KeoTV: Bok sham bullshit

MARK KEOHANE says, whatever the media spin is, the Bok Tri-Nations squad is an insult to the jersey and the history of the tournament.

179 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.toddke: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-49: You’re right. I am in US and just finishing my work day.

• 52.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

nice squad. Look forward to some interesting stuff. Takes the pressure off I’d think. Front row couldn’t do any worse that the current mob. Locking pair a bit suspect but Danie gives one a bit of comfort. Nothing wrong with the loosies. Halfbacks okay and worth a shot. Adie probably a weakness but one never knows. WO solid if unexciting. The rest could deliver anything, given a bit of ball. Don;t think they have the beating of the Oz and they will get klapped by any AB combo. As I said: give it wings.

• 53.nama1: Reply to this comment

@toddke(toddke)-40:
    …and if you don’t win the RWC in RWC year, all the other test matches still means vokkol?

Fortunately we only play four test matches before the RWC in the 3N this year. Last year we played 6 3N matches and only won once. So, 1 from 4 this year will be better percentage wise, whether we win the RWC or not, I guess. :smile:

@ET.(ET.)-43:
    It was always green and gold. Even on the other side.

• 54.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I don’t particularly feel like enduring a Tri-Nations which I’m pretty confident we’ll get nailed six love. SA rugby is not currently in a good space IMVHO. Talent’s there but the management isn’t. The next three months should be employed to select the right players, fine tune the strategy and build confidence in the team. We’ll have as good a chance as any if this is done properly.

• 55.toddke: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-53: That is the risk absolutely – but atleast you can give it a go with full strength. This will happen more and more, especially in non WC years when we have S15 – June Internationals – S15 – TN – EOYT.

What I foresee is teams like Stomers who go pay big cash for guys like Brussouw and are on edge of qualifying for playoff, who then don’t want to risk their key player(s) for meaningless Int against likes of NH teams.

This issue would all go away, if SARU capped amount of playing time for players, local and Int. So players can’t play all 4 NH games on EOYT tour plus Barbarians if they have reached their max time and again cap out game time for Super Rugger, so no one will play every minute of every game.

Don’t get me wrong – I love watching full strength Boks giving it a go in NZ – but big picture in pro sport is WC and championships. You see it in soccer and that is the way rugger will go with Crazies like we have now making these guys play all this rugby year in and year out.

Anyway – enough of me – starting to sound like a whinge – maybe it already is…

• 56.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-52:
    “WO solid if unexciting.”

You got the 2nd part right. :lol:

The forwards won’t be able to provide ball to the backs and if they get any ball back, Steyn swill kick it up in the air only for O’Connor/Beale or Muliaina/Dagg to counter.

Moerse scores awaiting this team down under, I’m afraid. Hoping they’ll surprise me but can’t see it happening.

• 57.nama1: Reply to this comment

@toddke(toddke)-55:
    The solution to the problem will be if SARU give contracts to a core group of players and then dictate to the provinces/franchises about the amount of time that the players should play in championship competitions.

As Tim Noakes said the other night on the news: “PdV has no leeway because the provinces run SA rugby”

Why is it not possible for SARU to tell the Bulls or Stormers?: Listen, VM, Schalk, Bekker, Spies etc are part of our plans for the RWC. We want you to give them some rest and not play them every game.

They cannot do it currently because the franchises have 1st option on the players. Get that right and the next coach will have less problems with injured/tired players.

Btw: Brussow’s agent denied that Stormers made an offer for him. Don’t know what to believe afa that is concerned.

• 58.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-57:
    Money talks
    Making the Super Rugby play-offs and the CC to a lesser extent earns a huge revenue for the Unions, SARU hasn’t met any of its commitments since Louis Luyt reign to compensate the Unions for loss of revenue so the Unions not obliged
    Simple?

• 59.cab: Reply to this comment

Shame the Maestro looks deflated, never seen him look so down in the dumps.
    Possibly the greatest heart and mind to ever coach the green & gold.
    Yip I know we gonna win, Keo is predicting doom and gloom its always a great sign.

