantamount to a starting Bok place.

• 225.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

You’d probably have for the Fiji test the following team for a start.

1.Crockett
    2.Mealamu
    3.O.Franks
    4.Thorn
    5.Whitelock
    6.Kaino
    7.McCaw
    8.Read
    9.Cowan
    10.Carter
    11.Gear
    12.Nonu
    13.Smith
    14.Toeava
    15.Muliaina
    16.Hore
    17.Afoa
    18.Williams
    19.Thomson
    20.Weepu
    21.Slade
    22.Bill-Williams

Full Strength side to hit out against the Fijians.

• 226.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

My bok WC 30man squad:

15 Gio Aplon / Patrick Lambie
    14 JP Pietersen / Bjorn Basson
    13 Jaque Fourie / Juan De Jongh
    12 Jean De Villiers / Robert Ebersohn
    11 Bryan Habana / Lwazi Mvovo
    10 Peter Grant / Butch James
    9 Fourie Du Preez / Francois Hougaard
    8 Duane Vermeulen / Willem Alberts
    7 Juan Smith / (Francois Louw or Ashley Johnson)
    6 Schalk Burger / Heinrich Brussouw
    5 Andries Bekker / Victor Matfield
    4 Danie Russouw / Bakkies Botha
    3 Jannie Du Plessis / CJ Van Der Linde
    2 Bismark Du Plessis / Adriaan Strauss
    1 Tendai Mtawarira / Gurthro Steenkamp

• 227.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@gunther is nazi-loving german rent-boy(Valkyrie)-222:

Actually, Gunther happens to be on my ‘Preferred Keo Bloggers’ list and, if anything, adds a far more positive impression of SA here than the vast majority otherwise do. And he MOST CERTAINLY suggests that those descendants of Neanderworld have some hope of sanity amongst the vast throng of Bulls supporters.

• 228.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

My bok 30man Tri Nations squad:

15 Patrick Lambie / Riaan Viljoen
    14 Bjorn Basson / JP Pietersen
    13 Juan de Jongh / Waylon Murray
    12 Francois Steyn / Robert Ebersohn
    11 Lwazi Mvovo / Rayno Benjamin
    10 Morne Steyn / Peter Grant
    9 Ruan Pienaar / Sarel Pretorius
    8 Ryan Kankowski / Joshua Strauss
    7 Ashley Johnson / Dewaldt Potgieter
    6 Heinrich Brussouw / Jean Deysel
    5 Alistair Hargreaves / Juandre Kruger
    4 Danie Russouw / Rynhardt Elstadt
    3 CJ Van Der Linde / Werner Kruger
    2 Chillyboy Ralepelle / Tiaan Liebenberg
    1 Dean Greyling / Coenie Oosthuzyen

• 229.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-225:

Woodcock will start, he definitely needs gametime and wont be overtly tested vs Fiji. Altho, hopefully he is.

Ali.W also needs to start – his presence and slow return to form is a Major boost to this AB squad. His cherry personality will be so impt as the pressure valve slowly increases. And he’ll teach Whitelock about the whole environment and keep him keen – and hopefully vice versa.

Toeava should only start in Centre or Fb, for injuries. But, again, he needs gametime.

Cant understand Afoas eternal inclusion but he must now be the utility frontrower. Did we see him at hooker this season, after that red herring was thrown to the media earlier this year ?

• 230.Gunther is looking to the future with hope in his heart.: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-227:

you are a gentleman and a scholar.

unlike our four legged friend varkirie who farts_in the face of Darwin.

I would limit my interaction with him to once a day.

any more than that and you risk infection.

• 231.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

BP
    I thought Toeava played well on the wing on the EOYT. had a blinder against Wales and Scotland on the right flank. Dagg covers the back and is not a bad winger too. Toeava has the speed over most except Guildford. Had Crockett in there thinking Woodcock was still injured. Afoa is a Bolter in my eyes, like Hoeata. Ali Williams, Thorn and Whitelock form a very good locking trio. Talk of Nonu playing wing, rather have Kahui covering the wing spot as well as Centre. Thought Ranger might have made the squad, but all in all, I like this outfit.

• 232.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-231:

Ranger makes too many mistakes – he was gift-wrapped a chance, and he showed all his tackle-bustling attributes, but carelessly ignored all the disciplinary ones which is what gets you in the squad. You can run thru as many tackles as you like but if your D or positional awareness or your concentration is lacking, then the door is closed – Maitland is a classic case in point, truckloads of tries and yet exposed early in the season on D and never improved. Sivivatu is a classic case – he worked on his D and concentration and suddenly he became a Test fixture.

• 233.cane: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-231: @Black Panther(Black Panther)-232:

Looks like Cory Jane paid the price of being a Hurricane.

Only two specialists wings in the squad.

NZ have been down this road before:
    - playing Cullen at centre.
    -playing Mils at centre.
    -playing Lochore at lock.

it usually ends in tears.

• 234.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

BP
    Couldn’t agree more about all the points listed. Throw Rokocoko on that list. I have a great feeling about this forward pack, especially the tight 5. I think Mike Cron has something special for this international season. Tietjens as fitness coach is the smartest move ever. It’s funny watching the news here in Australia about how NZ is worried about the Reds win and the revival of Aussie rugby. Mind games in full effect.

• 235.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Cane,

Not a cane, but being played out of position by Hammett. Best winger on his day but didn’t see anything from him this season, though if he were to be selected on the wing I’d be very happy as well.

• 236.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-233:

dont forget Ronald MacDonald FB -> Centre

Goldie wing -> FB

lets pray that GH plays whatever combos he has in mind NOW.

I have no doubt Tarzan will be there. He hasnt exactly graced himself in favour tho, the whole stay-go shenanigans and the Twit’a episodes dont fit in to GHs schoolmaster setup.

• 237.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-234:

Australia, like it or not, are on the right line of the Performance Curve and will be the team to beat come RWC.

The Reds victory is a major fillip for them and so be it, they were great all season. But there is NO correlation betw Super form/results and TriN or RWC glory, too much evidence in support to list here.

Australia DO remind me a bit of NZ 2007 in that they are a young’ish team and over-rely on mercurial talents like Quade and Genia to get them over the line, like ABs did with McCaw & DC. Will be interesting to see whether that is an advantage or a hindrance when theyre at the coalface of BMT.

• 238.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Cane, BP,

I’m sure Ted has enough class to cover all scenarios. Surely a tried and tested team is best. All major positions covered.

• 239.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

BP

I still have reservations on their scrums and set pieces. They have the most gifted back line, but as you well know, no forward domination, no front foot ball. I applaud the Reds, deserved victors on the weekend. But agree on the facts of no link between world cup success due to super rugby success, maybe 2007 is an arguement ;)

• 240.cane: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-238:

In Ted We Trust.

Let’s print it on Our $1.00 bill.

• 241.cane: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-236:

Ted’s last shot at immortality.

If he has too,
    he will go with class bullies, exam cheats and truants.
    High School Principle or not.

59 days to High Noon.

• 242.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-241:

Sure is. Great coach, but his Business Plan still has a few glitches.

Your opinion of him is noted. Lets all hope youre wrong.

If Dingo wasnt Dingo he’d have a little GH-smirk starting to tik….

• 243.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-241:

flying in the face of public opinion, I suspect that the Crusaders loss might translate in to a good thing for the ABs, not a bad one. Their mindset going in to the RWc must be one of absolute desperation, backs-to-the-wall. Too much cheers-bro success and floss has a tangible downside in a comfy environment. A big scandal could also do the trick, seems to work for the Safas.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.