• 60.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@toddke(toddke)-51: where are you in the US? Rugby coverage is cr@p here!

• 61.5t0rmer5fan: Reply to this comment

Lets look at this from a diffirent perspective. NZ and Aus didn’t field weaker teams during the 2007 Tri-Nations and they klapped us if memory serves me well. So, according to Keo they had “winning momentum”. They also played some Mickey Mouse teams on their way to the 2007 RWC finals. Now can somebody(Keo) please explain how the “winning momentum” helped them win the 2007 RWC? If you think about it NZ has had “winning momentum” in every RWC and how many times did it help them. We should defend our our title as world champs and we can’t do that if our players are played to a stand still.

• 62.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-58:
    Why doesn’t the money talk the same language in NZ, for example?

Don’t think it is that. It is more to do with these “rugby administrators” and their ego who won’t allow SA rugby to get real professional. They’re most probably afraid to “lose” out, if you get my drift.

• 63.cab: Reply to this comment

winning momentum, schmentum, rule no 1 get your best players fit.
    Let the kiwis win another 3N, while we scope up the big one in their backyard.

• 64.5t0rmer5fan: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-63: Give this man a Bells!!!

• 65.cab: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer5fan(5t0rmer5fan)-64:
    lol, thats the worst advert i think ive ever seen.

• 66.toddke: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-60: Kevin in Connecticut. If you have Directtv channel 490 is HD and all games shown live and no extra cost. That channel is only Rugby and will show TN and WC.

Then there is Fox Soccer Premium channel that has European Rugby and also is showing a series called Rugby Archives. Watched NZ v Lions and Boks, France, wales and Australia from 1965 – 1966 and then 1972. Is awesome!!

• 67.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

Keo u silly ***, if Pdv did indeed play his full strength team in the 3N and we won 3 outta 4 games but still didnt win the title because of points difference let’s say, and we then went on to not won the world cup wat would u say?? Now let’s look at what’s goin to happen, Pdv is goIng to play some younger players and let em show us what they are made of, and let’s say we win one or no games and of course still don’t win the title, but come world cup time we win, wat are u going to say then???? Fact is u belong in a old age home, u needa sit in a corner and just talk away so we can’t hear u, I personally only come here for the comments from various ppl on this site and their insight to news, freak I can’t wait for someone else to open up a site so we can watch this place rust, keo, no player in that squad is gonna let us down!!!! If we loose so be it but they’ll play with their heart on their sleeve and that’s all I need and I’m sure alot of ppl agree, the poms are waiting for u keo

• 68.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer5fan(5t0rmer5fan)-61: 2007? we beat aus and new zealand only just scrapped that home test. we fielded b/c teams in the away leg and nearly beat full strength arsestalia team and gave new zealand a good fight. no way man. you are not remembering wwell how it happened! 2003 yeah new zealand klaaped arse and bokke by 50 points each!! no team has won the tri nations and the world cup in the same year. only englnd have won their test competition (six nations) and world cup in the same year. so momentum talk is kak. it a different competition with different challenges you need to be fresh. divvy is doing the right thing. Jake never had to rest all his players for the whole 2007 tri nations because he managed his players better. divvy has no choice. it would be suicide not to rest them. so i say stuff sanzar cheating ******** to sheol!!!

• 69.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-10: Surely not? It’s a concise yet spot-on two-word season summary of the ex-Northern Transvaal rugby team of 2011, surely? You know, the one where they were smoked like kippers by 29-0 against the Crusaders?

• 70.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Mmmm psychological advantage come RWC with a bunch tired and battered players running on empty, or a fresh envigorated team ready to do the business starting on a clean slate? I know which one I’d rather have.

• 71.horiman: Reply to this comment

I say good on crunchy. If he feels trying to look credible on TV while at the same time lying through his crocked teeth, then all power to him. George Bush did it, look what happened him? he had to duck a flying shoe.

• 72.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

The brutal truth is we always get hammered in the Tri-Nations anyway. Why let it happen again this year to the detriment of our RWC hopes?

• 73.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-69:

It happens.

• 74.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@horiman(horiman)-71: obama did it even better than bush. he lied worse and gets worshipped for it! now that’s skill! jajajaja

• 75.garth: Reply to this comment

If we had to play NZ today, we would get whipped. Sending a full strength team can only be a positive thing.

• 76.Dex: Reply to this comment

Best thing for Rugby as a game would be for the AB’s or Wallabies to win.

This SA team does not deserve it, not the players and certainly not the coaches. We got very lucky in 2007 but the final was a horrible advertisment for rugby.

The deserve and need to lose.

• 77.garth: Reply to this comment

@Dex(Dex)-76: The best thing would be to send the best team in PDV confused mind to the TN and have them get whipped so they can get a wake up call. Send the following old men to get their arses kicked:
    1. Beast
    2. JS
    3. Jannie
    4. Bakkies
    5. Matfield
    6. Schalk
    7. SMith
    8. Spies
    9. Fourie
    10. Steyn
    11. Brian
    12. Jean
    13. Jacques
    14. JP
    15. Frans

• 78.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Dex(Dex)-76: actually chump new zealand and australia made a very poor advertisement for the game in 2007 with their kak performances. the final was real rugby. not the show pony bullshit that the super rugby is made today. the league wannabe trash. if you want innaccurate glory boy cricket score games then watch another sport. the boks deserved that win more than the All Kaks did in 1987 and more than they did in 2007. no luk involved no law changes no irb to manipulate refs and let them get away with everything.

• 79.garth: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-77: The game has moved on. The old men cannot cope with the pace of the game. This team would ahnd it to them:
    1. Coenie
    2. Bis
    3. Mujati
    4. Flip
    5. Bekker
    6. Brossouw
    7. Alberts
    8. Vermeulen
    9. Sarel
    10. Lambie
    11. Hougaard
    12. Juan
    13. Ebersohn
    14. Sadie
    15. Aplon

• 80.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-79: bis bekker lmbie have not had one good test in their lives. thats a very bold move in my opinion. lambie is a good player but way overrated. bekker is a nobody at test level. the less said about p!ssmark the better.

• 81.garth: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-80: So you are of the opinion that JS and Morne are better players than Bis and Lambie? That is a very conservative view. So Lambie is getting rated on last years performance when he was a spring-chicken. Bekker has always been played out of position at 4 and in a role he is not used to. JS does not come anywhere close to Bis. The only issue I have with Bis is the number of penalties he gives away. If he can sort that out he’ll be the best in the world.

• 82.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-81: p!ss has done nothing at test level. not one big perfomance in any big game for the boks thats a fact. lambie was great last year in super 14 but was embarrassing on the eond of year tour. he was very good in the first few games this but then average for the rest of it. he is has done nothing to prove he will be better than morne. bekker has played 5 many times for south africa. he has failed at 4 and 5 every time he has played on either position. john is the better all round hooker than p!ss. p1ss can not throw into lineouts even and that is our biggest weapon! im glad your not coaching the boks and divvy is.

• 83.ET.: Reply to this comment

@toddke(toddke)-51:

Sorry for this late reply, I too am here in the US hence my playfulness as another busy week draws to a close when I taunted you.
    Your being here and not in SA probably explains your lack of quickly getting angry.
    Enjoy the game tomorrow morning early, 5.30am EST

• 84.garth: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-82: Hey Pieter, JS has been left on the bench the entire season by his coach. A coach that does not owe him anymore loyalty than Bis. Where the two players can go head to head. JS has been a bench warmer. Test rugby has moved on and the pace of the game that the ABs and Ozzies will be playing this years will be beyond what our old men can cope with.

• 85.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

Mark Keohane has passed his use by date and should be put out to pasture.

• 86.ET.: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-53:

This is at least the 2nd. time I have to inform you that your claim is not totally correct.

Up to the 90s the genuine , non-racial SARU jersey was Black (for the majority people) with a gold collar and cuffs (for the mineral wealth).

It may have changed at the time of the ongoing merger negotiations (’93) when you mainly saw that ‘poephol’ AC in the team(he was to mind the worse SARU s-h).

‘ Ek sal jou klap as ek jou weer moet inlig omtrent hierdie geskiedenis ‘.

• 87.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-37:

big fat wobbly Easter Egg

• 88.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@toddke(toddke)-40:

all eggs

in the 1 RWC basket

and not an Easter Bunny in sight (unless youre English, of course).

• 89.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@toddke(toddke)-66: I’ve got Fox Soccer Plus through Brighthouse – definately need to get Direct TV, been watching Super 15 on the pc. Thanks for the advice.

• 90.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-88: just a couple of years ago we had the world cup; Lions Tour; Super 14; and I think even the 7′s title.

That’s one big friggin basket mate … no other team in the world has EVER done that. Oh yes and the World Cup was won away from home. Something NZ will not be able to in nearly 3 decades.

• 91.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-90:

since 2009, all those Trophies have gone in 1 direction

and now

just 1 left

• 92.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-78:

that Engl team were absolutely DIRE

good luck trying to convince anyone otherwise

(and keep praying for Fiji)

• 93.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-91: and good luck to you guys … but you still have to gt past those Froggies who have your number in world cups even before the knockout stages this time.

And yes you’ll be playing on home soil … and I really didn’t know NZ beat the Lions after us -I must have been in a time warp, or eating dinner with suzie, or with Wayne Barnes practicing forward passes, or with Stirling Mortlock’s gypsy fortune teller who told him about the intercept ;-)

I have tickets from SA’s first game right through to the finals … the only ticket i don’t have is the semis which will probably involve the Boks and the Blacks – either way that turns out, the final will be amazing.

• 94.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

I could not agree more with Keo…

In 2007 JW rested his players because he had the Bulls and Sharks in the S14 final, played England twice then Samoa and then Scotland before the RWC on top of the 3N… Snor is not is that position!

Where better for a RWC practise session than against the team they are more than likely going to have to beat to progress to a title defence and in the country the RWC is being held?

A win or good performance would make all the difference psychologically…

The Buffoon machine moves on!

• 95.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@ET.(ET.)-86: Black jersey with gold collar = Boland rugby (and, curiously, Wellington NZ too.)

• 96.Dex: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok(Blitzbok)-78:

Typical whinings of a nationalistic ignorant fool. The 2007 final was not ‘real’ rugby, it was an abomination of what is at essence supposed to be a running game with the ball kept in hand. I suggest you do some reading as to our games origins and what will keep youngsters attracted to it before making your ignorant and completely incorrect claims.

• 97.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-92: really? how about your beloved all kaks? did you suck them off after the game as a consolation? england humiliated arsestalia and were way ahead of new zealand. fiji’s qf game was one arguably their best showing in their history. but lets not allow facts to get in the way, hey? just like your last anti-saffer bullshit you tried to pass off here. goodluck trying to convince everyone your not a one-eyed *******.

• 98.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Dex(Dex)-96: what a pathetic tosser you are! that was real rugby you ****. there is more to rugby than running aimlessly and slipping tackles. or are you a closet league fan? the final was accurate and hard fought. if you dont like it then pop in a video of the 1999 farce between arsestalia and france. you know fek all about rugby you doos.

• 99.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-57:

What’s the big mystery… the franchises HAVE to win as many games as they can to surivive… hence they HAVE to play their best players as much as they can.

Their man-management in some cases can be better though.

• 100.poppa69: Reply to this comment

to all those on this thread talking about momentum and psychological implications of the 3Ns..

according to Transformation forensic services, it doesnt matter if the Bokke lose all 4 3Ns games, it “‘apparently” wouldnt have any detrimental affect to the Bok team going into the WC tourny..

or so I was told yesterday… eish..

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.